Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: November 10, 2017
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 779 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
626
Mixed:
76
Negative:
77
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
TeruttDec 14, 2017
Not good. First, I am a fan on in Bruges, so had high hopes. But this movie is a dud. Characters are not real or believable. Let’s be honest, when foreigners try to make a movie about the American middle and lower classes, they don’tNot good. First, I am a fan on in Bruges, so had high hopes. But this movie is a dud. Characters are not real or believable. Let’s be honest, when foreigners try to make a movie about the American middle and lower classes, they don’t understand it and get it wrong. The director writer has a very odd and inaccurate view of America ans Americans. Cops throw people off a roof? Nothing happens to them. A woman goes to a school and kicks a couple of teenagers in the crotch in front of other parents? Nothing happens. Person gets horribly burned and in intensive care? A few days later he is hanging out in bars. Full of incongruent moments. Peter Dinklage as a gimmick character who is totally pointless to the plot or movie. Not as clever or as funny or as tragic or as real as it thinks it is. Lazy screenwriting, same old director tricks from his other movies. Was glad when it finally ended, it is a chore to sit through. Expand
23 of 38 users found this helpful2315
All this user's reviews
10
AvrilNov 10, 2017
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri is an absolute cinematic masterpiece, and the best film of 2017. Martin McDonagh's script balances humour and tragedy in the most profound way.
Frances McDormand leads an incredible ensemble cast
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri is an absolute cinematic masterpiece, and the best film of 2017. Martin McDonagh's script balances humour and tragedy in the most profound way.
Frances McDormand leads an incredible ensemble cast that delivers some of the year's best performances. McDormand is incredible, and undoubtedly gives her best performance since the Coen's Fargo. Sam Rockwell and Woody Harrelson both shine.

Three Billboards is angry, profane, yet heartfelt and beautiful. Tragedy, hope and redemption shines through, and makes it the film we really need today.
Expand
15 of 25 users found this helpful1510
All this user's reviews
3
mlleshaj2Dec 3, 2017
Over plotted and tone deaf. This movie tried to achieve a balance of pitch black humor and tragedy but really wasn't effective at either. I am kind of shocked as it has received some of the best reviews of the year. It was an all aroundOver plotted and tone deaf. This movie tried to achieve a balance of pitch black humor and tragedy but really wasn't effective at either. I am kind of shocked as it has received some of the best reviews of the year. It was an all around disappointment that would have been better off focusing on just Mildred (Frances) and less on trying to make the grotesque cops likable in any way. Expand
19 of 33 users found this helpful1914
All this user's reviews
6
AkumaJackApr 20, 2018
Excellent acting and decent directing, but the plot is nonsensical and characters are awful. They don't make sense. This film also shifts from serious to unfunny "comic" scenes every two seconds and spend the first half of the movie spoutingExcellent acting and decent directing, but the plot is nonsensical and characters are awful. They don't make sense. This film also shifts from serious to unfunny "comic" scenes every two seconds and spend the first half of the movie spouting left-winged stereotypes that clashes with the better crafted second half. there are many good ideas but poorly executed. Not a must see, not even bad though. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
KaustavFeb 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a good movie. But it's not great.
There is some excellent acting from McDormand, Rockwell and Harrelson and the supporting actors seems very natural in their roles. But the story just doesn't pay off in terms of the tension it builds up and personally, while I could empathize with a mother losing her daughter in the worst circumstances possible, it is so much more difficult to end up with two people contemplating justified (((murder))).
If nothing else, watch it for the acting which will probably rope in a few good awards in the eventual run.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
zouz123Feb 27, 2018
The movie was a bit boring for my taste, but I still found myself compelled to finish it. Interesting story that is worth watching. And honestly, Frances McDormand is one hell of woman.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
HotelCentralMay 3, 2018
The acting in this film is excellent, even superb. It is beyond question that Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell fully deserved the Oscars they were awarded. And that is where my praise for this film ends.

Ultimately, this is an awful film
The acting in this film is excellent, even superb. It is beyond question that Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell fully deserved the Oscars they were awarded. And that is where my praise for this film ends.

Ultimately, this is an awful film populated by mean and revolting characters. They do a fine job of representing America, and the human race, at their very worst. And the story goes nowhere.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
jgzegerFeb 22, 2018
Great performances from Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell but a less than satisfying ending.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJMar 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great story, great character development and great acting... The ending though. I just won't accept the fact that we never learn who killed Angela. It was the main goal of the plot after all. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksMar 6, 2018
Though Frances McDormand is quite brilliant in this film, the script seems far too smart for this group of characters. A small town filled with rednecks who sometimes spew intelligent jargon made me feel this was perhaps better written forThough Frances McDormand is quite brilliant in this film, the script seems far too smart for this group of characters. A small town filled with rednecks who sometimes spew intelligent jargon made me feel this was perhaps better written for the stage than a film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
MysticDingoAug 8, 2018
SJW trash. The movie is filled with tons of little virtue signals, and is completely unrealistic and a jingoistic look at the south and southerners. Total dumpster fire. This movie was a big disappointment from the director of "In Bruges."SJW trash. The movie is filled with tons of little virtue signals, and is completely unrealistic and a jingoistic look at the south and southerners. Total dumpster fire. This movie was a big disappointment from the director of "In Bruges." Talking about taking a DNA sample from every baby boy that gets born for the day that boy grows up and breaks the law then "we got em!" which of course assumes that every boy will grow up and become criminals. The only reason that this movie gets a 2 is because most aggregate review sites throw out 0's and 1's. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
kanet007Mar 5, 2018
For a movie that deals so brilliantly with the complexity of interpersonal relationships that address, but contradict established stereotypes, there are a couple of lazy moments that detract from what could have been a brilliant movie. OneFor a movie that deals so brilliantly with the complexity of interpersonal relationships that address, but contradict established stereotypes, there are a couple of lazy moments that detract from what could have been a brilliant movie. One particularly lazy moment is a speech that essentially tries to establish the Hollywood stance on the Catholic religion. The town priest was only a prop in a scene so that Frances McDormand could deliver a speech which, although poignant and funny, was so obviously premeditated and could never have been delivered in the surprise of the moment.

Beyond this moment and a few other cringe-worthy statements, the movie is very well done. Also, maybe I'm in the minority, but I really liked the ending!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
kiankJan 28, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri is a sad tale of a mother looking for answers about the rape and murder of her daughter. I really enjoyed the first half of the movie, especially the parts with Woody Harrelson. Francis McDormand also did great. The ending is a bit disappointing as I wish there was justice for her murdered daughter. I loved all the suspenseful scenes but I felt like they tried to create too many relationships. After Harrelson's character died, I felt like the movie slowed down a bit but overall the movie good, but not amazing. Overall, I would give it a 8.0. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
halllllooFeb 11, 2018
Der Film ist sehr langsam und ruhig, manchmal sogar etwas zu ruhig, was dann aber sehr schön wieder durch eine Wendung aufgehoben wird. Die Story dabei ist sehr spannend und interessant, und immer wieder mit gut platzierten Witzen gespickt.Der Film ist sehr langsam und ruhig, manchmal sogar etwas zu ruhig, was dann aber sehr schön wieder durch eine Wendung aufgehoben wird. Die Story dabei ist sehr spannend und interessant, und immer wieder mit gut platzierten Witzen gespickt. Frances McDormand, Sam Rockwell sowie auch Woodie Harrelson liefern eine sehr gute Arbeit ab und sind definitv richitg besetzt. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ianglaucoFeb 22, 2018
en este año salieron muchas películas con buena narrativa pero un final repugnante. este no es el caso.

cada palabra y situación creada por los personajes es incomoda de ver y escuchar, hay una situacion claramente establecida y personajes
en este año salieron muchas películas con buena narrativa pero un final repugnante. este no es el caso.

cada palabra y situación creada por los personajes es incomoda de ver y escuchar, hay una situacion claramente establecida y personajes planos, es irritante ver como nada de lo que dicen tiene sentido, pero es el final cuando los personajes por fin demuestran su naturalidad y demuestran que la trama no necesita mas palabras para crear una sensación de satisfacción.

pdt: Caleb landry Jones salio en cuatro películas geniales este año espero que lo veamos pronto en algún papel principal que le permita demostrar de lo que es capas
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
onelinereviewsFeb 26, 2018
First billboard: promising outlook to an intimate play of troubled and intriguing characters
Second billboard: speech bubbles of great and gritty dialogue, but too often than not a slap-back of slapstick banter is spoiling the air
Third
First billboard: promising outlook to an intimate play of troubled and intriguing characters
Second billboard: speech bubbles of great and gritty dialogue, but too often than not a slap-back of slapstick banter is spoiling the air
Third billboard: falling a bit flat – an airy and soft fall on engaging performances, memorable scenes and an overall promising premise, but still in the end – those billboards fall a bit flat, outside of Ebbing, Missouri.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KCBarbieQMar 4, 2018
Good movie,in that nothing is expected. It's well written. But the reason I feel it's not Oscar worthy is the overuse and timing of use of profanity. And though the sheriff was a good man,it would be out of character to abandon his daughtersGood movie,in that nothing is expected. It's well written. But the reason I feel it's not Oscar worthy is the overuse and timing of use of profanity. And though the sheriff was a good man,it would be out of character to abandon his daughters to go off to have sex and leave those little girls. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
travis_bickle7Mar 27, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. such a pity to see Martin McDonagh fall from a decent level in "in bruge" to "seven psychopaths" and then land on such a disaster called three billboards.
no characters, there are no justifiable explanations for what people in this movie do, i mean why on earth would she burn the police station?! seriously?
this is just the tip of the iceberg in this absolute nightmare.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
americaneagleFMay 13, 2018
This movie was not a good reflection on someone who has suffered a great loss. Taking your anger out on other people, is a little ridiculous. The One scene where the woman, commits a gruesome act on her dentist, was a show stopper for me.This movie was not a good reflection on someone who has suffered a great loss. Taking your anger out on other people, is a little ridiculous. The One scene where the woman, commits a gruesome act on her dentist, was a show stopper for me. that is where I lost all respect for this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
daviddelnorte23Jan 19, 2018
Apenas estamos en Enero y creo que ya tengo mi película del año. Es genial a todos los sentidos. Tanto el humor negro, como las agallas de su director para llevar a los personajes como para las resoluciones de sus conflictos hace que vaya aApenas estamos en Enero y creo que ya tengo mi película del año. Es genial a todos los sentidos. Tanto el humor negro, como las agallas de su director para llevar a los personajes como para las resoluciones de sus conflictos hace que vaya a ser muy dificil ver una película mejor este año. Viendo esta película te sientes como viendo a los mejores hermanos Coen. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
web0ramaJan 4, 2018
Excellent acting and direction can't entirely save a contrived story. There are moments of both sheer joy and anguish present here but overall it just feels slightly out of step.
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
8
leelustigJan 17, 2018
A bold and slightly unusual film. Brutal and bleak yet funny and quirky. One of those films that you won't want to turn off even if you're unsure as to why. The reason is simply that the characters are extremely compelling and the story isA bold and slightly unusual film. Brutal and bleak yet funny and quirky. One of those films that you won't want to turn off even if you're unsure as to why. The reason is simply that the characters are extremely compelling and the story is packed with unexpected turns. McDormand is amazing as always but Rockwell's character arc is what steals the show. A film about how far calculated hate can take you, for better or worse. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
foxgroveJan 15, 2018
Good if somewhat less daring than it thinks it is. Racism, homophobia, rape and violence are just some of the ingredients in the mix in this not entirely satisfactory concoction. A mother,Frances McDormand buys billboard space to incite theGood if somewhat less daring than it thinks it is. Racism, homophobia, rape and violence are just some of the ingredients in the mix in this not entirely satisfactory concoction. A mother,Frances McDormand buys billboard space to incite the local community out of their apathy with regards to the unsolved murder and rape of her daughter a year earlier. The film touches on many prejudices and judgmental attitudes only to go soft on everyone of them within an unbelievable time line. Let's face it people don't change their views that quickly, but this film wants its cake and eat it and ends up feeling somewhat patronising. The acting is good across the board, but the writing just gets softer and softer and ultimately doesn't convince. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
DukeCumberjackJan 8, 2018
Three Billboards has some great moments. Overall I would say the timing is off with most of the humor however. Seemed like McDonagh was too accustomed to writing/directing for the stage. The film didn't come close to the magic of In BrugesThree Billboards has some great moments. Overall I would say the timing is off with most of the humor however. Seemed like McDonagh was too accustomed to writing/directing for the stage. The film didn't come close to the magic of In Bruges but it is enjoyable. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
qMar 14, 2018
Disgraceful, dark movie full of filthy language, disrespect, violence, inappropriate sexual relationships, and characters too cartoonishly vile to be believable. Only a few characters--probably not coincidentally African-American--seemed toDisgraceful, dark movie full of filthy language, disrespect, violence, inappropriate sexual relationships, and characters too cartoonishly vile to be believable. Only a few characters--probably not coincidentally African-American--seemed to be imbued with any modicum of decency in an otherwise totally dystopian community. I suspect the writer of this sordid swill is some pseudo-intellectual snot who decided to reveal in his screenplay his despicable prejudice against and contempt for what he thinks rural white Americans are like. I have been alive for quite a few years, and I have yet to come across any people so irremediably repulsive as the characters in this film are. The movie is a slog through a sewer. Nothing more. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
annbdMar 6, 2018
The story was fine, but this high score I could only explain to myself with the bad *** protagonist, played by Frances McDormand ( she definitely deserved her Oscar). The unnecessary scenes, strange dialogues and actions made the movie notThe story was fine, but this high score I could only explain to myself with the bad *** protagonist, played by Frances McDormand ( she definitely deserved her Oscar). The unnecessary scenes, strange dialogues and actions made the movie not easy to perceive, to understand. This movie will make you confused, bored and disappointed. Can't believe it's from the 2018 Oscar Nominees. 115 minutes - too long for story, that could have been synthesized in 45 minutes. Annoying mad policeman, out of nowhere, transform himself into avenger, as well as helper to the desperate. Also the end was desperately dull and also the last telephone dialogue was not that clear, I mean I don't recognized the hint, he gave her, so she decided to visit the probable killer. Anyway, so many unnecessary things in this movie. Director and writer, Martin McDonagh, who has weird addiction to put a number in the names of his movies (Six Shooter, Seven Psychopaths, now this movie haha) failed with this one... Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
TedoppegardDec 17, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great flick, great acting, great story and theme. Both halarious at times and tragic. I thought it was the best movie I've seen all year. It was also very moving at times. One can put themself in the place of both the sheriff and the grieving mother. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
applescruffJan 8, 2018
Love this movie and all of McDonagh's films so far. In Bruges may still be the best but this is right there with it.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Nov 22, 2017
Very well made and well acted, but I will be honest and say that I felt it to be a bit overhyped, due in part to my high expectations upon hearing about the raves this film has been receiving. Frances McDormand was wonderful as always, as wasVery well made and well acted, but I will be honest and say that I felt it to be a bit overhyped, due in part to my high expectations upon hearing about the raves this film has been receiving. Frances McDormand was wonderful as always, as was the supporting cast, with the likes of Woody Harrelson and the highly underrated Sam Rockwell in what I'd consider his best performance yet. The film and its story felt like all too familiar territory to me at times, and the ending was a bit anticlimactic for my liking, but it still had plenty of funny and memorable moments to at least keep it worthwhile for the most part. Overall, it's not amazing like what I've been hearing about it, but it contains solid work from its reliable cast and an interesting story that keeps it entertaining and amusing enough throughout. It's also worth noting that fans of director Martin McDonagh (In Bruges, Seven Psychopaths) will likely find much to enjoy and admire about the dark humor in this that he's become so well known for. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsNov 20, 2017
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri is a masterpiece of cinema by writer and director Martin McDonagh, and stars Frances McDormand in what is her finest performance as an actor. Sam Rockwell plays one of the most dynamic characters IThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri is a masterpiece of cinema by writer and director Martin McDonagh, and stars Frances McDormand in what is her finest performance as an actor. Sam Rockwell plays one of the most dynamic characters I have ever seen on film, and Woody Harrelson both delights and pulls at our heartstrings. The rest of the cast is stupidly perfect, with amazing supporting performances from John Hawkes, Peter Dinklage, and Lucas Hedges among others. The script and story of Three Billboards is powerful, heartbreaking, and hilarious throughout the movie. McDonagh really nails the cycle of anger and pointless violence in the world, and the film smartly sidesteps all cliches and pitfalls of a movie of this genre and caliber. I won't spoil anything about the plot, as it is best experienced "going in blind" as they say, but in a year of strong movies, I think we have a clear frontrunner for Best Actress, Best Original Screenplay, Best Director, and Best Picture. Expand
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
10
FedorkoNov 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the best written movies of the year. Martin McDonagh proves again to be one of the best narrative storytellers alive. Not only is the movie's narrative written tightly, but throughout it explores the theme of how hatred and revenge bring people together, and not always in a virtuous way. Frances McDermott and Sam Rockwell deliver stunning performances and the direction makes the movie multi-dimensional in terms of energy and tone. McDonagh's adept writing could make you empathize with a serial killer. Bravo! Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticNov 22, 2017
Writer/ Director Martin McDonagh has created a film that's full of emotion yet you can't help but laugh at the superb humor. McDonagh not only has a way with words but he also knows how to use talent as every character here fits his or herWriter/ Director Martin McDonagh has created a film that's full of emotion yet you can't help but laugh at the superb humor. McDonagh not only has a way with words but he also knows how to use talent as every character here fits his or her role perfectly. The film seems to hit all the right notes. A Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
FRANKOPINIONJan 10, 2018
I give this movie an 8/10 because it was intelligently done and there is too much stupid #### in movies today. Most movies are made for kids or low IQ adults. It was nice seeing a movie made for normal adults. This is also why I liked LadyI give this movie an 8/10 because it was intelligently done and there is too much stupid #### in movies today. Most movies are made for kids or low IQ adults. It was nice seeing a movie made for normal adults. This is also why I liked Lady Bird. But I grew up reading comics and love Marvel and enjoyed Thor more than either of these movies. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Feb 4, 2018
An original idea of how to make justice. Frances Mc Dormand in one of her best roles in carrer; a magnifical drama about a desperate seek for justice blended with a little, subtle pinch of dark humor. RUSH!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
mrdr4gonJan 15, 2018
Amazingly quotable and sharp black comedy that thrives on having been written by Martin McDonagh who is in typically fine form. The film does have a few problems, it suffers from being overlong, with a labyrinthine feel and more than a fewAmazingly quotable and sharp black comedy that thrives on having been written by Martin McDonagh who is in typically fine form. The film does have a few problems, it suffers from being overlong, with a labyrinthine feel and more than a few duds of 'dramatic moments' but the script is good enough to pull the wool over my eyes. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeJan 28, 2018
what's the law on what ya can and can't say on a billboard..

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri Surprisingly, the music is amazing in it, all the tracks are perfect and encourages each and every scene especially when the billboards
what's the law on what ya can and can't say on a billboard..

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Surprisingly, the music is amazing in it, all the tracks are perfect and encourages each and every scene especially when the billboards are burned down, there are couple other scenes too but don't wanna spoil it. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri has the perfect balance of character driven movie and script driven movie and addition to this, an unpredictable one. Martin McDonagh; the writer-director, brings out something new in this genre that has never been witnessed, he plays with his characters and tracks like he is juggling and even his short characters too will make you feel for them (Peter Dinklage and Caleb Landry Jones) which shows the range of the characters and the actors. Frances McDormand oozes power like never before; she is brutal, arrogant, sometimes wrong and surprisingly funny. Woody Harrelson is straight out stunning in it but the real trump card is Sam Rockwell; he almost has a parallel role to Frances and he justifies his presence till the last frame. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing Missouri stands out alone in its genre for its unpredictable script, brutal characters and amusing conversations.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
frankiep86Nov 23, 2017
Being a huge fan of both McDonough and McDormand's work, I was truly looking forward to this film. And I tried to like it. But the structure felt contrived and the logic nonexistent. Great performances but stylistically the film did notBeing a huge fan of both McDonough and McDormand's work, I was truly looking forward to this film. And I tried to like it. But the structure felt contrived and the logic nonexistent. Great performances but stylistically the film did not seem to know what it was. A bit all over the place and I found myself uninvested in the characters. Expand
14 of 22 users found this helpful148
All this user's reviews
9
BHBarryNov 11, 2017
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbings, Missouri” stars Frances McDormand, Lucas Hedges, Woody Harrelson and Sam Rockwell in this story of a mother seeking to find the killer of her teen age daughter and the lengths she takes to attempt to“Three Billboards Outside Ebbings, Missouri” stars Frances McDormand, Lucas Hedges, Woody Harrelson and Sam Rockwell in this story of a mother seeking to find the killer of her teen age daughter and the lengths she takes to attempt to activate the local police force to accelerate its investigation. This is a well written and directed film by noted playwright Martin McDonagh as he guides the audience through the many complexities faced by each character in the story. This film, despite its 2 hour length, left this writer with disappointment that it ended and this is in no small part due to the perfect blending of fine acting, writing and directing resulting in a positive theatrical experience. I give an 8.0 rating with a suggestion that Ms. McDormand begin drafting her Oscar acceptance speech as soon as possible. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
ledaumasDec 7, 2017
Excellent movie with well defined characters and an interesting plot. The characters don’t always make the right choices, but you feel for them, most of the time.
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
RaultvJan 15, 2018
It is like anything you have seen. A new type of genre. You have no idea where this is going in a world where you think you have seen it all. And when the film is over, it makes you wish for more.
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
GreatMartinNov 24, 2017
A Master Class in acting

Walking into “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” you expect to be wowed by Frances McDormand not only by the word of mouth but just by taking one look at the movie trailer and you are not disappointed.
A Master Class in acting

Walking into “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” you expect to be wowed by Frances McDormand not only by the word of mouth but just by taking one look at the movie trailer and you are not disappointed. Mildred Hayes is a hard, sassy talking, take no bull from anyone, headstrong woman who doesn’t give an inch and gets laughs just by the way she delivers a zinger. Her daughter had been raped, killed and burned alive 7 months before and the case seems to be cold and she won’t stand for it.

She rents 3 billboards on a very seldom driven road stating 1) RAPED WHILE DYING 2) AND STILL NO ARRESTS and 3) HOW COME, CHIEF WILLOUGHBY? Along with everything else Mildred has the guilt of the last words saying to her daughter, “I Hope you do get raped!” in anger and frustration with her. As horrible as that sounds you are on her side no matter what she does and says and you never know what that will be!

As good as McDormand is, and she is good, Woody Harrelson, as Chief Willoughby, matches her anger, frustration with the absence of leads and not being able to help the woman though they are alike in many ways. He has problems of his own to face and there is a 2-3 minute scene between him and his wife Anne, played by Abbie Cornish, showing what love is all about. He also, obviously, loves his 2 daughters.

Giving Harrelson and McDormand a run for best performance in this movie is saying a lot and Sam Rockwell as a dim-witted, racist, violent police officer does just that. Caleb Landry Jones as the advertiser who rents the billboards to Mildred is fierce though seems to be a bit too young for the role. John Hawks, as Mildred’s wife beating ex-husband Charlie and his new 19 year old girlfriend Samara Weaving are just two of the townspeople against her and the billboards. Lucas Hedges, as the son of Mildred and Charlie, definitely his mother’s son, Clarke Peters is a new police chief while Peter Dinklage is a car dealer who gives Mildred an alibi when she needs one and Sandy Martin as Rockwell’s mother all add to the movie.

This is a deep movie in spite of the foul language and the many laughs from situations, but it has many dark moments, a lot of violence, resolved and unresolved relationships and though all the characters are frayed in one way or another you come to care for them because of the screenplay and direction by Martin McDonagh.

“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”, aside from its cumbersome title, will be mentioned in many categories during award time and is a must see.
Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKNov 22, 2017
I would give this film the highest rating for the performances alone, but the rest of the film is also excellent – the plot, the direction, etc. The “heart” of the film – what keeps things moving and the audience interested – is the inspiredI would give this film the highest rating for the performances alone, but the rest of the film is also excellent – the plot, the direction, etc. The “heart” of the film – what keeps things moving and the audience interested – is the inspired performance of Frances McDormand as Mildred Hayes. McDormand makes you feel the main character’s pain, sadness, and frustration at every turn in the plot. But I am not going to give any details about the story since part of the pleasure of this film is watching events unfold and discovering why Hayes is the person she is when you first meet her. I have seen less than a half dozen exceptional films this year so far, and this is definitely one of them. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
5
NavyBeanFeb 8, 2018
Good performances but the illogic of everything that happens just makes you scratch your head and wonder about some of the choices the director/writer made. He could have told the same story and not had these huge gaps in coherence that tookGood performances but the illogic of everything that happens just makes you scratch your head and wonder about some of the choices the director/writer made. He could have told the same story and not had these huge gaps in coherence that took my focus to the wrong place. There's a good story there somewhere underneath but this isn't it. And the ex-husband's new girlfriend's attempts at humor are so tone deaf and unfunny that I can't believe this is the same guy who wrote "In Bruges." Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
vladimusmaximusJan 22, 2018
An absolute TRIUMPH of dark comedic cinema. The script, the characters, the performances, the themes, the tragic human redemption of it all.

Can't get it out of my mind. I haven't seen a film this subtle, this deliciously good since well
An absolute TRIUMPH of dark comedic cinema. The script, the characters, the performances, the themes, the tragic human redemption of it all.

Can't get it out of my mind. I haven't seen a film this subtle, this deliciously good since well probably Fargo.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
temptershellJan 27, 2018
A film that will probably collect the most awards for last year because it's a great drama with a message and a brilliant acting game. Beautiful pictures, a surprising plot and an original soundtrack. Great, demanding production.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
VancomycinFeb 3, 2018
Delightfully wacky and with an off-tempo beat that champions the indie-brand film culture forward, Rockwell and McDormand play several of their best roles. But what does that even mean, since they're both nearly always incredible? It meansDelightfully wacky and with an off-tempo beat that champions the indie-brand film culture forward, Rockwell and McDormand play several of their best roles. But what does that even mean, since they're both nearly always incredible? It means don't miss this film. You'll definitely enjoy an off-kilter anti-adventure pseudo-detective movie with lots of seamlessly delivered humor and memorable cursing. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
arash22Feb 17, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Ebbing Redemption When I saw the reactions to this movie the score, I was like man this is the one, finally after a long time here is a perfect movie to enjoy. Especially it is a movie from Martin McDonagh who brought us In Bruges which I couldn't stop watching it over and over for a while, and Frances McDormand? God this is going to be gooood, so I got the movie, scenes passing one by one, the acting was great the music was great the shots was great as I expect it, but the story was going the wrong way. I couldn't believe things were going on in ebbing, out of nowhere everyone become such a goodie-goodie. Oh my god, the movie lost everything even really good acting specially by McDormand and Rockwell was lost. I couldn't believe them anymore. I think McDonagh wasn't even there when they made this or he was but he was dead drunk the whole time. Come on people look at Ebbing and learn how to erase hate from your hearts, come on people look at this poor old lady who suffered so much of her daughters death and she is the only one who cares, so she decided to become Rambo and waste everyone, but suddenly by that stupid fire scene she decided not to and become a good person and start loving people more. Dixon, the stupid racist looser cop who happen to be gay too, in a matter of seconds just by reading that letter find the way of becoming a better person and a good detective and the only thing he has to do is to sit in a bar and wait for the killer to come and sit near him and confess, after that he have to become Wolverine and take DNA sample in the stupidest way possible or should i say not possible. Woody Harrelson character kill himself so not to ruins everything up like every other character in this movie, I think all the characters should have done the same. I am shocked by foolishness in writing, lots of holes in script, what was that little gay doing in this movie? Is he here just because he is friend with director? Why all the hot girls must be stupid? Why the night they were on a date in that restaurant her x-husband should be there to? Why... Don't waste your time on this movie like I did instead go and watch In Bruges again or Olive Kitteridge just to see what are this people in this stupid movie capable of. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
ViniciusBritoMar 1, 2018
Movies with simple stories, told with a non-simple way pleases me very much. The way it shows how tenuous is the line between what you hate and you can become is amazing, the ambiguity that the character have is an exemplification of all ofMovies with simple stories, told with a non-simple way pleases me very much. The way it shows how tenuous is the line between what you hate and you can become is amazing, the ambiguity that the character have is an exemplification of all of us, of how difficult is to keep ourselves whole in a world that surprise us every minute.
The acting and the script combined is what make this movie what it is, every character have his moment and a moment that show that every action results in a reaction, each people can react in a way and have different perspectives ate situations.Frances Macdormand plays a complex character, a broke person, sensitive for what she been through in her recent life, all the problems, the feel of guilt and unrighteousness that surround her. At the same time she is tough and rough, passing a strong image, from belief and from someone that would do anything for what she think is right, not letting anyone do sh*t to her.. Even that, this make she looks kind of who she hates in some moments.Woody Harrelson also does a phenomenal job, his character can make people be on his side or against him, isn't a unilateral movie, you can understand his side or you can think that he is lazy. His character have a impact that affect, causing a react in a lot of characters in the movie, each one having a different reaction and possibly changing the attitudes.Sam Rockwell have a great whole and a great character development, his character is possibly the one that have the best twist, his interpretation is great making you believe in what's going on with the character.
The soundtrack ins beautiful, putting you at the moment, and doing a great job in letting you down or excited with what is going on.
Everyday we are about to do a bunch of choices, one day we can do good and in the other no that much, just like the characters we are all ambiguous.
This is a rough movie, that gonna make you think some good stuff, a must much definely.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
JozJan 10, 2018
I don't love many movies this much. But I love this one; it's almost certainly the best of the 2017 movies I have seen. This movie cuts no corners with its characters. Even the most despicable **** -- people that you want with all your heartI don't love many movies this much. But I love this one; it's almost certainly the best of the 2017 movies I have seen. This movie cuts no corners with its characters. Even the most despicable **** -- people that you want with all your heart to hate -- are given a supurb level of depth and development; in addition to this, the close-quarters small town setting gives an unsettling intimacy to the vitriolic and sometimes outrageously violent events of this film. Some people have expressed concerns over this movie's inconsistent tone. Honestly, I feel that the level of lightheartedness and comedy that this movie hangs onto balances pretty perfectly with the more prominent, painful, emotional aspects. It's part of what makes this movie so interesting (and enjoyable) for me. I'm sad that this didn't resonate as well with other people. The performances are all fantastic and commendable in their own right, (especially from Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell) and you should watch it if you can. If nothing else, I promise you'll be thinking about it for a little while after you've left the theater. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
bentearwalkingJan 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved how this movie contained raw gooey juicy emotions in EVERY scene. I am a guy, I don't like emotional movies, but this movie had my eyes drawn to the screen and wanted to cry and laugh and be engaged at EVERY scene. Key word, EVERY...such great storywriting to accomplish that. HOWEVER, only a 9/10 because I thought the choice to not make the suspect the actual rapist was a miss in the storywriting. I thought this crazy story needed some closure, and to leave it hanging when they had the lay up so perfectly was a huge emotional miss and then to cut the last scene off just as it was ramping up to something very interesting was also a let down. What a great movie until the last few scenes though. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
ChrisTodDurDec 10, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Went to see Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, and I am COMPLETELY baffled by the critical acclaim for this film. What am I missing here? The film is an utter mess.

The movie is about a mother who seeks to find answers to her daughter's murder by placing three billboards up that demand the local chief of police for answers. The problem there is, the billboards lead only down a country road that hardly anyone drives, so I don't understand why there's such a fuss. When the news stumbles across the billboards and makes it top story on the 6pm news, all hell breaks loose.

The film is filled with too many characters that any one character cannot be fleshed out enough to have any kind of sympathy for them. There are characters in the film, like Peter Dinklage's "James," who just appear to be convenience plot breaks and do nothing, really, to help the plot. And there are characters and situations in the film that are so ultra-violent that you wonder why there weren't arrests made (for example, one scene involves a man who throws another man out of a second floor window in broad daylight, yet he was not arrested for it).

In one scene, the billboards are set ablaze, and the lead character just pulls out this massive fire extinguisher in her car - as if everyone drives with one. In another scene, one supporting character is burned very badly and ends up in the hospital - in the exact same room as the guy whom he threw out of the window! That character, in the very next scene, ends up in a bar - wait, wasn't he just all bandaged up and in the hospital? - and just happens to be there at exactly the same time as someone whom he thinks is admitting something that could possibly end the whole case. The whole movie is just preposterous. It's also very racist, homophobic, misogynist, and ultra violent.

I also do not see how it could be considered a comedy, with heavy topics as rape, murder, suicide, revenge, and the above mentioned racism, homophobia, and misogyny.

WHY is this movie getting critical acclaim???

Is the acting good? Sure - but when isn't Frances McDormand, Sam Rockwell, Woody Harrelson, Lucas Hedges, Caleb Jones, John Hawkes, and Peter Dinklage good? It's not their faults. It's the script that is a mess - from the beginning to the end.

UGH! I really wanted to like this movie. I didn't like much of it at all. I'm giving it a generous 4/10 - I really want to know WHY critics and audiences are liking this movie. There isn't really much to redeem it.
Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca31Dec 13, 2017
Easily one of the best films of the year. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri is a masterpiece, brilliant from start to finish. A truly dark story twisted together with black comedy and an outstanding cast. Frances McDormand and SamEasily one of the best films of the year. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri is a masterpiece, brilliant from start to finish. A truly dark story twisted together with black comedy and an outstanding cast. Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell are particularly impressive. Written and directed by Martin McDonagh, there is a reason everyone is talking about this film and it's definitely not one to be missed.

You don’t need me to set the story up, the trailer did that just fine, Mildred's daughter has been murdered and months later the police have nothing to show for it so in an attempt to get some movement on the case and throw it back into the spotlight she rents three billboards with a powerful message to the police. It’s easy to tell when you’re watching a terrific film and from the beginning Three Billboards grips you and doesn’t let go once. Who doesn't love a bit of dark humour? Martin McDonagh has found the balance between comedy and tragedy, such a morbid topic handled to perfection. A movie that cares about its characters, keeps the story unpredictable and honestly what more do I need to say to convince you? McDormand is exceptional, perfectly capturing the pure rage of a grieving mother. Sam Rockwell has the best character development I've seen in a film this year, giving an Oscar worthy performance. I cannot recommend this highly enough, I loved every minute of it, I'm dying to see it again and I urge you all to see it, no exceptions.
Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
2
Petrocelli1960Dec 30, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is full of plot flaws, stereotypes and bad writing. A police officer throws someone out a window (in front of the new chief of police) and in not arrested. The main character kicks two high school students in the groin and is not arrested. There are a whole series of subplots that go nowhere. Skip it. Expand
11 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Nov 20, 2017
LIFF31 2017 #6

"Chiquitita, tell me what's wrong?" Out of all the films I've seen at LIFF, this is easily my favorite and a great way to end this years festival. "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" is dark, funny, heart-felt, and a
LIFF31 2017 #6

"Chiquitita, tell me what's wrong?"

Out of all the films I've seen at LIFF, this is easily my favorite and a great way to end this years festival. "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" is dark, funny, heart-felt, and a breath of fresh air. Never slowing down or drag on. It's plays around with genres and has a lot to say, politically or truth.

This is the best I've seen from Frances McDormand, which isn't new because it's McDormand. She delivered a performance that will get her another nomination (or win) at the Oscars. You can feel her pain and hate, but also see a softer side to her character which makes you have sympathy for Mildred.

Sam Rockwell, on the other hand, gives one of his finest performance of the film. The character Dixon is short-tempered and not very bright. What stops him from being unlikeable is Rockwell charm and honesty. Dixon has a tremendous arc of learning to care about others rather then just being angry.

Caleb Landry Jones, John Hawkes, Woody Harrelson, and Peter Dinklage were all superb. All of them having brilliant moments in whatever screen time they have. Not Lucas Hedges, I thought he was awful in this.

Martin McDonagh just keeps hitting the home runs through out his career. The script was the real show stealer here. The dialogue is so rich and masterful, it keeps you locked from start till finish. Cinematography, editing, and music are all top of the range.

What else can I say, I loved it every second of it.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
Jess_HillJan 5, 2018
A superb start to the year, this is a a sublime example of the excellence that can be achieved when a brilliant script and phenomenal casting come together to create a film. McDormand is at her most captivating, with an astonishingly movingA superb start to the year, this is a a sublime example of the excellence that can be achieved when a brilliant script and phenomenal casting come together to create a film. McDormand is at her most captivating, with an astonishingly moving performance, and the supporting cast are polished and carefully wrought, allowing for a poignant and complex exploration of grief and trauma. The script is a triumph, and the storyline resists easy resolutions, making for a profoundly satisfying viewing experience free from cliche. A considered soundtrack and steady pacing further enhance a film that will stay with you well after you've left the theatre; an exquisite drama worth supporting at the cinema. 9.37/10 Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
dispencer187Nov 22, 2017
Great movie but seemed a little too contrived. Maybe that was the point? Nonetheless it was still hilarious and heartbreaking. Went from tearing up one second to laughing out loud the next second. Not many movies can consistently do thatGreat movie but seemed a little too contrived. Maybe that was the point? Nonetheless it was still hilarious and heartbreaking. Went from tearing up one second to laughing out loud the next second. Not many movies can consistently do that (most do the formulaic first half of the movie is comedy and second half is drama). Acting, script, cinematography were all great. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
ValvesHL3Jan 1, 2018
Another work of art by Martin Mcdonagh. If you like the themes, writing, and style of a film directed by him such as In Bruges, this movie is most definitely for you.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
thedaywalkerJan 20, 2018
What a motion picture, this is cinema at it's finest, amazing acting, not only by Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell, even Woody Harrelson. The screenplay is genius and the character ares were spot on. I could feel their moments ofWhat a motion picture, this is cinema at it's finest, amazing acting, not only by Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell, even Woody Harrelson. The screenplay is genius and the character ares were spot on. I could feel their moments of transformation through the movie and feel their pain and happiness, gotta say this is a great piece of work Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
1
Cancer714Feb 2, 2018
Years from now people will scratch their heads over how this contrived cornball of a movie became a critical darling. The English Patient was utterly sublime in comparison. Its politically correct idiocy is so heavy-handed that it seemsYears from now people will scratch their heads over how this contrived cornball of a movie became a critical darling. The English Patient was utterly sublime in comparison. Its politically correct idiocy is so heavy-handed that it seems like a Lifetime movie with lots and lots of cussing and ridiculous violence. Frances McDormand does her usual spectacular job of playing Frances McDormand and stands a good chance of nabbing another Oscar for, that's right, playing Frances McDormand. Expand
13 of 23 users found this helpful1310
All this user's reviews
3
misterpJan 13, 2018
There are few good scenes in this otherwise cartoony, pretentious, and sloppy movie. The script is flat and shortchanges the audience by presenting a lead character with interesting challenges and then going nowhere. This movie is not worthThere are few good scenes in this otherwise cartoony, pretentious, and sloppy movie. The script is flat and shortchanges the audience by presenting a lead character with interesting challenges and then going nowhere. This movie is not worth seeing. The movie is about 99 percent on the intelligence level of the Dukes of Hazard, which is ok if you are looking for entertainment, and 1 percent like the Coen Brothers. Go watch the Dukes of Hazard or the Coen brothers and skip this movie that is a lost mess. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryNov 30, 2017
Frances McDormand's character is frustrated, sad and angry. Months after her daughter is brutally murdered, there are still no leads, so she has 3 billboards painted with messages that provoke the town's sheriff (Woody Harrelson). Toss in aFrances McDormand's character is frustrated, sad and angry. Months after her daughter is brutally murdered, there are still no leads, so she has 3 billboards painted with messages that provoke the town's sheriff (Woody Harrelson). Toss in a cruel, bumbling officer (Sam Rockwell) and you have the makings of a brilliantly brutal, cruel, sweet and hilarious experience. The performances are all Oscar grade and writer/director Martin McDonagh (In Bruges, Seven Psychopaths) has topped his own exceptional work with this profane and profound film. The story takes unexpected twists, the emotions range from fury to empathy and the script is full of outrageous, surprising dialogue. The legacy of the Cohen brothers is taken to its darkest extreme in this complex and exceptional work. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
6
BikerjamesJan 22, 2018
There is an art to making quirky films. The Coen Bros., Wes Anderson, David Lynch are all masters of the genre. They make films that are quirky and yet somehow believable. This film has moments that are so over the top they would neverThere is an art to making quirky films. The Coen Bros., Wes Anderson, David Lynch are all masters of the genre. They make films that are quirky and yet somehow believable. This film has moments that are so over the top they would never happen in real life. For example, there is a scene where a teenager at a school throws a soda on the Frances McDormand character's car, and the way she handles it would never happen in real life, and there were no consequences for her actions. In fact, she does several outrageous things without any consequences. There are other unbelievable outrageous moments that I won't go into. Other times the quirkiness works, so it's a mixed bag for me. This movie is definitely not a visitor's guide for the state of Missouri as most of the town are portrayed as bigots, including the police force. The acting was stellar throughout. Lastly, I hated the ending. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
AcaciaDec 3, 2017
Plain and simple, this movie is a “Wow!” Go see it. Intricately interwoven stories come together in Ebbing, Missouri when a mother torn apart by grief decides to call out the local police chief for not finding her daughter’s killer. ShePlain and simple, this movie is a “Wow!” Go see it. Intricately interwoven stories come together in Ebbing, Missouri when a mother torn apart by grief decides to call out the local police chief for not finding her daughter’s killer. She does this on three billboards that startle the townspeople. This starts an avalanche of huge proportions that affects the lives of the major characters. It is exquisite and surpringly funny at times. A real masterpiece. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
9
brendan_jwhiteDec 12, 2017
Fantastic performances by Frances McDormand, Sam Rockwell and Woody Harrelson bolster a heartbreaking narrative full of dark humour by Martin McDonagh. The film sets an atmosphere which is hard to describe, but is found in some films of thisFantastic performances by Frances McDormand, Sam Rockwell and Woody Harrelson bolster a heartbreaking narrative full of dark humour by Martin McDonagh. The film sets an atmosphere which is hard to describe, but is found in some films of this year such as Wind River. The audience is filled with such a high level of dread as the events of the film could occur in real life and many characters act happy despite their lives being anything but this. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
9
PrettyGoodNov 19, 2017
Tragic and hilarious. Heartbreaking and amusing. A wonderfully told story of anger, hatred and grief with the brilliant Frances McDormand at the center of it. The narrative, the humor and the characters attract a wider audience, satisfyingTragic and hilarious. Heartbreaking and amusing. A wonderfully told story of anger, hatred and grief with the brilliant Frances McDormand at the center of it. The narrative, the humor and the characters attract a wider audience, satisfying every viewer. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
ospreyFeb 5, 2018
I loved In Bruges and also love all the performances in this movie but that is all I can say that is possitive about this laughably terrible movie. I can't understand where all the rave reviews are coming from. Nothing in this movie ringsI loved In Bruges and also love all the performances in this movie but that is all I can say that is possitive about this laughably terrible movie. I can't understand where all the rave reviews are coming from. Nothing in this movie rings true and the overall message is lost on me. If it was meant to be funny it fails completely. None of the characters are believable or likeable and within about 20 minutes I was groaning at all the actions and dialogue. Really atrocious, so shocking as I was expecting a great movie from all the buzz and praise this movie was getting. Some parts, like the voice over of one of the characters reading letters made me wonder how they convinced this actor to read these lines at all. Baffling! Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
johnem95Dec 2, 2017
Equal parts a laugh-out-loud pitch black comedy and a staggeringly relevant study on the state of contemporary America. It hits all of the right notes.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
LamontRaymondNov 10, 2017
Easily one of my top 5 movies of the year (along with Columbus, LadyBird, and Wind River). The cast is incredible, to a person, but the clear star of the show is Frances McDormand, who lets it all hang out. Feels like she jumped from herEasily one of my top 5 movies of the year (along with Columbus, LadyBird, and Wind River). The cast is incredible, to a person, but the clear star of the show is Frances McDormand, who lets it all hang out. Feels like she jumped from her amazing role in Almost Famous directly to this one. (I don't count the Fargo gig, which I feel was more of a caricature...) This is a must-see. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
2
newenglanderDec 21, 2017
I kept waiting for this movie to end. The story was going nowhere fast and quite a few characters were not believable. The only character that was interesting to watch was the mother of the dullard cop. What was the point of this movie? II kept waiting for this movie to end. The story was going nowhere fast and quite a few characters were not believable. The only character that was interesting to watch was the mother of the dullard cop. What was the point of this movie? I didn't laugh, I didn't cry, I didn't get emotionally invested. Also, the casting for some characters was atrocious! Why would that 19 year old girl be with that unattractive older guy? Why would the rapist throw a rabbit figurine in the gift store? I know these were subplots but it starts to get exasperating to watch such foolishness. Expand
12 of 24 users found this helpful1212
All this user's reviews
10
bananapants34Nov 18, 2017
Heart breaking and hilarious at the same time. Excellent performances all around. I very rarely watch comedies because they're usually immature and stupid, but I loved this. The dialogue is top notch, and the pacing damn near perfect. One ofHeart breaking and hilarious at the same time. Excellent performances all around. I very rarely watch comedies because they're usually immature and stupid, but I loved this. The dialogue is top notch, and the pacing damn near perfect. One of my favorite films of the year. Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
7
yosemiteNov 28, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Could have been a great film but wasn't. Superlatives : the acting of Frances McDormand is superlative and Oscar worthy and the performances of Woody and Sam Rockwell were equally excellent. One or two will get a nomination. The plot was original and creative and the dialogue was equally creative. On the negative side , the vulgarity is gratuitive, unrealistic and ineffective. That same creative plot was inconsistent. The film lacked subtlety and the rural Missourians were were portrayed as hicks and dumb wits. The longer the movie played, the more unrealistic Frances' actions became. Billboards; yes. Bombing police station;not likely. This could have been another Fargo with better direction Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
8
zorraDec 12, 2017
McDormand gives a fearless performance as a grieving mother who's seeking revenge after her daughter was brutally raped and murdered. It's the kind of film we need. Themes of: grief, redemption & tragedy. Wonderful work.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
Kdk2626Dec 19, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tragic, funny, brilliant and above all surprising. A very strong cast led by the superb Frances McDormand. True, her performance is very similar to the one she gave in Olive Kitteridge in 2014, but it is outstanding nonetheless. I get that some people might feel cheated at the end, but this has got to be one of the best movies of the year. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantNov 20, 2017
This dark comedy, with its ample, in-your-face gallows humor and unrelenting sailor-inspired vulgarity, takes big chances on its way to easily becoming one of the best releases of 2017. With stellar performances by Frances McDormand, WoodyThis dark comedy, with its ample, in-your-face gallows humor and unrelenting sailor-inspired vulgarity, takes big chances on its way to easily becoming one of the best releases of 2017. With stellar performances by Frances McDormand, Woody Harrelson and Sam Rockwell, the picture keeps us guessing, even when we think we've figured things out, using misdirections to keep viewers captivated throughout. Despite a slight tendency to drag in the second half, the film overall is a flat-out winner, though not something for the sensitive or squeamish. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
BKMFeb 7, 2018
McDonagh's attempt to blend dark comedy with pathos isn't as effective here as it was in the masterful In Bruges. Much of that failure is due to the fact that this is a movie that is burning with anger which causes the comedic bits to feelMcDonagh's attempt to blend dark comedy with pathos isn't as effective here as it was in the masterful In Bruges. Much of that failure is due to the fact that this is a movie that is burning with anger which causes the comedic bits to feel jarring. The film also has a lot on its mind and struggles to adequately find a narrative foothold. McDormand and Rockwell give strong performances, but ultimately the whole affair gets away from them. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
netflicDec 4, 2017
It is a story of a Missouri woman whose teenage daughter was raped and killed. Her grieving gets intensified by the lack of progress in police investigation in the search of the perpetrator after 7 months since the crime happened. She rentedIt is a story of a Missouri woman whose teenage daughter was raped and killed. Her grieving gets intensified by the lack of progress in police investigation in the search of the perpetrator after 7 months since the crime happened. She rented three billboards demanding faster police action.

The film is listed as a crime comedy but there is not much of a comedy here, it is mostly a dark drama with some sad humor. The protagonist Mildred is played by Frances McDormand, famous for her role in "Fargo" and many other movies.

Her performance is stellar, and in general I would commend on the whole cast's acting.

The script is the only component in the movie that is, in my opinion, not great.

Overall it is an excellent movie that I am sure I will want to see again.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
BuddahNov 26, 2017
The best quality of a movie is how it can play with your emotions. The empathy you can have for the characters is up to both the actors and the director. This movie pulls you emotional in so many directions, that you do not know whether toThe best quality of a movie is how it can play with your emotions. The empathy you can have for the characters is up to both the actors and the director. This movie pulls you emotional in so many directions, that you do not know whether to cry or laugh, get pissed off or clap your hands. While Frances McDormand is truly the star of this movie, and she deserves so much praise, it is both Sam Rockwell and Woody Harrelson that really shine bigger than life for their roles in this film. They have grown so much as actors over the years from comedic roles to this shows me their range and talent. I also have to give major props to Writer/ Director Martin McDonagh who gave life to this film by giving us some levity in between the tragic elements of the story. There is some serious deep stuff thrown at the movie goer, but letting us smile and laugh at such characters as Momma Dixon, (Sandy Martin), Frances's ex-husband, (John Hawke) and his young innocent girlfriend, (Samara Weaving) was the cornerstone of what makes this movie great. Even the subplots of Peter Dinklage's character, Kerry Condon who plays the sheriff's wife, and Abbie Cornish' marketing/ad guy let us feel so much in their scenes is a mark of truly brilliant storytelling. The director really made his actors' performances come to life, and as a movie goer, I am glad I choose to see it.

In closing, I do not give movies a 10 score. This is as close to a 10 as I will recognize. There is always room for improvement, so to give it a perfect score means that perfection was achieved. That no one can top it and never will is just not my thinking. So I leave a little space for more. 9.49 is where I am at. Great and memorable, but not legendary.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
katezoeDec 17, 2017
Fantastic film with an incredible screenplay. Frances McDormand has another nomination under her belt and might win another Oscar as Best Actress! Sam Rockwell Supporting Actor Nomination! Film captures Trump's America.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
WaelJan 1, 2018
"Three Billboards" is emotionally-packed, beautifully atmospheric, funny at some points, and very... calm for a movie that contains this much events and turns. It is led by a strong performance from the whole cast, and the characters are very"Three Billboards" is emotionally-packed, beautifully atmospheric, funny at some points, and very... calm for a movie that contains this much events and turns. It is led by a strong performance from the whole cast, and the characters are very well-developed: they're all broken, they're all looking for salvation in some way, which makes it very realistic. The scenery is very evocative, the script is spectacularly written, and the picture on which relies the whole thing is simply marvelous. The result is one of the best films of the year: an excellent black comedy that balances so perfectly between the humor and the tragedy. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
zedzdedJan 29, 2018
awwww man, the first half was amazing but the second half.... well i could barely watch it. way to squander what was a great idea. Great performance from Frances McDormand but I just started to lose compassion for her half way through whenawwww man, the first half was amazing but the second half.... well i could barely watch it. way to squander what was a great idea. Great performance from Frances McDormand but I just started to lose compassion for her half way through when she continuously did spiteful and nasty things with no justification and absolutely no repercussions. That coupled with the 1 dimensional rendering of the redneck racists and stupid cops just left a bad taste in the mouth. Also cheesy voiceovers from dead people... no thanks.

I think the deer scene was the moment for me when this one jumped the shark. If you're going to have CGI in your movie, it better be absolutely flawless. If it looks like a badly lit cut out or a glitchy render then you have shattered the illusion of reality and every minor flaw becomes magnified in scrutiny.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
opiiouJan 1, 2018
As a fan of Martin McDonagh, i was really happy with this movie.
The acting was great, the characters are likable and the story is refreshing and new.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
shoulderoforionDec 27, 2017
Three Billboards was a great movie, and my pick of this years Oscar bait crowd, literally couldn't sit through all the others, didn't even know it was directed by the guy who did In Bruges (one of my favorite little pieces of cinematic candy,Three Billboards was a great movie, and my pick of this years Oscar bait crowd, literally couldn't sit through all the others, didn't even know it was directed by the guy who did In Bruges (one of my favorite little pieces of cinematic candy, it was so much better than Seven Psychopaths) Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
pdw123Dec 19, 2017
Fantastic film in the mode of the Coen Brothers. The surreal nature and eerie nature coupled with the totally original screenplay kept me deeply involved throughout, which is a rarity for any film these days to keep me that involved everyFantastic film in the mode of the Coen Brothers. The surreal nature and eerie nature coupled with the totally original screenplay kept me deeply involved throughout, which is a rarity for any film these days to keep me that involved every single minute---bravo!! All the acting deserving of many awards and top notch from all the personnel involved. For people here saying that elements were fantastical, wouldn't ever happen in reality---look at "No Country for Old Men" for the model please, and please watch better than your American lowest common denominator fare before you ever judge this. Only the open ended and unresolved nature of the ending threw me for a major curve, and could've perhaps been handled differently . But perhaps that's the point---that many problems in life are never ever resolved. And, I love the complex portrayal of law enforcement and how Rockwell's character changes due to circumstances over time---since I don't really believe that all of law enforcement are dullards, but complex people with much intelligence and families to care for. And, it IS a taxing occupation. Much thanks for this jewel in the season of Star Wars and superhero fluff this year! Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
ajgseriesJan 9, 2018
The screenplay of this movie is absolutely stunning. The script handles this mode of tragedy very well but at the same time manages a very intelligent and very well thought comedy. Although some of the characters try to be funny in times ofThe screenplay of this movie is absolutely stunning. The script handles this mode of tragedy very well but at the same time manages a very intelligent and very well thought comedy. Although some of the characters try to be funny in times of stress and tension, which makes them insignificant in my opinion, the whole cast is amazing, but obviously the most outstanding is Frances McDormand's character. She is an unfiltered psycho who seeks justice for the death of her daughter. She's everything in this film, even her facial expressions are amazing. The film manages a very interesting comedy, for example, Carter Burwell puts a slow music to put you in a sad mood and make you feel for the characters and suddenly... you laugh. It is very unusual but hilarious. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixDec 5, 2017
‘Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri’ is the latest offering from writer-director Martin McDonagh, who once again delights with an original premise, tight writing, and interesting characters. Frances McDormand stands out for her‘Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri’ is the latest offering from writer-director Martin McDonagh, who once again delights with an original premise, tight writing, and interesting characters. Frances McDormand stands out for her hard-nosed turn and, as the lead, will understandably get most of the attention come awards season. However, in my opinion, the always fantastic Sam Rockwell has a more difficult character to portray, necessitating greater nuance and range.

The amount of effusive praise being heaped on the film would likely lead one to believe that this is McDonagh’s best film yet. However, I personally rank it third amongst McDonagh’s three features, behind 2008’s ‘In Bruges’ and 2012’s ‘Seven Psychopaths,’ largely due to a couple of poor casting decisions and unusual plot devices.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
MallRat15Jan 10, 2018
A Stellar movie from start to finish. Excellent acting by all with the standouts being Mcdormand and Rockwell. One of the best films of the year for sure. Its dark and twisted comedy had me laughing even when I shouldn't have been. ManyA Stellar movie from start to finish. Excellent acting by all with the standouts being Mcdormand and Rockwell. One of the best films of the year for sure. Its dark and twisted comedy had me laughing even when I shouldn't have been. Many unexpected twists that I didn't see coming kept the story intriguing the entire time. Movie should do very well at the Oscars as its by far the best acted movie I've seen this year. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
KamilmanzurFeb 4, 2018
It's just incredible. First, the acting is a 11/10, Frances McDormand deserves all the awards, Sam Rockwell is AWESOME and Woody Harrelson is pretty good. The screenplay is excelent, with perfect dialogues. Martin Mcdonagh is a great directorIt's just incredible. First, the acting is a 11/10, Frances McDormand deserves all the awards, Sam Rockwell is AWESOME and Woody Harrelson is pretty good. The screenplay is excelent, with perfect dialogues. Martin Mcdonagh is a great director that actually did a perfect movie where all fits. The final is controversial but not entirely bad, very opened but that give us a tiny climax to the characters. Plot twists are GREAT. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
LynJan 15, 2018
The rough language and explosive violence in "Three Billboards" -- plus the weirdly placed bits of humor -- made this an intense moviegoing experience. If you're up for that, it's a satisfying experience as well. Frances McDormand's braveryThe rough language and explosive violence in "Three Billboards" -- plus the weirdly placed bits of humor -- made this an intense moviegoing experience. If you're up for that, it's a satisfying experience as well. Frances McDormand's bravery as an actress is stunning. I especially liked the way the story developed: Could have been completely hopeless and depressing, but it isn't. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
DavidWasHereJan 30, 2018
One of the most intense and harrowing films of 2017. With fantastic acting all around from our three main leads, with high praise for Sam Rockwell and Francis McDormand, and solid directing from Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards is a starkOne of the most intense and harrowing films of 2017. With fantastic acting all around from our three main leads, with high praise for Sam Rockwell and Francis McDormand, and solid directing from Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards is a stark look at justice and how uneasy and often brutal it is, especially when it comes with wanting justice for heinous crimes. People have been up at arms with how the movie wants to "sympathizes with racist cops" when they are missing the point. It's not about sympathy but understanding that with two extremes you don't want to be on their sides, illustrating how extremes can not solve any problem, no matter where it ranks on the moral injustice scale. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
RyanVanGFeb 7, 2018
Three Billboards is a fantastic movie that has a lot to say about society and justice in today's USA. The writing, acting, and direction, and production are all amazing. I can't think of a bad thing to say about the movie at all.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
ChesterFTOFJan 23, 2018
Following my viewing of the Golden Globes, and more recently, the SAG awards, I decided that watching Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri would most likely be a good idea. The film has performed exceptionally well so far this awardsFollowing my viewing of the Golden Globes, and more recently, the SAG awards, I decided that watching Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri would most likely be a good idea. The film has performed exceptionally well so far this awards season, consistently winning many of the awards it was put up for. After being fortunate enough to see it, I can understand why.

I feel it is worth quickly adding that, while watching this film, I was quite tired. I’d seen Coco earlier that same day, and I rarely go out for that long a period. The fact that the film still made such an impact on me in that state is impressive.

Ordinarily, this isn’t the sort of film I’d be attracted to. I didn’t really recognise many of the actors going in, nor was it based on an existing property. To put it bluntly, it was a proper, standalone film. After seeing it, I was genuinely impressed.

Ordinarily, I would list highlights of a film, then delve into the issues. Now, however, I’m perplexed; the film did everything well, at least to an extent. There was only a few things I found issue with. The CGI (which was used incredibly sparingly) was often rather jarring. It didn’t fit with the rest of the gorgeously shot world. Though the locations are never astounding, Ben Davis makes even relatively mundane countryside look beautiful.

The characters shown within this film are rather fascinating. The events leading up to the film could almost be a film in themselves. Despite what reading a synopsis may imply, however, this film isn’t a murder mystery. The murder of Mildred Hayes (Frances McDormand)’s daughter isn’t the focal point of the film. Instead, the main focus of the film is how the event impacts various people, and how they go on to deal with it. Each main character is rather layered, and could arguably be the lead in their own film.

Bringing these characters to life is a brilliantly talented cast. Frances McDormand deserves each award she receives. I feel the trailer actually does her character a disservice; after watching it, I felt that she was simply a vulgar, hateful woman taking her frustrations out on those around her. In reality, she’s a far more sympathetic character, who isn’t nearly as abrasive as the trailer makes her out to be. Woody Harrelson’s Chief Willoughby was probably my favourite character of the film, who, despite playing the straight man in many scenes, is able to bring levity and humour to the dark situations in which he finds himself. Sam Rockwell’s Dixon is also wonderful, though many people have taken issue with his character’s arc. Personally, I enjoyed it greatly, though it’s something to note.

Many of the supporting characters are hit or miss. I feel Peter Dinklage was brilliantly funny, though some of the others failed to steal a chuckle from me. The rest of the audience seemed to enjoy them, however, so it’s most likely a fault of my own.

I was pleasantly surprised by how violent this film is; the trailer makes it seem that violence is a punchline to a joke, but at times, the movie is genuinely brutal. It’s probably more violent than most modern horror films.

The soundtrack was actually rather enjoyable. The original scoring was great, and fit the setting perfectly. The other songs added each served their purpose, oftentimes accentuating the comedy within a scene.

For the most part, I found the writing great. The characters spoke like real (if dramatised) people, though occasionally there was some odd lines.

To conclude the review, I feel this was a truly impressive film, and I understand why it’s getting so many nominations. If you love film, I must recommend you give this one a watch. Thankfully, this isn’t one you need to see in the cinema; I think it could work just as well on a smaller screen. If you need a concrete ending, however, you may need to steer clear; it’s rather open ended. I feel Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri deserves a 9/10, and I look forward to seeing more films of a similar quality to this one.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
KurebFeb 25, 2018
My favourite movie this year. Complex plot, unique characters, and astounding performances.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
VDSJan 27, 2018
This film is supposed to be darkly comic, apparently. I just thought it was funny. Sure, the presentation was a bit more gritty than in your average comedy, but I felt it was still a film made for laughs.

As with all the best comedies, the
This film is supposed to be darkly comic, apparently. I just thought it was funny. Sure, the presentation was a bit more gritty than in your average comedy, but I felt it was still a film made for laughs.

As with all the best comedies, the plot was as basic as it gets. But who needs a plot when you’ve got laughs. And there were plenty of twists and turns too. Things happened that even the savviest audience member wouldn’t have seen coming. Some of these unexpected moments demonstrated a braveness on the part of the film makers – writing out a major character halfway through the film.

Of the three main leads (Frances McDormand, Woody Harrelson, and Sam Rockwell) it’s hard to say who takes the crown for best performance. McDormand’s character was an instant audience favourite, but I felt Rockwell owned the film. His portray of a confused thug seeing the error of his ways and becoming the remorseful anti-hero, undercut the witty dialogue and gave the film a real reason for being.

It’s always good to go into a film being slightly weary of the hype, and then almost instantly understanding what all the fuss was about. Time and possible awards (though the latter is not a measure of something’s worth) will see the greatness of Three Billboards only increase. Bravo to all concerned.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Jes1310Feb 28, 2018
Great movie, that has this "coen" feeling to it. Its dark humor, sudden violence and funny characters, reminds me of Fargo.
Frances Mcdormand does a great job, but also Woody Harrelson and the others actors are great. Amazing how a dark
Great movie, that has this "coen" feeling to it. Its dark humor, sudden violence and funny characters, reminds me of Fargo.
Frances Mcdormand does a great job, but also Woody Harrelson and the others actors are great. Amazing how a dark comedy like Billboars touches on so important issues, with such ease and intelligence.
A must see!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingFeb 19, 2018
Frances McDormand, Sam Rockwell, and Woody Harrelson all deliver Oscar-worthy performances in Frances McDormand's bleak and important, but also hilarious "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri".
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
kensrueFeb 27, 2018
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri starts off with a good story line, good acting, captivating composition and some very quotable lines. Pretty soon it becomes evident that the makers sacrificed the story line to provide the audienceThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri starts off with a good story line, good acting, captivating composition and some very quotable lines. Pretty soon it becomes evident that the makers sacrificed the story line to provide the audience with an over-dose of climax. The movie feels like an ingenious attempt at creating a film that relies on shocking the audience with over the top emotional conflicts that add nothing to the actual story, which feels to me as a response to our modern society with a lack of attention and a constant craving for stories of misery. It does succeed at delivering that, but in my opinion becomes overly contrived very fast. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoJan 27, 2018
"Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" was a spectacular movie. The story and the characters managed to give the succulent touch to this movie. It also reflects the most extreme forms of justice, violence and anarchy. In addition the"Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" was a spectacular movie. The story and the characters managed to give the succulent touch to this movie. It also reflects the most extreme forms of justice, violence and anarchy. In addition the expression "Small town, big hell" is pretty well reflected in Ebbing. This movie goes to one of the most competitive at the Oscars, and will be one of the surprises of the night. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SrPepeFeb 15, 2018
Divertida con un humor negro manejado de forma excelente. Me gustó mucho y los actores estuvieron geniales.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CittadelFeb 20, 2018
I don't want everyone to understand this movie, because it almost feels like a treat when you figure it all out. I barely have anything to complain about when it comes this Oscar-nominated movie. Period.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
whoischarlotteFeb 1, 2018
Is this 'best picture' worthy? No. Is this a good film? Well, yeah. Three Billboards is unconventional, it didn't take itself too seriously and made me laugh so easily. It's just a shame that the end is pretty dull.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews