Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 6, 2017
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2277 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,944
Mixed:
154
Negative:
179
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
antmolly1995Oct 8, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 is a beautifully crafted film and as good as any fan of the original could realistically expect it to be. I was nervous about what Villeneuve would come up with as I was not a fan of Arrival which I thought was far tooBlade Runner 2049 is a beautifully crafted film and as good as any fan of the original could realistically expect it to be. I was nervous about what Villeneuve would come up with as I was not a fan of Arrival which I thought was far too ponderous. Fortunately he's delivered the goods and then some! Expand
24 of 34 users found this helpful2410
All this user's reviews
10
Darth_KaneOct 6, 2017
A near perfect movie, and a sequel we never thought would be possible. It touches themes from the original with respect, while expanding the plot and adding to the world intelligently.
The cinematography and music is also exceptional, often
A near perfect movie, and a sequel we never thought would be possible. It touches themes from the original with respect, while expanding the plot and adding to the world intelligently.
The cinematography and music is also exceptional, often the music and picture works together to show us a hypnotic view of a grim future that seems too real. Denis Villeneuve is definitely one of the best directors of our time.
Expand
83 of 121 users found this helpful8338
All this user's reviews
9
lenny68Oct 6, 2017
There's certainly more style than substance on show in the new sequel, but the story is still engaging. At no point during the nearly three hours running time did I feel bored or frustrated with how the plot was moving along. There willThere's certainly more style than substance on show in the new sequel, but the story is still engaging. At no point during the nearly three hours running time did I feel bored or frustrated with how the plot was moving along. There will obviously be negative comparisons with the original, but this film should taken on it's own merit, and great merit it has. Expand
30 of 46 users found this helpful3016
All this user's reviews
9
HannahKOct 6, 2017
I went in with low expectations and a feeling that I was going to come out disappointed. I'm thrilled to say that while not perfect, Blade Runner 2049 is in my opinion the best film of the year {so far} and unlikely to be topped. Worth theI went in with low expectations and a feeling that I was going to come out disappointed. I'm thrilled to say that while not perfect, Blade Runner 2049 is in my opinion the best film of the year {so far} and unlikely to be topped. Worth the wait? You bet! Expand
22 of 35 users found this helpful2213
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingOct 7, 2017
While it doesn't raise thought-provoking questions as effectively as the original, "Blade Runner 2049" earns its position as a worthy sequel thanks to a captivating mystery, action that feels earned, intelligent themes & world building, andWhile it doesn't raise thought-provoking questions as effectively as the original, "Blade Runner 2049" earns its position as a worthy sequel thanks to a captivating mystery, action that feels earned, intelligent themes & world building, and lush cinematography which synthesises perfectly with an unearthly soundtrack. Never felt bored throughout the runtime and could have watched it for longer. Expand
18 of 30 users found this helpful1812
All this user's reviews
10
LatinCritic13Oct 6, 2017
For those previously watched the first installment of Blade Runner or haven’t seen it, it’s safe to say that the latest installment of the Blade Runner franchise is easily one of the best sequels ever made PERIOD! Since this film is directedFor those previously watched the first installment of Blade Runner or haven’t seen it, it’s safe to say that the latest installment of the Blade Runner franchise is easily one of the best sequels ever made PERIOD! Since this film is directed by the man who made jawdropping films like Prisoners, Sicario, and Arrival, his articulation of direction and storytelling really does capture the right atmosphere that Ridley Scott has set since the first Blade Runner. Most people that worked with Ridley Scott had already returned for another ride, but this time with Denis Villeneuve. The things that Denis had done for this installment really shines without a shadow interfering at a splitsecond while watching this. The new characters and familiar faces for this latest installment impressed me, futuristic-like production design, electrifying visual and sound effects, kickass performances, spine-chilling orgasmic soundtrack, and the god-like cinematography that Roger Deakins set really does spark a lot of amazement for the sequel. (Get Roger Deakins his OSCAR ASAP!!!!) However, there’s a thing that kind of caused a very little ruckus throughout the movie, but it doesn’t affect the movie’s quality that much since there will be another sequel readied for us to see what lies beneath the door (If confirmed...) Like Deckard said “I did your job one—I was good at it” it clearly refers that someone else besides Scott or Villeneuve will take control and finish the story (if confirmed..) Without a doubt, Blade Runner 2049 is an outstanding achievement and a technical masterpiece that will be enjoyed by many sci-fi fans around the world. Expand
15 of 27 users found this helpful1512
All this user's reviews
9
QuietGiantOct 6, 2017
Creating a worthy sequel to one of the most influential films of all time is one hell of a tall order. It deserves no less than a dream team of talent and thankfully that's exactly what it got. The direction is sharp, the visuals pop, theCreating a worthy sequel to one of the most influential films of all time is one hell of a tall order. It deserves no less than a dream team of talent and thankfully that's exactly what it got. The direction is sharp, the visuals pop, the performances emanate, and the writing is true to the source without merely aping all the old notes or ruining all the mystery. Core themes of the genre it helped create like the line between illusion and reality or defining humanity and one's identity are both upheld and explored in increasingly nuanced ways. Those worried about a neo noir film devolving into an action fest can breathe too as that was oversold by the marketing. The one trademark I do miss though is Vangelis' multilayered, ever present composition. 2049 strikes a different tone and isn't afraid of quiet moments, but the absence of one of its predecessor's most defining features remains conspicuous. Still, nearly everyone involved in the project is at the top of their game and should be proud of the work they've accomplished. Time will tell exactly how well the sequel stacks up to the 'original', but in any case it comes as close one could ask for today. I can still scarcely believe it, myself. Expand
17 of 31 users found this helpful1714
All this user's reviews
9
yadevolOct 6, 2017
An absolute feast for the eyes {and ears} and despite it's running time and pace, absorbing and captivating. Unlike Arrival which I thought was very overrated and dare I say dull, Villeneuve has triumphed with this definitely worth the wait sequel.
15 of 29 users found this helpful1514
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaDec 26, 2017
Blade Runner 2019 is the ultimate fan film. On that level it works incredibly well. It answers all the riddles posed on the first film while offering new ones (possibly for another sequel). It also has incredible effects and cinematographyBlade Runner 2019 is the ultimate fan film. On that level it works incredibly well. It answers all the riddles posed on the first film while offering new ones (possibly for another sequel). It also has incredible effects and cinematography that will probably net this an Oscar nomination. Yet there lies its ultimate weakness: it is not an accessible film. If you haven't seen the first one, forget about understanding this flick. It is also bladder busting long at 2 hours and 45 minutes. It is a film that is budgeted for cinema, but can only be savored in home video (a bit like the original's 'faith'). This is why studios sometimes are reluctant to 'please the fans' too much. At the end of the day, they are not enough to make back the film's enormous budget. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
WalterKovacsDec 26, 2017
True homage to the original. A great sequel. Truly refreshing. The ending tapered off and some characters should have been better developed for a trade of some of the other scenes. A must see, especially in 3-D.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
kiankFeb 18, 2018
Blade Runner 2049 is a visually stunning movie. It is the most beautiful movie I've seen since Interstellar. That being said, I wasn't a fan of the pace of story and felt like it dragged on a bit. Don't get me wrong, I think the story isBlade Runner 2049 is a visually stunning movie. It is the most beautiful movie I've seen since Interstellar. That being said, I wasn't a fan of the pace of story and felt like it dragged on a bit. Don't get me wrong, I think the story is good but the pace of it was too slow at some points. Overall, I would give it a 8.1. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ZaarekDec 27, 2017
I loved everything about this movie. This is the kind of movie that makes you travel to another world but at the same time treats of very concrete human topics. It is so rich, it's full of information and questions at the same time. It makesI loved everything about this movie. This is the kind of movie that makes you travel to another world but at the same time treats of very concrete human topics. It is so rich, it's full of information and questions at the same time. It makes you travel both visually and mentally at the same time. During the whole movie you'll be wondering if it is science-fiction or anticipation? Some philosophical topics are treated without getting boring. What's the meaning of destiny or sense of purpose? What's the difference between man and machine if both are capable of having feelings and emotions? Denis Villeneuve, his crew and the cast just set new standards to what a masterpiece can be. Well done guys. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
JohnvincentDec 21, 2017
This movie was visually amazing. The sound in the theater was hard to sit through however. I hope it was just the theaters sound system.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Rhaegar1980Jan 1, 2018
A great sequel, with just one problem: 10-15 minutes too long.
Beside that: awesome atmosphere, visuals, audio and storytelling.
A simple story for complex characters.
New classic together with the immortal first chapter.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
timpfelFeb 17, 2018
A good sequel to the original Blade Runner with excellent visuals - but is to long, the main villain is not that interesting and Deckard doesn't do much in the movie. Also music is better in original movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Will-BOct 19, 2017
It's visually stunning with a semi-easy plot to follow with some of the best performances you'll see from Gosling and Ford. This will go down as not only one of the best movies of 2017, but also one of the best sequels of all time.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 7, 2017
Director Denis Villeneuve continues his hot streak of stunning films with a sequel to one of cinema's - strike that - art's most influential pieces of expression. "Blade Runner 2049" is a mesmerizing plot-thickener with just enough intrigueDirector Denis Villeneuve continues his hot streak of stunning films with a sequel to one of cinema's - strike that - art's most influential pieces of expression. "Blade Runner 2049" is a mesmerizing plot-thickener with just enough intrigue to keep you hooked until the film's incredible final act. Let's not forget the unmistakably beautiful production design and cinematography, ultimately rendering this final product into what I believe to be 2017's best looking motion picture. A real wondrous feat that's left me salivating for whatever Villeneuve's got cooking up for next time. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
TwomblerOct 16, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like many of us I've seen the original Blade Runner movie countless of times (Director's Cut is, by the way, the only version I acknowledge) but I've also read late Philip K. Dick's novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Unfortunately this movie isn't a masterpiece although director Villeneuve has left his mark to every frame. And those frames are beautiful!

Blade Runner 2049 will receive Academy Award for best cinematography without a doubt. But it will not receive such honours for its screenplay.

If you've read Dick's novel you may share my opinion which is that this movie totally dismisses its biggest catch, androids. Now we have an android Blade Runner which has a virtual girlfriend. We have also an blind oligarch who desires to spread his androids to the rest of the universe. We have a retired Blade Runner who's gone missing and at some point you'll have a deja vu regarding Harrison Ford if you have seen Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of The Crystal Skull. Heed my words!

It takes a bit too long to build the athmosphere for the plot twist and we spend too much time inside this android Blade Runners apartment. His female supervisor is also quite useless and I felt she was in the movie only to emphasize how heartless android villain can be. But then again, android doesn't have a heart.

Our protagonist does wonder if he's something more than a mere machine. However writers didn't had the courage to write a human character because there is a quite popular theory about Deckard being a android himself.

In conclusion Blade Runner 2049 is a great movie but unfortunately doesn't beat the original. If you like Villeneuves earlier works you'll love it and if you love Ryan Gosling you'll probably watch it more than once.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
7
VexarOct 25, 2017
I have been waiting for this movie for a few decades it has the same vibe and open ended questions left by the first movie, and extended the first movies story in ways I never thought it would. I wish it did better at the box office I wouldI have been waiting for this movie for a few decades it has the same vibe and open ended questions left by the first movie, and extended the first movies story in ways I never thought it would. I wish it did better at the box office I would love to see more chapters in this world. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
abm0Oct 12, 2017
My greatest disappointment with this movie is that it probably wasn't good enough to make the old version's fanboys stop talking about that boring submediocre movie as if it was the greatest thing in sci-fi history. To me this is the onlyMy greatest disappointment with this movie is that it probably wasn't good enough to make the old version's fanboys stop talking about that boring submediocre movie as if it was the greatest thing in sci-fi history. To me this is the only enjoyable one of the two, and a rewatchable collectible at that. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
8
BlakDak666Oct 18, 2017
I never had seen the first Blade Runner film in any of its versions, so when watching this film I was nervous that I would not understand certain parts that referenced it. Thankfully, the film does nods and respectfully grows from itsI never had seen the first Blade Runner film in any of its versions, so when watching this film I was nervous that I would not understand certain parts that referenced it. Thankfully, the film does nods and respectfully grows from its previous entry and sparingly gives those references.

The visuals and technology used in this is phenomenal and this makes it one of the most impressively shot and well constructed worlds and society I have seen in films for years. The technology is believable and the apocalyptic-like world Blade Runner presents is creative and yet relative to the viewer. The acting was pretty dam good with Ryan Gosling , Harrison Ford and a few other characters putting a really impressive display of emotions and realistic humanity to the scenes. The action is a bit low, but it serves to move the plot forward and can be somewhat unnerving to watch. If you were expecting constant action in a sci-fi noir film, you will be very disappointed.

While I think the film was shot excellently, the cast did a great job on acting, I feel the story and certain scenes could have been better improved or toned down. The running length of the film has become a sort of like a joke for critics and they are not wrong as it is nearly two and half hours. Certain scenes could have been cut out and shorten a bit to propel the plot forward much more effectively. A couple head scratches came from me when certain plots were revealed and felt some moments were sort of cheesy to boot, so I would say that going in to see this film has to be under a certain mindset and test in patience. If you like constant action and ADHD style pacing, you will not enjoy this movie. Blade Runner 2049 is a well done film that successfully stands as its own sequel rather than a copy and paste of the original. Its world and visuals are award winning excellent, the casting was pretty good and only through excessive use of scenes and certain confusing areas do I feel the only cons for this film. If you like films and appreciate art, you are required to see this film. If you like a good detective movie, this is a recommendation. If you seen the original Blade Runner and not this yet, you should as soon as possible. This will not get everyone on board loving it, but those who appreciate its world and film as art will relish in this films for years to come.
Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
8
FlexedacornOct 23, 2017
The Blade Runner sequel was an unexpected surprise, seeing how the original is now over 30 years old. I have a love hate relationship for the original as it was a bit of a slow burn, but I respected it for its world building, uniqueThe Blade Runner sequel was an unexpected surprise, seeing how the original is now over 30 years old. I have a love hate relationship for the original as it was a bit of a slow burn, but I respected it for its world building, unique cinematography and great ending. That being said the sequel did a great job of building upon the already established mythos.
Blade Runner 2049 did not feel revolutionary to filmmaking, but was an overall very good Sci Fi film. The acting was great, most notably the performances by Sylvia Hoeks and Jared Leto. Both actors really stole the show for every scene they were in. Some audiences reviews stated the movie felt too long, but honestly the pacing felt fine to me. My only critique of the film is that it did not have the bizarre vibe of the original. Gone were the mini clockwork replicants, crazy night clubs and claustrophobic streets. This is less of a knock on the film and more of a nod to how much work went into making the original film.
Overall I recommend this film to any fan of Sci-Fi films or those who like the original 1982 film.
Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
7
TheWaffleDec 30, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 is a slow and methodical film with plenty of interesting ideas and visuals, but it struggles through the second half. Ryan Gosling, Robin Wright, Ana de Armas, and even David Bautista are excellent. The opening act was a joyBlade Runner 2049 is a slow and methodical film with plenty of interesting ideas and visuals, but it struggles through the second half. Ryan Gosling, Robin Wright, Ana de Armas, and even David Bautista are excellent. The opening act was a joy to watch as this cast effortless draws you back into the alienating world of future LA. Unfortunately, that strong beginning gives way to a meandering film that falls back on nostalgia for the original and struggles to forge a compelling new path. The villains feel superfluous and there are hints of a broader world that never really take shape. I wish I could rate this film more highly, but it just doesn't stick the landing. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
somedude14Oct 31, 2017
Has some pacing issues, especially near the end, but this was pretty good. Nailed the atmosphere of the original, even though the story isn't a retelling but an entirely new direction. Harrison Ford also put more effort into his performanceHas some pacing issues, especially near the end, but this was pretty good. Nailed the atmosphere of the original, even though the story isn't a retelling but an entirely new direction. Harrison Ford also put more effort into his performance as Rick Deckard here than he did as Han Solo in "The Force Awakens". Still the "old guy" showing up to pass the torch of the brand he helped build to the next generation by being recast in the same role to give it more credibility (not that this movie needed him, but it certainly doesn't hurt), but he definitely put more juice into this role. Maybe Han is a money thing to him and Deckard is more important - after all, Ford *did* want Han to be dead for good after the events in Star Wars: Episode 5.

Jared Leto puts in an uncharacteristically calm performance here. I would've liked to see his character get more development so he could have more screen time.

Would love to get a modern point-and-click game in this new universe - the only downside to this idea is Westwood isn't around to do it proper justice, so maybe it's better if that doesn't happen!
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
soydansilvaOct 25, 2017
visually glorious, intense and dark; this direct sequel to 'Blade Runner' works as a futuristic journey with a mixture of nostalgia, but ultimately disappoints with a basic and repeated story - "more a machine than a person"
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
superproblemOct 29, 2017
typical slightly prolonged movie w/ Gosling. you can easily not watch a 1982 film, if you look at the prologue. Gosling is a god. symbols symbols symbols xd.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
EvisDec 20, 2017
While it's hard to say any movie is perfect this movie sits at the very top of the pile for me when it comes to science fiction. The artistry, direction, acting, writing, sound and music are all spot on. It's a thought provoking scienceWhile it's hard to say any movie is perfect this movie sits at the very top of the pile for me when it comes to science fiction. The artistry, direction, acting, writing, sound and music are all spot on. It's a thought provoking science fiction rather than an action based thriller. If that's something you enjoy then this is an amazing film. One that I hope will set the bar for films to come despite not bringing in much at the box office. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
MessyfingersDec 22, 2017
Unbelievably brilliant. As a sequel, it builds on the universe and characters created decades ago, but creates something new. Absolutely breathtaking visually, orgasmic score, great sound, superb acting and directing. Villeneuve deserves anUnbelievably brilliant. As a sequel, it builds on the universe and characters created decades ago, but creates something new. Absolutely breathtaking visually, orgasmic score, great sound, superb acting and directing. Villeneuve deserves an Oscar for this. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
sscott0829twOct 11, 2017
Blade runner 2049 is beautiful and breathtaking. The characters are all well acting. The world is stunning and believable. This is not a action movie, is a normal story. That will make you think of it after you walk out of the theater. IBlade runner 2049 is beautiful and breathtaking. The characters are all well acting. The world is stunning and believable. This is not a action movie, is a normal story. That will make you think of it after you walk out of the theater. I didn't give this movie a higher score is because the slow paste and some plot that they didn't explain. Hope they make a third movie. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
9
ishaan023Oct 12, 2017
Enthralling,mesmerizing,visually stunning,masterpiece and a future classic are the words that suitably describe Blade Runner 2049

Blade runner 2049 is an exquisitely crafted sequel which stands shoulder to shoulder with its predecessor,Blade
Enthralling,mesmerizing,visually stunning,masterpiece and a future classic are the words that suitably describe Blade Runner 2049

Blade runner 2049 is an exquisitely crafted sequel which stands shoulder to shoulder with its predecessor,Blade runner,one of the greatest movies ever made.

The neo-noir setting with an unwavering sense of impending doom amplifies the eeriness and adds dimensions to the film.The plot is solid , rich with characters and minor details all building up to an intense climax.Ryan Gosling , Harrison Ford, Ana De Armas, Jared Leto, Sylvia Hoeks act masterfully in their respective roles .Ryan Gosling plays the role of the lead perfectly .The characters are well built and rounded .Much is left to be desired out of Jared Leto’s character who feels kind of left out in the movie plot but is sure to play a major role in future sequels ,if any are made.The direction and cinematography is where the movie hits a homerun.Denis Villeneuve has created a mindblowing, sci-fi masterpiece no doubt.He is hands-down one of the best directors in the industry at the moment.Villeneuve has done a great job by skillfully integrating suspense and tension with the core of the movie plot.Roger Deakins does an amazing job as the cinematographer .The cinematography is one of the best I have ever seen in a movie.Every shot tells a story ,represents a theme chaos,beauty,love,fear,tension,insecurity etc.The production design and quality is top notch.The cinemascore and sound effects are amazing.
The plot pacing is where the movie dips and could be turn off for some moviegoers.The movie is long,plain long(163 minutes) and the pace is slow.Not all moments are part of the main movie plot ,but introduced for possible movie sequels

Final Verdict:Blade runner 2049 is a plot driven,intense,lengthy and a mindblowing sci-fi movie not less than a piece of art.If you love this kind of cinema this movie is for you.If your movie preference is the cars blowing,fights-breaking,explosion occurring every 15-min Michael Bay movie then this is not for you as you would lose all patience by the time movie reaches its climax.

Score: 9/10: Translates to “Must Watch”
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
Voodoo123Nov 1, 2017
+Excellent visual style
+Memorable soundscape
+Fantastic cast +Superior existentialist plot +Welcome addition to the 'blade-runner-verse' -Be warned dystopic themes and 3 hour running time awaits! As a huge fan of the final cut blu ray I was
+Excellent visual style
+Memorable soundscape
+Fantastic cast
+Superior existentialist plot
+Welcome addition to the 'blade-runner-verse'
-Be warned dystopic themes and 3 hour running time awaits!

As a huge fan of the final cut blu ray I was blown away by how this film bested my expectations. Worthy of the hype and in a lot of ways felt it could pass as a delightfully dystopic 3 hour black mirror/twighlight zone episode.
Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
10
alva3901Nov 5, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 is the sequel that measures equally to its predecessor, a masterpiece in its own right. However, it seems much like the original, that Blade Runner 2049 will not meet its status as an iconic sci-fi film for some years toBlade Runner 2049 is the sequel that measures equally to its predecessor, a masterpiece in its own right. However, it seems much like the original, that Blade Runner 2049 will not meet its status as an iconic sci-fi film for some years to come. This is a visual masterpiece, depicting the most beautiful ruin of a city that has graced a film. From beginning to end in its 2h 44min run-time, it captivates the wonder of a decrepit dystopian world, all of which is shot beautifully by the incomparable Roger Deakins. The cast led by Ryan Gosling who plays "K" and Harrison Ford who returns as "Rick Deckard", act superbly to create an awe-inspiring film on the big screen. Under the direction of Denis Villeneuve, Blade Runner 2049 shows that he is one of the most talented directors and one of the few masters of storytelling in the movie business today. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
7
AkumaJackOct 19, 2017
A decent film. The directing is on point and the settings are quite as good as the original blade runner. The problem is the plot. Especially in the last third of the movie. Still a good film thanks to Gosling acting and Vileneuve directing.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
poewilsonOct 30, 2017
The P.H. Metric 78.75/100

During my showing 7 people walked out, and there was only probably 15 of us, and they made it no more 50 minutes in. Several people I went to the theater with fell asleep, yet critically applauded and here comes the
The P.H. Metric 78.75/100

During my showing 7 people walked out, and there was only probably 15 of us, and they made it no more 50 minutes in. Several people I went to the theater with fell asleep, yet critically applauded and here comes the divide. Movies critics love, film does not make money even when they have huge investment and movies critics don’t love film makes enough money to fund 5-15 more movies. So in short this film is a disservice, because ultimately fewer studios are willing to take the risk on artsy films and all this film needed was to tighten up its pacing and it would have probably broken even and in terms of cinematic vision that is hardly selling your soul.

Directing: 8.75/10

The directing is superb and I am shocked with the level of investment that Villeneuve was given as much control as he was. Though it must be said that this film draws out shots for too long and this is from a man who loved the film Stalker. Where as something like Stalker is completely about the philosophical nature this film still tries to make it self an action/thriller/mystery film and these long takes end up killing the mystery and feels more like there is not enough story to go around, which ultimately is true. The shots themselves are lovely.

Acting: 7/10

Ford is Ford the man is not that great of an actor and he really is just cashing in on old franchises at this point. Gosling’s muted touch was decent enough and while Leto’s weird character was weird in a good way the character itself was unneeded. The main villain of the piece was over the top and worthy of being in a film that is trying so hard to be nuanced. She ends up coming off as a jarring screeching noise.

Cinematography: 10/10

Deakins’s cinematography shines, absolutely shines and this has to be his year. 13 noms and with Lubezki currently attached to a special award Oscar his major comp for the year is not there.

Editing 8.5/10

I feel bad for Joe Walker he kept the ship as tight as he could throughout, but ultimately due to the nature of these long drawn out takes that it feels like he was ultimately overruled when it came to where to cut the film.

Score/sound effects: 5.5/10

I would have scored this higher if I had not seen Arrival, where as the industrial style sound design should have been more engaging I could not help feeling they were reusing it from Arrival. Of course the sounds were meant to be jarring given all the silence we were fed, but ultimately it feels like that opening sequence in the remake of Funny Games, it is not shocking or jarring in the sense the creator wants, but more in the sense please turn down the TV those noises are starting to give me a headache.

Visual Effects: 9/10

I get a sense of Silent Hill (the first game) it feels like the fog and dust in certain scenes is there to hide rather than enhance and when one goes back to the original Blade Runner these modern effects (specifically shots of the city) do not look like the technology has really pushed the boundaries, in fact it looks more like the status quo, which mind you the status quo is excellent, but not genre defining.

Writing: 3/10

I am sad to find out there was a writer for this film. Now I previously mentioned Stalker which is similar in many regards, however the dialogue in that is profound, where is the dialogue in Blade Runner 2049 thinks it is. With such cliche android film lines as basically sacrificing yourself is the way to prove you are human. This concept never sits well with me, as apparently for an android the most human thing is to sacrifice yourself so that the human may continue to live a better life than you. That sounds like the kind of thing an android would be programmed to do. Asimov anybody? Everything just keeps pushing the fact that these androids want to be human, but ultimately it keeps slapping them down and saying they are not. It adds nothing to the greater debate over AI and ultimately when compared to the sheer quality of everything else in the film it looks out of place and useless, as if someone was brought in last minute to patch it up. Secondly the whole it could be him story was let out of the back to early on, so it made the double twist so predictable that it steals any power it had.

Production Design: 9.5/10

Those in production design you all need more respect and deserve to be pushed further into the foreground, because when you do an excellent job no one says anything, only look how well this and that is, but you owned this film.

Costume Design 9/10

Well done, especially Leto’s character, though I will say the only real negative was Wright’s outfit. What is this 2049 and she is channeling the 50’s or was she literally a copy of the police chief from Futurama. Also Ford’s was a little meh.

Make-up/Hairstyle 8.5/10

Again Leto is the high point, but not much else as everything is high quality, but nothing feels astounding.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
jcanfisFeb 6, 2018
Most sequels can not keep up to their high expectations. Blade Runner 2049 does.
i was satisfied with story, visuals and pacing. Not boring at all.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
Tony1984Jan 15, 2018
The original Blade Runner was my first introduction to metaphysical philosophy. It was one of most profound and beautiful movies of the 20th century and it still affects me to this day..When I saw Ryan Gosling cast in the 2049 I was veryThe original Blade Runner was my first introduction to metaphysical philosophy. It was one of most profound and beautiful movies of the 20th century and it still affects me to this day..When I saw Ryan Gosling cast in the 2049 I was very disappointed. I swore to myself never to attend a movie of his again after the disgusting abomination that is "Only God Forgives" but I relented eventually, Blade Runner is that important.. He is the weakest part of the movie for me. I just don't like his voice or face. Thats personal preference.
And what is the movie? A continuation of the transhumanist question from Blade Runner 1. Can replicants ( or even AI's who receive very positive treatment here) have souls? Can man be a God and create life? My anwswer is no and the movie answers in the affirmative, understandably. Judge for yourself.
Symbolism and esotericism saturate every scene. Every line of dialogue, prop, stance, quirk, image,prominent and obscured has an obvious meaning ...and hidden one...It feels religious in its exposition because in a way it is. Its arcane and occultist. It makes one think and want to return for closer inspection. Whatever your philosophical position there can be no denying the beauty visually and aurally of this devastated dystopia. Gosling apart, a masterpiece..
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
KaptenVideoDec 24, 2017
A young blade runner's (Ryan Gosling) discovery of a long-buried secret leads him to track down older colleague (Harrison Ford), who's been missing for thirty years. In the future, there are people whose job is to find and kill human-likeA young blade runner's (Ryan Gosling) discovery of a long-buried secret leads him to track down older colleague (Harrison Ford), who's been missing for thirty years. In the future, there are people whose job is to find and kill human-like robots, you know, and they are called blade runners.

Also appearing, Jared Leto, Robin Wright, Dave Bautista, Ana de Armas, Sylvia Hoeks, Mackenzie Davis, David Dastmalchian et al.

The original „Blade Runner“ (1982) is lauded as one of the best and most important sci-fi movies ever. I have seen it, of course, even more than once, and read the Philip K. Dick’s story it’s based on, but never see the appeal, honestly. Was quite bored with it, actually.

So why do they like it so much? I am too lazy to research it on the interweb, so I am just gonna take a wild guess and offer that when it came out, it was a long-waited antidote to all the silly sci-fi movies craze that had ruled in the previous five years.

You see, throughout history sci-fi was always a „serious“ and artsy cinema genre but then „Star Wars“ (1977) came out and made huge amount of people want something different entirely.

So „Blade Runner“ was, for sci-fi geeks, a long-awaited return to form, with its moodiness, sombre atmosphere and deep philosophical questions such as what makes us „real“ anyway, and is human life more important than artificially created one.

„Blade Runner“ flopped in cinemas originally but over the years it has built an admirable cult following. And the fans are surely glad to know that the long-planned sequel is finally here and stays far away from mainstream fare, respecting its „serious“ roots and everything.

Yes, the trailers look spectacular and have plenty of rip-roaring action but the new „Blade Runner“ is all about returning to the form, easily supassing the original movie in every aspect, at least for yours truly.

Be warned: not only does it last for close to three hours, it’s so artsy that you may feel the need to go grab some junk food later. Just to, you know, compensate.

The story is slow, not too eventful, a few action setpieces, not much dialogue – and the existing sounds more like monologue than real natural conversation between persons.

Filled with futuristic landscapes and environments, the movie looks gorgeous but there’s a noticeble discord between viewer and characters/events. The experience is cold and disheartening by design, always keeping you at arms length, so to speak.

It does have Ryan Gosling and Harrison Ford starring, but the result is far from perfect date movie… unless both are big movie lovers and/or loved the original „Blade Runner“.

You may also have trouble with understanding the backstory and certain things about the characters. It is even difficult to say whether everything is meant to feel so ambiguous, asking us to offer our own answers, or the makers have tried to remain as „artsy“ as possible. I think it’s meant to be that hard to grasp. It’s directed by Denis Villeneuve after all („Prisoners“, „Enemy“, „Sicario“, „Arrival“).

To be honest, the movie does not have any good reason to last for close to three hours, but at least it’s full of thoughtful and well-crafted material, not filler crap like many „event“ movies.

The main topics such as the future of artifical intellect and the value of life, especially human life versus the artificially created one, are intriguing if you are able to open up to the whole experience.

And if you manage to open up already, you may admire how spiritual this bleak and cold futuristic story can be at its core. I dug throught the symbolism evident in the story and found out that it is really about the importance of feelings – this is all you really have to get through life. Just what the spiritual systems have taught us for thousands of years.

There will be many who will feel turned offed by this approach, I am sure. For an expensive 150 million U.S. dollar movie, it sure tries its earnest not to be easily liked and digested.

But it’s gorgeous and after a while, you may notice that it really speaks to you. Some may dig the moodiness, or Gosling’s face, but there’s enough serious content beneath the surface.

For all it’s emotional distant-ness and terrifying length, „Blade Runner 2049“ is not my cup of tea, but I think it’s a noteworthy piece of modern art. Considering the hefty budget, it is also probably the most expensive piece of modern art ever made.

All in all, for what it is, the movie could not be better in any aspect. Except for maybe giving Leto a bigger role.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
PotaeSuprakitNov 19, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Blade Runner 2049 returns very few of the characters from the original film but they manage to breathe life into this movie through the new ones they created. Officer K isn't the most lively protagonist but he gets an eye-opening character arc that kept me involved. Deckard doesn't appear till later in the movie but he remains interesting and what they decide to do with him makes his appearance worthwhile. I also really liked some of the smaller supporting characters. Sapper really helps kick off the movie, what Joi represents is extremely emotional and Mariette is so mysterious that her involvement brings up more and more questions. Add in that Niander Wallace and Luv make for pretty menacing villains and you have a pretty well-rounded and fascinating script.

I don't think that the actors/actresses will be the focal point of the awards attention that this movie will get but that doesn't mean there aren't exemplary performances. Gosling is good as K, he's deliberately robotic and he accomplishes a lot through his subtlety. Harrison Ford isn't in the movie as much as I wanted him to be (he's still one of my all-time favourite actors) but he holds up his end. He works with Gosling well and they have a solid rapport. Surprisingly, I really liked Sylvia Hoeks. She stole a lot of her scenes and I thought she was great even acting against a stacked cast. Dave Bautista showed he has a lot more range than people give him credit for. Jared Leto is in a very Jared Leto role (deliberately weird and hard to understand) but he does it well and although he might be a little creepy, the guy is still a great actor. I also want to credit Ana de Armas, she was distinctly warm and she showed a lot more emotion than I had seen from her previously.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
FillTheAndroidOct 30, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Yes, they do. So the film says, not the book. And new part of the Blade Runner continues the story of those who have souls, even if they're nothing more but replicants. Deep loud music written by Hans Zimmer with bright neon pictures of the future draws this world you'd never want to live in, but the world you'd want to take a look at. Blade runners still chasing replicants, replicats still trying to save their lifes. But now there's a greatest goal in this world. Replicants need to find a messiah, who will lead them to the freedom. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
UncleswiggleDec 3, 2017
Coming from a new fan, this movie is nothing short of a masterpiece. Definitely one of the best movies I've seen this year. The cinematography was probably the best I've seen in a long while. I highly recommend this movie to anyone new fan or old.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
OlcshowDec 15, 2017
Sziasztok. Hol is kezdjem. Ez a film valami zseniális. Rendezés hangvágás operatőri munka látvány színészek. Szinte hibátlan film. Ilyen jó sci-fi-t igen rég láttam.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
AdamJensen77Oct 24, 2017
The best posible sequel to a cult classic like Blade Runner, with the most beautiful visuals I've ever seen. The story is deep with lots of symbolism and meaning, if you are expecting big action scenes and explosions everywhere this is notThe best posible sequel to a cult classic like Blade Runner, with the most beautiful visuals I've ever seen. The story is deep with lots of symbolism and meaning, if you are expecting big action scenes and explosions everywhere this is not the movie for you. Ryan Gosling, Harrison Ford, Ana de Armas, Leto, etc... everyone is goddamn perfect in its rol. Thank you Denis Villeneuve for this new master piece. Expand
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
9
MrDevianceOct 15, 2017
This movie is everything that I expected of it and more.
It's amazing to see how a sequel in 2017 can top what used to be the best sci-fi of all time. This movie is actually better than the first Blade Runner movie.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
MrWonderfulOct 23, 2017
The original Blade Runner is still my overall favourite movie so far in time. I went into 2049 with high hopes. It met my expectations but does not surpass the original as I thought it would. The story is good, especially once the second halfThe original Blade Runner is still my overall favourite movie so far in time. I went into 2049 with high hopes. It met my expectations but does not surpass the original as I thought it would. The story is good, especially once the second half commences and a big plot reveal is made. Visuals are astounding and makes up for the length of the film. I felt the movie could have gone longer and I would have remained interested because of the cinematography and excellent acting. The only real let down for me is the musical score, it just didn't contain the same emotive vibe as Vangelis' provided in the original. To me Blade Runner breathes life because of that amazing soundtrack whereas 2049 was too low key and decidedly similar to many another sci-fi movies of recent years such as Oblivion and Interstellar. I hope there will be a "Director's Cut" once released on 4K/Bluray. I also hope one day Blade Runner will evolve into a story that includes the mysterious Off World location(s) that the to films elude to.

I'm glad I saw 2049 on the big screen.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
maugzzOct 15, 2017
This is the first movie that truly fills up my senses in almost every way; it kept me nervous and anxious in my seat, wishing that it would not end, even if it is +2 hours long. The environment they create is perfect and even better than theThis is the first movie that truly fills up my senses in almost every way; it kept me nervous and anxious in my seat, wishing that it would not end, even if it is +2 hours long. The environment they create is perfect and even better than the one in the first one, with a better arraignment of colors and perfect acting from the cast, making me believe every action and phrase they said. The story is very good, much better than the first one, but leaving me wishing for more of this world, something that I would not have said from watching the first one. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
IttiacesOct 11, 2017
As a sequel to the original 1982 film, this latest chapter from the blade runner universe holds its own. We find our protagonist, played by Ryan Gosling, working with the police to hunt down replicants, cyborgs indistinguishable from humans.As a sequel to the original 1982 film, this latest chapter from the blade runner universe holds its own. We find our protagonist, played by Ryan Gosling, working with the police to hunt down replicants, cyborgs indistinguishable from humans. A special mission sets him on a particularly dangerous path of self-discovery. Gosling is superb here. I initially criticised him as a choice for this role, but I was hands down wrong. He portrays the character with an innocence and sense of vulnerability that is very touching and heartfelt. Harrison Ford is excellent but doesn't have as much screen time as I'm sure fans were expecting. The story is well paced for the most part and manages to keep the audience engaged. I saw this in a huge theatre that was packed to the brim and you could've heard a pin drop throughout the entire screening. The visuals are stunning and progressive without being separated too far from the first outing. It's creatively graded to emphasise certain atmospheres and moods which I found interesting. The attention to detail in the sets is impressive although most of it is CGI. The cinematography is also very impressive, and overall it's a beautifully conceived film. On the downside, at nearly 3 hours it's incredibly long, and you do start to feel that towards the last 30 minutes or so. Disappointingly, I also found some of the themes to be quite derogatory to women. Lots of brothels, hookers, nakedness, digital women created as companions. There was no gender balance in this somewhat sordid area. Although we did have a female villain, and head of police so at least some attempt at strong female characters admittedly. Overall, it's one of the best films of the year and will probably make the list as one of the finest sequels ever made. Highly recommended. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
10
faellOct 18, 2017
An incredibly beautiful cinematography, a great story, great characters and performances, and a powerful and beauty ending. One of the greatest sci-fi movies ever made.
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
10
nanddoOct 20, 2017
For me it was one of the best Sci Movies of the last decade. Amazing photography, scene... the actors are magnificent acting, Ryan gosling just astonishing.
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
JavierChileOct 12, 2017
I don't know what can be possibly bad in this movie. It excels in everything it proposes itself.

It is slow, yes. But it is slow in a positive way. Every scene is carefully thinked to be audiovisually exquisite. At that pace, you can truly
I don't know what can be possibly bad in this movie. It excels in everything it proposes itself.

It is slow, yes. But it is slow in a positive way. Every scene is carefully thinked to be audiovisually exquisite. At that pace, you can truly think in the deep moral and phylosophical themes the movie proposes. You can suck all the main character's emotions.

The world both blade runners have created is extremely interesting and coherent. I saw the first like 2 weeks before seeing Blade Runner 2049 and I consider myself a devote fan now.

10/10 for me!
Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
CLUELESS35861Oct 24, 2017
Outstanding sequel, shame the millennials can't wrap their heads around it without an "app for that". Continues the Philip K. Dick tale in great form, great cinema, great story. I suspect some the criticism is from people to lazy to read theOutstanding sequel, shame the millennials can't wrap their heads around it without an "app for that". Continues the Philip K. Dick tale in great form, great cinema, great story. I suspect some the criticism is from people to lazy to read the book, or, watch either movie, or have no semblance of imagination, and just read critiques and pile on. Needs to be seen in a theater, do not wait for Redbox, pretend its 1982 and the VHS store isn't going to see a rental issued for at least two years! Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
davyjonesrunnerOct 17, 2017
Seen this on Imax with my Girlfriend and it is one of the best sequel to date. Don't watch it on Wi-Fi make sure its Hi-Fi because this is the best Sci-Fi. It is a well-delivered film the ASMR at portions of the film gives me chills. TheSeen this on Imax with my Girlfriend and it is one of the best sequel to date. Don't watch it on Wi-Fi make sure its Hi-Fi because this is the best Sci-Fi. It is a well-delivered film the ASMR at portions of the film gives me chills. The surround sound of this film is also one of the best in film to date. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
drbarlogOct 22, 2017
Great movie in every aspect. The true sequel of Blade Runner. The movie has stunning visuals, incredible music and plot is very solid. I don't afraid of Dune adaptation any more.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
ElGuapoOct 16, 2017
It was more than what I was expecting and I was expecting quite a bit. It was "wow!" from start to finish and had me immersed in the world of Blade Runner. This is what reading a good book or playing a good video game feels like when it'sIt was more than what I was expecting and I was expecting quite a bit. It was "wow!" from start to finish and had me immersed in the world of Blade Runner. This is what reading a good book or playing a good video game feels like when it's over...just...overwhelmingly great.

I can't wait for this to come out on blu ray so I can watch it another dozen times.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Oct 15, 2017
The histoty retains fidelity to original of 1982, especially in philosophical context. It stans out in particular for the design of production -that tributes Metropolis- Roger Deakins photography and Hans Zimmer score. One of best choices ofThe histoty retains fidelity to original of 1982, especially in philosophical context. It stans out in particular for the design of production -that tributes Metropolis- Roger Deakins photography and Hans Zimmer score. One of best choices of autumn 2017. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
EwanManleyOct 18, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 is in my mind the best looking movie i've seen in a long time. But the story isn't slacking either, its beautifully written and just super super like good
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
xxxsssjjjkOct 23, 2017
good acting, music, scenery, sound (was too loud though)....................................................................................................................................................
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
BKumarOct 11, 2017
Couldn't have been better made to do justification to the original cult classic. Audio-visual treat and beautiful storytelling. Box office performance was expected to be low considering the original movie was too catering to a particular cultCouldn't have been better made to do justification to the original cult classic. Audio-visual treat and beautiful storytelling. Box office performance was expected to be low considering the original movie was too catering to a particular cult following. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
md1989Oct 13, 2017
With the first film being my favorite film, i was hoping for big things with this film. It did not disappoint, however after the first viewing i was unsure what i had watched,being unable to quite figure it out. But after the second viewing iWith the first film being my favorite film, i was hoping for big things with this film. It did not disappoint, however after the first viewing i was unsure what i had watched,being unable to quite figure it out. But after the second viewing i realised that like the first it is a master craft and years down the road many will come to have this are their favorite film.
Visually amazing,the story whilst paying homage is its own film, and what else can you say about the cinematography, its unbelievable. It's just just sad that the box office is not being reflective of how good this is.
Highly recommend!
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
noahbldnOct 19, 2017
Those SJWs can piss off am I right? Seriously though, this is the kind of movie that shows exactly why people make movies. This is the kind of movie that we'll look back in thirty years and when everyone complains how no one makes good moviesThose SJWs can piss off am I right? Seriously though, this is the kind of movie that shows exactly why people make movies. This is the kind of movie that we'll look back in thirty years and when everyone complains how no one makes good movies we can tell them it's because they never went to see them. Every shot is eyegasmic, every scene blocked well, all performances are perfect, Villeneuve consistently proves himself as one of the best modern directors. This movie is about as perfect as it gets when it comes to films. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
Easycw44Nov 25, 2017
One of the best movies I've ever had a chance to watch in theater. The cinematography, direction, and acting are some of the strongest I've seen in quite some time, especially considering the style of movie it is. To some it may feel a bitOne of the best movies I've ever had a chance to watch in theater. The cinematography, direction, and acting are some of the strongest I've seen in quite some time, especially considering the style of movie it is. To some it may feel a bit long, which is understandable, but it is still the best sequel made since The Dark Knight, and before that, The Godfather II. Kudos to all involved. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
9
currer_bellOct 13, 2017
It's not quite the instant classic the first movie was, but it was nearly impossible to do so anyway. This new Blade runner a an excellent movie nonetheless. I've read some bad reviews before watching the film and was kinda sceptical, but inIt's not quite the instant classic the first movie was, but it was nearly impossible to do so anyway. This new Blade runner a an excellent movie nonetheless. I've read some bad reviews before watching the film and was kinda sceptical, but in the end this movie is about as good a sequel can get. The visuals obviously are astonishing, the music is creepy and moody, and the story is gripping, good enough for me. Still It has some weaker moments, especially the last 20-30 minutes. The movie then become a bit messy and schizophrenic. But It's those crucial last 20 minutes that would have made Blade Runner 2049 a masterpiece like the first, but it kinda miss the spot. I also didn't like the Jared Leto character, the guru who speaks in parabolas and metaphors...it felt a bit cliché to me. Despite all that i can't give a lower score than 9, since the movie overall really lives up to the expectations. It's the kind movie I will watch 5-6 times without getting tired, this Blade Runner universe is just too fascinating. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
thebombOct 19, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 is a audio-visual masterpiece which thrives on its innovative scenery - each location is unique. It's hard not to get mesmerized by it's thrilling story which leaves as many questions open as it answers. The three hourBlade Runner 2049 is a audio-visual masterpiece which thrives on its innovative scenery - each location is unique. It's hard not to get mesmerized by it's thrilling story which leaves as many questions open as it answers. The three hour experience holds your attention up to a point where you don't want it to stop. While the acting doesn't deliver anything out of the ordinary, the attention-grabbing unlinear storytelling combined with purely beautiful cinematography makes this film a true gem. This is one to watch over and over again. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
Jeb077Dec 30, 2017
A super smart, dark, mysterious, and methodical sci-fi flick that we rarely get these days. It's an anti toxin for all the popcorn, blow 'em up action movies masquerading around as sci-fi. The absolute best thing of this movie is theA super smart, dark, mysterious, and methodical sci-fi flick that we rarely get these days. It's an anti toxin for all the popcorn, blow 'em up action movies masquerading around as sci-fi. The absolute best thing of this movie is the atmosphere, backed by a near 200 million dollar budget this futuristic world comes to life and leaves you wanting to see more of it even after the near 3 hour runtime. Flying cars, super realistic ruined landscapes, holographic advertisement in the streets, and amazing sound effects bring it all too life.

Acting there wasn't a bad character in the film. Most stoic in personality, too match the oppressed world. Gosling is solid, although not quite oscar worthy I'd say. At one point he yells at the top of his lungs when he finds out a critical piece of information, it was one of the best moments for him and the film could use a little more of that from him. Silvia Hoeks is downright chilling as the central villain, a little too "female terminator" at the end but one of the most convincing female villains I've seen. Overall the women in this show brought the movie up from good to excellent. All were spot on in their roles and memorable characters. Ford is featured less in the film than the advertisements might indicate. He did better in this than in the Force Awakens, partly from having a more important, convincing role. Quibbles as I said before, Gosling could run the gamut of emotions a little more often. The final fight scene a little overdone, and a few too many things put in for sequel purposes (which we may never get). There are a ton of details packed in this movie. You'll need at least 2 viewings to catch everything. Too bad it didn't perform as good as expected, we may never see another true sci-fi epic on this scale.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
Willyam_CarrDec 18, 2017
Denis Villeneuve has made a $150 million art film that also happens to be a sequel. Roger Deakins' cinematography a career best here; the way he plays with natural light and color is breathe-taking. The costume design is impeccable as well;Denis Villeneuve has made a $150 million art film that also happens to be a sequel. Roger Deakins' cinematography a career best here; the way he plays with natural light and color is breathe-taking. The costume design is impeccable as well; the outfits look like they belong on a runway without feeling disconnected from the universe. Sadly it is not for everyone. While the pace is steady, some people will certainly find it slow and boring. However, in my humble opinion, Blade Runner 2049 is the best film of the year, and superior to Ridley Scott's original Blade Runner. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
Passingby777Oct 12, 2017
First of all what i loved the most is the atmosphere and the story telling. I had watched the first one before and was impressed by how little dialogue was needed to move the plot along and to convey the message. Most recent movies left meFirst of all what i loved the most is the atmosphere and the story telling. I had watched the first one before and was impressed by how little dialogue was needed to move the plot along and to convey the message. Most recent movies left me with a sower aftertaste and with the impression that it was numbed down by having a huge amount of dialogue and explanations. The original used the atmosphere, the sounds and the characters to tell it's story and the difference from the modern approach was really obvious. The feeling i had while watching the original i found again while seeing 2049.
It is a sequel but without making you feel that not watching the original was a big mistake. This was the one movie in a very long time that did not disappoint me. I have loved it. It is something else and i could go on and on about the plot twist that was introduces incredibly well but at the same time was not in your face and then what happened afterwards when you felt that you passed the traditional twist... Anyway, if you love SciFi movies and have felt violated by the abortions that came out in the last years (at most 3 were good) or the traditional Hollywood recipes i cannot recommend this one enough.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
MysticDingoOct 31, 2017
10/10. Way underseen movie that made much less money than it should have. This is a true successor to the original Blade Runner, and is a completely self contained story. There is no sequel baiting here, though one could be made if they10/10. Way underseen movie that made much less money than it should have. This is a true successor to the original Blade Runner, and is a completely self contained story. There is no sequel baiting here, though one could be made if they wanted to. This is unlikely though, seeing as how, while highly rated, the film just didn't bring in the audiences to make the kind of money that the production company was hoping for, and it's made quite a bit more money over seas than in the American market. It did make back it's budgeted money and with a small profit to boot, but the numbers just aren't there such that this will likely be the last Blade Runner movie. That being said, this movie will certainly live on as a sci-fi cult classic for years to come! This is easily the best movie that I have seen all year. The acting was superb by everyone, especially Ryan Gossling. Honestly, I haven't been a huge fan of Ryan as he normally acts in a lot of romance and artsy fartsy types of films that don't interest me much (see "The Notebook" and "La La Land"), but this movie showed me what a broad actor he truly is and the depth of his acting ability. As for aesthetics, the movie is beautifully shot. The cinematography is very cool and the CGI isn't noticeable. The story is also amazing. It more than lives up to the standards set in the first film and in my opinion surpasses it. Also, in some ways, BR 2049 more resembles the original work "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep" by Philip K. Dick (the book that Blade Runner is based on) than the first film. Obviously neither film are really all that close to the book except in general concepts, but 2049 captures the dystopia portrayed in the book much better than the first movie did, likely due to advances in our film technology. I won't go into the story too much as I don't want to spoil anything. All I will say is that this film explores many of the same questions in the first movie and then some, with plenty of twists and turns and revelations to keep you hooked from beginning to end.

Denis Villeneuve as director, once again proves himself to be a true modern master. Many people have been complaining about where the next generation of genius directors are to replace people like Coppola, Scorsese, Spielburg, Kubrick, Stone, and Scott. With the exception of the Cohen and Nolan brothers we seem to be in a drought in our modern age of new upcoming genius directors, especially when the lions share of films are made by Michael "BOOM SPLOSIONS" Bay and J.J. "Lens Flare" Abrams. Well, one day we may very well be adding Villeneuve to that list of true masters if he continues to create movies like this.

Conclusion: If it's still in your local theater, GO SEE BLADE RUNNER 2049! It's my choice for Best Picture, and it would be criminal in my book if it wan't even nominated.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
igor_radchenkoOct 13, 2017
Denis Villeneuve unmistakably captures the tone and aesthetic of the Blade Runner universe, while bringing an original story that further explores the predecessor's themes. Combining that with state of the art visual effects and compellingDenis Villeneuve unmistakably captures the tone and aesthetic of the Blade Runner universe, while bringing an original story that further explores the predecessor's themes. Combining that with state of the art visual effects and compelling new characters, Blade Runner 2049 is exactly how a modern sequel to a classic cinematic experience should be tackled. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
PhranqOct 14, 2017
Like a fine cognac, you have to be in the right mood and without distractions to thoroughly enjoy this Masterpiece. Time will prove this....like the original.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
GreggorDec 21, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 is a shining successor to the original. It stays true to the first movie in almost every way. While there were a few dry sections toward the beginning, the overall design of the film begins to dawn on you toward the end. IBlade Runner 2049 is a shining successor to the original. It stays true to the first movie in almost every way. While there were a few dry sections toward the beginning, the overall design of the film begins to dawn on you toward the end. I reconsidered my entire opinion of this movie from a negative to a positive one somewhere past the halfway point. I hope the success of this one means many more additions to the Blade Runner universe. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ranjan04rajeevDec 29, 2017
Overall the movie is enjoyable, with stunning visuals and great score. It lacks that punchy Hollywood action and buildup. But the movie sticks to its theme and genre and explores what it is to be human. It is definitely a critical masterpieceOverall the movie is enjoyable, with stunning visuals and great score. It lacks that punchy Hollywood action and buildup. But the movie sticks to its theme and genre and explores what it is to be human. It is definitely a critical masterpiece and surely be nominated for Academy awards. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
SaydaNeenDec 18, 2017
Very good, movie. Keeps you entertained and engaged in the story throughout its long playtime. The lore, the environment and the risks it takes with the subplots is well written.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
MrNikitaTVNov 1, 2017
Бегущий по лезвию 2049- качественный и прекрасно сделанный фильм, не утративший дух оригинала. Это фильм с хорошим актерским составом и с неплохим сценарием и отличной картинкой. Что в фильме не понравился, так это слабый злодей и ляпы вБегущий по лезвию 2049- качественный и прекрасно сделанный фильм, не утративший дух оригинала. Это фильм с хорошим актерским составом и с неплохим сценарием и отличной картинкой. Что в фильме не понравился, так это слабый злодей и ляпы в сюжете. В целом фильм отличный, всем рекомендую идти! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
LUKEOPERCOUPJan 7, 2018
Easily one of the best movies in the gere among years.. since Avatar i think. With a lot of turn, while it's amazing to watch also catch your mind to think about things that are happening
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
SeptemberFlyOct 25, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 will probably be looked back upon in the future as one of the more compelling sci-fi dramas of all time. It executes nearly everything to perfection, continuing to build upon some of the great aspects of the first film whileBlade Runner 2049 will probably be looked back upon in the future as one of the more compelling sci-fi dramas of all time. It executes nearly everything to perfection, continuing to build upon some of the great aspects of the first film while being able to avoid some of the narrative blunders of the original. The setting and visuals of the film are beyond beautiful. It does a great job of building upon the already majestic world of blade runner while adding some unique aspects of its own that helps it not feel like just an extension of the first film. The music is subtly very good as it helps you feel immersed into the film while not feeling overbearing. The narrative and characters are the things that stand out most about the film. Despite being nearly 3 hours long, it almost never feels boring and is captivating the whole way through. The only time I noticed that the film slowed down a bit was around the end of the first hour of the film, but quickly picks back up again and is incredibly engaging the rest of the way through. Ryan Gosling gives a great performance as he usually does and Harrison Ford gives one of the best performances of his career. Ana de Armas also gives a surprisingly good performance, although her character occasionally felt underutilized. Blade Runner 2049 is an amazing film that both fans of the original and new fans alike should enjoy. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
KerokiOct 29, 2017
Película visualmente muy bella, con buena fotografía y efectos. tal vez uno de los fallos es demorar algunas escenas mas de lo necesario ademas de ser lenta, esto puede llegar a ser aburrido o tedioso para algunos espectadores, aunque a mi enPelícula visualmente muy bella, con buena fotografía y efectos. tal vez uno de los fallos es demorar algunas escenas mas de lo necesario ademas de ser lenta, esto puede llegar a ser aburrido o tedioso para algunos espectadores, aunque a mi en lo personal me gusto. En cuanto a la trama me parece muy buena, es cierto que tiene algunos fallos de guion muy pequeños, pero en general muy buena pelicula. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
THEwookieNov 14, 2017
Smart. Elegant. Beautiful. Relevant. All the things "great Sci-fi" is and can be will be found in this film. Beautiful performances captured by an innovative Director bring to life an amazing story in the world of "Blade Runner" WETA workshopSmart. Elegant. Beautiful. Relevant. All the things "great Sci-fi" is and can be will be found in this film. Beautiful performances captured by an innovative Director bring to life an amazing story in the world of "Blade Runner" WETA workshop outdoes themselves in their amazing model work as well as in the digital effects arena and this screenplay is passionate and powerful with a deep respect of the art that came before it. Hollywood should focus on making more pictures like THIS and less like "Transformers 5". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MallRat15Nov 15, 2017
One of my favourites of the year. An absolutely visually stunning movie deserves the Special Effects Oscar this year for sure. The sound is also amazing the soundtrack and sound effects really immerse you into the film. All of theOne of my favourites of the year. An absolutely visually stunning movie deserves the Special Effects Oscar this year for sure. The sound is also amazing the soundtrack and sound effects really immerse you into the film. All of the performances lead by Ford and Gosling were very good. The movie is a little long a few boring scenes, if it was cut down by 15 minutes or so it would be an almost perfect movie. A must see this year. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
QviceNov 18, 2017
It had moments that gave me that inner tingle that surged through my entire body. Only a handful of movies have ever be able to hit those nerves so well. Truly remarkable cinema.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JKHReviewsDec 29, 2017
Though this may sound less like a review, but I will put it as simply. Words cannot describe this film, and only by watching it will you understand why it deserves this 10. From the stunningly beautiful and well-crafted cinematography, andThough this may sound less like a review, but I will put it as simply. Words cannot describe this film, and only by watching it will you understand why it deserves this 10. From the stunningly beautiful and well-crafted cinematography, and with a plot giving the film it's a standalone perspective. Even as a sequel, Blade Runner 2049 is truly a film never to forget. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
nkukDec 29, 2017
This was by far my favourite film of the year. It has a clear and well executed vision, sumptuous visuals, an intriguing plot, which is a strong natural sequel to the original film, not some un-necessary "reboot" or unconnected story. TheThis was by far my favourite film of the year. It has a clear and well executed vision, sumptuous visuals, an intriguing plot, which is a strong natural sequel to the original film, not some un-necessary "reboot" or unconnected story. The acting is great and the ending really well done. Some said the movie was too long, but I didn't think so. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
bentearwalkingJan 16, 2018
Wow! The potential of this movie was so big. I really loved the way each scene led to the next. I loved the transitions, pacing, timing of the scenes and emotions and colors. It was just so well done! However, I found the story really hard toWow! The potential of this movie was so big. I really loved the way each scene led to the next. I loved the transitions, pacing, timing of the scenes and emotions and colors. It was just so well done! However, I found the story really hard to follow. I wanted to understand because it all seemed so well put together but this is one of those movies where I will need to watch again and again and then also read a summary online to really grasp what was happening. I would love to watch this movie in a 7.1 surround with a UHD TV though... wow it's beautiful and deserves to be rewatched for its beauty and complex story. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
FranbarrmanFeb 26, 2018
I dont know wich film i love more if this one or the original, so this movie is almoast perfect i cant see anything wrong in it or something that ill change but still i wouldnt recomended it because is too slow and its not for everybody.I dont know wich film i love more if this one or the original, so this movie is almoast perfect i cant see anything wrong in it or something that ill change but still i wouldnt recomended it because is too slow and its not for everybody. Loved Ryan as "K", Dennis getting better film after film and Deakins is god in it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MattyiceOct 8, 2017
In an extremely rare case, I believe Blade Runner 2049 manages to outdo the original story it's based on. The acting and writing superb, atmosphere is glowing and awe-inspiring, the direction is top-notch, and the story is just as great asIn an extremely rare case, I believe Blade Runner 2049 manages to outdo the original story it's based on. The acting and writing superb, atmosphere is glowing and awe-inspiring, the direction is top-notch, and the story is just as great as the first one. The score by Hans Zimmer and Ben Wallfisch is arguably the best of the year and holds true to Vangelis' original score and exceeds it in many ways. This film encapsulates everything a movie sequel or remake should do: expand on the original's ideas and improve on it. Blade Runner 2049 does just that, making it a rare sequel that can match the legendary original. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
10
DrChocolateOct 10, 2017
Excellent film. Perfectly picks up where the original left off and continues with the themes of empathy vs. artificiality. Some questions we had from the original film were answered, and some things were purposely left unsaid in trueExcellent film. Perfectly picks up where the original left off and continues with the themes of empathy vs. artificiality. Some questions we had from the original film were answered, and some things were purposely left unsaid in true Bladerunner fashion. I don't want to give anything away, but fans of the original film will not be disappointed. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticOct 8, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 is a spectacle in story, sound, and visuals. A flawless piece of film making that should receive numerous awards, especially for Roger Deakins the time is now give this man his Oscar already. This is a true masterpiece!! A+
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
9
SomeRandomGuy00Oct 11, 2017
It's been years since I've experienced a movie in theatres where almost every image left me in awe. Not impressed, not merely captivated, but in awe. In most “good looking” films, it's easy to find several scenes in images where your eyesIt's been years since I've experienced a movie in theatres where almost every image left me in awe. Not impressed, not merely captivated, but in awe. In most “good looking” films, it's easy to find several scenes in images where your eyes feel like shrugging compared to the rest of the film's imagery. It was difficult to find very many scenes like that in Blade Runner 2049. Even when there's next to no visual action going on in the frame, these images still find a way to impress. But thankfully, there's more to Blade Runner 2049 than just pretty pictures. Director Denis Villeneuve never forgets that this is a Blade Runner movie, a dark mystery about what it really means to be human in a world filled to the brim with advanced technology. The lovely visuals aid the story, instead of trying to bury it.

The sound design also really helps in bringing this troubled world to life. The musical score, while lacking the magic of Vangelis's score for the original film, still works in harmony with the moods and emotions for each scene. From throat-singing in Wallace's (Jared Leto) chamber, to the menacing drums used for a futuristic L.A.P.D. tower, to the playful chimes used in Detective K's romantic encounters with the optimistic Joi (Ana De Armas); these little touches in the soundtrack truly emphasize the emotion of each scene. Again, supporting the film, not trying to make up for it. It's a miracle that this soundtrack turned out as good as it did, considering the last minute change of composers and the fact that the soundtrack is almost entirely original. And of course, a dystopia could never come to life without convincing sound effects, and Blade Runner 2049 is no exception. This is an overused statement, but every sound used outside of the soundtrack truly feels real. No blaster sounds, no explosions that sound way quieter than they should, and no other silly overused sci-fi sound effects. Every bang, crash, jump, shot, step, and yell sounds exactly like it should. For example, in Dave Bautista's scene, we originally find him farming in a heavy radioactive suit. And with that moment, we can hear the heavy steps, echoes, and breathing that would go on in such a suit. The audience is there in his suit, and we didn't need any cheap POV or overlong establishing shots to get that level of immersion. It's such a short, inconsequential scene, but it's impressive that even the smallest scenes in Blade Runner 2049 are trying to pull you into its world instead of pushing you away.

And then, we arrive at the final stage of crafting a fictional world: the characters. Admittedly, there are few characters that feel like they never get any time to properly develop. Although, looking back at the film, maybe that's because I enjoyed their company so much. Ryan Gosling, an actor who should win the most improved actor award at this point, is perfect as a morally conflicted detective. I truly believed every step of his struggle, every emotion he conveyed, and every blow to his face. And this is all done without a shred of overacting or “phoning it in”, so to speak. Harrison Ford, reprising his role as Deckard, feels like he's actually acting this time. I was afraid that he was gonna “Bruce Willis” this important role, but he actually delivered. Is it because Harrison actually cares about this character? Or because the director cared enough to get him to actually act? Who knows? What matters is that he conveys a character that is both emotionally devastated and slightly desensitized to his previous events. All of the actors also suit their characters quite well, especially Jared Leto as Wallace and Ana De Armas as Joi. The actors certainly make the film's world all the more interesting and emotional, even when the story and writing fail to do so.

It truly shows how special this film is, however, that these story flaws seem so small. This is still an intriguing mystery story with a lot of tricks up it's sleeve, even for longtime fans of Blade Runner and dystopian Science Fiction. It's also impressive that the film never loses touch of it's themes, like the first film this is still a story about how life and reality can even be considered special in a society filled with technology and prejudice. And it's a breath of fresh air that every aspect of the film effectively conveys that message, instead of just a clever script and a few great performances. Yes, the film isn't quite as smart or clever as it's predecessor, but any movie that gets even close to reaching the magic of Blade Runner is well worth your time. The visual experience alone is worth the price of admission, but thankfully there's so much more lurking beneath the smooth surface.

See it in IMAX if you can.
Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
djniceyOct 8, 2017
Firstly the negatives - its not a popcorn movie. If you see that as a positive rather than a negative, then its likely you will really enjoy this masterpiece of a sequel. You really need to have seen the first film, if you enjoyed the firstFirstly the negatives - its not a popcorn movie. If you see that as a positive rather than a negative, then its likely you will really enjoy this masterpiece of a sequel. You really need to have seen the first film, if you enjoyed the first then this film should be a treat. The story, cinematography, acting, and sound are as good as you could hope for and this is the best follow up to any film I've seen.

Blade Runner is one of my favorite films, this has just been added to my list. I wont spoil the story but you wont see many better sequels than this.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
OcraM-SAOct 12, 2017
What a movie, Denis Villeneuve delivers again! I honestly cannot fault this film, it was gripping from start to finish. Every scene is carefully crafted, and oozes with atmosphere.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
Jes1310Oct 16, 2017
WOW – a near perfect sci-fi movie. I have seen a lot of shorter films, that felt much longer than BR2049. Every minute of BR2049 is important. From the long “atmosfear” scenes, that does nothing more that add depth to the dark, sinister, grayWOW – a near perfect sci-fi movie. I have seen a lot of shorter films, that felt much longer than BR2049. Every minute of BR2049 is important. From the long “atmosfear” scenes, that does nothing more that add depth to the dark, sinister, gray world that is BR2049. Stunning sound and visuals go hand in hand to create a world like no other. Gosling, Armas, Leto and Ford all do a great job in bringing their characers to life. See it in I-MAX if possible !

For me a much more powerful I-MAX experience than Dunkirk.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeOct 11, 2017
From the spectacular acting performances, to the groundbreaking special effects, to the very effective story, Blade Runner 2049 has everything to make a good sequel. Villeneuve directed a masterpiece. I do believe that this movie will go downFrom the spectacular acting performances, to the groundbreaking special effects, to the very effective story, Blade Runner 2049 has everything to make a good sequel. Villeneuve directed a masterpiece. I do believe that this movie will go down in history as not only one of the best sequels, but also, as one of the best science fiction movie ever made. I highly recommend watching this one. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
MrLissOct 19, 2017
For me, the "Blade Runner, 2049" was the most anticipated film of the year. Ditched the pair for first in session and in view I can say that the expectations are justified. We have the same old Blade Runner — the philosophy in the cyberpunkFor me, the "Blade Runner, 2049" was the most anticipated film of the year. Ditched the pair for first in session and in view I can say that the expectations are justified. We have the same old Blade Runner — the philosophy in the cyberpunk world of the future, which is accompanied by gorgeous visuals, sincavage sound and neon signs. As a sequel, the tape looks incredibly well from the first minute it is visible that the project was a true fan of the original film. The atmosphere absorbs the head, the events stretch smoothly and slowly, which is a characteristic feature of the series and for many it is a minus (but not me). Despite the close relationship with the original, tape Villeneuve is sure to surprise and show something new. Almost completely disappeared aesthetics of film Noir, and instead proposed increased portion of action and a greater variety of locations, introduces viewers to the world of the future outside of big cities. Speaking about the actors and their characters I would like to highlight Dave Batista, which was very little, but in such a short amount of screen time he managed to create a memorable and interesting way, the background which can be seen in the short prequel to "2048: Nowhere to run", filmed by Luke Scott. Also for a small fraction of the duration in time perfectly to reveal the characters of Jared Leto and Harrison Ford. The latter even in the joint scenes with the main character managed to pull the viewer's attention on himself his endless charisma. The Key Officer in the performance of Ryan Gosling is ambiguous. In General, the role of the canadian classic — Ryan plays silent maloemotsionalny young people with a sad look, and in this film it is also due to the peculiarities of the character.

There were, of course, and without the drawbacks. For me, the obvious shortcomings of steel sagging narrative at the end of the first hour timekeeping, small, slow, even compared to the original tape, not until the end of the open arches of the characters (mostly Wallace), as well as the soundtrack. He, of course, good, Hans Zimmer as always on top, but still a new "Running" lacks the charm that gave the tracks by Vangelis, composer of the first part. But none of these minuses can not name at least serious, why the impressions of the paintings remain very positive. Done a great job with the material, the technical side of the film is just beyond praise and deserves at least Oscar nominations for the soundtrack, visual effects and cinematography. A worthy continuation of the classic, which once again proved to everyone that Denis Villeneuve is one of the best directors of our day.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
ilyakorenevskyiOct 16, 2017
Film was great (in my point of view). Long but realy great. Fantastic atmosphere,beautiful audio, good actors job and nise plot. But you realy need to watch first Blade Runner to understand everyting. On the other side film is specific andFilm was great (in my point of view). Long but realy great. Fantastic atmosphere,beautiful audio, good actors job and nise plot. But you realy need to watch first Blade Runner to understand everyting. On the other side film is specific and long.
(Sorry for my grammar, i am not a native speaker)
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
Bugger217Oct 20, 2017
I've always loved the original Blade Runner, but never held it quite as high as many other sci-fi fans do. It does so many things incredibly well, but a certain chilliness always prevented me from fully connecting to it. Blade Runner 2049 isI've always loved the original Blade Runner, but never held it quite as high as many other sci-fi fans do. It does so many things incredibly well, but a certain chilliness always prevented me from fully connecting to it. Blade Runner 2049 is a different story. It's equally chilly on the surface, but has a warm, beating heart at its core.

Everything I didn't get out of the original, I got here. Director Denis Villeneuve and crew take the world, atmosphere, and themes created by Ridley Scott's team in 1982, and expertly expand upon those elements, providing a more intriguing plot, and more well-rounded characters for you to connect to.

Villenueve continues to prove he's one of the best in the business right now, pumping out great films year after year after year. He can seemingly do no wrong. The visuals in this thing are absolutely mind-blowing as well. I'll be shocked if the legendary Roger Deakins doesn't finally get his Oscar for this film. And The production designs is simply outstanding. I truly felt as if I had been transported to another place and time. Despite running 40 minutes longer than the original film, it never dragged. I never felt the need to check the time. It's perfectly paced, totally engaging, and as of right now, Blade Runner 2049 is my favorite film of 2017.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
chunjurrinchhenOct 11, 2017
This movie has been not doing well in cinemas and this is the reason we get Movies like Transformers more often than these kinds of masterpiece. I loved everything about this movie. The music was awesome,visuals are just so delicious andThis movie has been not doing well in cinemas and this is the reason we get Movies like Transformers more often than these kinds of masterpiece. I loved everything about this movie. The music was awesome,visuals are just so delicious and looked so real, the story was open ended for the viewers to theorize, it was so intelligently made and made people wonder how things came to be and i love the fact that the movie didnt give us all the answers at the end. Great performace from Gosling, he kind of carried the movie all the way through. Jared Leto was just weird, dont know if its a praise or criticism lol. MUST WATCH and save CINEMA Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
P_AndyLewisOct 12, 2017
Visually stunning, fantastic progressive storytelling with satisfying and emotionally charged reveals.
The length of this film was a little overwhelming but that is just a minor issue amongst such a fantastic experience.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
danielvOct 15, 2017
Wow! What can i say, as soon as this movie ended i knew that it was going to be a long time before a ever saw a quality sci-fi like this again. I am a fan of the original and this one is as good. A masterpiece for sure and it expandsWow! What can i say, as soon as this movie ended i knew that it was going to be a long time before a ever saw a quality sci-fi like this again. I am a fan of the original and this one is as good. A masterpiece for sure and it expands significantly the original story. I relished every minute of this film and wish that the bluray version comes with a longer version (yes more more more). Kudos the french Canadian (Quebec) director Denis Villeneuve for nailing this! Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
mhouston52Oct 17, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 is a beautiful movie with some of the best cinematography I have ever seen. Although it did not attract many fans other than the typical Sci-Fi dystopian fan, it is one of the best movies I have ever seen. I give it a 9/10
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
gtwistNov 26, 2017
Blade Runner 2049 is one of the best, most provocative, and DEFINITELY one of the best looking movie of the year. Ryan Gosling gives one the best and most subtle performances he's ever given, and Harrison Ford is great as well. DenisBlade Runner 2049 is one of the best, most provocative, and DEFINITELY one of the best looking movie of the year. Ryan Gosling gives one the best and most subtle performances he's ever given, and Harrison Ford is great as well. Denis Villeneuve is proving to be one of the best directors working today, and I can't wait to see what he does next! Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
luke100Jan 9, 2018
Probably my favorite sci-fi movie, which is surprising since I have no love for the original. Minor plotholes are nothing against stunning visuals, great performances, excellent dialogue, interesting themes, fun twists and perfectly slow tempo.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
lilkillpappyOct 9, 2017
If you want a true return to form for Blade Runner and for sci-fi in general then you will be very satisfied with this movie. This movie checks all the correct boxes. Deep and complex characters, great and inspired acting, beautiful andIf you want a true return to form for Blade Runner and for sci-fi in general then you will be very satisfied with this movie. This movie checks all the correct boxes. Deep and complex characters, great and inspired acting, beautiful and artistic settings and scenery and cinematography, fantastic music and sounds, and a story that is subtle and interesting and pulls you in. This director, Denis Villeneuve, is creating the best science fiction of this generation, and perhaps the best science fiction ever. I couldn't have enjoyed this film any more. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews