Lionsgate | Release Date: January 12, 2018
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 158 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
72
Mixed:
76
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
bigscreen454Jan 15, 2018
The movie reminded me of visual effects in the Final Destination movies with high-end camera moves, snazzy Computer Graphics and felt like a great blockbuster experience. I kind of imagine this eventually being made into a theme park ride atThe movie reminded me of visual effects in the Final Destination movies with high-end camera moves, snazzy Computer Graphics and felt like a great blockbuster experience. I kind of imagine this eventually being made into a theme park ride at Universal Studios. All Aboard for Commuter! The characters were cast really well and I like the surprise twist at the end. Overall the movie somewhat reminded me of a trip I took from NY to DC on a commuter train. I remember buying an NY style pizza at the station similar to the one in the movie and it was delicious. 5 stars. Liam Neeson performs impeccably as a no-nonsense problem-solving genius and he is the hero every train deserves. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
robbywarren93Jan 24, 2018
Not the strongest of the Neeson-Serra collaborations, but this is intense, unpredictable and a lot of fun and Liam Neeson gives yet another solid performance.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryJan 26, 2018
Liam Neeson continues his streak as the mature action hero. He plays an insurance salesman who commutes to NYC. When a mysterious woman asks him to perform a seemingly simple task, it unfolds a maze of lethal encounters, most of which takeLiam Neeson continues his streak as the mature action hero. He plays an insurance salesman who commutes to NYC. When a mysterious woman asks him to perform a seemingly simple task, it unfolds a maze of lethal encounters, most of which take place on the train. The machinations of the plot are sometimes baffling, but there are regular action beats to keep up interest (the highlight is the spectacular train derailment). The film is adequately made and mildly involving, but the sometimes confusing story strains credibility and undermines the potential tension. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
WalterTSolleyJan 25, 2018
“The Commuter” is an exciting, if implausible, action-mystery movie that reinforces Liam Neeson’s credentials as the most indestructible of senior citizens. Despite plot holes big enough—and, pardon the phrase—“to drive a train through”,“The Commuter” is an exciting, if implausible, action-mystery movie that reinforces Liam Neeson’s credentials as the most indestructible of senior citizens. Despite plot holes big enough—and, pardon the phrase—“to drive a train through”, this commute is never less than interesting, and often exceptionally entertaining. Though it derails near the end as it tries to tie up all the loose story ends, overall it’s a nifty genre film that is served very well by the big screen. A technically impressive film, with fine performances, taut direction, and high production values; but, in need of a better script. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
moviecritic68Jan 17, 2018
Good action & lots of intense scenes. Some spotty poor dialogue at times. Neeson still doing his thing but showing signs of aging. Not a blockbuster by any means but kept the audience attention by its mysterious twists & turns. I give it a solid 7.5
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
DavidTejadaJan 25, 2018
It's nice to have Liam Neeson (LN) in a fast-thrilling suspense movie again and I will have to admit, it's the first performance I've seen from him at the cinema. Again, as expected, LN is the one who gives this movie a meaning and providesIt's nice to have Liam Neeson (LN) in a fast-thrilling suspense movie again and I will have to admit, it's the first performance I've seen from him at the cinema. Again, as expected, LN is the one who gives this movie a meaning and provides the action sequences and everything related to the genre BUT WHAT ABOUT THE OTHERS??? What we just know is that there is a misterious woman talking him to the phone (sorry for that little spoiler...) and does not appear in the movie at all, THE REST?? well, we have a wasted cast because there's a huge missing space. And yes, this movie is about suspense and all but if we add so much information to a movie, then it makes it confusing at sometimes (I left the theater a bit confused). The action sequences were OK, actually needed because if it hadn't, the movie would have been worse... Not saying that I disliked it, it's super-cool to see LN kicking asses again and how he managed the movie to be a worth-it drama genre-flick. There are many parts in which you'll not expect the reaction of the people in the train (even the final part)

PD: This movie provides also a little comedy which at its times is very good, so if you guys want to have a nice moment in the theater, don't you miss "The Commuter" (67%)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
whoischarlotteFeb 1, 2018
Our boy, Liam Neeson, is back with another action packed, tense film. It's amazing how a mysterious woman who asks him to perform a simple task, could unfold a huge maze of lethal encounters which take place of this train.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
MallRat15Jan 22, 2018
Not as bad as I thought it was going to be. Liam Neeson is good in his role as the typical Neeson Character. Some cool action sequences and great suspense in the early going of this film. Got a little slow towards the end and some of theNot as bad as I thought it was going to be. Liam Neeson is good in his role as the typical Neeson Character. Some cool action sequences and great suspense in the early going of this film. Got a little slow towards the end and some of the scenes begun to get a little cheesy. A few little twists that I didn't see coming but the ending was a little disappointing. A decent film with some memorable scenes but nothing you need tgo check out right away. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingJul 1, 2018
"The Commuter" is an action-packed, suspenseful, and entertaining action thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Xyled777Jun 2, 2018
I have to admit, I love Liam Neeson. After a bit of reservation thinking the movie would fall along the lines of Taken the wifey and I decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed. We both really enjoyed the movie, the story was good andI have to admit, I love Liam Neeson. After a bit of reservation thinking the movie would fall along the lines of Taken the wifey and I decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed. We both really enjoyed the movie, the story was good and the acting was really good. A great movie to watch on a Saturday! Of course no nude or porn so that's always a plus!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Voodoo123Jul 7, 2018
The commuter is an average thriller that leans towards action, elevated somewhat by the sheer gravitas of Neeson's performance. If your'e a fan of taken/run all night then you will probably enjoy this. Great shots and effects help sell theThe commuter is an average thriller that leans towards action, elevated somewhat by the sheer gravitas of Neeson's performance. If your'e a fan of taken/run all night then you will probably enjoy this. Great shots and effects help sell the scenario. Overall you may be entertained but the film lacks that special sauce of thriller flavour that keeps commuter from the echelons of which die hard and co still hold strong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeNov 19, 2018
Although very cliché and predictable, The Commuter is still a fairly enjoyable movie. The acting was good, the action sequences were well made and the last 20 minutes were quite interesting. While it isn't the most original action movie toAlthough very cliché and predictable, The Commuter is still a fairly enjoyable movie. The acting was good, the action sequences were well made and the last 20 minutes were quite interesting. While it isn't the most original action movie to come out in recent years, it's still worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MadMaxFuryRoadFeb 20, 2018
Another great Liam Nelson film. I wasn't really expecting much based on the trailer, however while watching this film, I found myself very interested. It was very suspenseful and it really touched my emotions. While it's a very predictableAnother great Liam Nelson film. I wasn't really expecting much based on the trailer, however while watching this film, I found myself very interested. It was very suspenseful and it really touched my emotions. While it's a very predictable movie, The Commuter succeeds at entertaining us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MatthewAkalusiJan 20, 2018
Liam Neeson stars as Michael MacCauley an everyday family man with a wife and son, who does the daily train commute to and from his work as an insurance salesman.Micheal is having another routine day at the Office when he is called in by oneLiam Neeson stars as Michael MacCauley an everyday family man with a wife and son, who does the daily train commute to and from his work as an insurance salesman.Micheal is having another routine day at the Office when he is called in by one of the top executives at the company he works for and told that he is being let go because what the company expends on his job can no longer be sustained because of the inadequacy of what he brings in with his sales job.Disillusioned and uncertain of what the future holds, MacCauley, as he commutes back home, has an encounter with a random female passanger, or is she? MacCauley, subsequent to this encounter, gets caught up in a government conspiracy which has law enforcement officials who seek to uncover it pitted against those involved, determined to cover it up, the efforts of both sides directed at a passenger on the train. While not an outstanding movie, this is a good race-against-time, fast-paced thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
d0vla11Aug 21, 2018
I think it's a good movie, the plot can sometimes get confusing, but Liam Neeson's acting was phenomenal and the mistery I found very interesting. It keeps you thinking throughout the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
yourmonica19Apr 27, 2018
I HAVE WATCHED TONS OF ACTION AND THRILLER MOVIES AND I COULD SAY THAT THIS IS ONE OF MY ALL-TIME FAVORITES. DEFINITELY A MUST-TRY MOVIE! I LOVE LIAM NESSON. THE MOVIE IS AWESOME AND TO THOSE WHO RATED IT LOW! JUST **** OFF!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RRMMJun 21, 2018
The Conmutter is the new film starring Liam Neeson, the same actor who filled us with adrenaline with the trilogy of Taken) escaping from international criminals and protecting his beloved family, returns to seduce us with a characterThe Conmutter is the new film starring Liam Neeson, the same actor who filled us with adrenaline with the trilogy of Taken) escaping from international criminals and protecting his beloved family, returns to seduce us with a character designed just for him. In The Conmutter we see a loving family man, insurance salesman (retired policeman) and frequent user (Commuter) of the New York train system, confronting a criminal organization, which "forces" him to identify a possible witness for (his or her) subsequent elimination. When we write the word "forces" in quotes, we do so with all the intention, since it is really an offer that the character accepts under certain conditions.
The Conmutter, is the fourth collaboration between the Irish actor and the Spanish director Jaume Collet-Serra, (after the successes of Unkoown, Non stop and Run all night )who seems to be responsible for the transformation of the high Irish actor in a Hollywood action hero, who made his name on the big screen at the hands of Steven Spielberg for Schindler's List (not exactly embodying an action hero) and the director's second collaboration with the beautiful and talented Vera Farmiga, after the success of The Orphan
The push that the Spanish director has given the Irish actor comes basically in turning his characters, from father of affectionate family, to an action hero, almost like a modern James Bond. This combination (of characters) seems more a mixture (in the good sense of the word) between James Steward and Clint Eastwood, or to be a bit more current between Tom Hanks and Tom Cruise (keeping the distances in both comparisons). The film is full of a progressive tension and a fast-paced action that feels and sees the viewer, along with the very good and customary performance that Liam Neeson gives us, along with a production that few would say was not filmed in the same train system in New York (it was actually filmed in recording studios in London, making exact replicas of the trains and the memorable Grand Central Terminal in New York)
The Conmutter provides us with a character, married with children and responsible for them, and that due to unexpected economic situations sees the offer of an unknown woman in his daily trip on the train attractive, after having a moral dilemma, whether or not to follow the instructions that this mysterious woman sends him. Liam Neeson does not disappoint us, on the contrary he strengthens his image as an actor who plays the father protecting his family embarking on a fast-paced action, and the director repeats the magic of suspense that brought us with Non Stop flight.
Finally, it is possible to conclude that it is worth paying the entrance to the cinema, and also a good movie theater combo, popcorn and full refreshments, so you do not to leave the cinema seat for a second.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews