Orion Pictures Corporation | Release Date: August 17, 1979
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 222 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
181
Mixed:
20
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DamienDarko777May 7, 2011
My Favorite Python movie, besides Holy Grail and the rest. You'd have to be a total retard not to love this stuff. That's all there is to it. Um, still need more letters.... Trying to post review.... There we go.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 7, 2015
Silly, witty, bizarre, and timely all at the same time, "Life Of Brian" marks a relatively high point within Monty Python's impressive r comedic ap sheet.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
python2000Oct 24, 2013
Widely considered to be one of the most controversial movies of all time, but also considered to be one of the funniest movies of all time. Life of Brian is my second favorite comedy ever. After the earlier Monty Python movie, Monty PythonWidely considered to be one of the most controversial movies of all time, but also considered to be one of the funniest movies of all time. Life of Brian is my second favorite comedy ever. After the earlier Monty Python movie, Monty Python and the Holy Grail. It may not have top class acting or stunning special effects, but it's a masterpiece in it's own way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FilmQueenOct 30, 2015
I absolutely love this movie! It's full of jokes,it poke fun at people's stupidity, especially religious groups. I don't understand why Brian's mother is played by a male actor, but I don't mind it at all, because he was hilarious. EverythingI absolutely love this movie! It's full of jokes,it poke fun at people's stupidity, especially religious groups. I don't understand why Brian's mother is played by a male actor, but I don't mind it at all, because he was hilarious. Everything in this movie is hilarious and perfect, my favourite part is where they catch Brian writing graffiti on the wall. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mattkerr494Apr 23, 2018
My father tells me that he had to travel out of his hometown to see this when it came out because the local church had banned screenings where he was living in 1979.
Monty Pythons life of Brian finds the time to take the piss out of topics as
My father tells me that he had to travel out of his hometown to see this when it came out because the local church had banned screenings where he was living in 1979.
Monty Pythons life of Brian finds the time to take the piss out of topics as broad and relevant as fanaticism, imperialism, anti-imperialism, linguistics, capital punishment, bureaucracy, astrology, left-wing politics (particularly the partisan inner-turmoil that is often its burden), and manages to pull off one of the most surprisingly cheerful endings in cinema.
Not once does it actively take the piss out of the life or acts of Jesus Christ
Still got banned in many communities and I one of my Christian friends refuses to watch the film to this day.
10/10 would look on the bright side of life again.

Watched April 17th 2018
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
The absolute pinnacle of Monty Python's career is represented in this zany romp through ancient Judea that runs parallel to the story of Jesus. Holy Grail has nearly all of the classic one-liners, it's still not as funny and certainly muchThe absolute pinnacle of Monty Python's career is represented in this zany romp through ancient Judea that runs parallel to the story of Jesus. Holy Grail has nearly all of the classic one-liners, it's still not as funny and certainly much rougher than this polished cousin. While definitely not for those who are unable to laugh at a lampooning of the roots of their Abrahamic faith or who squirm at the sight of full frontal nudity, Life of Brian is still one of my highest-recommended films of all time. Brilliant! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
SkebF.Apr 29, 2007
THE worst movie I have ever seen. I faked laughed a lot cause my friend was laughing. The jokes are sooo terrible. I absolutly HATE this movie.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
6
lasttimeisawJun 9, 2012
My first film with the entire crew from Monty Python (their third feature-length film), whilst I count out Terry Gilliamâ
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
MATMMar 5, 2022
There was a lot to like about "Life of Brian", but ultimately, it just didn't click with me. I chuckled at a few jokes, and I really was impressed by the quality of the production, but I would never want to watch it again. I give it a D,There was a lot to like about "Life of Brian", but ultimately, it just didn't click with me. I chuckled at a few jokes, and I really was impressed by the quality of the production, but I would never want to watch it again. I give it a D, just don’t bother. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
UncleEarlDec 2, 2013
Maybe this stuff was funny decades ago, maybe it's because I think tv is funnier than cinema, but either way, this is a poor excuse for a comedy. There are far better ways to kill the length of time that this film runs.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
3
iCronicJul 11, 2014
I can sense why this Movie is what it is but i couldn´t watch it to the End. Nothing against old Movies but after the modern day standards i got used to it´s just horrific to watch
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeJun 28, 2018
is flat out hilarious and goofy..

Monty Python's Life Of Brian It is far better than its predecessor, as it has some sensibility on the plot track and appropriate arc and structure in it, an essential ingredient that makes the feature what
is flat out hilarious and goofy..

Monty Python's Life Of Brian

It is far better than its predecessor, as it has some sensibility on the plot track and appropriate arc and structure in it, an essential ingredient that makes the feature what it is, and not merely a series of sketchy comic skits or jokes. Having said that, it doesn't suggest that it is one of the finest comic genre feature, in fact it never comes close to its due to its lack of an appropriate three dimensional character. It is short on technical aspects like sound department, costume design and editing. There isn't any specific vision for the director to execute on screen but still the work by Terry Jones is appreciative in here and shows a lot of potential to carry off a logical comic feature. The actors too improvise and blends in as the writer, and is probably the reason why the conversations are mind-numbing but hilarious on its own set terms and the bubble they all reside in. It works like a charm and sweep away its runtime swiftly through its various jokes that is stretched and depicted elaborately in here. Monty Python's Life Of Brian is flat out hilarious and goofy and is an improvement as it has a definite track to cover through the allotted time.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
RWDec 22, 2007
Not as good as The Holy Grail, but still funny none the less.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KentC.Apr 6, 2008
You don't need to understand British humor to laugh here. Although some of the lines are hard to understand because of the heavy accents, This is one of the funniest movies I've seen. I'm not religious at all, so this movie You don't need to understand British humor to laugh here. Although some of the lines are hard to understand because of the heavy accents, This is one of the funniest movies I've seen. I'm not religious at all, so this movie didn't offend me one bit, I'm sure most of the people who gave it bad scores were offended by the religious jokes. I especially loved the "Spartacus" reference near the end. The only thing that bogged it down was that lame alien scene. It was pointless and stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickJ.Sep 10, 2009
Extremely witty references as always, and the spaceship provides a bit of craziness in this Monty Python classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesStringerMay 15, 2011
Classic piece of British cinema, only an idiot could not find this funny... There's not an unfunny moment, it's filled with wit and of course classic Python, and definitely worth a watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonJun 4, 2022
When Brian Cohen is born in a stable next door to the one in which Jesus is born, he is subsequently mistaken for the Messiah, which results in a whole heap of trouble. There are one or two moments that wouldn’t exactly be consideredWhen Brian Cohen is born in a stable next door to the one in which Jesus is born, he is subsequently mistaken for the Messiah, which results in a whole heap of trouble. There are one or two moments that wouldn’t exactly be considered politically correct in this day and age, but The Life of Brian remains a brilliantly funny satire of organised religion full of quotes that are still cited forty years after this movie first hit cinema screens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleApr 12, 2016
Most certainly an odd film, Monty Python's Life of Brian is a truly hysterical take on the Biblical story of Jesus and his life. Taking risks repeatedly, the film takes the unique approach of following a man named Brian who rises inMost certainly an odd film, Monty Python's Life of Brian is a truly hysterical take on the Biblical story of Jesus and his life. Taking risks repeatedly, the film takes the unique approach of following a man named Brian who rises in importance in Jerusalem at the same time of Jesus. Incredibly fresh even though it is 36 years since it came out, Life of Brian is a fast paced ball of energy that wrings laughs out of nearly every scene in the film, an impressive feat for any comedy film. I have not seen another Monty Python film before, but certainly plan on checking them out, especially after seeing this one. Well written and still quite respectful of the Biblical stories that inspired it, Life of Brian is a truly timeless comedy that may be on the older side, but still feels completely fresh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
askewglassesAug 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find this to be one of the funniest movies ever created. It doesn't necessarily attack religion but more it mocks the followers of religion. How something as simple as losing a sandal can be interpreted in a countless number of ways. It takes an original and satirical view on religion that has ever been replicated. And how can anyone forget the most hilarious imagery of a crucifixion ending with "Always Look on the Bright Side of Life" performed by Eric Idle. It is witty, creative, surreal, and of course hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
adalberathFeb 1, 2014
I admit that at the beginning, I found "Life of Brian" a bit inflated, but it managed to pull itself together in a such brilliant, ironic and optimistic way that I would have never expected. Life is kind of sh*t, when you look at it. That'sI admit that at the beginning, I found "Life of Brian" a bit inflated, but it managed to pull itself together in a such brilliant, ironic and optimistic way that I would have never expected. Life is kind of sh*t, when you look at it. That's the film's message. "Life of Brian" is not a subtle film, but a forthright one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisMar 28, 2022
Life of Brian may have caused controversy on release, but this has always been my personal favourite of the Monty Python movies. Why? Because it is hilarious! True, the story isn't the best component of the film, but everything else worksLife of Brian may have caused controversy on release, but this has always been my personal favourite of the Monty Python movies. Why? Because it is hilarious! True, the story isn't the best component of the film, but everything else works wonders. It is essentially an irreverent and inspired send up of religious epics, and is helped brilliantly by gags and a script that is so joyfully juvenile, if extremely rude, and quotable. Quotes such as "He's not the Messiah. He is a very naughty boy" and "Welease Wodewick" had me literally peeing my pants. The sets are realistic and all of the Pythons who here take several pot shots at their favourite targets, especially Terry Jones, Graham Chapman and Michael Palin are on top form. Overall, irreverent and hilarious, a must see! 10/10 Bethany Cox Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970May 27, 2018
Forget all you know about Scorsese´s The last Temptation of Christ. Never before a story parallel to oficial was narrated so amusing without being blasfemous. The final act where everybody sings the Monty Phyton anthem is catching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mrdr4gonFeb 9, 2018
Not quite as funny as Holy Grail, but on balance it's much more of a complete film than that one, and not being quite as funny as one of the funniest films of all time is hardly a real complaint by any stretch. So yeah, par excellence this is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OnaskNov 4, 2018
Un clásico de la comedia que todo el mundo debería ver. Es curioso como incluso a día de hoy, casi 40 años después de su estreno, algunos chistes (especialmente los basados en temas políticos y sociales, así como los religiosos) funcionan yUn clásico de la comedia que todo el mundo debería ver. Es curioso como incluso a día de hoy, casi 40 años después de su estreno, algunos chistes (especialmente los basados en temas políticos y sociales, así como los religiosos) funcionan y encima hacen gracia.

La película es corta, y aun así se me hizo un poco larga, pero tiene puntazos que la salvan y sin duda es tan bizarra que ya de por sí te llama la atención. No todo el mundo son los Monty Python, y no todo el mundo tiene los esféricos tan redondos como para hacer la parodia a la mayor figura de la humanidad: Jesús de Nazaret. Recomendada.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ahmedaiman1999Mar 30, 2019
" If you have enjoyed this film,
why not go and see "La Notte"? "
Thanks for your recommendation, Monty Python! I've just seen it yesterday. I mean, I knew that this film is ahead of its time, but this is too much! Anyway, whilst the humor
" If you have enjoyed this film,
why not go and see "La Notte"? "

Thanks for your recommendation, Monty Python! I've just seen it yesterday.

I mean, I knew that this film is ahead of its time, but this is too much!

Anyway, whilst the humor here didn't always work; there are many repetitive, overlong gags, and the jokes, especially in the first act, aren't as sharp and clever as those of The Holy Grail, for me, Life of Brian is just as, if not even more enjoyable and amusing than The Holy Grail, largely because it has a cohesive narrative structure instead of a series of sketches, the thing that made even the lamest and dumbest jokes fairly passable, and completely inoffensive.

(9/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UncleWillardMar 21, 2022
Classic roast of religion. I get that Monty Python isn't for everyone (well, no, really I don't, but no account for taste), but this is one of their masterpieces. I own it and have watched it multiple times, which for me is a rarity as IClassic roast of religion. I get that Monty Python isn't for everyone (well, no, really I don't, but no account for taste), but this is one of their masterpieces. I own it and have watched it multiple times, which for me is a rarity as I don't usually rewatch movies over and over. This is one that stands the test of time. I prefer this to, dare I say it, The Holy Grail. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AchspmanFeb 1, 2021
Who doesn't love this movie? a mix of stupidity, sketch comedy, and well... Monty python
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MahmusSep 25, 2020
What fascinates me most about this movie is the fact I don't think it starts particularly strong.

The opening scenes is hilarious and the opening credits are some of my favorites ever, but after that, the film drags quite bit and has much
What fascinates me most about this movie is the fact I don't think it starts particularly strong.

The opening scenes is hilarious and the opening credits are some of my favorites ever, but after that, the film drags quite bit and has much less laugh-out-loud moments than Holy Grail.

However, rarely does a movie improve this much in its second half. Once Brian unwillingly becomes the Messiah, the film picks up so much that it's almost impossible to remember anything else about it.

And then, as if that weren't enough, there's the ending, which is one of the most iconic in comedy history and the perfect way to end this movie.

Whether it is better than Holy Grail will completely depend on whether you prefer more story-driven or joke-driven comedies, but Life of Brian still remains a hilarious satire on religion, politics, social movements, and a **** of topics that got it banned. And you absolutely should see it.

Thanks, George Harrison.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DawdlingPoetNov 23, 2021
A very silly, eccentric/surreal type comedy watch from the Monty Python team, this is well worth a watch. Some scenes, I felt, worked better than others but there were enough funny moments to keep me entertained regardless. I particularlyA very silly, eccentric/surreal type comedy watch from the Monty Python team, this is well worth a watch. Some scenes, I felt, worked better than others but there were enough funny moments to keep me entertained regardless. I particularly enjoyed the stoning scene and ones where John Cleese's character gets very wound up! (no change there then referencing Fawlty Towers et al). I also liked the over the top/shrill tone of voice used for some characters. Its silly and entertaining, with the usual Monty Python opening titles, with words in lumps of stone falling around and things. I'd recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SabqnMar 29, 2020
Excellent film that portrays with English humor a very different reading of the passages of the New Testament. It invites us to think and reflect in addition to having fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HabibiehakimApr 7, 2022
7.5/10
Life Of Brian loses some of the Monty Python's originality compare to The Holy Grail, not that i say Life Of Brian should be the same like The Holy Grail, like breaking the rules and all that stuff, Life Of Brian did more of like a
7.5/10
Life Of Brian loses some of the Monty Python's originality compare to The Holy Grail, not that i say Life Of Brian should be the same like The Holy Grail, like breaking the rules and all that stuff, Life Of Brian did more of like a real movie than The Holy Grail, but it's just the story that not as engaging as before, not awful, but it's not as engaging, i enjoy the first 30 minutes of the film though the comedy didn't work completely, the 15 minutes after that i was completely lost, and the rest is the helpful one, because the rest is the one works perfectly fine with me, i enjoy it and the comedy works perfectly, so overall though Life Of Brian did has pretty lot of flaws but the movie still mostly enjoyable and mostly funny.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Spartan_117Nov 8, 2021
"Some things in life are bad
They can really make you mad
Other things just make you swear and curse When you're chewing on life's gristle Don't grumble, give a whistle And this'll help things turn out for the best And Always look on the
"Some things in life are bad
They can really make you mad
Other things just make you swear and curse
When you're chewing on life's gristle
Don't grumble, give a whistle
And this'll help things turn out for the best
And
Always look on the bright side of life
Always look on the light side of life"

Monty Python and The Holy Grail was a blast to watch in all its low-budget absurd hilarity and I was in the mood for something similar so I decided to give their subsequent outing a shot and it turned out to be another hysterical watch of Biblical proportions. Monty Python's Life of Brian is about, well, the life of Brian. A fella born around the same night as Jesus where The Three Wise Men mistakenly enter his abode and thus start a whole series of events that will eventually make Brian the Messiah, much to his dismay. Set in Jerusalem under Roman rule, the movie pokes fun at whatever it can find in that setting in the usual Monty Python fashion and Religion is at the centre of it. Whether it's religious fanatics, mob mentality, self-proclaimed prophets, living under foreign rule, rebellious groups, politics, etc it's all thrown into a pot with a layer of cleverness, a dab of absurdness, and a thick dose of exaggerated comedic chops, resulting in a non-stop hilarious romp that will have you in stitches. One of my favourite scenes was the entire Biggus Dickus bit. You just turn into one of the soldiers who just can't hold it in. And of course, the wonderful closing of the film via the song "Always look on the bright side of life" being sung by the Crucifixion party... how can one not love it. Wonderful performances by the entire cast. If you can have an open mind and are not someone who gets easily offended, especially if you're the religious type, and have not watched this movie yet, I'd highly recommend it. It will certainly lighten up your day/night and your life a tad bit henceforth. Hard for me to say whether I enjoy this one more or The Holy Grail without having rewatched either of them so for now, they are equal in my eyes. And if I were to rate it, I'd give it a solid 8/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Gts08Jun 22, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absurdly hilarious, Monty Python at their very best. Always watchable, and funny. So many iconic scenes, such a unique concept, and Terry Jones' performance is unforgettable. 8.8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews