American Broadcasting Company (ABC) | Release Date: July 7, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 896 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
619
Mixed:
160
Negative:
117
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JohnP.Jul 13, 2006
Sattles viewers to their seats with big budget action yet seemingly fails to satisfy in any way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GaryS.Jul 13, 2006
Interesting special effects, but we walked out after an hour. Very confusing plot or no plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DeezerD.Jul 14, 2006
I'm really not sure how people are -that- confused about this plot. Sure, it's a little sloppy, but come on people.... this isn't very difficult to understand. In fact, it's not even that important to understand every I'm really not sure how people are -that- confused about this plot. Sure, it's a little sloppy, but come on people.... this isn't very difficult to understand. In fact, it's not even that important to understand every detail of the story to enjoy the movie. Take this film for what it is -- mindless, meaningless? Sure. Entertaining and fun? Yep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
4345Jul 15, 2006
The movie felt long. Given the many plots and subplots going about it is a bit overwhelming to digest all of the information you're given in one sitting. While the action is entertaining and the special effects are very well done, it The movie felt long. Given the many plots and subplots going about it is a bit overwhelming to digest all of the information you're given in one sitting. While the action is entertaining and the special effects are very well done, it also begins to wear a bit thin by movie's end. Quantity over quality pervades much of the movie. Davy Jones was very well done, as were repeat performances from previous characters of the first pirates.. but stitching together all of the old characters felt a bit convoluted at times. Entertaining, worth seeing, a bit long and some nonsense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HadenJul 10, 2006
I thought it hit the spot not like that boring Superman Returns with its wooden indian acting and no plot. Pirates is great all around fun and the action is non stop. Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow steals the screen each and every time I thought it hit the spot not like that boring Superman Returns with its wooden indian acting and no plot. Pirates is great all around fun and the action is non stop. Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow steals the screen each and every time he appears. The rest of the cast is essentially worthless. I wish it had gone on and on as the audience I watched it with loved it. Great popcorn fun. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintM.Jul 15, 2006
Absolutely loved this one! the special f/x were incredible, Johnny Depp proves again that he earned that Oscar nomination for Sparrow, and the action is great!! Go see it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KarenS.Jul 16, 2006
"Take what you can. Give nothing back." This sequel is the worst kind of movie making. To betray your audience's anticipation of a second entertaining and well-crafted movie by giving them one with no plot, no character development, and "Take what you can. Give nothing back." This sequel is the worst kind of movie making. To betray your audience's anticipation of a second entertaining and well-crafted movie by giving them one with no plot, no character development, and the witless rehash of previous jokes, simply to make a buck, is itself an act of piracy. Disney isn't going to profit on my dollar again unless I benefit from the exchange, too. When they make another Pirates movie that is smart, funny, and well-written, I'll go see it. Until then, I'm sticking with Pixar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrianK.Jul 17, 2006
John T. to answer your question, Jack the Monkey was seen stealing a gold coin and re-turning Undead after the credits rolled in the first movie... Okay, Hard to say that this was an action movie, inaction was more like it, and the fact this John T. to answer your question, Jack the Monkey was seen stealing a gold coin and re-turning Undead after the credits rolled in the first movie... Okay, Hard to say that this was an action movie, inaction was more like it, and the fact this movie dragged so much is what hurt it the most I think. What made the first so great was it was dumb, fast, funny, shiny good fun the sequel was shiny but just dumb, I can't say I outright disliked this movie, I enjoyed moments, the story at times was good and the FX were Special. But I was yawning quite a bit during the Movie... lets hope the third installment is quite a bit better (I digged the surprise cliff hanger) ...despite So-So reviews this is the top grossing movie of all time it looks like, so Bruckheimer and Gore have nothing to be ashamed about, and Johnny Depp is now the biggest draw in the Universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BenS.Jul 18, 2006
Don't get me wrong, Curse of the Black Pearl is one of my favorite movies, but this sequel was abysmal. First of all, the movie was all over the place. They kept jumping between plot lines, and in one case (can't specify without Don't get me wrong, Curse of the Black Pearl is one of my favorite movies, but this sequel was abysmal. First of all, the movie was all over the place. They kept jumping between plot lines, and in one case (can't specify without spoilers) they seem to totally forget a plot element. The movie did not feel like the first. It's true it had the same characters and setting as the first film, but you need more than that for a good sequel. I was expecting more of a good thing, and I came out terribly disappointed. Disney has a chance to redeem themselves with the third movie, here's hoping they don't screw that one up too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkB.Jul 18, 2006
Remember the 1970s, when most movie sequels, like Jaws 2, Walking Tall and the Dirty Harry followup Magnum Force, were faint echoes of the originals, usually made by clock-punchers with nowhere near the skill or imagination of the original Remember the 1970s, when most movie sequels, like Jaws 2, Walking Tall and the Dirty Harry followup Magnum Force, were faint echoes of the originals, usually made by clock-punchers with nowhere near the skill or imagination of the original directors? Nowadays, movie sequels couldn't be any farther removed; they're part of franchises now, and so they crank up the budget and production values to give the audience more of the same, only much more, in large part because stock values and jobs are so heavily dependent on their success at topping the originals. The fact that Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest scored a now-legendary record-smashing debut weekend definitely promises more of the same in summers to come: Jerry Bruckheimer and Gore Verbinski have certainly ratcheted up the action set pieces (the three-man water-wheel duel IS a standout), and the CGI denizens of the deep, including the vengeful gigantic squid and Davy Jones' fishy navy are effectively detailed, gooey and gross enough to turn many of us seafood lovers into strict followers of Hebrew dietary laws. However, two elements that have conversely (and curiously) been reduced from the original are the plot, which in POTC1 managed to be refreshingly challenging and complex especially for a summer popcorn movie, and here is merely an excuse to jump from one big special effects sequence to another, and, ironically, the presence of Jack Sparrow himself (excuse me, CAPTAIN Jack Sparrow). This is peculiar because Johnny Depp's interpretation of the character (NOT the action, effects, or ANY of the costars, as a cursory look at the box office of Keira Knightley's or Orlando Bloom's other films will readily reveal) is what MADE the original THE definitive summer flick of 2003: Depp's work was so simultaneously bizarre, original and yet totally accessible that millions of moviegoers simultaneously claimed it as their own original discovery. Part of Depp's genius was that the made Sparrow both the comic relief AND the hero; he appeared to be a foppish, clueless buffoon, but he was in control at every turn. Here, Sparrow seems too often to be merely peripheral to the action, and his intelligence is noticeably diminished; watching such bits as this installment's cannibal sequence, I found myself being reminded too often of Wile E. Coyote. I enjoyed POTC2 enough on a big, dumb special effects movie level (and truly appreciated that they brought back my favorite supporting character from the original, the genuinely classy Disposable Fiance Norrington, even if I wasn't entirely thrilled by what they have his character do here) that these reservations are more observations than actual criticisms...but there's no real excuse to have the ending turn into the most shameless, blatant plug for Numero THree-O since Back to the Future 2 back in 1989. Shouldn't moviegoers with even more mixed responses to POTC2 than I had, and therefore DON'T plan to partake of POTC3 be entitled to get at least 20% of their money back? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrifterW.Jul 18, 2006
Truly a high seas adventure with plenty of great twists and turns in the plot, great comedic devices and a great set of actors I truly enjoyed Dead Man's Chest and I am surprised that many critics did not. Johnny Depp has created his on Truly a high seas adventure with plenty of great twists and turns in the plot, great comedic devices and a great set of actors I truly enjoyed Dead Man's Chest and I am surprised that many critics did not. Johnny Depp has created his on persona as Jack Sparrow whose crude, slurred remarks and facial expressions alone try to stand to make him the center point of the movie which is how this edition should be. But as comedic as he is, Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightly actually compete in his misadventurous comedy in this one as opposed to the first one. Decorated with the numerous side actors of the film I enjoyed watching it, and during most of the scenes I was laughing so hard I was almost on the floor. The comedy may seem to be 'Over the top' to most, but in my opinion I think that's how they designed Jack Sparrow to be. The villians are excellently designed, especially Davey Jones whose octopus face is excellent and creepy at the same time. I saw from other reviews I wasn't the only one to note that his eyes stood out from the character in fact making a character of themselves! The plot seems to be a bit rushed when introducing Elizabeth and Will in the beginning, but if they spent twenty minutes explaining what was happening before the rain started to fall it would have probably tipped the tide of the movie opinions. Truly their sense of timing was excellent and by the ratings of 250M$ in a full week it must be saying they've done something right! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveE.Jul 20, 2006
Just a long commerical for the next movie (of course there will be one)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JakobK.Jul 20, 2006
I didn't expect too much of this movie, seeing as how I wasn't particularly impressed by the first one, but it turned out to be a lot better than I thought. The action scenes are exciting, intelligent, and funny, the characters are I didn't expect too much of this movie, seeing as how I wasn't particularly impressed by the first one, but it turned out to be a lot better than I thought. The action scenes are exciting, intelligent, and funny, the characters are well-written as well as well-acted, and the film is visually very impressive. Some of the story is a bit confusing Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClydeM>Jul 21, 2006
It was awesome. Although it didnt have the spark the first one did it hall allot of other things to make up for it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyP.Jul 21, 2006
Perfect summer escapism. Depp is right on target!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaryG.Jul 21, 2006
A fun and hilarious romp, perfect summer entertainment for the whole family. Can't wait for the grand finale next summer! Depp, Knightley, Nighy, Harris - all gave engaging performances. The only problems with it: not enough Capt. Jack A fun and hilarious romp, perfect summer entertainment for the whole family. Can't wait for the grand finale next summer! Depp, Knightley, Nighy, Harris - all gave engaging performances. The only problems with it: not enough Capt. Jack and too much Will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinK.Jul 20, 2006
Some people seem to really hate this movie, but I don't see what all the hubub is about. It's supposed to be a summer blockbuster, not an arthouse treatise on the pirate-loot dynamics of the final years of sea exploration (which Some people seem to really hate this movie, but I don't see what all the hubub is about. It's supposed to be a summer blockbuster, not an arthouse treatise on the pirate-loot dynamics of the final years of sea exploration (which probably wouldn't have been a very different movie, anyway). No one will be winning any awards for dramatic acting, but everyone makes their roles entertaining, despite having to watch them play their simple archetypes (Bloom is good guy pirate, Depp is dashing rogue pirate, Knightley is damsel not-so-much-in-distress, etc.) for more than two hours. The start is sloooooow, but once the action starts its a fun ride until the end. It shouldn't be expected to be or considered anything more than an attempt to make a fun movie. See it if you want a fun little puff piece to fill an afternoon, not because you want to see Citizen Cane with pirates. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ArmenS.Jul 23, 2006
Interesting, sometimes beautiful, sometimes distracting visuals. I give it a one due to the times the visuals did look good. But other than that, i disliked just about everything else about this Pirates movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlotteH.Jul 27, 2006
This movie delivers more great, tongue-in-cheek, swashbuckling action in the same vein as "Black Pearl", and has even more spectacular visuals! Sure, I felt a little cheated by the cliff-hanger ending, but I'm not so indignant that I This movie delivers more great, tongue-in-cheek, swashbuckling action in the same vein as "Black Pearl", and has even more spectacular visuals! Sure, I felt a little cheated by the cliff-hanger ending, but I'm not so indignant that I won't shell out my money to see "Pirates III" next year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KyleC.Jul 27, 2006
I was not the least bit impressed. This lacks any of the freshness or inventiveness of the first. Purely derivative stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShawnJul 28, 2006
C'mon people - it's a summer movie and you were forewarned (from how the last movie played) that this movie is heavy on the visuals, effects, etc. and not as big on plot. Keep in mind to that this really more Part 2a, with Part 2b C'mon people - it's a summer movie and you were forewarned (from how the last movie played) that this movie is heavy on the visuals, effects, etc. and not as big on plot. Keep in mind to that this really more Part 2a, with Part 2b coming out next summer, than it is a stand alone sequel. [***SPOILERS***] OK - onto the review: this movie gives you everything you expected from a "Pirates of the Carribean" sequel: fierce battles, intrigue, plot twists, unrequited love, great sailing scenes...I could go on. Johnny Depp returns as our favorite pirate captain and he does not disappoint. He maintains his character's odd habits and mysterious ways and you are always trying to guess which side he is really on. The biggest character development is Keira Knightley's Elizabeth Swan. In the first "Pirates", she hints at the tough as nails "take-no-prisoners" woman her character wants to be - in the second movie, we see it come to the forefront. The only character who really remains the same is Will Turner, who is once again ably played by Orlando Bloom. Admittedly, Bloom's character experiences one of the major plot twists, but he continues to play Turner as a highly resourceful man of principle who will not allow convention to get in the way of doing what he believes is right. All in all, I found Dead Man's Chest to be a highly satisfying follow up to the first "Pirates" and I am eagerly anticipating next summer's finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SarahJul 29, 2006
The only reason i really enjoyed this movie at all was because it was the sequel to pirates 1. watching it i was kind of disappointing. the story got a little lost throughout the movie and i sortof forgot what was happening with the movie atThe only reason i really enjoyed this movie at all was because it was the sequel to pirates 1. watching it i was kind of disappointing. the story got a little lost throughout the movie and i sortof forgot what was happening with the movie at some parts. the ending to me was one of the best parts. and i think that the third movie is going to be better than the second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TannerR.Jul 6, 2006
Bloody brilliant. I am going to see it for a third time tonight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrockL.Jul 6, 2006
It was endlessly entertaining,more entertaining and fun than anything all year.Not even the Man of Steel could pull this off. With all the cast returning and more,this is a joy ride that you have to pay twice to fully experience it and feel It was endlessly entertaining,more entertaining and fun than anything all year.Not even the Man of Steel could pull this off. With all the cast returning and more,this is a joy ride that you have to pay twice to fully experience it and feel it.I was astounded and rocked.This film was awesome. The film begins after seeing Jack Sparow settling down with his ship and crew,while Elizabeth and Will Turner have settled down as well.But things of course can't be well for a damn Pirate,when a squid like pirate Davvy Jones reminds Jack that he has a debt to pay.So,of course ,the dishonestly honest Jack must seek help from Elizabeth and Will Turner and there we go again.Another wild ride that will simply leave you speechless. There's everything here for everyone.The thing that Superman Slightly lacked.Colorful ,fun Characters,smart dialogues,great epic-sized action.And of course,some really ,really awe-inspiring CGI effects. There are twists and surprising turns,especially towards the end ,where the fun gets even better ,scene after scene.Something great is always popping up. A far superior sequel than its already splendid first installment,we all loved the first one.And it concludes with a cliffhanger to leave you thirsty for the third.It's the kind of cliffhanger that Reloaded gave us,but its final installment didn't live up to expectations.But I can say this much that ,this films finale,or final installment will rock the world. The Production designs,the sets were unbelievable!They were breath taking.They were so elaborate and detailed that they meet the standards of LORD OF THE RINGS films.It gives the film an other-worldly look.As if the characters were in some kind of a fantasy world. Thank someone,that we have a versatile actor like Johnny Depp.The only actor who I would thank.Having his presence throughout the film was like having a magician constantly pulling out tricks that are all satisfying.Depp,is the first and best reason to watch this film,just like the first one.Knightley is a surprise here.The first one didn't develop her character much,but here she elevates and pushes the boundaries.She really has a lot to do here.Bloom was just like he was in the first one.But his character discovers something that will leave the audience surprised.That is his father.What a surprise it was to finally see the legendary Bootstrap Bill,and Sarsgard was perfection.And then there is the always fabulous Billy Nighy.Where the first one had Geoffrey Rush,here we have Nighy to give you a great baddie.Who never had disappointed me with his performance.So goes for the rest of the cast with a few new additions,such as Naomi Harris. Kudos,to Director Gore Verbinski,and Producer Bruckheimer and Ted Elliot& Terry Rosio for their smart,witty writing.They all give you the very definition of "sequels better than the original".They give you a grand spectacle.They really give you everything you deserve to get from a summer Blockbuster.It's a film that we deserve after numerous Blockbusters that didn't fully satisfied us.This film boosts a better score than the first one too. This one is purely fantasy.The Squid looking Pirates are hardly believable,I mean did they ever existed in really world?Whereas the first one had a more believable Bad Pirates.In this film,the Pirates are more Fantasy-like.And somehow detaches itself from reality.It doesn't occur to you that this might've happened.I mean Pirates that look like squids can hardly be bought.It features a lot more weird creatures,that are actually pirates and more.Giant sea monsters and creatures that are very well created with CGI.And that's one of the few big flaws this film has.It doesn't make itself realistic,nor does it take itself too seriously.When there's something dramatic and serious is suppose to happen.And yes,it's a lot more darker than the first one. Way dark.Don't bring those kids of yours,or they'll hate pirates and their misadventures. Yet,this is a splendid entertainer.It's funny,exciting,fast-paced even with 2 hours plus length.It's simply great.This film features more than you could ask for.Those 2 and a half hours in the dark will keep you thrilled throughout.This year's greatest entertainment is here and will knock you flat.I've seen many Blockbusters, from V for Vendetta,to MI3,Da Vinci to X3 to Superman returns.But none could achieve the satisfaction as this Pirates sequel did.So,it's not all that risky to trust the bloody Pirates after all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeM.Jul 7, 2006
Reading the reviews of POTC:DMC left me weary as I left for the theater. Aside from Apocalypto and The Fountain, this was the first film of the year I had been looking forward too. I am happy to say it does not disappoint. POTC:DMC is full Reading the reviews of POTC:DMC left me weary as I left for the theater. Aside from Apocalypto and The Fountain, this was the first film of the year I had been looking forward too. I am happy to say it does not disappoint. POTC:DMC is full of the humor that made the first film so appealing, doubles the action, and delivers better performances all around. One of the main complaints is concerned with the films running time. Yes, Pirates runs two and a half hours, but after watching it, I was hungry for more. This is one of those films that should not be judged on it's intellect, but on it's ability to deliver entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CherryJul 7, 2006
the characters were cool...but they spent 2 much time making the characters cool..that they forgot the plot!! i think the first one was better..the second one was pretty good but could of been better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonydannieJul 7, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] Oh Jack Sparrow. You have come back once again to grace the screen with all your rum loving attitude. But why oh why did you have to go to that island where the natives think you are a god? The film starts out like any [***SPOILERS***] Oh Jack Sparrow. You have come back once again to grace the screen with all your rum loving attitude. But why oh why did you have to go to that island where the natives think you are a god? The film starts out like any sequel does. You get re-united(not re-introduced) With the characters from the previous swashbuckling adventure and alot of this and alot of that happens and the movie continues to(you only hope)move forward. Aside from seeng Depp as the rum loving pirate The first quarter of the movie tries desperately to be funny.That's whats hurting it at this point. The natives in this island think that Sparrow is a god but they have to cook him and eat him to release him from his human shell. Well That sounds fine and good but it just draggs for quite a bit too long. overfilled with jokes making it a bit too (here i go using this word that many pepole have thrown around a little too much this past week with another summer blockbuster release) CAMPY! It is to this point where we see Jack Sparrow not as the greatest Pirate that ever lived..but the most idiotic! Lucky for us Our heroes leave this Island and it's natives behind and we get our good ol' pal Jack just as we remember him. Cunning, Mischievious, and yes..Drunk. Aside from the Island sequence. I was affraid I was going to hate this movie. But as soon as discussions of Davey Jones kick in and the Dead Man's chest is out and about. The movie picks up with the same energy that made the original so much fun to watch. Lots Of Special Effects filled action and Davey JOnes Alone is worth a look. which he is played by none other the Bill "VIKTOR" Nighy. The man is one of the greats in my book. and There is this amazing scene with a sea monster that swallows boats whole. I know what it is called i just don't want to spell it right now. So if you are looking for a good time. I say yes..go see. Pirates 2. But remember it will take a bit of time for the movie to get there. And you are going to love the Ending. Like The Lord of the rings, Back to the future and yes, even the matrix. This ending is going to make you say "WHAT?" Have fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrSnugglesJul 7, 2006
It took a while to get going and could have done with some editing but I thought this was smashing fun and the Kraken was wicked. Cars and SR haven't come out in the UK yet but this is the best blockbuster so far this Summer (although It took a while to get going and could have done with some editing but I thought this was smashing fun and the Kraken was wicked. Cars and SR haven't come out in the UK yet but this is the best blockbuster so far this Summer (although admittedly that is not saying much) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MartyJ.Jul 7, 2006
A Bigger Version of The First Film, I Didnt like the love triangle between Jack,Elizabeth and Will. Otherwise Just As Enjoyable As the first... And After the Ending I Cant wait for No.3.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VladimirG.Jul 7, 2006
Poor writing, some poor CGI, poor plot structure and arch, but if I told you I didn't enjoy it I would be lying. Listen, this is a movie based on a theme park ride, so if you're going there to see anything more than cheap yet funny Poor writing, some poor CGI, poor plot structure and arch, but if I told you I didn't enjoy it I would be lying. Listen, this is a movie based on a theme park ride, so if you're going there to see anything more than cheap yet funny jokes and silly action sequences you're probably a moron. I had a great time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnB.Jul 7, 2006
Dead Man's Chest was a movie I really tried to like but after two and a half hours in the theater I found this to be no more than mediocre. We are supposed to like Jack Sparrow right? That's why we came to see the movie right? Dead Man's Chest was a movie I really tried to like but after two and a half hours in the theater I found this to be no more than mediocre. We are supposed to like Jack Sparrow right? That's why we came to see the movie right? Well, it was unfortunate to see Depp's character slip towards the endless gags and while the infamous captain we all came to love still brings some great moments I couldn't help but feel like it was stale. Orlando Bloom has yet to impress me as an actor. Perhaps a really nice hat might have been the trick. Keira Kightley brings us everything we had expected in Elizabeth Swann. It's too bad the chemistry between the characters that seemed to work in the first one seems to have been overdone in Dead Man's Chest. There were more awkward moments in this film than there should have been. I enjoyed the salty sea creatures of Davy Jones and the monster they enjoy to unleash, but the action in this movie was far too relentless. The pacing really started to veer off course too much. Also, is it too much to ask for more additions to the score? I would prefer to not to hear a rehash of the same music from the previous movie. Overall, there are enough decent lines to create a new book of pirate phrases with the same wit that made the first movie interesting, but with too much action, unclear character motivations and running gags, Dead Man's Chest verges far too close to collapsing on itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyJul 7, 2006
If I could give this movie any rating (not just 1-10) it would still be off the charts. I went to the midnight premiere and it was a blast. You don't get that kind of energy in a room unless it's at a midnight show. It was a crazy If I could give this movie any rating (not just 1-10) it would still be off the charts. I went to the midnight premiere and it was a blast. You don't get that kind of energy in a room unless it's at a midnight show. It was a crazy theater full of people who are just in love with Pirates: amazing. People wildly cheered the new grand entrance of Captain Jack Sparrow, weren't afraid to let loose laughing, and just totally enjoyed the ride from stop to finish. I'll admit the beginning was a bit disorientating, and I found myself longing for a clear day on the horizon instead of being below decks for the entire film. It was only in the first 20 minutes when I actually doubted the plotline of the film. Imagine that: doubting two of the greatest writers in Hollywood, not to mention some of the best actors. Now there's a laugh. But as soon as Depp appeared, everyone was in high spirits. The stunts and swordfights were all amazing, as they should be. This sequel includes a host of new characters, most notably a wacky fortune-teller, a colonial lord intent on "justice", and old Bootstrap Turner. We find one character from the previous film in Tortuga, definitely worse for wear, and his character's personality has undergone a complete development stage. It makes for one very interesting clash onscreen, let me tell you. And the Kraken.... oh man, if there's ever been a granddaddy of sea monsters, this is it. That monstrosity rips ships apart in nigh ten seconds. We can truly see why they say Davy Jones rules the seas with a beast like that at his command. Jack Sparrow actually stays a good man to the end (with some assistance from Elizabeth of course), and the twist at the end is enough to rock you until Memorial Day weekend 2007. With all these twists and turns, that means you have to keep up with the story as you're going through all of the different plots. It's one helluva ride though, and better than the first. Cheers. And remember: Hide the rum!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AaronE.Jul 7, 2006
Too long, not funny, no plot, and it makes no sense unless you've seen the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChuckyoJul 8, 2006
The first half of the film drags, but the second half is great. The film definitely could have been cut down to a shorter running time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlackA.Jul 8, 2006
I saw POTC:DMC this evening and I loved the film. I left the theatre wanting more and ready for the next installment. . .immediately. It's funny, I didn't go into the theatre with high expectations, somewhat mindful of the the I saw POTC:DMC this evening and I loved the film. I left the theatre wanting more and ready for the next installment. . .immediately. It's funny, I didn't go into the theatre with high expectations, somewhat mindful of the the lackluster movie reviews in the press. Having said that, I have no idea what crawled up the collective a**es of the majority of the movie critics and got caught in their sphincters. I guess some of them have no sense of fun or something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidG.Jul 8, 2006
In my opinion the first quarter of the movie lacked the PoTC finesse which the first movie showed so brilliantly, but it was still interesting albeit it was a little confusing here and there. The rest of the movie was sheer brilliance as it In my opinion the first quarter of the movie lacked the PoTC finesse which the first movie showed so brilliantly, but it was still interesting albeit it was a little confusing here and there. The rest of the movie was sheer brilliance as it was polished all around. It had action perhpas better than any movies so far this year, an excellent atmosphere, some nicely thrown in humor, and an overall pleasing storyline. So if you were a fan of PoTC 1, do yourself a favour, and go see this movie. PS: Hahah hey Carson, camping was awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShellyN.Jul 8, 2006
Yes, it was long, but I was thrilled to be watching this entertaining movie the entire time. Movies like this are as essential to summer as a trip to Dairy Queen -- you know it's not the best quality, but for pure fun and escapism it Yes, it was long, but I was thrilled to be watching this entertaining movie the entire time. Movies like this are as essential to summer as a trip to Dairy Queen -- you know it's not the best quality, but for pure fun and escapism it can't be beat. Johnny Depp is excellent, Bill Nighy somehow manages to show his great personality through the craziest prostheic ever and the the supporting pirates are gleefully fun to watch. This isn't trying to be high art, I don't think people should judge it as such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.LohmannJul 8, 2006
Great Movir. Depp is fantastic and funny. Finally, a great summer movie!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PrattJul 8, 2006
I can't believe i'm hearing all this whining...anyone who claimed to have had a boring time watching this movie must have drunk a fifth of nyquil before sitting down in the theatre. As far as a plot goes yes the story arc is weak, I can't believe i'm hearing all this whining...anyone who claimed to have had a boring time watching this movie must have drunk a fifth of nyquil before sitting down in the theatre. As far as a plot goes yes the story arc is weak, and yes the characters are underdeveloped, but the first one wasn't made famous for script depth...it was made famous because it was so fun to watch. And, you now what, as a sequel it more than delivers back twice of the enjoyment of the first one. Seeing Johnny Depp prancing around and finding himself a new scapegoat is hilarious simply because he plays the part so well. Also anyone who said the CGI was bad surely must need eyeglasses...i found myself fascinated by Davey jones and his nautical cohorts. Also, the Jones character was made even better for me thanks to some spot on voice acting by Bill Nighy. Also, i noticed many complaining about the length of the film, the two plus hours was fine with me, because unlike some bloated superhero film I watched two weeks ago, the pacing was great and I had fun all the way up to Barbosa's second coming. Anyone who enjoyed Supertrash over this needs their head checked. 8 out of 10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CamdenS.Jul 8, 2006
A liitle long but entertaining and fun. some moments of belly aching laughter including a great sequence involving a large mill wheel. The villians are slimy, sleezy, gooey and funny -- the best of all worlds - beneath and above the sea!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettC.Jul 8, 2006
I don't get all the critics on this one... since when is it not enough to be a fun summer movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeAverageJul 9, 2006
A welcome way to escape the heat on a Saturday afternoon, just don't expect to remember much of the film the following morning. Despite all its wasted potential, X-men 3 had at least some resonant scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GeneW.Jul 9, 2006
Overly long, overly noisy, this sequel is nothing more than a two and a half hour trailer for the third installment of the franchise. Dead Man's Chest has a slow beginning, a bloated middle and no end. It's the worst kind of movie Overly long, overly noisy, this sequel is nothing more than a two and a half hour trailer for the third installment of the franchise. Dead Man's Chest has a slow beginning, a bloated middle and no end. It's the worst kind of movie making, a crass ploy to get us back for No. 3. A waste of time and money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleH.Jul 9, 2006
Just watched the first movie last week and saw Dead Man's Chest tonight and I loved it. It's going down as one of my favorites!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichelleC.Jul 9, 2006
Not as good as the first, but this is a fun and entertaining movie. Johnny Depp is amazing as always and has incredible chemistry with Kiera Knightly. I would caution parents with young children as this can be gross and graphic. Special Not as good as the first, but this is a fun and entertaining movie. Johnny Depp is amazing as always and has incredible chemistry with Kiera Knightly. I would caution parents with young children as this can be gross and graphic. Special effects are delightful and action sequences very satisfying. For those of you who like movies to have a clear cut ending it does not come here. I get that there is another sequel coming, but still thought this one deserved a better finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlexI.Jul 9, 2006
For all the ecstatic reviews on this site, I can only offer the following anecdote. I saw this movie at midnight on Thursday. The theater was packed, people were dressed up in costume, 80% of the audience hardcore fans of the movie. Maybe For all the ecstatic reviews on this site, I can only offer the following anecdote. I saw this movie at midnight on Thursday. The theater was packed, people were dressed up in costume, 80% of the audience hardcore fans of the movie. Maybe three people clapped at the end of it out of over 150 in the audience and everyone filed out as quickly as possible. There wasn't the kind of excited buzz that follows the opening of a good/fun movie, just a lot of discontented grumbling about how late it was. I can't even claim it was entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinM.Jul 9, 2006
This movie is way too long for what it is. I was so looking forward to it but walked away with a "so what" attitude. The dialogue was, at times, very hard to understand. The movie relied a lot on the first one, which I haven't seen for This movie is way too long for what it is. I was so looking forward to it but walked away with a "so what" attitude. The dialogue was, at times, very hard to understand. The movie relied a lot on the first one, which I haven't seen for several years, so many of the "surprises" left me dumbfounded. I'm sure the ending was provocative if you knew who the guy coming down the steps is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BritneyB.Jul 9, 2006
IMO, this movie actually deserves a 9, but I think a lot of people were too hard on it. I found Dead Man's Chest to be everything I hoped it would be. There are plenty of laughs, and amazing quotes. Like Pirates 1, having Johnny Depp IMO, this movie actually deserves a 9, but I think a lot of people were too hard on it. I found Dead Man's Chest to be everything I hoped it would be. There are plenty of laughs, and amazing quotes. Like Pirates 1, having Johnny Depp could most likely make or break the movie (at least at the box office). However, I found Orlando's acting to be a big improvement over his decent, but not outstanding, performance in the first film, especially in the scenes with 'Bootstrap' Bill. The plot and character development was impressive, and the feeling of randomness that you get from skipping around from character to character adds to the film, as long as you're paying attention and can keep up. I have seen the movie twice already (once at midnight on the 7th) and can't wait to see it a few more times in theatres! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JorgeS.Jul 9, 2006
THE most unintelligible and completely cofusing plot ever, the whole movie felt like it was thrown together with various dandy action sequences. Granted, they were fantastic, but at least the ones in Black Pearl served a purpose (did we THE most unintelligible and completely cofusing plot ever, the whole movie felt like it was thrown together with various dandy action sequences. Granted, they were fantastic, but at least the ones in Black Pearl served a purpose (did we realy have to see the octopus more than twice?) All in all, the only reason to see this movie is for the amazing action sequences and Johnny Depp's awesome role as Jack Sparrow, which were enough to propel my score to a six. If none of these things interest you, i suggest you skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesG.Jul 9, 2006
It does what it is supposed to do and is honorable in its pursuit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottN.Jul 9, 2006
Not as good as the first and too many tangled plot points, but action-packed (after the first 20 minutes) and satisfying eye-candy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NavneetS.Jul 9, 2006
An absolutely underrated movie! I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TracyB.Jul 9, 2006
Not a bad movie- Johnny Depp was great, again. The make up, special effects and sets were fantastic. But, like King Kong (although better) it was over the top with too many of the action scenes that dragged on and should have been cut down- Not a bad movie- Johnny Depp was great, again. The make up, special effects and sets were fantastic. But, like King Kong (although better) it was over the top with too many of the action scenes that dragged on and should have been cut down- needed a more developed story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJul 9, 2006
Pure Popcorn. Loved it. Just go and enjoy. Johnny Depp is magic as Captain Jack Sparrow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Bebop717Jul 9, 2006
For those you have not seen it look forward to the cannibal island. That is about 30 mins of material that could totally be cut, it's totally filler that has nothing to do with the entire movie. Actually most of the movie is filler and For those you have not seen it look forward to the cannibal island. That is about 30 mins of material that could totally be cut, it's totally filler that has nothing to do with the entire movie. Actually most of the movie is filler and is filled with side plots. It's just a summer action fluff movie with bad writing, does anyone remember a single memorable quote? Of course you can't because 1) there are none and 2) Practically everyone is a pirate in the movie which means that is overall much harder to understand them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LegionAug 10, 2006
Oh damn, it sucked. Man, the sequel totally raped the glory of the first Pirates movie. Whole movie was just stupid running after the heart of some jellyfish guy.. Then the ending. it was the worst. Why can't bad guys just die normally anymore?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MaseAug 1, 2006
Well to be fair, if you liked the orginal Pirates you will most likely like this one as well. It's pretty much more of the same, boring action sequences boring characters, boring dialogue and hugely overrated performance by Depp. Well to be fair, if you liked the orginal Pirates you will most likely like this one as well. It's pretty much more of the same, boring action sequences boring characters, boring dialogue and hugely overrated performance by Depp. Knightley and Bloom are completly yawn inducing if not good looking. Why this franchise doesn't click is beyond me, again like the original is much too long and just doesn't have any verve or edge. But it is essentially a family film meant to appeal to all consumers so there is no surprise there is little edge. Visuals are stunning however the reptile pirates look great. But really who wants to sit in a theatre for 2 and half hours for this. You can only take so much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NjoiF.Aug 16, 2006
This movie was a big disappointment. I really expected much more after the excellent original pirates of the carebean. The only good thing about the movie is the few funny parts carried by jack sparrow, because the story sucks and is not This movie was a big disappointment. I really expected much more after the excellent original pirates of the carebean. The only good thing about the movie is the few funny parts carried by jack sparrow, because the story sucks and is not even concluded in the end of the movie. It's unoriginal, boring at times and just plain directioness. Not worth seeing unless you can do it for free. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
N.DelwelAug 7, 2006
I'm glad I saw the first part the day before I saw the sequel - all the running gags, unusual characters and uncanny places are completely in line with the first movie, which makes the sequel seem kicked in at the last minute after I'm glad I saw the first part the day before I saw the sequel - all the running gags, unusual characters and uncanny places are completely in line with the first movie, which makes the sequel seem kicked in at the last minute after counting the fees from the first. Nonetheless, this movie will have you grinning if not laughing at numerous moments. The story is all new and makes room for a third, and the zany adventures have only become zanier, with battles in the weirdest places and escapes defying the laws of gravity. It's a fun and clean sequal to a movie you might want to see beforehand. Turn off your mind, switch off the logic and have a great time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiamondSeaSep 11, 2006
this movie was great, it had action, adventure, romance and comedy, it has been on in my town since June when it was released, and I don't live in a small town.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevint.Nov 13, 2006
I though it was full of thrill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DiabloP.Dec 5, 2006
This movie is far from perfect, but it is a good movie for what it is --Big Budget crap. Sometimes Big Budget crap is what the movie industry needs. So if your one of those people who like perfect movies...don't go here, but if you like This movie is far from perfect, but it is a good movie for what it is --Big Budget crap. Sometimes Big Budget crap is what the movie industry needs. So if your one of those people who like perfect movies...don't go here, but if you like action and great special effects...Come on Down! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkSJul 10, 2006
While Depp was great himself, he had little to do or work with. Sparrow had none of the clever and one-upsmanship of the first movie. His actions were almost inconsequential to everything that was going on. He did nothing so cool as toWhile Depp was great himself, he had little to do or work with. Sparrow had none of the clever and one-upsmanship of the first movie. His actions were almost inconsequential to everything that was going on. He did nothing so cool as to warrant his great line from #1 "Lads, I'm Jack Sparrow". He was a bumbling coward, and the question of loyalty to the other 2 leads should have been left for dead in the first movie, or always cloudy what he was up to until the end, like in Black Pearl. This one, he is an unabashed selfish jerk and traitor. No depth, no color. All the jokes seemed very much contrived, not smooth and natural like the first film. Big disappointment. Depp, Knightly, the voodoo chic were good, action was so so with a few real bright spots. The rum jokes were easily the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TomB.Jul 11, 2006
The cast and crew of Dead Man's Chest seem to have no idea what was successful about the first 'Pirates of the Caribbean' - and they are the same people! They just happen upon the 'snowball gathering speed down a The cast and crew of Dead Man's Chest seem to have no idea what was successful about the first 'Pirates of the Caribbean' - and they are the same people! They just happen upon the 'snowball gathering speed down a hill' in the second half of this film, but the pacing of the first hour is just DEATH - and not the fun kind. The material in the first 60 minutes could be covered in 6 - and it still would have been over 90 minutes long. Warning to parents: the PG-13 is firm. The blood and creepiness in this second 'Pirates' outing far exceeds the first and is not appropriate for younger children. Whle Davey Jones' crew are imaginative creatures, their gruesome visages will haunt the young - and are too detailed to read on the big screen (ILM's downfall on more than one film) and will be lost on smaller formats like DVD. What were they thinking? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuzanneC.Jul 11, 2006
i can't believe people are saying that this film wasn't as good as the first one. it had more action, more comedy, more twists, more exciting characters and an amazing cliff hanger. the first one was fantastic but this one topped i can't believe people are saying that this film wasn't as good as the first one. it had more action, more comedy, more twists, more exciting characters and an amazing cliff hanger. the first one was fantastic but this one topped it in my book. i saw it the day after it was released and it got amazing cheers when it started and had more when it finished. it was amazing and should be a definite oscar winner for johnny!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanaM.Jul 10, 2006
Let's start by saying it was a movie worth seeing. It was worth the 9 bucks to be entertained. The special effects were quite good, and Davey Jones crew was quite a makeup mans nightmare. Certain scenes were difficult to understand but Let's start by saying it was a movie worth seeing. It was worth the 9 bucks to be entertained. The special effects were quite good, and Davey Jones crew was quite a makeup mans nightmare. Certain scenes were difficult to understand but hey the special effects were great. The accents of the actors, especially the Voodoo lady were so think that it was difficult to understand the lines. Did all pirates have English accents back then? Hmmm. Depp was his usual swishey cowardly self, running away from everything possible. Only when he's chained to his sinking ship by Elizabeth does he show some guts. Disappointing character development IMHO. But overall a good movie, worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlL.Jul 10, 2006
Entertaining, but these silly summer blockbusters are getting way too long (yes, I'm looking at you Superman). Seems like editors don't have any kind of pull in Hollywood any more. Director won't cut out the fat, the producer Entertaining, but these silly summer blockbusters are getting way too long (yes, I'm looking at you Superman). Seems like editors don't have any kind of pull in Hollywood any more. Director won't cut out the fat, the producer won't cut anything expensive and as a result these movies are getting bloated, protracted and boring. This one is no exception. Longwinded scenes with pointless uninspiring banter or alternately bulky exposition, punctuated with lengthy action set pieces which, while an undeniably rollicking good time, added nothing to the story whatsoever. Knightley was great, Depp seemed to be gritting his teeth and thinking of the money, and Orlando Bloom was just a pretty-looking mannequin. So why an 8? Because I work in the CG industry and I have never seen better work any other movie ever. Absolutely seamless, and very, very beautiful. The work on Davy Jones's wet, squishy visage was in a class of it's own. I live for the day when work of this calibre turns up in a story that would actually make the effort worthwhile. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJul 11, 2006
I have absolutely no idea where all these naysayers are coming from. Every single person I know who has seen the film, agrees that this movie truly establishes the series as the best original film franchise since Back to the Future and I have absolutely no idea where all these naysayers are coming from. Every single person I know who has seen the film, agrees that this movie truly establishes the series as the best original film franchise since Back to the Future and Indiana Jones. This trilogy will go down in history books, and will be deemed as timeless classics. And Davy Jones is beautiful. He is truly stunning, and is easily the most iconic movie villain since Darth Vader, and the old time classic Disney villains like Maleficent and the Queen from Snow White. The running time absolutely flies by, and there is alot more storyline and inventive action sequences than the first film, which was a rather swift plot dragged into a 2-hour swordfight. It's eye-candy, it's sensationalism, and it perfectly picks you up where it left off and drops you off gasping for breath. Do not listen to these bizzarre people that did not like; there is not a single thing more you could ask for from a popcorn movie; and it's so refreshing to see such a wonderful film that is NOT adapted from silly fantasy novels or overrated comic books! Because when you get right down to it, all the films borrow from the ride is the name itself; plotwise, the films borrow more from the Monkey Island computer games. See it now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NancyS.Jul 12, 2006
1) Too long. It felt long, regardless of how I felt about it overall. I didn't think of it at the time but a prior voter here said that the cannibal island sequence could have been cut with no real damage and I think I would have to 1) Too long. It felt long, regardless of how I felt about it overall. I didn't think of it at the time but a prior voter here said that the cannibal island sequence could have been cut with no real damage and I think I would have to agree and some of the other scenes could have been shortened to make the slap-stick effect a bit more punchy. They were probably too attached to the cannibal idea but it was a plot (?) meander that wasn't needed. 2) Not for younger kids, I think, although, who knows, with the cartoons and stuff they watch these days, but a little on the graphic side it seemed to me with some of the Davey Jones bunch. 3) Frankly, if I had known what the general plot was before I went I would have been able to enjoy it a little more instead of trying to figure out the plot and interpret dialogue (and unlike some voters here, I think there was one, or several, plots). 4) I did laugh at some of the dialogue and the visuals were pretty cool - I had no problem with Davey Jones and his crew: was fascinated by the tentacle beard but creeped out by some of the crew. If you want to enjoy the third movie than you need to see the second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeyP.Jul 12, 2006
I have to give it a 0, because it was that craptacular. Considering how great the first one was, it's amazing how terrible the second one was. The sad thing is, that since it's making a lot of money, some producers will think they I have to give it a 0, because it was that craptacular. Considering how great the first one was, it's amazing how terrible the second one was. The sad thing is, that since it's making a lot of money, some producers will think they did something right. What they WON'T REALIZE is, is what they did right in first place was the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinD.Jul 12, 2006
I loved it! Sure, the opening was slow, but the second half more than makes up for it. And as for being "too scary" for little kids, I took my 3 and 5 year old brothers and the only thing that scared them was the "Lady In The Water" trailer. I loved it! Sure, the opening was slow, but the second half more than makes up for it. And as for being "too scary" for little kids, I took my 3 and 5 year old brothers and the only thing that scared them was the "Lady In The Water" trailer. The movie itself was riveting! Best movie I've seen in a while! Can't wait for POTC: At World's End... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HalB.Jul 13, 2006
Very disappointing overall. Some cool special effects & makeup (Bill Nighy as Davy Jones) and a few humorous/entertaining action sequences, but a very uneven movie -- veering wildly from cruel and gross to silly (the Keystone Kops-type Very disappointing overall. Some cool special effects & makeup (Bill Nighy as Davy Jones) and a few humorous/entertaining action sequences, but a very uneven movie -- veering wildly from cruel and gross to silly (the Keystone Kops-type sequences). Basically just a setup for Act III. Perhaps I was expecting too much, given how thoroughly entertaining the first POTC was. Bill Nighy's performance was the best thing about the film. Depp completely inhabits Capt Jack Sparrow, but his act is wearing thin at this point (in my humble opinion). Maybe I'm missing the point...? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatssunflowerJul 13, 2006
Its quite simple to enjoy this movie: have a sense of humor, accept the interwoven legend with history, and step into Pirate's world. Stick to the code. Otherwise you will be another frustrated soul whining about length, confusion, and Its quite simple to enjoy this movie: have a sense of humor, accept the interwoven legend with history, and step into Pirate's world. Stick to the code. Otherwise you will be another frustrated soul whining about length, confusion, and boredom....gross. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobR.Jul 13, 2006
Lots of fun.....but the next movie will make or break this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndyM.Jul 13, 2006
Aside from the length (30 mins too long) and the hugely derivative ending (that blatantly steals from a multitude of films - Jaws, Star Wars, Star Trek 2, LOTR) there is just enough of the original magic to make it worth viewing. Perhaps it Aside from the length (30 mins too long) and the hugely derivative ending (that blatantly steals from a multitude of films - Jaws, Star Wars, Star Trek 2, LOTR) there is just enough of the original magic to make it worth viewing. Perhaps it has suffered from over-inflated expectation? Judging from some of the comments here, I think so. Regardless, it has some truly excellent effects, and dashes of physical comedy that would have brought a smile to Chaplin's face (the kebab sequence, the rolling wheel?!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KieferH>Jul 13, 2006
...not much to say about this one...didn't live up to the expectations of us all i believe...not too shabby though....a little tedious to watch....*asi asi* ( spanish for *so so*)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GerronK.Jul 13, 2006
This is a fantastic thrill ride from beginning to end! From the stunning special effects, to the always dependable Johnny Depp's performance, this movie defines the genre of summer blockbuster. I will admit that the movie seems to be This is a fantastic thrill ride from beginning to end! From the stunning special effects, to the always dependable Johnny Depp's performance, this movie defines the genre of summer blockbuster. I will admit that the movie seems to be veering off course several times, but that didn't deter me from having the best time at a theater since last year's "Batman Begins". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SeamusM.Jul 14, 2006
First hour was good. The rest was goddamn-awful. i've never been so bored in a cinema....ok maybe once or twice. Incomprehensible plot which means the action sequences have no meaning. Avoid,avoid like the plague.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobF.Jul 14, 2006
An entertaining flick, but the end is very unsatisfying--like an empty chocolate truffle. It was obviously designed that way so that the story is completed with the next installment. I am very surprised that other reviews did not mention this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisA.Jul 14, 2006
I can't believe everyone complaining about the cliffhanger ending. "Fellowship of the Ring" ended the same way, but everyone thinks that's the best movie ever. "Dead Man's Chest" was a great fun movie that gets you pumped for I can't believe everyone complaining about the cliffhanger ending. "Fellowship of the Ring" ended the same way, but everyone thinks that's the best movie ever. "Dead Man's Chest" was a great fun movie that gets you pumped for the final film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sinn7Jul 14, 2006
This is the best movie I have seen in 3 years (when the 1st one came out). It was so funny that at one stage I found myself clapping as I laughed! It was also more exciting than the 1st movie as I was literally on the edge of my seat for the This is the best movie I have seen in 3 years (when the 1st one came out). It was so funny that at one stage I found myself clapping as I laughed! It was also more exciting than the 1st movie as I was literally on the edge of my seat for the last fifteen minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoshuaJ.Jul 14, 2006
Extremely entertaining! Great special effects, Great family movie. A movie for all ages. Not as corny as the first but still a good movie. If you go in there expecting anything more then a good time, then youre mistaken. Dont go in there Extremely entertaining! Great special effects, Great family movie. A movie for all ages. Not as corny as the first but still a good movie. If you go in there expecting anything more then a good time, then youre mistaken. Dont go in there looking for one of Depps more dramatic performances and dont go in there looking for Depps range as an actor. This movie is the definition of a good time at the movies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
G.Jul 14, 2006
life is too precious to waste on this. The movie could have been made by a six year old.. thread bare plot woven around awful CGI sequences awful theatrical acting flat one liners people banging their heads/falling off cliffs as humour
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KristenJ.Jul 15, 2006
I LOVED the first Pirates movie. I had posters of Capt. Jack and Will on my bedroom walls. I couldn't wait for the sequal, I was looking forward to it the whole year. I'm sorry to say i really didn't like this movie, it I LOVED the first Pirates movie. I had posters of Capt. Jack and Will on my bedroom walls. I couldn't wait for the sequal, I was looking forward to it the whole year. I'm sorry to say i really didn't like this movie, it didn't feel like the first. I can't believe I'm saying this, but I actually thought it was really bad. I went home after the movie and took down my posters. Maybe I've grown up. Or maybe the movie really is that bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KravenJul 15, 2006
They should have stopped at the first film. If 3 is anywhere near as boring as 2 then the whole ship is sunk!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerW.Jul 16, 2006
I've heard everything on the spectrum for this movie, from too dark and different from the first, to the same old crap. I watched this movie opening night with the expectation of it holding the bar set by the first one. Coming out of I've heard everything on the spectrum for this movie, from too dark and different from the first, to the same old crap. I watched this movie opening night with the expectation of it holding the bar set by the first one. Coming out of the theatre I realised I'd experienced a much different movie from the first, a much darker and more character driven movie. Oddly enough I also find myself disagreeing with those who think this movie is funnier. I enjoyed this movie, and hold it up to par with the first: a moodier atmosphere, deeper characters, and a step away from typical romanticism and cheesy lines, all of which play to my preferences. Worth seeing if you have an open mind, dont expect every inch of novelty the first one had (it is the same series after all), and are willing to give the characters some room to grow. Final thoughts: Yes it is noticably long & Davy Jones' is incredible: flawless animation and excellent acting seemlessly combined. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
IanJul 16, 2006
Was a good film all in all. But the ending was rather reminiscent of the lord of the rings, when the fellowship is created, but worth a watch if you want to see pirates, ghouls & cannibals all in one film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BeckerR.Jul 17, 2006
Lost most of the potent wit of the first film and Bloom and Knightly were totally less likable. More of a formulaic film with a hyper awarness of itself compared to the innocence of the first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisR.Jul 17, 2006
Kevin B. nails it on the head. This isn't meant to be a cerebral undertaking, and is generally entertaining and satisfying as a wonderful excuse to enjoy 2-1/2 hours of air-conditioned summer escapism (3 hours if you count the Kevin B. nails it on the head. This isn't meant to be a cerebral undertaking, and is generally entertaining and satisfying as a wonderful excuse to enjoy 2-1/2 hours of air-conditioned summer escapism (3 hours if you count the never-ending trailers). As the inevitable middle-child, however, it casts anything succinct to the wind, and lets loose all manner of multiple artifact-grabbing, sub-plot weaving chaos, to the point where it feels more like a video game than a movie. I felt the need to hit pause more than once to check where I was, what artifacts were in the inventory, and where next to set a course. Jack's compass, all allegory aside, is the true barometer of this film, spinning wildy in search of the next destination, ultimately settling on the obvious third installment, as if anybody didn't know, main characters included... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ReelWorldJul 17, 2006
A step in the wrong direction from what was an entertaining first film. Even Johnny Depp's talents can't save this overlong, poorly written film from the fathoms of the deep. 2 points for Depp, 1 point for SFX. I don't think A step in the wrong direction from what was an entertaining first film. Even Johnny Depp's talents can't save this overlong, poorly written film from the fathoms of the deep. 2 points for Depp, 1 point for SFX. I don't think I'll be bothering with part 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LaurieV.Jul 17, 2006
A bunch of good set pieces adrift in a sea of mediocre movie. Maybe if you cut an hour this would be an exciting film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomH.Jul 18, 2006
I don't know why I even bother to read the critics' opinions! No, it wasn't as good as the original, but it was still just plain great fun. Sometimes that's all we want from--or demand of--our movies. So sit back, relax, I don't know why I even bother to read the critics' opinions! No, it wasn't as good as the original, but it was still just plain great fun. Sometimes that's all we want from--or demand of--our movies. So sit back, relax, and just enjoy the ride. Apparently the so-called professional reviewers aren't able to do that anymore! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DwayneS.Jul 19, 2006
POC DMC never lets up. But listen up, folks. This is not a good thing. Too much of everything and just about all of it bad. I'd recomend against it. Unless you like punishment. Waste of my time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ConstanceW.Jul 19, 2006
Please. No More Pirates! I mean that in every sense. No more pirates at McDonald's, on billboards, at the mall, on tv, on the radio, and most immportantly, at the movie theatre! My goodness, could I possibly dislike a movie any more Please. No More Pirates! I mean that in every sense. No more pirates at McDonald's, on billboards, at the mall, on tv, on the radio, and most immportantly, at the movie theatre! My goodness, could I possibly dislike a movie any more than this Pirates sequal? The computer effects were ugly. The acting corny. The plot senseless. Why must we be subjected to another one of these abominations next summer? Someone make the madness stop! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeJ.Jul 19, 2006
Fantastic Ride! I enjoyed every minute of this film. I can't wait for the next film to find out what happens next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonnaD.Jul 21, 2006
This movie has everything in it, campy humor, witty humor, action, drama, romance, great special effects and of course, Capt. Jack. I've seen it once and plan to see it again, just too much fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoanieS.Jul 21, 2006
Its a perfect sequel. Johnny is still right on! I've already seen it 7 times, plan on seeing it more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
D.J.M.Jul 21, 2006
Not as good as the first one, and a little hard to understand. Other than that it was an all around good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
C.HenryJul 21, 2006
Ran too long, some of the lines are really lousy, and characters act pretty inconsistently. The fact that pretty much every character from the previous film returns is kind of lame. Nice to look at. Also, i like Bill Nighy. He's cool as Ran too long, some of the lines are really lousy, and characters act pretty inconsistently. The fact that pretty much every character from the previous film returns is kind of lame. Nice to look at. Also, i like Bill Nighy. He's cool as Davy Jones; not even all that make up can hide that it's hime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichardR.Jul 22, 2006
It made me laugh, jump and it was all I expected it to be, a great action comedy. Anyone who expects anything more from the plot or Orlando Bloom's acting will be disappointed. Im afraid. In short, watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful