A24 | Release Date: December 13, 2019
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 618 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
440
Mixed:
85
Negative:
93
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ThwompthingDec 17, 2019
Didn't find one flaw in this film. The ending was unexpected and sad, but definitely powerful and real. The gambling business can be very dangerous and if you watch this film you'll see why. Must watch movie and one of the best of theDidn't find one flaw in this film. The ending was unexpected and sad, but definitely powerful and real. The gambling business can be very dangerous and if you watch this film you'll see why. Must watch movie and one of the best of the year. Definitely oscar worthy for next year. Expand
24 of 41 users found this helpful2417
All this user's reviews
10
AuGeR96Jan 1, 2020
The movie is fantastic due to its unique style. There is no introduction of the characters and it feels like you are actually watching a real-life scenario. You get to learn about each character as the movie goes on and understand what isThe movie is fantastic due to its unique style. There is no introduction of the characters and it feels like you are actually watching a real-life scenario. You get to learn about each character as the movie goes on and understand what is really happening as it starts off extremely fast and never slows down. It feels like you are always watching the climax. Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
9
bcunningDec 29, 2019
This movie owns. It’s so intense and immersive and thrilling. I loved it.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
9
SWEEPtheLEG175Dec 28, 2019
Acting across the board is 10/10. The Directors did a great job showing the human emotion with betting on sports. It's funny, tragic, and exciting. One of my favorite films in 2019.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
MovieRiffingDec 29, 2019
The Safdie Brothers and Adam Sandler never relent in Uncut Gems. One scene after another, they continue to nurture and grow the building anxiety in the air. As Sandler's character continues to spiral downward in a pit of his own creation, youThe Safdie Brothers and Adam Sandler never relent in Uncut Gems. One scene after another, they continue to nurture and grow the building anxiety in the air. As Sandler's character continues to spiral downward in a pit of his own creation, you cannot help but watch and cheer him on to dig deeper. As the final scene concludes it leaves a sense of exhaustion in its wake, but it is not long before that exhaustion is replaced by a hunger for more. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Dec 24, 2019
HOLY (insert expletive here!!!!) This has got to be the most anxiety-inducing film I've seen in a LONG time! In this film, Adam Sandler plays a charismatic New York jeweler, who finds himself in over his head with several gambling debts heHOLY (insert expletive here!!!!) This has got to be the most anxiety-inducing film I've seen in a LONG time! In this film, Adam Sandler plays a charismatic New York jeweler, who finds himself in over his head with several gambling debts he owes to various loan sharks and criminals throughout the city. In order to pay his debts, he must resort to desperate measures, such as pawning or selling various valuables, including a beautiful opal stone, and even betting thousands of dollars on Kevin Garnett in Celtics games. Sandler definitely plays against type in this film, ditching his silly comedy and slapstick humor he's become so associated with (for better or worse.) However, some of his humor and style does squeak in a little here and there, but it takes on a whole new meaning in a more dramatic and tense context, which this film carries in spades! He's never been better and finds a great balance for his character, cheeky and carefree at times, but also no-nonsense in others. Other familiar faces include Idina Menzel as his wife, and Celtics player Kevin Garnett as himself. Storywise, it kept me thoroughly anxious for nearly the whole time, as I constantly kept wondering how he'd be able to get himself out of various situations throughout the film. The pace gradually picks up speed, and my feelings of nervousness and anticipation only increased as the film progressed, while the film's final five minutes or so literally making my jaw drop! Overall, it's dazzling, tense, and doesn't let up until the very end! And what's more, it's undoubtedly a surprising and impressive change of pace and showcase for Sandler, who truly delivers an unforgettable career-best performance! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsDec 27, 2019
Uncut Gems could have been cut. While I love the break neck pace, and the unrelenting, constantly building anxiety, there were several story elements that could have been cut to make a more streamlined, tightly focused feature. I am a big fanUncut Gems could have been cut. While I love the break neck pace, and the unrelenting, constantly building anxiety, there were several story elements that could have been cut to make a more streamlined, tightly focused feature. I am a big fan of Good Time, the first film by the Safdie Brothers, and I honestly think Uncut Gems is just a messier, less focused Good Time.

That being said, I was a huge fan of Adam Sandler's performance. It really was one of the best of the year, and he capably carries the movie on his shoulders. Kevin Garnett has a breakout performance that I really enjoyed, and the performances of Lakeith Stanfield and Eric Bogosian were excellent additions to the cast. The score is great, and the cinematography is really well done. I loved how the titular gem in the movie was given such mythical properties by the characters.

Overall, Uncut Gems is not a bad movie at all. It just wasn't my favorite of the year.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
CinemaCrushDec 18, 2019
The Safdie brothers nailed it. You've got high intensity, quick claustrophobic cuts that really bring out the dire situations of Howard (Sandler), who will most justly and most likely pick up some best actor noms as well as some winsThe Safdie brothers nailed it. You've got high intensity, quick claustrophobic cuts that really bring out the dire situations of Howard (Sandler), who will most justly and most likely pick up some best actor noms as well as some wins elsewhere, and I'd not be surprised to see the screenplay up for awards. Certainly deserving. This film knocks on many doors. Not just gambling and gems. There's worldly social commentary, a little bit of Jewish history and modern culture.// You're a fly on the wall to the method of Howards madness, and no matter how tumultuous, you'll never want to get off his ride, even when you know he's wrong. Sandler sold it solid, with a great a surprising ensemble cast paving the way for him to shine. I see a little later-Lumet in this film, and some sprinkling of David O Russell. But inspirations aside, this film does anything but rip on it, but rather creates a new 21 century film, through unique editing, cuts keep the story always cresting, and one more time, Sandler kills. Knocks em dead. I give it a solid 8/10. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
ThatFilmGuy20Dec 28, 2019
Uncut Gems is beautiful chaos, stress-inducing, anxiety triggering manic chaos, I'm still catching my breath from watching it, there isn't one dull second in this film, it's fast-paced storytelling with endless charm and authenticity. Let'sUncut Gems is beautiful chaos, stress-inducing, anxiety triggering manic chaos, I'm still catching my breath from watching it, there isn't one dull second in this film, it's fast-paced storytelling with endless charm and authenticity. Let's talk about the essence of this film, Adam Sandler materializes Howard Ratner with all his baggage, the bad and the good, he embodies this character and brings it to life, I'm really tempted to call this his best work to date, it's a big claim but it deserves it, "Punch Drunk Love" was something else but this is just breathtaking, honestly, it just wows.
The Safdies brothers really went for it with "Uncut Gems", their acid-infused filmmaking is on full display yet again, they shaped the narrative near damn flawlessly and gave Sandler a fantastic story to work with. A power trip that will play with your primal senses, that's the best way to describe it, absolutely great.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
bradley9544Dec 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i’m literally here to clear the air for some of y’all. most reviews i’m seeing are from people that don’t understand the premise of the whole movie. They complain about it being too anxiety ridden and the ending to be unsatisfactory. In reality, the purpose of the movie is to make you hate Adam Sandler and to play with the emotion of greed and how that can ultimately get you killed (as he does). everything happened to illustrate that point. His addiction to gambling getting in the way, him getting **** over at the auction was all a way of setting up the inevitable ending and the greed he has for something that has consumed him and his reality. That’s why at the end the bullet hole is zoomed in on and we see all
of the sparkling colors. This shot was completely ripped from the beginning scene to further drive that point across. The Gem is HIM he can’t think of anything else. As far as the writing and cinematography is concerned that is perfection in my eyes. It is there to make the watcher feel the intensity of the characters and the situation their in. The editors and the director want to make you hate Howie and they SUCCEED. As he keeps digging himself deeper in this hole i found myself just yelling at him to stop.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
FilMMManiacDec 19, 2019
Wonderful shocking new side of Adam Sandler. The film was Everything movies used to be it took you into the story made you fell like you knew the character and you didn't want it to end but all good things come to an end it respect for theWonderful shocking new side of Adam Sandler. The film was Everything movies used to be it took you into the story made you fell like you knew the character and you didn't want it to end but all good things come to an end it respect for the way it ended even though you didn't want it to end that way. was a beautiful performance by Adam Sandler.I almost don't want to see him do comedy's after this. As for supporting actress Julia Fox there's a star in the rise Bravo on a side note she would make a bad ass Black widow black cat in Spiderman or Catwoman very strong beautiful actress. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
MrottmannDec 26, 2019
Tense movie loved it. Made my chest hurt my wife bite her fingers. Just as good as good time if not better. Adam Sandler's performance was amazing.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
keanexJan 1, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Adam Sandler plays a phenomenal role as a Jewish New Yorker high-end jewelry dealer who has trouble with money and finds himself in a lot of trouble. It is tense and thrilling from start to finish, I had a mild feeling of anxiety the entire time as Adam dug himself deeper and deeper into a hole. The ending is absolutely bonkers on many levels. A24 strikes AGAIN. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
refaslivaDec 30, 2019
Absolutely manic and beautifully shot and scored. Performances are an absolute standout, but really no one should be surprised at that.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Jan 1, 2020
“This is how *I* win.”

One of the most stressful movie experiences I’ve had in awhile. This whole movie runs entirely on acid and how the series of events unfold was particularly stressful. People constantly talking or yelling over each
“This is how *I* win.”

One of the most stressful movie experiences I’ve had in awhile.

This whole movie runs entirely on acid and how the series of events unfold was particularly stressful. People constantly talking or yelling over each other while the brilliant sound work made the space around them feel so tight, but incredibly claustrophobic.

While I like ‘Good Time’ a little more, but man what a rush.

Adam Sandler is absolutely terrific as the greedy and sleazy Howard Ratner. If he's working with a good director, a strong supporting cast, and an interesting concept, Sandler will thrive. We follow Howard Ratner, a jewelry store owner in New York with a serious gambling problem that makes the hole his standing in deeper and deeper. Despite every terrible decision his character made...I still felt sorry for him. I think it has to do with Sandler's devilish charm that won me over into pitting such a petty crook. He isn’t a loser, he’s a winner who doesn't win. It’s one of his best performance right beside ‘Punch Drunk Love’.

Benny and Josh Safdie are such vibrant directors that can inject so much style while also having a harsh look to it, which ties in with the slimy side of business. The Safdie Brothers are building a solid career for themselves. Darius Khondji outstanding cinematography is the glue that holds this high tension of a movie together.

I loved the score from Daniel Lopatin, which will often drown out the dialogue as the retro rift comes blasting through. On the other hand, there’s also a slow mystical vibe that Lopatin composes that gave me a surreal feeling of levitating.

Kevin Garnett is surprisingly really good in this movie. A professional basketball player actually delivering a solid performance is almost unheard of. It kinda reminds me of Tyler Perry ‘Gone Girl’, in terms of your expectations from them vs what you got. I also couldn’t believe this is Julia Fox first acting debut, because she’s fantastic in the movie.

Overall rating: While I’m only two movies into their filmography, Safdie Brothers are upon my favorite working directors.

I hope they make another movie like 'Good Time' & 'Uncut Gems', so it can called the LSD trilogy.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
diorrDec 30, 2019
Uncut Gems is a dizzying rush from start to finish. Adam Sandler delivers his best performance to date, and reminds the audience that when given the right film, he can really shine. The Safdie Brothers have always been an intriguing pair forUncut Gems is a dizzying rush from start to finish. Adam Sandler delivers his best performance to date, and reminds the audience that when given the right film, he can really shine. The Safdie Brothers have always been an intriguing pair for me and their last film, Good Time, was one of the best films I saw in 2017, which was packed with incredible performances. Their directing style is very different and off the wall and it shines through here as well. The film is frantically paced (for all the good reasons), and doesn't let the viewer catch their breath for even a minute. LaKeith Stanfield and Julia Fox were very good in their roles as well. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
Stream2BigScreeJan 28, 2020
Get A Discount On The Uncut Gems

The Stream: Typical storyline and some really bad teeth The Big Screen: An intense film that depicts the dangers of gambling The Final Bill: A solid movie that is best watched in a loud environment and with
Get A Discount On The Uncut Gems

The Stream: Typical storyline and some really bad teeth

The Big Screen: An intense film that depicts the dangers of gambling

The Final Bill: A solid movie that is best watched in a loud environment and with friends

-S2S

Happy New Year! Your present is a couple gems about Uncut Gems. This movie stars and I do mean stars Adam Sandler in what some may say is his best performance. It’s a mix of classic Sandler with terrible teeth and good acting. Sandler plays a jeweler who constantly finds himself too deep in the situations he’s created. Let’s see if he can dig himself out.

The summary above is the most I can give you without ruining the already simple storyline. Strangely enough, the movie is predictable but not ruined by that fact. We’ve seen this plot in many movies before, but it’s the execution and the cast that differentiates this movie. Sandler, LaKeith Stanfield, Julia Fox, others and yes even Kevin Garnett do a really great job in this movie. Sandler’s performance, minus the teeth, was the perfect stereotypical portrayal of this character. When we he is high, we are high. When he is manic, we feel manic. Ultimately, I found myself saying how deep can my man go and get out of, and boy, do we find out.

Here are the trouble spots of this movie, which might be controversial. This movie is “too loud” for some viewers. Everything in this movie is loud, over the top and in your face. While I enjoyed most of it, I do realize how this atmosphere/culture displayed could be “annoying or offensive” to certain viewers. I can understand how certain viewers just wouldn’t appreciate the contemporary nature of things occurring in the movie. Some might say it’s too “urban”. *side eyes those people* But truthfully, the movie was on the borderline of being too in someone’s face.

Long story short, Uncut Gems is a film that is both super predictable but nevertheless not ruined by its predictability. The intense nature of this film ultimately lends itself to being seen. Now, I leave that up to you all. You absolutely don’t need to see this in the theater, but I will note the nature of the big screen and music could amplify the viewing nature. Your best bet is watching this at home with a few betting friends and make a few drinking game wagers through the film.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
quenchyFeb 3, 2020
Howard is everything a likable, believable protagonist should be and he will grab your heart from start to end. This is a thriller unlike any other and it will leave you stricken and would make you rethink life.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJan 4, 2020
The last film by the Safdie brothers was Good Time and a lot of that film's milieu and style parallels this one (my review). Adam Sandler plays a frenzied, somewhat obnoxious jeweler in New York City. The big score that drives the narrativeThe last film by the Safdie brothers was Good Time and a lot of that film's milieu and style parallels this one (my review). Adam Sandler plays a frenzied, somewhat obnoxious jeweler in New York City. The big score that drives the narrative is complicated by his side trips into compulsive gambling, the resulting multiple debtors and marital infidelity. Sandler relishes the opportunity to play this oversize character. The Safdie's have crafted the film with an adrenaline-fused style that propels the action with a convincing supporting cast, noisy situations and an energy continually verging on chaos and calamity. In an attempt to tweak the tension even more, they’ve added a rather incongruous soundtrack. Some will find this film (and Sandler's performance) mesmerizing. Although I appreciated what the directors are doing, I never found Sandler's character sympathetic or compelling. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TryASummersaultJan 5, 2020
7.9/10 I was excited to see Sandler in another versatile role though was somewhat reluctant to believe in another a24 production as they've been mostly pretentious misses in my eyes. This was easily one of the exceptions due mostly to7.9/10 I was excited to see Sandler in another versatile role though was somewhat reluctant to believe in another a24 production as they've been mostly pretentious misses in my eyes. This was easily one of the exceptions due mostly to Sandler's dedication he brought into the grimy and slimy character of Howard. The story is straightforward enough, but the constant problematic conundrums that arise at all corners keep the intensity at high levels throughout and you cannot wait to see what unfolds though you know it will be inevitably troublesome. Once everything comes to a head, the story's tension unravels into a shocking finish. If you're a fan of Adam Sandler, you'll need to understand this is a different version that he saves for his most passionate roles, though he's still the same brilliant funnyman we all know in parts. Some of the soundtrack is overwhelming and off putting at times but really that's my only complaint. Otherwise it's a solid dramatic thriller. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jan 2, 2020
In 2017, Josh and Benny Safdie let their frenetic, pulse-pounding, morally murky stylings loose with "Good Time." I guess they were really holding out on us, however, because "Uncut Gems" takes literally every element that I enjoyed in "GoodIn 2017, Josh and Benny Safdie let their frenetic, pulse-pounding, morally murky stylings loose with "Good Time." I guess they were really holding out on us, however, because "Uncut Gems" takes literally every element that I enjoyed in "Good Time," and ups the ante, for both better and -- in some cases -- for the slightly less better. Things just never feel easy in this movie. There's always some ticking clock, force of pushback, or complication preventing our main character from getting what he wants. It places you in a state of perpetual unease and it's quite well done. And speaking of main characters, one can't possibly opine on "Uncut Gems" without discussing Adam Sandler's performance. What else is there to say that hasn't already been said? It's simply sublime, if performances this slimy and disgusting could ever be. Every event and amount of pressure mounted perfectly manifests itself into Sandler's behavior and demeanor, giving you the honest to God impression that this guy's toilet of a life is really starting to overflow. And like "Good Time," this film definitely steers away from the crowd-pleasing ending, though it may do so a bit too drastically for my tastes. Where "Good Time's" ending felt bittersweet and apt, this one simply makes you realize what you've really just finished -- a real workout. I'd be shocked if even the most emotionally jacked human beings didn't leave feeling sore. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MccuskyFeb 4, 2020
A movie that doesn't rely on the loveable hero or a cliche story, its real and centres around a character who's intentions are generally good but morally questionable, he's not a good guy but not a monster either. You really get a sense thatA movie that doesn't rely on the loveable hero or a cliche story, its real and centres around a character who's intentions are generally good but morally questionable, he's not a good guy but not a monster either. You really get a sense that this is what many of us are like when put in a hole trying to solve all our problems by ourselves but sinking further, apart from the sound levels this is a great movie Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
scallysmumFeb 4, 2020
An absolute travesty that Adam Sandler wasn’t nominated for an Oscar for this
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
zmgalen2000Jan 5, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Messy: a broad umbrella term that encapsulates all of what "Uncut Gems" is. The film is a two-hour cringefest thanks to its sporadic unsettling visuals (a colonoscopy with no plot relevance, really!?) and a multidirectional plotline laced with interminable violence. The pacing of the film was so rapid-fire that I found myself without any time to catch my breath or process what I had just learned/seen. Having to check my phone to understand who was who and what was going on (seriously), I missed the next detail of the movie. Not to mention that the plotline was met with an abrupt and nonconclusive ending.

However, where the film redeems itself is in its engagement by virtue of strong acting performances and character development from Sandler and Menzel. The embodiment of fictional characters as portrayed by these actors develops an emotional bond with the audience, leading to an instantaneous investment in the film's endeavors. Plus, there is something to be said for a messy plot that plays mind games: you seek for answers. Unfortunately, I left the theater unsatisfied with the ambiguity that was both preestablished and unanswered.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
AndremaxJan 7, 2020
Uncut Gems may lost itselfs to tell a story, with exessively dirty and dazed atmosphere, but it doesn't be denied that's such a expressive film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
CornwallAdamsJan 13, 2020
This film is so hard to put into words. For its whole entire two hours and fifteen minutes run time, you're overwhelmed with anxiety, but you can't look away. It entangles you in its simple yet deeply complex plot and keeps you begging for more.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
dbwingcoJan 10, 2020
Sandler plays the part to perfection (could easily typecast him in this role) but the frenetic pace and unrealistic scenarios made it somewhat boring. Kevin Garnett was quite a surprise but he really didn't add much.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DrBobLeeJan 15, 2020
Ok, So this is a good movie but I wouldn't exactly call it a fun movie. Anyone that has problems with anxiety or heart issues might want to think twice about seeing this flick and I know what i'm talking about because I am a Doctor.Ok, So this is a good movie but I wouldn't exactly call it a fun movie. Anyone that has problems with anxiety or heart issues might want to think twice about seeing this flick and I know what i'm talking about because I am a Doctor. Sandler's character is doing so much crazy, chaotic stuff it is sure to make some boisterous son-of-a-gun get up in their seat and yell "what in the PETE is he doing?!" Sandler is basically a gambling addict who plays with other people's money and makes risky parlay bets that make you think to yourself "are you serious?" I really understand why some people don't like this movie. Its not because its bad, boring, or the acting is crap-o-la, its because it makes you sick to your stomach with the hectic action and that action doesn't give us as an audience a chance to breath. Still I liked it and i'm a respected doctor so that has to say something.

Bob Lee, MD
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
meitgol1Jan 19, 2020
This is not your typical movie, and you need to be prepared for high anxiety and non-stop dialogue and changing scenery for the entire 2+ hours. Not a motion sickness issue, just non-stop drama, poor decisions from main actors, and waitingThis is not your typical movie, and you need to be prepared for high anxiety and non-stop dialogue and changing scenery for the entire 2+ hours. Not a motion sickness issue, just non-stop drama, poor decisions from main actors, and waiting for someone to jump out and knock some sense into the main characters. I realized i was so wound up with anxiety during the movie when I checked my phone to look at the time and realized there was another 1+ hours left to go! Adam Sandler is great, and showed his true acting ability, which was a surprise. This is no comedy, although some of us laughed nervously at a few points in the show just to release the tension. Shocking ending that made me gasp out loud, which I never do. I have minor heart disease, and with about 15 minutes left in the movie, I was overwhelmed and needed to stand up and raise my arms to reduce tension and breathe deeply. It worked, and I was able to enjoy the ending. I have to admit, there were times I wanted to leave because of the foolish choices being made, but I was so invested I just couldn't. Well done movie, and highly recommended. Just be aware of the anxiety factor and a fast moving flick from start to end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
skip65Jan 8, 2020
From the beginning we see a self-destructive guy who in all probability will come to a bad end. He’s got so many plates spinning (jewelry store, 3 kids, mistress, wife, black opal, bookie, prostate, pawned rings, creditors, auction,From the beginning we see a self-destructive guy who in all probability will come to a bad end. He’s got so many plates spinning (jewelry store, 3 kids, mistress, wife, black opal, bookie, prostate, pawned rings, creditors, auction, relatives), and we’re shown over and over that he’s completely incompetent in every area of his life and unlikely to keep any of them afloat. It’s just a question of which plate is going to fall first. We’re left to wonder how this person lacking common sense ever came to own a jewelry store in Manhattan’s prestigious diamond district or what his wife and mistress ever saw in him in the first place. This is a guy who’s willing to make huge risks to get rich quick, so I never believed for a second he would ever take the 5 months necessary to meticulously research the mining industry in Somalia and figure out how to successfully acquire that black opal. And if he is that kind of careful investor he wouldn’t just impulsively loan it out 10 minutes after it arrives! I also didn’t believe this manic reckless adrenaline junkie would ever have the presence of mind to schedule a prostate exam. His death was a forgone conclusion; the only question was how. If the Safdies wanted to really surprise us they should have given us a happy ending where all those plates remain safe due to sheer luck mixed with some previously unseen genius on Howard’s part. As for the relentless intensity, it was mostly without variation and thus felt monotonous, redundant and just noisy. Having said that, there's enough here (mostly Sandler's performance) that warrants 2.5 stars. I know there’s a barrage of critics who loved it; to each his own. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
crotchFeb 1, 2020
This is the opposite of a feel-good movie. Watch at your own risk. I have to give it props for being nerve-wrackingly exciting. I did not fiddle with my phone once, and that hasn’t happened in a very long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
estonismJan 12, 2020
Great Movie. Sandler is really essential to this film. No one can draw you into a character quite like he can. The chaotic atmosphere is essential to the character and his flaws. I don't like or do spoilers so I will say that it is a must-seeGreat Movie. Sandler is really essential to this film. No one can draw you into a character quite like he can. The chaotic atmosphere is essential to the character and his flaws. I don't like or do spoilers so I will say that it is a must-see movie that took quite a long time to make. It paid off. Indie feel with some real people featured in the movie. As always, please choose a good theater with a good respectable crowd to see any movie of substance. A good or great movie can be tarnished by a bad theater experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
thatpowerJan 31, 2020
It's very well-acted, well-written and gripping from the beginning till the end. The ending was especially crazy and actually quite depressing. Overall a very intense movie with little to no flaws. I'll give it an 8.7/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
BulgarianCriticFeb 20, 2021
This was an incredibly annoying movie to watch. Every scene had this non stop chatter that made it chaotic and very annoying to watch and listen to.Why do I keep wasting time with Adam Sandler Movies
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Bcap1415Jan 20, 2020
Enjoyed it. Does move at a frantic pace and never seems to slow down, but it works in the end. The music is annoying at times especially in the beginning when it felt like it was never going to end, and it can be loud, but again it works outEnjoyed it. Does move at a frantic pace and never seems to slow down, but it works in the end. The music is annoying at times especially in the beginning when it felt like it was never going to end, and it can be loud, but again it works out in the end Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Cska_aelFeb 2, 2020
This movie was bananas ,Adam Sandler should have gotten at least an Oscar nomination.I would have given 7 but for Julia Fox's fine ass I gave them a grade up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RayvsHalsFeb 2, 2020
I generally don't like this actor but after this performance I have completely changed my mind. Seriously good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SpoonyonJan 3, 2020
Excellent movie. Adam Sandler does a very good job embodying his character. The looming sense of the eventual collapse of Howard's shoddily built empire is fascinating to watch and you get unavoidably anxious watching it all come crashing down
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DeMantisJan 5, 2020
I can see how critics are raving about this movie, but it was too much of a nervous rush for me. It also makes me wonder about the critics' views these days, as they blasted Joker and loved this one... what is going on?
If you love a tense
I can see how critics are raving about this movie, but it was too much of a nervous rush for me. It also makes me wonder about the critics' views these days, as they blasted Joker and loved this one... what is going on?
If you love a tense thrill ride, then this is definitely the movie for you. Sandler plays his role incredibly well and the supporting cast is great too. But again - tense, sometimes dragging, but won't let you go.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
ravensdayOct 8, 2020
Very painful and unenjoyable to watch - couldnt make it to the end and stopped after watching maybe 75%. I don't need to watch an obvious trainwreck - maybe if there was some suspense and it started more positive I would be more attached toVery painful and unenjoyable to watch - couldnt make it to the end and stopped after watching maybe 75%. I don't need to watch an obvious trainwreck - maybe if there was some suspense and it started more positive I would be more attached to the character. But I'm not going to feel sorry for a POS. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
wjhbrookOct 9, 2020
I rarely take the trouble to post reviews here, but this film was SO BAD that I had to say so. Neither my wife nor me could see any redeeming value at all in the endlessly obnoxious, yelling of Sandler's hideous character. For the first timeI rarely take the trouble to post reviews here, but this film was SO BAD that I had to say so. Neither my wife nor me could see any redeeming value at all in the endlessly obnoxious, yelling of Sandler's hideous character. For the first time I can remember, we looked at each other about 60% through and agreed, "Enough of this garbage." Can't understand at all the praise for it. Not a single character was the slightest bit likable nor did the plot matter at all. So many good films to spend one's precious time with; this ain't one of them by any measure. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleDec 16, 2019
It's one of those films that you think about hours and days after you see it. Sandler always nails the dramatic roles (Punch Drunk Love, Spanglish), and he crushes this one. Thought Mike Francesa and KG did really nice jobs with their roles.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondDec 14, 2019
The Safdie Bros's movies are just like nothing else on the big screen. I loved Good Time, and I was anticipated this movie more than anything else this season. It delivers, with just minor drawbacks (which I can't go into - as they're plotThe Safdie Bros's movies are just like nothing else on the big screen. I loved Good Time, and I was anticipated this movie more than anything else this season. It delivers, with just minor drawbacks (which I can't go into - as they're plot spoilers). As someone who is obsessed with the NBA and the way that it interfaces with sports gambling, I'm, I guess you would say, the target audience. And Sandler is incredible, as I suspected he would be. Adel Dazeem is also really good in a smaller role. However, the big find in this film is Julia Fox as Howard's (Sandler's) girlfriend. She's the x-factor in this fun, fast-paced, and ultimately frenzied pic. If there were ever a reason to go see a film on the big screen - (screw all that comic book garbage) - this is it. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
sunburn74Jun 20, 2020
I thought this movie was trash. No likable characters. Chaotic plot with characters who deserve everything that comes to them. Takes 2 hours to really go anywhere and ends in a meaningless fashion. Honestly one of the worst movies I've everI thought this movie was trash. No likable characters. Chaotic plot with characters who deserve everything that comes to them. Takes 2 hours to really go anywhere and ends in a meaningless fashion. Honestly one of the worst movies I've ever seen and I wish I never spent the time or money. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
DukeCumberjackDec 27, 2019
It's a very good movie about a bunch of complete degenerates. If that doesn't sound appealing, this probably isn't for you.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
bmaster4616Dec 25, 2019
Might 5 be Sandler’s best performance with the greatness of punch drunk and the funny parts of Sandler, the role fits. It’s pretty cool film that always keeps you paying attention while it goes 1000 every minute
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
5
moviewagsJan 4, 2020
Adam Sandler plays his part well. While the chaotic lifestyle may be somewhat realistic it's too much to watch for two hours. Simple plot that just drags on.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
mgoldie12Dec 17, 2019
This movie is either Adam Sandler yelling **** at people, Adam Sandler being yelled **** at by people, or often both at the same time. And its awesome. Most fun movie of the year, I can watch this over and over again.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
rscountsDec 28, 2019
Very good movie with an excellent lead performance from Adam Sandler. Much has been said about the adrenaline pace and frenetic direction of the Sadfie Brothers. The movie lives up to those claims of it being a shot of adrenaline and makingVery good movie with an excellent lead performance from Adam Sandler. Much has been said about the adrenaline pace and frenetic direction of the Sadfie Brothers. The movie lives up to those claims of it being a shot of adrenaline and making you feel the anxiety of Sandler's character. I was hooked from the moment it started right up to the end. The movie reminded me at times of Silver Linings Playbook, specifically Robert De Niro's, superstitious gambler character in that movie. Uncut Gems has some hilarious moments where Kevin Garnett and Adam Sandler both get caught up in superstitions and Sandler's character is a gambling addict if there ever was one. The final act of the movie contains the all time crazy bet in movie history with more parlays than one can count. Strongly recommend this movie. For those who are thinking about seeing the movie but are not sure, should check out "Good Time" on Amazon Prime. That was the Sadfie's brothers last movie and contains a similar frenetic style. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
matthewmirlianiDec 13, 2019
Uncut Gems is a dizzying, chaotic, blurry ride of a film, but it’s worth navigating through the messiness for Sandler’s impressive and charismatic performance - and to watch him stumble in and out of trouble. The aesthetics, from the ominousUncut Gems is a dizzying, chaotic, blurry ride of a film, but it’s worth navigating through the messiness for Sandler’s impressive and charismatic performance - and to watch him stumble in and out of trouble. The aesthetics, from the ominous synth music to the stark, modern furniture of Sandler’s New York apartment, are particularly enjoyable and successfully establish a cold, slightly dystopian feel to the film. It’s an imperfect, but entertaining thriller which truly shines and satisfies the viewer in the final acts. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
carmineraApr 14, 2020
Ok, more than two hours spent watching a movie without content, story, message or whatever a decent movie is supposed to have. Good Adam Sandler but I would never recomend this movie to anyone.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
RoctosDec 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Howard is such a A-hole. And that is the point of the movie. The Safdie brothers made a tense drama about someone you would usually hate so much. The movie start literally during the main character colonoscopy (think it's somewhat saying that Ratner isn't a great human ;) ) After that, he goes back to the KMH Jewelry he own and Lakeith Stanfield's character appeared bringing him Kevin Garnett (who was very good in this movie) I won't say more, but Uncut Gems is a must see Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
KeithDowJan 2, 2020
We had incredibly high expectations for the Safdie Brothers' follow-up to 'Good Time.' Sadly, 'Uncut Gems' fell short of the mark.

There were simply too many implausibilities and peculiar character motivations for us to ever truly buy into
We had incredibly high expectations for the Safdie Brothers' follow-up to 'Good Time.' Sadly, 'Uncut Gems' fell short of the mark.

There were simply too many implausibilities and peculiar character motivations for us to ever truly buy into the story, which kept us emotionally disconnected from the picture.

Hopefully the Safdie Brothers can rebound next time around.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
JLuis_001Dec 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Adam Sandler's best performance? No. But it's indeed his best since Punch-Drunk Love, which continues to be the pinnacle of his talent.

While the film isn't the best talking about technique, it seems to me that its style is totally focused on making the experience an exhausting one. And Uncut Gems is an overwhelming journey full of anxiety. It achieved that splendidly.
That's its greatest accomplishment: To immerse you in the entire atmosphere of the environment that Sandler's character inhabits, while we witness the cascade of bad decisions he makes.

Perhaps the biggest mistake is how the directors get to over-lengthen the story, which indirectly gets to a point where Sandler's character becomes obnoxious but I think that's part of the experience, because who ever in their right mind would feel more sympathy for a person like him? I mean more than the allowed sympathy anyways.

Its ending, although predictable is certainly what he built and there's no learning in it and it doesn't need to be.
After all the story was his decline while he believed that he was going to succeed. And yes for a moment he did and for a moment he savored it, but as happens many times in life, good things aren't made to last.

Another triumph for A24.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
sjack12Mar 17, 2020
Ignore all the normies and plebs that are regular Sandler fans who only watched this film because he was in it. If you're dullard that's attracted to normie things like a likeable protagonist and a conventionally shot and paced film, thenIgnore all the normies and plebs that are regular Sandler fans who only watched this film because he was in it. If you're dullard that's attracted to normie things like a likeable protagonist and a conventionally shot and paced film, then this isn't for you. But if you're interested in watching one of the best and most intense films of the year then Uncut Gems is a 100% must watch from the Safdie Bros. I won't go into further details rather just recommend go in blind and with an open mind. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
andrewtedyDec 27, 2019
This is One of the best movies of The year. Sandler Has a career defining performance. The supporting cast is also stellar too. The Safdies did it again. There would be some issue on How loud and Anxiety inducing it is. So my suggestion isThis is One of the best movies of The year. Sandler Has a career defining performance. The supporting cast is also stellar too. The Safdies did it again. There would be some issue on How loud and Anxiety inducing it is. So my suggestion is you could rather be prepared or don't go watch since this isn't your cup of tea cause this movie is bananas from start to finish. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
orosznyetMay 31, 2020
I physically feel sick after this movie. The absurd amount of yelling, unpleasant characters, and the "talking over each other" mentality was so bad that I felt like I was watching multiple garbage movies simultaneously. Usually, when I don'tI physically feel sick after this movie. The absurd amount of yelling, unpleasant characters, and the "talking over each other" mentality was so bad that I felt like I was watching multiple garbage movies simultaneously. Usually, when I don't like a movie I tend to believe that I'm missing something but this time it felt like there is no redeeming explanation.

The worst is that it gets worse and worse with every single scene. And it's not about the pacing, the story (which was pretty thin) or the performance of Adam Sandlers but rather the overall picture. I'm fine with the music but sometimes it goes from the average okay to pretty bad.

I rarely regret spending time on movies (even if it's bad) but this was so utterly annoying and anxiety-inducing (not in a good way) that I wish I've never trusted the score of this movie.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
Falling_ManDec 13, 2019
This film was an endless anxiety attack simulation, and I loved every minute of it. The Safdie Brothers pull an amazing performance out of Adam Sandler, a character whose every action ignites events which just get more chaotic and stressful.This film was an endless anxiety attack simulation, and I loved every minute of it. The Safdie Brothers pull an amazing performance out of Adam Sandler, a character whose every action ignites events which just get more chaotic and stressful. He's a gambling addict in a world of trouble: His debtors are on his tale twenty four hours, his family life is falling apart, and so is his affair. Almost immediately it sets the tone with characters constantly shouting over each other, and the stakes are set from the start. From that point on, the stakes only continue to rise, and during the moments it stops to breathe, the tension increases due to the positions that the protagonist is put in. I saw this three months ago, and I still haven't fully recovered from the roller coaster ride. I look forward to watching it again, and to seeing what the Safdie Brothers bring us next. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 28, 2020
Adam Sandler finally has a movie to compete with Punch-Drunk Love. This is essentially the story of one man's self-destructive downward spiral. Our lead starts things off in an already bad position and the situation only gets worse for himAdam Sandler finally has a movie to compete with Punch-Drunk Love. This is essentially the story of one man's self-destructive downward spiral. Our lead starts things off in an already bad position and the situation only gets worse for him from there. At first you think he's just an unlucky idiot, but as the film progresses you realize that he's making these bad decisions on purpose and intentionally digging himself into a deeper hole. All because he believes that if he just keeps on digging he'll eventually break through to the other side and come out on top with the ultimate win. The man has a genuine sickness.

Yet, despite all of this he's actually kind of likable. Maybe it's just because of Sandler, but even at his loudest and most obnoxious (there's a lot of yelling in this) I couldn't help but root for the guy. I wanted to see him succeed and find a way out of this mess. Which is what made it so compelling to keep watching in spite of all the frustration that arose from seeing the character acquire a means of walking away and refusing to use it.

Of course it also helps that it's stylish as heck. With its synth-soundtrack and occasionally psychedelic 35mm visuals, this a treat for both the eyes and the ears. It kind of reminds me of Nightcrawler in that everything looks grainy, yet gorgeous like a sleazy '80s flick. The whole thing feels so much grittier because of it.

What's crazy is that this does so many of the same things we criticize some of the most notoriously bad movies for, like having needless subplots that don't go anywhere. For example the film opens with Sandler getting a colonoscopy. Presumably so that at some point it can be revealed he has cancer on top of everything else going on. But when the doctor does finally call him with the results around an hour or so later into the running-time he tells him that everything's fine and it's never brought up again. What was the point of that? We also learn that the protagonist owes money to a second dude that he tries to pay off with a fake Rolex. The guy shows up again in a few other scenes to get some form of actual payment, but he just gets ignored and I'm left wondering why he's even in this at all.

However, where that sort of thing doesn't work in other movies, here it does. That's because the Safdie brothers are just that talented as directors. The way the danger builds to an unforgettable finale where what would normally be a tension free event becomes a teeth-clenching, seat-gripping nightmare of anticipation makes Uncut Gems darn near a masterpiece. To the point where after having just finished it I immediately thought about watching it again.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
JoeCoolMar 27, 2020
We had high expectations for a 90% metacritic rating, unfortunately 'Uncut Gems' fell short of the mark.

Great performance by Sandler but there were too many implausible choices to really buy into the story, which keeps you from emotionally
We had high expectations for a 90% metacritic rating, unfortunately 'Uncut Gems' fell short of the mark.

Great performance by Sandler but there were too many implausible choices to really buy into the story, which keeps you from emotionally connecting to the characters.

The soundtrack is annoying to keep on listening to. I can't say I had a good time watching this.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
mrmonsterJun 14, 2020
2019's most overrated movie by far. It's not even stressful or anxiety-inducing as much as it is just boring.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
NightReviewsFeb 27, 2020
Uncut Gems, a modern-day Roman Tragedy, situated in the fluorescent back rooms and the front showrooms of New York City’s shopping underbelly, is the latest film from the Safdie Brothers. If you have no idea who the Safdie brothers are, theyUncut Gems, a modern-day Roman Tragedy, situated in the fluorescent back rooms and the front showrooms of New York City’s shopping underbelly, is the latest film from the Safdie Brothers. If you have no idea who the Safdie brothers are, they are two (actual) brothers who gained profuse acclaim after shocking audiences with the 2017 crime-drama Good Time starring Robert Pattinson. Not only can Pattinson thank the Safdie’s for landing the coveted role of Bruce Wayne with the film, as well as allowing that film to shed his Edward Cullen/Twilight teen image, but the film was also an obtrusive reminder to the world that these brothers are not playing around when it comes to neon lit storytelling. Their documentary style type filmmaking along with their abrasive, headache induing filming style allows for their low-budget pictures to glisten, no matter how bad their VFX may be. The Safdie’s are a clear and present reminder that, with the right story, passion is always reflective. With their latest film, Uncut Gems, its not secret, and reflects here. Uncut Gems stars Adam Sandler as Howard Ratner, a down-on-his luck, gambling addicted, cheating, lying, manipulative NYC jeweller who, if we’ve ever seen it in cinema, has a degree in **** Although the “gift-of-the-gab” definition may not particularly suit Howard, since everyone, all the time, knows he is always talking out of his ass, Sandler convinces himself and audiences that no one else could have pulled off this role, other than him. Abrasive, in your face, annoying and relentless, Sandler’s performance may very well be, a staple New York City character for decades to come.

Yet, while Sandler may very well grace every single shot and scene in the film, the Safdie brothers are still sure and able to allow the film to evolve into what it really is, and thats an announcement. A proclamation of presence and a big shout out to the world of cinema, Uncut Gems is a film to solidify that the Safdie brothers are here, and they are here to stay. Uncut Gems isn’t only a film, its an experience. Much like the first time you do cocaine, this film is the epitome of cocaine, caviar, K’vatsh and Grand Theft Auto printed onto celluloid. An unapologetic adrenaline shot to the senses.

What initially drew me in about this film was sonically, how unique it sounded, narratively speaking, without knowing how loud and it is aesthetically as well. The main theme which is a series of hard hitting, resonating synths overlapped with fluorescent ambience is immediately engrained into your memory. Daniel Lopatin takes a gritty in your face film, and scores each scene with electronic chaos yet equal grace. Not only does his score tighten and heightens the cinematic movie experience, but it also broadens its effect on the senses by creating soundscapes that are transcendent, it’s as if the soundtrack was created by the sounds of slot machines, casino betting, and the whaling of a screeching auctioneer in your ear at all times. The sounds of Uncut Gems are as dreamy as a nightmare could be. Drowning souls lost for the pursuit of money as if they are trapped in the notes that belt and vibrate across the screen, Uncut Gems is a documentary style take on Wayne Kramer’s hyper-violent Running Scared, but instead of opting for violence and gore, the film uses dialogue as its weapon.

While the narrative of Uncut Gems could be argued to expose the very simple story of just, the pursuit of money, the picture dives deep into social and economic commentary of capitalism and corporate greed as well. On the surface level, perhaps because of the value it holds in our society, the overall tone and theme of the film carries a type of mysticism behind it. Idolized and mythologized since its creation, the pursuit of wealth to bring happiness is an age-old cautionary tale that consistently makes fools out of many who chase it, including our protagonist Howard Ratner.

Set in 2012 within the deep diamond district of New York, Sandler’s characters faults become clear early on. His inability to being a family man adds to his persona. Ratner’s addicted ultimately fuels the narrative of the film as well as the desires of all the characters around him, leading to a very flawed and uncut portrait of a man as well as society as a whole.

Set at a breakneck pace, tonally ambitious and hyper-realized, the film feels so real at times, that it comes across as mega-fiction. Like a rapper on a mic, free-styling during a rap battle, the actors follow a script that was in development for almost a decade, yet sling-shot lines and emotions to one another, like they have been doing it their whole lives. Thanks to caliber actors like Lakeith Stanfield, Julia Fox, Idina Menzel, Judd Hirsch, and surprisingly enough, retired NBA player Kevin Garnett, Uncut Gems is a masterclass of coherent gibberish.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKDec 30, 2019
An engrossing film about a New York Jewish dealer in precious stones who is essentially a gambler trying to make a big score. Adam Sandler is very convincing in the lead role and has an excellent supporting cast. The movie is a hectic andAn engrossing film about a New York Jewish dealer in precious stones who is essentially a gambler trying to make a big score. Adam Sandler is very convincing in the lead role and has an excellent supporting cast. The movie is a hectic and suspenseful character drama, and it held my interest with a strong combination of acting, script, and direction. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingFeb 7, 2020
"Uncut Gems" is an entrancing, psychedelic, and fervent crime thriller that delivers on all fronts, most notably its stellar directing, acting, and cinematography.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
yusepFeb 16, 2020
Wtf I have just watched....?!?!?
Wtf I have just watched....?!?!?
Wtf I have just watched....?!?!?
Wtf I have just watched....?!?!?
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
mac5Jul 13, 2020
Like most of the negative reviews, I found it irritating with the pacing, music, shouting, arguing and the OTT profanity. It felt like a rollercoaster of constant noise that is painful and you just can’t wait for it to end. It was truly andLike most of the negative reviews, I found it irritating with the pacing, music, shouting, arguing and the OTT profanity. It felt like a rollercoaster of constant noise that is painful and you just can’t wait for it to end. It was truly and utterly awful. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Rebecca31Jan 13, 2020
Hold onto your hats ladies and gentlemen because I’m about to give an Adam Sandler film a positive review. I don’t believe this has ever happened before and it may never happen again but here it is, an historic moment indeed. If you haven’tHold onto your hats ladies and gentlemen because I’m about to give an Adam Sandler film a positive review. I don’t believe this has ever happened before and it may never happen again but here it is, an historic moment indeed. If you haven’t heard of Uncut Gems until now, where have you been hiding? It’s an exhilarating thrill ride you won’t want to miss.

The Safdie brothers are two wonderful directors and writers who know what it takes to make a great crime movie. Uncut Gems is perhaps the most stress inducing film you’ll see in years with a role so clearly written for Adam Sandler and he’s absolutely perfect for the part. A charismatic New York City jeweler, Howard Ratner (Adam Sandler) with a serious gambling addiction is in the process of making a series of incredibly high-stakes bets that could lead to the win of a lifetime. Uncut Gems took a little while to win me over, it starts frantically with so many characters all talking over each other, I was struggling to hear anything that was happening. Yet, once the set up is out of the way and the plot gets going it just doesn’t stop. Good Time is one of those crime movies where one thing going horribly wrong and is quickly following by a whole stream of equally horrible events where absolutely everything that can go wrong will go wrong. Uncut Gems follows a similar formula only it’s even more frantic and will send your stress levels soaring. Sandler’s character is so infuriating and unlikable and to see him get himself into constant situations with everything becoming worse and worse is insanely frustrating. Immersive cinema at its best, it grips you and doesn’t let go until it’s over. A tense comedy crime thriller you can see in cinemas on limited release or for all you Netflix addicts it’s out at the end of the month. Recommended.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MnoZombieFeb 26, 2020
Thrilling experience ! Does't allow you to have even a second of breath, most exciting and uncomfortable film with a deep demonstration of the selfish human behavior and greediness I've ever seen
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
FelipeVitalFeb 15, 2020
This is one of those films which you can only truly have the full experience once time. If you are hypertensive, be warned. Caution!

This is one of the most tense films made in times, you'll have to take some pills to control your blood
This is one of those films which you can only truly have the full experience once time. If you are hypertensive, be warned. Caution!

This is one of the most tense films made in times, you'll have to take some pills to control your blood pressure in the end.

Adam Sandler in one of his best works, was simply not nominated for an Oscar because they would not like to eat one's word, when many of them said that Sandler was a waste of time.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
abm0May 19, 2020
I heard someone describe this as thrilling or a non-stop rush or something like that, so I gave it a shot as something to watch with a bag of chips. It's BS. It's suffering through 2 hours of Sandler talking like he's got pebbles in hisI heard someone describe this as thrilling or a non-stop rush or something like that, so I gave it a shot as something to watch with a bag of chips. It's BS. It's suffering through 2 hours of Sandler talking like he's got pebbles in his mouth, in a long unintelligible sequence of people yelling and talking over eachother.

All it worked well for was getting me through my bag of chips. When that ended, the movie had to be stopped immediately, and I was only halfway through. Had to move on to something not-stupid ASAP.

Don't waste your time on this one.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Feb 9, 2020
Adam Sandler is back, like the prodigal son. The crime drama story about how a priceless stone becomes the doom of a jeweler, maybe it's a little slow but absorbing. The climax is nail-biting and the final act, a punch in the face. Shall not miss it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
mixoticFeb 7, 2020
This is an intense trip, and totally worth the ride. It's nerve wracking, and hard to watch at many points, but for me it was an experience worth enduring. Beware though, your mileage may vary.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
hardcorekiddFeb 13, 2020
A charismatic jeweler makes a high-stakes bet that could lead to the windfall of a lifetime. In a precarious high-wire act, he must balance business, family and adversaries on all sides in pursuit of the ultimate win. Uncut Gems reaffirms theA charismatic jeweler makes a high-stakes bet that could lead to the windfall of a lifetime. In a precarious high-wire act, he must balance business, family and adversaries on all sides in pursuit of the ultimate win. Uncut Gems reaffirms the Safdies as masters of anxiety-inducing cinema -- and proves Adam Sandler remains a formidable dramatic actor when given the right material. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
HolyActionFeb 2, 2020
Georgeus! Definitely this is a master piece. Exciting, thrilling and adrenaline, this is uncut gems from start to finis,best performance of Adam Sandler 11/10
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Morty_McFlayJan 8, 2020
I could’ve used a scene with good one-on-one dialogue instead of people shouting over each other, and I wasn’t really feeling any significant emotions until the end. But this is a very well directed, anxiety-inducing film with a greatI could’ve used a scene with good one-on-one dialogue instead of people shouting over each other, and I wasn’t really feeling any significant emotions until the end. But this is a very well directed, anxiety-inducing film with a great performance from Adam Sandler. The ending is phenomenal, shocking and entirely fitting. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
PalpetineSheevMar 20, 2020
An anxiety attack of a film. Heart pounding throughout. Adam Sandler gives the performance of a lifetime.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Bertaut1Jan 24, 2020
Watching a guy screw up for two frantic hours may not sound very compelling, but this is a fine piece of work

Written by Ronald Bronstein, Josh Safdie, and Benny Safdie, and directed by the Safdies, Uncut Gems is two hours and fifteen
Watching a guy screw up for two frantic hours may not sound very compelling, but this is a fine piece of work

Written by Ronald Bronstein, Josh Safdie, and Benny Safdie, and directed by the Safdies, Uncut Gems is two hours and fifteen minutes of watching a guy screw up in increasingly spectacular and catastrophic ways. It's a film where you're on edge from the first act. It's a film that never stops moving at the chaotic breakneck speed with which it begins. It has also been made with such craft, the mise en scène is so good, the dialogue so sharp, and the acting so intense, that you may as well be watching a fly-on-the-wall documentary. It's a film made of pure sweat and anxiety, and I'd highly recommend it.

New York, 2012. Howard Ratner (Adam Sandler) is a jeweller who lives his life on the principle of robbing Peter to pay Paul. A serious gambling addict, soon after we meet him, it's revealed he's currently in debt to his loan-shark brother-in-law Arno (Eric Bogosian) to the tune of $100,000. Meanwhile, when his store is visited by Boston Celtics' basketballer Kevin Garnett (a surprisingly strong performance by Garnett himself), Howard reveals that he has smuggled an ultra-rare black opal of extraordinary translucence into the country for an auction the following day, where he expects it will sell for up to $1 million. However, when Garnett sees it, he insists he is allowed to have it as a lucky charm, just for the match he's playing that night. Howard is reluctant but agrees to part with it when Garnett offers to leave his All-Star ring as collateral. And, predictably, things quickly go awry.

Howard is a delusional and doomed figure who genuinely believes that his big score is right around the next corner, a fantasist who's utterly divorced from reality, a man who believes completely that if people would get out of his way and let him turn that fabled corner, all of his worries will disappear. It's the gambling addict's fallacy – no matter how much or how often you lose, the next bet will be the big winner. In this sense, the film is an astute study of addiction, although this theme is never foregrounded. Howard is hopelessly consumed by his addiction (although never once does he give the impression that he wants to stop gambling). And this is why delusion is such a major component in his psychological make-up – addiction and delusion form an ever-tightening feedback loop that becomes more difficult from which to escape, the more self-sustaining it becomes.

In terms of aesthetics, it's worth noting that two of the three writers (Bronstein and Benny Safdie) are also credited as the editors, and this is crucial insofar as the frenetic pace of the narrative is ingrained into the script – this is a film written by people with one eye on the editing rhythms. The first scenes in New York, for example, immediately establish the chaotic energy – dialogue overlapping almost unintelligibly as multiple characters interact and talk over one another, at least three things always happening. The opening scenes establish the pace as blistering, and that never really changes. The score, by Oneohtrix Point Never, is also excellent. Obviously inspired by Tangerine Dream's electronic scores for Michael Mann's early films, most notably Thief (1981), it's a crucial element of the film, adding to the overlapping cacophony of sound and enhancing the general sense of twitchy chaos.

As for the acting, everything you've heard about Sandler is true; he's incredible. Sure, he's playing the same kind of volatile delusional loser that he's played in a million-and-one subpar comedies. But it's the tone of the performance, the key in which he plays Howard that makes it stand out; the inherent tragedy of the man, his self-delusion, his seemingly unquenchable optimism – Sandler draws these elements out every second he's on-screen. Elsewhere, Bogosian is his usual stoically intimidating self; as Howard's wife Dinah, who has grown to loathe her husband, Idina Menzel manages some of the most withering looks ever captured on film; and as his naive but sweet mistress Julia, debutant Julia Fox imbues what could have been a clichéd bimbo role with real emotional nuance.

As for problems, the pace of the film will certainly put some people off. There are no down-moments here, no scenes designed to let the audience breath. Partly because of this, the tone never really varies. There are some comic beats (Howard getting dumped naked into a car trunk during his daughter's school play is particularly funny), but by and large, the tone is dark, ominous, and exhausting. And there will, of course, be people who just can't get past the presence of Adam Sandler, which I can understand. Personally though, I loved Uncut Gems. It's certainly not the subtlest of films, nor the most thematically complex, but as character studies go, this is exceptionally good work from everyone involved and a genuinely unique piece of cinema.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
Ubik08Feb 2, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'd give Uncut Gems a 7or 8 for acting. However the plot and storyline 5 or 6. The story is rather hackneyed and the pacing of the final scenes left me rather unsatisfied. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
SkinnytubApr 4, 2020
Another amazing movie by A24! Kevin Garnett and The Weeknd were great in their roles and even Adam Sandler had an amazing performance. 10/10 Must Watch and its on Netflix.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Edco0328Feb 3, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That final 20 minutes had me feeling like i had placed the bet on the celtics. Everytime KG scored i cheered.

Masterclass film-making right there.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
gabriantMar 4, 2020
Breathtaking. It's anxiety as a movie. One of the best roles of Adam Sandler. It's a must watch.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
loremApr 1, 2020
A bizarre and atypical movie that makes you feel uncomfortable in a good way, having probably the best performance of Adam Sandler so far.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
LatinCritic13Dec 15, 2019
Executively produced by Martin Scorsese with Joker's Emma Tillinger Koskoff and directed by The Safdie Bros, Uncut Gems is a genuine bloody good time seeing Adam Sandler giving his very best performance since PTA's Punch Drunk Love. I ain'tExecutively produced by Martin Scorsese with Joker's Emma Tillinger Koskoff and directed by The Safdie Bros, Uncut Gems is a genuine bloody good time seeing Adam Sandler giving his very best performance since PTA's Punch Drunk Love. I ain't gonna trip just yet, but Adam Sandler needs to get an Oscar nomination for this film ASAP. Or not, he's gonna do Jack and Jill 2 if that happens. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
5
Kreig415Dec 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wanted to like this movie. I really did. But I came out feeling a bit ill. The frenetic trailer proved a proper foreshadowing: it was like they extended the same pacing over the entire film. As a result it becomes hard to get to know or even like any of the characters and there was a resultant stock quality to many of them, with no real tension between them provided by the story. It skates too cleanly over the main character's gambling addiction and Kevin Garnett's role is almost inscrutable as a character goes; we end up with stereotypes. The tension which exists is generated in the hyperactive cinematography and editing and it leaves you feeling more and more like the end of the film couldn't come too soon... but when it does its nonsensical... it "wraps things up" but very unsatisfyingly. There's just not much of a payoff for your 2 1/2 hours. In sum, I'd sit this one out and wait till it's available to stream. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
artardmosheaMar 30, 2020
Crappy people being crappy.

Depressing movie.

So many unbelievable events, that it really took me out of the movie; I absolutely refuse to believe anyone so dumb could achieve any level of success or even live past 30.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
eldarkoFeb 9, 2020
No puedo creer lo que los directores y Adam Sandler han logrado con esta "joya" , todo el respeto y admiración para esta obra de arte fílmica se va de 10.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
TubotuvoFeb 11, 2020
Amazing, Adam Sandler drag you in his world and don't let you go out. Hoping for more "drama" Adam, thanks to give us this experience.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
Temujin1206Dec 13, 2019
Had high expectations but ultimately walked out slightly disappointed.

Great performance by Sandler and there were some brilliant moments but overall it’s a schizophrenic, overly intense, poorly paced feature with a character that is hard to
Had high expectations but ultimately walked out slightly disappointed.

Great performance by Sandler and there were some brilliant moments but overall it’s a schizophrenic, overly intense, poorly paced feature with a character that is hard to cheer for. I couldn’t stand the soundtrack, yes, it was deliberately aggressive to convey the hyper state of mind of Sandler’s anxious character, and yet I found it too over the top, exhausting to listen to by the end. I probably had too high expectations after Good Time.
Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
2
KiwiJamesApr 10, 2020
A lot of obnoxious characters all shouting at each other for 2 hours does not make a good movie.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
0
Jgo77Mar 23, 2020
This movie was garbage, plain and simple. I have no idea why its being rated so high by critics. The movie is 80% yelling and 90% people talking over each other, unnecessary amount of swearing too. On top of it all there's no real plotThis movie was garbage, plain and simple. I have no idea why its being rated so high by critics. The movie is 80% yelling and 90% people talking over each other, unnecessary amount of swearing too. On top of it all there's no real plot here, and none of the characters are even slightly likeable. Don't recommend, also was about 30 minutes longer than it needed to be, several unnecessary scenes that padded the run time... Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
MoutamineFeb 7, 2020
The worst 2 hours of my life. I feel like my ears have been raped. Its unbelievably annoying from start to finish to have all the damn characters speak at the same time on top of each other. Sandler is yelling the whole time. The hype isThe worst 2 hours of my life. I feel like my ears have been raped. Its unbelievably annoying from start to finish to have all the damn characters speak at the same time on top of each other. Sandler is yelling the whole time. The hype is completely unjustified. This is complete garbage. Expand
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
1
genuinerealistDec 24, 2019
Don't let the critical lemmings fool you. This is a BAD movie. It has one of the worst soundtracks I have ever heard. Voiceovers were a hallmark of Robert Altman - but this is nothing BUT voiceovers. There isn't a single likeable character,Don't let the critical lemmings fool you. This is a BAD movie. It has one of the worst soundtracks I have ever heard. Voiceovers were a hallmark of Robert Altman - but this is nothing BUT voiceovers. There isn't a single likeable character, or a single positive moment. There are no jokes, or wit, or lightness. The movie is all noise and motion, and devoid of life. Expand
12 of 24 users found this helpful1212
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Apr 18, 2020
Let there be no more doubt that Adam Sandler is in fact a quality actor who's way too underrated and wasted in the usual garbage he appears in. I knew after seeing him in Punch Drunk Love he was very talented and he's just incredible in this.Let there be no more doubt that Adam Sandler is in fact a quality actor who's way too underrated and wasted in the usual garbage he appears in. I knew after seeing him in Punch Drunk Love he was very talented and he's just incredible in this. For me this is a tragic tale of how worldly greed and obsession with beauty can ultimately lead to unhappiness. Sandler's Mistress in the movie is the same as the gem he's obsessed with, dangerous and unobtainable. He's a man that has everything but still wants more. He's a man that lusts after excitement and novelty and disregards what he always has. By the end of the film the message is clear. Don't! Everything about this film is perfect. The music, the acting, the pacing. There's so much going on underneath the surface too thematically. I'm still finding hidden meaning in it. A masterpiece Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeApr 14, 2020
WOW!! Rollercoaster ride. Adam Sandler's performance is fantastic. LOVED the movie.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
FreddieTFeb 16, 2020
This film is a must see masterpiece, a stunning performance from Sandler which makes you wanna throw all his other films (*cough cough Grown Ups*). It may seem boring at the start but that is normal, be patient because the ending of thisThis film is a must see masterpiece, a stunning performance from Sandler which makes you wanna throw all his other films (*cough cough Grown Ups*). It may seem boring at the start but that is normal, be patient because the ending of this adrenaline filled panic attack inducing thrill ride will leave you stunned and will stay with you for the rest of your life Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
donelsonFeb 3, 2020
Well. Such high praise from so many people I know and respect. And the production, directing and acting were quite incredible.

However, I found the script to be claustrophobic and unthinking, perhaps what the producers wanted. I found
Well. Such high praise from so many people I know and respect. And the production, directing and acting were quite incredible.

However, I found the script to be claustrophobic and unthinking, perhaps what the producers wanted. I found Sandler's character to be so intensely unlikeable, it was hard to see the movie as a whole. Yes, I was aware the entire movie how well-produced it was, how committed the actors were, especially Sandler. How difficult the cross dialogue and action was. It's a major achievement in those respects.

And, sadly, there were places in the movie that I was just plain bored. I even began to look at my iPhone messages, etc. Not good.

Sandler pulled off quite an incredible and difficult performance, Oscar-worthy, but yesterday I saw A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood, and in spite of disliking Tom Hanks for many years, I was astonished by the nuances of his performance, so I will be rooting for him as best actor, rather than Sandler. Sorry, Adam.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
RelaxedmikeFeb 5, 2020
I liked the movie. Its not a best movie of the year though. Sandler displayed more acting range than we have seen him before. The movie though is one big anxiety/panic attack trip. I mean you almost felt like the main character, SandlerI liked the movie. Its not a best movie of the year though. Sandler displayed more acting range than we have seen him before. The movie though is one big anxiety/panic attack trip. I mean you almost felt like the main character, Sandler deserved what he got at the end. Scheming. lying, cheating, a mon-stop ball of lets make a deal. I gave it an 8 rating. Better than quite a few I've seen during 2019. characters in real life played here usually get what they got comin..A horrible death. Jolly good Show. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksApr 18, 2020
Uncut Gems is a stressful film to watch. The first 90 minutes are literally the characters screaming or attacking each other, though I will say it was successful in what it was trying to achieve and Adam Sandler is quite good as Howard, theUncut Gems is a stressful film to watch. The first 90 minutes are literally the characters screaming or attacking each other, though I will say it was successful in what it was trying to achieve and Adam Sandler is quite good as Howard, the gambling addict/jewelry store owner. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MARIOMORAJan 22, 2020
Georgeus! Definitely this is a master piece. Exciting, thrilling and adrenaline, this is uncut gems from start to finish
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
xXClutchDutchXxMar 31, 2020
High praise! You can really sense the addiction that the character feels by the end of it where you being rooting yourself. It really is a heart pumping adrenal rush. If the director is trying to portray to you what it feels like to be aHigh praise! You can really sense the addiction that the character feels by the end of it where you being rooting yourself. It really is a heart pumping adrenal rush. If the director is trying to portray to you what it feels like to be a gambling addict then he nailed it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews