Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): June 17, 2022
4.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 43 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
9
Mixed:
22
Negative:
12
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
royalguy07Jun 20, 2022
Had an ok premise, needed a little more depth on the other drugs and their effects. Completely falls flat in the 3rd act when for the first time in some meager attempts at comedy come up. Hemsworth did fine, accent was in and out a few times.Had an ok premise, needed a little more depth on the other drugs and their effects. Completely falls flat in the 3rd act when for the first time in some meager attempts at comedy come up. Hemsworth did fine, accent was in and out a few times. Teller needed a haircut bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Jsmiths1991Jun 18, 2022
Actually a very solid movie. Some great humor and interesting concept. Solid acting from Chris Hemsworth and Miles Teller.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
MetacriticOnurJun 17, 2022
bad
[ bad ]

adjective, worse, worst;(Slang) bad·der, bad·dest for 36.
not good in any manner or degree.
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
0
ammaayaJun 17, 2022
this feels like one of those movies that a certain demographic will claim is deep and profound but in reality it just feels like a rehash of a bunch of other stories that were told and executed in much smoother and clever ways than this one was.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
AugureJun 20, 2022
Not that I hate Chris Hemworth (I mean I do) or nepotism (BeBe Bettencourt being the daughter of Nuno Bettencourt probably related to the french oligarch family, and the other is a Smolett...), but what a **** disaster of a movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
PoeticDumplingJun 18, 2022
THE ONE MAJOR MUST SEE SCENE HERE even if u don't view the film is:

Chris Hemsworth sexy dancing scene to More Than This by Roxy Music. I could view that clip over and over. He is the villain which makes the feeling complex. But my god he
THE ONE MAJOR MUST SEE SCENE HERE even if u don't view the film is:

Chris Hemsworth sexy dancing scene to More Than This by Roxy Music. I could view that clip over and over. He is the villain which makes the feeling complex. But my god he nails that scene. Sexy as **** for those moments. Can we get a dancing film for him stat?


I was really excited about this movie because it sounded like a great premise and Joseph K has delivered Top Gun sequel recently. The further this film goes the less engaging it feels. There are a lot of legit and relevant issues on display here...elite 1%, pharmaceuticals, tech surveillance, situations that dangerously manipulate individuals psychologically due to shadow issues. There are all the right ingredients here for a 1984/BlackMirror cautionary thriller but the ingredients are used poorly and the results are bitter, ****ing nuts, lacking in character care and kind of cold standoffish. I do enjoy the use of both laughter and crying...the melding of emotions with characters ....feels rather apt right now after everything mass consciousness is traveling through. The film lags a lot and by the time the fireworks ignite at the end...the viewer already feels a bit callous and catanotic like one of the test subjects. This is a great idea that needs to be executed better.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Jun 18, 2022
It's very easy to see the cast in this film didn't really have much interest in the story. And I say that because of the mediocre performances.

Spiderhead - another huge Netflix misfire - looks and feels like a lost episode of Black Mirror.
It's very easy to see the cast in this film didn't really have much interest in the story. And I say that because of the mediocre performances.

Spiderhead - another huge Netflix misfire - looks and feels like a lost episode of Black Mirror.
In the past that might have been flattering, but considering the quality of that show lately is similar to that of this film, needless to say, at least in my case, it just evens out the disappointment.

Pseudo science fiction that says nothing, that provokes nothing. Not even with its conspiratorial attempt of drugs, prisoners and control. You will forget it as soon as you look for something else in the catalogue.

I have a really hard time believing that the director of this movie also made Top Gun: Maverick.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
HabibiehakimJun 21, 2022
While Kosinski did not give the same incredible direction he give with Top Gun: Maverick in Spiderhead, for what it is Spiderhead is a good enough little film from Kosinski that he distribute to Netflix, he got Miles Teller again which heWhile Kosinski did not give the same incredible direction he give with Top Gun: Maverick in Spiderhead, for what it is Spiderhead is a good enough little film from Kosinski that he distribute to Netflix, he got Miles Teller again which he also one of the main actor in Top Gun: Maverick, he's performance is not as incredible as him in Top Gun: Maverick but he's still good, and Chris Hemsworth giving his quite a great evil bossy American accent performance, Spiderhead is fills with a story that i found very interesting, engaging, and while it's not something that i found really that impressive or incredible, it's a good enough and like i said an interesting and engaging enough story, so overall Spiderhead is not something that i will watch again, it is just a pure good Netflix original film starring a big star that worth watching just for once. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Chanakarl85Jun 18, 2022
Another no so good flix. Chris Hemsworth no match for his leading role as a smart guy who try to do bad thing. Story not fun or intense. acting were poorly at the near ending. Wasting time watched this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
melythemacJun 18, 2022
I absolutely loved it, but its not for people who are expecting a formulaic action movie. I love movies like this with a slow build and character driven
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryJun 24, 2022
Chris Hemsworth plays a scientist working on new chemicals that can alter a human's emotions and perceptions. The test subjects are all convicts, including one (Miles Teller), who becomes more involved in the outcome. This starts out lookingChris Hemsworth plays a scientist working on new chemicals that can alter a human's emotions and perceptions. The test subjects are all convicts, including one (Miles Teller), who becomes more involved in the outcome. This starts out looking like a cool sci-fi thriller, but after about 30 minutes, it deteriorates into a lot of talk and personal interactions. Considering that director Joseph Kosinski just came off his Top Gun Maverick hit (which also stars Teller), you'd expect more action and tension. There's little of either and not much else cool about the concept to keep it compelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
almoJul 10, 2022
This is not an amazing film, but it is good. The screenplay is passable, but the story, concept, and implementation as a mystery are solid. I have a few minor complaints about some of the editing in places, notably one of the final sequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
burnthouseJul 22, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably the worst scifi movie I've ever watched all the way through. I stuck it out to the end hoping for a mind blowing revelation at the end which would make me go 'wow' but alas no.
In short best actor in this movie was the seaplane, which at least, did the honorable thing at the end and flew into the mountain.... when I saw that I thought 'I know exactly how you feel'.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
PurpleCrayon4UJul 11, 2022
Chris Hemsworth? Miles Teller? ...STOP CHASING THE NETFLIX MONEY! I know you all need to pay your bills, but considering the garbage they fund(including this film), do you really need this slop on your resumeCV? This film has no idea whatChris Hemsworth? Miles Teller? ...STOP CHASING THE NETFLIX MONEY! I know you all need to pay your bills, but considering the garbage they fund(including this film), do you really need this slop on your resumeCV? This film has no idea what it wants to be, what direction to stay course on....and the soundtrack? Whoever is the decision maker in bastardizing every single song within this film should be blacklisted from the industry. I have not watched and listened to a film that filled me with such rage as Spiderhead did. Disney, hurry up an acquire Netflix. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Mauro_LanariJun 21, 2022
(Mauro Lanari)
Maybe it's the first time I give an insufficiency to a movie of the good Kosinski, I don't know if it's due to the repeated infamous Netflix production or to the adaptation of the short story of Saunders, a very boring
(Mauro Lanari)
Maybe it's the first time I give an insufficiency to a movie of the good Kosinski, I don't know if it's due to the repeated infamous Netflix production or to the adaptation of the short story of Saunders, a very boring claustrophobic Kammerspiel like "Ex Machina" with the usual mad doctor.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AJ_13Jun 23, 2022
Solid acting, a really interesting concept and a bland execution. Has some great moments but didn't marvel as a whole. Too much comical at times, I wish it was darker but I guess we already have Shutter Island for that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
liamexeJun 29, 2022
This movie has an intriguing premise and some solid acting, but it never builds on its intriguing beginning. In the end, the resolution is foreseeable and seems undeserved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MartinsZJun 20, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There’s no reason for this movie to exist. It’s a poor man’s Ex Machina, and even that’s being very generous. Chris Hemsworth is a great actor, but a terrible choice to play a genius scientist. The plot is predictable AF. The ending couldn’t be more cliche - lovers running away on a speedboat and antagonist’s plane exploding in the background. That’s “never” been done before. I’m angry at Netflix for waisting two hours of my time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
IntakeCinemaJul 5, 2022
I wish there was a drug that made me forget this movie. Oh wait, it's been 10 minutes since it ended and I've already forgotten it, problem solved!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews