Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Feb 11, 2017
    95
    If you're looking for an adorable game with tight platforming, a unique lighting mechanic, fantastic graphics and level design then Candleman if for you.
  2. Feb 1, 2017
    70
    That's the unpredictable allure to Candleman. Its obvious hook is in its unique mechanic, but that's not enough to carry it to the conclusion. Then, there's a Rudy-like emotional investment that takes over when everything stops revolving around gameplay. Fittingly, Candleman burns out prematurely. But, that doesn't mean that it stops shining.
  3. Feb 1, 2017
    80
    With its relatively short length, storybook-like progression and focus on a charming coming-of-age tale that offers surprising maturity, Candleman might be found sitting alongside Journey and The Unfinished Swan, although it’s lesser in scope. For Spotlightor’s first console outing, it’s remarkably sophisticated and tightly produced — I’m excited to see what they come up with next.
  4. Dec 19, 2017
    70
    Despite being short, it will undoubtedly delight platform genre lovers.
  5. Feb 3, 2017
    90
    Candleman is the first true surprise of 2017. An ambitious little platformer that seemingly came out of nowhere and ended up as an unforgettable, brilliant and gorgeous light in the gaming landscape, not unlike its protagonist.
  6. Feb 6, 2017
    80
    Candleman is a special indie game that has a lot of heart. Its story is surprisingly dark, no pun intended, but it seeks to offer an insightful life lesson, much like Spotlightor hoped to achieve with its games. Through solid platforming sections with a touching journey, it is easily worth peoples’ time, who may learn just how precious that is once they play this title.
  7. 70
    It’s not the fact that you’re controlling a perambulatory candle that’s the oddest thing about this game, but that its story is so oddly affecting despite its absurdity.
  8. Feb 7, 2017
    85
    Candleman delivers an highly charismatic and atmospheric adventure with striking visuals and a compelling gameplay, only occasionally hindered by its fixed camera. A surprising puzzle-platfomer that any lover of this genre should play.
  9. Feb 3, 2017
    80
    I enjoyed my time with the Candleman. It’s an old-fashioned platformer with some very neat tricks and a lot of highly enjoyable gameplay. It might be a bit too samey for some regarding pace and style, but the story is charming with a very downbeat ending, that nearly ruins your investment in the little candle guy. But in conclusion, please give this a go if you like your platformers, love candles and hate the dark. I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
  10. Feb 8, 2017
    80
    Candleman is a great platformer with beautifully rendered graphics and wonderful attention to detail.
  11. Feb 6, 2017
    80
    A platformer that makes great use of shadows and light. You'll get emotionally attached to the candle as he burns through some lovely environments and tough platforming, but the ending is a bit of a damp squib.
  12. Feb 6, 2017
    80
    Candleman lights up the night as a unique experience on Xbox One. Its use of light makes even the most basic puzzles and platforming challenges a lot of fun to play through. As I became more and more absorbed into the world of Candleman, I found connections with the protagonist that I never expected to share with a candle. And perhaps the unexpectedness of Candleman is that the time I spent with the game felt refreshing. I never found myself needlessly frustrated at the difficulty, rather; I found myself in a constant state of shock and awe as each new part of the journey offered exciting new opportunities. Candleman is a timeless tale meant for nearly all ages only hindered by a myriad of technical issues.
  13. Feb 21, 2017
    78
    Despite having a few faults, it definitely deserves attention and love, because it’s solid, memorable and generally well made game.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 8 out of 33
  1. Feb 3, 2017
    9
    Candleman walks the fine line between an indie game that serves up tight core gameplay but varies it up enough with an interesting story andCandleman walks the fine line between an indie game that serves up tight core gameplay but varies it up enough with an interesting story and character development that makes me feel like I'm getting something out of playing. The concept is simple, really - control a sentient candle and maneuver your way in the dark through difficult platforming and good timing. Here's the catch - for each of the 36 levels in the game, you only have 10 seconds of candle light to use before you die.

    Overall, I think it's an interesting game that's thought provoking and beautifully created. I took away a point because some of the levels can be difficult to survive, but that might just be my error. At $15, it was a solid purchase for me.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2017
    8
    There is a great little game. The basic mechanics are that you can light your own wick and you can jump - that's it. The beauty is really inThere is a great little game. The basic mechanics are that you can light your own wick and you can jump - that's it. The beauty is really in the level design which is superb. Each level starts in darkness and you have 10 seconds worth of candle wick to light, this means you have to think very carefully about when you can light your candle to see where you are going as you will have to light it so you don't fall to your death or step on something lethal.
    Each level will have a number of dead candles strategically positioned that you can light to help you see where you are going and when you die and replay levels they will be there to help you through tough spots. The levels themselves are the stars as there are various mechanics which make the journey tougher and easier. In some levels there are light sensitive plants which can help you across water or fall on you and crush you or lilies that you can stand on but get devoured by whirlpools and each set of levels have unique themes and puzzles.
    I was really impressed by how the level design worked with such limited movement and functionality, i was never bored and always wanted to see what happened next which was helped by the almost Disney like backgrounds and animations. Having a little candle helped too as you got invested in his journey and wanted him to succeed.
    I will be following this dev as this is his first game and it shows such polish and imagination. Great value for money and it will stick in your memory.
    Highly recommended!
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 6, 2017
    6
    This game is cute, but far too short and simplistic. The camera and controls just don't feel polished. Frame rate drops also are a realThis game is cute, but far too short and simplistic. The camera and controls just don't feel polished. Frame rate drops also are a real annoyance. Maybe when it goes on sale people can take a chance on it and pick it up Full Review »