User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 109
  2. Negative: 50 out of 109
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2019
    9
    Crash Team Racing Nitro-Fueled is a beautiful remake of the 1999 original Crash Team Racing. Packed to the brim with break-neck speeds and perfectly refinished maps that pose a challenge to new fans and players of the original game. This classic Cart style game pits players against each other with a wacky, high-powered, explosion filled arsenal, ranging from TNT crates to Roaming balls ofCrash Team Racing Nitro-Fueled is a beautiful remake of the 1999 original Crash Team Racing. Packed to the brim with break-neck speeds and perfectly refinished maps that pose a challenge to new fans and players of the original game. This classic Cart style game pits players against each other with a wacky, high-powered, explosion filled arsenal, ranging from TNT crates to Roaming balls of Lightning as well as other familiar items from the Crash game series. You race 8 carts deep on insane maps, some just as dangerous as the weapons given to players. I enjoyed dodging the constant danger while trying to keep my Nitro-Fuled boosts coming in fast to keep in the front of the pack. All the while trying to absorb the intricate stage designs, filled with nostalgic scenes from the Crash Bandicoot series. The unique Drift Boost kept me on my toes every moment of the race while driving for my life. Weather you were a fan of the original Crash Team Racing, The Crash Bandicoot Series, or just cart combat racing I would highly recommend this game as a must buy for your Xbox One library. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2019
    9
    This game is actually fun, unlike Mario Kart and yeah it's quite challenging and full of different mechanics, you should definitely play it.

    Although I like the mechanics, it's far from being a masterpiece in my eyes so.
  3. Jun 22, 2019
    10
    Faithful remaster of the original. Optional control schemes for classic play or a more modern control scheme make this game enjoyable for old and new players alike. CTR offers a chaos and visual palette that mario kart often struggles to match and it's no surprise that the original version of this game changed the genre forever.
  4. Jun 21, 2019
    10
    Muy entretenido y mantiene la esencia Mantiene todo hasta los atajos es muy muy completo , el nuevo contenido lo hace aún más regulable
  5. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    It's so much fun, I love it. Beautiful to look at and the gameplay is so addictive that I literally had trouble driving my real car today as I felt like power sliding through intersections. (Don't do that - drive responsibly!!!) Playing this game just makes me feel good even though I still really suck at it. The characters are hilarious. I never played the original games but all the mapsIt's so much fun, I love it. Beautiful to look at and the gameplay is so addictive that I literally had trouble driving my real car today as I felt like power sliding through intersections. (Don't do that - drive responsibly!!!) Playing this game just makes me feel good even though I still really suck at it. The characters are hilarious. I never played the original games but all the maps are included so there's a ton of new environments to look at and tracks to master. Plus the other game modes could be a lot of fun with friends, like battle modes and capture the flag and whatnot. I'm really glad I bought it. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2019
    10
    What a great game, nostalgia overload. I assume anyway, I haven't played it yet but I will eventually. I assume it will be good. So for now, having not played the game yet I will give it and extremely positive review. If I don't like it which I doubt I may change my score, then again maybe I won't
  7. Jun 23, 2019
    10
    This is a beyond perfect remaster of the kart racing game I have always regarded to be the best ever made. It's taken me back to my teenage years, this reboot has everything that made the original incredible and more! The customisation options for characters and karts are great, the rebooted graphics are amazing, even on the switch which has less powerful hardware, they've optimised itThis is a beyond perfect remaster of the kart racing game I have always regarded to be the best ever made. It's taken me back to my teenage years, this reboot has everything that made the original incredible and more! The customisation options for characters and karts are great, the rebooted graphics are amazing, even on the switch which has less powerful hardware, they've optimised it really well and it looks great still and you just lose a little definition as it runs in 720p resolution instead of the big console versions who are running at 1080 (both versions run at 30fps). The game features a few nods to the classic CTR game such as legacy soundtrack and authentic loading screen times (30secs to load a race for big console version, 45secs on switch). But don't let that get you down, This is a triumph, I urge everyone who has ever loved kart racers to give this a go, and the Mario kart fans especially have to give this a chance because it is in many ways superior, and rewards good players for usr of skill, and punishes you less with random crate power ups, and the speed of races increases as you get better at the game and chaining turbos and learning the tracks, etc - thankyou everyone who worked on this game! It is amazing!

    TLDR:
    -loading times
    +best kart racing experience of all time
    Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2019
    10
    The game features a few nods to the classic CTR game such as legacy soundtrack and authentic loading screen times (30secs to load a race for big console version, 45secs on switch). But don't let that get you down, This is a triumph, I urge everyone who has ever loved kart racers to give this a go, and the Mario kart fans especially have to give this a chance because it is in many waysThe game features a few nods to the classic CTR game such as legacy soundtrack and authentic loading screen times (30secs to load a race for big console version, 45secs on switch). But don't let that get you down, This is a triumph, I urge everyone who has ever loved kart racers to give this a go, and the Mario kart fans especially have to give this a chance because it is in many ways superior, and rewards good players for usr of skill, and punishes you less with random crate power ups, and the speed of races increases as you get better at the game and chaining turbos and learning the tracks, etc - thankyou everyone who worked on this game! It is amazing! Expand
  9. Jun 23, 2019
    10
    Obviously the best Kart racer in the history of Kart racers, So mario kart it is time to bow to your superior amazing graphics game play and killer awesome adventure mode A++.
  10. Jun 21, 2019
    10
    One of the best remakes! , has many customizable aspects, many more brokers than the original, the graphics are very nice and above all it has nothing of micro transactions
  11. Jun 21, 2019
    10
    Perfetto in tutto!! Un ramake di CTR di qualità eccezionale con contenuti extra dei sui successori
  12. Aug 4, 2019
    8
    crash team racing is a great racing game for both hard-core and casual gamers to be able to pick up and play its easy to learn how to play but difficult to master the graphics are beautiful it feels great to drift around the corners the recreation off the tracks are amazing and the character and the kart models are fantastic and I was actually was quite surprised how difficult the game wascrash team racing is a great racing game for both hard-core and casual gamers to be able to pick up and play its easy to learn how to play but difficult to master the graphics are beautiful it feels great to drift around the corners the recreation off the tracks are amazing and the character and the kart models are fantastic and I was actually was quite surprised how difficult the game was on the hardest difficulty to give you an idea how difficult the hardest difficulty is the ai would usually finish a race only like 2 3 or 4 seconds behind the time trials challenges times necessary to unlock the n tropy character yeah imagine that with 7 other ai racers throwing tnt crates rockets and bowling ball bombs etc. at you I have a lot off respect for anyone who can beat 100% of the adventure mode at the hardest difficulty so I would for the vast majority off gamers I would certainly say play the adventure mode on the medium difficulty setting which is the same difficulty the original game was set to this game dose has its faults however though the pit stop shop(the place you go to for purchasing characters and other cosmetic items with the in game currency you earn) dose look perfectly set up for micro transactions to be added later on in the games lifecycle so for those people that hate that stuff that's a heads up for you also you cant earn currency or access the shop while playing without being connected to Xbox live or psn (I hope that changes with a patch) in regards of how much in game currency you earn its enough to earn a new character once every 3 hours which costs 1500 coins plus your able to earn 5x the amount off in game currency by playing online against other players up until you get 2000 coins every day it goes up to 10x until you get 4000 coins on weekends so overall at least for right now im happy with the amount of in game currency you earn one last thing I did not like and this was a big one for me was the extremely limited options to change your controls 2 button layouts is all you get which resulted with me struggling with the controls for the first 2 hours off me playing the game I don't see why you couldn't just let us customise our own button layouts performance wise I did not have a single problem no frame rate loss not a single crash with my 16 hours off playtime and no real glitch problems overall I give this game an 8/10 however if you don't have Xbox live or psn at the time off this review its a 7/10 so long as you have Xbox live or psn its worth its $50 (aus$) price tag
    update as i suspected they did add in micro transactions in the month off august i keep the score at an 8 in the current state but will lower the score if they make the game p2w or put the in game rewards behind lootboxes
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Aug 8, 2019
    90
    An absolutely beautiful recreation of a magnificently designed racer. [Issue#180, p.81]
  2. Jul 16, 2019
    85
    Crash Team Racing Nitro Fueled is a beautiful trip back in time. It is also great that PS4 and XB1 owners finally have a truly great kart racer available on their machines. This game is a must-own for anyone that loves these types of games, and for the price it is impossible not to recommend. Just be prepared for the difficulty and remember playing on easy is perfectly fine, and much more enjoyable for that casual romp.
  3. Jul 8, 2019
    88
    I really enjoyed my time with Crash Team Racing: Nitro Fueled, as it brought the original PSone game to life with modern day visuals and sound, and I got to play it on the Xbox One. There is a heck of a lot to do in the game too, so you won’t get through it too quickly, and for completionists out there, you’ll enjoy all that the game has you doing. It’s worth reiterating that the game can be tough, and that is something you’ll have to adjust to, as you memorize the tracks, their shortcuts and all. Don’t let this fact keep you from playing it though, as there is a lot of fun here for those who have not played the game in the past, and for those returning to the world of Crash Team Racing, you’ll be very happy with this remaster too.