Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: November 24, 2017
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 919 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
738
Mixed:
60
Negative:
121
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
hepwaNov 24, 2017
Where do I begin? The novel grabbed my heart in January and by July I was touring Italy, reading passages on the beach in the town where its set, strolling through the side street in Rome where Oliver and Elio share their final nightWhere do I begin? The novel grabbed my heart in January and by July I was touring Italy, reading passages on the beach in the town where its set, strolling through the side street in Rome where Oliver and Elio share their final night together. It is the gay romance of my lifetime, having grown up in the era of its setting, asking the same questions of myself that Elio does (only failing the question, "Is it better to speak or to die?"). Elio doesn't fail - he speaks and it changes his life, for better or worse. The movie captures that turning point in his young adulthood and brings it to glorious life, replete with the inevitable pain. Hopefully without spoiling anything, the fire that is lit within him will burn for a lifetime and into the viewer's heart during a crushing final scene that glances over every possible emotion but ending on determination and hope. For the love of God, don't leave this movie when the credits start to roll. And be a good movie citizen and let everyone you know who will be seeing it to do the same. Guadanigno, the director, is painterly but nothing without the astonishing performances, especially from Timothee Chalamet who brings Elio to life in a way I haven't seen a young actor do since Timothy Hutton broke through in "Ordinary People" almost forty years ago. Armie Hammer crosses the Rubicon with his performance as Oliver, becoming the master of his creative domain and I can't wait to see what he does in the future. Stuhlbarg as Elio's father is kind, compassionate, clear-eyed and so very wise and his final talk with his son is almost Shakespearean in word and delivery. While the words are never spoken, his monologue is the paternal 'to be or not to be' that every gay kid would cherish and every straight kid needs to hear. The women are all highly memorable and its a shame that they're a bit lost in the shuffle with the acclaim for the film (that none of them are American actors might play a part). Call Me By Your Name is a work of cinematic art, the kind that is rarely given and even more rarely appreciated. But it exists and thanks to its creators, from page to screen, I feel like a wiser, less cynical person. When is the last time a movie had that sort of effect. 10/10 Expand
37 of 40 users found this helpful373
All this user's reviews
1
MooseSpoonDec 4, 2017
It's an introduction to normalizing pedophilia. While the movie isn't terrible, it doesn't change the fact it's about an underaged boy. If it was about an underaged girl and an older man, people would flip out.
21 of 100 users found this helpful2179
All this user's reviews
10
feefis03Dec 16, 2017
An instant modern classic. Beautiful perception of first love and queer sexual awakening, married perfectly to the sensual Mediterranean summer. Hope this gets all the awards it deserves.
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
10
sadie11Dec 16, 2017
I loved this movie it was the perfect blend of romance humour and joy. It emphasizes the very best things love has to offer us. The actors have amazing chemistry and were so natural and lived-in their roles. The compassion between theI loved this movie it was the perfect blend of romance humour and joy. It emphasizes the very best things love has to offer us. The actors have amazing chemistry and were so natural and lived-in their roles. The compassion between the characters really helps to understand how 2 people could fall in love. Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
10
rsfrsrfDec 17, 2017
I came here to give an undoubtly +A to this masterpiece fulfilled of feelings, an incredible acting, script perfection, huge work on cinematography, and a mark that Luca is one of the strongest cinema directors of this year, reminded me soI came here to give an undoubtly +A to this masterpiece fulfilled of feelings, an incredible acting, script perfection, huge work on cinematography, and a mark that Luca is one of the strongest cinema directors of this year, reminded me so much to what I felt with Io sono l´amore with Tilda Swinton, a film Luca made like 7 years ago. But the reviews here are proof that this is not a film that Hollywood, Oscars, are ready to accept. 70% of the negative reviews are not even reviews, are comments alledging to pedophilia, and it´s quite obvious that this comes from the fact that is a queer film. On the other hand, I quote a Slate article: "In trying to think through these issues in Call Me by Your Name, I called Joseph Fischel, a Yale scholar who has written on the messy politics of age and consent for Slate. He noted our society’s intense focus on age and sexuality is a relatively recent notion, not a long-settled one, and that while the law may have a legitimate need to be blunt and rigid, our art does not. In my view, it’s reasonable to be disturbed by the unconventional relationship in Call Me by Your Name, but it’s not reasonable to say the movie endorses pedophilia, or really any kind of power-based abuse, just because it depicts that relationship. If we go down that censorious and unnuanced path with our art, very little will survive the trip."

There are films more related to pedophilia, or that "age-gap" argument, and they are not even pointed. Like... Idk, "The reader"? This is a film of love. I adore it, it´s perfectly made & if you are open minded enough, it will leave you thinking in that first time your heart crushed. It´s beyond 2:30 minutes.
Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
9
BeastJ18Apr 25, 2018
Wildly realistic and mesmerising. The director went into this film thinking "I'm not going to make a gay movie, I'm going to make a romance between two men." and it shows. This is not a film to draw attention or make statements, like a lot ofWildly realistic and mesmerising. The director went into this film thinking "I'm not going to make a gay movie, I'm going to make a romance between two men." and it shows. This is not a film to draw attention or make statements, like a lot of current movies do with this type of story. It is just simply, a human story. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
WaelDec 28, 2017
“Call Me By Your Name” is an emotionally-triggering work of art. It is very well-adapted, and very well-shot, with daring performances from Armie Hammer and Timothée Chalamet. The setting is beautiful, and will make you long for a summer love“Call Me By Your Name” is an emotionally-triggering work of art. It is very well-adapted, and very well-shot, with daring performances from Armie Hammer and Timothée Chalamet. The setting is beautiful, and will make you long for a summer love you never thought you wanted so bad. The whole movie has a melancholic feel to it, and its ending is just emotionally-wrecking but it serves as a very satisfying conclusion. With the story, however raw and sentimental, being slow and monotonous, this 2-hours-journey was more about the visuals, the aesthetics (Italy, summer, love, swimming pools, greenery...) and the all the feelings that are sparked by the story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kcsimmsFeb 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bravo! Bravo! This movie was simply incredible. Prior to seeing the film, I was not familiar with Luca Guadagnino's work, but now I want to see more of his films, and I will keep an eye out for him in the future. Call Me by Your Name is about the son (Emilio) of an eccentric professor who develops feelings for his father's new resident, who's name is Oliver. There is immediate sexual tension between the two characters, even though Oliver is markedly older than Emilio, who is only 17. Emilio hasn't revealed his sexual preferences to anybody, but it's easy to notice his immediate attraction to Oliver. Oliver attempts to keep his distance because he knows that developing a relationship with the younger Emilio may be inappropriate, given the circumstances. However, despite his resistance, he eventually caves in to his desires and becomes sexually involved with Emilio. You can sense Emilio's conflicted conscience throughout the film, and it builds until he is forced to confront questions that he has been purposefully avoiding. The film ends with closure and sadness, but there is a silver-living that leaves you feeling good and optimistic. The best scene of the film is unquestionably the one that comes at the end when Emilio has the impending conversation with his father about his relationship with Oliver. Such a heartfelt moment, and the professor's words were absolutely moving. Everything about this film was incredible. It made you feel as if you were there in Italy, and I felt the urge to book a ticket the next day. This is easily one of the best films of the year, if not the best. I give it a 9.5/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
miracleghMar 24, 2018
call me by your name is a movie that changes lives I really love each of the scenes, especially the scene of elio in the final scene really heartbreaking
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MarkiniOct 10, 2018
A jarring love story. Both Armie Hammer and Timothee Chalamet do incredible jobs here that pull at your heartstrings. The way Chalamet is able to be both a troublemaker and innocent, naive young man conveys both sides of young adulthood. TheA jarring love story. Both Armie Hammer and Timothee Chalamet do incredible jobs here that pull at your heartstrings. The way Chalamet is able to be both a troublemaker and innocent, naive young man conveys both sides of young adulthood. The cinematography is gorgeous compared to other romantic dramas, being set in the picturesque background of rural Italy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
forestationDec 19, 2017
An extraordinarily sensitive and exquisite portrayal of first love. The movie is filled with gorgeous scenery, enduring melodies and sly humor. But above all it is filled with tenderness, so much tenderness, between lovers, family andAn extraordinarily sensitive and exquisite portrayal of first love. The movie is filled with gorgeous scenery, enduring melodies and sly humor. But above all it is filled with tenderness, so much tenderness, between lovers, family and friends. The kindness and beauty in the movie is an antidote to the toxic ugliness of our times (with some of that ugliness displayed in the "reviews" of people who bash the movie for their own twisted agenda without even seeing the film). Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
gamhottieDec 19, 2017
Superb film with flawless acting all around, but especially a breathtaking performance from Timothee Chalamet. Chalamet gives what might be the best portrayal of a teenager male in film history.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
bluemilkDec 17, 2017
Masterpiece. Script, Acting, photography, and love for cinema. You can feel the passion of the actors, director, and everyone involved in this project. This is cinema. All those hate critics are just a sympthom of a sick society. NothingMasterpiece. Script, Acting, photography, and love for cinema. You can feel the passion of the actors, director, and everyone involved in this project. This is cinema. All those hate critics are just a sympthom of a sick society. Nothing there is constructive or solid. Thank you Guadagnino. Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
10
orangedroogDec 20, 2017
Saw this movie at it's final showing at the Sundance Film Festival and it's final moments did something to me that only one other film has ever dared to do, with limited success. This movie drives home every buried emotion a human has everSaw this movie at it's final showing at the Sundance Film Festival and it's final moments did something to me that only one other film has ever dared to do, with limited success. This movie drives home every buried emotion a human has ever had by daring to be unabashedly romantic, and so cheesy it becomes authentic. Never has a script enticed such an emotional response from my core. The last time I remember a film even approaching the emotional grandeur of Call Me By Your Name was The Place Beyond the Pines. Prepare to sit through the last moment of the credits, as the final shot of the film is the most powerful shot ever committed in a romance movie. Regardless of sexual preference, regardless of how emotionless you are, just give yourself over to the life-improving movie that is Call Me By Your Name and let every stifled emotion you didn't know existed inside you come to the surface. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
eriberry14Dec 18, 2017
Damn close to a perfect movie. By far the most anticipated movie of my year, and it on no accounts disappointed. Slow build up to such an impactful climax. No spoilers meant, but I can't stop thinking about the end/credits scene with theDamn close to a perfect movie. By far the most anticipated movie of my year, and it on no accounts disappointed. Slow build up to such an impactful climax. No spoilers meant, but I can't stop thinking about the end/credits scene with the beautifully constructed Sufjan Stevens song (buy the soundtrack!). Can't wait to see this again, because I'm still wrapping my head around it. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
isteph02Dec 21, 2017
The story will always be precious, moving and unforgettable. But being able to read the book for about three times, I was still wrecked emotionally, my heart temporarily expired after that last scene, and I'm pretty sure this would get stuckThe story will always be precious, moving and unforgettable. But being able to read the book for about three times, I was still wrecked emotionally, my heart temporarily expired after that last scene, and I'm pretty sure this would get stuck in my head again for a while. I believe this is because of the heartfelt performances of Chalamet, Hammer, and Stuhlbarg. The cinematography and screenplay reminds me of "Maurice" by James Ivory (which makes sense for he also had written this film). P.S. This is one of those films that you won't forget for a while, and if you do and remembered it all again, will make you feel it's more precious and timeless as before. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
NickPMDec 18, 2017
Worth your money. Absolutely beautiful. After reading the book, I went in with high expectations, and they were met. Guadagnino does an excellent job of bringing the Italian summer to life.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
djulianaDec 13, 2017
More than just a movie, Call Me By Your Name is an experience. It's immersive, inviting you into this gorgeous Italian summer and truly putting you in these characters' shoes, with an empathy not many movies are able to evoke. There is aMore than just a movie, Call Me By Your Name is an experience. It's immersive, inviting you into this gorgeous Italian summer and truly putting you in these characters' shoes, with an empathy not many movies are able to evoke. There is a perfect balance between realism and idealization. It plays like a memory you hold very dear and romanticize, which very much captures the book's feel. The performances are subtle and the characters feel incredibly real, but there's also a dream-like quality to the entire thing that makes it a truly delicious watch. Speaking of the performances, Armie Hammer is incredible Oliver, a character who could've easily been one-note. Oliver's a confident, sometimes borderline rude American grad student who is given no backstory or depth in the book, as we know him only from Elio's point of view, but Hammer's understated performance gives the character a vulnerability that makes you see right through him and understand him without being offered any information at all. Michael Stuhlbarg is also great as professor Perlman, delivering a speech that is in a way a more tender and intimate version of Spencer Tracy's in Guess Who's Coming To Dinner. But even though the entire ensamble delivers, it's Timothée Chalamet's performance that truly makes the movie. In his breakout role as Elio, he delivers what is without doubt one of the strongest performances of the year, if not the single best one. It's him who could make or break the movie, and his portrayal of this intelligent, strange, vulnerable young man is one that crackles with life and elevates this movie to a masterpiece. He's a joy to watch, and his Elio is a fully realized person you feel you truly know by the time the credits role -- or maybe even more *while* the credits are rolling, as a gorgeously haunting original song by Sufjan Stevens plays.
All in all, this movie is deserving of every word of praise it's been getting, and it does an incredible job at portraying real people bringing a beloved book to life.
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
RayFundoraDec 12, 2017
I left this movie with a knot in my stomach and a lump in my throat. It’s simply stunning. The acting, directing, music, it all just works. I left the theater feeling haunted. I will not post any spoilers, but bring tissues.
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
10
DelingarDec 12, 2017
My heart was aching through most of it...aching for the longing the protagonist experienced, aching for the pain of the mixed signals between he and Oliver, aching for the anticipation for what he hoped might happen, aching for how thingsMy heart was aching through most of it...aching for the longing the protagonist experienced, aching for the pain of the mixed signals between he and Oliver, aching for the anticipation for what he hoped might happen, aching for how things might all end up. Meanwhile, the cinematography literally had me crying that I never had the great fortune to grown up in such a beautiful, idyllic environment. The amazing Michael Stuhlbarg almost managed to steal the whole movie in a late scene, and had me again wiping away joyful tears. I'm currently relishing the audiobook version (narrated by Armie Hammer) and toying with the idea of seeing the movie a second time before it leaves theaters. Expand
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
10
wabbieDec 4, 2017
There is no doubt everyone has a story that mirrors the one shown in this movie. For it to be done with such great actors, a gifted director and with such lovely scenery makes this a once in a lifetime film. The movie follows the book quiteThere is no doubt everyone has a story that mirrors the one shown in this movie. For it to be done with such great actors, a gifted director and with such lovely scenery makes this a once in a lifetime film. The movie follows the book quite closely. Timothee Chalamet is perfection. Stole my heart. Sufjan Stevens songs fit perfectly as well. The final scene over the credits is magic. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondNov 27, 2017
At first, the film felt a bit like a modern version of Blame it on Rio, with the older guy, living with the under-aged kid on vacation, hooks up with him in the paradise setting. Unlike Blame it on Rio, this hook-up is fully endorsed by theAt first, the film felt a bit like a modern version of Blame it on Rio, with the older guy, living with the under-aged kid on vacation, hooks up with him in the paradise setting. Unlike Blame it on Rio, this hook-up is fully endorsed by the kid's parents, and it, therefore, obviously, doesn't have the same taboo feel to it. It also lacks Rio's sense of humor. The critical drawback of this film is how timid it is with respect to the gay sex scenes. I mean, they show SO MUCH MORE of the kid hooking up with the local girl, yet when he hooks up with his older male lover, they pan away. The director of this film should look to Greg Araki or the makers of Queer as Folk to see how it's done tastefully. What saves the film is the brilliant conversation between father and son, reflecting on what the son had in this particular relationship. A model for parents of gay children, I would guess. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
Arkham318Dec 15, 2017
Amazing. That's the word i would use to describe this film, it is a beautiful story about the relationship between a 17 year old boy and a 24 year old, finally LGBT movies are getting the mainstream attention they deserve. Also all the peopleAmazing. That's the word i would use to describe this film, it is a beautiful story about the relationship between a 17 year old boy and a 24 year old, finally LGBT movies are getting the mainstream attention they deserve. Also all the people yelling about paedophilia clearly don't understand the message of this film. It isn't about normalising pedophilia it is about love and passion. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
smoothieDec 19, 2017
This movie profoundly moved me and everyone around me in the theater. I think people are moved by the movie because it transports them to a time and place where people are kind and feeling are pure.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
caf2042Mar 1, 2018
Call Me by Your Name is directed by Luca Guadagnino and stars Armie Hammer and Timothée Chalamet. I first heard about this back in February, when it premiered at Sundance. I remember the reviews were near perfect. After finally having seen itCall Me by Your Name is directed by Luca Guadagnino and stars Armie Hammer and Timothée Chalamet. I first heard about this back in February, when it premiered at Sundance. I remember the reviews were near perfect. After finally having seen it last night, I can tell you that not only were the rumors true, but they fall short. I’ve thought long and hard about this before I made up my mind. Call Me by Your Name is one of the best films I have ever seen. I’m not kidding. This is a staggeringly good film. There isn’t a scene, even a moment that feels out of place. Every frame is absolutely perfect. Armie Hammer gives the performance of a lifetime. Somehow though, he doesn’t even give the best performance. Timothée Chalamet is insane. This IS the best performance of the year, and if he isn’t at least nominated, I will just leave the Oscars. The cinematography is stunning, the soundtrack is euphoric, and the dialogue is impeccably good. Unlike The Last Jedi or Dunkirk, or any other film I have given an A+ to this year (except maybe Blade Runner), I have no trouble saying that this is the best film of the year. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
gerry6992Nov 25, 2017
Call Me by Your Name is an heartfelt and beautiful love story. Luca Guadagnino is an incredibly talented director (Italians are the best :) ). I really loved Sufjan Stevens songs as well and the closing credits' scene is really powerful. ThisCall Me by Your Name is an heartfelt and beautiful love story. Luca Guadagnino is an incredibly talented director (Italians are the best :) ). I really loved Sufjan Stevens songs as well and the closing credits' scene is really powerful. This story feels real and authentic. I would have loved just a little bit more of nudity. It was a bit too chaste Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelObeNov 24, 2017
Italy, 1983. To the villa of Professor Perlman (Michael Stuhlbarg), the father of 17-year-old Elio (Timothée Chalamet), arrives assistant Oliver (Armie Hammer) for the summer. Everyone loves him: from the maid Mafalda to local beauties. ButItaly, 1983. To the villa of Professor Perlman (Michael Stuhlbarg), the father of 17-year-old Elio (Timothée Chalamet), arrives assistant Oliver (Armie Hammer) for the summer. Everyone loves him: from the maid Mafalda to local beauties. But most of all he is sympathetic to the young Elio, who can not fully determine his feelings for the guest. Italian director Luca Guadagnino presents the adaptation of the novel by André Asiman about the first love and its complexities.

"Call me by your name" - like a long-awaited trip to a country house from a noisy megapolis. Here, the silence of a summer day is broken only by the call for lunch or a horn of a bicycle. Peaches are ripening on branches, pending until they are ripped off. The pool is always filled with water and waits for someone. Here you go out for breakfast, when everyone has already had lunch. And the nights are as hot as everyday life: discos, walking with friends, swimming in the lakes. And in this idyll he invades, americano, riotous and bright, like a wind on a rocky cliff, bringing confusion to Elio's plans for the summer. Oliver introduces the professor's son to new feelings and experiences, which are unknown to him. But Guadagnino does not go into tragedy, he adapts Asiman's novel brightly and sometimes funny. The filmmaker took the best of Asiman's novel and smoothed out the rough erotic edges, so the scenes of the intimate closeness of the characters were shot as decently as possible, and even the episode with peach can not be called very vulgar. Guadagnino removed from the adaptation the girl Vimini, who was sick with leukemia, he decided to concentrate on the feelings of the main characters, and not on the secondary lines. But also the director deliberately excluded Elio and Oliver's meeting 15 years later, so as not to turn the film into a complete statement, but leave a feeling of understatement, as well as between the characters themselves.

During one of the dinners at the villa, one of the Perlman's guest says the phrase: "Cinema is not a reflection of reality, but a filter for it." That Asiman in the novel and Guadagnino in the film created a partly fabulous story of the first love with its difficulties and delights. "Call me by your name" - a coming of age drama (magical in its atmosphere), a movie about growing up through the first experience and about what it means to be alive and free.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
pauloandradeNov 24, 2017
What a great film. Definitely the best of 2017 so far. The script is superb, the directing is on point and the cast was just flawless. Timothée Chalamet specially did a great job here. I really feel like rewatching it, to be honest.
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
9
Patman1234Feb 16, 2018
It's not Pedophilia at all. The age of consent is 16 and Pedophilia is described as an illness where someone is attracted to a pre pubescent boy or girl. The boy in this is 17, well past puberty. The guy is in his early 20's. My friend (girl)It's not Pedophilia at all. The age of consent is 16 and Pedophilia is described as an illness where someone is attracted to a pre pubescent boy or girl. The boy in this is 17, well past puberty. The guy is in his early 20's. My friend (girl) was 17 and started dating a neighbour (guy) who was 33. They are happily married. It wasn't Pedophilia, it was love and those who claim this is any different are completely ignorant. Beautiful film. Simply beautiful. I suggest people grow up and stop being so overly sensitive. Bad stuff happens, and people need protecting, but not at age 17, I certainly felt mature enough, to make my own decisions, by then. Stop treating teenagers like they are not intelligent and can't make their own decisions, it's degrading and disrespectful. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsDec 20, 2017
Call Me By Your Name is a flawless film that will stick with you long after the credits roll. This film is a long, slow-burning juggernaut that will hit you right in the feels. The acting across the cast is superb, with special shout-outs toCall Me By Your Name is a flawless film that will stick with you long after the credits roll. This film is a long, slow-burning juggernaut that will hit you right in the feels. The acting across the cast is superb, with special shout-outs to Timothee Chalamet, Armie Hammer, and Michael Stuhlbarg. The characters are incredibly real and dynamic, and this film feels so intimate and private that you'll feel like you shouldn't be watching these really vulnerable people. Call Me By Your Name incorporates the best parts of timeless Italian Cinema. The visual motiffs of water, the flies on the wall, and the music matching perfectly to what is happening on screen all propel this film to greatness. The still moments dominate this film, but the acting is so brilliant you'll be able to read everyone's mind. This is a must see for art-film lovers! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
fairbrotherMar 3, 2018
First Love and Sexual Awakening are some of the ripest, most universally resonant themes in any art-form, so we've all seen them handled before many times. Call Me by Your Name pulls off the neat trick of feeling simultaneously new andFirst Love and Sexual Awakening are some of the ripest, most universally resonant themes in any art-form, so we've all seen them handled before many times. Call Me by Your Name pulls off the neat trick of feeling simultaneously new and timeless: a story you've seen before yet, somehow, haven't. I keep turning this film over and over in my mind, looking for a flaw, and I can't find one. The performances - Timothee Chalamet and Michael Stuhlbarg in particular - are excellent. The script builds drama so incrementally you hardly notice it, in such a way that the final 20 minutes, despite resisting any melodramatic contrivance or hysteria, overwhelmed me emotionally. Kudos to director Luca Guadagnino for realizing this delicate tone with evocative but unfussy framing, bang-on casting, and marrying a modern perspective with a classical sense of pace and purpose. Call Me by Your Name is a gorgeous ode to the ecstasy and agony of growing up; to the sunshine of discovery and the shadow of wisdom; to the "mystery of love" we spend our whole lives puzzling over. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
enrick9Feb 27, 2018
"La naturaleza tiene maneras extrañas de encontrar nuestros puntos débiles"- Call Me By Your Name Solo diré que es PERFECTA.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Tcurran2Jan 19, 2018
An ode to classic cinema, yet with a contemporary topic, Call Me By Your Name is one of the most spellbinding films to hit theaters in quite a long time. Telling the story of two young gay men in love in Italy in the 1980s, it almost has aAn ode to classic cinema, yet with a contemporary topic, Call Me By Your Name is one of the most spellbinding films to hit theaters in quite a long time. Telling the story of two young gay men in love in Italy in the 1980s, it almost has a cinema verite like quality to it. With a warm, Mediterranean color pallet, and a languid pace that gives it the feel of an everlasting summer, every frame of the film is captivating. It may take a while to build to its climax, but when it does, it is really something to behold. Starring Armie Hammer as Oliver, and Timothee Chalamet as Elio, these two young men completely sell their roles, and enrapture the audience in their heartbreaking performances in the process. Michael Stuhlbarg, who plays Elio's father, delivers a final speech to Chalamet that transcends anything I've seen in film this past year. You may feel the film's run time at points during the film (which clocking in at 2 hours and 12 minutes, isn't exactly brief), but you might just want to linger on those moments. You'll want to soak up every ounce of this treat before its all over. After all, there'll come a time when all of us can no longer experience the magic of movies. Let's just hope it doesn't come too soon, there's still so much left to learn. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
luke100Jan 10, 2018
A beautifully shot, excellently acted and overall wonderful gay romance, and a faithful adaptation of the source material. But the novel is definitely better.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
lcasco1Jan 12, 2018
Timothee Chalamet truly brings Elio to life with his beautiful performance, you will fall in love with both the actor and the character of this joyful and heart breaking master piece. Timothee's performance is further enhanced by the amazingTimothee Chalamet truly brings Elio to life with his beautiful performance, you will fall in love with both the actor and the character of this joyful and heart breaking master piece. Timothee's performance is further enhanced by the amazing Armie Hammer who gives a wonderful performance as Oliver, Elio's love interest and best friend. Luca Guadagnino did a truly amazing job of sticking to the book from which this movie comes from while leaving an opening to create a sequel and overall he did an amazing job of directing this once in a lifetime project. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ndyinesJan 18, 2018
This film was amazing, very emotional. A full-hearted romantic masterpiece. A movie that makes the audience can't stop crying, what a beautiful cinematography and best soundtrack ever. What a sad ending, just would like to see the sequel ifThis film was amazing, very emotional. A full-hearted romantic masterpiece. A movie that makes the audience can't stop crying, what a beautiful cinematography and best soundtrack ever. What a sad ending, just would like to see the sequel if Luca will make the sequel. The book and film are very consistent, Timothee Chalamet is perfect Elio and Armie Hammer is perfect Oliver. Although Armie said he hates the dancing scene, the dancing scene is my favorite scene. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
909dotJan 22, 2018
CALL ME BY YOUR NAME is one of the most beautiful, truthful movies you will see. Its poetry; an ode to love, life and discovering who you are. Its ravishing from beginning to end. I wont go into details or the plot, thats something you shouldCALL ME BY YOUR NAME is one of the most beautiful, truthful movies you will see. Its poetry; an ode to love, life and discovering who you are. Its ravishing from beginning to end. I wont go into details or the plot, thats something you should experience for yourself. I do have one thing to say. I've read on this site some negative reviews suggesting the glamorization of pedophilia. THIS IS COMPLETELY FALSE! Our society’s intense focus on age and sexuality is a relatively recent notion, not a long-settled one, and that while the law may have a legitimate need to be blunt and rigid, our art does not. In my view, it’s reasonable to have different opinions of the unconventional relationship in Call Me by Your Name, but it’s not reasonable to say the movie endorses pedophilia, or really any kind of power-based abuse, just because it depicts that relationship. (there is not ONE predatory moment between the two characters in the film.) If we go down that censorious and unnuanced path with our art, very little will survive the trip. Oh, and I also read a negative review that said if this was an older guy and a younger girl, people would freak out, well, thats already happened. Its called DIRTY DANCING. Same age difference. Im done now. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
AlexanderTorresJan 22, 2018
Una historia de amor diferente a la que estamos acostumbrados a ver, adicional a ello, la actuación de Timothée Chalamet es espectacular y la fotografía encantadora. Sin duda alguna una gran película.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieGrayNov 24, 2017
Incredible and beautifully crafted film, it’s sensual without the need of being vulgar, and it’s so romantic and beautiful. Both Timothée and Armie did amazing jobs
11 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
10
AndyThomasNov 24, 2017
Luca Guadagnino's latest is beautiful to watch -a motion Caravaggio painting, and marvelous to ponder -a moving rumination on the bated joy of first love.
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Nov 27, 2017
LIFF31 2017 #2

"Nature has cunning ways of finding our weakest spot." There is no doubt how incredibly beautiful "Call Me By Your Name" is. Putting aside your age and sexuality, the film offers more than romance. It's not sad or tragic, but
LIFF31 2017 #2

"Nature has cunning ways of finding our weakest spot."

There is no doubt how incredibly beautiful "Call Me By Your Name" is. Putting aside your age and sexuality, the film offers more than romance. It's not sad or tragic, but a peaceful one. It's all about falling in love. What's been said by many will be repeated here, so none of this is gonna be new to you, because it's all true.

Armie Hammer, Michael Stuhlbarg, and newcomer Timothée Chalamet all deliver terrific performances. Not a weak or unconvincing actor in sight. All of them were perfectly cast in the roles and there was no shred of doubt during the emotional parts. Especially Stuhlbarg monologue towards the end is as moving as anything I have ever seen.

The way Luca Guadagnino manages to play on your emotions and present gay romances is really mesmerizing. The warm and summer spectacle of Italy makes you want to be there. With the scenery, sunny waters, and the food which look so good, all through Sayombhu Mukdeeprom brilliant cinematography. It's paradise.

Even the sexual tension never once came across pornographic. I don't mind sex or nudity in movies and people seriously just need to stop being so sensitive about it. Ever thought that making little things a huge deal only makes it a huger deal. Or your sloppy description.

The sexuality in this film is more of an emotional connection you personally experience through the characters. And you don't have to be gay to enjoy those scenes. It avoids the typical tropes you find in movies that isn't as perfectly presented as this.

This is a truly special movie that I easily got lost in.
Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewJan 19, 2018
Having partial Italian blood in my veins, I particularly enjoy when that culture gets some rare, overdue representation in cinema. Now, after the opening credits of Call Me by Your Name kick off the film’s wide survey of art history’sHaving partial Italian blood in my veins, I particularly enjoy when that culture gets some rare, overdue representation in cinema. Now, after the opening credits of Call Me by Your Name kick off the film’s wide survey of art history’s continual impact on Italy’s culture, temptation strongly urges me to book a flight to Italy! Director Luca Guadagnino (A Bigger Splash) succeeds at raising immediate love for Italy’s artful history with a masterful focus on the little details crafted to immerse you into the Jewish-American-Italian-French family over the summer.

The production crew’s delicate artistry swells your eyes, thanks to Guadagnino’s relaxing artistic direction. The cinematography by Sayombhu Mukdeeprom overblows the sun’s highlights in the frame until the snow peacefully mellows out the inner chaos. The thin, loose fabric costumes designed by Giulia Piersanti practically weep while they turn their wearers into zombies decomposed by pain. To top it off, the calm dancing musical selection’s reflective piano tune juxtaposes the visualized teen angst.

Those small enriched elements craft the protagonist of the story, Elio, a teenager who hunches over the piano, overcome by his insecure fervor, his space evaded by flies, supposedly awaiting someone like St. John the Baptist to pull him out of his hell hole. Then once Oliver, the family researcher, comes to stay over the summer, he spends extra time in the backyard pool alongside his new friend, a confusing curiosity in mind.

With each performance fueled by the struggle against the anonymous, the two lead characters grow up over the painful season. The harsh summer weather outside seems to kill them both slowly in support to one of the feature’s many stated philosophies: “nature has a cunning way of finding our weakest spot.”

Though unfortunately, some cultural issues outside the visual cues still taint the experience, including a couple of stereotypical old, angry comic relief Italians who disrupted the natural flow of the genre. Oliver’s story also lacks enough establishment: where does his romantic infatuation to a seventeen-year-old boy originate? The closest thing to a justification about his romantic spark is the Jewish background they both share, which still lacks needed prominence within the relationship.

The two other female roles, Elio’s mother and girlfriend, seem to subsist just to comfort his pain, the mother in particular could have been written out completely without hurting the script. Yet European masculinity carries even greater problems in depiction. Oliver is the one representative of America, a country with a higher age of consent than Italy, so this film supposedly encourages pedophilia, as if the United Kingdom believes their legal system has a better understanding of existentialism than the United States.

Although, the homosexual love still rings true in its natural approach. It starts innocent enough as Elio and Oliver just so happen to share a bathroom, the toilet in plain sight from the bed’s perspective. As time goes by, the connection they share turns into one of forbidden fruit. In one scene, passion between the two brims in the majesty of the mural of Adam’s creation, in another, Olio’s loneliness resorts him to ejaculate into a cored apricot. The chemistry between Armie Hammer (The Social Network) and Timothée Chalamet (Interstellar, Lady Bird) creates the impeccably heartful moments, tension set by emphasized distance in the framing.

But most of all, the technicians’ subtle cues acutely capture the essence of being a teenager trying to figure out sexuality: the crew dresses Chalamet to look scrawny in his wardrobe, his hair messed up, his strut insecure, as editor Walter Fasano (A Bigger Splash) completes it by lingering on the star’s complexion to show a teen's dim psychology. These elements, when together, stick hard into your arteries a good long hour after the motion picture’s emotive final frame.

Looking beyond the uneasy subject matter, a very plain application can be taken away: love hurts. Even I myself, a heterosexual, felt Elio’s heartbreak before, since an old desire to love a certain someone back in high school continues to hurt me today; I know loving somebody you cannot hold hurts more physically than emotionally. Despite those unpredictable moods, just remember: loved ones, including friends and family, not just romantical partners, are always there offer free hugs. These are the ones who most want to see the best come out of you and take action in your life to make sure you get to your highest point. This key takeaway of Call Me by Your Name reminds us all that whatever, however, you think, you deserve love.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
fabricioartJan 17, 2018
The best film of 2017 it might be one of the greatest of all time love all the parts of the film and I want to read the book for get aprofunded on the history and I hope that had a part 2
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
JCatJan 14, 2018
Saw this and Lady Bird within 2 days, and as much as I loved Lady Bird, Call Me by Your Name lingered in my brain days after. Coming from a similar situation to the movie's story (without the gorgeous Italian backdrop), I can relate toSaw this and Lady Bird within 2 days, and as much as I loved Lady Bird, Call Me by Your Name lingered in my brain days after. Coming from a similar situation to the movie's story (without the gorgeous Italian backdrop), I can relate to Chalamet's spot on performance. Even his most simplest reactions to various situations were insanely natural. What a performance out of this kid who I never heard of until Lady Bird! Not for a second did I feel like I was watching an actor do a job. It was like being there, feeling his every emotion. Armie Hammer has such screen appeal as well. I'm sure we'll be seeing a lot more of him. By far my favorite film in years. Oh folks, the reviews with zero? Those aren't opinions, that's just 100% pure ignorance and in some cases, hate. Must suck to go through life like that, but they don't know, which sucks even more. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
rafa14Feb 1, 2018
A masterpiece, spetacular, amazing, perfect! There're so many words that i could use to try to describe what I felt when I watched this movie, but none of them would trully describe the feeling. I wanted to see this film since sundance whenA masterpiece, spetacular, amazing, perfect! There're so many words that i could use to try to describe what I felt when I watched this movie, but none of them would trully describe the feeling. I wanted to see this film since sundance when it got great reviews, but i had to wait almost a year to watch, maybe that was good, because when the movie started I was so excited and this feeling continued until the end of it, actually even after it, because i had the feeling inside of me that i wanted to visit italy and study/read more about the 80's, the reason i felt this was because the whole movie it's well written and directed, probably James Ivory, the writer will win the oscar, and if it does, it will be deserved because the way he wrote I belevied in Elio and Oliver love and it made me feel like i was there with them the whole time, and talking about this two, Armie Hammer, who should have been nominated for best supporting actor and Timothée Chalamet is a star. Everyone should watch this movie Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeDec 25, 2017
The best movie of the year! A romantic ode to first love and heartbreak and an ending that is a master class in acting. The the latest from Luca Guadagnino (I Am Love, A Bigger Splash). Incredible acting by Timothy Chalamet.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodFeb 12, 2018
...poetry, sweet poetic love... Call me by your name is a film beyond gender and sex... A true masterclass in the romance genre that is as captivating as it is silent and heartbreaking. I've never seen such a purely honest, understanding, and...poetry, sweet poetic love... Call me by your name is a film beyond gender and sex... A true masterclass in the romance genre that is as captivating as it is silent and heartbreaking. I've never seen such a purely honest, understanding, and relatable love story. The film is timeless. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
francisrgoDec 24, 2017
Easily one of the best films of the year. Beautifully acted performance by the cast and wonderfully written script. Armie Hammer and Timothee Chalamet had an undeniable chemistry. It is more than just a love story and the joy of meeting thatEasily one of the best films of the year. Beautifully acted performance by the cast and wonderfully written script. Armie Hammer and Timothee Chalamet had an undeniable chemistry. It is more than just a love story and the joy of meeting that one person, it is about the pain and the heartache of that first love. What is even more excruciating, is when your fist love is of the same sex and you are just coming to terms of who you are. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
haw2991Mar 6, 2018
Call me by your Name take's place in the summer of 1983, 17-year-old Elio Perlman is spending the days with his family at their villa in Italy. He soon meets Oliver, a handsome doctoral student who's working as an intern for Elio's father.Call me by your Name take's place in the summer of 1983, 17-year-old Elio Perlman is spending the days with his family at their villa in Italy. He soon meets Oliver, a handsome doctoral student who's working as an intern for Elio's father. Gradually, Elio and Oliver realize the intoxicating beauty of awakening desire over the course of a summer that will alter their lives forever.

A wonderfully crafted film, from the beginning director Luca Guadaginino propels you into the atmosphere of the Italian country. The cinematography and visuals are spectacular; this film definitely created a desire to book my tickets to Italy. The music is dreamy and serene, much like summer. The chemistry between the actors are effortless and genuine. While Armie Hammer (Oliver) was good, his performance was probably the weakest of the four primary characters. Esther Garrell and Michael Stuhlbarg were excellent as Elio's parents. However, Elio himself, played by Timothee Chalamet was simply spectacular. There are so many well-crafted scenes; in particular, the scene where Elio is speaking to his father got me choked up; something I haven’t experienced watching a film in quite some time. In the end, “Call Me by Your Name” is a film that explores the pleasure and anguish of growing up; specifically discovering our identity. Which can be confusing but also rewarding. This I believe was the best film in 2017.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Jan 13, 2018
A subtle, yet beautiful film in every sense of the word! Along with the captivating cinematography and showcase of 80s Italy throughout, Timothee Chalamet and Armie Hammer are simply perfect together and Michael Stuhlbarg's moving and potentA subtle, yet beautiful film in every sense of the word! Along with the captivating cinematography and showcase of 80s Italy throughout, Timothee Chalamet and Armie Hammer are simply perfect together and Michael Stuhlbarg's moving and potent speech towards the end ties the film together so wonderfully! Overall, despite it's slow movement throughout, the human emotion, heartbreak, and so many other emotions in between, along with the gorgeous shots of Italy of course, this film is quite the work of art in many wonderful ways. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ebambirraJan 25, 2018
É triste ver um filme tão incrível estar recebendo tamanho boicote nos cinemas, pelo menos aqui no Brasil. É incrível a forma como o filme conseguiu traduzir toda a carga sentimental do livro em simples olhares, nas atuações maravilhosas dosÉ triste ver um filme tão incrível estar recebendo tamanho boicote nos cinemas, pelo menos aqui no Brasil. É incrível a forma como o filme conseguiu traduzir toda a carga sentimental do livro em simples olhares, nas atuações maravilhosas dos protagonistas, que têm uma química monstruosa. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GiaccoUJan 23, 2018
Beautifully acted, adapted and directed. This movie is a gem from start to finish, it deals with one of the most relatable things is live which is first love, and it manages to portray it in such an innocent and calmed way. Couldn't be any better.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
stgrunuMar 22, 2018
This movie didn't deserve to be nominated to an Oscar. It was so boring it hurt, the only thing I got from this movie is that Italy is nice but I already knew that.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Feb 11, 2018
Bold and honest proposal of an uncommon, impossible love story with unbeatable, magnetic performances, and a touching final act. A movie that requires be seen with wide open eyes.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
AkumaJackFeb 2, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call me by your name is a decent film and nothing more.
Chalamet's performance was perfect through the whole movie, the soundtrack was on point (Especially thanks to Sufjan Stevens' "Mystery of Love" and "Futile devices").
The settings, as an Italian, is beautiful and well portrayed.
The weak part is the plot and some characters.
First of all Armie Hammer is 42 and Chalamet is 23. In the movie Elio (Chalamet) is 17 so Oliver (Hammer) should be around 30 to 36 years old. That's some serious pedophilia over there and i couldn't get over it for the whole movie.
Is not romantic, is quite sick. There is not an antagonist in this movie besides time. They make a big deal about hiding their affair because it's an homosexual relationship and all but then EVERYONE seems to be okay with it. Elio's father later in the movie confesses to his sons that he had an affair with a friend (male) when he was younger and that he always knew about Elio and Oliver relationship.
So why hiding if apparently is okay for everyone if they are gay? Also, Elio is a jerk to his friend Marzia with whom he has sex multiple times just to dump her a couple of days later to be with Oliver. So Elio, although sympathetic, is the only "Bad" character of the movie. From a technical point of view this movie is incredible, great aesthetics and imagery, but the story is weak and meaningless.
Meaningless could summarize this film story perfectly in my opinion.
You get nothing out of it, it doesn't have a deeper meaning and characters don't learn anything besides Elio knowing that he's gay/bisexual
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
jaasieljuniorFeb 4, 2018
Honesto,sincero e poético. Poderia citar mais adjetivos para descrever esse filme,mas não caberia na review. As atuações são impecáveis e dignas de indicações.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ALIREZA13Feb 21, 2018
“What do you do around here?” the tall, strapping Oliver (Armie Hammer) asks Elio (Timothée Chalamet), the 17-year-old giving him a tour of the charming Italian village where Oliver will be living for the next six weeks. “Wait for the summer“What do you do around here?” the tall, strapping Oliver (Armie Hammer) asks Elio (Timothée Chalamet), the 17-year-old giving him a tour of the charming Italian village where Oliver will be living for the next six weeks. “Wait for the summer to end,” the bored-seeming Elio says with a sigh. “And what do you do in the winter? Wait for the summer to come?” Oliver shoots back. That only gets a chuckle from Elio, but that line nails the initial mood of Call Me by Your Name, Luca Guadagnino’s sumptuous new romance, which follows a deep connection that springs out of those restless days of late adolescence.
The intimacy Guadagnino (and James Ivory, who wrote the film’s script) finds in these characters is present from the beginning, but Chalamet (a 21-year-old budding superstar whom I knew best from an old season of Homeland) is the audience’s way in, as a boy on the verge of adulthood who develops immediate, if confused, attraction to the confident Oliver. Not long after the two first meet, Elio retires to his room and reclines in his bed, looking at the tuft of hair sprouting from his armpit, and lazily blowing on it. A few scenes later, Elio is bold enough to sneak into Oliver’s empty room and put Oliver’s swimsuit over his head
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
paulofalmeidaDec 21, 2017
I'm glad this movie didn't disappoint, at all. Loved every bit, especially Chalamet's portrayal. I didn't even know who he was before this, but i'll have to check out his work from now on.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CharisFeb 25, 2018
Beautiful! The director drives you into the atmosphere of italian county. The pace is a little slow but it represents reality as summers tend to move slowly. The music from Sufjan Stevens is wonderful and dreamy and the lyrics fit so perfectBeautiful! The director drives you into the atmosphere of italian county. The pace is a little slow but it represents reality as summers tend to move slowly. The music from Sufjan Stevens is wonderful and dreamy and the lyrics fit so perfect with the movie. The chemistry between the actors is very sweet and seems effortless. The most beautiful thing about this film is that despite their homosexual relatioshipthose two get the lucky chance to experience it without having someone to tell them that it's wrong. Their only obstacle is time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JaceNguyen2402Feb 20, 2018
One of the best movies I've ever watched. Head over heels in love with the two guys.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ncan7336Dec 19, 2017
Is it better to speak or die?

André Aciman's magnum opus is, perhaps, the most controversial novel I ever read—how can a straight man like Aciman write homosexual lovemaking so vividly? Some gay readers have even claimed that it may be the
Is it better to speak or die?

André Aciman's magnum opus is, perhaps, the most controversial novel I ever read—how can a straight man like Aciman write homosexual lovemaking so vividly? Some gay readers have even claimed that it may be the author's deep-seated fantasy that he kept for so long until he released this book. And now, after 10 years since the novel became a canon for LGBT romance, Luca Guadagnino, an openly gay man, had skillfully put into screen every powerful exchange in the literature that finally gave light to that existential debate between Elio and Oliver:

Call Me By Your Name IS NOT A GAY ROMANCE. It is a story of love not by two men but by two beings being vulnerable to each other who explored the boundaries of their beings being one in the search of infinity, the constant desire to be one organic whole. There's a huge reference to the works of Heidegger, **** M.C. Escher, and even Descartes, despite not being mentioned directly in the novel, when Elio mocked him and argued that the pineal gland isn't where the soul and body meet.

So how did Aciman write it so well without being gay? Simple, aside from the fact that it isn't a gay novel as I argued, there's a plethora of literature about homosexual love that predates the contemporary notion of homosexuality (see Foucault's repressive hypothesis in History of Sexuality, 1976). History will tell you that there were no sexual labels prior to the rise of capitalism. Same-sex love existed in different parts of the world even before the East meets the Western world. The novel, I surmise, is Aciman's contemporary take on pederasty, noting the age gap between the two main characters and their academic status.

Some critics see the lack of explicit sex scenes and frontal nudity as the downside of the film, that it is an implicit negotiation of the film with its straight audience and that it tolerates the homophobic resistance in cinema culture. Rather, I see it as an asset. Its current accolades could have been different, and even non-existent if not for that decision made by Guadagnino himself. It should be noted that the director revised its original screenplay which includes explicit scenes. At the end of the day, both the novel and the film are not about sex. It is about the passion between the two main characters who transcended their existential tension.

No actor can perfectly fit Elio's precocious nature but Timothée Chalamet. When I first saw the trailer, I said to myself, "they found the right guy." This guy, despite his very young age, will definitely win the most coveted awards this season. Armie Hammer, on the other hand, is the perfect support Chalamet can get. Their chemistry is one of the best on screen.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GoForDec 25, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many extraordinary moments elevate a gorgeously shot art film into something wondrous and memorable long after Elio's emotional face finally disappears from the screen. The depth of the acting gives the work many layers such that all you want to do at the end is watch it again to better understand the hidden emotions. The surface characters are not sympathetic - Elio precociousness is matched by Oliver's arrogance but both are revealed to be outer protective layers covering inner vulnerability and the drama is the awkward revelation of mutual attraction. "We wasted so much time", Oliver says towards the end. Then much like Dr. Zhivago and Lara live their limited time together to the full, so do Oliver and Elio. Their parting is silent appropriately enough at a train station where timetables are fixed and insensitive to the wight of the moment. Just when we think the end has come, Elio's father delivers the greatest father-son talk ever captured in cinema - which of us would not have wanted our father to articulate Mr. Perlman's generosity and love to them? - immediately trumped by one of the greatest pieces of cinema ever as the emotions cascade through Elios face in a single shot over almost 4 minutes. Film-lovers will be left breathless. This is a piece of cinema history. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Shlomo3006Feb 28, 2018
Completely empathetic and dramatic, it has a very warm heart, even I can say hot, that may trap us and live the spiral of the love of both characters, and also provides outstanding performances by Timotheé Chalamet and Armie Hammer.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
KaustavFeb 27, 2018
It is a serene, intoxicating youth drama where each line holds you comfortably as think as about joys of life and love. It is exquisite in execution and the score is very underrated in its obviousness.
Shout out to Chalamet, Hammer, Sthulbarg
It is a serene, intoxicating youth drama where each line holds you comfortably as think as about joys of life and love. It is exquisite in execution and the score is very underrated in its obviousness.
Shout out to Chalamet, Hammer, Sthulbarg and Esther Garrel. Their selection is vindicated in their sincere presentation of their roles. I understand why this movie was appreciated by so many critics and audience in general - It is truly of the gay romance masterpiece of its time and it is also is something so much more than it resonates with something in every one of us. I do hope you'll take my word for it on this much, you must watch it and then decide on calling it by its name. :)
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RroyJan 5, 2018
A good movie about a boy’s first love is turned into something great by strong acting, wonderful cinematography and a father’s great speech.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JoshuaBlackFeb 7, 2018
I have read negative reviews about this movie because of the pedophilia. Does it make you somewhat uncomfortable? Yes it does, as it should. I will say that this film is about as real as a movie can get. This happens in real life without aI have read negative reviews about this movie because of the pedophilia. Does it make you somewhat uncomfortable? Yes it does, as it should. I will say that this film is about as real as a movie can get. This happens in real life without a doubt. Im glad someone decided to depict a story that some may shy away from. Just because it makes you uncomfortable and it may be controversial doesn't mean it deserves a negative review. Its a great movie that shows an emotional real life story. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AshkanisaredMar 2, 2018
hard to put in the words, Fantastic, masterpiece and very emotional movie
just go and watch
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
idanteMar 5, 2018
Bellissimo! nostalgia del primo amore. bel Paese. genitori amorevoli e accettanti.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
nickster6Mar 8, 2018
An amazing film that everyone should watch!! Especially parents.. It doesn't matter if you're gay or straight. The movie is about first love, passion, heartbreak and everything that each and everyone of us has experienced in a relationship.An amazing film that everyone should watch!! Especially parents.. It doesn't matter if you're gay or straight. The movie is about first love, passion, heartbreak and everything that each and everyone of us has experienced in a relationship. Great cast, tremendous acting, wonderful sceneries and magnificent music. It's easily one of the best movies I have ever seen - if not the best-. It really left its mark on me. Watch it now ! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Dec 31, 2017
I gave it another shot but it only reaffirmed my opinion. It is somewhat deceitful and to a certain extent a bit false and Armie Hammer's acting doesn't feel in the right place.

And it goes without saying that this is not a love story, let's
I gave it another shot but it only reaffirmed my opinion. It is somewhat deceitful and to a certain extent a bit false and Armie Hammer's acting doesn't feel in the right place.

And it goes without saying that this is not a love story, let's be honest what the two characters shared was nothing but passion, especially if you take into consideration the age of Timothée Chalamet's character, who evidently had his hormones at full throttle.

I respect the opinion of anyone who has enjoyed this movie, but for me it felt very empty.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
5
netflicDec 27, 2017
This movie broke two records for me this year.
First record: it has more nominations than any other I am aware of.
Second record: I do not recall a movie that I would be so bored watching. Placed into a beautiful Italian scenery, this film
This movie broke two records for me this year.
First record: it has more nominations than any other I am aware of.
Second record: I do not recall a movie that I would be so bored watching.

Placed into a beautiful Italian scenery, this film is a love story between a 17-year-old young man Elio who is still trying to find himself sexually and otherwise and an older young man Oliver who is a graduate student of Elio's father and comes to visit them in Italy.

The end of the movie was powerful but by that time I was waiting for it to end already.

Music sounded intrusive and somehow did not fit with either the mood of a situation or scenery.

Not without great moments, the film is just way too slow and too long. Performance-wise, Timothee' Chalamet who plays Elio did a good job for the most part.

Overall, the movie left me cold, I did not feel any empathy. There are many "gay love" movies that I liked much more, so the subject is not an issue for me but it is not an advantage either (like for sooo many critics).

How else can I describe it? Too sweet yet it's not sugar but artificial sweetener.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
foreignfilmfanFeb 6, 2018
Very pretty film. I'm sure the Italian Tourism Bureau loves it. But the characters and their problems are almost unbelievable, and certainly not something I could sympathize with, much less empathize with. And such unbelievable parents -Very pretty film. I'm sure the Italian Tourism Bureau loves it. But the characters and their problems are almost unbelievable, and certainly not something I could sympathize with, much less empathize with. And such unbelievable parents - really!
The phrase "white people's problems" came to mind while I was watching it.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
max3290Mar 16, 2018
If you are an average movie watcher, steer clear of this movie. It's slow, overly long, and filled with pretentious douchebags. There is no reason this movie should have been nominated for an academy award.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
4
TakoxFeb 10, 2018
Quite disappointed with the movie, some of the dialogues seem stupid, and the rhythm of the movie is so slow... Many people are saying that this movie is perfect, but what I see is a failed attempt of a homorromantic movie that lays inQuite disappointed with the movie, some of the dialogues seem stupid, and the rhythm of the movie is so slow... Many people are saying that this movie is perfect, but what I see is a failed attempt of a homorromantic movie that lays in clichés and high class lifestyle that bores me to death. Also, the apricot scene is between awkward and disgusting. Otherwise, at least the soundtrack is very interesting. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
WhiskeyStoriesDec 23, 2017
A beautiful, warm and touching romance told with elegance and sophistication. The acting is superb, the chemistry between every actor and actress is palpable and realistic. The only possible flaw I had with the film was with the editing,A beautiful, warm and touching romance told with elegance and sophistication. The acting is superb, the chemistry between every actor and actress is palpable and realistic. The only possible flaw I had with the film was with the editing, other than that I thoroughly loved every minute of Call Me by Your Name. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
rvancMar 8, 2018
Simplesmente foi o melhor romance que assisti em anos.
Não tenho palavras, nem detalhes à acrescentar, é simplesmente maravilhoso!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
minhtriFeb 7, 2018
emotional, true love, teen develop and i cry. This movie is so so so good, i wish the ending is not sad like in movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
rootsFeb 16, 2018
Zesty. Leaves you with crucial mark on both mind and heart. Easy and Loving.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Brent_MarchantDec 23, 2017
Though beautifully filmed and scored, with generally capable performances, this overrated, tiresome, trite exercise in tedium disappoints overall. With a script characterized by bloated, stilted, implausible dialogue and a narrative that'sThough beautifully filmed and scored, with generally capable performances, this overrated, tiresome, trite exercise in tedium disappoints overall. With a script characterized by bloated, stilted, implausible dialogue and a narrative that's been done countless times before, there's precious little about this annoying slog that we haven't already seen many, many times previously. Save for one particularly touching scene toward the film's close that helps to redeem much of what precedes it, "Call Me By Your Name" fails to live up to its potential - or its hype. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
4
BluesHawkJan 28, 2018
"Call Me By Your Name" is an awards-worthy masterpiece directed by Luca Gaudagnino. So beautifully crafted in every way that it survives its near-fatal flaw. When Stanley Kubrick's Nabokov-based "Lolita" came out in 1962, it was advertised as"Call Me By Your Name" is an awards-worthy masterpiece directed by Luca Gaudagnino. So beautifully crafted in every way that it survives its near-fatal flaw. When Stanley Kubrick's Nabokov-based "Lolita" came out in 1962, it was advertised as the erotic adventure of a "seductive" teen who you too (men) would not be able to resist. Now in 2018, just as we're buttressing our protections for children as well as adults from sexual exploitation, comes this romantic, exquisitely nuanced art, "Call Me By Your Name", that happens to repeat the horrible example of "Lolita". Seventeen year old Elio and his father's colleague, Oliver, fall in love. When Oliver leaves, both are heart-broken. Nearly every review I've read mentions "coltish" Elio's intellectual maturity and emotional vulnerability. Remarkably, his cosmopolitan parents and social network are a model of insight, empathy, discretion, and support. They will help Elio turn his horrible loss into new strengths. The directing, cinematography, and acting that beautifully bring these nuances together is so effective that many viewers will suspend their boundary on man-boy sex. In spite of our better judgement, some critics and many viewers become willing to believe a youth can seduce an adult; that the adult is not a culpable perpetrator.

Technicalities of statutory rape aside, it's the developmental difference between a young Central Nervous System and a mature CNS that makes Oliver's relationship with Elio such a high risk for harm. We viewers and reviewers have a responsibility to remind the artists we rightly respect that romanticizing, even brilliantly, man-boy love contributes to sexual exploitation of anyone. "Lolita" at its ending exposes the sexual exploitation of the teen as horrifically destructive. Frances McDormand says to her Priest in "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri", "...you join the club, Father, you share responsibility". As art is how the culture talks about itself, I believe she was talking to us about "Call Me By Your Name".

Doug Pratt, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
TansdenFeb 19, 2018
A well crafted movie, no doubt. However, if a male, college graduate student visited a high school and seduced a senior class, female student, we'd all probably take exception to the abusive, immoral nature of the scenario.

Why then is this
A well crafted movie, no doubt. However, if a male, college graduate student visited a high school and seduced a senior class, female student, we'd all probably take exception to the abusive, immoral nature of the scenario.

Why then is this movie applauded? Because it is two gay people? Because it is set in romantic and picturesque Italy?

There are plenty of movies made that are of questionable nature. That's a good thing as it falls in line with freedom of expression. That Hollywood and media critics have lauded this particular movie however - that's a problem. Hypocritical too, in light of the #MeToo movement.

So, it gets a zero.
Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
4
paulglassmanDec 28, 2017
Call Me by Your Name shares its inherent problem with any screenplay that discards the role of memory in the novel on which it was based. A stilted, trite screenplay full of unconvincing and un-naturalistic dialogue might be compelling if itCall Me by Your Name shares its inherent problem with any screenplay that discards the role of memory in the novel on which it was based. A stilted, trite screenplay full of unconvincing and un-naturalistic dialogue might be compelling if it were the voice of the 17-year-old central character. But as written by James Ivory, Elio is a passive observer. The unlikeable, closeted characters exploit the women in their lives. The abrasive music clashes with the stunning camerawork and handsome locations. This would be better as a silent film. Read the novel. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
4
ScorsescockFeb 1, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The acting and directing are ultimately fine, but the story was weird and gross. A 17 year old falls in love with a 25 year old after the 25 year old comes for a visit to see the 17 year old's father who was the 25 year old's college professor. One of my problems was that the 25 year old and the 17 year old barely talked to each other before they decided they were in love, and this can ultimately be fine showing how a 25 year old like this would only be using the 17 year old for his own perverted reasons. But, they decide to make the characters fall in love and have sex with each other, which is an even worse problem. A 17 year old shouldn't be having this kind of relationship with a man, and the 17 year old's dad says that he's jealous of their relationship. And at the end the 25 year old gets married to another person and the 17 year old gets upset while they apparently still love each other. This movie should be about waiting until you're old enough to do these things and to understand the gross nature of these people not about searching for a love connection or that its okay to gay or to follow your heart, I mean those messages are ultimately fine but it shouldn't convey a message like that, because it's just going to make it sound like you support pedophilia and that's wrong. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
Cookierow7Jan 2, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I read many enthusiastic reviews so I saw this movie yesterday. What a disappointment I cannot begin to say! The only redeeming quality was the cinematography and even then, there are many more beautiful sites in Italy. The actor playing the grad student looked older than his 31 years and all I could think of was statutory rape of a teenager. The father is lauded for being so liberal? Wouldn't he change his attitude if his daughter was involved with a man twice her age, a la Roy Moore? I never bought into the immense attractiveness of the grad student. He seemed an arrogant, condescending **** hole. The ugly American abroad. Is the message of the movie just follow your desires come what may? I didn't buy the romance at all. What about the girl he is having intercourse with? What about condoms in this day and age? Yikes! No character is concerned with anyone else, except the mother. and the girl friend. Is this the type of movie that's getting all the accolades this year? The dialogue is stilted, the music corny and interfering. And the scene with the plum, ugh. Sorry folks, I found the whole thing pretty awful! Expand
11 of 47 users found this helpful1136
All this user's reviews
1
BHBarryJan 28, 2018
“Call Me By Your Name” stars Arnie Hammer, Timothee Chalamet and Michael Stuhlberg in this film directed by Luca Guadagnino. This is basically the story of a 17 year old boy and an older male house guest of his parents who, together, bond in“Call Me By Your Name” stars Arnie Hammer, Timothee Chalamet and Michael Stuhlberg in this film directed by Luca Guadagnino. This is basically the story of a 17 year old boy and an older male house guest of his parents who, together, bond in an intense romantic relationship. Filmed on location in Italy, this is a wonderful travelogue and visual description of the beautiful town in which all of the scenes take place and the outstanding cinemaphotography must be acknowledged. Unfortunately, that is where the depth and beauty of the picture ends. There is basically no story save the love the two lead characters find with each other and taking 2 hours and 12 minutes is too long a period of time to tell it. Against the tide of so many positive reviews, all of which I cannot understand, I give this film a 2.0 and suggest that many will find the film as boring and tedious as I did. Expand
4 of 18 users found this helpful414
All this user's reviews
3
swingJan 2, 2018
Not very entertaining or emotive for me. It was pretty boring. Basically a story about nothing except a how 17 year old boy is attracted to a 20 something man. The dialogue is boring and sadly, for Italy, there is little or no gorgeousNot very entertaining or emotive for me. It was pretty boring. Basically a story about nothing except a how 17 year old boy is attracted to a 20 something man. The dialogue is boring and sadly, for Italy, there is little or no gorgeous scenery. Spoiler alert.

The young boy pissed me off by having intercourse with a young girl his age two times, then immediately dumps her to be with the boy he was attracted to in the first place. I felt the parents of the boy were totally unrealistic as well. Not one ounce of humor in the movie. Good acting, but eh.
Expand
7 of 32 users found this helpful725
All this user's reviews
6
markopolousDec 21, 2017
. I felt no real chemistry between Armie Hammer’s Oliver and Timothee Chalamet’s Elio. And that’s in spite of a wicked good performance from Chalemet, who is so completely open-hearted and vulnerable in this performance, if not technically. I felt no real chemistry between Armie Hammer’s Oliver and Timothee Chalamet’s Elio. And that’s in spite of a wicked good performance from Chalemet, who is so completely open-hearted and vulnerable in this performance, if not technically perfect. Truly, one of the best performances I’ve seen by a young man ever. But it’s stranded in a film with a director who doesn’t know how to convey the passion between these two young men (or can’t, due to contractual obligations). I consistently felt that the camera was in the wrong place and that the pacing was wrong too. Somehow, this adaptation managed to feel boring and drawn out, while also rushing through all of the important moments. I don’t think Guadanigno really got into the head of his characters, particularly Chalamet, considering the book is really driven by the intensity of his wavering teenage emotions. It really just didn’t feel organic for me, which is too bad because I truly wanted to love this movie. Yet, I left feeling little emotion, with many of the film’s moments completely vanishing from my memory as I walked out of the theater. Even the film’s last scene, with a heart wrenching performance by Chalamet, seems more like an image I remember out of context than an emotion I feel in my heart. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
AxeTMar 4, 2018
Conventionally well made, well acted and rustic Italy setting evokes very strong sense of summer to its credit. To its unintended discredit the gay sensual love story serves more as cautionary tale of how a generation of touchy feely liberalConventionally well made, well acted and rustic Italy setting evokes very strong sense of summer to its credit. To its unintended discredit the gay sensual love story serves more as cautionary tale of how a generation of touchy feely liberal puss parents are yielding queer sons which ultimately does not bode well for society. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
GuardrailMar 27, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I chose to see this film based upon Metacritic ratings and having seen Armie Hammer in Clint Eastwood's movie J. Edgar. He was fantastic in that film, and the film itself was also quite good. This new film however, is a phony. It's absolutely contrived and pretentious. There's no love to be found in the relationship between the young Elio and Hammer. And there's nothing believable about either character because they don't act or develop in any way -- we just see their breasts, body hair, etc., in close-up and listen to a lot of cheap, inauthentic pickup-bar talk from Hammer as he slowly tricks the boy. Hammer's character "Oliver" is a fraud.

The whole thing is no more than the story of a sexual predator manipulating a young boy, and a bunch of silly everything-else, none of which matters to the story. The gutless Michael Stuhlbarg character (the boy's father) is used in the end to bookend a long, tiring and otherwise linear expose' to nowhere. What he says to his son is compassionate, I'll give it that, in a context-less way, but is not enough to redeem the film or rationalize the abuse. And if in thinking about seeing this film the word Italy grabbed you, you've been conned. Nothing Cinema Paradiso or Il Postino here. It's a waste of Italy. The boy's parents, their existence, incidental characters, the Italian landscape, are just prop pieces there to rationalize a vulgar, valueless story of abuse. Who cares about the landscape if you're worried about a young boy in the hands of a predator. My date and I grew uncomfortable with the extensive camera shots of the boy - his body parts, masturbation scenes, etc., which continued throughout the film. At one point, he ejaculates into a peach (which he has used as a sex toy), and then Oliver comes and drinks the contents. We are then asked to interpret Elio's attempt to stop Oliver from doing this as Elio's desire for love and not mere use as a sex object by Oliver. This silly scene has been heralded by critics as monumental, cinematic progress, the finest scene in film, etc., but I think for most of us, it was where we lost hope for the boy, and for the film itself. Perhaps the film is some kind of twisted meditation on lust versus love, and as to how the lust-predator person abuses the heart (and trust) of the love person. Certainly this is what transpires. Maybe this is why the critics love it. Or are the critics themselves lost in the twist themselves? Abuse is abuse. It is not love. Lust, we all experience. The audience is asked to view it all as a love story, but it is not. Walking out to my car, my date fully disgusted, I recalled feelings from earlier in my life when I might have been less tolerant -- a consciousness, a remembrance of angry gays hell-bent on force-normalizing their rationalization of lust on people they insist upon offending. A reaction, a step backwards for me personally to think in these terms, and I paid $26 for it.
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
kittenfoodFeb 12, 2018
Of gay movies I've seen, this has to be the least romantic portrayal between two characters. These guys didn't seem to have any connection that led them into the romance. The tired storyline of two straight-type males finding some sort ofOf gay movies I've seen, this has to be the least romantic portrayal between two characters. These guys didn't seem to have any connection that led them into the romance. The tired storyline of two straight-type males finding some sort of lust towards each other, usually through some sort of buddy-buddy brother-type relationship. It's getting so old. I was so tired of this movie by the time they finally got together. And when they did, I knew the story wasn't going to go anywhere...and of course it didn't.

I'll give 2 points for the only good part of the film, the dialogue between dad and son at the end of the film. But, a good monologue does not make a movie. I agree with The New Yorker's review of this film. Not character driven by any means.
Expand
3 of 19 users found this helpful316
All this user's reviews
0
SuperMax156Dec 13, 2017
A film about pederasty which romanticises the act of grooming a young boy for pedophilia. Hollywood, the home of rape and molestation is a class act. Avoid at all costs.
12 of 78 users found this helpful1266
All this user's reviews
3
GreatMartinDec 22, 2017
This is a very hard review for me to write as I am a pushover, a sucker, an incurable romantic for love stories especially one that may be about a gay couple so I was looking forward to “Call Me by Your Name”. I’ve read nothing but ravesThis is a very hard review for me to write as I am a pushover, a sucker, an incurable romantic for love stories especially one that may be about a gay couple so I was looking forward to “Call Me by Your Name”. I’ve read nothing but raves about the film when in film festivals and it has been nominated for the Golden Globe and sure to be nominated for an Oscar for Best Film.

The acting, as reported, is very good with a few minor quibbles but that mainly has to do with the story, the scenery in Northern Italy is at times breathtaking and at other times quiet, serene while the musical soundtrack at times can be jarring here and there.

While there is good chemistry between Armie Hammer, playing 24-year-old Oliver, and Timothee Chalamet as 17-year-old Elio the much-needed passion that is written and hinted about isn’t there in the writing. The former has been hired as a summer intern to the latter’s father, an archaeology professor, Mr. Perlman played by Michael Stuhlbarg.

While the main story is about Elio, a very well rounded educated, piano playing, multilingual youngster, coming of age that is experiencing sexual confusion, Oliver is the very handsome, sexy, sexual, amiable stranger who Elio is attracted to.

The main failure of the movie, surprisingly enough, is James Ivory who has written and directed movies that showed sexiness and sex in more rounded, physical, explicit and meaningfulness, such as “Maurice”, than in the screenplay he has written for this film. To a certain extent he is aided and abetted by the director Luca Guadannino.

In a 131 minute film there are, maybe, about 30 moving minutes, one that is funny involving a peach, another of Timothee Chalamant in a silent, moving, several minutes in length headshot and one startling, emotionally involving monologue by Michael Stuhlbarg along with maybe 30 minutes of scenery.

“Call Me by Your Name” is rated R for some hinted at sex, some language and except for Stuhlbarg’s moving, brilliant monologue it was mainly a big disappointment to me.
Expand
4 of 26 users found this helpful422
All this user's reviews
0
FortifierFeb 14, 2018
This is not a movie about true love; it is a film that reflects the Ancient Greek pederasty practices that historians certainly do not recall with awe and beauty. It is because this film attempts to normalize pedophilia that I would neverThis is not a movie about true love; it is a film that reflects the Ancient Greek pederasty practices that historians certainly do not recall with awe and beauty. It is because this film attempts to normalize pedophilia that I would never recommend it to anyone. Expand
4 of 30 users found this helpful426
All this user's reviews
6
TheDavoNov 25, 2017
This movie is good but it's not 95 good as the aggregate score of the critics has it now as I write this review. Saw it at a film fest and it wasn't even the best film I saw there. In the bottom 3rd of the films I saw.
2 of 19 users found this helpful217
All this user's reviews
7
StevieGJDDec 1, 2017
This is a lovely film. It is filled with intelligent, cultured and good looking people. The Italian town, countryside and villa where the majority of the film take place could not be more inviting. The blossoming of the relationship isThis is a lovely film. It is filled with intelligent, cultured and good looking people. The Italian town, countryside and villa where the majority of the film take place could not be more inviting. The blossoming of the relationship is both romantic and understandable. The acting is excellent, as are the art direction and cinematography. The final scene upon which the credits are layered, is incredibly moving. All but the truly homophobic will find something to love about this beautiful, tender film. My only complaint is not really a complaint, it is just a sad fact: the world in which these characters reside does not exist. It would be lovely if it did. But, alas it does not. It is a kind of fantasy place where everyone is understanding, accepting and kind, nobody is judgmental and bigotry does not exist. This is a very good, but not amazing, film. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryJan 24, 2018
Even though they speak mostly English (with plenty of subtitled French & Italian), this is undeniably a foreign film. The location in Italy make it obvious, but the languid pacing is another hallmark of imports. The budding romance takesEven though they speak mostly English (with plenty of subtitled French & Italian), this is undeniably a foreign film. The location in Italy make it obvious, but the languid pacing is another hallmark of imports. The budding romance takes plenty of time to blossom. Timothée Chalamet plays a 17- year-old who lives with his family in an old villa. When an American doctoral student (Armie Hammer) visits for the summer, their initial indifference grows into desire. It develops slowly, but with a quiet sensuality. Chalamet has deservedly been getting lots of awards buzz because he captures the spontaneous enthuiasim of a teen, while revealing naive confusion and touching depth. Hammer also turns in a strong performance. The expressions of their love is tender and unafraid. Ultimately, it's a heartfelt, beautifully made story of a powerful emotional bond. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JalemanyJan 24, 2018
Excellent, very enjoyable and tasty film. Slow and beautiful burner. Slightly elitist, but why not ...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GrumpyReviewerJan 15, 2018
This is probably the most beautiful movie I have seen in years - in my life, perhaps. I find it hard to choose a bunch of words to explain how deep and heartbreaking this movie is... I feel this movie, deeply; but it's just hard to explain itThis is probably the most beautiful movie I have seen in years - in my life, perhaps. I find it hard to choose a bunch of words to explain how deep and heartbreaking this movie is... I feel this movie, deeply; but it's just hard to explain it all.

The buzz attracted me to it; sat down without much knowledge and by the end I had tears in my eyes and the feeling I had experienced something so unforgettable. This is a masterpiece, this is a work of art. The strong acting (Timothée Chalamet is a vision of melancholy and curiosity), the beautifully written script, the shots, the gorgeous direction by Luca Guadagnino, the music (the songs by Sufjan Stevens are haunting, dreamlike); the nostalgia of it all. I have lived moments in my life that passed, that are forever gone; but left their marks in me. And this is what this moving story is about. This is so much more than a "love story" between Elio and Oliver, a young boy and an older man who discover each other during a summer in Italy, in the 80s. It is about moments; memories, what we carry with us through the years, what is left in the past and how important events will change us forever.

"Call me by your name" needs to be seen, known, shared, celebrated.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
foxgroveJan 25, 2018
A sublime film. Achingly well written. Beautifully and subtly performed and directed with such delicacy that you can feel and smell the environment. The score is pretty great too which includes an appropriately titled song called' mystery ofA sublime film. Achingly well written. Beautifully and subtly performed and directed with such delicacy that you can feel and smell the environment. The score is pretty great too which includes an appropriately titled song called' mystery of Love', which is just gorgeous. The film looks wonderful,Sounds Wonderful and is one to be seen again and again. Timothee Chalamet stands out and Armie Hammer has never been better. Everyone may be talking about that fruity scene, but it is Michael Stuhlbarg's end monologue that raises the hairs on one's neck and arms. The scene is an electric wow and I doubt we will see its like for quite some time. Bravo. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticFeb 3, 2018
A film that puts you in the mind of a young man searching through his feelings as a stranger comes into his life. I became enamored with the confidence that is shown by our two leads, they play off each other so well. The finale of this filmA film that puts you in the mind of a young man searching through his feelings as a stranger comes into his life. I became enamored with the confidence that is shown by our two leads, they play off each other so well. The finale of this film is one of the best finale's of the year, from Elio's father to the emotional phone call at the end, I was blown away. Also Italy has never looked better in a film. A Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews