Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Nov 21, 2017
    73
    Spintires: MudRuner is a breath of fresh air for the usual player of the sport driving genre. In addition, with its fantastic atmosphere, it will transport us to the purest nature. However, its high difficulty can make us lose interest and leave it aside.
  2. Nov 25, 2017
    70
    For the lovers of heavy trucks, 4 wheel drives and Jeeps, and for the lovers of rough roads and difficult conditions, Spintires is the real deal. Spintires is a solid driving simulation like no other game before, and while its camera angels and controls might be annoying at first, the top-notch visuals and sharp gameplay eventually help it to become one of the best driving simulations available on the market.
  3. Nov 7, 2017
    70
    Spintires: Mudrunner is an interesting game in a genre nobody knew existed. Believe it or not, there has been previous games in this series. It is a niche title landing at an inopportune time. Released when the flow of Fall releases are not flooding the market might have helped its chances. However, anyone who digs in is sure to find a gem buried underneath the mud.
  4. Nov 2, 2017
    70
    Spintires: MudRunner is utterly unique, and as a driving simulator of a niche field it is basically unparalleled. However, the difficulty level and lack of pace are likely going to make it a very niche game, while the camera is an extra challenge in itself. Still, there’s grit, determination, freedom and reward to be found here for those ready to wade in.
  5. Nov 2, 2017
    70
    With its pedestrian pace and delivery objectives, Mudrunner won’t appeal to an awful lot of people, but that doesn’t stop it being a fun and often relaxing experience.
  6. Oct 31, 2017
    70
    It would be easy to dismiss Spintires: MudRunner as a niche title but in truth it’s surprisingly accessible. It can drag sometimes and if you think patience is a dirty word, steer clear. But for the most part it’s an engaging, messy time sink that’s well worth getting stuck into.
  7. Nov 11, 2017
    55
    Too many problems bury Mudrunner's ambitions, comprising lack of contents, gameplay problems and an underwhelming presentation. A real pity, as an heavy off-road vehicles sim like this one could have been very interesting to play.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jan 2, 2018
    8
    I must admit that when Spintires: Mudrunner was first announced it intrigued me a great deal, and that was mainly down to the unique feel theI must admit that when Spintires: Mudrunner was first announced it intrigued me a great deal, and that was mainly down to the unique feel the game had. When I first started the game it was like nothing I’d ever played before and I must admit that I quite enjoyed it. The physics which are important in a game like this have been done very well, and I appreciated the realistic approach they implemented in the game. The puzzles in the game are something that really impressed me, and the main reason they impressed me so much is because they are interesting and you have to complete them in an interesting and unique way. If you like a game that is packed with content then you will love this game, but I must warn you that it’s best played in short bursts because it does become tedious if played for long periods and that’s mainly down to the extremely slow driving. I will say however that the game doesn’t get tedious much when played online, and thankfully the online has quite a few player’s playing and I didn’t suffer with many problems. The main problems I had with the game came from the terrible camera. The camera in the game is probably the worst I’ve ever seen and it caused me a great deal of frustration because to call it awkward would be a massive understatement. The presentation side of the game is something that I was a little disappointed with. Visually the game is dull and doesn’t look great at times, and the accompanying sound design does nothing to make the game stand out and often doesn’t sound realistic enough. At the end of the day Spintires: Mudrunner is a game that can definitely be called niche, and without a doubt it won’t appeal to all gamers. I will say however that if you would like to try something different then I fully recommend that you give this game a try because it definitely has a unique feel to it and the most important thing is that it nails the mechanics, and for that reason it gets a thumbs up from me. Full Review »
  2. Nov 11, 2017
    10
    Two playthrough review... on my 3rd playthrough now.

    In Mudrunner you play as a logger where your job is to move logs from point A to point
    Two playthrough review... on my 3rd playthrough now.

    In Mudrunner you play as a logger where your job is to move logs from point A to point B but that is easier said than done. If you want to successfully accomplish this you will need to scout out best paths with a light vehicle, move assets such as fuel and loaders into place, then move the logs from point A to point B.

    Casual Mode. In this mode fuel is consumed slower, you do not need to babysit the differential, you can auto load logs onto your truck and if need be you can spawn your vehicle to the nearest garage. Speaking of the garage, some need to be unlocked to use by hauling garage parts to the garage which can be a real chore in and of itself.

    Hardcore Mode. This is where the game really shines as a work and physics sim. Fuel is consumed at a higher rate making it necessary to preposition assets such as fuel. The differential can only be used in low gear and will damage the truck if kept on while on firm surfaces. You must manually load logs onto the truck which will require you to preposition a loader. The loader is a bit finicky and requires a bit of trial and error to become proficient at using it. You cannot spawn vehicles back to the garage so pulling stuck vehicles from the mud will become necessary.

    The game takes place in a rain forest where dirt roads tend to have muddy patches and even places like meadows can be a safe shortcut or turn into a bog where you become stuck with no anchor-point for your wench to reach thus requiring you to bring over another vehicle to tow it out. Ruts will pull your vehicle around, rocks will scrape on the underside of the vehicle causing damage, and the mud looks and and acts like mud should. There is also a day/night cycle and it gets very dark at night.

    The game can be difficult but here are a couple tips that will make the journey much easier even on Hardcore Mode. 1) When carrying a load it is generally best to be in low gear as it will make getting stuck less likely. Be sure to switch the differential on and off as necessary as the differential helps a lot. 2) Scout the area with a light vehicle and unlock other vehicles on the map by driving to them. Also use the light vehicle to drive to watch-points which reveal large portions of the map for easier navigation. 3) Drive slow and carefully and you will not have much need to repair vehicles although vehicles that you unlock on map may need to be repaired and fueled. Also going to the garage will fully repair your vehicle plus give you some fuel. 4) Plan your routes carefully and use waypoints. When in doubt scout out the path before committing to it.

    This is a great game but will likely only be appealing to a niche market. The game is in my opinion as close to flassless as a game can get and for that reason I give Mudrunners a score of 10.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 6, 2019
    10
    I love this game and everything about it. It seems like one of those really good underrated games.