Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Sep 16, 2016
    95
    With smarter AI opposition and an altogether smoother online experience, PES 2017 is close to the complete package. FIFA’s new story mode might be the most headline-grabbing feature of either game this year, but it’s clear Konami is in no mood to relinquish its title as king of the virtual pitch.
  2. Oct 10, 2016
    90
    PES 2017 is in many way the game that PES 2016 should have been. It shares the same deep mechanics, but the AI – especially the goalies – is so much better. PES 2017 may be a let down for those who want as many licenses as possible, for everyone else this is one of the best soccer games ever.
  3. Sep 19, 2016
    90
    PES 2017 greatly improves gameplay, tactics and match simulation and variety resulting in an unrivaled on the field play experience. It's still got to get rid of some old habits mainly in the licenses and player behaviour reproduction, but it's undoubtedly shining anew.
  4. Sep 15, 2016
    90
    This 2017 edition has sure made headway for the future. And for Konami, it's a much-needed recovery.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 9, 2016
    88
    PES 2017 works wonders on the pitch. Its smooth controls, various great game modes and attention to detail make PES an enjoyable football experience. [Oct 2016]
  6. Sep 13, 2016
    88
    Continuing to go from strength to strength, PES 2017 is the zenith for Konami's stellar footie series, representing all of the pieces falling into place to create on-the-pitch nirvana. There are some extremely minor flaws, but all in all, PES 2017 is wonderful.
  7. Sep 16, 2016
    84
    An undeniable improvement over last year's iteration, PES 2017 looks and feels amazing, but the ever-growing licensing problem is reaching a point in which it disrupts immersion and some gameplay elements such as transfers an auction tools in myClub. On top of that, there's little innovation when it comes to game modes and the online front remains uninspired and stale.
  8. Oct 3, 2016
    83
    Absolutely nails the core gameplay.
  9. Sep 21, 2016
    83
    A solid title that is as entertaining as it is satisfying to play.
  10. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 1, 2016
    80
    The most realistic football simulation yet: PES' depth and control are simply stupendous. [Dec 2016, p.88]
  11. Sep 19, 2016
    80
    With only a small range of licenses and a lacklustre editor, those that value authenticity, an entirely reasonable demand considering that the aim of these games is to recreate the sport to its fullest, may want to wait a few weeks to see how the new FIFA fares before making a purchase.
  12. Sep 13, 2016
    80
    Fans of the series will feel rewarded for playing this years incarnation and the addition of an official, competitive league is a positive step towards the ever increasing eSports future we live in. It's fun to play, and it's so slick you'd fall over if you stepped on it...But the overall experience is still lacking, and that's down to licensing.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 100
  2. Negative: 35 out of 100
  1. Sep 17, 2016
    9
    'Gameplay is too robotic and arcade-like'? Nonsense. Totally the opposite. I've only played the demo of Fifa 17 which I did enjoy'Gameplay is too robotic and arcade-like'? Nonsense. Totally the opposite. I've only played the demo of Fifa 17 which I did enjoy (particularly The Journey) but the difference in gameplay is like night and day. This is buttery smooth compared to Fifa. The animations, the collisions, the amount of different ways to finish - all superior. The presentation will never be able to compete with Fifa with all their official licences and their Sķy Sports match day atmosphere but where it counts, on the pitch, is head and shoulders above. Maybe the full release of Fifa 17 will be a lot better but as it stands PES 2017 is so far in my opinion the best football game ever. I'm not against Fifa either as I'll buy that game too as I have done since Fifa '99 as I'm footie mad but last year Pro Evo took over the reins from Fifa for the first time since Pro Evolution Soccer 6 in 2006. This year the gap could be widening significantly. Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2016
    10
    This is best football game ever ! I played demo fifa 2017 and its for kids ! best real football game ever !! period !Still the best footballThis is best football game ever ! I played demo fifa 2017 and its for kids ! best real football game ever !! period !Still the best football game around. Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2016
    10
    Pro Evolution Soccer vuelve a su esencia, no tendrá todas las licencias que uno quisiera pero a la hora de jugar es diversión pura, donde laPro Evolution Soccer vuelve a su esencia, no tendrá todas las licencias que uno quisiera pero a la hora de jugar es diversión pura, donde la jugabilidad lo pone como uno de los mejores juegos de futbol de ultimo tiempo. Full Review »