Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. May 29, 2019
    71
    RAGE 2 is a game that is easy to recommend to people who like and are in search of good open world shooters. A masterpiece it is not, but that doesn’t mean it’s not worth playing. Although it’s not as great as I was hoping, I enjoyed my time with this sequel and am glad that I played it. It might not be a masterpiece, but it’s a fun way to spend ten or twelve hours.
  2. May 20, 2019
    70
    Rage 2 isn’t the biggest game in the world. Nor is it the prettiest, or the most polished. Once you’ve explored its tame open world enough to open up your combat options however, it doesn’t really matter. In the heat of battle, the only thing you’ll be experiencing while playing Rage 2 is sheer joy. And it’s good enough to make all the boring bits in between feel worthwhile. It’s not perfect, but it shows that id’s brilliant brand of combat can be enhanced and implanted into an open world.
  3. May 20, 2019
    70
    RAGE 2 is a pure power fantasy and there's nothing inherently wrong with that. It serves up some awesome powers and skills at an irresistible pace and makes the player feel like they're ready to take on the whole wasteland in one go. The problem is the story is over so quickly that you're soon left with nothing to do but exactly that — drive around the world, stop at every icon on your map, blow up everything inside, and move on. The amazing gunplay and combat of RAGE 2 shouldn't easily get so stale, but because of an open world all too familiar and a story that hardly gets going before it ends, players are left to rule over a kingdom of dirt.
  4. May 15, 2019
    70
    Rage 2 is presented as a wild ride through a post-apocalyptic playground, with people invited to attend a festival of blood, guts, and spray paint. Wacky characters and bright colors adorn the box art and marketing materials, but the reality of the game is much less colorful. Were the outside trimmings more accurate, they would feature a grey supercop holding an assault rifle. The pizzazz and graffiti are merely background decoration for a collection of tropes and mechanics we’ve seen elsewhere, done better by the same developers to boot. It’s certainly fun to play, and shooter diehards who love open worlds will likely have a blast checking off objectives and discovering new powers, but anyone looking for more style or substance will be disappointed.
  5. 70
    As a shooter Rage 2 is incredible. It's everything around that core competency that brings the game down. A lack of narrative, world building, and questionable design decisions in terms of progression leave the experience feeling flat.
  6. May 20, 2019
    65
    Rage 2 might be fun for newcomers or fans of crazy shooters, but it certainly disappoints the fans of the original Rage.
  7. May 29, 2019
    61
    RAGE 2 held plenty of potential, but even considering how great the combat is, falls well short of that goal. The sequel is hampered by the same issues that cropped up in the original. The campaign is a non-factor and the open-world needed more life in it. Third time's the charm?
  8. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Aug 8, 2019
    60
    A solid FPS that delivers on the shooting, but fails to provide much else worth doing. [Issue#179, p.75]
  9. May 16, 2019
    60
    For everything Rage 2 does right, there’s another thing hindering it from being great.
  10. May 16, 2019
    60
    If all you’re looking for is good shooting mechanics, the game has you covered.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 193
  2. Negative: 61 out of 193
  1. May 14, 2019
    8
    Rage 2 reminds me of a cross between the Avalanche Studios released Mad Max based on the films, which become a great game thanks in part toRage 2 reminds me of a cross between the Avalanche Studios released Mad Max based on the films, which become a great game thanks in part to the gorgeous wasteland icreated for it with s splash of the borderlands series thrown in for good measure. I was expecting similarities in Mad Max because Rage is similarly inspired by Mad Max and created by the the same developer as Mad Max was. However Rage 2's world feels a little empty to me. There are a few gorgeous locations, and some nice differences in what’s there to traverse, but lacks somewhere in the quality I was expecting. I do like that it's a smaller, more detailed map rather than a giant, mostly empty space. The gunplay unfolds nice and chunky and weapons and diversity in the use of the skill trees available in the game are quite nice. Rage 2 will likely fill the hunger of any fan of the now franchise of Rage, but those like me who didn’t experience the 1st game or wasn’t a huge fan of the 1st game may still feel like they expected more overall. Don’t get me wrong Rage 2 get’s much more right than it get’s wrong but it didn’t live up to the ”hype” I was anticipating from what at many times is a beautiful smooth experience. In the end it get’s much more right than wrong and a despite my little complaints it’s a worthy addition to the Xbox One library. There’s so much to explore and no two play-throughs would unfold the same, so there is definitely something here for shooter fans of any sort. Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2019
    10
    what is the deal with trolls giving this game bad reviews? I'm lazy so it's rare that I take the time to review a video game. I'm halfwaywhat is the deal with trolls giving this game bad reviews? I'm lazy so it's rare that I take the time to review a video game. I'm halfway through Rage 2, the game is fun as hell, whoever said the game is boring has not played this game. The graphics are beautiful, I enjoy the colors, the only bad point is there is no HDR, but the game still looks great and plays smooth. So ignore the trolls, I'm enjoying this game so far, also I did play the original Rage Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2019
    6
    I initially thought this game was a 9, but after beating it, it's a 6. Main missions only add up to 7 hrs gameplay and the last 2 missionsI initially thought this game was a 9, but after beating it, it's a 6. Main missions only add up to 7 hrs gameplay and the last 2 missions are boring. The side missions are all the same. The game runs well, but is poorly designed. A real shame. Full Review »