Relativity Media | Release Date: December 3, 2010
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 51 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
17
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
A7sus4Dec 6, 2010
Not entirely what i expected, which was non-stop action, but a cool story with well acted, interesting characters. The direction and cinematography were excellent. The movie benefits a great deal from not taking itself to seriously. ANot entirely what i expected, which was non-stop action, but a cool story with well acted, interesting characters. The direction and cinematography were excellent. The movie benefits a great deal from not taking itself to seriously. A really nice surprise; kind of like a live action anime. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
MoviepwnererDec 3, 2010
Well, if you want to get your full money's worth, I'd recommend seeing the movie while high. That way, it's hilariously bad instead of just bad. :)
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
GeneDec 11, 2010
Just about what one would expect from a Cowboys Vs. Ninjas movie. One caveat is that the sword fighting scenes are pretty tame, even the final battle with master ninja only took 30 seconds. The ninja's parkouring the rooftops dodging bulletsJust about what one would expect from a Cowboys Vs. Ninjas movie. One caveat is that the sword fighting scenes are pretty tame, even the final battle with master ninja only took 30 seconds. The ninja's parkouring the rooftops dodging bullets is flashy and entertaining, but the swordfighting itself sucks. On the plus side, the camera is reasonably steady, none of that quick-cut queasycam stuff. Acting is pretty good IMO, considering that the writer/director was ESL. Dialogue was on-par with a George Lucas movie, meaning it was stinted and simple, but got the job done. Finally, Kate Bosworth was all sorts of beautiful in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
paulgotelDec 11, 2010
This Movie was richly drenched in exotic sunsets and stunning characters, a great graphic novel inspired feel to this fantastical tale brings the world of the ninja b movie crashing into the spaghetti western to gloriously effect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Martim_DuraoMar 26, 2011
You have got to be in a mood for this kind of movies, the kind that touches surrealism. It very well made, very good cast and it is very entertaining all the way from the start.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JonathanCOct 4, 2011
Its good to see a movie making cinematography, visual affects, costume, story and acting on an equal footing. Yes it has some bad acting moments, and the story is a mashup of anime and other Cowboy/ninja stories, but its fantasticIts good to see a movie making cinematography, visual affects, costume, story and acting on an equal footing. Yes it has some bad acting moments, and the story is a mashup of anime and other Cowboy/ninja stories, but its fantastic entertainment. From the opening few scenes, you knew you were in for a treat. At times it wavers a bit, but if you wait 5 minutes, you'll be back in it. I enjoyed this miles more than PoC 4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
deliberatedmindNov 8, 2011
I liked this movie when I saw it in theaters at its release. I recently purchased the DVD. It is an abstract genre of filmmaking that is visually stunning and intriguing story. It didn't make enough money to cover its production cost, still II liked this movie when I saw it in theaters at its release. I recently purchased the DVD. It is an abstract genre of filmmaking that is visually stunning and intriguing story. It didn't make enough money to cover its production cost, still I hope a series is being considered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
777BruceWayne77Nov 11, 2011
The basic premise of this film is that the "World's Greatest Swordsman" escapes from his life in the East with a baby girl, the last of a feuding clan whom he refused to kill, and goes to seek out an old friend in the middle of the AmericanThe basic premise of this film is that the "World's Greatest Swordsman" escapes from his life in the East with a baby girl, the last of a feuding clan whom he refused to kill, and goes to seek out an old friend in the middle of the American West. His clan in turn follows him there so as to kill him for his betrayal. However things in his new life are much like his old one as the swordsman has to deal with odd carnies and an army of outlaws.

I went into this thinking that it was but a copy of Ninja Assassin with an Old West feel. While I still got that vibe, I recognized the subtle influences of For a Few Dollars More and a bit of Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus, two movies that I particularly enjoyed. The combination of the four to me created a film that is of cult status, which I suspect it was designed as such from the start given its limited budget.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Noisy-NinjaJul 17, 2012
I'm having a hard time understanding the low Critic Review average. This is beauty through artistry via sword play. I thoroughly enjoyed this film and have watched it a few times. The wild west makes it an interesting take on the genre,I'm having a hard time understanding the low Critic Review average. This is beauty through artistry via sword play. I thoroughly enjoyed this film and have watched it a few times. The wild west makes it an interesting take on the genre, but what really makes this film stand out is it's artistic elements, similar to 300. The action scenes are very well directed, invoking memories of The Matrix, while the heroes are bad-ass in a fun and interesting way. The movie itself is amusing with subtle self recognizing cheese. -- But the best is the ending -- The final fight is a good 30 minutes, never dull or numbing, and with some fantastically memorable scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews