Columbia Pictures | Release Date: January 17, 2020
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 147 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
98
Mixed:
28
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SlickOpinionJan 21, 2020
Loving the route this franchise is taking. Best Bad Boys period. Will and Martin, HILARIOUS!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ReallyRealJan 20, 2020
Another reminder that professional critics will dislike a movie like this, but recommend tired, tedious, over-written movies (Ad Astra). This movie is a lot of fun. If you liked the first two Bad Boys movies, you'll love this one. This movieAnother reminder that professional critics will dislike a movie like this, but recommend tired, tedious, over-written movies (Ad Astra). This movie is a lot of fun. If you liked the first two Bad Boys movies, you'll love this one. This movie is also very self-aware. You're watching two men- One who has embraced his new point in life, and another who is struggling with the fact that he's not the same as he was when we saw him 20 years ago. A lot of the jokes land. There were times that the entire theater was laughing. Will Smith and Martin Lawrence are back in form. It was an extremely entertaining movie. Was it perfect? No, but I wasn't looking for perfection. I was looking to be entertained on a Sunday night, and I was entertained for a solid 2 hours. It was well worth the money. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
ChrisMizerakJan 18, 2020
In full honesty, I have not seen the original two installments in the “Bad Boys” film series. And even if I did, it would have only been a few bits at best as opposed to the whole duration. Although they starred Will Smith at the beginning ofIn full honesty, I have not seen the original two installments in the “Bad Boys” film series. And even if I did, it would have only been a few bits at best as opposed to the whole duration. Although they starred Will Smith at the beginning of his rise to fame, I just never found it enough of a high priority to catch up with them in time for the recently released third installment titled “Bad Boys for Life”. But what easily makes this third outing in the franchise the best film to be released so far in January, and the only one I’m recommending thus far, is that you don’t need to be well versed with the first two to follow what’s happening. You could be in the same boat as I am and keep up with everything just fine. This is also a high compliment because this undercover cop buddy film genre usually is not my thing, and I still got into it. It’s no masterpiece, but it doesn’t need to be. It does its own thing, and sticks to it. Will Smith and Martin Lawrence reprise their roles once again as two undercover cops in Miami. One of them (Lawrence) is about to raise a family with his wife and retire. The other one (Smith) heals from a life-threatening gunshot injury and is seeking revenge on the people responsible. Both cops try to work out their differences on the matter to try helping each other out and solving the mystery behind their recent string of events. They reluctantly get help in their endeavors from their police captain (Joe Pantoliano) along with a company called AMMO led by one of the duo’s ex-girlfriends (Paola Nunez). They also learn some concerning secrets about their past that may explain the connection between them and the person responsible for gunning them down. The assets that “Bad Boys for Life” supplies are ultimately the reasons most people going into this will expect it to have and deliver on. The chemistry and dynamic back-and-forth between Smith and Lawrence being the easy target and for good reason. They make a great team not just because they know what zingers to throw at each other, but also because of the reactions they have together with other characters present, namely the police captain and the ex-girlfriend. The action, chases and shootouts aren’t bad either. They supply the necessary intensity and play with a little spontaneity once in a while. The film actually takes some rather bold risks in the plot that I didn’t think a film of its ilk would take, and I have to give them credit where it’s due. Without said risks or twists, the plot is pretty bare bones and nothing to write home about. But usually, that comes with the territory for film within the cop buddy genre. It does lose steam in the third act which gets a little too implausible and caught up in its own chaos. The pacing for the past two thirds was good enough that it kept things moving along well for the most part. Make no mistake, for a January release let alone a sequel to two films that weren’t generally well received by critics to turn out being a pretty good product (by said critics and someone like me who didn’t even see the first two), that alone is a fairly impressive accomplishment. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
cylackJan 18, 2020
Fun action movie that stays true to the Bad Boys ethos even though Michael Bay isn't directing this one. Martin Lawrence was funny and keeps the movie going forward. The movie addresses the question directly what a lot of people probablyFun action movie that stays true to the Bad Boys ethos even though Michael Bay isn't directing this one. Martin Lawrence was funny and keeps the movie going forward. The movie addresses the question directly what a lot of people probably thought "aren't these guys too old to be doing this sh**?", and makes it a central theme of the movie. Of course, lots of wild action sequences as one would expect. Would recommend if you are a fan of the Bad Boys movies and action comedy movies in general. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
reviewsoffersJan 19, 2020
The cinematography from Robrecht Heyvaert is gorgeous and beautiful with some incredible wide shots and impressive camera moves with awesome job capturing the action. The reason why this film works is because the do constrain the crazinessThe cinematography from Robrecht Heyvaert is gorgeous and beautiful with some incredible wide shots and impressive camera moves with awesome job capturing the action. The reason why this film works is because the do constrain the craziness that Michael Bay established with the last two but they do respect the technical part but focus more on the comedy, the action, cinematography, performances and the story which was something that amazed me big time. The do a great job with the villains too and make this a personal story for the two main characters. I enjoyed so much to watch the Bad Boys for Life film. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jan 17, 2020
Being both a third installment and a sequel made a long time after the last one, there's reason to worry that this wouldn't work out. I'm happy to say this is pretty entertaining.

This is the first time Michael Bay isn't directing, so the
Being both a third installment and a sequel made a long time after the last one, there's reason to worry that this wouldn't work out. I'm happy to say this is pretty entertaining.

This is the first time Michael Bay isn't directing, so the movie doesn't have quite the director's level of action and style. However, it's not too much of a gap. Directors Adil El Arbi and Billal Fallah prove competent at taking the reins. There are some pretty good action ideas and scenes, especially in the finale. The movie just looks good in general. I'm glad that the regime change didn't result in darker lightning; Miami really pops in this.

The bright side of Bay no longer being behind the wheel is that the movie isn't awash with his overindulgences. (I'm sorry but Bad Boys II had way too much of the guys arguing with each other and just randomness in general.) The plot here is definitely the strongest of the trilogy and tries something new and interesting. I felt that Martin Lawrence got a better material to work with than he has had in the series. The villains are probably the best asw well which is saying something since the last two weren't half bad.

The movie could be shorter. Some scenes drag. In this, Lawrence and Will Smith's characters work with a younger police squad called AMMO. I like the new characters and their actors, but some of them aren't given enough time to let them develop.

I'd rank this above BBII and on about the same level as the first one. I think this is one of the better action movies of the last few years.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
Kicks0723Jan 19, 2020
Great movie It seems Will Smith and Martin Lawrence never missed a beat. It’s seem to picked up right where it left off. I also like the new characters
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
ThwompthingJan 18, 2020
I so badly want to give this film a 0 because of all the ignorant 10's here, just to even the score, but I will be honest and get to the point. This film is no where near a 10.

This is no where near a 10, but definitely a 6-7. I was let
I so badly want to give this film a 0 because of all the ignorant 10's here, just to even the score, but I will be honest and get to the point. This film is no where near a 10.

This is no where near a 10, but definitely a 6-7. I was let down by the first opening act, because the jokes fell extremely flat and it appeared as if my low expectations were already met, and that this would just be another poor nostalgia trip, like Dumb and Dumber To and Jay and Silent Bob Reboot were. But thankfully once the action got going finally, the jokes picked up as well. Marcus's retirement part at home was pretty funny, but the best part was on the plane where he talks about warlock baby and sex with witches. Watch the film and you'll see what I mean. The jokes thankfully got better by Lawrence, who once again overshadows Will Smith in this series as the funny guy.

While the story in this film was even more over the top than in Bad Boys 2, the twist towards the end with Mike and the people trying to kill him was done very well, and caught everyone by surprise, I'm certain. The only thing I can't stand when a movie isn't "hilarious" are the few people who never stop laughing. I will tell you right now this movie did not even come close to warranting laughs from start to finish, but you'll always have those people who somehow can laugh at EVERY scene in a film and I experienced those people during this movie. Thankfully there were only like 15 people in the room I was in, because most were there to see 1917 for God knows what reason, since that movie is now 2 weeks old.

So, on that note if your expectations are low you will enjoy most of the film like I did, but if you go in thinking this is going to be the best action movie ever, then you'll be disappointed. I also liked the fact that they brought back Mark Mancina's awesome theme song from the first movie and they played it at the end credits, although slightly modified. Go see the movie. It's definitely worth a one time watch, but not any more than that. I can watch the first two movies multiple times still, but this one I don't think I'll be able to. It was a solid "good" in my eyes.
Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
9
nightstalker930Jan 17, 2020
Was surprisingly rather good! solid story, solid characters, solid action, and just overall a really good movie highly recommend you seen cinema
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
AmiigoCDJan 17, 2020
Might be the most entertaining action movie since John Wick 3 and the best buddy cop comedy since forever. Stylistically on point, writing is sharp and the leads are on top form, go watch and support this fantastic movie.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
Moviereviewer15Jan 17, 2020
A movie free from the shackles of Micheal Bay's directing, actual story, continuous great chemistry from Will Smith and Martin Lawrence, and a memorable theme song make this final chapter for a 25 year old franchise worth watching.
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
10
AjmoviesJan 17, 2020
Bad boys for life is absolutely masterpiece love it.
Rating-94%
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
9
DarthNihilusJan 21, 2020
Usually third movies of any trilogy can be stale and quite easily overdone but this movie felt fresh and introduced new life into the series. This already the best blockbuster of the year. The movie is thoroughly entertaining. Nobody goes toUsually third movies of any trilogy can be stale and quite easily overdone but this movie felt fresh and introduced new life into the series. This already the best blockbuster of the year. The movie is thoroughly entertaining. Nobody goes to watch these kind of films for a deep story, they want to be entertained and this film does that very well. Bad Boys For Life is a movie that doesn't take itself too seriously and plays to its strengths. It is the best movie of this franchise and downright hilarious. The comedy in this film is perfect, never too much and the timing is always just right. Great film and highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
zane2kJan 28, 2020
A lot of good jokes sets a good tone and lovely made with a lot of the old characters. Good old bad boys vibes thank you will Smith and Martin Lawrence for doing this movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jtmason3Jan 29, 2020
Great movie, I was pleasantly surprised at the story in particular. I always felt the first 2 movies were more guilty pleasure than anything special. Will Smith and Martin Lawrence are hilarious together, and their presence carried theGreat movie, I was pleasantly surprised at the story in particular. I always felt the first 2 movies were more guilty pleasure than anything special. Will Smith and Martin Lawrence are hilarious together, and their presence carried the movies, but I always felt the stories lacked cohesion and seriousness. For Life solved the problem in spades, the acting was better than expected, and its been awhile since a genuine action movie actually had twists you didn't see a mile coming. Not an Oscar caliber movie, but definitely a fun ride! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
313btfuJan 30, 2020
Bad Boys for Life is a thoroughly enjoyable addition to the Bad Boys franchise. The chemistry between Will Smith and Martin Lawrence is infallible, and the addition of Vanessa Hudgens and the rest of the AMMO team serve as a believable foilBad Boys for Life is a thoroughly enjoyable addition to the Bad Boys franchise. The chemistry between Will Smith and Martin Lawrence is infallible, and the addition of Vanessa Hudgens and the rest of the AMMO team serve as a believable foil to the original duo's off-the-cuff antics. Though some minor retconning appeared to be in order, the villains are the multi-faceted and the most interesting of the series thus far. Judging by the finale, a sequel appears to be in order, and the film earned it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
bfoore90Jan 24, 2020
A good film from a franchise that desperately needed to be freed from the shackles of "Bayhem." Bad Boys For Life is a pleasant surprise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CraigEcholsFeb 7, 2020
Is it an award winning masterpiece? No. Is it the best movie in the series? Without a doubt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KayVen17Feb 13, 2020
-- Deutsche/German Review --
Also ich muss sagen, dass sich das lange Warten gelohnt hat. Alles passt einfach. Habe gelacht, fast geweint und hatte einmal sogar Gänsehaut. Finde es tatsächlich schade, dass sie auf noch einen Nachfolger
-- Deutsche/German Review --
Also ich muss sagen, dass sich das lange Warten gelohnt hat. Alles passt einfach. Habe gelacht, fast geweint und hatte einmal sogar Gänsehaut. Finde es tatsächlich schade, dass sie auf noch einen Nachfolger setzen. Ich wäre mit einem klaren Ende einer Trilogie zufrieden gewesen. Trotzdem ist er meiner Meinung nach der beste Teil der Reihe.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
eli_fjrJan 31, 2020
Wow super surprised at how much I enjoyed this action packed flick. Even though it isnt directed by OG director, these next few films are in great hands.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Harsh657Feb 2, 2020
They still got it. The chemistry between Will Smith and Martin Lawrence is fantastic. The humour in the film is pretty good too. Also loved some side characters like Rita especially and want to see her again in the next part if it happens.They still got it. The chemistry between Will Smith and Martin Lawrence is fantastic. The humour in the film is pretty good too. Also loved some side characters like Rita especially and want to see her again in the next part if it happens. And yeah it is a popcorn flick but it is a good one. There are some emotional punches which lands beautifully in the film and keeps the film more compelling than the Michael Bay's take on this fanchrise.
The villain has the weakest arc in the whole movie and didn't care about that character at all. Even though the film stumbles on some narrative points, clunky storytelling and an anti-climatic ending but it still is better than both the predecessor.
Grade: B
Score: 7.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GLADIADORFeb 3, 2020
Os dois primeiros filme são sensacionais, e esse novo filme é o melhor dos três, muito divertido, a ação é maravilhosa e as piadas funcionam muito e não é cansativo, depois de 17 anos os protagonistas continuam com um introsamento incrivel,Os dois primeiros filme são sensacionais, e esse novo filme é o melhor dos três, muito divertido, a ação é maravilhosa e as piadas funcionam muito e não é cansativo, depois de 17 anos os protagonistas continuam com um introsamento incrivel, enfim bad boys para sempre é excelente Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NotBanMePLZJan 24, 2020
ахуено. я все сказал пишу здесь что-бы было в профиле так надо что-то написать, а не не надо
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Space84rmFeb 23, 2020
Visto con la mia compagna in versione imax, il
Il film è stato simpaticissimo e ci siamo divertiti da morire passando una bellissima serata. Consigliatissimo non vedo l ora di un seguito
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BradMorganFeb 3, 2020
What you gonna do? It was fun, great action and had a good laugh. Bad Boys for life was a lot better then I expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AleEstragosJan 21, 2020
Muy divertida excelente palmera te entristece te divierte buenas escenas de acción
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Resles187Jan 23, 2020
Good movie, funny, solid plot. All 3 films are dope. Bad Boys 2 being the best. Go see it, laugh and have a good time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AnthonyReviewsJan 26, 2020
Bad Boys For Life shows that you don't need to reboot franchise to try and appeal to a new audience, just by making good films works fine enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Stream2BigScreeJan 28, 2020
Getting Old But Still Bad Boys For Life

The Stream: Some comedy falls flat and parts of the movie seem rushed The Big Screen: Typical great action sequences and comedy The Final Bill: The worst of the three Bad Boys series but very
Getting Old But Still Bad Boys For Life

The Stream: Some comedy falls flat and parts of the movie seem rushed

The Big Screen: Typical great action sequences and comedy

The Final Bill: The worst of the three Bad Boys series but very enjoyable.

-S2S: Movie Reviews

We ride together. We review together. Stream to Big Screen for life. Welcome back to Stream to big Screen. This week we have the chance to review the long awaited third installment of the Bad Boys movie franchise starring Will Smith and Martin Lawrence. They reprise their roles as Detectives “trigger/bulletproof” Mike Lowrey and Marcus Burnett. It’s been 17 years since Bad Boys 2, but these two still know how to tear up Miami. This time they incorporate the help of a new department of the Miami PD, AMMO to make this happen. Let’s see if Bad Boys For Life can live up to its predecessors.

Good news or bad news…. bad news first of course. Martin and Will are old. This seems like an obvious statement but at times it jumped off the screen. Martin looks fat, clearly can’t do action scenes anymore, and even his signature voice suffers. Age hasn’t seemed to have affected Will as much, but he’s definitely slowed down. The good news is that the director made this work in their favor. They embrace these actors’ lack of vigor and infused a new cast to assist. And boy do they get busy. In fact, I think this movie will do so well that the 4th installment is a foregone conclusion.

Now, speaking of age, this movie has its walk down memory lane, but it isn’t full consumed by it. While homage is paid with old jokes and cast, the director found a way to bring the movie into the present. Thankfully, Bad Boys for Life isn’t simply a nostalgia money grab movie. This movie plays well as a third installment to what could be a continuing series, if they wanted.

My only issues with Bad Boys For Life comes with the pacing and some jokes that absolutely flop. This movie starts off too slow and in the end it feels rushed; but then there are points in the middle that seem to linger a bit too long. This is clearly something a viewer can get passed but in these lingering moments it comes with some jokes that do not land. Don’t get me wrong, the cast has some very strong moments of comedy and comic relief, but a few times the jokes missed the mark…. hard. Otherwise, the movie was jammed packed with laughs, action and quality fight scenes.

So what can we say – you know what you’re going to get from our leading duo. Great chemistry, laughs, and action lead viewers to the theaters as usual. Even though they may be getting older and rounder Will and Martin still have some gold left in them and the new cast members help bring the series into the future. Grab a bowl of popcorn, go to a matinee showing and enjoy the ride.

HASTA EL FUEGO!

*sings poorly* Bad boys bad boys whatcha gonna doooooooo…..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
fiftywordreviewJan 30, 2020
17 years after the release of its predecessor, Bad Boys for Life manages to jump back into the action without skipping a beat. Following a familiar formula, the plot is adequate at best, but Smith and Lawrence’s fantastic chemistry will leave17 years after the release of its predecessor, Bad Boys for Life manages to jump back into the action without skipping a beat. Following a familiar formula, the plot is adequate at best, but Smith and Lawrence’s fantastic chemistry will leave fans of the franchise delighted for their return. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bi0morphFeb 1, 2020
Everything awesome - laughter, tears. As for me it good old Bad Boys! I've got a pease of sentimental longing and wistful affection for the past ^)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
santiiiFeb 20, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esta es una buena pelicula para disfrutar de ella. Primero empezare con los puntos negativos
hay un error argumental con la primera pelicula en concreto con lo de el hijo de mike lowrey que las fechas no cuadran con la primera pelicula ya que se dice que ocurre en 1994 y la primera pelicula se rodo sobre esas fechas y mike ya estaba desde hace tiempo en el cuerpo y se conocia con marcus desde el instituto. La villana no se aprovecha tanto que es la madre del hijo de mike lowrey y la escena del disparo a mike habria sido mejor en torno al final ya que nos pillaria por sorpresa y conseguiria que fuera un momento bastante mas duro de lo que seria al principio del film.
Ahora los puntos positivos:En cuanto a la comedia de la pelicula es muy buena y las escenas de accion bastantes decentes. Hay muchos cameos ha personajes de la anterior pelicula como reggie el negro alto mitico en la 2 pelicula que nos hizo reir a todos La empatia que sentimos hacia los personajes por ejemplo con la muerte de personajes como el capitan de policia que sale en las tres peliculas es una escena que se empatiza muy bien y sientes que lo ehcas en falta toda la pelicula sin llegar a ser un defecto sino algo positivo.
como la vida de mike lowrey se va echando encima y su ira al ver como en poco tiempo pierde a la gente que esta a su lado, los efectos especiales lucen bastante bien en la pelicula y en resumen
Es una buena pelicula que si te gusta el cine de accion no hay que dudar en ver esta pelicula esta hecha para disfrutar y ya esta no es una pelicula profunda sino que es una para disfrutar y si os gusta el cine de accion o la comedia esta pelicula es para vosotros
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews