Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 25, 2020
    74
    Torchlight III builds on the previous game's good gameplay, but the overall experience feels uninspired. A bit too many technical problems aren't helping, too.
  2. Oct 16, 2020
    73
    Torchlight III has come a long way from the original game. The graphics stay true to the series but look a lot more refined. The options for characters have been compacted, but the introduction of relics allows you to mix and match for variety without suffering from choice overload. It stands shoulder to shoulder with games like Diablo as a fair alternative, but I feel playing with friends is a must as you may lose interest just playing solo.
  3. Nov 8, 2020
    72
    Torchlight 3 suffers from the decisions made in its development. It is a good ARPG but does not stand out at all.
  4. Nov 5, 2020
    70
    The combat is sound, the loot is there, and playing with friends is a great time, but it does absolutely nothing to stand out in the crowded genre. It also does very little to stand out from its own predecessors. That is the biggest crime this game commits. There is simply nothing here that screams bigger and better than the last game. Still even with these shortcomings Torchlight III is a solid ARPG that will please anyone who decides to take the plunge. I enjoyed the hours I got from it, and loved playing with friends online. I had a hard time coming back to it regularly like other titles such as Diablo III and Path of Exile, which is not good considering how old those games are.
  5. Oct 21, 2020
    70
    But as annoying as those issues are, there’s no denying the actual gameplay of Torchlight III is a joy. Very few – if any – Diablo-likes have been able to grab our attention like Torchlight III has. It’s just a real shame that the weak endgame offerings means your desire to keep playing screeches to a halt fairly quickly. But if Echtra Games adds in further content at a later date, it’s something we’d be keen to rush back into.
  6. Nov 4, 2020
    65
    Torchlight III started life as a free-to-play title, and by all accounts it shows. It won’t bore you, but it’s just not engaging enough to become your next gaming obsession.
  7. Oct 13, 2020
    65
    Torchlight 3 is, by the very definition of the word, okay. It’s a perfectly serviceable ARPG that is just fine. It’s kind of fun, but gets repetitive rather quickly. And while Echtra's ARPG effort looks really pretty, it’s completely middle of the road stuff.
  8. Oct 20, 2020
    60
    Torchlight III on Xbox One is by no means a bad game. It functions fine and gives the same satisfaction that your traditional ARPG will. That being said, it feels just a bit lazy. The gameplay, story, visuals and mechanics are fine but that’s about it. It is rather fun with friends and doesn’t have any major issues, but it fails to live up to the light set before it.
  9. Oct 18, 2020
    60
    In its current state, Torchlight III is a step down from its predecessor with its less rewarding gameplay and odd mishaps.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 23, 2020
    The Early Access version of Torchlight 3 is a decent action-RPG but doesn't yet live up to its predecessors by doing anything especially memorable. [Early Access Provisional Score = 60]
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 10 out of 16
  1. Oct 27, 2020
    5
    Torchlight III is an action role-playing game and the third game in the Torchlight series. It is developed by American studio Echtra Games andTorchlight III is an action role-playing game and the third game in the Torchlight series. It is developed by American studio Echtra Games and published by Perfect World Entertainment. Before we start reviewing this piece I need to say that I'm actually surprised by Torchlight fans didn't like the game at all
    and some of the fans become hater instead. At the end of the first of three acts in Torchlight III, there’s a boss character who repeats two of the same barks over and over. Torchlight III feels an awful lot like what it is: a free-to-play multiplayer game that thought better of itself, and decided to become a proper full-price microtransaction-free primarily solo release. If I didn’t already know the path it had taken, I’d have spent my entire time playing the game being gnawed at by wondering just what it was that made it all feel so off. This is all executed adeptly. Torchlight III is nothing if not mechanically sound. But in 2020, there is a prosaic quality to its priorities that feels bland compared to the other options. More directly, it was about the 12th time in a row that I found myself delving into a cookie-cutter dungeon in order to finish yet another uninspired quest that I began to notice what was missing more than what was there. I don't know how they made a game that was great in early 2000's then in 2020 they released the 3th game but unbelievably worse than that but nobody is happy with that. Well seems like there's no hope from now but we might see couple changes in the future who knows. At the end of the first of three acts in Torchlight III, there’s a boss character who repeats two of the same barks over and over. Torchlight III feels an awful lot like what it is: a free-to-play multiplayer game that thought better of itself, and decided to become a proper full-price microtransaction-free primarily solo release. If I didn’t already know the path it had taken, I’d have spent my entire time playing the game being gnawed at by wondering just what it was that made it all feel so off. This is all executed adeptly. Torchlight 3 is nothing if not mechanically sound. But in 2020, there is a prosaic quality to its priorities that feels bland compared to the other options. More directly, it was about the 12th time in a row that I found myself delving into a cookie-cutter dungeon in order to finish yet another uninspired quest that I began to notice what was missing more than what was there. I don't know how they made a game that was great in early 2000's than in 2020 they released the 3th game but unbelievably worse than that but nobody is happy with that . Well seems like there's no hope from now but we might see couple changes in the future who knows.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 22, 2021
    6
    Gameplay : 6/10
    Design (video + audio) : 6/10
    Story : 5/10
    Technical aspects : 7/10
    Repeatability: 6/10
  3. Oct 26, 2020
    3
    What a Glitchy broken mess! Why do I have to be there Game tester? There is so many things wrong. I owned both TL1 and 2 good games. thisWhat a Glitchy broken mess! Why do I have to be there Game tester? There is so many things wrong. I owned both TL1 and 2 good games. this one is a mess. Pets disappear, banks delete, cant swing in the direction you want, skills change how they work and bla bla bla. what I dont get is the ppl that say is a good game when it works like S@@T. maybe they are practicing being a Game tester. what ever. fix the game before you put it out. looks like i waisted 40 bucks wont buy from them again. Full Review »