Injustice: Gods Among Us Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 410 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Injustice: Gods Among Us is the first in a new fighting game franchise that introduces an original story featuring a large cast of DC Comics icons such as Batman, Harley Quinn, Solomon Grundy, Superman, The Flash, Wonder Woman and a variety of others. Set in a world where the lines betweenInjustice: Gods Among Us is the first in a new fighting game franchise that introduces an original story featuring a large cast of DC Comics icons such as Batman, Harley Quinn, Solomon Grundy, Superman, The Flash, Wonder Woman and a variety of others. Set in a world where the lines between good and evil can often be blurred, players experience heroes and villains engaging in epic battles on a vast scale. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Injustice: Gods Among Us - Joker vs Lex Luthor Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    95
    One of the best all-around fighting experiences you’re likely to find—and fans of both DC Comics and Mortal Kombat-style fighters will be blown away by this high-quality brawler of epic proportions.
  2. Apr 19, 2013
    90
    With fantastic presentation, impressive graphics and voice acting, a surprisingly interesting story, a great control scheme, and a huge amount of content, I highly recommend Injustice: Gods Among Us to not only comic book fans and fighting game veterans, but to anyone looking for a game that’s extremely entertaining to play.
  3. May 12, 2013
    85
    Gods Among Us provides a robust cast of DC fighters, gameplay mechanics that cater to gamers of all levels, and an extensive amount of content that will leave gamers delighted.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    80
    Mechanics and content can make or break a modern fighting game, and Injustice delivers on those fronts.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    May 9, 2013
    80
    Despite some balance issues, Injustice is spectacular and satisfying, and should please many a DC comics fan. [June 2013, p.61]
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    Another good fighting game made by Ed Boon and NetherRealm, with enough personality and new features to distinguish itself from Mortal Kombat.
  7. Apr 16, 2013
    60
    Even though NetherRealm Studios has packed Injustice: Gods Among Us with fanservice and added a really nice single-player mode, the fighting engine just isn't good enough.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 116
  2. Negative: 6 out of 116
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    What can i say first that wont make me sound like a geek, this game has a bunch of the best DC characters in the universe. Injustice godsWhat can i say first that wont make me sound like a geek, this game has a bunch of the best DC characters in the universe. Injustice gods among us is the next fighting game from Netherrelm Studios the developers of the excellent Mortal Kombat reboot of 2011. What i enjoy most about this developer is that Netherrelm bothers to include an actual story, and the story here in this game is a blast, its action packed, well voice acted with a good soundtrack and special congratulations to Kevin Conroy the voice of batman, he was my favorite. Here is a short summary of the story, first off yes it is a multiverse story taking place in two dimensions, but it starts off with Joker has detonated a nuclear device in the heart of Metropolis by having superman kill lois Lane with the detonator linked to her heart beat and when lois died the bomb went off. Now you ask how did Joker get superman to kill the woman he loved, well scarecrow uses his fear toxins to drug superman into thinking he was fighting doomsday, then when pushed to the edge during questioning Superman just murders the joker despite batman's protest. This paves the way to Superman becoming a dictator of his world. Then it jumps back to the other universe where batman is heading to Arkham to find Joker but instead is greeted by death stroke, defeating him then goes to the Justice Leagues base to only uncover Joker in Metropolis about to detonate a nuclear device given to him by Lex Luthor. So Batman goes to face Joker but in the heat of the battle some weird thing happens and Batman along with Joker and a couple of other heroes such as Aquaman, Green Lantern and wonder woman, they get transported into a parallel universe the one i mentioned at the beginning where Superman murders the joker. What results from there is that the heroes and Joker realize that this isn't their world, and that they are hunted by a tyranical Superman they try to find out what is going on, and how to fight Superman's regime. Trust me this story is well worth the ride because the stakes are constantly raised to epic proportions, with some shocking team up like Death stroke and Cyborg. Now lets get to the games positives, as i said the story is well written and voice acted with a good supporting soundtrack. Now lets get down tot he fighting mechanics, it is the best in its genre, you have a bounce cancel dash system to break in and extend combos, you have environmental based attacks like knocking a character into another section of a level, you have a new wager class system where you bet an amount of your characters power meter to win a clash and a chance at dealing extra damage and regaining a bit of health. Also just like most fighting games you have a super meter to where to you can either use to supercharge you special attacks or save it all to perform a massive super that does a lot of damage. Also the combo layout has a light medium and heavy attacks with the 4th triggering a character trait that seems unique to each character, my personal favorite one is doomsday's where it gives him temporarily a strong protective coating that soaks a lot of damage. Also the unlocks you gain as you level up, like access cards, and armory keys tot he hall of justice where you can purchase things like concept art and alternate characters costumes three of my favorites are Bane Regime, Raven Regime, and Joker Insurgency. Also the using a modified version of unreal the graphics are fantastic to the point of during a fight you actually feel like you are watching and participating in a fight with two deadly superheroes or the classic villain versus hero. There are also tons of stuff happening int the environmental background, and the lighting works really well where if a character is wearing armor and say you are standing in a spot light it actually looks like light is shining off of the armor. In my opinion there is better extra content then in mortal kombat because, you have a list of challenges that put different spins on battles like Mirror Match where at the beginning of each fight the game selects a character and you fight as that character and so does the ai. Also there is a big massive challenge mode called star labs missions where each of the 24 characters on the roster has 10 missions unique to them, and there is about over 200 of these missions some of them difficult to three star. One other positive is that the fight combos themselves flow really smooth when performed, and there is an extensive tutorial mode to teach you everything you need to know. Now there are just two negatives i found with the game and they are not with glitches or framerate those are fine but there is no tag team mode like in mortal Kombat plus while the story is good multiverse stories have been done before but none of these two issues really bothered me enough to deduct anything from the score, so i recommend this game to anyone who likes fighting games, or the DC characters or if you like blockbuster stories Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    I am a casual fighter gamer, and picky about games. The tutorial has been very helpful. Graphics are fantastic, controls are great. AlthoughI am a casual fighter gamer, and picky about games. The tutorial has been very helpful. Graphics are fantastic, controls are great. Although I never could get the hang of several fighting games (including Mortal Kombat), Injustice collects the best aspects of the genre, and definitely aims for a wide audience. One minor nit: I wish the tutorial would demo the moves so you'd know what it looked like when correctly executed (ala Soul Calibur). Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    NetheRealms, you did it again! One of the best fighting games I have ever played. The story is was nothing spectacular because it was doneNetheRealms, you did it again! One of the best fighting games I have ever played. The story is was nothing spectacular because it was done before. The fighting is just awesome, "The King Of The Hill" is perfect and the characters... The characters were fun to play as, especially The Joker. Sadly, no "Tag Teams". The graphics were pretty bad at some point, but still got the job done. Thank god you fixed the turtle-ing, but not spamming.

    One of the best fighting games ever created.
    Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    As a big DC fan, this game pushes all the right buttons. With an excellent fighting system, and great fan service, Injustice is a must for DC fans.
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Injustice: Gods Among Us is a game which I actually pre-ordered and picked up for release date. The game, in my opinion really could have beenInjustice: Gods Among Us is a game which I actually pre-ordered and picked up for release date. The game, in my opinion really could have been the cream of the crop if it ironed some wrinkles before release. For example, the control stick and directional pad are extremely inaccurate and can throw combos in the trash, which can really get frustrating when you are extremely precise with your directions and unintended movements arise. On the menus the control stick is way too sensitive and frequently presses the wrong selection, wasting time. The graphics look very last generation at times (especially during cutscenes), but at other times they are actually pretty good. The story mode isn't too difficult to complete, but has decent length and really is an amazing, action-packed story that feels like it could be a comic book; so no complaint there. With all this flaws, it is time to talk about where Injustice shines. Everything sounds great from the score to the effects. The controls are smooth and make special moves simple to pick up. The new ideas are fresh and are welcome, like the Super Moves, which are very powerful plays that show you a cutscene of your player hitting the other opponent in an extreme manner. This and the Level Transitions (knocks your opponent to other arena in another extreme manner) were hilarious to watch the first couple times. These aren't the first times I have seen these ideas, but it is the first time I have seen them done the way they were and they gave the game it's charm. Besides the Story Mode, Injustice also has Battles, S.T.A.R. Labs, Single Fight, Training, and Local & Online Multiplayer. The Battles were just like an arcade mode, and contained a range of super easy to nearly impossible arcades. The S.T.A.R. Labs were basically like a challenge series where you did a mission that was unique and attempted to earned Stars for it. It is fun to go into, but it certainly is a challenge! The Single Fight simply is just one custom-made fight. Training is good for beginners and really does help. The Multiplayer is nothing special. There is 1vs1, KOTH (King of the Hill), and Survivor. 1vs1 one is just a fight. KOTH and Survivor are just about the same and you just wait in about a ten minute line to fight one guy. Its pretty underwhelming. Every characters is unique and finding the right one for your tastes is enjoyable (I liked to use Lex Luthor because he is strong, large, and fast!). I enjoyed the backgrounds and the characters were done decently enough, although it would have been nice if they transformed them a little more as a extra costume or something instead of extra costumes that make no sense. The Red Sun pack is not worth it, but that is taken out of consideration for this review. Overall, a great fighting game that could really have been something special that it was hyped to be, but sadly; only great, not perfect. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    If you are looking for a fun fighting-style game that you can not only play with a good friend, but you can play with your younger cousin,If you are looking for a fun fighting-style game that you can not only play with a good friend, but you can play with your younger cousin, this game is a great pick. Not only did this game feel like the Classic Mortal Kombat, but it was lowered down to a T rating so that younger kids could enjoy it. Now, I know to older kids, the loss of blood and gore in a Mortal Kombat style game can be disappointing, but taking that away was a genius business venture that is making the game sell far more copies by expanding the market, so can you really blame them? That is just my personal opinion however. To a seasoned super hero fan, it was nice to have a game in which they feature a lot of the awesome DC Characters, and Aqua Man FINALLY DIDN'T SUCK! Anyone who knows anything about DC can appreciate that fact. The game had an OK plot, but I really don't think this game is to be purchased for the plot. This game is one of those games where you may play the campaign in order to get better at it, but you really only own it as a game to play whenever friends come over. Have no friends? That's Okay! The plot may not be that great, but if you really don't know much about DC, the plot is still good enough to keep your attention, and even if you ignore it, you can draw a face on a pillow, Set that pillow on the sofa next to you, buy a second controller to give to the pillow, and force yourself to believe that the character you are fighting is your new best friend you have over, Pillow. Now, if this method gives you long term mental issues, I deeply apologize. I just wanted you to have a friend. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2013
    4
    Injustice: Gods Among us comes very close to being a flawless fighting game in the DC universe, but falls short for one reason: Lack of 2vs2Injustice: Gods Among us comes very close to being a flawless fighting game in the DC universe, but falls short for one reason: Lack of 2vs2 tag modes in both local & online play.
    ---------------
    One of the major factors about fighting games is multiplayer, a fact seemingly forgotten by Netherrealm Studios since releasing the widely successful Mortal Kombat reboot. Mortal Kombat returned to it's "2d" fighting game roots in full 3d gory pleasure. Tones of extra features, unlockable characters, unlockable moves an fatalities provided immense replayability.
    ------------------
    In Mortal Kombat (9), Player 1 could form a tag team with Player 2 and play other 2-man tag groups online over Xbox live. This provided simple yet crucial enjoyment to people with friends which is just about everyone. Locally, 4 players could go head to head in a 2 vs 2 tag match resulting in many fun nights with my group of friends & I.
    -----------------
    Then Injustice comes along, builds upon the MK9 model in many ways but leaves this crucial feature out. You may not think this a big deal, but it is huge considering these games are meant to be played against other people competitively. No one buys a fighting game to fight against AI longer than he has to to complete the main campaign. Netherrealm Studios however thinks otherwise. It is unknown to me why this feature has been removed. Perhaps it was to force groups of friends to all buy their own copy of Injustice.-----------------------Overall the game is very smooth. Anyone who says the game is for casuals isn't too bright, In fact casuals will be destroyed. Various improvements over cheapness in MK9 has been implemented such as changes to blocking, fairy jumping (Jumping straight up and punching sending the enemy downward, bouncing up in preparation for your combo) and others. The characters are interesting and the mechanics enhanced over MK9. The special attacks are very great. It's very rewarding to watch Lex Luthor call down a satellite superstrike on your target and you grabbing that energy and chucking it at your opponent. Each character is truly unique. My friend and & tried them all out and not one was similar in any way.---------Conclusion: For months my frirends & I have been looking forward to taking the MK9 formula and enhancing it. They have definitely done that, but the lack of 2vs2 tag modes for local & online play seriously negate any enhancements. After all, what does it matter how great it is when we can't even play Co-op, VS eachother at once, or test our skills together against online opponents?
    Expand

See all 116 User Reviews

Trailers