Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 18, 2007
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 432 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
207
Mixed:
166
Negative:
59
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
AMovieCriticMay 20, 2007
Alright, unlike with Spider-Man 3, this time I actually agree with the critics. What a disappointment Shrek The Third was. The first movie was a brilliant and charming spoof of Disney cartoons and fairy tales and was really fun for anyone, Alright, unlike with Spider-Man 3, this time I actually agree with the critics. What a disappointment Shrek The Third was. The first movie was a brilliant and charming spoof of Disney cartoons and fairy tales and was really fun for anyone, even older audiences. Shrek 2 left a little bit of that behind but still delivered a great and charming movie for all audiences. Maybe it's the loss of series director Andrew Adamson (who is now working on the Narnia series) but Shrek The Third feels different from the first 2 almost immediately, and not in a good way. Almost immediately, the humor feels forced, and the movie almost seems to be aimed at a much younger audience than the first 2. This movie is so tame and sugary, in fact, that it often ended up feeling just like the Disney movies the series was originally spoofing. This becomes even more clear when a "message" is blatently delivered to the audience at the end of the movie. The plot is entirely mediocre, Donkey and Puss seem to have nothing to do, (and the filmmakers, as if realizing this, half-heartedly threw in a pointless character switch, I guess in a failed attempt to keep these characters interesting) and Shrek himself is really just a boring character this time around. Although this movie is definitely aiming only for the kiddies (whereas the first 2 Shrek movies were definitely for all audiences) some attempts at "adult jokes" and out-of-place licensed rock music was halfheartedly thrown into the movie and feels entirely out of place. Yes, there are a couple funny moments here, but they were almost all given away in the trailers and commercials. (I hate it when they do that.) Much of the humor felt very forced, and even the audience I saw this in (which contained plenty of little kids) let plenty of jokes fall flat. (Although they enjoyed all the fart jokes thrown in at the end of the movie.) Of course the animation is very nice, and as I said, a couple jokes hit and are pretty funny, but there's really no reason to see this. What a disappointment. The makers of these movies have completely forgotten why these movies were made to begin with and what we ended up here was a boring, mostly un-funny, and very forced mess. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JeriNov 7, 2014
This movie is the worst movie at all times and it's mo use for dumb old dreamworks to make this movie.dreamworks animation is the worst place on earth, because it keeps on losing to disney & pixar each year.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
MarkD.May 19, 2007
Annoying, repetitive in your face humor filled with montages that give you a break from its obnoxious plot and disaster of jumbled scenes Justin Timberlake is annoying and this movie blows. I loved the first two and now they are just Annoying, repetitive in your face humor filled with montages that give you a break from its obnoxious plot and disaster of jumbled scenes Justin Timberlake is annoying and this movie blows. I loved the first two and now they are just isolated masterpieces with no association to this piece of crap. Terrible. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JoshWMay 21, 2007
Its really a shame when a movie you've waited for since it was first announced turns out to be as uninspired as this one. I kept wondering why the animation on Arthur was so dead. I know the animators try to capture the voice actors Its really a shame when a movie you've waited for since it was first announced turns out to be as uninspired as this one. I kept wondering why the animation on Arthur was so dead. I know the animators try to capture the voice actors expressions, but didn't they know better than to do that with Justin Timberlake. During his big oration at the end I noticed more expression from individuals in 2 second cuts of the background. Really sad and a waste of money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KD.May 22, 2007
They should have kept this movie on PBS and left it at that. This movie bears no relation to the other 2 save the characters. The plot is weak, the characters have run out of funny lines and there's nothing new to add to this movie. The They should have kept this movie on PBS and left it at that. This movie bears no relation to the other 2 save the characters. The plot is weak, the characters have run out of funny lines and there's nothing new to add to this movie. The continuing theme is the tired old "Believe in yourself"... feel-good mush. Doesn't make for a good humor movie. Disappointing. Go see it if you've got little kids, but don't go expecting the even half the laughs of the first two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AdamM.May 31, 2007
Dreamworks really jumped off the plane without a parachute with this one. Shrek the Third is a poor excuse to carry on the Shrek series. Personally I enjoyed the first two in the series, but this was horendus. Repeative jokes, jokes carrying Dreamworks really jumped off the plane without a parachute with this one. Shrek the Third is a poor excuse to carry on the Shrek series. Personally I enjoyed the first two in the series, but this was horendus. Repeative jokes, jokes carrying on, and when there was humor it was merrily a low "heh". This was a poor excuse for a film and should be avoided at ALL costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobJun 26, 2007
They've gone one shrek too far just like the Santa clause filmsand they were just clutching at straws. Some parts were funny and hail eddie Murphy and Antonio banderes for keeping me awake
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
StevenF.Jul 1, 2007
Tepid and tired compared to the previous titles. Unfortunately most of the material has been done before and even younger children will find much to like in this third installment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichardHJul 26, 2007
I thought this was a really by numbers badly done cash in sequel. To be fair, that's pretty much what I thought the 2nd one was too, but at least the 2nd one made me laugh. I don't think I heard more than five laughs out of the I thought this was a really by numbers badly done cash in sequel. To be fair, that's pretty much what I thought the 2nd one was too, but at least the 2nd one made me laugh. I don't think I heard more than five laughs out of the whole audience that was in the cinema to see this. It just wasn't funny at all. Really really poor quality stuff. But hey, I'm sure the kids will like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
tjJul 27, 2007
The first Shrek was good, the second was lousy and this one is insufferable. Amazingly unclever pop culture references. My nephews (ages 6 and 11) liked it--strange that most of the humor is aimed at adults and falls totally flat, but the The first Shrek was good, the second was lousy and this one is insufferable. Amazingly unclever pop culture references. My nephews (ages 6 and 11) liked it--strange that most of the humor is aimed at adults and falls totally flat, but the kids just like anything animated. Well, I guess the producers will make their money. Unbelievable waste of time--like paying 10 bucks to watch a bad tv sit com. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DecepticonPomAug 12, 2007
Excrutiatingly boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnN.May 21, 2007
Loved the first 2 Shrek movies. This one was absolutely TERRIBLE. I swear I didn't laugh one time. Not once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristineHahnMay 23, 2007
I thought this Shrek was definitely the worst written out of all three, so essentially, it was the worst Shrek. Too bad, considering Shrek 2 was a good follow up. Shrek 3 is just bad news.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]Apr 12, 2008
I laughed only three times outta the a hundred jokes they made. Terrible acting and story. I give it a 1.5/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
Delaforce828Oct 13, 2014
Just awful, the film is so boring that I just wanted to sleep most of the time, there's nothing interesting going on, it's just a dull, dull film. Aside from that the animation is nice. But that's all I can say, this is clearly done just forJust awful, the film is so boring that I just wanted to sleep most of the time, there's nothing interesting going on, it's just a dull, dull film. Aside from that the animation is nice. But that's all I can say, this is clearly done just for the money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DavidTejadaAug 22, 2016
This is not Shrek, is a franchise who wants to get money. The third part of the successful Shrek results really bad in every way, fewer fun, jokes and adventures. The jokes were obscenely made, and so awkward. This is the worst movie ofThis is not Shrek, is a franchise who wants to get money. The third part of the successful Shrek results really bad in every way, fewer fun, jokes and adventures. The jokes were obscenely made, and so awkward. This is the worst movie of Dreamworks. And who would say that it might be of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
taccriticNov 26, 2018
boring movie with a boring plot, truly the worst of the series,,
shrek 1 was a masterpiece, shrek 2 was good, now there's this.
this is just plain bad and boring, not to mention thats its just straight up annoying, and the humour is horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews