Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 20, 2017
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 427 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
274
Mixed:
114
Negative:
39
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
FlexedacornJan 29, 2018
When I first saw the trailer for the Jumanji sequel, I was a little offended. My first reaction was that they were taking a great child hood movie of mine and turning it into a comedy. After seeing some positive reviews online, I decided toWhen I first saw the trailer for the Jumanji sequel, I was a little offended. My first reaction was that they were taking a great child hood movie of mine and turning it into a comedy. After seeing some positive reviews online, I decided to give it a shot. Needless to say, I was thoroughly impressed! The film was more of a spiritual successor then an actually sequel, and it was not just funny but a well-structured movie. For someone like myself that has played video games all my life, it was a real treat with all of the game jokes. All of the actors did a great job making this film work, with Jack Black really standing out. Every scene he was in brought a smile or laughter from me. If you are a Jumanji purest and want to see a movie similar to the original, you will be probably walk away disappointed. If you throw out preconceived notions and just want a fun & entertaining film, then this is an overall good family film to see. (Slight cursing from Kevin Heart) Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
bpletch05Mar 6, 2018
Pretty entertaining movie. I had no real expectations going into this but i enjoyed the film. I thought they did a good job of incorporating the different video game elements, and the humor throughout the film was mostly good. Did not enjoyPretty entertaining movie. I had no real expectations going into this but i enjoyed the film. I thought they did a good job of incorporating the different video game elements, and the humor throughout the film was mostly good. Did not enjoy Kevin Hart too much, thought he could have been funnier but overall an enjoyable movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ledfilmsJan 6, 2018
Such a beautiful tribute to the wonderful and never forgotten actor, Robin Williams! Of course as many can tell this was not a sequel and did not feel like a sequel whatsoever, but it was and came off well as a continuation bringing our lovedSuch a beautiful tribute to the wonderful and never forgotten actor, Robin Williams! Of course as many can tell this was not a sequel and did not feel like a sequel whatsoever, but it was and came off well as a continuation bringing our loved classic into the modern society. The humor was silly and unique, bringing a laugh to so many. The cast was absolutely top-notch and brought their characters forward and sold it despite many opposite traits of the actors and characters. Strong and confident Dwayne Johnson playing a terrified teenager? Jack Black playing a popular teenage girl? There's much more and the performances were just spot on. They tied everything back together just like in any well made movie, and you can't forget the very well written "Indiana Jones" feel soundtrack. This film is definitely not one to be forgotten! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
shoulderoforionMar 6, 2018
passable. not great, not terribly awful, just about right in the middle, actually better than i expected it to be, the special & practical effects in this movie were top notch, the casting was alright, the story was simple. there are worsepassable. not great, not terribly awful, just about right in the middle, actually better than i expected it to be, the special & practical effects in this movie were top notch, the casting was alright, the story was simple. there are worse ways to spend 2 hrs. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ODMAN03Mar 8, 2018
I thought that the movie was good. It had mostly good jokes, with good but too much CGI, an ending that I didn't like an good acting. It was mostly the ending that made me not like it as much. And there were some other things that didn't makeI thought that the movie was good. It had mostly good jokes, with good but too much CGI, an ending that I didn't like an good acting. It was mostly the ending that made me not like it as much. And there were some other things that didn't make sense. But I thought that it was a good movie Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
fervillagonMar 8, 2018
Historia divertida con varios guiños a la película original. Destaca el humor (aunque a veces sea un poco absurdo). Ingeniosa adaptación del concepto original de juego de mesa al concepto de videojuego, Jumanji se renueva¡¡.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BooyahMediaMar 10, 2018
It's not the greatest movie ever, but it so incredibly fun at times it definitely worth a watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MarvelJoeMar 12, 2018
I gotta say, I thought it was going to turned bad but it turns out surprisingly funny. Yeah, there was a lot of movie clichés we already seen a billion times but this was a really fun film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
sjdebieMar 13, 2018
Very pleasantly surprised by this was was worried about this film with the original being one of my favourite childhood films but they did a great job and had many many laughs and a great cast.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
VirgonoShakaMar 24, 2018
I can say this for Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle: It was way better than I expected, even getting more that a couple of genuine laughs out of me, and having a good, if nothing special, story, with some good action set pieces, and someI can say this for Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle: It was way better than I expected, even getting more that a couple of genuine laughs out of me, and having a good, if nothing special, story, with some good action set pieces, and some memorable moments. Nothing special, but a fun ride nevertheless. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
qMar 24, 2018
Jumangi was a pleasant diversion for an early evening: lots of silliness with a quasi-heart-warming ending. I have no familiarity with video games, and so some of the characters and events were no doubt lost on me. All four of the principalJumangi was a pleasant diversion for an early evening: lots of silliness with a quasi-heart-warming ending. I have no familiarity with video games, and so some of the characters and events were no doubt lost on me. All four of the principal characters are stereotypes of personalities one can encounter among high school kids, and it was an interesting idea for each of them, once sucked into the game, to be stuck in a body drastically different from the bodies in which they had grown up. Dwayne Johnson attempted to play the role of a scrawny geek suddenly endowed with an immense, powerful physique; but his acting chops were not sufficient to pull it off. (Johnson, in every movie of his I have seen, basically plays himself.) So the movie was by no means great art, but it was lots of fast-paced improbable fun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
CathexisArcanaMar 27, 2018
PROS: 1) The adult cast is a good ensemble, although I feel like Kevin Hart's portrayal of Fridge is far more spastic than the younger actor, so someone was not matching the other. 2) Karen Gillan in Tomb Raider-esque attire. 3) It's mostlyPROS: 1) The adult cast is a good ensemble, although I feel like Kevin Hart's portrayal of Fridge is far more spastic than the younger actor, so someone was not matching the other. 2) Karen Gillan in Tomb Raider-esque attire. 3) It's mostly funny when it tries to be, and even when it fails, it's not embarrassing. 4) The video game setting is a cool way to update the concept. 5) The visuals are excellent. CONS: 1) The villain is incredibly uninspired. 2) The story beats are formulaic (no surprise, there, but hey, I gotta mark it zero, dude). 3) I know this is pedantic, but most video games do not have playable characters that have no offensive skills in a clearly adventure-based game. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
robbywarren93Jan 24, 2018
A really fun time at the movies that's a lot better than the first. The four leads are funny and work very well together, and it's overall just a really good and funny time.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Datzman290Jan 5, 2018
I went into this movie with low expectations, and maybe that was the key to my really enjoying it. I found it to be a fun escape from daily life on a rainy afternoon. Over the top, tongue in cheek, unreality. I enjoyed the cast and their roleI went into this movie with low expectations, and maybe that was the key to my really enjoying it. I found it to be a fun escape from daily life on a rainy afternoon. Over the top, tongue in cheek, unreality. I enjoyed the cast and their role plays. Would I recommend it? Yes. Would I watch it again when it hits DVD/TV? Likely. Would I buy it? Probably not. Am I glad I went today to spend some quality time with my son? Absolutely. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryDec 29, 2017
Four high schoolers end up in the dangerous game, only this time it's in a jungle . They must solve a mystery and defeat bad guys (and wild animals) to save the game and their own lives. What makes this movie fun: watching 3 stars playFour high schoolers end up in the dangerous game, only this time it's in a jungle . They must solve a mystery and defeat bad guys (and wild animals) to save the game and their own lives. What makes this movie fun: watching 3 stars play against type: Dwayne Johnson (a nerd in a hunk's body), Jack Black (the hottest girl in school) and Kevin Hart (from a football hunk to a diminutive wise ass…almost everything he says is funny). The action/adventure stuff is pretty standard with narrow escapes and noisy fights, but the overall energy and good-natured repartee make it sufficiently entertaining. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
jonmitDec 29, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised by Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle. It delivered the goods as an escapist fantasy holiday movie. With solid special effects, an A-list cast, good action and effective use of humor, this movie flies by while you'reI was pleasantly surprised by Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle. It delivered the goods as an escapist fantasy holiday movie. With solid special effects, an A-list cast, good action and effective use of humor, this movie flies by while you're in the theater. Some of the humor is crude and misses the mark, but on the whole the dialogue is witty and the "Jumanji" universe created in this film is immersive and fun. The Rock and Jack Black stand out as excellent "avatars" for their lesser known teenage selves. Kevin Hart was also very funny in his role. Don't expect Shakespeare, but worth seeing at least once in the theater. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
FonkeDec 31, 2017
This movie had a great humor. The acting was very well, but the story was very predictable. Overall still a good movie to watch.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
luckystrike_bhJan 1, 2018
I had a lot of fun with this movie. It was a pleasant surprise as my expectations were low going in. Both the kid and adult actor played their roles well. The villain was one dimensional and shallow. Kevin Hart was my favorite.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
43in2014Jan 12, 2018
The short review: This is a film that's targetted more at children and has many funny parts. It peaks around the middle and then loses some of both the momentum and the plot towards the end.

Related media: I have seen the first film on TV,
The short review: This is a film that's targetted more at children and has many funny parts. It peaks around the middle and then loses some of both the momentum and the plot towards the end.


Related media: I have seen the first film on TV, about ten years after it first came out. The plot device was ridiculous but the film was meaningful and interesting. I think Zathura was an unrelated sequel.


What's it like?: Four people get sucked into a video game version of Jumanji, a board game, and they have to work together to complete the game before they use up all their lives so that they can return back to the real world.


Pros: When these four people were first sucked into the game and they first discover their characters in the game, it was really funny. There a many other funny instances in the film too.


Cons: 1) Other than these funny instances, some of both the momentum and the plot are lost towards the end.


2) The plot of the game, not the film, is that the villain goes into the jungle of Jumanji to find a green jewel that is embedded into the eye of a giant jaguar statue. He gets hold of the jewel and is now empowered with the ability to control the jaguars in the jungle. He now plans to use his goons to take control of the surrounding territory. However, the jewel is stolen from him and handed over to these four people so that it can be returned to the jaguar statue. Even so, the villain was still capable of controlling the jaguars after losing the jewel, which doesn't make sense.


3) The flow of the film and thus the game felt linear, and that's never a sign of a good game.


How would the the different age groups rate it?

Children: Good
Teens: Good
Young adults: Good
Medium age adults: Average
Old adults: Average


Rating: 3/5 (no half scores). Save your money and watch it on TV.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
ndyinesJan 18, 2018
What a fun story, joyful film, every character in this film was great. But I don't feel if this movie is a Jumanji.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
OrigamiPandaJan 23, 2018
One of the biggest surprises of the year. This film is very sharply written and directed and features 4 very strong central comedic performances. Far better than the lackluster trailers would have suggested. A fairly clever teenage comedyOne of the biggest surprises of the year. This film is very sharply written and directed and features 4 very strong central comedic performances. Far better than the lackluster trailers would have suggested. A fairly clever teenage comedy that wrings every gasp of comedy out of it's premise as possible. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
DavidTejadaJan 26, 2018
"JUMANJI 2 gives a powerful main cast (Johnson, Hart, Black, Gillan) and great laughs at its times, even the chemistry is so strong you can't complaint about it. The only thing is that it does disappoint when it comes to the action scenes,"JUMANJI 2 gives a powerful main cast (Johnson, Hart, Black, Gillan) and great laughs at its times, even the chemistry is so strong you can't complaint about it. The only thing is that it does disappoint when it comes to the action scenes, some visual effects and the poor characterization from the rest of the cast". ///// Even though I haven't seen the first (1995) what I can see here is a movie that gave more than I expected... most of the gags provided by Black and Johnson. It was a funny flick that I will remember for a good time. The environment of Jumanji also looked fantastic (however almost everything was CGI). SADDLY THE BAD NEWS were the villain, (Cannavale, supposedly the bad-ass turned out to be the most mediocre character), the action sequences (as told before: Pure CGI and mostly slow), the confusion created in the beggining and the ending (the character "Alex" in real life creates so many doubts). ///// Still, what made the movie so special was the unbelievable chemistry between the gang something probably that I won't see in a long time. So if you want to have some gags and pass a good time, don't you miss Jumanji 2 (60%) Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
alissa914Dec 22, 2017
Well, it was better than Last Jedi, if that means anything. A typical popcorn flick that was surprisingly decent. It had a good pace to it and the cast was actually very good. Nick Jonas surprises me with his acting ability every time,Well, it was better than Last Jedi, if that means anything. A typical popcorn flick that was surprisingly decent. It had a good pace to it and the cast was actually very good. Nick Jonas surprises me with his acting ability every time, seriously. So how was it? Well, if you've seen the trailer, you've seen all the really good jokes in the film. There were a few jokes here and there that were mildly amusing but nothing as funny as what's in the trailer. Kevin Hart does his typical "I'm not Chris Tucker, but I act like him" schtick, Jeff Black was what I imagine a teenage girl would be if she found out she were a guy. Karen Gillian (sp?) was actually decent here and Dwayne Johnson always makes you love him when he's on screen. It plays off like a game but after an hour or so, the time was just flying by. Good enough to spend $14 on for a ticket but don't expect to be laughing too much if you've seen the trailer. It's still a good movie though and I'm not sorry I went. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
7
MrNikitaTVDec 21, 2017
Джуманджи 2- это хорошое милое приключение. Сюжет в фильме в некоторых местах провисает, но держится стабильно. Главные персонажи очень понравились и их хорошо сыграли актеры. Вот, что провисает, так это главный злодей и иногда графика. ЮморДжуманджи 2- это хорошое милое приключение. Сюжет в фильме в некоторых местах провисает, но держится стабильно. Главные персонажи очень понравились и их хорошо сыграли актеры. Вот, что провисает, так это главный злодей и иногда графика. Юмор очень крутой и забавный. Так, что можно сказать что этот фильм на один раз. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
deshibasaraDec 21, 2017
not even the comedy trio Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson-Kevin Hart-Jack Black can make this movie interesting to watch from beginning to end.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
Jess_HillDec 29, 2017
A film which neither exceeded expectations, nor fell beneath them, this is a fun adventure with some genuine laughs; an entertaining experience in general. The predictable script is saved by the excellent casting, and with fast pacing andA film which neither exceeded expectations, nor fell beneath them, this is a fun adventure with some genuine laughs; an entertaining experience in general. The predictable script is saved by the excellent casting, and with fast pacing and some memorable action sequences, it's a perfectly acceptable genre film that is a solid update of the original. Whilst it tries to have its cake and eat it too with regard to some of the meta-commentary, which is irritating, overall it is sufficiently enjoyable to warrant watching, but is probably best suited to families on movie night. 6.37/10 Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesDec 20, 2017
I was never a big fan of the 1995 film (only saw it once at a sleepover as a kid) so I went into this without any expectations (the trailers didn't sway me one way or another). It is a sequel to JUMANJI by title only, and the plot is prettyI was never a big fan of the 1995 film (only saw it once at a sleepover as a kid) so I went into this without any expectations (the trailers didn't sway me one way or another). It is a sequel to JUMANJI by title only, and the plot is pretty basic, but Johnson and Hart have solid chemistry and Jack Black playing the soul of a teenage girl is great. Is it art? No. But it is a fun time in a time where the world could use some. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
6
sjwilkinDec 22, 2017
I went into the movie with (very) low expectations which perhaps helped me enjoy it quite a bit more. For the most part its just a silly silly comedy that spoofs itself and does genuinely have some decent laughs. Felt like the whole movie wasI went into the movie with (very) low expectations which perhaps helped me enjoy it quite a bit more. For the most part its just a silly silly comedy that spoofs itself and does genuinely have some decent laughs. Felt like the whole movie was shot in 1 day however. Decent family fun. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
ethanstapleyDec 22, 2017
Relatively amusing but one thing brings this rating down and that is Kevin Hart, he is absolutely awful in this and one of the most unlikeable actors I've seen. Outside of that though there are a few genuine laughs to be had at this film,Relatively amusing but one thing brings this rating down and that is Kevin Hart, he is absolutely awful in this and one of the most unlikeable actors I've seen. Outside of that though there are a few genuine laughs to be had at this film, mostly curtesy of Jack Black though they are still cheap laughs but laughs all the same. I thought the video game aspects of this game were interesting such as the three lives and the non-playable characters. The villain was incredibly non-existent and it never really felt as though there was much threat to the characters. A decent enough action-comedy but I think the concept could have gone a lot further and produced much better results than it did. Also, ditch Kevin Hart. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
joaodestroyerDec 22, 2017
The jokes are witty enough, there's SOLID humor, and the ending is decent. The actors are actually very impressive, and there's good life lessons in here, which I did not expect at all. Go watch this instead of that overrated, over-hyped StarThe jokes are witty enough, there's SOLID humor, and the ending is decent. The actors are actually very impressive, and there's good life lessons in here, which I did not expect at all. Go watch this instead of that overrated, over-hyped Star Wars cash-grab of a franchise. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticDec 23, 2017
A sequel/remake that has an equal number of hits to misses. While acknowledging that the original wasn't a great film it still has a nostalgic place in my heart. This film goes in a different direction which is fine, but it fails to inspireA sequel/remake that has an equal number of hits to misses. While acknowledging that the original wasn't a great film it still has a nostalgic place in my heart. This film goes in a different direction which is fine, but it fails to inspire enough excitement to be fully satisfied with the result. The performances are all solid and they create good moments with their chemistry. These moments are what leads to a mild recommendation. B- Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
6
JKHReviewsDec 29, 2017
'Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle' is very much a teenager flick for teens. That said, it has some considerable traits that make it a good film, from the action induced comedy to the easy and simple plot. What lacks particularly in this film is'Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle' is very much a teenager flick for teens. That said, it has some considerable traits that make it a good film, from the action induced comedy to the easy and simple plot. What lacks particularly in this film is the bond between villain and protagonists. We are told very simply that the antagonist is after the protagonists and that was all. You could even say the wildlife of Jumanji were more threatening than the actual villain. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
mrmonsterJan 16, 2018
A delightfully fun movie. By no means a great movie, but a very funny, good for the whole family kind of movie. I think that it can be greatly enjoyed by both kids and adults.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
RtheomDec 21, 2017
Overall, this movie ranked about the same as most of The Rock's other movies. Not good enough to be something I'd want to watch twice, but not bad enough that I feel like I wasted my time watching it. If you've seen any of The Rock's otherOverall, this movie ranked about the same as most of The Rock's other movies. Not good enough to be something I'd want to watch twice, but not bad enough that I feel like I wasted my time watching it. If you've seen any of The Rock's other movies, you know exactly what you're getting in this movie. It didn't really feel or play like a sequel to Jumanji, it just kinda borrowed the name and could just as easily have been called "Silly Fun Jungle Romp", but that's what you get out of it. A silly, fun, jungle romp. I can't say I'd recommend it, but you also know exactly what you're getting out of this before you go see it. If you don't already know exactly what you're going to get, then you can skip it, it probably won't satisfy you in the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MacsMusicJan 2, 2018
Not all of the jokes work and frankly several of the action scenes really bored me, but this movie has plenty of good stuff. For one, the video game world created is very clever and well-done. There are NPCs, cut scenes, multiple lives, andNot all of the jokes work and frankly several of the action scenes really bored me, but this movie has plenty of good stuff. For one, the video game world created is very clever and well-done. There are NPCs, cut scenes, multiple lives, and character stats in this movie and all of these things are well-done and entertaining. I would call this one of the only good video game movies from this alone. It really feels like the characters are in a modern video game. The best thing about this movie, however, are the big-name actors. I have never enjoyed watching Dwayne Johnson or Kevin Hart as much as I did in this movie as I have in any of their other movies. Jack Black is really great, as usual. Watch it for the performances and good jokes, not the plot or action. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TimW001Feb 14, 2018
Jumanji is a movie that knows what it is and succeeds. It's not going to amaze you with special effects or a suspenseful story. The movie is by the book in every way to make a fun, adventure family movie. Standard and basic in its story andJumanji is a movie that knows what it is and succeeds. It's not going to amaze you with special effects or a suspenseful story. The movie is by the book in every way to make a fun, adventure family movie. Standard and basic in its story and in the way it was filmed. But even so, it is a fun movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
wesker2012Mar 27, 2018
This movie is incredibly boring and generic. The trailers made it look like it would be really funny, but instead its just a very generic predictable teen movie with no depth and a very thin plot. Disappointing, as it has 3 brilliant comedyThis movie is incredibly boring and generic. The trailers made it look like it would be really funny, but instead its just a very generic predictable teen movie with no depth and a very thin plot. Disappointing, as it has 3 brilliant comedy stars in it and a great comedy plot setup. Unfortunately, the film doesn't do anything with it and instead its a quick cash grab using the reputation of the original Jumanji film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
acastanzaDec 20, 2017
Surprisingly funny and engaging. A worthy successor to the nostalgia-laden original. Lots of laughs and a great cast that was clearly enjoying playing their fish-out-of-water parts.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
movieconsultantDec 20, 2017
Plenty of laughs delivered by all the amazing actors in this new Jumanji video game-like world makes this soft reboot one for everyone who just wants a fun time at the movies.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Jan 31, 2018
Yet another testament to the growing Hollywood trend of remakes, sequels, and reboots that only encapsulate a shell of what their predecessors represented. Instead of the tender musings on childhood, adulthood, time, and fear that theYet another testament to the growing Hollywood trend of remakes, sequels, and reboots that only encapsulate a shell of what their predecessors represented. Instead of the tender musings on childhood, adulthood, time, and fear that the original possessed, we get some recycled thematics that you can find in any 80's high school flick. Instead of the smart and effective humor that made the original film so entertaining, we get dick jokes. It simply doesn't even flick a booger in the direction of the original. . .but it's still watchable. Yes, even I'll admit - though I wasn't looking forward to this flick at all (and although I still ended up not even liking it that much) it ended up containing a bit more competency than I was expecting. The video-game-isms are entertaining, the lead performances are definitely stimulating, and even though there are still some glaring, fundamental issues with it, "Jumanji: Welcome To The Jungle" is still somehow worth the watch. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeDec 20, 2017
A standalone sequel to a movie released 22 years ago from now that behaves more like a modern remake for today's standards than what it's supposed to be, this Jumanji attempts to overthrow 1995's Jumanji with many things that the latter didA standalone sequel to a movie released 22 years ago from now that behaves more like a modern remake for today's standards than what it's supposed to be, this Jumanji attempts to overthrow 1995's Jumanji with many things that the latter did not had at the time such as an ensemble cast and many CGI here and there. What's literally scratching my head is the fact that I'm searching for the exact reason why Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle needs to even exist. It's just the same thing I have seen in 1995's Jumanji, only a lot more modernized for today's standards because even mentioning the standards of 1995 are no longer relevant as of today according to this movie. I would say that it was a slight improvement of its predecessor, but where in the film am I supposed to know it's a great time to say this is an improvement of the original film without thinking this is exactly like the original film only more modernized? Do I recommend it? I don't know, but all I can say is that if you have not watched 1995's Jumanji, you're safe to go. Expand
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
8
orangedroogDec 20, 2017
I have got to ask, what more could you possibly ask for from this movie? I went in with no expectations, very skeptical of the reboot of sorts. As soon as the movie starts it has a playful tone that never leaves. It adores it's own charactersI have got to ask, what more could you possibly ask for from this movie? I went in with no expectations, very skeptical of the reboot of sorts. As soon as the movie starts it has a playful tone that never leaves. It adores it's own characters (probably more than we do), but does justice by each one. Nick Jonas is a welcome unexpected addition to the otherwise publicized cast. Great movie, hits every note it aims for, will be an awesome family outing for Christmas time. Do yourself a favor and go into it about as serious about filmmaking as the filmmakers and you will not be disappointed. It would be a sin to not add that Jack Black aced it! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
MusuhJan 16, 2018
Doesn't want to be more, just a good 1 time film, which is funny, and is great fin in a cinema.
It does its job good.

Its not a great film, but it was great for a 1 night fun :)
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
bigscreen454Jan 7, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Take a little adventure throw it in a blender, add some comedy, some romance, comedy, science fiction, and some action, put it on the pulse setting. Then switch to the blend setting. Seconds later you have Jumanji, a pleasant mix of all the popular genres of film. It even goes down easy during digestion. 10 out of 10 Stars. Jumanji is a fun romp in the jungle and no one gets hurt, most importantly, so it was brilliant. The jokes about not getting hurt because they play as avatars were stupendously delightful as well as the rest of the humor. The film is packed with non-stop laughs, but it does stop to remind you that a group of friends can work together and beat the system, a tricky video game system called Jumanji. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
andreacabrera17Dec 21, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All wrong,Like its 1995 predecessor (which itself was based on the 1981 children's book of the same name), the new Jumanji movie will revolve a board game that sucks the players into its insane, action-packed world. However, this time around, the protagonists will be four students playing the game while in detention. Once within, they'll be represented by adult avatars, and their mission will be to find a jewel. The movie's main cast includes Dwayne Johnson as Dr. Smolder Bravestone, Kevin Hart as Moose Finbarr, Karen Gillan as Ruby Roundhouse, Jack Black as Professor Shelly Oberon, Ser'Darius Blane as Anthony "Fridge" Johnson, Nick Jonas and more. Expand
5 of 27 users found this helpful522
All this user's reviews
1
RigerWortisDec 25, 2017
What a **** movie. Didn't Dwayne Johnson and Jack Black have better things to do then be cast in this godawful, generic, dull, CGI jungle-esque, winter-bluster of a film? This movie was one word, "Cheap." The laughs were cheap, the jokesWhat a **** movie. Didn't Dwayne Johnson and Jack Black have better things to do then be cast in this godawful, generic, dull, CGI jungle-esque, winter-bluster of a film? This movie was one word, "Cheap." The laughs were cheap, the jokes were borderline toilet humor, all the kids were miscast and honestly why couldn't they be THEMSELVES. Good job hollywood, proof that young adults don't actually grow or learn anything in life unless they are transformed into better actors and go through a heartfelt journey in a videogame jungle or whatever garbage this film pretends count for an actual story. Nothing stands out about this movie, the villain sucks, the dialogue is juvenile, the music is totally forgettable and thanks to you Sony, for telling me which musical cues to feel emotion from in your bland forgettable cheese-ball cartoon of a film. Had they not started playing something in the background to remind us that we're supposed to feel things that weren't earned whatsoever, I would've just continued to think to myself, "God stop trying to develop or get the audience to relate to this diverse quirky group of breakfast club stand-ins and please get the movie over with already."

Terrible movie. Friend fell asleep towards the end. Woke her up and said, "Don't worry all you missed was CGI Dwayne Johnson riding a motorcycle up a mountain and some retarded villain that no one ever thought mattered get his comeuppance and turn into bugs or whatever." The fact that the only people in my Theater laughing were black people, laughing at a black character, making typical fish-out-of-water jokes, and the fact that this somehow has a higher rating than the original, only proves just how much IQ's have DROPPED since the first film came out. I'm by no means saying the original film is amazing, but at least it was memorable, I expect people to forget about this one in about 3 months. Give a slow clap for Sony as they dig a deeper grave for their own movie studio on your way out of this one.
Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
10
Kes4278Dec 25, 2017
This movie isn’t fun and funny Kevin Hart and Jack Black were awesome in this movie it’s better than the first one!
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
7
somedude14Dec 20, 2017
I saw the original Jumanji when it first came out. I saw this one release day as well. I like both. The first one is more of a fantasy movie with some horror elements, while this one is more of an adventure comedy. It's largely builtI saw the original Jumanji when it first came out. I saw this one release day as well. I like both. The first one is more of a fantasy movie with some horror elements, while this one is more of an adventure comedy. It's largely built around video games and High School bathroom humor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
HypertonicDec 22, 2017
A genuinely enjoyable movie to turn your brain off to. All the cast is amusing, but Jack Black steals the show with most of the, admittedly very juvenile, funny jokes. Go into this movie to have fun, just don't expect a masterpiece.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
AcaciaDec 23, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My husband and I absolutely loved this movie! It is so fun and funny and wildly entertaining. We loved the characters and especially loved the way the avatars were handed out once the kids were in Jumanji. Jack Black, Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart are all hilarious as their characters struggle to reconcile the real person with the game’s avatars. They were wonderful and we laughed a lot at all the shock and surprise and comments from the others. We thought this was a very entertaining movie and if you are looking for something like that, you should really enjoy Jumanji. The adventures they must face in order to work their way through the game are interesting. Karen Gillan, the nerdy girl, now in the hot girl’s body, must learn how to distract men by flipping her hair, pouting her mouth and other moves that are foreign to this good girl. Very fun to watch Gillan go through her moves. Totally entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
epfsecret12Dec 24, 2017
Overall, a good concept littered with cliches. More comedic but expected a more sadistic ending. But hey, no lootboxes.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingDec 24, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyable throughout its runtime, '"Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle" is a welcome sequel to "Jumanji", and an entertaining, hilarious, and action-packed film in its own right.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
francisrgoDec 24, 2017
Just a fun and light-hearted film. Had a lot of great laughs but also a nice message, "YOLO!" No one can replace Robin Williams so I'm glad they changed the story line completely from the original and made it modern.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
TheFlashGamerDec 26, 2017
By no means is Jumanji a bad movie; the plot works, the characters (for the most part) make reasonable actions and the pacing feels as it should. However, a fatal flaw of Jumanji is that while having it's moments the movie doesn't ever shineBy no means is Jumanji a bad movie; the plot works, the characters (for the most part) make reasonable actions and the pacing feels as it should. However, a fatal flaw of Jumanji is that while having it's moments the movie doesn't ever shine too much. In fact the lack of amazing moments really glorifies the stupidity of the movie at times.

During Jumanji there are many moments where the universe basically implodes on itself. There are multiple times where the writers and directors got so lazy where the movie actually hurts from it. For example during the opening scene you see a boy playing on a gaming console. He's holding what looks to be a Playstation controller but later you find he's actually playing on a Atari 2600. Ok then, maybe he modded his system and...wait the graphics look like it's an MS Dos. Moments like this are littered throughout the film and just make certain serious scenes laughable. On top of this every member of the supporting cast is a walking stereotype. You have the nerd, the jock, the preppy girl and the thot. They never budge from their archetype until they reach the world of Jumanji. The problem with this however, is that it leaves you with very little investment in these characters going in. Thankfully the all star cast that plays the Jumanji characters do an outstanding jobs in their roles. They add character to what would be these emotionless husks but the jump in character quality ends up quite jarring. Thankfully the film does have it's moments. While a lot of the jokes didn't quite stick with me there was a few that fit my style of comedy. The film does a great job at using all sorts of comedic styles so at least one or two jokes should stick. On top of this while the main cast might be generic, the fact the film is in a video game makes the other in game characters being one dimensional actually work. The world feels like something Jumanji would make and it really helps tie in with the first movie.

Overall Jumanji while not quite shaping up to the original still stands as it's own film. The comedy sticks for the most part and the world works and ties in with the original. Overall, the movie works and while not being outstanding or memorable it all works.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
shonuffsheffDec 27, 2017
A top 3 Dwayne Johnson performance for me. There's a ton of laughs in this movie. Amazing chemistry from the cast. Enjoyed this way more than I ever expected to.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
higgins404Dec 27, 2017
Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle was a movie that I had no desire to see right away when it first hit theatres. I am a fan of the 1998 Jumanji original movie, so going with the family over holiday seemed like a good idea... eh.

Let's start
Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle was a movie that I had no desire to see right away when it first hit theatres. I am a fan of the 1998 Jumanji original movie, so going with the family over holiday seemed like a good idea... eh.

Let's start with the dialog/ script. It is extremely juvenile. There are multiple awkward sequences and jokes that miss the mark. The teens in this movie were not great, possibly because of the "corny", predictable script they were given. The jokes were aimed at an older audience, stereotyping "millennials". It rouse did not work, even though it was carried on through the entire movie. The only saving grace in this movie were Kevin Hart, Dwayne Johnson, and Karen Gillan. Their ad-lib moments and their chemistry is the only thing that made this mess watchable. If I had to give my true rating of this movie, I would give it a 3.5. This movie missed the mark with me and fell below my already low-set expectations. With the nature of the attempted humor, I think the targeted audience is 37-55.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
DubeauDec 28, 2017
Jumanji is a passable movie. It's a mix comedy and action. It plays a lot on the switch body humor, so it's funny at first but it brings nothing new to the genre. I think the younger audience would appreciate it more. For a movie inside aJumanji is a passable movie. It's a mix comedy and action. It plays a lot on the switch body humor, so it's funny at first but it brings nothing new to the genre. I think the younger audience would appreciate it more. For a movie inside a videogame there is a big lack of videogame references or interfaces. And if you get a couple of principle in place, it doesn't feel like it that much. The action is not always well filmed, it's a bit all over the place at time. The FX are unequal. The best performances were from Gillian and Black. I give it a 55%. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TsarVadimDec 28, 2017
This movie is predictable, but fun. No one can apparently step in the shoes of Robin Williams, who made the original Jumanji a family classic. However, this movie is rife with too many sex and dick jokes which are not funny and not suitableThis movie is predictable, but fun. No one can apparently step in the shoes of Robin Williams, who made the original Jumanji a family classic. However, this movie is rife with too many sex and dick jokes which are not funny and not suitable for children. Why are they sexualizing our children?! It's disgusting. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Dec 28, 2017
If you're watching this film just to trash it over the original, don't even bother but if you want to watch a nice and surprisingly entertaining action and adventure film, well this one is a good choice. This is just a simple product ofIf you're watching this film just to trash it over the original, don't even bother but if you want to watch a nice and surprisingly entertaining action and adventure film, well this one is a good choice. This is just a simple product of entertainment, it won't make you forget the first one at all and it's not gonna change the world, also it never aims for something more and my friends that's refreshing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
FolderMathDec 29, 2017
After the drag of the first half-hour, the movie becomes a standard high-budget action-comedy, but with both action and comedy coming off as a tad lackluster. I did like the drum music that everyone in the game could hear, and signalled thatAfter the drag of the first half-hour, the movie becomes a standard high-budget action-comedy, but with both action and comedy coming off as a tad lackluster. I did like the drum music that everyone in the game could hear, and signalled that something was about to happen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
PipeCDec 30, 2017
A ductile Sunday follow-up that shatters the pledges raised from its wheedling envelope. Within the culture broth that has become American cinema, lies adaptation, remake, reboot and continuation; "Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle" drinksA ductile Sunday follow-up that shatters the pledges raised from its wheedling envelope. Within the culture broth that has become American cinema, lies adaptation, remake, reboot and continuation; "Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle" drinks from these four disadvantaged categories. A hybrid that becomes an adaptation of the mythical reference book, a remake of the legacy and mythology of 90's story, a reboot of the time and customs in which the tale develops, a sequel when posing a contemporary plot with a fascinating twist, and even reaches to play with homage in certain fragments that venerate the motion picture from twenty-two years ago. With sufficient controversy and critic, more non-exemplary ideas are cooking up, desperately, with major studios as sponsors, while, quietly and gradually, small indie productions are dedicated to being such small minority.

Jake Kasdan directs the flick that means the kick off for a possible needless saga of stories that, according to the grossing at the box office — which are predicted favorable —, will have the chance of arriving in the years to come. Basically, the mythology is preserved, a mythical board game in which every roll of the dice means a drastic change in the real world of the players, however, the variable in the declared sequel reverses the rules, it's founded on the transporting of the players inside the game — now video game cassettes — personified by the sexiest, most hilarious and requested movie stars of today. So far, everything looks interesting and potentially functional, however, this game is missing pieces. The script starts to waver hardly in the introduction of the new batch of actors, some high school boys who fit perfectly in the stereotyped juvenile roles, only, to pour them in the cloned characters of modern cinema. Although the film takes its time presenting the four young protagonists, the spectator never gets good vibes with any of them due to a lousy and clichéd sketch of characters, their attitudes fall into the abhorrent common places and end up in those same places. It's worth highlighting the high level of predictability that the script shows, it's possible to anticipate each move that story is going to execute, besides, adding a poor chemistry and charm between the quartet of the young characters. Likewise, we shouldn't expect any kind of identification with the plastic avatars in the jungle-themed game, equally pigeonholed in the roles of strength, intelligence, beauty and stupidity; nor with an antagonist who allows different disgusting insects come out from inside his ears or mouth. Yeah man, the film knows how to build up ephemeral situations in which the vis comica of each one of them pops up, nevertheless, it never touches the same emotional, comical and even sinister dimensions of the feature film directed by Joe Johnston, where we watched a newcomer Kirsten Dunst along with the acting master Robin Williams. It's indisputable that thanks to the busiest and most popular cast, led by the always hilarious Jack Black, the story remains standing and manages to stretch a dynamic and kinetic pace as much as possible, however, it does by an odious predictability and some visual landscapes that don't exploit the huge possibilities that they held in their hands, even though most of the locations are real places (Hawaii) and its special medium-level digital effects. As is customary in these types of proposals, the film is as chaotic as the situations it exhibits due to traditional symptoms, that are hidden behind all the creative process. The first and main trigger is the number of screenwriters, four writers proposing and laughing at an executive table while they prepare a cocktail of dramatic and sidesplitting moments as unequally functional as necessarily witty. As a strong point, a cunning, subtle play around the video-game-themed background, the screenwriters gave with an ingenious magical formula to overturn the storylines or the different settings of newfangled video game consoles with, of course, a narrative and parody purpose, however, many of these situations work well, even though the film is riddled with them.

Jake Kasdan's "Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle" brings together three of the funniest movie stars of the moment, one "Doctor Who" Scottish actress and one former member of the American pop-rock band Jonas Brothers to deliver a free-entertainment film with the exact doses of nostalgia and new content, devoid of any drop of true originality, but brimming with one-liners and comical moments that follows the proper procedures of the typical mega-studio productions in the genre. A funny follow-up to close a year of surprising cinema of just quality, therefore, simply stays in that way, in a correct and admissible time killer, not something really substantial. One more play in the lucrative game called Hollywood. A game, just that.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
mrdr4gonJan 1, 2018
One of the biggest surprises of the year. This film is very sharply written and directed and features 4 very strong central comedic performances. Far better than the lackluster trailers would have suggested. A fairly clever teenage comedyOne of the biggest surprises of the year. This film is very sharply written and directed and features 4 very strong central comedic performances. Far better than the lackluster trailers would have suggested. A fairly clever teenage comedy that wrings every gasp of comedy out of it's premise as possible. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RolodexJan 1, 2018
Jack Black by itself is worth the entry price, a really funny movie. Surprisingly the movie to see and not the Last Jedi.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
TheGreatestShowJan 4, 2018
I really wanted to love this movie, but in the end it was just an indifferent "Meh." It was predictable and unoriginal and that cast had absolutely zero chemistry.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Mihael_Prislin0Jan 6, 2018
Welcome to the jungle, **** This movie is so funny! Kevin Hart is the king of comedies and jokes based upon black people! The story is not that bad but it could've been more details, but it's fine. I watched it in 3D and the visual effectsWelcome to the jungle, **** This movie is so funny! Kevin Hart is the king of comedies and jokes based upon black people! The story is not that bad but it could've been more details, but it's fine. I watched it in 3D and the visual effects were amazing! You should see it in theatres while it still is! You won't be dissapointed! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
ChesterFTOFJan 6, 2018
Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle is an interesting, if seemingly confused film. Directed by Jake Kasdan, the film seems uncertain as to what it wants to be. Upon googling the genre, one can find five listed by the search engine: Action,Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle is an interesting, if seemingly confused film. Directed by Jake Kasdan, the film seems uncertain as to what it wants to be. Upon googling the genre, one can find five listed by the search engine: Action, adventure, comedy, fantasy and Family. Already, that’s a handful. Romance subplots are also attempted, in addition to moments which seem to be attempting to invoke horror. Despite it’s 12A rating, it seemed determined to squeeze as many curse words as they could, and while there was very little actual blood, the violence was cranked up as far as they dared. You see a man get mauled by a hippopotamus, another erupt into an explosion, a gunshot wound etc. I feel it’s rather safe to say it attempted to please everybody. In doing so, it’s failed to please me. I would much rather a film focus on a few things and excel, rather than trying to do everything and winding up mediocre at best.

Boasting a very respectable 77% on rotten tomatoes, at first glance it may seem that i’m the minority in my low to middling opinions on the film. Upon further examination, however, it seems that many critics were instead rather uninterested by the film. Currently, it’s average critic rating is a 6.1. This doesn’t mean it’s a bad film by any means, but it instead shows how the ‘Tomatometer’ can occasionally be misleading. Were it rated at a 5.9, I believe the film would no longer be eligible for a fresh rating, let alone the ‘certified fresh’ it has received.

Overall, I feel the main issue was the writing. I feel very little effort was put into the writing, particularly regarding the dialogue. Much of it felt clumsy, and painfully cheesy at times. It was so distracting that at one point my sister, who had seen (and enjoyed) the film at a previous date, leaned across to let me know I might cringe at the next scene. for myself personally, I didn’t find it any more painful that the rest of the film. For other viewers, however, it may be an issue.

The performances, overall, were actually one of the stronger points of the film. While the actors had to deal with the previously mentioned poor dialogue, many of the actors were able to do their job well. Jack Black, though I found his character infuriating at times, was consistent, and the audience I was with seemed to enjoy his antics. Karen Gillan portrayed a shy teenage girl notably well, and I was even pleasantly surprised by Nick Jonas (yes, I had to google which brother it was). Jonas’s character of Alex was even given a mature, bittersweet ending. Without spoiling specifics of the film, his character’s end was different to the rest of the team. Unfortunately, it also raised some questions about the other character’s conclusions, and the specific rules within which this world operates. Regardless of the confusion, I also found the ending unsatisfying, and feel the film would have benefited by cutting off the last three minutes or so.

Many of the CG effects were rather disappointing, that may be attributed to the budget. Hiring a handful of big-name stars presumably took a big chunk from the $100 million or so budget. The animals looked poor at times, and some of the CGI stunts were lacklustre, rather ironically looking more at home in a video game. Additionally, the villain was entirely forgettable. Bobby Cannavale’s portrayal wasn’t bad, the writing just made him feel almost entirely useless. The plot would have worked just as well if he wasn’t present.

With this being said, many of the shots were actually quite impressive. The one that stood out to me was quite a simple one. At one point in the film, a row of torches light up through the jungle. Though simple, the contrast between the blazing torches, and the inky blackness of the jungle at night was truly impressive, particularly due to the staggered ignition of the flames. It seemed as though the pathway was carving itself through the trees when the film cut to a wider shot.

Overall, I found this film a real mix. Ultimately, out of ten, I feel I have to give it a five. That isn’t to say it’s a consistent, comfortable five, however. At times, the film sinks to a three. At others, the moments you’d go to see the film for, it raises to perhaps a seven. I’m simply giving what I feel would be an average for the film as a whole. If you’re a fan of the cast, I’d imagine you’ll enjoy the film; both Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart barely seem to be playing characters, and while I don’t particularly enjoy them, they have good chemistry and work well off of each other. Obviously, if you’re looking for a serious film with a strong moral, this film isn’t for you; it ultimately boils down to ‘be happy with yourself’. Whether you look like a WWE superstar or not.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Nick_MadJan 9, 2018
New Jumanji:Welcome to the Jungle isn't fun at all. It is stupid,redicilous,disappointing,but not funny. It is Normal movie,but it's not that good as original Jumanji.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
hardcorekiddJan 9, 2018
This movie really shows that it can be just as good as the first. A great movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
amheretojudgeJan 15, 2018
how can strength be a weakness.. Jumanji: Welcome To The Jungle

Dwayne Johnson shouting, "I'm a nerd.." or cringing on the screen as Kevin Hart bullies him all the way. Jack Black and Nick Jonas in a weirdly plotted love story or Kevin Hart
how can strength be a weakness.. Jumanji: Welcome To The Jungle

Dwayne Johnson shouting, "I'm a nerd.." or cringing on the screen as Kevin Hart bullies him all the way. Jack Black and Nick Jonas in a weirdly plotted love story or Kevin Hart suddenly blinking repetitively as someone has to step forward for a staring contest. These are the little moments where Jumanji sweeps away its best score with the help of smart writing which focuses mainly on these characters or sometimes actors contradict nature. But unfortunately it fails on story telling with the same old characters and their seen-this-seen-that conflicts.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
igobyandyJan 16, 2018
Jumanji was a fun film although predictable. The on screen presence of Dwayne Johnson was amazing as usual and the chemistry with Kevin Hart kept the laughs comings. I believe that Jack Black stole the show and his ability to personify theJumanji was a fun film although predictable. The on screen presence of Dwayne Johnson was amazing as usual and the chemistry with Kevin Hart kept the laughs comings. I believe that Jack Black stole the show and his ability to personify the millenial female was spot on and hilarious. Don't have high expectations and just enjoy the ride. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MattBrady99Jan 22, 2018
"I hate this game"

This is kinda awkward isn't it. When you anticipate failure, but got something different. Those trailers didn't do any justice for this. 'Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle' aims to entertain families and succeeds just on
"I hate this game"

This is kinda awkward isn't it. When you anticipate failure, but got something different. Those trailers didn't do any justice for this.

'Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle' aims to entertain families and succeeds just on that. Was it great? NOPE. Was it terrible? Not really. I enjoyed the film is basically what am trying to say.

It's got flaws - The storytelling is really generic and you can pin point how scenes are gonna turn out. It never gets intense during the urgent moments. The villain is so forgettable that I can't even remember his name. Which is a shame because Bobby Cannavale is a great character actor and I've seen him do incredible stuff, however his talent is put to waste here.

Dwayne Johnson, Karen Gillan, Jack Black, and Kevin Hart all had really great chemistry. The back and forward humor between them made for some enjoyable scenes. Some jokes are hit or miss for me, however, the jokes that miss are nothing embarrassing like some family films.

I liked how against the character tropes you would expect to see from these actors, a part from Kevin Hart and I will explain why after this. Dwayne plays a wimp. Gillian plays a socially awkward teen. Jack Black plays a 16 year old girl stuck in an overweight middle aged man's body. Makes it more funny and not too formula. Kevin Hart plays and acts like he dose in every other movie. You can see a character there, just not to it's full potential.

Jack Black steals the show, in my opinion.

Overall rating: If you want a simple pop flick with fun action and solid entertainment, then this ticks all the boxes. It is was it is. Self aware at best.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
BullishJan 23, 2018
A silly comedy that I don't believe ever wanted to compete with the original. + Jack Black / Kevin hart / The Rock / Karen Gillan
+ The video game aspect was refreshing
- Terrible special effects - The four teenagers don't hold a candle to
A silly comedy that I don't believe ever wanted to compete with the original. + Jack Black / Kevin hart / The Rock / Karen Gillan
+ The video game aspect was refreshing

- Terrible special effects
- The four teenagers don't hold a candle to their avatars
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
The4thBillboardJan 27, 2018
Surprisingly good. Great combination of Humor, Teen angst and action. Emphasis on the humor.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
HermesThothJan 27, 2018
Great cast and some decent special effects, but the movie's script falls completely flat. Most of the scenes don't lead into each other in any meaningful way, characters don't make any decisions at all(rather the game decides for them), andGreat cast and some decent special effects, but the movie's script falls completely flat. Most of the scenes don't lead into each other in any meaningful way, characters don't make any decisions at all(rather the game decides for them), and the story proceeds in a completely predictable fashion. Return the macguffin, avoid the obstacles. Without a meaningful villain or any genuine character motivations, the movie ends up feeling like two hours of filler. If it wasn't for the charismatic cast this probably would have put me to sleep. Would rather watch someone play a video game. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ZachStearnsFeb 6, 2018
This movie is great.
This is much better than the original (with a few plot holes)
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
be4ucmeFeb 13, 2018
Good adaptation of the first version; some parts were iffy, but overall I enjoyed it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ariesta12Mar 8, 2018
Watch Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle Full Movie - Online Free [ HD ] Streaming watch here :> http://qn.telemovie.pw/movie/353486/jumanji-welcome-to-the-jungle.html
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
nicholi0901Mar 10, 2018
wow that was better then I thought good comedy good action and great actors i would recommend this to anyone who likes comedy and action but I have never really pictured jack black as a girl and they didn't really use thare powers but stillwow that was better then I thought good comedy good action and great actors i would recommend this to anyone who likes comedy and action but I have never really pictured jack black as a girl and they didn't really use thare powers but still great movie Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
eva3si0nMar 25, 2018
Excellent adventure movie. I expected much more the worst, and it has turned out perfectly. He was pleasant to me more original. Yes the movie is focused on children, but it has turned out fine. Acting of Jack Black is fine in this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerApr 30, 2018
A confectionery sugar rush with a charismatic cast. What impressed me the most is just how well the main cast captured the personalities of their younger costars. We don't get to spend much time with their high-school aged counterparts, butA confectionery sugar rush with a charismatic cast. What impressed me the most is just how well the main cast captured the personalities of their younger costars. We don't get to spend much time with their high-school aged counterparts, but we see enough to know just who they are and understand just how well they nailed their portrayals of them. They seem to be having a lot of fun playing kids out of their depth. Particularly Jack Black who is the highlight of the movie. His character Bethany actually has a really touching character arc while everyone else gets the stereotypical feel good endings.


While it never manages to capture the thrill and excitement of watching wild animals tear through a living room like in the original Jumanji, thanks to some impressive action sequences there is plenty of adventure and spectacle to be found inside. It's also very funny. I got plenty of laughs watching these kids freak out over their new bodies and whatever dangers came their way. The gender swap Black's character is going through is used to deliver at least two of the movie's funniest moments. The plot kind of keeps getting in the way though. It's bogged down in too much generic "be brave and proud of who you are" moralizing and has plenty of outright painful moments where it tries to explain gamer lingo and modern day teenage lifestyles in an effort to come off as hip and knowledgeable. It just needed to focus on the jokes. The rest of that stuff would have come along the way. While it doesn't hold a candle to our time with Robin Williams in the first Jumanji, "Welcome to the Jungle" does provide a good time. Ultimately it was a little more disposable than I was hoping for, but I can't complain too much about the final results as I still ended up having quite a bit of fun with it. I have to say I loved how they managed to make sense of how Jumanji could be a board game in one movie and a video game in the next. It was surprisingly smoothly done. I also appreciate how they managed to bring back and update the 1995 film for a new generation without going the reboot route. 7.7/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
neutralguyMay 24, 2018
One of the worst movies of the year, generic and boring af.
dont watch it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
TilDec 26, 2017
We were originally going to see the new Star Wars, but my nephew really wanted to see this so we saw this instead. Glad we did. Very fun, funny movie with a great cast. All of the game avatar actors were perfect. They all aced their roles.We were originally going to see the new Star Wars, but my nephew really wanted to see this so we saw this instead. Glad we did. Very fun, funny movie with a great cast. All of the game avatar actors were perfect. They all aced their roles. Really enjoyed the film, and I could tell much of the audience did as well because they were laughing every step of the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondDec 28, 2017
What a breath of fresh air in this season of overly-serious, drudgery! All the leads are hilarious, and the movie's got a heart (and a HART). The Rock does amazing work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Kad3n_04Dec 28, 2017
This movie is really funny, really no problems except that this villain is pretty forgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
temptershellJan 1, 2018
I expected a tragic production that will cut off coupons from the original, and it has become completely different. This film defends itself, even without reference to the first part, and is self-aware production with well-drawn figures andI expected a tragic production that will cut off coupons from the original, and it has become completely different. This film defends itself, even without reference to the first part, and is self-aware production with well-drawn figures and background. The only minus is the villain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
clarkkentuk5Jan 1, 2018
Not a bad movie, especially the disappointment of watching TLJ. If you have seen the trailers, then there is nothing that is going to surprise you with this film, plenty of laughs as you would expect, light hearted escapism is what the Dr ordered!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Pathboy68Jan 1, 2018
This was exactly the movie I needed to get over the trauma of TLJ. Very funny with expected gags. The cast fit into each of their roles perfectly (Jack Black was extremely funny). For a reboot, a score of 8 is just about as good as it gets!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KaustavJan 2, 2018
It is understandable why this is so critically low rated. But when it comes to movies of this genre and to movies that have Dwayne Johnson, it simply doesn't matter. Johnson, Jack Black and Kevin Hart are simply so well cast and hilariousIt is understandable why this is so critically low rated. But when it comes to movies of this genre and to movies that have Dwayne Johnson, it simply doesn't matter. Johnson, Jack Black and Kevin Hart are simply so well cast and hilarious (bit too obviously but that won't be a problem). Even Karen Gillan as Ruby Roundhouse pulls her weight. Go with somebody and get your guts laughed out. I can vouch for that.
Despite it lack of innovative narrative, it does its bit to not seem out of place and the audience will get the reflection of work put in. One of those movies whose trailers tell you exactly what it is and doesn't shortchange you for it. That's all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CadenceEastJan 2, 2018
Funny at times and boring at others. It started off badly and at first I was like uhh what is this crap with these bad actors. However, once the game began it was funny. Kevin was funny as crap. This isn't a kid movie though. It is anFunny at times and boring at others. It started off badly and at first I was like uhh what is this crap with these bad actors. However, once the game began it was funny. Kevin was funny as crap. This isn't a kid movie though. It is an adult movie all the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Creeper3455Jan 6, 2018
Both Jake Kasdan (Bad Teacher) and Jumanji 1995's quality could've easily bombed this remake,especially considering Kasdan's lineup of movies he directed.
Luckily (and surprisingly) this movie isn't just fun,but also an easy appeal to
Both Jake Kasdan (Bad Teacher) and Jumanji 1995's quality could've easily bombed this remake,especially considering Kasdan's lineup of movies he directed.
Luckily (and surprisingly) this movie isn't just fun,but also an easy appeal to videogame fans and the new generation of teenagers. When the 4 students get sucked into the game,that's where the movie starts to have its focus,with Dwayne Johnson,Jack Black and Karen Gillan playing against type (and Kevin Hart as well,even if sometimes he's just being Hart). Also,I heard of this complain on the internet where fans were angry about Gillan's charachter being almost shirtless,and I disagree with it,since a videogame needs to have a sexy female charachter (not everytime,though).
The story is good enough,with loads of fun moments (including,somehow,some toilet humor),some exciting action scenes full of excellent stunts and an impressive way of directing them,your typical videogame cliches,and the goofy (if not also adventurous) score by Henry Jackman (Big Hero 6 and Kingsman).
And yes,while this movie is full of CGI,you can still justify the fact that they're stuck in a videogame.
But some downsides are still there. As said,Kevin Hart's character can sometimes be wooden and some of the toilet humor can be kind of gross (especially for a PG-13 movie).
But you can still (safely) enjoy this movie with your family and kids will mostly have a good time at this (believe me,my auditorium was almost packed with kids).
Of course it's better than the 1995 original,if you needed those terms.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MallRat15Jan 9, 2018
Hilarious movie from start to finish. I can't believe how much I enjoyed this movie. When I heard Jumanji was getting remade I was nervous that it was going to be really bad , so glad that it didn't. Jack Black and Kevin hart are theHilarious movie from start to finish. I can't believe how much I enjoyed this movie. When I heard Jumanji was getting remade I was nervous that it was going to be really bad , so glad that it didn't. Jack Black and Kevin hart are the highlights of this film both of them make constant jokes and had me laughing the entire time. A great story which has the same idea but doesn't follow it directly. This is a must see movie that definitely delivers on the laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LuchoLuisJan 11, 2018
It was such a funny and exciting movie. I was so surprised tbh. Go watch now!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DEEPVALLEYJan 17, 2018
Never thought I would say this since the fact that when I read the announcement and saw the cast for the film, I thought it was gonna be crap! And then I saw the Trailer and the title of the film and thought " Aw *** here we go anotherNever thought I would say this since the fact that when I read the announcement and saw the cast for the film, I thought it was gonna be crap! And then I saw the Trailer and the title of the film and thought " Aw *** here we go another Ragnarok and Justice League 80's song pointless title" Then a friend of mine dragged me to see it and I was very pleasantly surprised! "Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle" Is a very entertaining film! I really enjoyed the teen humor, the character arcs and the overall goofiness to the film. Also enjoyed that despite lurking in the shadows of the original it manages to be a good sequel but do it's own thing! although, Robin Williams is sadly missed... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DblBblMerrillJan 29, 2018
I was actually surprised by this movie, in a good way. We took our 13 year old son with us and had a good time watching. It was funny, Jack Black made the film hilarious. It wasn't as sappy as I thought it was going to be, so myI was actually surprised by this movie, in a good way. We took our 13 year old son with us and had a good time watching. It was funny, Jack Black made the film hilarious. It wasn't as sappy as I thought it was going to be, so my expectations were exceeded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
old_skool_gamerFeb 1, 2018
Surprise family hit. Even Sony was surprised that Jumanji is a smash at $822mil world-wide as I speak. I have to mention that even though I saw the screener several months before it came out, I was surprised that I actually liked better theSurprise family hit. Even Sony was surprised that Jumanji is a smash at $822mil world-wide as I speak. I have to mention that even though I saw the screener several months before it came out, I was surprised that I actually liked better the second time around. Regardless of missing some effects, music, etc. it was still the same story and acting...although the ending was slightly different. Basically highschool teenagers that don't get along discover themselves and each other after getting sucked into the experience of the Jumanji video game world. You can do this with any indifferent highschoolers-don't-get-along story and put them on a fantastic quest to discover themselves. It's cliche but it's mostly well done and enjoyable. I have to congratulate Sony because even though the screener was "incomplete" and initially felt like a below average "cliche" video game avatar movie...the final product was a milestone improvement in comparison. The beat, cuts, timing felt better, even the humor felt enhanced, the acting felt more believable even though it wasn't their best performance I've seen out of any of them. All the pieces were put together nicely although not perfect. But you don't need perfect with a Rock movie. You just need fun, action and enjoyable story and then go eat popcorn and get entertained. LOL The "cliche" being sucked into video game world ended up being an afterthought. It was an enjoyable movie overall...especially if you go with your family. My 6 and 7 year old really enjoyed it and their favorite characters were Jack Black and Kevin Hart. When you have likeable and memorable characters then in my opinion half the battle is already done. I wasn't frustrated with any actor/actress, the story, the plot, etc. I love Transformers but Jumanji 2 was better than the The Last Knight movie. I love Jurassic Park but Jumanji was an overall better movie than Jurassic World. All CG and FX aside. It's not going to win an Oscar by any means but that's what Dunkirk and Pixar movies are for. This is a fun family movie and a good excuse to go out with the kids. Hope you enjoy it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Hurricane16Feb 2, 2018
If you don’t think too much about this movie, it can actually be really fun
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mijxeroFeb 7, 2018
This was a great comedy and family movie (minus a few adult jokes). I really didn't expect it to be funny. The characters start off as basic cardboard cutouts of tropes, but they did develop and change throughout the movie. It had goodThis was a great comedy and family movie (minus a few adult jokes). I really didn't expect it to be funny. The characters start off as basic cardboard cutouts of tropes, but they did develop and change throughout the movie. It had good pacing and just all around was just a fun movie to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
xsddd22Feb 12, 2018
Decent movie with many funny moments, but it lacks character development and most of the movie is carried by the actors saying funny lines. I noticed that van pelt (The villain) seems kinda misplaced and really doesn't do anything, and whileDecent movie with many funny moments, but it lacks character development and most of the movie is carried by the actors saying funny lines. I noticed that van pelt (The villain) seems kinda misplaced and really doesn't do anything, and while he is a cool villain he really does nothing at all to the characters. Fun movie but nothing special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smpeachyMar 11, 2018
Actually surprisingly better than I expected. Coming to watch this movie, I was expecting a pretty lame original Jumanji rip off, but it does well to reference the original one without copying it. Performances from all of the cast were prettyActually surprisingly better than I expected. Coming to watch this movie, I was expecting a pretty lame original Jumanji rip off, but it does well to reference the original one without copying it. Performances from all of the cast were pretty good, not amazing, but still all right, and the overall story was good. Great combination of action, sense of adventure and humor, however, is mainly aimed at teens, and really no one else. You could wait for this to come out later in the year on DVD or other forms but would be a good movie to go and watch in the cinema. It is hard for the audience to see a character development within the teenagers, but rather Black, Hart, Johnson, and Gillan in the actual Jumanji. With all of this said, it was a good movie and could have been a lot worse Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SavageYetiMar 16, 2018
this movie surprised the heck out of me, my expectations where blown out of the water, the movie starts off slow and kinda boring but once it gets going it is hilarious and entertaining, now that said it does have its issues story andthis movie surprised the heck out of me, my expectations where blown out of the water, the movie starts off slow and kinda boring but once it gets going it is hilarious and entertaining, now that said it does have its issues story and character wise primarily the villain, but overall not bad enough to hurt the film to badly, i would definitely recommend this movie to anyone looking to watch a good comedy or adventure movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews