IFC Films | Release Date: September 8, 2006
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
3
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
KennyF.Jan 24, 2007
I just got done watching this heart wrenching movie. I actually had my hands in a prayer for her to be able to keep her job... and i'm not even the slightest of a religious person. Maggie Gyllenhaal keeps impressing me with her roles, I just got done watching this heart wrenching movie. I actually had my hands in a prayer for her to be able to keep her job... and i'm not even the slightest of a religious person. Maggie Gyllenhaal keeps impressing me with her roles, and it is magnicent watching her from Donnie Darko to Sherrybaby. I haven't felt this uncomfortable watching and hoping for the best of the protagonist since Dogville. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HansB.Feb 20, 2007
Maggie was fanstastic (10). The story was so so (6) --> 8.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelL.Apr 12, 2007
This is a wonderful film; difficult to watch, yet exceptional in its humanity. Yes, we might know where it's going, but it's a miraculous ride. Maggie Gylllenhaal is astoundingly "real" as Sherry. There isn't a strained, This is a wonderful film; difficult to watch, yet exceptional in its humanity. Yes, we might know where it's going, but it's a miraculous ride. Maggie Gylllenhaal is astoundingly "real" as Sherry. There isn't a strained, inauthentic moment in her performance. She is 100% raw. Anyone with an ounce of insight into human nature, or an understanding of the trauma "bad parenting" inflicts will find a way to connect with Sherry. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesSep 11, 2006
Maggie Gyllenhaal is terrific! She just breathes life into this film. No sugar coating, just gutsy, eye-opening acting. WOW.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaseSep 19, 2006
Well Done!!, Very honest real filmaking, for anyone who knows someone like Sherry this should hit close too home.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChristopherW.Jan 25, 2007
Sherrybaby is a remarkable film partly because Gyllenhaal's character is so unremarkable. This desperate emotionally desolate woman is not necessarily the kind of heroine who rises above adversity to become something more extraordinary. Sherrybaby is a remarkable film partly because Gyllenhaal's character is so unremarkable. This desperate emotionally desolate woman is not necessarily the kind of heroine who rises above adversity to become something more extraordinary. The film treats her as a deeply flawed and wounded young woman who is unappealing and manipulative. Gyllenhaal strikes all the right notes with this performance. It's a gutsy courageous performance because a lesser actress may have tried to make the character more sympathetic and ostentatious. One of the many strong aspects of this film is the genuine honesty and natural realism that Gyllenhaal and the actress that plays her daughter were able to convey in their pivotal scenes together. This made the film's emotional punch all the more devestating. As a harrowing glimpse into a life that ran far off the tracks, Sherrybaby is a powerful viewing experience. Don't look for a happy ending. This is not that kind of film. Just be prepared for a difficult, naked, but nonetheless compelling character study. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlakeJ.Mar 21, 2007
One of the most powerful, painful, serious, beautiful, and well acted movies I have ever seen. Maggie is a miracle as Sherry. One of the truest depictions of the hold drugs can have on a human being. Like no movie I have ever seen before. If One of the most powerful, painful, serious, beautiful, and well acted movies I have ever seen. Maggie is a miracle as Sherry. One of the truest depictions of the hold drugs can have on a human being. Like no movie I have ever seen before. If you are looking for a movie to change your life, this is as close as you will ever need to search. How is a woman that actually desires to become a model citizen supposed to do so when her father sexually abuses her, and she cannot get a job because her resume says she was in jail for 2 and half years for stealing money for drugs? She has to try, and try Sherry does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Mar 24, 2007
Even the seemingly no-nonsense parole officer (Giancarlo Esposito) isn't impervious to the feminine wiles of a misunderstood strumpet. Officer Hernandez, whose bark is worse than his bite, grants Sherry(Maggie Gyllenhall) the special Even the seemingly no-nonsense parole officer (Giancarlo Esposito) isn't impervious to the feminine wiles of a misunderstood strumpet. Officer Hernandez, whose bark is worse than his bite, grants Sherry(Maggie Gyllenhall) the special privilege of seeing her daughter. The affectionate appendage "baby" is sublimated in this kind act, this favor to a lost soul, which no doubt originated from somewhere south of his heart. When we meet a certain family member, we know in an instant who first called her "baby", and subjected her to objectification. This inappropriate relationship helps explain why Bobby (Brad William Henke) doesn't quite know how to hug his sister(see how her hesitates during their first meeting). "Sherrybaby" avoids the cliched response to the cliche that explains why a woman is promiscuous. The film avoids that big weepy moment when the woman guilt-trips the passive bystander to her historical victimization, which normally should be a sign of mature filmmaking; but here, it seems like a contradiction to Sherry's fiery nature. Gyllenhaal doesn't have to unleash hell against her brother at the diner, but a little heck would've been more satisfactory than what actually transpires in what should've been the film's pivotal moment. Obviously, Sherry should let her daughter be, but she's a mother; not a mother******. You shouldn't hate her for caring too much. It's the latter type, the woman who never returns to reclaim her namesake, you should deride and villify. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClaytonT.Sep 19, 2006
The movie isnt for those looking to find that moment hat ever best actress hopefull has, that moment of high drama where she gets to scream and shout about the situation at hand. But for those looking to see one of the most methodized and The movie isnt for those looking to find that moment hat ever best actress hopefull has, that moment of high drama where she gets to scream and shout about the situation at hand. But for those looking to see one of the most methodized and subtle performances of the year, maggie is your girl! She really delivers here. Her charactor is believable and honest. The story is heartbreaking and real and not for anybody who has ever had a person like sherry in their life. Its a hard but compelling watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeA.Mar 18, 2008
Trejo was pitch perfect. Esposito about as authentic as his turn in, "The Wire." Gyllenhaal...what better to say than her performance was not like watching a consummate actor; it was like observing the real thing. As for Collyer's Trejo was pitch perfect. Esposito about as authentic as his turn in, "The Wire." Gyllenhaal...what better to say than her performance was not like watching a consummate actor; it was like observing the real thing. As for Collyer's script: she's either a 12 stepper, or one terrifically objective and, ( in this sense, could this be an oxymron??, ) "sympathetic" medium. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
delineoSep 29, 2017
This movie made my teeth hurt it was so good and so sad. I realized I'd been grinding them halfway through with the inevitability of what was happening. One of the saddest, most realistic movies I've ever seen. A stunning performance from Gyllenhaal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews