Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 19, 2014
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 134 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
25
Negative:
51
Watch Now
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
danielle33Feb 5, 2016
basically this movie has ruined my childhood the songs are nothing like the originals Annie has better clothing than me and she is supposed to be an orphan and then she has Instagram and twitter and sandy is a well groomed dog that shouldbasically this movie has ruined my childhood the songs are nothing like the originals Annie has better clothing than me and she is supposed to be an orphan and then she has Instagram and twitter and sandy is a well groomed dog that should actually be a scruffy shaggy dog I get yous are trying to make it different but the original is the best Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
SMVJan 24, 2020
A modern "diverse" take on the original, changing the race of the modern characters to please the ever- offended amongst the public. The movie has changed more than just the characters, it has changed the message of the movie to be moreA modern "diverse" take on the original, changing the race of the modern characters to please the ever- offended amongst the public. The movie has changed more than just the characters, it has changed the message of the movie to be more politically correct. The film is a farce, I did waste my time trying to watch it, I didn't make it all the way through before I shut it off. Don't make the same mistake. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
ScribeHardDec 22, 2014
Annie reeks of one of those vanity projects where a bunch of rich and famous people who are good at certain things thought they could translate their knowledge of those things into a good movie. In this case, two of the film’s rich and famousAnnie reeks of one of those vanity projects where a bunch of rich and famous people who are good at certain things thought they could translate their knowledge of those things into a good movie. In this case, two of the film’s rich and famous producers – Jay-Z and Will Smith – certainly know a thing or two about music. But knowing music and the music business, even in the context of also knowing movies and the movie business (in Smith’s case), does not make someone an expert on movie musicals. This film is hard knock proof of that. Expand
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
3
kriebelrDec 21, 2014
Let me start with the good points: Jamie Fox did a nice job of playing Stacks, the new Warbucks. That almost sickeningly cute Wallis kid was just that. Hard Knock Life was a well done musical number. There were a few funny cute moments thatLet me start with the good points: Jamie Fox did a nice job of playing Stacks, the new Warbucks. That almost sickeningly cute Wallis kid was just that. Hard Knock Life was a well done musical number. There were a few funny cute moments that made me smile.

Now for a longer list. Cameron Diaz was not a good Hannigan. It was pretty much unwatchable any time she was on the screen. The acting in general was terrible. They really should have done a lot more singing, because at least then things were tolerable. That being said, the musical numbers weren't good. Not over the top enough, but subdued just enough to be awkward and weird.

On top of that, the movie never addressed the key point of: Just where are Annie's parents? I feel bad for this movie Annie...she's going to live her life with the rich Stacks and never know if here parents are alive or not. In the stage production that is address.

Save you money. Watch it at home if you watch it at all. Or better yet, look up Hard Knock Life on YouTube and just watch that.
Expand
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
8
MisterKSJan 30, 2015
Are you kidding me, critics? This is a very pleasant movie for the ages. I can't believe how low the rating is. I mean, it's impossible not to be charmed by "Annie". Well, there are some cheesy parts, of course. But, the laughs covered itAre you kidding me, critics? This is a very pleasant movie for the ages. I can't believe how low the rating is. I mean, it's impossible not to be charmed by "Annie". Well, there are some cheesy parts, of course. But, the laughs covered it because it keeps on coming and it's done with finesse.

Certain aspects has been updated, and for the better. You could relate more to the plot and its' characters. Many pop culture has been brought up that made my belly shake and some plot changes from the original to make it more believable.

The characters are more lively than the 1982 version, in my opinion. I was doubtful at first when they casted Quvenzhané Wallis for the part, but her performance didn't bother me at all. Every cast did their part very well, even Cameron Diaz although she tends to go over-the-top. But, of course, it's a comedy. There are some room for over-the-top-ness. And the drama balances it with enough heart-rendering moments.

Last but not least, the music. I love it! The arrangements and some additional music from Sia and Greg Kurstin added sparkles to an already great movie.

I think the only thing I'll criticise is the running time. The second act runs a little longer than it should've been. Yet, it never gets boring.

All in all, a very pleasurable experience. Don't bother listening the critics. Watch this movie for what it is, which is a lighthearted family entertainment. You won't be disappointed and end up smiling long after watching it.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
AbsurdReviewsJan 1, 2015
Prior to seeing this movie, I was very skeptical about this new 'remake' of the classic Annie. I thought that they had changed too much (the name of Oliver Warbucks changed to William Stacks, etc), which originally made led me to thePrior to seeing this movie, I was very skeptical about this new 'remake' of the classic Annie. I thought that they had changed too much (the name of Oliver Warbucks changed to William Stacks, etc), which originally made led me to the conclusion that I would not see the movie. I ended up going anyways with a friend, and I must say- I take back all former remarks about this new Annie movie, as it was phenomenal. I was shocked to see such a low score here on MetaCritic, so here I am to contribute my positive review of this amazing film. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Dec 20, 2014
Annie is a god awful film that is shockingly worst when nobody is singing. If the purpose was to feel empathy for Annie and create a emotional connection between the characters, than its nearly a failure. Some of the songs are the worst I'veAnnie is a god awful film that is shockingly worst when nobody is singing. If the purpose was to feel empathy for Annie and create a emotional connection between the characters, than its nearly a failure. Some of the songs are the worst I've ever heard from a musical and Cameron Diaz gives one of the worst performances of the year. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
booknerdJan 8, 2015
it was pretty good but the original will always be better. My family did foster care and when she went back to live with her mother that what she was doing in the backseat of the car, that made me cry.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
TisonDec 19, 2014
Horrible. The original is so much better than the newer version. The original version for the musical was amazing. But the newer version plain sucks. Don't see the newer version.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
3
KadeemluvmusicDec 25, 2014
I love Quvenzhane Wallis and Jamie Foxx's performance, but somebody forgot to watch the original Annie and see how it's done. Look, I don't wanna be so mean to Sony, but making a reboot to the beloved 1982 Annie feels like you wanted to makeI love Quvenzhane Wallis and Jamie Foxx's performance, but somebody forgot to watch the original Annie and see how it's done. Look, I don't wanna be so mean to Sony, but making a reboot to the beloved 1982 Annie feels like you wanted to make tons of money at the box office and should probably get awards. Unfortunately, the movie stinks. Cameron Diaz. Why is that blonde bimbo in this movie, anyway? She did her worse in Sex Tape, now this. In the original, Hannigan is one of the greatest villains of all time where she was a drunken caretaker and punish many orphanage girls like doing chores, scrubbing the bathroom, and allowing her butler, Rooster, to kill Annie. Dude, Carol Burnett was in the original. A true legendary classic. This is what musical movies is all about. But this Hannigan by Diaz, just complete rubbish. If any movie that should be in the worst movies of 2014 is Annie. Don't even bother seeing it this Christmas because once the Razzies coming up, Worst Remake, Prequel, Reboot, or Sequel, Worst Actress (Diaz), Worst Director, and Worst Picture should do the trick. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
0
hollowficationDec 24, 2014
this was worst movie ever i mean why did the even remake a movie that been Remake so many time

let see Annie was done 1970s remade 4 times all singing all dancing this version was nothing no singing just movie using based 2014 humor for
this was worst movie ever i mean why did the even remake a movie that been Remake so many time

let see Annie was done 1970s remade 4 times all singing all dancing this version was nothing no singing just movie using based 2014 humor for old musical..

Even my friend took his daughter to see this flick ended up walking out 10 mins thru they prefer old version expected it to be all singing all dancing. So they at least got the money back they saw alexander terrible day movie
Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
1
DontBeSaltyJan 22, 2015
This movie is painful and pointless interpretation of a classic that needlessly and awkwardly changes race out of pure desperation to get some kind of response from viewers and shield itself from criticism. Having a black Annie makes noThis movie is painful and pointless interpretation of a classic that needlessly and awkwardly changes race out of pure desperation to get some kind of response from viewers and shield itself from criticism. Having a black Annie makes no sense, and it doesnt justify the films existence at all so the agenda has to be something out of vanity, a crime Will Smith is so guilty of it discredits him as an actor. Cameron Diaz also can't seem to stop sucking for one second to act. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
SuperficialityFeb 7, 2015
Rehash of a classic musical but it was terrible. My mother and I watched the first, but this one was a mess. Nothing was wrong with a black girl as a lead, but the acting was disgusting.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
LocoGuy107Jan 3, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What's with everyone bullfricking about this movie being "bad"? I mean, yes, the lyrics might be simplistic, and the choreography might be somewhat lacking, and the movie may have a touch of one or two plotholes, but the story's solid and has one of the lightest attitudes I've seen in a long time, even if it's a reboot of a movie I haven't seen. I mean, sure, Big Hero 6 and HTTYD2 may also have their places, but they're animated. It's so much of a happy ride that even if all of you don't find my review helpful at all, it's worth noting that they are at least *trying* to make us happy. Seeing this made me happier than -- slightly unrelated, but -- the modern purple lizard from Toys R Us. Annie is cute, even if she can be hard to look at at times.

Also, I've heard that the Hannigan in this movie is really "bad." Look, she may not be the bloodlust original who has the butler kill Annie at the end, but the modern equivalent of the "mean" nanny still retains her drunkeness in the beginning, and even if Annie doesn't get killed in the end, you gotta remember that movie and plot design has moved to the point that the star protagonists aren't allowed to die, after all. Look at Harry Potter's "death" in DH-Part 2: he came back to life, right? And then Harry becomes happy in the end, right? Happiness is immortal, and death is the end of happiness, so I just accepted the fact that nobody dies and liked the happy ride.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
smbubbaDec 29, 2014
We saw this with our 8-year-old daughter. She loved the movie. As the parents, we were expecting the worst as we are both familiar with the original Broadway show and the previous film versions. We were pleasantly surprised. We were notWe saw this with our 8-year-old daughter. She loved the movie. As the parents, we were expecting the worst as we are both familiar with the original Broadway show and the previous film versions. We were pleasantly surprised. We were not expecting it to be a cookie-cutter of past versions, which was a good thing - if you have such love for the originals, then this version will annoy you. It brings it to the current age in the rewrites of some of the songs and the inclusion of social media as part of the plot lines. We all thought that the actors did a good job with their characters. The directing and production could have been a bit more honed, but let's not forget that this is a movie made for the younger set. It is heaps better than Spy Kids 4. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
ms3fandeJan 1, 2015
The Great Annie was born in the Great Depression and she was a white/ginger girl. It was a great film, a true classic. This remake isn't Annie. The true story of Annie here is all wrong, sorry it's not racial to me, it's just not the correctThe Great Annie was born in the Great Depression and she was a white/ginger girl. It was a great film, a true classic. This remake isn't Annie. The true story of Annie here is all wrong, sorry it's not racial to me, it's just not the correct story. I won't see this one. Sorry, the story Annie I saw years ago, that is Annie Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
Costs1129Jan 3, 2015
The movie was an audio/visual assault. My wife forced me to take her to watch it. 20 minutes in she was already whispering apologies for the wreck and regret of wasting her movie choice turn on such a poorly directed piece. It seems the castThe movie was an audio/visual assault. My wife forced me to take her to watch it. 20 minutes in she was already whispering apologies for the wreck and regret of wasting her movie choice turn on such a poorly directed piece. It seems the cast and director never had a sit down to review and cohesive vision for the remake thoughout the entire filming. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
partyinthebackDec 26, 2014
My wife and I went to see this and both left a little over 30 minutes in. Believe me, this is quite possibly the worst film of 2014, and I've seen quite a few stinkers. Save your money and sanity - AVOID ANNIE!
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
AsyulusDec 19, 2014
The movie was overall a complete mess. It doesnt follow quite of the original musical. Plus, the main character is black and african, as opposed to the white in orgininal.
13 of 35 users found this helpful1322
All this user's reviews
10
Queen_KDec 27, 2014
I recently saw the movie and it was amazing. It had a great amount of heart and was incredibly witty with a lot of comedy. All you people who gave it a bad review need to check yourselves just because the main characters were African AmericanI recently saw the movie and it was amazing. It had a great amount of heart and was incredibly witty with a lot of comedy. All you people who gave it a bad review need to check yourselves just because the main characters were African American doesn't mean you should say bad things. I also saw the first movie and it was way too serious it wasn't funny and they made Daddy Warbucks an unemotional rude man so before you say rude things about the remake watch the first then see remake you sons of **** Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonDec 28, 2014
Seeing all the negative reviews, I still went ahead and watched the movie. It was a fun movie, if you need a break from the Exodus or the Interview playing in theatres. Walis as Annie is very nice, as she is adorable. Jamie Foxx wasSeeing all the negative reviews, I still went ahead and watched the movie. It was a fun movie, if you need a break from the Exodus or the Interview playing in theatres. Walis as Annie is very nice, as she is adorable. Jamie Foxx was unnecessary but it's alright. Diaz was Not as good but Will Gluck really recreated the songs and whatnot very masterfully. I know this is a childish review, but it's actually very good for family audiences. I would recommend this for kids and families. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
Glowin3gJan 3, 2015
I was unsure about the movie when I first saw the previews b/c I am a fan of the original Annie. I was invited to take my daughter (age 4) to see it & she has watched the original with me. After seeing the 2014 version I enjoyed it! No itI was unsure about the movie when I first saw the previews b/c I am a fan of the original Annie. I was invited to take my daughter (age 4) to see it & she has watched the original with me. After seeing the 2014 version I enjoyed it! No it wasn't "exactly" like the original which most remakes aren't, it wasn't suppose to be. I feel people are more focused on who played Annie (amongst the other characters ) rather than the plot of the movie itself. It was a updated musical. I would watch it again just as much as the original. Watch the movie for what it is & take color out of it! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
musico777usDec 22, 2014
For those people saying that "the movie was bad" DON'T FORGET THAT THIS IS A MUSICAL MOVIE FOR KIDS!!! MY FAMILY AND I LOVED IT!! VERY TOUCHING, GREAT ACTORS, GREAT MUSIC!!
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
10
kandiceloveDec 26, 2014
I grew up loving the musical Annie and the 2014 remake of the original has established itself in my book as a classic. I truly believe that this new generation will fall in love with this film, it's cast and it's amazing bonafide songs. JamieI grew up loving the musical Annie and the 2014 remake of the original has established itself in my book as a classic. I truly believe that this new generation will fall in love with this film, it's cast and it's amazing bonafide songs. Jamie fox's spin on the original daddy Warbuck's role really adds an element to Warbuck's character. The way he captures the emotion of love for Annie will leave you in tears. He really makes you believe every emotion he plays. The whole cast performance is excellent no boring roles. Cameron Diaz scores as Miss Hannigan and Mr. Warbucks poll drivers add an edge of excitement the whole way through. The black girl that plays Annie is beautiful and is an amazing actress not to mention has a voice that is captivating! This movie had me shout at the end in the theater "This is the best movie ever!" and I really do mean that it doesn't matter what color Annie is the storyline is universal and crosses all color lines!. I love the old Annie and it will always be a fave of mine but I LOVE the new one even more! Way to Go Pinkett and Carter Family!!!! You hit a home run with this one!:) Children of all colors can now see themselves in roles such as this and I think that's awesome!!. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
10
amycastle92Dec 30, 2014
This was a great family film. It was very refreshing and it was lovely and warm. The bad reviews beg me to question if the reviewers watched the film determined not to like so that they could right a miserable review. I thoroughly enjoyed itThis was a great family film. It was very refreshing and it was lovely and warm. The bad reviews beg me to question if the reviewers watched the film determined not to like so that they could right a miserable review. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I think every child would enjoy it also. Definitely worth taking your children (who are probably more open-minded and socially intelligent) to go and see it! Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
bdpDec 28, 2014
I took my two grandchildren to see Annie yesterday and thought it was
great!....Don't be a "hater"...it's just a modern day version...the original will always be a classic and that's fine. This version was good, and definitely worth
I took my two grandchildren to see Annie yesterday and thought it was
great!....Don't be a "hater"...it's just a modern day version...the original will always be a classic and that's fine. This version was good, and definitely worth seeing...A good family movie.. I give it a big thumbs up!
Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
4
YarnJan 10, 2015
I'm convinced that Annie is a movie entirely composed of cutsey rich-kid filler activities, with a misunderstanding thrown in at the very end trying to masquerade as conflict. Children might enjoy it as mindless fun, but don't be surprised ifI'm convinced that Annie is a movie entirely composed of cutsey rich-kid filler activities, with a misunderstanding thrown in at the very end trying to masquerade as conflict. Children might enjoy it as mindless fun, but don't be surprised if your kids' IQ suddenly drop by a few dozen points. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
LegendaryMauDec 19, 2014
I liked a lot the movie,my family liked it ,too.I haven't seen the original movie but I think this work is fresh and brand new,containing new things that the current globalized world offers us and the original didn't.Hey,what about "Asyulus"I liked a lot the movie,my family liked it ,too.I haven't seen the original movie but I think this work is fresh and brand new,containing new things that the current globalized world offers us and the original didn't.Hey,what about "Asyulus" 's review,calm down buddy you don't need to show your disgrace to an actor just for not following the original movie actor's look,it sounds like you are discriminating,more respect please!!!! Expand
4 of 23 users found this helpful419
All this user's reviews
10
robbie0630Dec 26, 2014
First off, before the review, let me just say, most of these reviews are comparing the 2014 edition of Annie to the previous two renditions and the musical. They wanted to make an age-old story available to today's youth, without theirFirst off, before the review, let me just say, most of these reviews are comparing the 2014 edition of Annie to the previous two renditions and the musical. They wanted to make an age-old story available to today's youth, without their parents having to give their kids a history lesson in the process. Now, the review. The movie and soundtrack were amazing, with such pretty voices. The storyline was great and modern, adjusted to today's youth. I give it a ten overall. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
jmoviecriticDec 26, 2014
Loved it. I've seen the original and loved that. This is an updated version and it was well done. Yes it was updated... meaning to modern day, instead of the great depression. So the music, the values, the toys, the attitudes should allLoved it. I've seen the original and loved that. This is an updated version and it was well done. Yes it was updated... meaning to modern day, instead of the great depression. So the music, the values, the toys, the attitudes should all change. If you are looking for the original, watch the original (which was also amazing). But this one has a beautiful new touch for a new generation of families. As a professional musician, I appreciate the arrangements of the the classic songs. They were not overdone, but the sounds and transitions were updated to sound modern. The new Annie is even cuter than the first and Jamie does an outstanding job playing cold and jaded businessman. The storyline is excellent by itself and would deserve at least a 3 stars without anything else but I do believe it was not only done well but took you on an emotional journey. I cannot believe that people are giving this movie low ratings. And to say that Wallis wasn't good?... or sickeningly cute... that sounds crazy or simply like a "hater". I hate saying this, but it makes me ask the question, is it just because this is a black Annie? Truly, to not like this movie I question how much of a heart one could have. I would say its un-american to not like a movie that so portrays the pursuit of happiness that resounds through our American spirit. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
hkgr1Dec 31, 2014
This movie was put together nicely so that even young children could watch without becoming depressed, unlike the original. It had a very upbeat feel to it. (Please use spell check. It's free and readily available.)
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
5
BrettBGowenDec 27, 2014
When I first watched the trailer for this movie, I was actually really excited for a fresh take on a musical that was sort of becoming stale for me. Then the clips of the songs started to be released and I was extremely disappointed in theWhen I first watched the trailer for this movie, I was actually really excited for a fresh take on a musical that was sort of becoming stale for me. Then the clips of the songs started to be released and I was extremely disappointed in the overproduced pop sound of all of the music. With all of the autotune, Rose Byrne sounded more like the robotic smart house singing rather a human being.

That being said, after watching the whole movie... I actually really enjoyed it. It may not be an amazing film, or have the best music, or the best singing and acting, but I was entertained and emotionally invested in the characters for the most part.

At first, I really disliked Jamie Foxx's character, William Stacks, throughout most of the film, but I began to like him more in the film's third act. Quvenzhane Wallis is adorable. Although Cameron Diaz's acting performance as Miss Hannigan was far from good, I did find myself giggling during some of her scenes.

Overall, it's a movie to watch with your friends and family when you just feel like putting something on. It's completely harmless, and has good intentions, and the changes/additions they made to the music were not as cringe-worthy as I had initially thought they would be.

If there's nothing to watch and it's on TV, it's a good choice. But I wouldn't buy it on DVD/Blu-Ray, unless it was in the "$5 or less" bin.
Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryJan 2, 2015
The first movie version was a decent translation of the original stage musical. This new variation is so reworked by Hollywood hacks that it bears little resemblance to the original (it's even been moved to present day NYC). The handful ofThe first movie version was a decent translation of the original stage musical. This new variation is so reworked by Hollywood hacks that it bears little resemblance to the original (it's even been moved to present day NYC). The handful of songs that remain are supplemented with some new updated ones and they're all overproduced and flat. Quvenzhané Wallis in the title role is cute. The other leads (Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz) are woefully unfunny and the staging is uninventive. Overall, the film has energy but no heart or charm. For a cast that features black actors in the leads, this is sadly soulless. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
duncan1964Jan 23, 2015
A remake of the classic musical isn't a terrible idea, but this version misses the mark by a long way. Wallis is very good as the young orphan, and Rose Byrne does the best she can with very little, but Foxx is woefully miscast and DiazA remake of the classic musical isn't a terrible idea, but this version misses the mark by a long way. Wallis is very good as the young orphan, and Rose Byrne does the best she can with very little, but Foxx is woefully miscast and Diaz appears to be trying to win an award for worst overacting of the year. The songs still hold up but they needed a better film to carry them than this Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
3ebfan511Sep 5, 2015
It was fine. I liked the humor and story, the singing was a little much at times, but it was still a solidly good comedy. I have however never seen the original, or any stage version and that seems to be what most people complaining aboutIt was fine. I liked the humor and story, the singing was a little much at times, but it was still a solidly good comedy. I have however never seen the original, or any stage version and that seems to be what most people complaining about are comparing it to past versions they already saw. If you have never seen any version of Annie, you might just enjoy it. (It was way better than what I read from critics etc.) Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
punkandglamourJan 11, 2015
I was ready to be mad at the metascore here but then I saw that people rated the original a 39. Don't go to movies for children, if you don't like childrens movies.

I saw the movie at a screening a few week before it was released and then
I was ready to be mad at the metascore here but then I saw that people rated the original a 39. Don't go to movies for children, if you don't like childrens movies.

I saw the movie at a screening a few week before it was released and then again after release.

The reason this doesn't get 10 is because Cameron Diaz's portrayal of Colleen Hannigan is

1) This is a MOVIE-Musical. Not a musical, it's not going to BE a musical. It's been converted to be something for children. A G-Rated version.
2) While the original Orpahn Annie got to know what happened to her family, I feel it's MUCH more realistic that Annie Bennett has no idea who her family is. They could have moved to the other side of the country. Also Annie wasn't fostered or given to an agency, this version of Annie was abandoned outside of a police precinct as a FOUR year old. That's called child endangerment and it's a crime. I seriously doubt even if she was on the news they'd be willing to say "hey we left our child out in the cold in NYC instead of going to a church or filing proper paperwork". They don't even know how old she actually is or her real birthday.

Jamie Fox and Quevhenzane Wallace are great here. When Cameron Diaz sings she's great otherwise BLAH.

This Annie to me is so very relate-able. I know kids in the system and I was one myself. The majority of kids in the foster system are black or latina. Having a white Annie now would be ridiculous considering most of the children who are 10 years old and still in the system don't look anything like a cute redheaded pale child.

It's a good movie and the songs are PHENOMENAL. My Opportunity, The City's Yours, and Who Am I are my personal favorites.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
lomeliApr 27, 2015
Quvenzhane Wallis shines, but that can't help "Annie" from feeling like the result of what would happen if you took the plot from "The Game Plan" and made it into a musical where everyone sounds like T-Pain. Cameron Diaz is just unbearable;Quvenzhane Wallis shines, but that can't help "Annie" from feeling like the result of what would happen if you took the plot from "The Game Plan" and made it into a musical where everyone sounds like T-Pain. Cameron Diaz is just unbearable; she needs to retire. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
james417Oct 14, 2015
I was such a fan of Annie since I was a little girl, so I was really looking forward to watching this latest Annie movie. I loved the singing and dancing. It brings back a lot of great memories of my childhood.

Check this movie here
I was such a fan of Annie since I was a little girl, so I was really looking forward to watching this latest Annie movie. I loved the singing and dancing. It brings back a lot of great memories of my childhood.

Check this movie here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2a08e5-Annie-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ogowerJun 4, 2016
My family loved this. It occasionally misses the mark but it is entertaining throughout, with a lot of energy in the well put together musical scenes, a mostly great cast with particular note for Quvenzhane Wallis, Jamie Foxx, Rose Byrne andMy family loved this. It occasionally misses the mark but it is entertaining throughout, with a lot of energy in the well put together musical scenes, a mostly great cast with particular note for Quvenzhane Wallis, Jamie Foxx, Rose Byrne and Adewale Akkinuoye-Agbaje and an altogether feel good effect. I expected to hate it and found myself watching the whole thing and caring about the plot and I haven't minded my seven year-old daughter watching it three times over in two days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dyshpoMar 20, 2015
Too much pedo vibe for me Jamie Foxx. Casting of this movie was way off no one fit their roles. Also did anyone receive music or vocal training I know Foxx cant sing but really there has to be the current cast of any production of AnnieToo much pedo vibe for me Jamie Foxx. Casting of this movie was way off no one fit their roles. Also did anyone receive music or vocal training I know Foxx cant sing but really there has to be the current cast of any production of Annie around to do this. Or it could be these types of stories cant be done in modern times without being creepy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscMar 22, 2015
Despite how bad Will Gluck's script of Annie (the remake), this film has good music. And talent actors (expect Cameron Diaz). This is kind of a heart warming film, in this musical there are a ton of lip sinking, so i am confused if thereDespite how bad Will Gluck's script of Annie (the remake), this film has good music. And talent actors (expect Cameron Diaz). This is kind of a heart warming film, in this musical there are a ton of lip sinking, so i am confused if there singing or not? the film is kind of embarrassing just a little. Jamie Fox as the mayor is really selfish at first so he is unlike able, Rose Byrne is enjoyable. Quvenzhané Wallis is a sweet little girl with a sparkling voice, that makes this movie slightly better. Her acting is okay. Grade B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LenisApr 18, 2015
This is the result when you have too many good ideas and put them all together, it doesn't work at all. I watched it with my family and we were bored of everyone singing every 5 min. At the last minute I tought the dog was going to sing to beThis is the result when you have too many good ideas and put them all together, it doesn't work at all. I watched it with my family and we were bored of everyone singing every 5 min. At the last minute I tought the dog was going to sing to be honest. The presence of stars like Cameron Diaz, Rihanna and Sia (with awkward cameos) brings some points to watch this film. But when you make a movie you need to show that, a movie, not a musical even thought it was based on the original musical, the central theme of the story disappears when you are watching it and being interrupted by a random moment when a starring role is singing. I admit that the soundtrack is good and renovated, but the soundtrack it's the soundtrack, you can't put the whole thing in a movie and lose the story that way. In the other hand the visuals and the acting was very good with so much quality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Henri123Feb 20, 2015
A too late review: The big way from Hollywood of put classic characters in remakes or reboots happening on present day don't works. They forget that essence of those movies was at that time and should be kept with the original characters. ButA too late review: The big way from Hollywood of put classic characters in remakes or reboots happening on present day don't works. They forget that essence of those movies was at that time and should be kept with the original characters. But the songs with modern twist were the great triumph. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MattBrady99Mar 10, 2015
Another remake of a movie that was already alright back in the 80's and 90's, and you can already guess that this movie isn't all that good.

The story is about a orphan living under the tyrannical rule of Miss Hannigan finds her life
Another remake of a movie that was already alright back in the 80's and 90's, and you can already guess that this movie isn't all that good.

The story is about a orphan living under the tyrannical rule of Miss Hannigan finds her life changing for the better when she has a chance run-in with the wealthy Benjamin Stacks.

Annie the musical is very well known for it's leading character and it's songs that seem to be getting stuck into peoples heads. Annie as a character in the older films seem like a strong, playful and full of heart girl as she wants a happy life for herself and the other orphan girls. Annie is smart a enough to see that life can be cruel but she tries not to let that bring her or the other orphan girls down as she sings happy songs to them and herself just to keep they spirit alive, but in this version she's a perfect little goody two shoes that has many friends across the neighborhood and seems happy where she is, and the orphan girls who seem like their having fun, and at one point she get's what she wants and everyone towards the end is happy and really it's really stupid as well. I know what you all are saying, "Put Matt it's a kids film what do you expect the next Schindler's list", no I expect I good a movie no matter if it's a kids film or not, I'm to review movies to tell you what's good and bad, and this movie is bad, kid film or not, movies are movies, just because you say "it's a kids film so that means it's okay", is just utter **** and a cheap way of defending a film, and let's not forget that this is a movie that's open for other peoples thoughts of the film.

I wasn't the biggest fan of Annie musical and the movies 80's and 90's version, I don't hate them, it's not my kind of movies but I do respect those movies as a musical and them actually trying, not like this movie.

Will Gluck has proved himself of being a 50/50 directed for me and most of everyone he seen his movies. He's a okay director, but I wouldn't call him a fantastic director as well. Now he directed this movie and now his weakness has started to shown, because he didn't do the musical and the other films justices and to be honest he should have done re-shouts and re-writes to this film.

Now the songs in the original was know as classic music lyrics that has been sang people most of everyone and to be honest I found the songs in original to be very catcher and I'm not going to lie but at one point I started singing one of them. The songs in the new movie are so freaking annoying and have be remade in a bad way that this move actually stabbed it self for doing that. The songs sometimes comes out of nowhere and have no purpose in some scenes, and that's sad to hear.

Cameron Diaz plays Miss Hannigan and man is she missed cast for the role, she was over the top as this character and I know the character is supposed to by like that and Diaz could have pulled it off, but it didn't work at all, because as I said before the heart and story isn't there and Miss Hannigan isn't there as well. I feel really sorry for Cameron Diaz, because i know shes a good actress and can pull of great performances, but this one isn't sadly.

The only good things in this movie: Quvenzhané Wallis did a good job playing Annie. Will Stacks and Annie's friendship together was very cute and done very well, it's the only thing in this movie that actually got something from the original play and movie.

Overall Annie the 2014 version is a movie that in 5 years time it will be forgotten as another Hollywood remake that went no where. This isn't as god awful as I thought it was going to be, but it could have been better, just like other Hollywood remakes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EmberfootApr 22, 2015
This is honestly one of the best movies I've seen everyone whose giving this a below 5 are literally comparing it to the previous versions, I really enjoyed this version because it appeals to almost all audience (except those guys who can'tThis is honestly one of the best movies I've seen everyone whose giving this a below 5 are literally comparing it to the previous versions, I really enjoyed this version because it appeals to almost all audience (except those guys who can't be happy with anything *cough the guys who gave this a below 5 cough* I highly recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jigsmode31Oct 19, 2015
Great family friendly movie with a warm plot and great acting. Jammie Foxx is a pro in the business

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2754789-Annie-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jollyjoe1000Jan 5, 2016
It really is not that bad of a remake.The black recasting,I still think work well.................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Sherron2048Nov 9, 2015
I took my 7-year-old daughter to see this movie and we both LOVED it (especially the music). The songs were so catchy that I ended up buying the soundtrack so that we could keep enjoying it. I purchased the movie from the Google play storeI took my 7-year-old daughter to see this movie and we both LOVED it (especially the music). The songs were so catchy that I ended up buying the soundtrack so that we could keep enjoying it. I purchased the movie from the Google play store too. I am a huge fan of the original Annie and now this remake has a special place in my heart also. The casting was very well done. The best thing about this movie IMO is the songs. The plot is still the same classic tale as told in the original Annie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SanicsaiyanDec 18, 2015
Well, how about that. They went and made another Annie movie. Honestly, I'm not surprised: I mean, EVERYBODY wanted to see this happen, right? Children shred tears, there were riots in the streets and entire wars erupted, all because thereWell, how about that. They went and made another Annie movie. Honestly, I'm not surprised: I mean, EVERYBODY wanted to see this happen, right? Children shred tears, there were riots in the streets and entire wars erupted, all because there was not a remake of that musical about the bland red-haired girl you kind of remember a tiny bit. Well, thanks to the lovely, amazing people at Sony Pictures, the world is at peace once more. Thank you ever so much, Sony. Where would we be as a society without you?

All jokes aside, though, this movie is really just overwhelmingly, tremendously EH. I can't really pinpoint anything genuinely good, but there's nothing that I really despised. The soundtrack, despite mostly composing of classic songs from the original musical which sound like they were fed into a computer and crapped out as a mess of autotune and digital instruments, is tolerable as a whole. The acting is, once again, EH. Many talented actors are involved in this thing, such as Jamie Foxx and Rose Byrne, but none of them really seem to be giving their all. But I really can't blame them honestly, considering that the script is rather rubbish. Speaking of which, the story is basically the same as the 1970's movie, with the main difference being that it was updated to be more KOOL TO DA KIDS HOMEBOY. So now Mr Stacks (this film's replacement for Daddy Warbucks.)runs a mobile phone company, the castle/mansion amalgamation he lives in has been transformed into some super-penthouse, and Annie is no longer the nice-but-bland cardboard cutout we know and love, with the filmmakers instead opting to make her a sassy, smart, even more bland young twit, who is no longer a cardboard cutout, but instead a perfectly balanced sandwich of wood, Styrofoam and tofu. And dear God, Cameron Diaz. Where to begin on Cameron Diaz? Remember that quite charming, funny depiction of Miss Hannigan from the original? Remember how she was a massive douche, but nonetheless an entertaining douche? Well, crap all over anything you liked about her, and you've got this film's Miss Hannigan. She's essentially that grumpy, middle aged woman you see in stuff like Disney Channel sitcoms. You know, the one who spends the whole movie complaining "BAWWWWWW IMMA SO LONELY AND I USED TO BE FAMUS"? Yeah. Also, as for her singing, you don't need to actually listen to it. Just impale and strangle a cat, and you'll have the same basic experience. Anyway, as for the overall verdict, as mentioned earlier, the whole experience is simply EH. Even though I found this film thoroughly forgettable, there was nothing in there that legitimately offended me (except maybe the aforementioned singing....) If you're a child, or a parent who kind of remembers a few lyrics of the songs a little bit, it'll probably make for a decent watch. But as for arrogant, misanthropic sods like myself, you can give this a pass.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
nahtan1244Jul 20, 2016
A good try to tranlate this movie back onto the sliver screen. While the movie is not quite the train wreck most are making it out to be it is not perfect either. The girl who plays annie actually does a decent job and is prably the best partA good try to tranlate this movie back onto the sliver screen. While the movie is not quite the train wreck most are making it out to be it is not perfect either. The girl who plays annie actually does a decent job and is prably the best part of this movie. I appreciate them trying to make a slightly a new idea of the beloved musical. However It's medicorly executed. They could have done without the auto tune but I see there trying to market toward younger people who might not be familiar with annie. Cameron diez did a horrible job as ms.hannigan. Some of the songs are good like I don't need anything but you and easy street. Overall this is just an ok adaptation of the beloved musical however if you want a good musical movie go see les miserables Chicago or into the woods Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Stargirl04May 15, 2016
I really enjoyed the original Annie but this wasn't the worst adaptation. a lot more urban and new songs a log with the classics. I liked the cast and the story though I feel they didn't make it as harsh as it was in the original. I think theI really enjoyed the original Annie but this wasn't the worst adaptation. a lot more urban and new songs a log with the classics. I liked the cast and the story though I feel they didn't make it as harsh as it was in the original. I think the main issue I had was the lip syncing it looked so obvious most of the time. Not bad though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonkiReviewsSep 2, 2017
I never saw the original, but after seeing this, I enjoy the character! The story has some flaws, but they were nothing huge. The singing was pretty good, but not memorable. It also has a good ending, but it wasn't amazing. Now for the good.I never saw the original, but after seeing this, I enjoy the character! The story has some flaws, but they were nothing huge. The singing was pretty good, but not memorable. It also has a good ending, but it wasn't amazing. Now for the good. They showed the characters in a unique, and new way, and I thought that was great. They made me feel for the characters too. Lastly, the movie was fun to watch. It is worth it to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Desma1617Aug 13, 2018
this movie is very good... i think there should be a 2 one about Annie, Will Stacks and Grace on how there are after the ending... and to see how the girls are now with miss Hannigan... over all i love this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ArchAngelAriesJul 17, 2020
This film, like so many others nowadays, fell victim to a woke political ideology. The character design, plot, and writing took a back seat to service a political message replacing an iconic story and character with a ethnic spin that justThis film, like so many others nowadays, fell victim to a woke political ideology. The character design, plot, and writing took a back seat to service a political message replacing an iconic story and character with a ethnic spin that just doesn't work here. Good on the cast for doing their best with what they're given; Jamie Fox, Cameron Diaz, Quvenzhane Wallis all do decent jobs portraying the characters they were given... But overall, the film falls flat because of the improper translation from a film originally set in the great depression, featuring an outspoken spunky little girl orphan who can charm the ice off of a billionaire's heart and beat up any boy bully who crosses her path, into a bland urban interpretation that neither represents the original or executes well on its own.

Furthermore, the very beginning of the film teases to the uneducated (or naïve) a sense of nostalgia by opening with the original "Annie" looking character, only to spit in the nostalgic person's eye as if to say "Ha! You thought it was gonna be about a white girl? Nope this is a black girl's story now!" Which in all honesty that particular aspect of this film does the original a major disservice. This foul might've been able to be overcome, if some of the most important aspects of the original were truly honored, and if the writing at least aspired to be on par with its predecessor, but once again, the writing and execution fall second fiddle to the agenda that Hollywood decides that viewers need crammed down their throats.

By no means am I against swapping a character's race to a Black, or Hispanic, or Asian, or whatever... But, when it's obvious that your main focus is identity politics, race baiting, and ant-male feminist rhetoric, instead of remaking a storytelling musical masterpiece with proper flow, and emotion, and impact, and pizazz... Then you spend all your Hollywood film budget catering to a minor part of the population who statistics say are more than likely to torrent your films than buy them or financially support them in anyway, and boycott them if you rub their woke sensibilities one nanometer in the wrong direction. And by doing so alienate any core fanbase that could've possibly been entertained by your remake, if you had done it right. In short, the film is a flop. It couldn't decide if it wanted to be a fresh new story from the modern black orphan perspective, or an entertaining nostalgic cash grab. So instead, it failed at both. If you are a fan of the original, I would surmise that you would be nonstop cringing through this botched abortion of a film. It would've been much better off trying to be a more down to earth Black Orphan Musical story or a strict "parallel" remake, than what drivel this dumpster fire masquerading as a film spews out of its proverbial cake-hole. Avoid this film at all costs if you have any love for the original, or even if you are seeking to be entertained by a quality picture, because this one? This one is not it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Foxie_50Jun 2, 2021
I loved it...I felt like it was an awesome twist to the actual first movie. The remarks about the clothing are silly, they dressed according to the time that the movie was shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews