User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 860 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 860
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IanH
    Mar 27, 2010
    10
    Best deal in gaming history. Not a huge half-life fan, but i still played it thourgh and was pleased. Portal was excreidibly fun the first time as well, but TF2 is the gift that keeps giving. The only problem is Pc gamers are getting more weapons are services for TF2. Remember the console gamers, Valve!
  2. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    I was excited when I got the Orange Box. I saw that there were basically 5 games on it and they were supposedly all good. Unfortunatley, I was dissapointed. Portal was fantastic and I loved playing it. However, I couldnt get into Half Life 2 and in the end I just gave up on trying to be entertained. Team fortress 2 is also good but i'm not a big multiplayer fan. So, The orange Box is goodI was excited when I got the Orange Box. I saw that there were basically 5 games on it and they were supposedly all good. Unfortunatley, I was dissapointed. Portal was fantastic and I loved playing it. However, I couldnt get into Half Life 2 and in the end I just gave up on trying to be entertained. Team fortress 2 is also good but i'm not a big multiplayer fan. So, The orange Box is good for some people and not so good for others. Expand
  3. MartinS
    Mar 5, 2010
    9
    100% worth it as a bundle. As stand alone games, none would be worth the retail price. Half Life 2 is an amazing, if somewhat dated looking shooter. The episodes and portal are also great, but too short. And Team Fortress 2 is only worth it if you like online games. I still highly recommend these as a bundle.
  4. BlakeB
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  5. AnthonyS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This game has got to be the best combo EVER!!!! Team Fotress 2 is by far one of the funnest multiplayer games I have ever played and Portal, one of the best puzzle games in a LOOOONG time. Half-Life 2 will always be a classic that will be played over and over and Episode Two simply tie's up the loose ends. Great job Valve!!
  6. MarkT.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    I previously voted 8 because of Steam problems.. seems they sorted that out. This is a great package... hard to see how you can go wrong. Team Fortress is a hilarious multiplayer... surprisingly deep when you start to appreciate the well-balanced classes; HL2 is, well HL2... a great great shooter, and for me the surprise was Portal - not a long game, but gripping and playful, funny... I previously voted 8 because of Steam problems.. seems they sorted that out. This is a great package... hard to see how you can go wrong. Team Fortress is a hilarious multiplayer... surprisingly deep when you start to appreciate the well-balanced classes; HL2 is, well HL2... a great great shooter, and for me the surprise was Portal - not a long game, but gripping and playful, funny... very worthwhile. Expand
  7. Marc.D.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    The way I see it...this year's battle for Game of the Year on the 360 comes down to The Orange Box and Bioshock. Sorry Halo...you're good...but these 2 titles are on another level.
  8. BarryM.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Great stuff. Loads of content. You'll buy it for Half Life but you'll stay stay for Team Fortress 2. Portal is great first time around, drags a little after that but still worth the price
  9. James
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    'John D.' has obviously never played Orange Box. It's not a port of HL2, it's HL2, HL2 episode 1, HL2 Episode 2 (new), Portal (new), and Team Fortress 2 (new).

    It's not HL2 for full price, it's 3 new games and 2 old redone games for $60. That's $12 a game, excellent deal if you ask me. TF2 alone is $30.
  10. RayA.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    I don't see how anyone could possibly give this less than a 10! This is an absolutely an amazing deal. All of the games on it are highly detailed, original, and crazy fun. One of the best things about this is portal. It is a completely mind bending game, with a great sense of humor. Half life 2 ep.2 is also great, because of the way characters react to every decision you make.The I don't see how anyone could possibly give this less than a 10! This is an absolutely an amazing deal. All of the games on it are highly detailed, original, and crazy fun. One of the best things about this is portal. It is a completely mind bending game, with a great sense of humor. Half life 2 ep.2 is also great, because of the way characters react to every decision you make.The physics in the source engine I love! The fire is great. A good example of the things you can do with the crazy awesome details in the game is when your driving in a car with Alyx, and you can hit zombies. When you hit a zombie just right, it will cut in half, torso and legs flying around, Alyx yells nice! and then you see splotches of blood on the car. If you hate videogames, you will like the orange box anyway. This game drew me into the half life series, because it was so good. Buy it! Expand
  11. RobC
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Possibly my favorite title on the 360. Innovative and genius, this game makes your brain go crazy and want more! This also is the 1st half life game i have played and really loving it. If you love puzzle orientated adventure games with a unique twist, and unbelievably atmospheric graphics, you'll go crazy 4 this!!
  12. aguy
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    the best games compilation ever made with 5 of valves best offerings id have bought it for hl2 by itself however gamers also get treated to the most ingenious puzzler ever designed from portal. one of the best online multiplayer games ever in the form of team fortress 2 and get 2 fantastic additions to the halflife universe in the form of HL2 episodes 1 and 2. i cant recommend this game the best games compilation ever made with 5 of valves best offerings id have bought it for hl2 by itself however gamers also get treated to the most ingenious puzzler ever designed from portal. one of the best online multiplayer games ever in the form of team fortress 2 and get 2 fantastic additions to the halflife universe in the form of HL2 episodes 1 and 2. i cant recommend this game enough a must buy. Expand
  13. Phantom
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    The Orange Box surprised me. I was expecting a cheap old compilation of mediocre last-gen games but oh no! The single-games themselves would be worth the full retail price! Half-Life 2 series maybe getting on now; but still exceptionally brilliant to this day, personally its my first time on Half Life 2, and I thought it could pass for being next gen (current gen now lets say - it is 2008 The Orange Box surprised me. I was expecting a cheap old compilation of mediocre last-gen games but oh no! The single-games themselves would be worth the full retail price! Half-Life 2 series maybe getting on now; but still exceptionally brilliant to this day, personally its my first time on Half Life 2, and I thought it could pass for being next gen (current gen now lets say - it is 2008 after all). Portal and Team Fortress 2 pretty much sold the collection; both equally being as innovating and original as each other. Portal can be completed within a few hours; but I still play it now, and Team Fortress 2 could simply pass a full multiplayer retail game too! It's not a perfect 10; but it's the biggest compilation of full price games that you could realistically be paying over £100 for. Great deal. And replying back to John. D; its not just Half Life 2 in the collection its the entire series with 2 additional games which are unbelievably innovative! Gameplay: 10 (5 massive games in one box; what can I say? Did I mention 99 achievements?) Graphics: 8 (Dating; and not too much done with Half Life 2's visuals. TF2 makes up for it) Sound: 10 (Fantastic soundtrack, acting, and realistic sfx for each game) Overall: 9/10 Completion time: 30 hours without a break. Doesn't include multiplayer or achievements. Difficulty: Easy - All games can be completed easily enough, there are some one off difficult achievements though. Expand
  14. NicholasA
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This is a great game for anyone who likes first person shooters. I think this is one of the greatest gaming deals out there
  15. Chris
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    TF2 was worth the 8 years of waiting.
  16. SteveT.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Wow, this is the best deal ever for a game. Honestly I would pay full price for each of the new titltes alone. Half Life 2 is awsome as ususal. The gravity gun makes it too awsome when compared to every other FPS. I can only assume that episodes 1 and 2 will be just as solid. Portal is a game every gamer should experience. It is kind of hard to get used to, but once you do, it becomes a Wow, this is the best deal ever for a game. Honestly I would pay full price for each of the new titltes alone. Half Life 2 is awsome as ususal. The gravity gun makes it too awsome when compared to every other FPS. I can only assume that episodes 1 and 2 will be just as solid. Portal is a game every gamer should experience. It is kind of hard to get used to, but once you do, it becomes a very fun and intense game to play. Lastly the game I spent the most time with yesterday was Team Fortress 2. This game would be worth the full price alone. Even when you die you are having a good time. The team element makes for some killer strategic yet comedic game play. The best part is you can switch between the different classes at a whim to see which type suits you or your team's situation the best. All in all the total package is outstanding...don't sit on the fence for this one..go buy it now! Expand
  17. P.Dub
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    First, I thought Bioshock was the best game of the year, then I thought Halo 3 was the best game of the year. Now, I pretty sure that accolade belongs to the Orange Box. Portal will twist your mind, the HL trilogy is jaw dropping in every way ; physics, graphics, animation, and AI are the best I've ever seen.
  18. ChrisC.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Three of the best games of 2007 at an unbeatable price. You can't go wrong with The Orange Box.
  19. WilliamC.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    A solid pack, well worth the price of $49.95. Episode Two's graphics are a bit outdated compared to modern shooters like Halo 3/Crysis, but it's three games in one. EP2 was terrific, and VIA plot-twist at the end left my mouth gaping open in shock. Portal was a fun game, but HOLY JESUS BEANS why is it ONLY 19 levels? Team Fortress 2 is a solid game. A few bugs(I could shoot A solid pack, well worth the price of $49.95. Episode Two's graphics are a bit outdated compared to modern shooters like Halo 3/Crysis, but it's three games in one. EP2 was terrific, and VIA plot-twist at the end left my mouth gaping open in shock. Portal was a fun game, but HOLY JESUS BEANS why is it ONLY 19 levels? Team Fortress 2 is a solid game. A few bugs(I could shoot without reloading on one round, but it never happened again after that) but they'll fix it. Oh, and that other Halo fanboy that complained about TF2 not having a Deathmatch gamemode? Here's a hint: TEAM fortress 2. GET IT? Expand
  20. KrishanV.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    BRILLIANT!! every game is better then the last!!! the one that i enjoy the most is tf2!! soo god!
  21. Cl0cK*
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    The best gaming deal you'll have in a long time, 5 great games in one box. Portal is an original and amazing singleplayer experience, Episode Two very good sequel to episode one I liked episode two more than any other half-life games. And TF2 is one of the best multiplayer game out there,
  22. JoakimLindblom
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    WOW IT AS JUST SOOO FUCKING AWSOME!!! I MEAN WOW! PORTAL,EPISODE 2 ROCKS! ALSO TEAM FORTRESS 2 AND HALO 3!! half-life and halo would be a AWSOME game if they made it into one! "Halo-Life" THAT would be awsome!. i wish bungie and valve would make a that sutchas game ;)
  23. SiphaiBorsch
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    This is easily the best deal of the year as you get 5 groundbreaking, amazing games for the price of one overly expensive games. Even though only 3 are new, it is still worth it as all of the games in the deal are much better than anything out at the moment.
  24. JimM.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Excellent games, portal is worth the price alone.
  25. MattD.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    A great value for a lot of good stuff. My only complaint is that everything is a little short. The time it would take to complete all single-player content was not as advertised. Still, the package as a whole should please HL2 fans and newcomers alike, while easily standing up to FPS heavy hitters: Bioshock & Halo 3.
  26. Infective.Gaming
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    I mean what an excellent creation!,
    Its never happenned to a Xbox 360 game. 3 games in 1 box!. And the games held in the action-packed package are all devine in their own way!. Im sure & Infective.Gaming are sure that The Orange Box will become a big hit, Not just to 360 but to PC and PS3 aswell!.

    Reviewed by: Coltboy (Infective.Gaming)
  27. Patrick
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    I ended up getting this for the 360 because the steam ports are blocked on campus, im mainly a pc gamer. To my surprise, it plays exceptional and looks exceptional even on a non-hd tv. And Tf2 is surprisingly fun with a controller. Kudos Valve
  28. ChrisN.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    HL2 was awesome on my PC and im so glad that it was packaged with the new content. this as many have stated so many times before is the best video game release for the money ever. bar none.for all the people talking about halo3 vs HL, give it a rest. we know they are both awesome games and we all have both games, lets just leave it at that and enjoy that fact we get to play awesome HL2 was awesome on my PC and im so glad that it was packaged with the new content. this as many have stated so many times before is the best video game release for the money ever. bar none.for all the people talking about halo3 vs HL, give it a rest. we know they are both awesome games and we all have both games, lets just leave it at that and enjoy that fact we get to play awesome stuff.portal was absolutely hysterical, very innovative and fresh, looking forward to another one.the guys at valve are geniuses.even as an "old release" its graphics and AI are still better than most of whats out there. Expand
  29. DanB.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Exosus, 'Portal' is meant to be a 3-4 hour game, whoever said 20 hours is obviously incorrect. Team Fortress 2 is my multiplayer game of the year, where in a world of Halo's and CoD's (both of which I own and love), Team Fortress just stands out on the console side, never before have I seen a class based shooter so finely tuned. The animations for each class are Exosus, 'Portal' is meant to be a 3-4 hour game, whoever said 20 hours is obviously incorrect. Team Fortress 2 is my multiplayer game of the year, where in a world of Halo's and CoD's (both of which I own and love), Team Fortress just stands out on the console side, never before have I seen a class based shooter so finely tuned. The animations for each class are hilarious and amazing. The game is beautiful. Half-Life 2 and expansions are my favorites first-person single player experiences ever. Just such a amazing value for all of those games, I would pay $60 dollars for each on their own. Go out and buy this game. Expand
  30. JohnM.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Half life 2 is doubled with new content, portal is short but very, very sweet, and TF 2 is one of the best only team bassed fps' out there, all this box set needs is downloadable content on all formats, (port and TF2 new maps must happen!) and this is the definitave purchase of the year, this is enough to top halo 3 for game of the year!
  31. MattF.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    The Half Life 2 and expansions will keep you occupied for hours, with amazing action packed gameplay and original ideas. Portal is an addictive, fun and entertaining puzzle game, even if it does get frustrating at times. Team Fortress 2 is right at the top with the best 360 online FPS games. With original cartoon style graphics, only really seen before in FPS 'XIII', this game The Half Life 2 and expansions will keep you occupied for hours, with amazing action packed gameplay and original ideas. Portal is an addictive, fun and entertaining puzzle game, even if it does get frustrating at times. Team Fortress 2 is right at the top with the best 360 online FPS games. With original cartoon style graphics, only really seen before in FPS 'XIII', this game is brand new and higly addictive. With the inclusion of the new installment to the series, 'Half Life 2: Episode Two' even people who have played Half Life 2 will be interested in this package. Superb value for money and a superb addition to your gaming collection. Achievements are designed well, with a few challenges in there. The total available gamerscore is 1000 points, but an update that has been confirmed by Valve will offer more rewards. A must have 360 title. Expand
  32. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    The best game on Xbox, bar none. The Orange Box has 5 truly brilliant games on one disc. Team Fortress 2 is a bloody, shouty shooter that's only flaw is it's small fan-base. With more support, it could be amazing. The three Half Life games are an example of how to make shooters constantly fun, always throwing around new ideas, always being supremely playable. Finally, Portal is a brand newThe best game on Xbox, bar none. The Orange Box has 5 truly brilliant games on one disc. Team Fortress 2 is a bloody, shouty shooter that's only flaw is it's small fan-base. With more support, it could be amazing. The three Half Life games are an example of how to make shooters constantly fun, always throwing around new ideas, always being supremely playable. Finally, Portal is a brand new (though at the time of writing, Portal 2 has been released) puzzle shooter that unique, yet fits in with the Half Life mythology. It's truly mind bending and simply unmissable. And, as is The Orange Box itself. A collection of five unmissable games in one unbeatable package. Get it! Expand
  33. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Even considering its age.Half-life 2 is one the finest games ever made and still the benchmark in FPS's.Packed with the add-ons,(Portal especially)The Orange Box is truly excellent.
    For the younger Gen though,you may wonder what all the fuss is about considering that COD and Halo have most of your attention(I can't,for the life of me,figure out why)
  34. May 27, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece. One of gamings best offerings. A gaming experienced that will be remembered for a lifetime. Mind blowing. Superb. Revolutionary. Another all time fav. Of mine
  35. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    ive seen this game for the pc back in 2004 and it blew me away, i never played it till it hit the xbox, and lemme tell you, this is the best 1st person solo campaign i have evr witnessed. its jsut amazing, every aspect of the game is crazy. **** the whole package is a steal.... 5 games on a disk? come on now, thats too easy not to pass up... **** i dont think i should say more? **** buyive seen this game for the pc back in 2004 and it blew me away, i never played it till it hit the xbox, and lemme tell you, this is the best 1st person solo campaign i have evr witnessed. its jsut amazing, every aspect of the game is crazy. **** the whole package is a steal.... 5 games on a disk? come on now, thats too easy not to pass up... **** i dont think i should say more? **** buy this bih if you havent already Expand
  36. EvanH
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Every one of these games compares favorably with the best currently on the market, despite being 3-5 years old. By far the most fun I've had on xbox360 in years. Now that the price is down to $15 or less for a new disk, it is ludicrous to give this anything but a 10.
  37. JustinV
    Jul 30, 2009
    9
    The orange box is a game that exceeded my expectations when I bought it. The game has great gameplay and multiplayer action, with amazing textures and graphics to go with it. Over all it is a great game.
  38. Nov 24, 2010
    7
    I think I was a little late to the Orange Box party. By the time I picked this up, the Half Life 2 portion of it seemed a little dated. Portal was awesome, just very short. I got my money's worth out of this title, I just wish I had gotten to it earlier.
  39. Dec 2, 2017
    10
    Five games of great quality at a stunningly low price. What else do I have to say? Half life 2 and episode one were great, episode 2 was perfect imho. Team fortress 2 was fun and portal was awesome
  40. THECROWBAR
    Feb 21, 2010
    8
    Keep your pants on, an 8 is not a bad score. It's just not the best. Half-life 2 was my first shooter and I enjoyed it thoroughly when I first played it; it's about 20 hours long. After playing games such as Call of Duty 4 which was relieced later that year, it hasn't aged well. You can't even zoom in and fire with most weapons, even your sub-machine gun that has a red Keep your pants on, an 8 is not a bad score. It's just not the best. Half-life 2 was my first shooter and I enjoyed it thoroughly when I first played it; it's about 20 hours long. After playing games such as Call of Duty 4 which was relieced later that year, it hasn't aged well. You can't even zoom in and fire with most weapons, even your sub-machine gun that has a red dot sight. The headcrab zombies are awesome, but the game gets repetitive towards the end. I haven't played episodes one and two yet, so no comment on those. Team Fortress two is ballanced, and by ballanced I mean there is going to be a stalemate untill the match is over. The three maps are very poorly, with the capture the flag one having only one enterance into the enemy's base, so engeniers know where to place their turret. I heard the PC version is a million times better, though. Portal is fun, and funny too. That game is short, though, and the challenges make me want to kill myself. How is anyone supposed to clear a map in ten seconds or something, or complete the advanced maps with unkillabe turrets? Play through the main game, don't comeback for the challenge playthroughs. In conclusion, on the back of the creatively titled Oarnge Box is a quote saying it's one of the greatest deals in gaming history, and that's true. Today it costs about $30, but even if it were full priced, it would definately be worth the full package. In conclusion, two great games, one incomplete game, and two games I can't judge. Expand
  41. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    You've read the reasons this game is an easy 10. Let's be honest here. And although it feels dated in some ways by now (obviously), it still is just so great.
  42. Jun 6, 2012
    5
    Eh?? Whilst Portal is most possibly THE best gimmick-game ever made, it is still just a gimmick game and if it lasts you 2 hours you'll be lucky. As for Half life 2 & it's expansion well they are horrible, dated, boring and weak games. P*ssing about with see-saws and other puzzles designed to show off a physics engine is just tedious and makes for a tiresome game. I really don't get whatEh?? Whilst Portal is most possibly THE best gimmick-game ever made, it is still just a gimmick game and if it lasts you 2 hours you'll be lucky. As for Half life 2 & it's expansion well they are horrible, dated, boring and weak games. P*ssing about with see-saws and other puzzles designed to show off a physics engine is just tedious and makes for a tiresome game. I really don't get what people see in this other than nostalgia and a cute little bonus puzzle game?? Expand
  43. KorinL.
    Oct 11, 2007
    4
    A botched port with control and technical issues in one package.
  44. ZackaryS.
    Oct 9, 2008
    6
    Its a good deal but i never liked half life and TF2 doesent cut it in my book How ever PORTAL is one of the best games i have ever played. just get portal alone off steam and your good.
  45. AndrewH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    0
    While the new content is more than impressive the fact that Valve forced long time owners of their products to repurchase HL2 and Episode 1 was really ill advised.
  46. TarvuT.
    May 30, 2008
    7
    I give it a seven, because Portal and Team Fortress 2 are brilliant. But Half Life is plain shit.
  47. FPSMaster
    Oct 12, 2007
    8
    A good compilation of games but by no means deserves a 98/100. Half Life 2 was good when it came out and is still good. So is Episode 1 and Episode 2. But this is a 3 year old engine and for any game remade 3 years later to recieve this kind of praise makes me sick. How many games on 360 that look last gen or have re-used an old engine have gotten reviews this high? None, other than Halo A good compilation of games but by no means deserves a 98/100. Half Life 2 was good when it came out and is still good. So is Episode 1 and Episode 2. But this is a 3 year old engine and for any game remade 3 years later to recieve this kind of praise makes me sick. How many games on 360 that look last gen or have re-used an old engine have gotten reviews this high? None, other than Halo 3 but those reviews don't count since they are reviewing the name and not the game. Any other games this gen that look outdated or run on original Xbox engines have been crucified. I'm not saying this should be crucified, but it deserves no more than an 8/10 because it's old content that's been available for years just repackaged with the worst boxart and name ever. Portal is fun for about 2 hours until you finsih it and Team Fortress 2 sounds better on paper than it actually plays. It's laggy as hell for one and connecting to games can be a chore. Disconnections happen all the time and it uses a lobby system much like the Tom Clancy games meaning the entire team focus goes right out the window as soon as the host quits because it's back to the main menu for you losing all those teamates that made the game actually fun for a bit. The graphics on it look like the Incredibles meets Road Runner which is a nice change of pace. But the actual map design and gameplay are flat out boring. You run around a map for 5 minutes looking for someone to shoot, then it sets in once you try to shoot that the aiming is too twitchy making it feel like Prey did online. Couple that with the worst classes ever in a multiplayer game and you have something even more overrated than Halo 3. The classes are so imbalanced and there are absolutely no grenades whatsoever. Everyone plays as a spy since that class looks like the other teams' temates then they stab you in the back. Everyone plays as the spy which is the most imbalanced class ever and it ruins what little fun the game offered. It's the equivalent of games like COD3 where everyone plays as a sniper which forces you to do it too or you have no chance of winning. I'd say stick with Halo 3 in all it's mediocrity because at least it can be more fun than 3 year old repackaged games packaged with mindless crap(TF2) that somehow took Valve 9 years to make.. Expand
  48. RyanW.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    This package is very over-rated. The core gameplay in Half Life 2 and both episodes has now dulled with age. The AI is inferior to many games, and there is very little variation in combat. The single player part is very very linear and feels like your being led by the hand too much. The graphics are also sub-par, with Episode 2 showing some improvements, many objects and environments are This package is very over-rated. The core gameplay in Half Life 2 and both episodes has now dulled with age. The AI is inferior to many games, and there is very little variation in combat. The single player part is very very linear and feels like your being led by the hand too much. The graphics are also sub-par, with Episode 2 showing some improvements, many objects and environments are poorly textured. Halo 3 is far more entertaining, is better looking and has more replay value in the single player campaign. And Portal is just far too short. Overall: Comprehensive package, but tired gameplay and not much replay value in the single player parts. Expand
  49. Mathiasthing
    Jun 9, 2008
    4
    just because it's three games for one game's price does'nt mean it has to get sky high ratings. yeah portal was a new type of puzzle-game (that i liked) but that's no reason for me to rate it 10. because(call me insane) i never liked half life and team fortress two sucked! so.. portal: 10 half life 2 ep.2: 3 team fortress 2: -10.
  50. RickR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    6
    Come on. HL2 Episodes 1 and 2 weren't upgraded--so they look easily two years old, Portal is a class project from a game school (slightly fun puzzler) and Team Fortress does not include DM on a platform that has never had the support of Class Systems by end-users. We're going to have a bunch of children being annoying while others try to Heal players and such. This thing is poor Come on. HL2 Episodes 1 and 2 weren't upgraded--so they look easily two years old, Portal is a class project from a game school (slightly fun puzzler) and Team Fortress does not include DM on a platform that has never had the support of Class Systems by end-users. We're going to have a bunch of children being annoying while others try to Heal players and such. This thing is poor from a playability and (doors kill me?!?) bug standpoint as well. Very disappointing. Expand
  51. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    6
    Half Life 2 and expansions are highly questionable in quality. They had moments of originality that made up for the boring gameplay, but overall they were fairly mediocre - not noticeably bad, just not all that good. Team Fortress was almost good, it just lacked that certain something to put it over the top. It lacked "top end discrimination." That is to say that someone who was very, Half Life 2 and expansions are highly questionable in quality. They had moments of originality that made up for the boring gameplay, but overall they were fairly mediocre - not noticeably bad, just not all that good. Team Fortress was almost good, it just lacked that certain something to put it over the top. It lacked "top end discrimination." That is to say that someone who was very, very good would not necessarily do better than someone who was not quite as good. The only thing that really saves this is Portals, in my opinion. It's like an IQ test, minus the boring. Again, it lacks top end discrimination, the dev interview I read said it should take 20 hrs to complete the 20 challenges, I finished them in 3. Still a great game, especially with the advanced stuff afterwards. All in all, it gets a 6. It's worth playing, but it isn't really above average overall. Expand
  52. JasonL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    4
    Call it what it is, it's a bunch of old computer games that are packaged together. I rented this and took it back early, The story was cool in the campaign but the game play and complete lack of variety in enemies was just repetative and annoying. And I love all the comparisons to Halo 3, this game is far inferior to Halo 3. I was originally bebating on buying this but I am so Call it what it is, it's a bunch of old computer games that are packaged together. I rented this and took it back early, The story was cool in the campaign but the game play and complete lack of variety in enemies was just repetative and annoying. And I love all the comparisons to Halo 3, this game is far inferior to Halo 3. I was originally bebating on buying this but I am so releaved that I did not waste my money on it. Expand
  53. declankent
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    The game is way to hyped up because it's simply a bunch of oldskool games that have been slightly tweaked so they have better graphics and a little bit of new content. It's worth it if u want to muck about with ur mates but otherwise it's like replaying your old Xbox games so why pay £40 for a Rooster update? Is there there really any point?
    (P.S Valve Is Dead. It
    The game is way to hyped up because it's simply a bunch of oldskool games that have been slightly tweaked so they have better graphics and a little bit of new content. It's worth it if u want to muck about with ur mates but otherwise it's like replaying your old Xbox games so why pay £40 for a Rooster update? Is there there really any point?
    (P.S Valve Is Dead. It has been for a long time)
    Expand
  54. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  55. JohnS.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    OK is it me or is there something seriously wrong with the way people are rating video games. Bio Shock- mid 90s- no multiplayer, Halo 3 -mid 90s- basically a hi-def expansion pack to Halo 2. Haven't played COD 4 yet, but really another mid-90s, cmon. Look at the music, TV or movie page there's maybe one per year, maybe. Call me when Gears of War 2 is out, until then stop boring OK is it me or is there something seriously wrong with the way people are rating video games. Bio Shock- mid 90s- no multiplayer, Halo 3 -mid 90s- basically a hi-def expansion pack to Halo 2. Haven't played COD 4 yet, but really another mid-90s, cmon. Look at the music, TV or movie page there's maybe one per year, maybe. Call me when Gears of War 2 is out, until then stop boring me with good, but flawed FPS. Expand
  56. BRYANBRICENO
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    how the fuck did this box game beat halo 3 wtf!! WHO EVER VOTED FOR THIS GAME SUCKS CHIPS ROTTEN DICK.and this dont even look like a game..that stick figured picture on the cover looks like a MEN OR WOMEN sign to the restrooms..ARE WE SUPPOSED TO PLAY IN BATHROOMS OR A BOX...OR TOILETS..FUCK THIS GAME..WHO ARE WE SUPPOSED TO FUCKEN KILL THE SUPER TOILET OR BATH TUB MANIAC....OR BOX MAN yeahow the fuck did this box game beat halo 3 wtf!! WHO EVER VOTED FOR THIS GAME SUCKS CHIPS ROTTEN DICK.and this dont even look like a game..that stick figured picture on the cover looks like a MEN OR WOMEN sign to the restrooms..ARE WE SUPPOSED TO PLAY IN BATHROOMS OR A BOX...OR TOILETS..FUCK THIS GAME..WHO ARE WE SUPPOSED TO FUCKEN KILL THE SUPER TOILET OR BATH TUB MANIAC....OR BOX MAN yea i heard hes dangerous. Expand
  57. JeffK.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    Really lame to force their longtime fans to rebuy half life 2 and episode 1. We're the people who have supported them this long and valve turns around and gives us a raw deal. Very lame.
  58. RegnorV.
    Oct 28, 2007
    1
    Portal is a very cool game, and it's the only reason I withheld the zero that the overall box deserves. This isn't value, this is repackaging of old content in order to sell what amounts to an XBLA game.
  59. NasserInASaucer
    Aug 13, 2009
    6
    I loved portal. I wish it had more puzzles, and frankly it never gets difficult IMO. I would like to see some DLC for portal such as new puzzles. TF2 is okay. But half life 2 is just a chore. It's boring as hell for the first 3 hours, and even after that, I feel like I'm just waiting for it to be over. My recommendation is to get Portal: Still Alive from the marketplace and I loved portal. I wish it had more puzzles, and frankly it never gets difficult IMO. I would like to see some DLC for portal such as new puzzles. TF2 is okay. But half life 2 is just a chore. It's boring as hell for the first 3 hours, and even after that, I feel like I'm just waiting for it to be over. My recommendation is to get Portal: Still Alive from the marketplace and don't waste your time on the others. Portal gets a 9.5, still alive would get a 10. Expand
  60. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Best Compilation disc . . . EVER!!!
  61. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    The Orange Box is the best value ever. Half life 2 is amazing. Portal is a new fresh puzzle and TF2 is a great team based multiplayer game.
  62. Oct 23, 2011
    3
    Let me start off by saying that I agree with those who are saying that The Orange Box is a deal - 5 games in a case. Yeah but these games are just terrible. Team Fortress 2 makes for one of the worst online FPS I've played. The gameplay reminds of Q3 arena but with no fun in it + it is impossible to play this game on a console(it is an okay PC game however) Then, there is Portal. It has 19Let me start off by saying that I agree with those who are saying that The Orange Box is a deal - 5 games in a case. Yeah but these games are just terrible. Team Fortress 2 makes for one of the worst online FPS I've played. The gameplay reminds of Q3 arena but with no fun in it + it is impossible to play this game on a console(it is an okay PC game however) Then, there is Portal. It has 19 and the ending part(would be a spoiler), but all of these chambers are not challenging at all!!! The game takes around an hour to complete! Chambers are not creative compared to what could be done and it's too easy, but you always have to listen that annoying GlaDos. Finally there is Half Life 2 and both add-ons/expansions for it(episode 1 and 2) I found both, the original Half-Life 2 and the Episode 1 to be extremely boring, the plot was awful and, i usually dont mind when the main protagonist is mute, but in this game he NEEDS to speak. Episode 2 was better, i'd even say i liked it, and it was the only good time i had with Orange Box. People are saying it's 5 games for 60$(at launch) , while it is more like 2 games(TF2 and HL2) with 2 add-ons(Episode 1 and 2) and a Mini-game(Portal) IMO it isn't worth 60$ even for 2007, however I picked it up for 9.99$ so I don't feel so bad. Expand
  63. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    this is just the best package ever. granted portal is too short and team fortress looks dodgy, they are all great games at a very low price. excellent value and overall i think it is even better than blops, dead rising, fable 3 (by miles) and even guitar hero (for value)
  64. Jun 28, 2014
    4
    Been a "gamer" for probably 3 years now and I am always looking for great games to play. I'm through with all the current and several-year-old games that interest me and based on the awesome ratings, both old and relatively new, this game was next on my radar. The main game here is Half-life 2 and,while I definitely see why, in 2004 when this was released or even in 2007 when released onBeen a "gamer" for probably 3 years now and I am always looking for great games to play. I'm through with all the current and several-year-old games that interest me and based on the awesome ratings, both old and relatively new, this game was next on my radar. The main game here is Half-life 2 and,while I definitely see why, in 2004 when this was released or even in 2007 when released on XBox, this game was so highly praised, it is clearly outdated today.
    The story itself is very, very slow starting and overall quite weak; which in itself isn't a dealbreaker for me as some of my favorite games have weak stories (Skyrim anyone), but add to this the game mechanics are very 2004 (actually they kind of remind me of the original King's Quest on PC) and you have a game that is neither interesting nor overly enjoyable.

    In 2014 buyer beware.
    Expand
  65. Jan 29, 2019
    6
    Dans l'ensemble, une bonne adaptation de la version PC que cet Half-Life 2 sur 360 : c'est assez beau et fluide et la maniabilité à la manette est bien pensée. Cela étant, le jeu en lui-même offre un gameplay assez vieillot et balourd... La narration appelle davantage de questions que de réponses et la longueur de l'aventure est clairement excessive pour un jeu d'action de cet acabit quiDans l'ensemble, une bonne adaptation de la version PC que cet Half-Life 2 sur 360 : c'est assez beau et fluide et la maniabilité à la manette est bien pensée. Cela étant, le jeu en lui-même offre un gameplay assez vieillot et balourd... La narration appelle davantage de questions que de réponses et la longueur de l'aventure est clairement excessive pour un jeu d'action de cet acabit qui ne vous lâche jamais la couenne.

    Du coup, on apprécie paradoxalement bien davantage les 2 extensions fournies (les Episodes One et Two), bien plus courtes mais plus intenses et moins répétitives. Il reste évidemment une ambiance à nulle autre pareille, très efficace même si les mécaniques sont un peu surannées.

    Portal, pour sa part, est plutôt amusant et novateur mais tient davantage de la "curiosité" qu'autre chose, car on finit par s'en lasser plus vite qu'on ne croit... Quant à Team Fortress 2, il s'agit d'un multi à kévins en 4 couleurs avec des persos mongolos : une sorte de Fortnite avant l'heure en somme... Globalement, on en a -en tout cas- pour son argent dans cette "compilation" malgré quelques produits un brin suspects.
    Expand
  66. JoshuaB.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    Did 360 get all the maps (loads of 'em)? And with the trophies have you been able to upgrade your medic and pyro (2 new updates for pc with pyro and medic achievments, get some and you get new weps)?
  67. TomG.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    First i will start off with the obvious. 50 bucks for 5 amazing games! Now. I will begin with Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2 Episode 1, and Half-Life 2 Episode 2. They are all Amazing games(i have played the original half-life 2 and episode 1 before already, and i loved them. as for Episode 2, I just finnished it, and although short, it is absolutely amazing. You can realy see the depth of the First i will start off with the obvious. 50 bucks for 5 amazing games! Now. I will begin with Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2 Episode 1, and Half-Life 2 Episode 2. They are all Amazing games(i have played the original half-life 2 and episode 1 before already, and i loved them. as for Episode 2, I just finnished it, and although short, it is absolutely amazing. You can realy see the depth of the story in this last episode. Portal was probably the most satisfying gaming experience i have Ever had....i just wish there was more of it. right now im just getting into Team Fortress 2 and again i love it. In fact i love Every part of this package so much im almost tempted to buy it for Xbox 360 as well. Expand
  68. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Only the 5th game I have given 10/10, so tells you the quality that lies within this package. Those idiots who known nothing about gaming, give this 0. But are the same people who give the yearly updates of Need for Speed 10. Says a lot doesn't it! All the games in the box are classics on their own right. HL2 is simply the second best shooter of all time, and despite its age its Only the 5th game I have given 10/10, so tells you the quality that lies within this package. Those idiots who known nothing about gaming, give this 0. But are the same people who give the yearly updates of Need for Speed 10. Says a lot doesn't it! All the games in the box are classics on their own right. HL2 is simply the second best shooter of all time, and despite its age its still oozes class. Esps 1 is good, but not overly different from HL2. Esps 2 is where the series launches to greatness level. Has everything in equal but exciting measure, yet the characters are actually more engaging also. So these three games would well be worth the price, but wait...... theres more! Portal is already a favourite of mine, it is revolutionary in every way possible. Short, but you will be back playing it on the more difficult levels after you finish. Best puzzle game since Tertis. Then lastly you have Team Fortress 2, and possible one of the best multi players out there. It does suffer a lot from lag online and is quite Timespiltters at times with its crazy pace. But all the different characters enhance the game play triple fold, and is seriously fun and addictive. Watch out for more downloadable content for this soon. Overall for 50 quid, it is deal of the decade! Don't believe the Need for Speed comics. Expand
  69. MattA.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Great titles all around. Half-life 2 and all of it's episodes are very good, and flow together seemless to turn minutes into hours of gameing quickly. Portal is quite possibly the most unique, and hilarious game i've played in the past 5 years. Team Fortress 2 has such amazing style and deep gameplay. My only gripe is that Team Fortress two never has enough people on at a time, Great titles all around. Half-life 2 and all of it's episodes are very good, and flow together seemless to turn minutes into hours of gameing quickly. Portal is quite possibly the most unique, and hilarious game i've played in the past 5 years. Team Fortress 2 has such amazing style and deep gameplay. My only gripe is that Team Fortress two never has enough people on at a time, and only has 2 modes. It needs a team slayer mode and more maps. I'm sure some upgrades will come... Portal was short...but it may be my favorite titile in the Orange Box. Expand
  70. BarryP.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing deal. A set of 5 excellent games on 1 disc...and i only payed £30 for it... Half Life 2 may be 3-4 years old now but the graphics are still very impressive, as well as the overall physics of the game being so realistic it's hard to think of any other FPS game (atleast) that can top it for it's generation. It's the sort of title that every other FPS Absolutely amazing deal. A set of 5 excellent games on 1 disc...and i only payed £30 for it... Half Life 2 may be 3-4 years old now but the graphics are still very impressive, as well as the overall physics of the game being so realistic it's hard to think of any other FPS game (atleast) that can top it for it's generation. It's the sort of title that every other FPS should aspire to be like. I just love the fact that Valve have focused corely on making it a thinking man's game rather than just blasting through everything in chaos. Haven't reached the other 2 episodes yet but i'm about 8 hours through the 1st one and i love it! Portal is also good fun for a bit of action on the side.. TF2, great fun...the best game money can buy, guaranteed. Expand
  71. KhristianR.
    Oct 2, 2008
    9
    A great offer and a collection of five very well made games. Half Life definitely set the first person benchmark and number 2 definitely carries it on in great style. Team Fortress is a great inclusion for multiplayer and if you fancy giving your brain a work out, try Portal. Just who is the guy with the briefcase though.... SCORE : 94%.
  72. JohnD.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    The best gaming deal you'll ever have. five awesome games, the price on one. I don't see why people are whining about valve also releasing HL2 and episode 1 in the same box. If you have played the both you probly have a PC and you can buy episode 2, portal and TF2 alone. and three games, price of one is still a damn good deal.
  73. TravisD.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    As others have said this is the best game for the money, I was able to catch it on sale for $40. That is an insane cash point for five great games. I love Portal -- it has been a long time that since a game gave me a new challenging gameplay mechanic and made me laugh the entire time. I have just started on the Half-Life series but so far it is really good and Team Fortress is an As others have said this is the best game for the money, I was able to catch it on sale for $40. That is an insane cash point for five great games. I love Portal -- it has been a long time that since a game gave me a new challenging gameplay mechanic and made me laugh the entire time. I have just started on the Half-Life series but so far it is really good and Team Fortress is an interesting variant on deathmatch play especially if you are used to Halo and COD. Expand
  74. TARGET1058
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Portal is worth a 10 alone, but all the other many games that come in this pack a good quality games. One of the best deals for the money.
  75. GordonFreeman
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Amazing! Half Life 2, a 4 year old game, is simply amazing on the 360! With enhanced graphics the game looks really good and the gameplay is great. It isn't just a run and gun game like many other shooters. You actually have to solve puzzles and complete difficult tasks to survive and move through the game. Portal is possibly one of the most mind bending an fun games out there, yet itAmazing! Half Life 2, a 4 year old game, is simply amazing on the 360! With enhanced graphics the game looks really good and the gameplay is great. It isn't just a run and gun game like many other shooters. You actually have to solve puzzles and complete difficult tasks to survive and move through the game. Portal is possibly one of the most mind bending an fun games out there, yet it is very simple! Team Fortress 2 is awesome, too. It's almost like the WoW of shooters. While the main point of the game is to win and kill your opponents. There is a huge selection of weapons and classes. And of course Half Life 2 episodes 1 and 2 are great sequels to Half Life 2, bringing back some great puzzles, graphics, gameplay, and AI for all gamers to enjoy. You have to admit that getting so many games in one box for just $50 is a great deal. Certainly a must have! Expand
  76. GeffroyS>
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    The perfect masterpiece of all time.
  77. GustavoF.
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    Best deal in existence. Most people talk about Portal, and I like it, but it's just a small fraction of how good is Orange Box. Half Life 2 and episodes are probably the best part of the pack. The action isn't senseless, it's not a Call of Duty kind of a game where you can take your brain out and play. HL2 will truly challenge you and at the end, that feeling will be very Best deal in existence. Most people talk about Portal, and I like it, but it's just a small fraction of how good is Orange Box. Half Life 2 and episodes are probably the best part of the pack. The action isn't senseless, it's not a Call of Duty kind of a game where you can take your brain out and play. HL2 will truly challenge you and at the end, that feeling will be very rewarding. TF2 is quickly addicting, maybe the best multiplayer game ever made, not for its quality or graphics or realism, just because its really FUN. Valve shows the potential of inovation and set new standards for the gaming industry. Expand
  78. DaivdD.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    5 GREAT games for the price of one? NONE of these games are "so-so", not a single one. Each on it's own is worth the price of a full game. There is no better deal. The word to express the amazement escape me. I can't see how ANYONE chould rate this less then ten, it's like a hurricane of awesome!
  79. WesS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The sum of the parts is as impressive as the parts of the sum. Great value, solid gameplay, three destinct FPS styles (SP FPS, MP FPS, Puzzle FPS) in one box. Hours, days, weeks of fun.
  80. AndrewA.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Valve delivers every time! The Orange Box is no exception, especially if you are new to the Half Life 2 experience. Team Fortress 2 is great fun with wonderful characters and quick game play, Portal is new and challenging, and Episode 2 is more great Half Life 2 gaming goodness! All this, and I am playing these on a 3 year old laptop! Gotta love it!
  81. MarcL
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome... Just reminds me of why I keep saying that Half-Life 2 is the best game I've ever played.
  82. MarkC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    You can't say that the orange box doesnt offer new content, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress. Not to mention most game wouldnthave made it far with Half-Life. The original game (HL1) offered the best graphics, AI, not to mention the great physics of its time. Its Halo 3's main compition. Half-Life has a better story line, Halo has a better multiplier. In Half-Life somtimes you You can't say that the orange box doesnt offer new content, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress. Not to mention most game wouldnthave made it far with Half-Life. The original game (HL1) offered the best graphics, AI, not to mention the great physics of its time. Its Halo 3's main compition. Half-Life has a better story line, Halo has a better multiplier. In Half-Life somtimes you feel like a fucking badass, i never feel like that in Halo, here is why, Gordon Freeman-Scientist, not a soldier. Master Chief-Trained soldier, power suit Expand
  83. JohnW.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    WOW! I was really shocked at this. Every single one of the five games is a great. Half Life and it's add-ons were jaw dropping, the story and visuals, as well as the characters feel like a living, breathing world. Portal is a comedic stroke of genius, the physics and almost obsessive compulsive mood of the game brings a smile to my face and a dreamy sigh of relief. Now the big one, WOW! I was really shocked at this. Every single one of the five games is a great. Half Life and it's add-ons were jaw dropping, the story and visuals, as well as the characters feel like a living, breathing world. Portal is a comedic stroke of genius, the physics and almost obsessive compulsive mood of the game brings a smile to my face and a dreamy sigh of relief. Now the big one, Team Fortress 2, WOW. I didn't think I'd say this, but good-bye for a while Halo 3, I've got a new game to play, the brief comedy and artistic style gives me smile even when I'm loosing. All of these games look and feel great, though, Team Fortress 2 did come with a few errors, I am pretty sure a patch will fix this. Good job Valve! Expand
  84. JasonH.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Having so many games together makes this a steal for $60. Although a few elements were left out from TFC in the new TF2, several were added as well. I really miss having grenades, though.
  85. A.D.Salo
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    I know I'm a little off topic here but I really think this is the one of the better sites for game ratings. Since it takes the ratings made by other sites and compiles them. In addition, providing their own take. Well done. [Ed: my new best buddy.] Oh, the game by the way, fantastic.
  86. C.henry
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    easily one of the best games on the xbox, and definitely the best bang for you dollar. It's practically 5 games for the price of one. One of the best single player FPS games ever, HL2. Portals is ridiculously innovative and creative. Plus, it's a hoot. TF2 looks and plays great.
  87. PhilM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    After the disappointing single player experience of Halo 3, it's great to play the Orange Box single player games and be reminded that there are still developers who can get it right...
  88. ScottR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The three games here are not without flaw. Regardless, I can't think of any game that I would say is definitely better than this. Especially when you consider the value of 3 near perfect games for the price of one.
  89. DamienA.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Ridiculous games! HL2 alone is amazing, but including 4 other games in this package is unbeatable. Portal is a little too short but how can you complain when you have a good 20 hours of HL2 game play included on the disk. Not to mention the countless hours for TF2!
  90. JonT.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This box is a must buy. After you beat Portal you will agree that it was worth it for that game's ending alone. Yes, I'm serious.
  91. DarthGoat
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    100% awesomesauce.
  92. R.Hill
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This rating is for Half-Life 2: Episode 2... I really enjoyed the game. It draws you in with a cinematic experience. I beat it in a day, but still was very entertaining. The only disappointment was that they left you hanging at the end (leading to an episode 3 obviously). Definitely looking forward to the next installment.
  93. XtHcX519XSimChampion
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Team Fortress Two alone is worth the price tag. The addition of Half Life for people who never played the PC version is good bang for your buck. Not to fond of Portal, but the game has so much more to offer. In my opinion this game is the Halo 3 killer.
  94. WillM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing achievement by Valve. Episode 2 is the best Half-Life gameplay has been yet, the story is so immersive, the environent so gripping, that you don't want it to end. Portal is the perfect companion piece to that triumph, and an amazingly fun and inventive game in it's own right. Then there's TF2, and after logging many beta and live hours I can say this is the best Amazing achievement by Valve. Episode 2 is the best Half-Life gameplay has been yet, the story is so immersive, the environent so gripping, that you don't want it to end. Portal is the perfect companion piece to that triumph, and an amazingly fun and inventive game in it's own right. Then there's TF2, and after logging many beta and live hours I can say this is the best online shooter in years. A gamer would be foolish not to buy this, and not just because it's a great deal: It's just the highest quality gaming experience you'll see all year, period. Expand
  95. JohnF.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    So much content on one disc. Cmon', you can't go wrong with that. Especially when it's Half-Life. Valve I salute you!
  96. Ryan
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    A must own. Always something to do in this compilation. There's great story, great innovation, great multiplayer, great replay value, great achievements (99 of them). This is a must buy.
  97. DavidK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Apart from being the best deal in gaming history the story in episode 2 is remarkable, with a dramtic ending and intense graphics, definetly the best half life has to offer. Second team fortress is definetly one of the best multiplayer games ever, along with sick new graphics and animation styles. Something like TF2 can never get boring.... And finally portal, although can get boring, is Apart from being the best deal in gaming history the story in episode 2 is remarkable, with a dramtic ending and intense graphics, definetly the best half life has to offer. Second team fortress is definetly one of the best multiplayer games ever, along with sick new graphics and animation styles. Something like TF2 can never get boring.... And finally portal, although can get boring, is fun since we all know it will have smth to do with episode 3. However the ending in portal was pretty sweet too. Expand
  98. JoeyK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    First off, let's disregard the fact that this collection includes two already released games, including possibly the best PC shooter in history. Ignore that. This box includes three games that are each worth paying 20 dollars for, at least. Portal is fantastic. It's short, and doesn't have too much breadth, but it's oh so wonderfully fun, interesting, and new. Episode First off, let's disregard the fact that this collection includes two already released games, including possibly the best PC shooter in history. Ignore that. This box includes three games that are each worth paying 20 dollars for, at least. Portal is fantastic. It's short, and doesn't have too much breadth, but it's oh so wonderfully fun, interesting, and new. Episode 2 is a truly great game, and a great addition to Half Life, but is not a "full game." Team Fortress 2 is fabulous; my favorite multiplayer shooter ever, and undoubtedly the best class-based mp shooter ever. It looks great, plays great, is hilarious, well balanced, and polished to perfection. To summarize, there are three really great games here. TF2 is worth a full 50 dollars, but you get all three for that one epic price. Expand
  99. JoeT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Portal is absolutely amazing! I haven't played a game crafted with new ideas and smarts since Shadow Of The Colossus on the PS2 . Portal is the first truly unique experience I've played in quite a while. Too bad Valve didn't see fir to release a longer version of Portal on its own (but hopefully they'll release a Portal level construction set). ...Oh, and the Episode Portal is absolutely amazing! I haven't played a game crafted with new ideas and smarts since Shadow Of The Colossus on the PS2 . Portal is the first truly unique experience I've played in quite a while. Too bad Valve didn't see fir to release a longer version of Portal on its own (but hopefully they'll release a Portal level construction set). ...Oh, and the Episode Two and the revamped HL2, Ep1 are nice too. Expand
  100. DoisK.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    As already mentioned by many others, the amazing value for money in this package is astounding and the only issue I have with it is that Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is a tad bit too short. Portal, in my opinion, was just the right length. Most may find that its abit too short but I find it to be appropriate for the type of gameplay. Anyway, though Episode 2 would have been better had it been As already mentioned by many others, the amazing value for money in this package is astounding and the only issue I have with it is that Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is a tad bit too short. Portal, in my opinion, was just the right length. Most may find that its abit too short but I find it to be appropriate for the type of gameplay. Anyway, though Episode 2 would have been better had it been abit longer, the unprecedented engaging story and its god-like in-game cutseens will blow you away. And as for Portal, it will give you tons of laughs and eventually starts to feel more serious to the point it seems like you're in a thriller movie as the main character. It gave be truly the best 3 hours of my life. Awesome game. Finally, Team Fortress 2 is something that will have you glued to your computer forever. As a multiplayer game, it has pretty much infinite replayability. TFC's mods were great, it made the game practically 5 games but now that theres Team Fortress 2, who knows what wonders the community can come up with. Even better - what Valve is going to add... I hear a new player-class is coming up. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    For first-person shooter fans, it doesn't get much better than this. What's even better is that each individual game runs amazingly well on the Xbox 360. The graphics are amazing as is the presentation. The interface that Valve created for navigating through the content is also wonderful.
  2. 95
    That so much great content is offered at the standard single-game price is astonishing.
  3. 100
    The Orange Box can't stop giving. It's a sci-fi masterpiece, a clever puzzler and a multiplayer monster wrapped into one, making this a landmark achievement in gaming value and one of the easiest buying decisions you'll make all year. Color us impressed.