Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 3, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1135 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
819
Mixed:
109
Negative:
207
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RyanH.Jan 3, 2007
Funniest Movie I have ever seen by a nice amount. If you are offended by this movie then you should realize that because of you this world sucks a little more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarthH.Mar 6, 2007
Piercingly satircal and superbly funny at the same time. Unique and a very nice surprise to have something like this become so popular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SirGeezerNov 29, 2006
Jeez you yanks take life too seriously. As you lot say "chill out". For once in my life im proud that im british. Sure we are losing in the ashes series (cricket), our rugby is dismal and our footballing is mediocre ( and we invented the Jeez you yanks take life too seriously. As you lot say "chill out". For once in my life im proud that im british. Sure we are losing in the ashes series (cricket), our rugby is dismal and our footballing is mediocre ( and we invented the sport!). But our sense of humour is head and shoulders above the rest. Sacha was born in north london and so has got this humour inside of him. Thats why americans dont like it. But if you are british and are reading this , i reccommend you shut down your computer right now, call a cab and go watch the funniest movie of your life. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnP.Nov 4, 2006
While it is basically a one-time show for people who aren't offended easily who can hold an open mind, it is one of the smartest and most socially-driven movies to come out in a long time, cleverly disguised as just another Hollywood While it is basically a one-time show for people who aren't offended easily who can hold an open mind, it is one of the smartest and most socially-driven movies to come out in a long time, cleverly disguised as just another Hollywood comedy flick. I dislike gross-out comedy, and I tend to dislike comedy that makes you feel very uncomfortable, but I absolutely love smart comedy, which here, trumps all poop humor. In addition, the situations Baron Cohen places himself into are so dangerous and outrageous that you can't help to laugh and wonder if it is scripted comedy. What it says about our social issues is something that can be studied again and again. This is genius at work. However, if you are easily offended, avoid. Actually, go ahead and see it. You just might look at yourself a little differently afterward. I know I have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamB.Nov 5, 2006
This film is the first big budget manifestation of the new form of humor that has been gathering steam since the turn of the millenium, fronted by the Stewart / Colbert ticket and Mr. Cohen himself. And, thankfully, Borat, as he would call This film is the first big budget manifestation of the new form of humor that has been gathering steam since the turn of the millenium, fronted by the Stewart / Colbert ticket and Mr. Cohen himself. And, thankfully, Borat, as he would call it, is a "great success." I, and the entire audience around me, was head-over-heels for almost the entire film. This movie succeeds in both amusing the viewer and making him or her more aware, and that is what this new generation of comedy is all about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeonG.Jan 20, 2007
It's funny that so many people would get so offended at a movie as silly as this. Mr. Cohen knows exactly what he's doing and is extremely prepared to handle anything and it shows in this hilarious comedy. It's deserving of It's funny that so many people would get so offended at a movie as silly as this. Mr. Cohen knows exactly what he's doing and is extremely prepared to handle anything and it shows in this hilarious comedy. It's deserving of all of the heaps of praise that has been thrown at it and I will be thrilled when it's awarded a Best Picture nod in February. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonnyC.Jan 24, 2007
Hysterically funny first and foremost! Also thought-provoking though in a very clever way. A classic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanF.Feb 1, 2007
Sam F needs to get his head checked...The actor playing Borat is British and Jewish...Maybe you should do some research.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulHFeb 20, 2007
Absolutely priceless, without a doubt one of the funniest movies of all time. It's as simple as that. And behind the hilarity is a keen perceptive and highly alert intelligence. One of the most memorable characters ever conceived. Absolutely priceless, without a doubt one of the funniest movies of all time. It's as simple as that. And behind the hilarity is a keen perceptive and highly alert intelligence. One of the most memorable characters ever conceived. People who think this movie is stupid are missing alot--not only what was right before their eyes but also what lay beneath. Cohen's creation has been very well thought out and realised (as Cohen has pointed out it's not that Borat's ideas are anti-semetic/sexist,ect...they are ludicrous...He thinks Jews have claws&can change their shape ! ! ! ). I actually feel sorry for people who gave this a bad rating or who found all this offensive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KhorneC.Feb 6, 2007
This film is groundbreaking, exceedingly hilarious and enlightening in a sense that it reveals a side of common society that we don't see very easily. my only bad was that the content in the film still feels pretty 'safe'. It This film is groundbreaking, exceedingly hilarious and enlightening in a sense that it reveals a side of common society that we don't see very easily. my only bad was that the content in the film still feels pretty 'safe'. It would be mind-'blowing' if it featured some typical 'middle-eastern' people in it. High five. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Mar 4, 2007
This should have been movie of the year, or best picture as they call it in the academy awards. This was politically insightful, as humorous, and it gives a commentary to the lack of sensitivity that inbred America has towards people of This should have been movie of the year, or best picture as they call it in the academy awards. This was politically insightful, as humorous, and it gives a commentary to the lack of sensitivity that inbred America has towards people of other races. It was a touching film that was funny, witty, and perhaps the best comedy of the year along with Talledega Nights. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Jim10HApr 3, 2007
Watch it again to see that throughout, everyone is given a chance to show their full humanness here. This work of art satrizes the human race, not so much Americans. It may very well be genius on a par with Swift or Twain or even Dane Cook. Watch it again to see that throughout, everyone is given a chance to show their full humanness here. This work of art satrizes the human race, not so much Americans. It may very well be genius on a par with Swift or Twain or even Dane Cook. Yeah it goes too far - that's why it gets a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamB.Apr 8, 2007
Borat is the kind of film in which you need to be able to tolerate crude, rude, and horrible humor that is done so well that it's brilliant. I have seen Borat on "Da Ali G Show" before the movie came out, and I found it fairly funny. It Borat is the kind of film in which you need to be able to tolerate crude, rude, and horrible humor that is done so well that it's brilliant. I have seen Borat on "Da Ali G Show" before the movie came out, and I found it fairly funny. It took a very interesting idea and made some laughs. But could it have been better? Yes. This movie is the pure and unadulterated example of how. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudeL.Sep 7, 2007
A fantastic piece of storytelling, comedy, and political ingenuity. It's more troubling when we the fans are more conservative then the critics, that we live in an ignorant, superficial society that advertises loudly but blatantly, A fantastic piece of storytelling, comedy, and political ingenuity. It's more troubling when we the fans are more conservative then the critics, that we live in an ignorant, superficial society that advertises loudly but blatantly, ignores their problems of poverty, intolerance, and racism that is deeply rooted in the foundation of America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeonW.Sep 7, 2007
There are moments in Borat, such as that rodeo, when you wonder how Cohen managed to escape without being physically assaulted. But it's not just Cohen's daring that makes the film so effective: It is also the character's There are moments in Borat, such as that rodeo, when you wonder how Cohen managed to escape without being physically assaulted. But it's not just Cohen's daring that makes the film so effective: It is also the character's awe-inspiring oafishness that gives Borat its juice. Whether he's admiring a Victoria's Secret window display a little too enthusiastically, or engaging in a bout of naked wrestling up and down the halls of a glitzy hotel, Borat is constantly revealing new depths to his aggressive, taboo-smashing cluelessness, which is why the movie never runs out of steam. It takes some exceptionally intelligent and witty people to make a dumb comedy this funny and perceptive: Borat may be offensive (to some), infantile, but high-brow, but you won't hate yourself in the morning for loving it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.Nov 10, 2006
This movie is one of sheer comedic assult on america. It is meant to be funny yet it is also supposed to make people think twice when they see a forigner. As the movie goes on you see how Sacha Baron Cohen is treated. Not only how he is This movie is one of sheer comedic assult on america. It is meant to be funny yet it is also supposed to make people think twice when they see a forigner. As the movie goes on you see how Sacha Baron Cohen is treated. Not only how he is treated but in some situations how several americans find his antics to be funny and in certain situations demed okay to play along. Also anyone who finds it inappropriate just wasted their money and didn't understand the idea behind the moive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadM.Nov 20, 2006
Very nice!! This is the funniest most daring, brave, original movie to come out in years. This man has balls the size of planets to pull something like this off. I am not easy to make feel uncomfortable, but this film had me squirming in my Very nice!! This is the funniest most daring, brave, original movie to come out in years. This man has balls the size of planets to pull something like this off. I am not easy to make feel uncomfortable, but this film had me squirming in my seat and laughing throughout. If you are ultra-conservative this is NOT the movie for you....or maybe it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanNov 4, 2006
It's scathing satire, but there have been other scathing satires. It's low brow humor, but there are tons of gross-out comedies. It's a mockumentary that mixes reality and fiction, but other shows and movies have done that. It's scathing satire, but there have been other scathing satires. It's low brow humor, but there are tons of gross-out comedies. It's a mockumentary that mixes reality and fiction, but other shows and movies have done that. It's slapstick, but so are the Three Stooges and Charlie Chaplin. It's surreal humor, but so is Strangelove. It's a road movie, a buddy film. But most of fucking all, it's a mixture of everything i just listed in the mst fabulous way, and this mixture of so many different strands of comedy, done well, will obviously create its own totally unique blend. Because what is any original concept, but merely a great mixture of previous concepts. In short, this is a very unique, original, even groundbreaking movie, and in our generation where most concepts are rehashed, that is praise enough, But somehow, it also manages to be a consistently enjoyable, funny-from-beginning-to-end film. And that alone is also rare enough. It didn't make me laugh quite as hard as some critics said it would, but it had me giggling the whole time, and with the other qualities i just mentioned . . . how can i really give this lower than a 10? It's a landmark. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattTNov 4, 2006
I don't think there was ever more than 30 seconds that I wasn't being entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VikramM.Nov 4, 2006
Honestly one of the funniest films I have seen all year and maybe one of the funniest I have seen ever. Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is so much more than what people think it is. The Honestly one of the funniest films I have seen all year and maybe one of the funniest I have seen ever. Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is so much more than what people think it is. The satire in the film goes very deep and interesting. We needed a movie seen through the eyes of a foreigner. It reveals the honest racist bigotry, the way we feel about certain topics, and just the honest cruel truth about people in this country. Yes the movie is not PC, it can be racist, anti-semetic, and full of sex and toilet humor, but if you get past that this movie will have you laughing for the entire 82 minutes. I quote Borat about this movie, "Very nice!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottMeekerNov 4, 2006
Stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasM.Nov 5, 2006
Funniest movie of the year, or even last 2-3 years, hands down. I could see why some people wouldn't like it, it really takes some big risks, and shoves some issues in your face you might not be used to dealing with. (maybe some of that Funniest movie of the year, or even last 2-3 years, hands down. I could see why some people wouldn't like it, it really takes some big risks, and shoves some issues in your face you might not be used to dealing with. (maybe some of that man nudity was a little too much, but still hilarious in context). all things said, i'd pay to go see it again, and probably again after that, it was that funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
QumarNov 6, 2006
This is the best COMEDY film EVER!!! This is not to humiliate the WHOLE American people. It's joking about the American racists and sexists. There's nothing to do with Kazahistan Hey John! You want disgusting. Try watching "Jackass This is the best COMEDY film EVER!!! This is not to humiliate the WHOLE American people. It's joking about the American racists and sexists. There's nothing to do with Kazahistan Hey John! You want disgusting. Try watching "Jackass Number 2." Borat is much milder even with the naked wrestling. DUMBO; so your telling us that the critics are teenagers. You are a joke! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisC.Nov 6, 2006
It is social satire. It is smart comedy. It is one of the most brilliant films to come out in a very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamM.Nov 6, 2006
This movie is fantastic. Sacha Baron Cohen takes the proverbial mirror and forces us to look at our own views. This induces a mix of feelings, some funny, most painful to bear and acknowledge. If you look down a couple of posts, you can tell This movie is fantastic. Sacha Baron Cohen takes the proverbial mirror and forces us to look at our own views. This induces a mix of feelings, some funny, most painful to bear and acknowledge. If you look down a couple of posts, you can tell how effective this movie is at doing so. Amber L calls the USA a "small country." This is almost laughable. Our countries power knows no bounds. Amber, you forgot about the movie after you left the theater? Then why come and post about it after you left the theater? Interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayB.Nov 6, 2006
One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Combines the intelligence of Steve Martin, the confrontational manner of Andy Kaufman and the oddness of a Peter Sellers character. Long live Borat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexI.Nov 8, 2006
Brilliant satire of racism, misogyny, anti-semitism and xenophobia to unmask racism, misogyny, anti-semitism and xenophobia. Easily the funniest movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
newyorkrDec 4, 2006
Anyone that doesn't believe that this movie was absolutly hilarious is a fool, just because of the sheer genious behind the concept of this moie.... if you don't like, I give you the Sheeny Curse... HIGH FIVE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Oct 26, 2006
Absolutely brilliant comedy! NIIIIIICE as Borat would say. Never have I laughed as much as when watching this film. You just cannot stop laughing! :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Oct 29, 2006
This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter throughout the whole movie. Well worth the admission price. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerT.Oct 30, 2006
I have had a month to think about this film, and there is nothing worse than stating the newest is always the best, or what ever popular is great... but this is perhaps the funniest movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Jan 1, 2007
This was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. All of you who are pretending to be disgusted by the film need to unwad your panties. Also, if you are going to leave a comment, please don't use words like "absouloutely". This was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. All of you who are pretending to be disgusted by the film need to unwad your panties. Also, if you are going to leave a comment, please don't use words like "absouloutely". Credibility is hard to give to someone who is an apparent spelling bee champ. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RamonaT.Oct 24, 2007
If you appreciate satire , and have an open mind this is one of the most hilarious movies I've seen in the past five years .It does help to be fluent in Romanian because soon you realize that some of the scenes were produced in Romania If you appreciate satire , and have an open mind this is one of the most hilarious movies I've seen in the past five years .It does help to be fluent in Romanian because soon you realize that some of the scenes were produced in Romania and not in Kazahkstan . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RD.Jan 20, 2007
Be prepared to laugh till you almost vomit. Do not read other people's reviews. Watch it on its own. Only then will you truly understand its value.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonaldR.sJan 5, 2007
This is ironic satire at its best. I have read all the 0 rating user reviews and I do understand their distaste for this film. I mean, I'd rather not have to see a big ass burying the face of Cohen ever again. But that's a small This is ironic satire at its best. I have read all the 0 rating user reviews and I do understand their distaste for this film. I mean, I'd rather not have to see a big ass burying the face of Cohen ever again. But that's a small aside from the bigger issues. These reviewers distaste belies a simple fact: this film is about them and their pretense of taste, humanity, better-than-thou mentality. Here we have a fake journalist from Kazakhstan showing us his backward, racist, ignorant country and gloating about it only to come to the USofA to learn about how a glorious country can illuminate the less "illuminated" and he forces us to smell our own asses. If it makes anyone question the least of their own prejudice, then it has served a purpose. If it made them laugh in the process, all the better. It is a brilliant film. I pity those that think otherwise. Maybe they should just go to church and pretend to speak in tongues. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyN.Jan 5, 2007
This film is great and so funny. People may see it as rascist but it isn't. It's just exploiting the stupidity in people. People who enjoy a good laugh and an easy movie to watch will love this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GuzmanEiJan 6, 2007
This movie deserves a 10 on every front; the fact that I had never seen the audience in a cinemea laugh their ***es of says enough. Borat is great and so are his jokes, 10 out of 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJ.Mar 29, 2007
Absolutely the funniest movie I have ever seen. Amazingly creative and funny like nothing I have ever seen before. He makes people look like absolute idiots, and makes so many jokes about his own Jewish religion that no one should take Absolutely the funniest movie I have ever seen. Amazingly creative and funny like nothing I have ever seen before. He makes people look like absolute idiots, and makes so many jokes about his own Jewish religion that no one should take seriously, as they're just just jokes. A great hilarious movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianE.Mar 6, 2007
It will make you laugh laugh laugh till it hurts and then some more, not like you've done in 10 yrs or more, wow funny right to the end. the only time you wont laugh is when it starts to hurt. 10+ see it and laugh your ass off
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirkM.Mar 9, 2007
People who rated this low need to get a sense of humor and lighten up! Had me laughing throughout most of the movie. A one of a kind film with a good blend of low and high brow humor. See it today if you haven't already.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobbieCApr 10, 2007
Absolutely genius! Have never, ever laughed so hard in a movie theater in my life. It is low-brow reality-tv-as-a-movie for sure, but it is so brilliant in exposing our ridiculous nature as a people that anyone without a sense of humor will Absolutely genius! Have never, ever laughed so hard in a movie theater in my life. It is low-brow reality-tv-as-a-movie for sure, but it is so brilliant in exposing our ridiculous nature as a people that anyone without a sense of humor will simply be embarassed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TedY.Apr 13, 2007
"Borat" is silliness at its most trenchant, and if your sense of irony isn't factory installed, you'll probably find it horrifying. Take comfort in the thought that we get the cultural commentators and the comedians we deserve, and "Borat" is silliness at its most trenchant, and if your sense of irony isn't factory installed, you'll probably find it horrifying. Take comfort in the thought that we get the cultural commentators and the comedians we deserve, and that in Borat and Sacha Baron Cohen we have found our curse and our blessing. What makes the film lift off into the ether, though, is Baron Cohen's skills as a master ironist and physical comedian. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KalanC.Apr 29, 2007
Sacha is a performance artist of the highest order. Astounding how he inhabits the reality of the situation and never makes a false step out of character. Borat is a hilarious, refreshing and unique film. The sacking at the end is also Sacha is a performance artist of the highest order. Astounding how he inhabits the reality of the situation and never makes a false step out of character. Borat is a hilarious, refreshing and unique film. The sacking at the end is also incredible, and a hillarious moment of apparent spontaneity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomG.May 6, 2007
Quite possibly one of the best comedy flicks ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MekhiP.Sep 7, 2007
Cohen, one of four screenwriters on "Borat," extract gems of both verbal and visual felicity throughout. None are more in-your-face--literally--than the nude wrestling match between Borat and Azamat in their Dallas hotel room. This is Cohen, one of four screenwriters on "Borat," extract gems of both verbal and visual felicity throughout. None are more in-your-face--literally--than the nude wrestling match between Borat and Azamat in their Dallas hotel room. This is followed by a chase all around the hotel, ending in a meeting room full of astonished real-life mortgage brokers. The way it's filmed it really does feel like a high-flying improvisation executed by two exceptionally brave actors. With comedy, often it's the loose, slapdash project with little evident polish or money--"Holy Grail" in the 1970s; "This Is Spinal Tap" in the 1980s--that ends up highly esteemed, endlessly quoted, labeled a classic or, like "Holy Grail," turned into a musical. "Borat" belongs in that list, even though its punches are wilder. Four years ago Cohen brought his best-known character, the faux-rapper Ali G, to the screen in "Ali G Indahouse." Unreleased theatrically in the U.S. the film was a huge hit in Britain, but it was a dumbed-down hit, raunchy and obvious. "Borat," by contrast, may be raunchy and abrasive, but dumb it's not. It sticks to its guns and stays true to Cohen's particular talents. As the man from Kazakhstan likes to say: Great success! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TamarG.Sep 7, 2007
We laugh, not only because the sequence is so shamelessly raunchy, but because the actor's physique is so consummately unappealing. Maybe it's just because I'm an American woman with the requisite body issues, but that makes We laugh, not only because the sequence is so shamelessly raunchy, but because the actor's physique is so consummately unappealing. Maybe it's just because I'm an American woman with the requisite body issues, but that makes me feel kind of bad. Borat is directed by Larry Charles, a director and producer of many episodes of Curb Your Enthusiasm, another classic in the I-can't-believe-he-just-said-that comedy canon. But Baron Cohen's jaw-dropping gall makes even Curb's Larry David look like a blushing wallflower. Whether you attribute that gall to fearless honesty or shameless crassitude is up to you. I'll just be over here, laughing so hard I aspirate my popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DmitriL.Sep 7, 2007
Borat is oddly endearing. While his short features on Da Ali G Show left viewers wanting more, Borat the movie sates our appetite for his loopy character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceW.Sep 7, 2007
Cohen wrangles invitations for Borat to poshly racist Southern dinner parties, meets with nonplussed feminists (where he compares the size of the female brain to that of a squirrel), wanders dazed and confused into a holy-rolling pentecostal Cohen wrangles invitations for Borat to poshly racist Southern dinner parties, meets with nonplussed feminists (where he compares the size of the female brain to that of a squirrel), wanders dazed and confused into a holy-rolling pentecostal megachurch, and scares the bejesus out of Baywatcher Anderson. This is shockingly blunt comedy and shockingly funny, too. Cohen and Davitian are utterly fearless, poking fun not only at Americans but at the stereotype of the foreign Other as well. As of last weekend, a massive intra-studio bidding war for Cohen's next film has erupted. Oddly, the Kazakhstan Ministry of Information has gone quiet. If they're biting their tongues as hard as I did, they're going to need stitches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewD.Sep 7, 2007
I loved this film. Sacha Baron Cohen is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleS.Jan 30, 2008
This movie is a GREAT SUCCESS! top stuff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SHNov 14, 2006
Too many people suffer from the haughty attitudes of American's that Borat aims to draw out and ridicule. It's just funny that that is what is stopping you from enjoying a genuinly hilarious movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexNov 15, 2006
The first truly great (and truly funny) movie in a very long time. I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard. Its not very long (only about an hour and a half or so), and there are some low moments, but overall the movie is so The first truly great (and truly funny) movie in a very long time. I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard. Its not very long (only about an hour and a half or so), and there are some low moments, but overall the movie is so funny, so offensive, and so courageous, you can't help but quickly forigve its shortcomings. Even the parts that make you want to regurgitate your popcorn on the poor sap in front of you will have you laughing until your sides hurt. 9.8 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentNov 17, 2006
This movie was hillarious, plain and simple. It shows how us as Americans have come a long way since slavery, but we are still a bunch of homophobic, racist and greedy people. This is true people, and just because this guy points that out This movie was hillarious, plain and simple. It shows how us as Americans have come a long way since slavery, but we are still a bunch of homophobic, racist and greedy people. This is true people, and just because this guy points that out doesnt make him a bad person or this movie mean and offensive. If this isn't true why arent gay marriages legal, why are we in Iraq? Greed. And why are most of those under the poverty line minorities? This guy points out America's shortcomings and hateful ways in a refreshingly utterly hillarious way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TobyM.Nov 23, 2006
WOW, Its is so unbelivelble i could not belive a man could get away with this. When people say ignorance is not an excuse, Well believe me it is. I was shocked at some of the brave stunts he pulled of. I'd be scared of being shot. This WOW, Its is so unbelivelble i could not belive a man could get away with this. When people say ignorance is not an excuse, Well believe me it is. I was shocked at some of the brave stunts he pulled of. I'd be scared of being shot. This man is a LEDGEND!!!! He takes courage to the next step. And does it in a funny way. FEARLESS. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyNov 27, 2006
WOW! This was the funniest movie I have ever scene! The people who are offened wither have NO scene of humor or are Justy like the poeple in the film. It showed how closeminded and racist people are. But people if it made you mad calm down WOW! This was the funniest movie I have ever scene! The people who are offened wither have NO scene of humor or are Justy like the poeple in the film. It showed how closeminded and racist people are. But people if it made you mad calm down in the end it's only a movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HectorM.Nov 29, 2006
One of the funniest movies I have seen. I believe Mr. Baron Cohen has created outstanding movie for make benefit of glorious mankind. Through the incessant laughter this movie elicits we encounter our own sins in the form of shortcomings One of the funniest movies I have seen. I believe Mr. Baron Cohen has created outstanding movie for make benefit of glorious mankind. Through the incessant laughter this movie elicits we encounter our own sins in the form of shortcomings such as racism and prejudice, but through the power of comedy we also reach something akin to redemption and forgiveness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielA.Nov 29, 2006
Halarious!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartBNov 3, 2006
This film is dangerous. Because you'll be laughing so much that you won't get a chance to breathe...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Nov 3, 2006
By far the funniest movie since 40 Year Old Virgin. Maybe even since Anchorman. If you like any of Cohen's other work you will LOVE this movie. The only people that won't like it are those who are offended and not openminded enough By far the funniest movie since 40 Year Old Virgin. Maybe even since Anchorman. If you like any of Cohen's other work you will LOVE this movie. The only people that won't like it are those who are offended and not openminded enough to realize this is a satire. Maybe the best comedy I've EVER seen. And that's including Caddyshack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertM.Nov 3, 2006
The critics have this one bang on. I actually saw a preview of the movie almost six weeks ago in Toronto, but lemme tell you something: the jokes that you get from "Borat" are unbelievable. Half of the movie you'll be saying "I The critics have this one bang on. I actually saw a preview of the movie almost six weeks ago in Toronto, but lemme tell you something: the jokes that you get from "Borat" are unbelievable. Half of the movie you'll be saying "I can't believe he just said that/did that." It really is offensive, shocking humour...but when you compare it to the comedies recently - this movie cannot be touched. You'll have to watch it twice cuz I guarentee you'll laugh and miss some parts. I also guarentee some people will leave the theater offended. Movie: Very Nice! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilsonNov 4, 2006
THE best comedy film of the 21st century has been born. Sacha Baron Cohen is a comedy genius. Every part of the movie gets more and more hilarious. To Some: If you don't like the comedy; your brain is one-dimensional. Tweek it around. THE best comedy film of the 21st century has been born. Sacha Baron Cohen is a comedy genius. Every part of the movie gets more and more hilarious. To Some: If you don't like the comedy; your brain is one-dimensional. Tweek it around. There's my tip. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattA.Nov 4, 2006
What a very good movie. I had a smile on my face the entire time. Although, i was expecting straight forward humor... it was actually a lot deeper than i expected. If you look at it as a satire of how we as american's are depicted What a very good movie. I had a smile on my face the entire time. Although, i was expecting straight forward humor... it was actually a lot deeper than i expected. If you look at it as a satire of how we as american's are depicted through the eyes of a foreigner, the movie delivers an even stronger message. I have to see it again... ...this one is one of the movies that will make you want to quote it for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelixV.Nov 4, 2006
Borat is the bomb. It is the type of comedy that (yes) reaches the depths of shamelessness and outrageousness that blow your mind in a way you're probably not ready for, but will probably cause you to laugh, hard. However, aside from Borat is the bomb. It is the type of comedy that (yes) reaches the depths of shamelessness and outrageousness that blow your mind in a way you're probably not ready for, but will probably cause you to laugh, hard. However, aside from the shock humor, and more impotant, is the satire and nude exposing of rascism, bigotry, and general human roboticness that this movie exposes. Only a movie with 90 percent toilet humor can get away with the level of political and social satire that this movie does. It is an incredibly funny, but also brave and honest film that hopefully will inspire more independent thought in Hollywood and (to some degree) Americans and the world as a whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeannaB.Nov 5, 2006
This movie was flippin' hillarious! I love Da Ali G show, and this movie was just perfect
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Nov 6, 2006
Yes its humor can be lowbrow, but you don't need to be Noel Coward to be funny and Sacha Baron Cohen is incredibly funny and his acting is fiercely adept. This film made me laugh harder than any since Monty Python's Meaning of Yes its humor can be lowbrow, but you don't need to be Noel Coward to be funny and Sacha Baron Cohen is incredibly funny and his acting is fiercely adept. This film made me laugh harder than any since Monty Python's Meaning of Life. It's crude, uncomfortable, shocking and utterly hilarious. To dismiss it juvenile is to completely miss the point. If you don't get the joke, sadly you may be butt of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroyS.Nov 6, 2006
Nice John. "Not only does the movie make Americans look like racist illiterate pigs, but the pervasive homosexual content made me feel like I came to a gay porno" So... instead of racist, your homophobic? Dont get offended by it, Nice John. "Not only does the movie make Americans look like racist illiterate pigs, but the pervasive homosexual content made me feel like I came to a gay porno" So... instead of racist, your homophobic? Dont get offended by it, y'hear? Anyways, this movie is genius. Of course America has racism. This movie manages to be amazingly crude and funny without insulting your intelligence like movies such as Scary Movie. By exposing racism and bias in America, Sacha Baron Cohen has allowed us to laugh at ourselves, but be a little disgusted at the same time. The film will make you feel a little uncomfortable. You may squirm in the theatre. But you'll love it all, and I guarantee you that you will not regret spending the money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieC.Nov 6, 2006
Hey john. i guess you can add homophobic to your illiterate and racist. Borat, while primarily just an awesome comedy, also is very revelaing of Americas, and in turn the western worlds, arrogance and ignorance of other cultures.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayK.Nov 6, 2006
I laughed so hard my face hurt...seriously. Brilliant comedy from a brilliant mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamianM.Nov 6, 2006
Flavour of the month? Alan G that is a lie. Cohen has been around since the late 90's with Borat and has been a revelation in British comedy. I've never watched a film with a smile on my face from start to finish. And the climax, Flavour of the month? Alan G that is a lie. Cohen has been around since the late 90's with Borat and has been a revelation in British comedy. I've never watched a film with a smile on my face from start to finish. And the climax, though clearly staged was a huge shock. Film of the year by far. Go on America, smile! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveK.Nov 6, 2006
**To all of those giving this movie a 0....this movie was not meant to be art, its meant to be entertainment. If you cant find humor in this, you shouldnt have wasted your money on a ticket then.*** Its a 10, id give it a higher score if I **To all of those giving this movie a 0....this movie was not meant to be art, its meant to be entertainment. If you cant find humor in this, you shouldnt have wasted your money on a ticket then.*** Its a 10, id give it a higher score if I could. I laughed the whole time, if you can find humor in anything, you would've found it funny too. It really is one of the funniest movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreH.Nov 8, 2006
One of the funniest movies of all time. Cohen is a pretty brilliant improviser, but what allows him to trancend is his ability to make his humor relevant. for me it was the small jokes that made this movie great. any one who didn't likeOne of the funniest movies of all time. Cohen is a pretty brilliant improviser, but what allows him to trancend is his ability to make his humor relevant. for me it was the small jokes that made this movie great. any one who didn't like it was either too busy looking for explosions or too frightened when they happened. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewDiggityNov 8, 2006
This is the first 10 rating I've ever given anything, I do not give a 10 to everything I like as some people on Metacritic do. Laughs from beginning to end. My face hurt. The audience was right there with me. Stunningly hilarious and This is the first 10 rating I've ever given anything, I do not give a 10 to everything I like as some people on Metacritic do. Laughs from beginning to end. My face hurt. The audience was right there with me. Stunningly hilarious and thought provoking. I generally don't like toilet humor (jackass, van wilder, etc), but this movie was made so well. If I see Borat I will give him one helluva HIGH FIVE!! Is Nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustinG.Nov 9, 2006
This movie is the most repulsively disgusting halarious and awesome movie I have ever seen in my entire life. But a warning - Dont watch this movie if you're easily offended!! (PS - This is british humor, not american)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentD.Nov 9, 2006
One thing is for sure, this movie hurt my cheeks and stomach and I had tears in my eyes I was laughing so hard. One of the funniest movies you'll see in years. The theater of 300 was rolling with non-stop laughter. If you don't One thing is for sure, this movie hurt my cheeks and stomach and I had tears in my eyes I was laughing so hard. One of the funniest movies you'll see in years. The theater of 300 was rolling with non-stop laughter. If you don't enjoy this movie you have no sense of humor whatsoever. Seriously, if you had left the movie your beliefs blind you from the simple things in life...laughter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisT.Nov 9, 2006
The only thing sick and twisted is (people) leaving the cinema, due to the "sheer disgusting content" AND RETURNING 8 TIMES (evil nitwit Uzbek agents I think!). Rude, crude, and funnier than heck. Absolutely brilliant. Great success! High Five!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AntonH.Dec 10, 2006
Simply stated, the funniest film that I have ever seen. From the start to the finishing credits, I was laughing non-stop. Cohen makes people who are phonies uncomfortable; he hits it hard and does it with an innocent smile. This is a Simply stated, the funniest film that I have ever seen. From the start to the finishing credits, I was laughing non-stop. Cohen makes people who are phonies uncomfortable; he hits it hard and does it with an innocent smile. This is a treasure; a one-of-a-kind movie that we will probably see duplicated in a variety of ways, but will never be as funny of the original. What might make "us" as Americans feel uncomfortable is that the movie shows who we really are, and we have a very dark side. It is a rare experience that you laugh at something so hard, then realize that some of his humor is being pointed right at you. That made me look a little at who I am, and caused me to rethink some of the way I did things. That makes "Borat" one real gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeN.Dec 1, 2006
Perhaps the last three poeple commenting should realize what this movie is before they judge it. It is not just a comedy and satire. If it were merely that then yes it would be extremely overrated. You have to see that this is an irony, and Perhaps the last three poeple commenting should realize what this movie is before they judge it. It is not just a comedy and satire. If it were merely that then yes it would be extremely overrated. You have to see that this is an irony, and the purpose of the irony is not to attack his subject, but to attack those who do it. What Cohen does is point out everything that is wrong in this country whether it be politics, socio-economics, gender and racial equality, whatever. You need to realize when you're laughing at his jokes, your laughing on behalf of the disenfranchised. Maybe that explains why most of the jews are laughing along with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Dec 2, 2006
This film is great. If people can't laugh at themselves then they need to get a life. How anyone could sit through this film without laughing is beyond me. Soooooooooooooooooo Funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianB.Dec 4, 2006
The funniest film in ages. Haven't seen my wife laugh out loud this much since 'Something about Mary'. And as a bonus it catches racists and other extremists completely off balance exposing them for what they are. A justified The funniest film in ages. Haven't seen my wife laugh out loud this much since 'Something about Mary'. And as a bonus it catches racists and other extremists completely off balance exposing them for what they are. A justified hit below the belt. I love it! Satire is such a lovely thing when done right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiscoS.Dec 16, 2007
I have nothing but admiration for Sacha Baron Cohen as a comic, writer and actor. He is a genius at finding and poking society's soft spots. As the character BORAT, Cohen has brought to light all the things our Western societies are I have nothing but admiration for Sacha Baron Cohen as a comic, writer and actor. He is a genius at finding and poking society's soft spots. As the character BORAT, Cohen has brought to light all the things our Western societies are most afraid to acknowledge. In fact, compared to BORAT most so-called "comedy movies" these days miss the point completely. BORAT is hilarious!!! By totally obliterating the boundaries of decency, and by highlighting the massive gap between what actual people espouse and what they really think - especially their prejudices - BORAT has done more than any other recent movie to revitalize the comedy genre. From start to finish, this movie is WONDERFULLY OBSCENE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
T.L.Jan 28, 2007
I notice that all the zero's have the same comments. "this movie is offensive and rude". grow a pair. if you are only smart enough to see whats on the surface dont go see the movie at all. just cause it isnt a drama doesnt mean itI notice that all the zero's have the same comments. "this movie is offensive and rude". grow a pair. if you are only smart enough to see whats on the surface dont go see the movie at all. just cause it isnt a drama doesnt mean it requires no thought whatsoever. this film is utterly brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJan 28, 2007
This movie is brilliant. Satire at its best!! I have never seen so many people laugh at such crude events in my life. And to Sam F... You're an idiot. The movie is not ridiculing minorities, nor is it racist. If you didn't know This movie is brilliant. Satire at its best!! I have never seen so many people laugh at such crude events in my life. And to Sam F... You're an idiot. The movie is not ridiculing minorities, nor is it racist. If you didn't know Sasha (Borat) is in fact Jewish himself, and is portraying exploitation through satire. It is far more of a slap to the face of america than any other religion or race. Grow a brain and watch it again, and then you might realise why this movie is genius. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricBFeb 19, 2007
Many parents will find this film much too offensive for their children. This is why the movie is rated R. Easily the funniest movie of the year; maybe one of the funniest of all time...go see it. Now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlejandroA.Feb 23, 2007
I saw the movie last night for the first time in Guadalajara Mexico. For me it was hilarious and a pretty good picture of "southern" American society. I was kind of nervous though, just for a few seconds, when the map scene of him on highway I saw the movie last night for the first time in Guadalajara Mexico. For me it was hilarious and a pretty good picture of "southern" American society. I was kind of nervous though, just for a few seconds, when the map scene of him on highway 10 just on the border of Mexico (like El Paso, TX) - what was he going to say about the Mexicans/Latinos? Throughout the entire film -Absolutely nothing!! Interesting, huh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbdulM.Feb 7, 2007
All in all, a great movie with loads of absurd/hilarious scenes which somewhat makes it special and enjoyable to watch; from beginning to the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirkEMar 13, 2007
Stunning really, I remember just watching the film and being amazed at the different levels it was constantly working on. Make no mistake, as a satirical bigot, the Borat character is instantly one of the best comedy performances of all time Stunning really, I remember just watching the film and being amazed at the different levels it was constantly working on. Make no mistake, as a satirical bigot, the Borat character is instantly one of the best comedy performances of all time and this IS one of the funniest & most critical films ever made. For me the real joy was to follow Borat's own personal journey, his realisation that Pammy Anderson was not a virgin was hysterical, the frat boys trying to cheer him up about it quite touching, "Dude, have a beer!". Finally, the way in which the story was resolved with Borat, as we all wish, finding somebody that was willing to love him for who he was, was the final human touch in a world of superhuman stupidity. Congratulations to Mssrs Cohen (& Baynham). They shoot, they score! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherH.Mar 6, 2007
Anyone who failed to find this funny has no sense of humour and anyone who could not appreciate the satire was missing the point. The best film of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilS.Mar 7, 2007
I cannot believe some of the low ratings you have given this. It was laugh out loud funny from start to finish. Maybe you Americans just didn't get the irony - stick to watching Friends - its harmless!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanS.Apr 12, 2007
Most definitley the funniest movie ever made. From the opening line, "I like you. I like sex...its nice," to the end where he finally gets Lunella, this movie will have you laughing your assholes off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranzJ.Apr 13, 2007
This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter throughout the whole movie. Well worth the admission price. The critics have this one bang on. I actually saw a preview of the movie almost a week ago in St. Louis, but lemme tell you something: the jokes that you get from "Borat" are unbelievable. Half of the movie you'll be saying "I can't believe he just said that/did that." It really is offensive, shocking humour...but when you compare it to the comedies recently - this movie cannot be touched. You'll have to watch it twice cuz I guarentee you'll laugh and miss some parts. I also guarentee some people will leave the theater offended. Movie: Very Nice! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelixV.Apr 13, 2007
Borat is the bomb. It is the type of comedy that (yes) reaches the depths of shamelessness and outrageousness that blow your mind in a way you're probably not ready for, but will probably cause you to laugh, hard. However, aside from Borat is the bomb. It is the type of comedy that (yes) reaches the depths of shamelessness and outrageousness that blow your mind in a way you're probably not ready for, but will probably cause you to laugh, hard. However, aside from the shock humor, and more impotant, is the satire and nude exposing of rascism, bigotry, and general human roboticness that this movie exposes. Only a movie with 90 percent toilet humor can get away with the level of political and social satire that this movie does. It is an incredibly funny, but also brave and honest film that hopefully will inspire more independent thought in Hollywood and (to some degree) Americans and the world as a whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Apr 13, 2007
Absolutely brilliant comedy! NIIIIIICE as Borat would say. Never have I laughed as much as when watching this film. You just cannot stop laughing! :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickyJ.Apr 13, 2007
Cohen's total immersion in his character is a wonder to behold. If Oscar voters have any sense, they recognize his performance for what it is: a tour de force that sets off comic and cosmic explosions in your head. You won't know Cohen's total immersion in his character is a wonder to behold. If Oscar voters have any sense, they recognize his performance for what it is: a tour de force that sets off comic and cosmic explosions in your head. You won't know what outrageous fun is until you see Borat. High-five! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickyJ.Apr 13, 2007
Cohen's total immersion in his character is a wonder to behold. If Oscar voters have any sense, they recognize his performance for what it is: a tour de force that sets off comic and cosmic explosions in your head. You won't know Cohen's total immersion in his character is a wonder to behold. If Oscar voters have any sense, they recognize his performance for what it is: a tour de force that sets off comic and cosmic explosions in your head. You won't know what outrageous fun is until you see Borat. High-five! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHApr 15, 2007
Easily the funniest movie I have seen in the last 10 years. The people who didn't like this movie are the ones who didn't understand the jokes, i.e., they actually thought Cohen was being racist and or antisemitic. I like to call Easily the funniest movie I have seen in the last 10 years. The people who didn't like this movie are the ones who didn't understand the jokes, i.e., they actually thought Cohen was being racist and or antisemitic. I like to call those people morons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousApr 18, 2007
Everythings in horrible taste, yet is still hilarious. You people who were offended are just a bunch of idiots who take life way too seriously. If everything was serious, what fun would life be?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkoP.Apr 29, 2007
A chilling, dark, disturbing portrayal of the negligence of Middle America, yet adding top flight humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonertT.Apr 29, 2007
Comedy at its finest form since Chappelle's Show or perhaps Entourage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
richardrDec 20, 2008
A classic. If you have to ask, you will never know.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Jul 21, 2008
"WOW"-This is probably the first thing many people said at their first glance at this movie. Not only because of how funny it was, but also because of how Borat was able to say things that we all want to say but don't think is "WOW"-This is probably the first thing many people said at their first glance at this movie. Not only because of how funny it was, but also because of how Borat was able to say things that we all want to say but don't think is appropriate. definitely an awesome movie. HIGH FIVE!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful