Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 23, 2011
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 621 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
537
Mixed:
70
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
RobinsNestJan 16, 2012
Let's get the obvious out of the way. Too long. Mr Hill was nominated for Best Supporting Actor (Globes). He cracks one joke, has 2 facial expressions, and tosses Mr Pitt the ball; compared to Mr Plummer? It was not a bad performance but notLet's get the obvious out of the way. Too long. Mr Hill was nominated for Best Supporting Actor (Globes). He cracks one joke, has 2 facial expressions, and tosses Mr Pitt the ball; compared to Mr Plummer? It was not a bad performance but not one worthy of an award. The story is of course interesting; how Mr Beane defied the way of doing things and brought technology to baseball. But watching "the streak" was like watching a Twilight Zone episode or "The Natural", I knew something great was going to happen but in the end it would not be enough. The ultimate goal of every ball team is to win the championship, and of course they didn't. Mr Pitt is confusing in the role. I have no idea why he wears a weeding ring, no idea why his adult family situation, which is only hinted at, is brought up. Inspiration from his daughter? But it was a very small part and superfluous at the end. Perhaps it was to get a screen appearance for Ms Wright, who appears to be out to do a cameo in every movie possible. So just some flashbacks on Mr Beane but no detail. The entire movie is in as few words as possible telling everyone they're doing it his way. Some good scenes while he is doing some trades, some good dialogue with Mr Hill, but overall an average performance in an average movie. If it was not "based" on a true story, it would not have been made. And with the usual disclaimer (some "stuff" was made up) who knows if it actually went down like that. It's almost worth seeing (C+). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jwmann2Dec 20, 2011
I am an MLB fanatic and this is one of the best baseball movies to ever be put into Hollywood. The actors resemble the real life characters almost to a T with the exception of Jonah Hill. There is something for everyone in this movie. BillyI am an MLB fanatic and this is one of the best baseball movies to ever be put into Hollywood. The actors resemble the real life characters almost to a T with the exception of Jonah Hill. There is something for everyone in this movie. Billy Beane is still the GM of the Oakland A's. What a guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Jan 19, 2013
Moneyball was an exceptional movie and one of the best sports movies in recent years. Brad Pitt's supreme acting ability carries this film but the plot is also very interesting. Being a sports fan, I was familiar with most of the content inMoneyball was an exceptional movie and one of the best sports movies in recent years. Brad Pitt's supreme acting ability carries this film but the plot is also very interesting. Being a sports fan, I was familiar with most of the content in the film but what was most interesting, to me at least, was seeing how wrong so many "experts" were and how people refuse to learn from their prior mistakes. Look across the professional sports world and you still see people making the same mistakes that Billy Beane fought against a little over a decade ago. Nonetheless, the movie, though long, was not boring at all and I think most people would enjoy watching it, even those who are not baseball fans. Ultimately I think that's something unique about this film. Yes, it is a sports movie but it isn't necessarily about the sport of baseball but rather one person's fight against the prehistoric culture of baseball. That journey, and how well Bennett Miller directed the movie, is what is truly worth watching. RIP fat Jonah Hill... you will be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
If you're not a baseball fan, you're going to find Moneyball boring and a little bit confusing. I am an avid baseball fan and saw this film about the inner working of the front office to be extremely interesting and just plain awesome. TheIf you're not a baseball fan, you're going to find Moneyball boring and a little bit confusing. I am an avid baseball fan and saw this film about the inner working of the front office to be extremely interesting and just plain awesome. The Oakland Athletics are a small market team and can't afford to put a hundred and fifty million dollar team of stars on the field every years, so how can they possibly compete? It's a problem faced by almost half the teams in Major League Baseball, while teams the Yankees and Red Sox win year after year, teams like Royals haven't made the playoffs in twenty-five years! In sports, if you can't win, you can't draw fans and make a profit, so when you can't afford a winning team, you were just screwed, until Moneyball. Based on the true story of Oakland Athletics General Manager, Billy Beane, the film follows his creation of a system to judge players on more than just the basic scouting and numbers that have been used for a hundred years. Using this system, Beane and others who followed, have been able to compete with much lower payrolls, changing the face of Baseball. Brad Pitt is terrific as Beane and most definitely earned his Oscar nominations, but where did Jonah Hill's come from? I love Jonah Hill, but his character was as generic and boring as they come. In Moneyball, Hill plays Brad Pitt's sidekick, and is nothing more than a boring statistician, I've seen B-Movie performances that upstaged his in this film! If you love sports and want to know more about the behind the scenes aspect of it, Moneyball is a terrific film to use, but if you're not much of a fan and don't really care about sports, that you will just find this film boring. It's geared to a very specific type of moviegoer and if you're not into sports, you won't be into Moneyball. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107Apr 21, 2012
Very entertaining movie in every way. I never thought stats could be that exciting but Moneyball proved me wrong. Brad Pitt is brilliant and so long fat Jonah Hill, you will be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
subhadip1524Dec 26, 2011
Brad Pitt done a great job in this movie...some of the part of the movie like the phone trading scene is really awesome..i am not a baseball fan even dont know much about the A"team...but after watching MONEYBALL "" i came to know lot moreBrad Pitt done a great job in this movie...some of the part of the movie like the phone trading scene is really awesome..i am not a baseball fan even dont know much about the A"team...but after watching MONEYBALL "" i came to know lot more things about this game and about its buisness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mariopingJan 14, 2012
I am not a baseball fan but I find this film extremely fascinating and entertaining. I say credit to the screenwriter and the director. Statistics can be a boring subject but this film proves it wrong. I even have tears in my eyes when theI am not a baseball fan but I find this film extremely fascinating and entertaining. I say credit to the screenwriter and the director. Statistics can be a boring subject but this film proves it wrong. I even have tears in my eyes when the underdog finally achieves something good. This film combines sports, statistics and drama perfectly. Brad Pitt gives an excellent quiet performance. Two big thumbs up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JudgeHoldenDec 30, 2011
A+. Remember the classical sport movies about overcoming one's problems with a happy end? Have you seen Jobs' speech at Stanford? Moneyball is both. It's a good movie about unorthodox thinking, opening oneself to the others and going againstA+. Remember the classical sport movies about overcoming one's problems with a happy end? Have you seen Jobs' speech at Stanford? Moneyball is both. It's a good movie about unorthodox thinking, opening oneself to the others and going against the odds. Maybe it's not fast-paced, but hey, we're talking about baseball, aren't we? Screenplay is good and convincing, but it's Pitt's performance that is great. I hope for him to strike at least one home run by getting an Oscar nomination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
chugheadJan 10, 2012
Maybe its me...but Golden Globe worthy? Please! It was charming at best. Being a baseball fan...I connected a little closer to the business and respected the bittersweet side of the sport. It was incredibly well written but toned down for aMaybe its me...but Golden Globe worthy? Please! It was charming at best. Being a baseball fan...I connected a little closer to the business and respected the bittersweet side of the sport. It was incredibly well written but toned down for a docu-drama style direction film. Scientific baseball theory exposé film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sandrozelioJan 11, 2012
It was an average picture with a couple of solid acting performances that made the movie more engaging than the story itself. The movie, like the book, pulled out facts that made the premise of Moneyball more believable. As a baseball fanIt was an average picture with a couple of solid acting performances that made the movie more engaging than the story itself. The movie, like the book, pulled out facts that made the premise of Moneyball more believable. As a baseball fan and one who followed the A's that season it was more than just numbers that made them the team they were. Many forget they had young talent at key positions that went on to make tons of money and eventually the whole Money ball system came crashing down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jbbby1976jbJan 22, 2012
My favorite film of the year. Brad Pitt does and outstanding job bringing Billy to life. Movie is a great mix of drama, laughter, and concepts that make you think about other areas of life. Brings a turning point in baseball culture to theMy favorite film of the year. Brad Pitt does and outstanding job bringing Billy to life. Movie is a great mix of drama, laughter, and concepts that make you think about other areas of life. Brings a turning point in baseball culture to the big screen, and educates even people that thought they new the details behind the strong move to statistics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Businessninja9Jan 24, 2012
As a Canadian born into hockey culture, i have never in my life truly known much about, or cared much about baseball. Moneyball didn't make me want to go out and watch a baseball game, and i'm glad it didn't. You don't have to know baseballAs a Canadian born into hockey culture, i have never in my life truly known much about, or cared much about baseball. Moneyball didn't make me want to go out and watch a baseball game, and i'm glad it didn't. You don't have to know baseball to enjoy this film. It has heart, substance, great actors, and, probably the most rare amongst sports films, Accessibility. Definite recommendation to anyone in for a good (albeit rather long) ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AlvaradoKTAJun 22, 2012
I was somewhat bored during this film, maybe it was because I don't like baseball and its string-pullers. However, I still enjoyed everything this well written movie offered. And Pitt's acting is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
IselinFeb 7, 2012
Very enjoyable baseball movie... perhaps the best serious film about the game ever made.

Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill have great chemistry in their mentor/apprentice relationship. Who is the mentor and who is the apprentice goes back and forth
Very enjoyable baseball movie... perhaps the best serious film about the game ever made.

Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill have great chemistry in their mentor/apprentice relationship. Who is the mentor and who is the apprentice goes back and forth depending on the subject matter. The opportunities for movie cliches are avoided at every turn... but then, this is a rendition of real life we're watching where the endings are never predictable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Critic2012Apr 24, 2012
MONEYBALL is one of the greatest movies of our time. Billy Beane (played by a flawless Brad Pitt) is the General Manager of the Oakland Athletics who must put together a winning baseball team with an extremely tight budget (nearly a third ofMONEYBALL is one of the greatest movies of our time. Billy Beane (played by a flawless Brad Pitt) is the General Manager of the Oakland Athletics who must put together a winning baseball team with an extremely tight budget (nearly a third of the Yankees'). With the help of a brilliant Yale graduate (Jonah Hill in an Academy-Award-Nominated role), Beane begins to manipulate the economics of baseball in his favor in one of the best underdog stories of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TruAlbinoFeb 17, 2012
Everything from the writing, to the direction, to the engaging performances on offer, to the subtle yet captivating score, leaves Moneyball as one of the best films of the year. A picture that can capture your heart and imagination when itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
geo86Mar 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I recently saw the movie. I have to say that I have no idea about baseball so I didn't find something catchy. For me I would say that it is a boring movie and it doesn't make clear some things like the feelings of Billy Beane. For example in the scene where he yells at the players after beating. It's not a strong emotionally and doesn't affect anyone. Also I believe Jonah Hill didn't match with this role. He does support the yela graduate but can't stand next to Beane as a personal supporter and assistant Maybe this movie is based on feelings thoughts expressions and the game generally, I didn't make me love baseball Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Josh_47raMar 19, 2012
Thought it was a really excellent movie with an awesome ending. I saw it with two non-baseball fans and they enjoyed it as well. My two problems were that they changed it a little from the book/real life and the cinematography was annoying atThought it was a really excellent movie with an awesome ending. I saw it with two non-baseball fans and they enjoyed it as well. My two problems were that they changed it a little from the book/real life and the cinematography was annoying at points (zooming in computer screens and player statistics?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Feb 20, 2015
Moneyball is tells the story of the A's perfectly through an outstanding screenplay and terrific scenes. What carries the film the most is the Brad Pitt's performance which happens to be the finest of his career. Moneyball didn't hit aMoneyball is tells the story of the A's perfectly through an outstanding screenplay and terrific scenes. What carries the film the most is the Brad Pitt's performance which happens to be the finest of his career. Moneyball didn't hit a homerun, it hit a grand slam. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloMar 25, 2012
This is a 10 out of 10. It's funny and sad at times but acting outstanding, story is remarkable, and just a great sports film. One of the best. If your a sports fan, then this is for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
The basic movie is about how winning isnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Mar 26, 2012
I was not too thrilled initially going into this film, but by the end it came out one of the finest movie achievements of the year. A strong supported cast carried this excellently written script. It was fast paced and kept my attention. ThisI was not too thrilled initially going into this film, but by the end it came out one of the finest movie achievements of the year. A strong supported cast carried this excellently written script. It was fast paced and kept my attention. This movie was a home-run. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
A_NorthernerMar 31, 2013
My knowledge of baseball is very limited (my choice of US sports is football), thankfully however this didn't limit my enjoyment of Moneyball (even if I did have to Google 'on-base percentage', but I got the gist of it). At its heart, theMy knowledge of baseball is very limited (my choice of US sports is football), thankfully however this didn't limit my enjoyment of Moneyball (even if I did have to Google 'on-base percentage', but I got the gist of it). At its heart, the film is a real life underdog story revolving around Billy Beane's unshirking determination and belief in Peter Brand's methods, in the face of extreme consternation and criticism. Moneyball's script was co-written by Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network) and Steven Zaillian (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) and the result is a clever and witty narrative that delivers some amusing scenes, usually involving Jonah Hill's shy and uncomfortable Assistant GM Brand. Hill himself is a revelation (Academy nominated for Supporting Actor) in a straight role, playing against his norm yet still being responsible for most of the film's light hearted moments. It seems a shame he even considered starring in The Sitter after this performance. Brad Pitt is another who stands out with an admirable performance as the main character, embodying just the right amount of likeability, softly spoken confidence and self-belief, without crossing into meglomaniac territory, despite practically shutting down his scouting department. When considering the three leading names, Philip Seymour Hoffman seems to be underused as Coach Art Howe, mostly seen standing around in disbelief as his team is dismantled. I would have liked to have seen more of him, given what the man can really bring to a role.

A really enjoyable sports underdog story, and not just for baseball fans.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jamescooper7Apr 5, 2012
Google Maps (formerly Google Local) is a webGoogle Maps mapping service application and technology provided by Google, that powers many map-based services, including the website, Google Ride Finder, Google Transit,[1] and maps embedded onGoogle Maps (formerly Google Local) is a webGoogle Maps mapping service application and technology provided by Google, that powers many map-based services, including the website, Google Ride Finder, Google Transit,[1] and maps embedded on third-party websites via the Google Maps API.[2] It offers street maps, a route planner for traveling by foot, car, bike (beta), kayak,[3] or public transport and an urban business locator for numerous countries around the world. Google Maps satellite images are not updated in real time; they are several months or years old.
Google Maps uses a close variant of the Mercator projection, so it cannot show areas around the poles. A related product is Google Earth, a stand-alone program which offers more globe-viewing features, including showing polar areas.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EmptyFilmStockMay 25, 2012
Overall, "Moneyball" is okay. Itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
A well acted sports drama. Moneyball takes a new approach to the genre in that it focuses on creating good dialogue and an interesting plot rather than winning its audience over with a sappy comeback story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
A sharp script, a virtuous performance from Brad Pitt, and a solid directorial effort from Bennett Miller make "Moneyball" a definite winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMar 13, 2013
Moneyball is an elegant Brad Pitt movie, it thrives by its emotional sequences and does entertain throughout its two hours. The Businessman Mad Men type was depicted well. Also some epic in- your- face- scenes. MoneyBall is a winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 2, 2013
Anyone who loves baseball and especially statistics will love this film. Sure it fails to mention that the A's had some of the best starting pitching, but it doesn't stop you from enjoying this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EmmanuelEdwinJul 28, 2013
Being a South African, I am not experienced with the sport of baseball and it`s history. This disadvantage did not stop me from enjoying such a superb film. One of the...actually, the best film of 2011. Compared to other let downs such asBeing a South African, I am not experienced with the sport of baseball and it`s history. This disadvantage did not stop me from enjoying such a superb film. One of the...actually, the best film of 2011. Compared to other let downs such as Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, the mediocre War Horse, The Descendants and Hugo(did not really captivate me), Moneyball strikes for a home run and results in heading out of the park. Brad Pit shines as Billy Beane, the General Manager of the Oakland Athletics, and the supporting cast including Jonah Hill are exemplary. Aaron Sorkin and Steve Zallian`s screenplay is quirky as ever. The cinematography, by Wally Pftser, is a feast for the eyes. All these contributions are why I love movies. Definitely a memorable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jcasetnlJun 24, 2013
I'm rather surprised at the positive reviews of this film. On the basic technical measures it's fine, but I don't think most viewers quite comprehend the underlying message.

Prior to the Moneyball formula of player-picking, recruiters and
I'm rather surprised at the positive reviews of this film. On the basic technical measures it's fine, but I don't think most viewers quite comprehend the underlying message.

Prior to the Moneyball formula of player-picking, recruiters and scouts definitely knew that statistics played a role, but Moneyball made it all about the formula. It reduced big sports to nothing but a soulless math problem.
The economic evolution of sports likely made that an eventual inevitability, but I don't see it as a reason to celebrate in the form of a movie, at least, not one with an uplifting feel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysFeb 16, 2014
Moneyball is a great film about baseball, but this film takes a fresh angle on the sport. Instead of doing the cliché sports movie about an underdog team that wins the championship with hard work and perseverance, Moneyball looks at the moneyMoneyball is a great film about baseball, but this film takes a fresh angle on the sport. Instead of doing the cliché sports movie about an underdog team that wins the championship with hard work and perseverance, Moneyball looks at the money and deals side of America's favorite pastime. This gives the movie energy and charisma that makes the film exhilarating to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CherryxldDec 28, 2014
Moneyball es una película sobre deportes que trata de ingeniárselas para ser atractiva, pero lamentablemente no logra llegar a ese objetivo deseado.

Esta película nos cuenta una historia de la vida real que, bueno, resulta inteligente a la
Moneyball es una película sobre deportes que trata de ingeniárselas para ser atractiva, pero lamentablemente no logra llegar a ese objetivo deseado.

Esta película nos cuenta una historia de la vida real que, bueno, resulta inteligente a la hora de lidiar con los inconvenientes que ocurren en su atmósfera problemática, pero, no logra resultar cautivante o, de cierta forma, conmovedora en el punto en el que el film se inclinó, además, este largometraje puede resultar en varias ocasiones fastidioso, y eso obviamente no es lo que se busca cuando vas a ver una película que trata sobre un tema deportivo (o quizá cualquier otro tema). En fin, nos encontramos con un largometraje que plantea una idea inteligente, pero que no logra desarrollarla de una forma atrapante o notablemente perceptible en la mayor parte del tiempo.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Viper8787Apr 22, 2014
A great sports movie. One of the best sports movies I have ever watched. Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill are great and have great chemistry together in this movie. I am a huge baseball fan so I enjoyed this movie even more than some people would butA great sports movie. One of the best sports movies I have ever watched. Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill are great and have great chemistry together in this movie. I am a huge baseball fan so I enjoyed this movie even more than some people would but even if your not a baseball fan you can still enjoy this movie because of the great script and acting. It had a good happy ending which I really enjoyed and added to my overall experience of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Mar 23, 2015
Moneyball is the second film by director Bennett Miller who seems to specialize in bringing true stories to the big screen but these true stories aren't very well known by the general public. Moneyball stars Brad Pitt who is strong in theMoneyball is the second film by director Bennett Miller who seems to specialize in bringing true stories to the big screen but these true stories aren't very well known by the general public. Moneyball stars Brad Pitt who is strong in the film but in some circumstances it seems like he is hogging the spotlight. Pitt is also surrounded by an underused supporting cast. Jonah Hill proves that he can handle a dramatic role just as well as a comedic one and Philip Seymour Hoffman collaborates with Miller once again but I wish i had've seen more of him. Chris Pratt and Robin Wright also have roles in the film. Moneyball avoids the common cliches of underdog sports movies by focusing on the General Manager of the sport club rather than an athlete. Moneyball shows the world that professional baseball is not really even fair these days and that the game needed to be revolutionized by evening the playing field. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
8267DaveJan 26, 2015
Though in the future it may not be on any best ever movie lists, that may well be what it deserves. Moneyball is a movie like few others. Though not a noticeably original story on the outside, Moneyball is actually a fresh, original, andThough in the future it may not be on any best ever movie lists, that may well be what it deserves. Moneyball is a movie like few others. Though not a noticeably original story on the outside, Moneyball is actually a fresh, original, and perfectly well done movie like few other. The story follows the Oakland a's through their 2002 come from behind season, as their GM Billy Beane (Brad Pitt) and his new assistant (Jonah Hill) try to revolutionize the way baseball teams are scouted and put together, based on a new statistical theory of looking at baseball. Having to fight their own scouts and everyone in baseball who believe them to be wrong, they attempt to build a small market baseball team that can compete with the likes of the big budget Yankees. Propelled by great performances by Pitt and Jonah Hill, this heartfelt movie does a beautiful job of crafting a thoroughly dramatic and captivating baseball story, and blending it with intelligent humor and look ins at the business of baseball. Never a dull moment to spare, this movie had it all and followed through with immense skill on everything. A future hall of famer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
mm007Jun 25, 2016
do not know what to write about it. It's pretty much a baseball movie .So when you are watching this movie , you should know a bit about baseball, which I don't know ,so i did not enjoyed it a lot. Only positive thing in here is--brad pitt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Mar 13, 2015
Casey Beane: "Just enjoy the show". Moneyball is about Billy Beane, the general manager of the Oakland A's and the guy who assembles the team, who has an epiphany: all of baseball's conventional wisdom is wrong. Forced to reinvent his team onCasey Beane: "Just enjoy the show". Moneyball is about Billy Beane, the general manager of the Oakland A's and the guy who assembles the team, who has an epiphany: all of baseball's conventional wisdom is wrong. Forced to reinvent his team on a tight budget, Beane will have to outsmart the richer clubs. The director of this movie (Bennett Miller) who also did Capote and his upcoming movie called Foxcatcher. Well the director did more then a great job or a fantastic job, this guy is a master class of directing and I mean that a lot. Brad Pitt,Jonah Hill and Philip Seymour Hoffman acting in the film was superb, the writing was well written and the characters actually feel like really people and not movie characters and you got to give the writers and the director respect for that. Am not going to give this movie a 5/5 star's because is this the movie that am going to watch over and over again, well no but I still enjoyed the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoMay 31, 2017
"Moneyball" was a very good movie, but very slow, its history was interesting, the performance of Brad Pitt has excelled in any scene, the story of a low budget team that won the big leagues was good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 28, 2016
Moneyball is a great sports movie, yes, but it will also cross audiences. It's one of the year's finest.

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1ce671-Moneyball-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TLHGAug 3, 2016
Let me say something about this movie as someone who did not grow up in the US (thus, never had any clue of what the sport is about - and still does not) and works with business analytics for a leaving... This movie is awesome! I alwaysLet me say something about this movie as someone who did not grow up in the US (thus, never had any clue of what the sport is about - and still does not) and works with business analytics for a leaving... This movie is awesome! I always recommend it to students... Of course, there is a Hollywood component to it, making everything look much more dramatic and adventurous than this kind of work really is, but is really well executed and I am sure people who couldn't care less about analytics are able to enjoy the movie because of this. But from someone who cares about it, this movie is awesome! Thanks! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMay 16, 2016
Bennett Miller decides to make the ice cream sundae with the cherry (Moneyball) on top of it and the ingredients (cast and crew) all over the ice cream for Brad Pitt's surprise for making this film look great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DrBlahBlahOct 29, 2018
The best sports movie ever made, Moneyball is smart (thanks to Sorkin), well-made, and well-acted, with a near-perfect script and a fascinating true life story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeFeb 22, 2018
now i will..

Moneyball If it comes to bits and pieces and scoring on intense sequences; it doesn't hold back, especially all the scenes between Billy Beane and his daughter which are beautifully innocent and probably the only things that
now i will..

Moneyball

If it comes to bits and pieces and scoring on intense sequences; it doesn't hold back, especially all the scenes between Billy Beane and his daughter which are beautifully innocent and probably the only things that helps binding all of it. Moneyball works as a majestic entertainer for the Baseball fans but if not, then it may come off as reading news as it depends a whole lot of on factual events which may sometimes sound like just plain old news. Bennett Miller is perfect for the job and holds onto it but what really factors in is the screenplay which is filled with compelling arguments and amazing dialogues; kudos to Aaron Sorkin and Steven Zaillian. And on performance level, Brad Pitt offers some of his best work along with a great supporting cast like Jonah Hill. Moneyball has its ups (exhilarating conversations) and downs (an over stretched drama) and more importantly plays for more than 2 hours which could have been edited better but all in all it works.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewBurgeMar 8, 2019
National sports are embedded in American culture. Their are treated with an almost theological respect, almost like history, they are part of American heritage. In 'Moneyball', director Bennett Miller perfectly honors baseball throughNational sports are embedded in American culture. Their are treated with an almost theological respect, almost like history, they are part of American heritage. In 'Moneyball', director Bennett Miller perfectly honors baseball through powerful historic flashbacks, lines upon lines of discussions, telling me, as a viewer who knows nothing about it, that no other country has such an ardent dedication to their national sports.

But after a while, what came up is the way in which the people love the game, but treat the players with coldness. Like Billy Beane (Brad Pitt) says, baseball is only fun to the people watching. It sells hot-dogs, t-shirts. His point is true. The players are ostracized in ridiculous ways, thrown around from team to team. In order to be a professional baseball player, you must abandon those theological values and traditions the fans scream about watching the games.

As much as this film is about a sport, it is more about its effect on people and the contradictions it entrails. The most obvious one being the contradiction between logic and intuition; then the one between the love for the game but the lack of respect for the players. I love the subtle and intelligent way in which these unfold. Brad Pitt's Billy Beane is such an unpredictable character, that he carries the film almost on his own, despite present supporting cast, most notably Jonah Hill's Peter Brand, the Yale economist.

One of the most powerful scenes are the one in which Beans and his scouts analyze the players for their next team. Billy quickly points out that this is an unfair game. He looks around the table watching the old-school tobacco-chewing plastic cups-spitting veterans looking for the same old solutions that brought them nowhere in the past. But Beane is hunted by his own past more than anyone.

He loves baseball, but as a man who refused a Stanford scholarship decades ago to join the professional league, he also hates what the sport has done to him. He is a divorcee with a daughter who he absolutely loves but barely sees. He drifts in the parking lot in anger, and has a pathological need to change the game, not caring about his career. He is driven by this love/hate relationship with baseball. The Oakland A's scored 20 consecutive wins in the 2002 season after 11 consecutive losses. Miller yet again, presents this miracle in a fascinating, emotional manner employing glorious slow-motion sequences.

But after the absolutely genius way of displaying this arduous history-writing process, the film goes back to a Billy Beane which could not care less. He wants to win. He wants to win because he wants to change the game. He wants to change the game in order to not be forgotten. And he wants not to be forgotten to alleviate the regret of the decision he made decades ago. But he does not hate baseball because it made him choose it in spite of a college degree. He hates baseball because of what his love for the sport did to him. Its paradoxical, I know.

By the end of the film, I did not expect such depth and intelligence, such control for the way it unfolds. For me, though, intuition wins. Billy Beane had no way of knowing the logical system of analyzing baseball players would work, but he rolled with it anyway. But despite not winning the season, he did change the game. More than anything, this film will remain a triumph.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman9999Aug 16, 2018
I'm not a fan of Baseball. Actually, I don't even know anything about this game. I'm also not a big fan of Sports movies in general. Also, this movie has a generic story that could have easily made Moneyball already dated. That's why I puttedI'm not a fan of Baseball. Actually, I don't even know anything about this game. I'm also not a big fan of Sports movies in general. Also, this movie has a generic story that could have easily made Moneyball already dated. That's why I putted this movie off for a very long time, and I really regret doing that.

Director Bennett Miller, along with screenwriters, Steven Zaillian, and Aaron Sorkin took a story that sounds uninteresting and turned it into an enjoyable movie that is funny, intense, and very touching in equal measure. I didn't know that Aaron Sorkin co-wrote the script but I felt his touches while watching the movie till I became completely sure that he co-wrote its script even before I check that out.

The dialogue is so smart and sharp, and Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill were both great, especially Brad Pitt, and they had an incredible chemistry that made the dialogue even more captivating.

Let's face it, no director-screenwriter collaboration can beat Fincher-Sorkin's one. But that , by no means, means that Bennett Miller didn't do a great job directing this movie. Besides the fact that he made a very good-looking movie, he captured some truly magical cinematic moments that can stick in my head for a very long time. A very long sequence near the end, in particular, that is about ten minutes is easily one of the most riveting and gripping sequences I've ever watched. I was literally on the edge of my seat sweating, and putting my hands on head. It was really stressful and exhausting to watch. Also, the moments Billy Beane, Pitt's character, has with his daughter are just delightful to watch.

Nevertheless, Moneyball's problem, IMO, is that it's a bit boring! Its runtime is 133 min, and the movie definitely could have been way shorter. The problem is that there is too much talk that I really wasn't interested in, and most importantly, didn't need to. The movie lost me sometimes at the middle and the very end.

Billy Beane is a well-written and grounded character that brought to life by Brad Pitt's Oscar-nominated performance. It had a lot of development, and it was a very interesting character. That being said, I felt that his backstory isn't complete. I think it was interesting at the beginning, but then the movie just ignored his past. As a result, I felt like there was something is missing in this character. The movie actually did keep advancing his backstory forward in a way that connect very well with the ongoing events of the movie, but that, unfortunately, didn't happen after the first act anymore.

Overall, I loved Moneyball so much, and enjoyed watching it quiet a bit, and I didn't even think that I was going to like it.

(8/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beeanadouSep 2, 2018
Superb,money plays the game,but how can you play without much stakes at hand? Sports movies often fall into the pit of maudlin and tear-jerking style, athletes would change to dramatically just by the motivating words kinda of things. ButSuperb,money plays the game,but how can you play without much stakes at hand? Sports movies often fall into the pit of maudlin and tear-jerking style, athletes would change to dramatically just by the motivating words kinda of things. But this definitely a film jump out of the mode,truly thought provoking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LivingTribunalMay 30, 2019
This is what all sports movie should be. This movie showed Billy Beane's unbelievable story with awesome plots. Also, the score and the song was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EgeBerkOct 29, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Actually, I didn't like baseball movies much, but I watched more films about the field.and I didn't like it very much this time out of the field, behind all the events, coaches, managers were the subject of so I think I like this movie.

I love movies like this,true story.our main character billy beane and his assistant peter are trying to make their way to a bad way with brand new teams, but with other teams it's impossible to cope with normal roads

because they don't have the money they need to see the biggest problem as money and they want to do something about it and they are applying to a new technique that no one has tried before.figure,data,SCIENCE.
everyone opposes, but you have to take risks in entrepreneurship, even if nobody supports you, you should try everything on a new path and not give up

BILLY knows what he wants to do and is trying to do the best he can with the opportunities he is in. He makes realistic evaluation of the situation.

at the end of the film money or love option I think love win.BASEBALL LOVE
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews