Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): June 3, 2020
Summary: Spelling the Dream explores the near two decade trend of Indian American students dominating the Scripps National Spelling Bee. Since 1999, 19 out of the 23 winners have been of South-Asian descent, including the last 11 in a row. Over the course of a year leading up to the 2017 Scripps Bee, "Breaking the Bee" follows four Indian-American children of different ages to learn about their family life, witness them train, explore the ups and downs of chasing a dream, and offer a candid look at what it really takes to become the best. These students are not against each other. They are against the dictionary. Come the national finals, who will be the winner standing on stage as confetti rains down, and how long will this trend last?
Watch Now
Stream On


Runtime: 82 min
Rating: TV-G
Official Site: http://www.breakingthebee.com/
Production: Exit Zero Productions
Genres: Documentary
Country: US
Language: English
Director Credit
Sam Rega Director
Writer Credit
Chris Weller Writer
Sam Rega Writer
Principal Cast Credit
Ashrita Gandhari Self
Jacques Bailly Self
Jaideep Janakiram Self
Paige Kimble Self
Pawan Dhingra Self
Ratnam Chitturi Self
Sanjay Gupta Self
Shourav Dasari Self
Srinivas Ayyagari Self
Valerie Browning Self
Cast Credit
Balu Natarajan Self
Hari Kondabolu Self
Kevin Negandhi Self
Nupur Lala Self
Tejas Muthusamy Self
Producer Credit
Chris Weller Producer
Giri Cherukuri Executive Producer
Hemisha N. Patel Co-Executive Producer
Jeffrey Newby Associate Producer
John Holmes Executive Producer
Johnny Lops Associate Producer
Kalyan Anandula Co-Executive Producer
Kumaravel Perumalsamy Co-Executive Producer
Martheswarn Solamuthu Executive Producer
Naveen Kallu Co-Executive Producer
Nileshkumar C. Patel Co-Executive Producer
Phaneendra Medida Associate Producer
Pradeep Thallapalle Associate Producer
Praveen Putlur Co-Executive Producer
Raj Pisupati Co-Executive Producer
Ravikanth Samineni Associate Producer
Ross Rega Associate Producer
Sam Rega Producer
Samuel Baumel Co-Producer
Sanjiv Modi Executive Producer
Srinivas Kalala Co-Executive Producer
Tarak Reddy Co-Executive Producer
Vinay Sunku Co-Executive Producer