A24 | Release Date: December 13, 2019
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 188 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
23
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MarcDoyleDec 16, 2019
It's one of those films that you think about hours and days after you see it. Sandler always nails the dramatic roles (Punch Drunk Love, Spanglish), and he crushes this one. Thought Mike Francesa and KG did really nice jobs with their roles.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
DukeCumberjackDec 27, 2019
It's a very good movie about a bunch of complete degenerates. If that doesn't sound appealing, this probably isn't for you.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
bmaster4616Dec 25, 2019
Might 5 be Sandler’s best performance with the greatness of punch drunk and the funny parts of Sandler, the role fits. It’s pretty cool film that always keeps you paying attention while it goes 1000 every minute
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
SWEEPtheLEG175Dec 28, 2019
Acting across the board is 10/10. The Directors did a great job showing the human emotion with betting on sports. It's funny, tragic, and exciting. One of my favorite films in 2019.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AuGeR96Jan 1, 2020
The movie is fantastic due to its unique style. There is no introduction of the characters and it feels like you are actually watching a real-life scenario. You get to learn about each character as the movie goes on and understand what isThe movie is fantastic due to its unique style. There is no introduction of the characters and it feels like you are actually watching a real-life scenario. You get to learn about each character as the movie goes on and understand what is really happening as it starts off extremely fast and never slows down. It feels like you are always watching the climax. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
bcunningDec 29, 2019
This movie owns. It’s so intense and immersive and thrilling. I loved it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
matthewmirlianiDec 13, 2019
Uncut Gems is a dizzying, chaotic, blurry ride of a film, but it’s worth navigating through the messiness for Sandler’s impressive and charismatic performance - and to watch him stumble in and out of trouble. The aesthetics, from the ominousUncut Gems is a dizzying, chaotic, blurry ride of a film, but it’s worth navigating through the messiness for Sandler’s impressive and charismatic performance - and to watch him stumble in and out of trouble. The aesthetics, from the ominous synth music to the stark, modern furniture of Sandler’s New York apartment, are particularly enjoyable and successfully establish a cold, slightly dystopian feel to the film. It’s an imperfect, but entertaining thriller which truly shines and satisfies the viewer in the final acts. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Dec 24, 2019
HOLY (insert expletive here!!!!) This has got to be the most anxiety-inducing film I've seen in a LONG time! In this film, Adam Sandler plays a charismatic New York jeweler, who finds himself in over his head with several gambling debts heHOLY (insert expletive here!!!!) This has got to be the most anxiety-inducing film I've seen in a LONG time! In this film, Adam Sandler plays a charismatic New York jeweler, who finds himself in over his head with several gambling debts he owes to various loan sharks and criminals throughout the city. In order to pay his debts, he must resort to desperate measures, such as pawning or selling various valuables, including a beautiful opal stone, and even betting thousands of dollars on Kevin Garnett in Celtics games. Sandler definitely plays against type in this film, ditching his silly comedy and slapstick humor he's become so associated with (for better or worse.) However, some of his humor and style does squeak in a little here and there, but it takes on a whole new meaning in a more dramatic and tense context, which this film carries in spades! He's never been better and finds a great balance for his character, cheeky and carefree at times, but also no-nonsense in others. Other familiar faces include Idina Menzel as his wife, and Celtics player Kevin Garnett as himself. Storywise, it kept me thoroughly anxious for nearly the whole time, as I constantly kept wondering how he'd be able to get himself out of various situations throughout the film. The pace gradually picks up speed, and my feelings of nervousness and anticipation only increased as the film progressed, while the film's final five minutes or so literally making my jaw drop! Overall, it's dazzling, tense, and doesn't let up until the very end! And what's more, it's undoubtedly a surprising and impressive change of pace and showcase for Sandler, who truly delivers an unforgettable career-best performance! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
CinemaCrushDec 18, 2019
The Safdie brothers nailed it. You've got high intensity, quick claustrophobic cuts that really bring out the dire situations of Howard (Sandler), who will most justly and most likely pick up some best actor noms as well as some winsThe Safdie brothers nailed it. You've got high intensity, quick claustrophobic cuts that really bring out the dire situations of Howard (Sandler), who will most justly and most likely pick up some best actor noms as well as some wins elsewhere, and I'd not be surprised to see the screenplay up for awards. Certainly deserving. This film knocks on many doors. Not just gambling and gems. There's worldly social commentary, a little bit of Jewish history and modern culture.// You're a fly on the wall to the method of Howards madness, and no matter how tumultuous, you'll never want to get off his ride, even when you know he's wrong. Sandler sold it solid, with a great a surprising ensemble cast paving the way for him to shine. I see a little later-Lumet in this film, and some sprinkling of David O Russell. But inspirations aside, this film does anything but rip on it, but rather creates a new 21 century film, through unique editing, cuts keep the story always cresting, and one more time, Sandler kills. Knocks em dead. I give it a solid 8/10. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ThatFilmGuy20Dec 28, 2019
Uncut Gems is beautiful chaos, stress-inducing, anxiety triggering manic chaos, I'm still catching my breath from watching it, there isn't one dull second in this film, it's fast-paced storytelling with endless charm and authenticity. Let'sUncut Gems is beautiful chaos, stress-inducing, anxiety triggering manic chaos, I'm still catching my breath from watching it, there isn't one dull second in this film, it's fast-paced storytelling with endless charm and authenticity. Let's talk about the essence of this film, Adam Sandler materializes Howard Ratner with all his baggage, the bad and the good, he embodies this character and brings it to life, I'm really tempted to call this his best work to date, it's a big claim but it deserves it, "Punch Drunk Love" was something else but this is just breathtaking, honestly, it just wows.
The Safdies brothers really went for it with "Uncut Gems", their acid-infused filmmaking is on full display yet again, they shaped the narrative near damn flawlessly and gave Sandler a fantastic story to work with. A power trip that will play with your primal senses, that's the best way to describe it, absolutely great.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MovieRiffingDec 29, 2019
The Safdie Brothers and Adam Sandler never relent in Uncut Gems. One scene after another, they continue to nurture and grow the building anxiety in the air. As Sandler's character continues to spiral downward in a pit of his own creation, youThe Safdie Brothers and Adam Sandler never relent in Uncut Gems. One scene after another, they continue to nurture and grow the building anxiety in the air. As Sandler's character continues to spiral downward in a pit of his own creation, you cannot help but watch and cheer him on to dig deeper. As the final scene concludes it leaves a sense of exhaustion in its wake, but it is not long before that exhaustion is replaced by a hunger for more. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
bradley9544Dec 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i’m literally here to clear the air for some of y’all. most reviews i’m seeing are from people that don’t understand the premise of the whole movie. They complain about it being too anxiety ridden and the ending to be unsatisfactory. In reality, the purpose of the movie is to make you hate Adam Sandler and to play with the emotion of greed and how that can ultimately get you killed (as he does). everything happened to illustrate that point. His addiction to gambling getting in the way, him getting **** over at the auction was all a way of setting up the inevitable ending and the greed he has for something that has consumed him and his reality. That’s why at the end the bullet hole is zoomed in on and we see all
of the sparkling colors. This shot was completely ripped from the beginning scene to further drive that point across. The Gem is HIM he can’t think of anything else. As far as the writing and cinematography is concerned that is perfection in my eyes. It is there to make the watcher feel the intensity of the characters and the situation their in. The editors and the director want to make you hate Howie and they SUCCEED. As he keeps digging himself deeper in this hole i found myself just yelling at him to stop.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
FilMMManiacDec 19, 2019
Wonderful shocking new side of Adam Sandler. The film was Everything movies used to be it took you into the story made you fell like you knew the character and you didn't want it to end but all good things come to an end it respect for theWonderful shocking new side of Adam Sandler. The film was Everything movies used to be it took you into the story made you fell like you knew the character and you didn't want it to end but all good things come to an end it respect for the way it ended even though you didn't want it to end that way. was a beautiful performance by Adam Sandler.I almost don't want to see him do comedy's after this. As for supporting actress Julia Fox there's a star in the rise Bravo on a side note she would make a bad ass Black widow black cat in Spiderman or Catwoman very strong beautiful actress. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MrottmannDec 26, 2019
Tense movie loved it. Made my chest hurt my wife bite her fingers. Just as good as good time if not better. Adam Sandler's performance was amazing.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
rscountsDec 28, 2019
Very good movie with an excellent lead performance from Adam Sandler. Much has been said about the adrenaline pace and frenetic direction of the Sadfie Brothers. The movie lives up to those claims of it being a shot of adrenaline and makingVery good movie with an excellent lead performance from Adam Sandler. Much has been said about the adrenaline pace and frenetic direction of the Sadfie Brothers. The movie lives up to those claims of it being a shot of adrenaline and making you feel the anxiety of Sandler's character. I was hooked from the moment it started right up to the end. The movie reminded me at times of Silver Linings Playbook, specifically Robert De Niro's, superstitious gambler character in that movie. Uncut Gems has some hilarious moments where Kevin Garnett and Adam Sandler both get caught up in superstitions and Sandler's character is a gambling addict if there ever was one. The final act of the movie contains the all time crazy bet in movie history with more parlays than one can count. Strongly recommend this movie. For those who are thinking about seeing the movie but are not sure, should check out "Good Time" on Amazon Prime. That was the Sadfie's brothers last movie and contains a similar frenetic style. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
keanexJan 1, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Adam Sandler plays a phenomenal role as a Jewish New Yorker high-end jewelry dealer who has trouble with money and finds himself in a lot of trouble. It is tense and thrilling from start to finish, I had a mild feeling of anxiety the entire time as Adam dug himself deeper and deeper into a hole. The ending is absolutely bonkers on many levels. A24 strikes AGAIN. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
moviewagsJan 4, 2020
Adam Sandler plays his part well. While the chaotic lifestyle may be somewhat realistic it's too much to watch for two hours. Simple plot that just drags on.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
refaslivaDec 30, 2019
Absolutely manic and beautifully shot and scored. Performances are an absolute standout, but really no one should be surprised at that.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Jan 1, 2020
“This is how *I* win.”

One of the most stressful movie experiences I’ve had in awhile. This whole movie runs entirely on acid and how the series of events unfold was particularly stressful. People constantly talking or yelling over each
“This is how *I* win.”

One of the most stressful movie experiences I’ve had in awhile.

This whole movie runs entirely on acid and how the series of events unfold was particularly stressful. People constantly talking or yelling over each other while the brilliant sound work made the space around them feel so tight, but incredibly claustrophobic.

While I like ‘Good Time’ a little more, but man what a rush.

Adam Sandler is absolutely terrific as the greedy and sleazy Howard Ratner. If he's working with a good director, a strong supporting cast, and an interesting concept, Sandler will thrive. We follow Howard Ratner, a jewelry store owner in New York with a serious gambling problem that makes the hole his standing in deeper and deeper. Despite every terrible decision his character made...I still felt sorry for him. I think it has to do with Sandler's devilish charm that won me over into pitting such a petty crook. He isn’t a loser, he’s a winner who doesn't win. It’s one of his best performance right beside ‘Punch Drunk Love’.

Benny and Josh Safdie are such vibrant directors that can inject so much style while also having a harsh look to it, which ties in with the slimy side of business. The Safdie Brothers are building a solid career for themselves. Darius Khondji outstanding cinematography is the glue that holds this high tension of a movie together.

I loved the score from Daniel Lopatin, which will often drown out the dialogue as the retro rift comes blasting through. On the other hand, there’s also a slow mystical vibe that Lopatin composes that gave me a surreal feeling of levitating.

Kevin Garnett is surprisingly really good in this movie. A professional basketball player actually delivering a solid performance is almost unheard of. It kinda reminds me of Tyler Perry ‘Gone Girl’, in terms of your expectations from them vs what you got. I also couldn’t believe this is Julia Fox first acting debut, because she’s fantastic in the movie.

Overall rating: While I’m only two movies into their filmography, Safdie Brothers are upon my favorite working directors.

I hope they make another movie like 'Good Time' & 'Uncut Gems', so it can called the LSD trilogy.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsDec 27, 2019
Uncut Gems could have been cut. While I love the break neck pace, and the unrelenting, constantly building anxiety, there were several story elements that could have been cut to make a more streamlined, tightly focused feature. I am a big fanUncut Gems could have been cut. While I love the break neck pace, and the unrelenting, constantly building anxiety, there were several story elements that could have been cut to make a more streamlined, tightly focused feature. I am a big fan of Good Time, the first film by the Safdie Brothers, and I honestly think Uncut Gems is just a messier, less focused Good Time.

That being said, I was a huge fan of Adam Sandler's performance. It really was one of the best of the year, and he capably carries the movie on his shoulders. Kevin Garnett has a breakout performance that I really enjoyed, and the performances of Lakeith Stanfield and Eric Bogosian were excellent additions to the cast. The score is great, and the cinematography is really well done. I loved how the titular gem in the movie was given such mythical properties by the characters.

Overall, Uncut Gems is not a bad movie at all. It just wasn't my favorite of the year.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
diorrDec 30, 2019
Uncut Gems is a dizzying rush from start to finish. Adam Sandler delivers his best performance to date, and reminds the audience that when given the right film, he can really shine. The Safdie Brothers have always been an intriguing pair forUncut Gems is a dizzying rush from start to finish. Adam Sandler delivers his best performance to date, and reminds the audience that when given the right film, he can really shine. The Safdie Brothers have always been an intriguing pair for me and their last film, Good Time, was one of the best films I saw in 2017, which was packed with incredible performances. Their directing style is very different and off the wall and it shines through here as well. The film is frantically paced (for all the good reasons), and doesn't let the viewer catch their breath for even a minute. LaKeith Stanfield and Julia Fox were very good in their roles as well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
RiffrafJan 5, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing good to say about this predictable, not believable, one dimensional overwrought poorly-acted unlikeable story about unlikable characters. I have never walked out of a film before it was over. I’m glad I stayed just so I could see these **** get shot in the face. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
AnonymousMouseJan 12, 2020
Not only was the acting filled with zero range & the whole film consisted of all characters
SHOUTING lines....
A good indicator this was going to be delivered a pure piece of crap.... Was the artistic opening scene of a COLONOSCOPY. That told
Not only was the acting filled with zero range & the whole film consisted of all characters
SHOUTING lines....
A good indicator this was going to be delivered a pure piece of crap....
Was the artistic opening scene of a COLONOSCOPY. That told you everything you needed to know. Either Sandler needs to look for better writers with better character development, or he should stick to his forte of comedy.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
GimbuJan 15, 2020
This was Just a lot of caos, drama, and shouting, drawn out for over two hours..In my opinion definitely not Adams best
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondDec 14, 2019
The Safdie Bros's movies are just like nothing else on the big screen. I loved Good Time, and I was anticipated this movie more than anything else this season. It delivers, with just minor drawbacks (which I can't go into - as they're plotThe Safdie Bros's movies are just like nothing else on the big screen. I loved Good Time, and I was anticipated this movie more than anything else this season. It delivers, with just minor drawbacks (which I can't go into - as they're plot spoilers). As someone who is obsessed with the NBA and the way that it interfaces with sports gambling, I'm, I guess you would say, the target audience. And Sandler is incredible, as I suspected he would be. Adel Dazeem is also really good in a smaller role. However, the big find in this film is Julia Fox as Howard's (Sandler's) girlfriend. She's the x-factor in this fun, fast-paced, and ultimately frenzied pic. If there were ever a reason to go see a film on the big screen - (screw all that comic book garbage) - this is it. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Falling_ManDec 13, 2019
This film was an endless anxiety attack simulation, and I loved every minute of it. The Safdie Brothers pull an amazing performance out of Adam Sandler, a character whose every action ignites events which just get more chaotic and stressful.This film was an endless anxiety attack simulation, and I loved every minute of it. The Safdie Brothers pull an amazing performance out of Adam Sandler, a character whose every action ignites events which just get more chaotic and stressful. He's a gambling addict in a world of trouble: His debtors are on his tale twenty four hours, his family life is falling apart, and so is his affair. Almost immediately it sets the tone with characters constantly shouting over each other, and the stakes are set from the start. From that point on, the stakes only continue to rise, and during the moments it stops to breathe, the tension increases due to the positions that the protagonist is put in. I saw this three months ago, and I still haven't fully recovered from the roller coaster ride. I look forward to watching it again, and to seeing what the Safdie Brothers bring us next. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ThwompthingDec 17, 2019
Didn't find one flaw in this film. The ending was unexpected and sad, but definitely powerful and real. The gambling business can be very dangerous and if you watch this film you'll see why. Must watch movie and one of the best of theDidn't find one flaw in this film. The ending was unexpected and sad, but definitely powerful and real. The gambling business can be very dangerous and if you watch this film you'll see why. Must watch movie and one of the best of the year. Definitely oscar worthy for next year. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
3
matisyahuDec 24, 2019
Not going to lie - not sure how this movie got an 89 from the critics. It's an unpleasant movie, as it's pretty hard to cheer for a degenerate gambler who continues to dig himself into bigger holes. Almost plays out like a PSA for gamblersNot going to lie - not sure how this movie got an 89 from the critics. It's an unpleasant movie, as it's pretty hard to cheer for a degenerate gambler who continues to dig himself into bigger holes. Almost plays out like a PSA for gamblers anonymous. Not sure what the hype is with these Safdieh brothers, they have a tendency to rip off elements from Brian De Palma, including over the top synths/ominous music over situations that don't really deserve the degree of tension they're trying to create. The protagonist is such a victim of his own making, however, that you don't really feel much sympathy for him which in turn makes the stakes pretty low. Sandler's dynamic with his stripper mistress felt like a cliché ripoff from a lot of other movies I have seen previously. Spike Lee's, "The 25th Hour" is a much better film with similar themes, yet is much more watchable. There's one scene in particular (no spoiler) where it just oozes of Sandler angling for that GG/Oscar nomination and lacks authenticity in terms of how the film progresses. Kevin Garnett doesn't bring much in terms of humorous dialogue or real acting chops, either. There were very few laughs in my theater, as well. Critics will drink the Safdieh juice and Sandler playing a more serious character, but I predict there will be a gap in terms of how audiences respond. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
5
Kreig415Dec 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wanted to like this movie. I really did. But I came out feeling a bit ill. The frenetic trailer proved a proper foreshadowing: it was like they extended the same pacing over the entire film. As a result it becomes hard to get to know or even like any of the characters and there was a resultant stock quality to many of them, with no real tension between them provided by the story. It skates too cleanly over the main character's gambling addiction and Kevin Garnett's role is almost inscrutable as a character goes; we end up with stereotypes. The tension which exists is generated in the hyperactive cinematography and editing and it leaves you feeling more and more like the end of the film couldn't come too soon... but when it does its nonsensical... it "wraps things up" but very unsatisfyingly. There's just not much of a payoff for your 2 1/2 hours. In sum, I'd sit this one out and wait till it's available to stream. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
Unfounded_prodDec 21, 2019
Nice story, big performance from the unexpected Adam Sandler BUT this movie is a big disappointment when it s time to close the book. It goes into a narrative facility and destroy itself.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
RoctosDec 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Howard is such a A-hole. And that is the point of the movie. The Safdie brothers made a tense drama about someone you would usually hate so much. The movie start literally during the main character colonoscopy (think it's somewhat saying that Ratner isn't a great human ;) ) After that, he goes back to the KMH Jewelry he own and Lakeith Stanfield's character appeared bringing him Kevin Garnett (who was very good in this movie) I won't say more, but Uncut Gems is a must see Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
mgoldie12Dec 17, 2019
This movie is either Adam Sandler yelling **** at people, Adam Sandler being yelled **** at by people, or often both at the same time. And its awesome. Most fun movie of the year, I can watch this over and over again.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
andrewtedyDec 27, 2019
This is One of the best movies of The year. Sandler Has a career defining performance. The supporting cast is also stellar too. The Safdies did it again. There would be some issue on How loud and Anxiety inducing it is. So my suggestion isThis is One of the best movies of The year. Sandler Has a career defining performance. The supporting cast is also stellar too. The Safdies did it again. There would be some issue on How loud and Anxiety inducing it is. So my suggestion is you could rather be prepared or don't go watch since this isn't your cup of tea cause this movie is bananas from start to finish. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
genuinerealistDec 24, 2019
Don't let the critical lemmings fool you. This is a BAD movie. It has one of the worst soundtracks I have ever heard. Voiceovers were a hallmark of Robert Altman - but this is nothing BUT voiceovers. There isn't a single likeable character,Don't let the critical lemmings fool you. This is a BAD movie. It has one of the worst soundtracks I have ever heard. Voiceovers were a hallmark of Robert Altman - but this is nothing BUT voiceovers. There isn't a single likeable character, or a single positive moment. There are no jokes, or wit, or lightness. The movie is all noise and motion, and devoid of life. Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
6
Temujin1206Dec 13, 2019
Had high expectations but ultimately walked out slightly disappointed.

Great performance by Sandler and there were some brilliant moments but overall it’s a schizophrenic, overly intense, poorly paced feature with a character that is hard to
Had high expectations but ultimately walked out slightly disappointed.

Great performance by Sandler and there were some brilliant moments but overall it’s a schizophrenic, overly intense, poorly paced feature with a character that is hard to cheer for. I couldn’t stand the soundtrack, yes, it was deliberately aggressive to convey the hyper state of mind of Sandler’s anxious character, and yet I found it too over the top, exhausting to listen to by the end. I probably had too high expectations after Good Time.
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
0
mark7787654Dec 28, 2019
Forgetting who stared or who directed this movie it was Terrible! We got up and left after an hour and fifteen minutes of loud obnoxious yelling, horrible music, filthy language that went on and on. We both gave this film the "worst movieForgetting who stared or who directed this movie it was Terrible! We got up and left after an hour and fifteen minutes of loud obnoxious yelling, horrible music, filthy language that went on and on. We both gave this film the "worst movie of the year" award and we see a lot of movies during a year. Where is the story? There was none. We couldn't find one character in this film that was even remotely likeable. Very SAD film making for sure. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
LatinCritic13Dec 15, 2019
Executively produced by Martin Scorsese with Joker's Emma Tillinger Koskoff and directed by The Safdie Bros, Uncut Gems is a genuine bloody good time seeing Adam Sandler giving his very best performance since PTA's Punch Drunk Love. I ain'tExecutively produced by Martin Scorsese with Joker's Emma Tillinger Koskoff and directed by The Safdie Bros, Uncut Gems is a genuine bloody good time seeing Adam Sandler giving his very best performance since PTA's Punch Drunk Love. I ain't gonna trip just yet, but Adam Sandler needs to get an Oscar nomination for this film ASAP. Or not, he's gonna do Jack and Jill 2 if that happens. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
everettDec 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sandler was terrific, but in a role that required very little more than near-constant frenetic energy - so repetitive that I barely made it through the first hour. I hung in there because of all the rave reviews, and in the end I wished I hadn't. There's too much here that's "cool" and far too little that's actually good. Did I root for this guy? Yes, by the second hour I did. But at the end, I should've cared a lot more. The rest of the characters ranged from stereotypes to ... more stereotypes. Other than Sandler, there's little here to redeem two hours and fifteen minutes - except for this caution: Don't trust reviews, especially when it comes to opportunities for reviewers to fall all over cool directors as a way of proving how cool they are too. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
lukelewisDec 30, 2019
This movie is a social experiment that tests the human threshold of suffering.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
GreatMartinJan 3, 2020
I am so glad I saw "Uncut Gems" as my first movie in 2002 for the following reasons:
1) I know I have seen the worst movie I will see this year
2) I know this will be the loudest/nosiest movie this year with A) Most of the actors shouting
I am so glad I saw "Uncut Gems" as my first movie in 2002 for the following reasons:
1) I know I have seen the worst movie I will see this year
2) I know this will be the loudest/nosiest movie this year with A) Most of the actors shouting through 95% of the movie B) It will be the movie with the most curse words C) The soundtrack, whether needed or not, will be one of the loudest D) It will be the most stereotypical movie of the year regarding New Yorkers, Jews and/or Blacks. E) It will be my shortest review of the year! F) It helped me make up my mind to NOT have to go to a movie every Friday and G) I will walk out of a bad movie! Always trying to be positive I am glad to have seen Idina Menzel in a movie even though her role was negligible and being unfamiliar with Julia Fox she did make her second oldest role in movies--the other woman--noticeable. Last, but not least, I will say there is a lot of favorable talk about Adam Sandler's performance but it hasn't changed my mind about his lack of talent!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
Rising_DoughJan 1, 2020
One note performance, and basically one thematic idea, repeated over and over again. Completely lacking in dark humor, due in part to the fact there were no likable or sympathetic characters. Sandler may be a good actor, but he certainlyOne note performance, and basically one thematic idea, repeated over and over again. Completely lacking in dark humor, due in part to the fact there were no likable or sympathetic characters. Sandler may be a good actor, but he certainly wasn't able to demonstrate it with this character and this direction. If you like watching Adam Sandler frenetically shout for two and a half hours, then this is the movie for you. Just bring ear plugs. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JLuis_001Dec 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Adam Sandler's best performance? No. But it's indeed his best since Punch-Drunk Love, which continues to be the pinnacle of his talent.

While the film isn't the best talking about technique, it seems to me that its style is totally focused on making the experience an exhausting one. And Uncut Gems is an overwhelming journey full of anxiety. It achieved that splendidly.
That's its greatest accomplishment: To immerse you in the entire atmosphere of the environment that Sandler's character inhabits, while we witness the cascade of bad decisions he makes.

Perhaps the biggest mistake is how the directors get to over-lengthen the story, which indirectly gets to a point where Sandler's character becomes obnoxious but I think that's part of the experience, because who ever in their right mind would feel more sympathy for a person like him? I mean more than the allowed sympathy anyways.

Its ending, although predictable is certainly what he built and there's no learning in it and it doesn't need to be.
After all the story was his decline while he believed that he was going to succeed. And yes for a moment he did and for a moment he savored it, but as happens many times in life, good things aren't made to last.

Another triumph for A24.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
FilmreactiviewJan 8, 2020
Unfaltering Tempo Set to Full Blast

1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MarkndogsJan 3, 2020
Also sucked in by the overwhelmingly positive critical response only to leave feeling duped, foolish, and bewildered. How could this unrelenting barrage of pointless vitriol pass itself off as redeemable in any form? The story and charactersAlso sucked in by the overwhelmingly positive critical response only to leave feeling duped, foolish, and bewildered. How could this unrelenting barrage of pointless vitriol pass itself off as redeemable in any form? The story and characters were completely undeveloped and it was a horrid portrayal of both black and Jewish culture. A disturbing (for just how bad it was) waste of time and money. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielDec 27, 2019
Was this movie made by someone on cocaine -I mean aside Sandler-? After 20 min in, I had to pause. Even a kid with acute ADHD would think Sandler needs to calm down. This is insanity...that so many people call this cinema, yet alone give thisWas this movie made by someone on cocaine -I mean aside Sandler-? After 20 min in, I had to pause. Even a kid with acute ADHD would think Sandler needs to calm down. This is insanity...that so many people call this cinema, yet alone give this nonsense a 90 score! Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
2
shoulderoforionDec 17, 2019
Just like the last Safdie brothers movie I tried to watch GOODTIME, I had to turn this off within it's first hour. I don't know if this is a new style of moviemaking but I can't deal with a loud incongruous musical score laying so heavilyJust like the last Safdie brothers movie I tried to watch GOODTIME, I had to turn this off within it's first hour. I don't know if this is a new style of moviemaking but I can't deal with a loud incongruous musical score laying so heavily over loud fast talking/shouting dialogue, it makes my brain crazy. Guess I'm getting old, don't know. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
3
DaflabearDec 26, 2019
It is a waste of celluloid. I cannot believe this is getting some much favorable ink. The ending is absurd, but then again so is this entire mess of a movie. It is completely absurd that this character has a successful business in spite ofIt is a waste of celluloid. I cannot believe this is getting some much favorable ink. The ending is absurd, but then again so is this entire mess of a movie. It is completely absurd that this character has a successful business in spite of his insane gambling habits. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
waynegirlDec 27, 2019
We have never walked out of a movie before this one. The characters were all annoying, the plot non-existent, and a constant barrage of profanity, all for no reason at all. This isn't a crime thriller, so don't get sucked in. EveryoneWe have never walked out of a movie before this one. The characters were all annoying, the plot non-existent, and a constant barrage of profanity, all for no reason at all. This isn't a crime thriller, so don't get sucked in. Everyone looks bad in this movie so prepare to be offended. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
1
TyphoonLouDec 25, 2019
Probably the most STRESSFUL movie for my wife and I to watch in our entire adult life. Poorly written story line filled with constant yelling and swearing. So bad we had to walk out half way through the movie. We love Adam as an actor butProbably the most STRESSFUL movie for my wife and I to watch in our entire adult life. Poorly written story line filled with constant yelling and swearing. So bad we had to walk out half way through the movie. We love Adam as an actor but this movie was too ghetto even for him. Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
2
CMCDec 26, 2019
Very unpleasant movie with Sandler the only attraction. I was with my wife so I laid low but I would have walked out otherwise. The filmmaking is heavy-handed, with really obnoxious aggressive sound. Most of the anxiety that you read in theVery unpleasant movie with Sandler the only attraction. I was with my wife so I laid low but I would have walked out otherwise. The filmmaking is heavy-handed, with really obnoxious aggressive sound. Most of the anxiety that you read in the various User reviews is being strapped into a theater seat while being bombarded with aggressive sound and quick shots. Really, you can miss this one. See the trailer, you will get to enjoy Sandler as much as you can there, and then devote the rest of your 135 minutes to something more edifying. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesDec 13, 2019
Great work by Sandler and a few intense sequences, but ultimately some poor pacing and repetitive story beats leave you wanting more.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
GabrielnLADec 17, 2019
I wanted to see Bombshell, my friend didn't want to watch a movie where Megyn Kelly is a victim, so we went to Uncut Gems instead. "It's supposed to be one of the best movies of the year," my friend said. And sure enough, the reviews areI wanted to see Bombshell, my friend didn't want to watch a movie where Megyn Kelly is a victim, so we went to Uncut Gems instead. "It's supposed to be one of the best movies of the year," my friend said. And sure enough, the reviews are mostly glowing. And yet...I left the theater with a headache when it was over. As a story, it's...kind of interesting? As a character piece...it's not very interesting? And as a cinematic experience...it's mostly annoying. Sandler is absolutely believable as an idiot unable to help himself (and by help himself, I mean stop himself from making one bad decision after another). There's no character development, though, and every supporting character is just a caricature of a human being. I don't think I've ever been to a movie where every character on screen spends the majority of the time screaming and yelling at each other this much. Half the time, if somebody on screen would have just shut the hell up for a second, maybe they'd have been able to resolve the current conflict. And those conflicts just kept coming; as did the yelling. (I kind of want someone to watch this film just to count the number of "F*cks" in this movie. It's literally every other word out of Sandler's mouth; and I mean "literally" as the dictionary defines it, not how millennials use it.)
Sandler starts at 11 here (well, technically he starts the film unconscious in a doctor's office) and just stays there. There's one moment of nuance, of self-reflection by his character, where he realizes he's just one giant messed up idiot, but it lasts for about a minute, and then he goes right back to his factory default settings.
When Indina Menzel's character (she plays Sandler's wife) says something like, "I'd be happy never seeing you again," I thought, "Same." I couldn't wait for all the yelling to stop.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
neach52Dec 28, 2019
My friend wanted to see this movie and asked me to go along. We walked out with about 45 minutes left of the movie.
I just wanted to tell Sandler's character to Shut the f*** up. The continually loud music and characters all talking at the
My friend wanted to see this movie and asked me to go along. We walked out with about 45 minutes left of the movie.
I just wanted to tell Sandler's character to Shut the f*** up. The continually loud music and characters all talking at the same time was grating, and I felt like chasing cars and chewing on tires. I did not find it compelling or even remotely interesting. I found it predicatable and mind numbing.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
MovieTurtleDec 30, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the opening sequence and giant red herring of a first shot of our protagonist to the closing fade this movie is very much like our main man Howard, talks loudly but has no substance whatsoever.

The movie follows a jewelry dealer Howard Ratner in an exploration of his life as he continues to wreck it with his own destructive and vice-driven actions. He is constantly running afoul of people that has borrowed money from and lost when betting on various basketball games. This comes up so many times that it really drives home the point that he's running out of places to go and eventually starts doing this to his own family and with more dangerous loan sharks that start to bite back now that they realize he's not paying people back Beyond the gambling addiction and theft, we get some insight into his ruined marriage with 3 kids while he's living in an apartment with his side girl. We even get a gross scene of their sexting and cut-to-black on them having sex.
Now Howard himself is a loud-mouthed arrogant pushy con-man who can't seem to con anyone and just comes across as a parody of every terrible reality show bratt in the last decade, but without any charisma at all.

There is no sympathy for this character and no other characters to sympathize with. There is no adversity for him to overcome as it all originates from his own poor actions.

The ending even seems fitting. He gets lucky enough to win big and it just isn't big enough to matter.

Seeing other reviews of this have people talking about anxiety inducing masterpiece. I didn't feel anxious at any point and don't think I felt anything beyond disgust this entire movie. I honestly feel like I should have walked out and would have been better off having just skipped this one.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
rizwanaalviJan 1, 2020
wonderfully awful, crap movie! Don't waste your hard earned dollars on this garbage movie! Dumbest movie of the year and hated it!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
pjs623Dec 31, 2019
This movie was horrible. We left the theater after less than an hour. I've seen the word frenetic used in other reviews and that describes this movie to a T. Nothing in the plot grabbed my attention and none of the characters were likableThis movie was horrible. We left the theater after less than an hour. I've seen the word frenetic used in other reviews and that describes this movie to a T. Nothing in the plot grabbed my attention and none of the characters were likable enough for me to care about what was happening. I'm not a prude but the F word being used constantly got very annoying--couldn't the script writer write anything more interesting for the characters to say? Don't waste your money on this! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
AndrewinPSDec 28, 2019
This movie sucked so bad - do NOT waste your time! The acting is horrible - There is no dialogue, just a whole lotta noise.
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantDec 29, 2019
Pay no attention to the undeserved hype for this overlong and self-important offering from the Safdie Brothers (who are themselves among the most overrated filmmakers in the business today). While the picture is generally well made, itPay no attention to the undeserved hype for this overlong and self-important offering from the Safdie Brothers (who are themselves among the most overrated filmmakers in the business today). While the picture is generally well made, it nevertheless features a story line about a self-destructive character for whom it's difficult to feel any sympathy and leaves one extremely large central question unanswered, undercutting the vehicle's basic underlying viability. What's more, the narrative closely parallels the 1974 release "The Gambler," augmented by a sense of hyper-desperation not unlike the directors' 2017 offering "Good Time," a combination that's not exactly original or particularly interesting. And then there's the much-praised performance by Adam Sandler in a dramatic role, a capable but overrated portrayal that essentially consists of little more than two hours of the actor screeching F-bombs in a manner similar to his wise-ass characters in his long strong of eminently forgettable comedies. It's the kind of film that constantly frustrates the viewer and, after a while, makes one long for the ending to come. Wait for the home version -- and then only if you have nothing pressing to do. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
E_OstrowskiDec 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Would’ve been better off giving my $10.25 to a homeless person. The best scene of the movie was when Sandler got shot in the head at the end. This movie was so bad that I needed to go to the bar after to drink away the pain. I have never seen a worse movie in my life. I am giving myself an indefinite suspension from any movie theaters because if I step in one, I will be reminded of the unhealthy horror and pain that the movie left me with. It actually felt like I was injected with AIDS. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
MarkHReviewsDec 27, 2019
Act One of “Uncut Gems” includes footage from a colonoscopy. It’s by far the most probing, thoughtful, well-paced and illuminating scene in the film.

This film was written and directed by the Safdie Brothers, the current “next big thing” in
Act One of “Uncut Gems” includes footage from a colonoscopy. It’s by far the most probing, thoughtful, well-paced and illuminating scene in the film.

This film was written and directed by the Safdie Brothers, the current “next big thing” in movie-making. Their 2017 film “Good Time” with Robert Pattinson was selected to compete for the Palme d’Or, the highest prize at Cannes. Their films have been described by “Variety” as “raucously interior inner-city films” that are “contemporary, raw and untethered.”

“Uncut Gems” has been ten years in the making. It is based on family lore told by the Safdies’ father, who worked in the diamond district of New York City. The film’s central character, Howard Ratner (Adam Sandler), is a diamond merchant and compulsive gambler doing everything he can to stay one step ahead of the debt collectors. Howard imports a blood opal from Africa in the body of a fish, he makes wildly implausible bets on NBA games, he gets locked naked in the trunk of his own car while attending his daughter’s school play, he gets thrown into a fountain. After that, the action picks up. Unfortunately, it’s all just mania in search of a purpose.

While some moviegoers may experience this film as one long adrenaline rush, for me the frantic pace and too-close hand-held cameras were simply exhausting. The film offers zero character development – Howard is apparently genetically incapable of introspection, much less learning from his incessant mistakes. In fairness, there is one moment of personal insight in Act Three. Of course, this flash of self-awareness is discarded immediately. The film’s climactic scene is shocking, but completely unearned.

We all know people like Howard – people who use baseless bravado to hide their insecurity, people who are so self-absorbed they either don’t know or don’t care about the carnage they inflict on family and friends as the lurch through life. In that sense, “Uncut Gems” is an accurate slice of life. But that doesn’t make this film insightful or profound. It just adds to our trauma as we’re forced to observe the fast-moving train wreck. The dialogue is staggering in its self-indulgence. If the f-bombs were removed, the running time would be about 20 minutes. The profanity isn’t shocking or offensive, just monotonous.

My guess is that this is one of those films that is adored by professional film critics, but will generate “Huh? What?” from a lot of regular movie-goers. If that’s the case, “Uncut Gems” almost makes me believe in populism.
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
emkadvDec 28, 2019
I was very disappointed in this film. Based on the reviews I expected something more engaging. Basically, you spend 2+ hours watching Adam Sandler's character waste his life to support his gambling addiction. I admired his performance,I was very disappointed in this film. Based on the reviews I expected something more engaging. Basically, you spend 2+ hours watching Adam Sandler's character waste his life to support his gambling addiction. I admired his performance, which showed that he can be a real actor, but the film itself was relentlessly depressing with only a few moments of much-needed humor. One of my friends walked out after a half hour.

And, although I am not prudish about swearing, and much of it was not gratuitous, if you deleted every line from the screenplay that had a swear-word in it, you would nearly have a silent movie. That was more than seemed necessary to me.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKDec 30, 2019
An engrossing film about a New York Jewish dealer in precious stones who is essentially a gambler trying to make a big score. Adam Sandler is very convincing in the lead role and has an excellent supporting cast. The movie is a hectic andAn engrossing film about a New York Jewish dealer in precious stones who is essentially a gambler trying to make a big score. Adam Sandler is very convincing in the lead role and has an excellent supporting cast. The movie is a hectic and suspenseful character drama, and it held my interest with a strong combination of acting, script, and direction. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticDec 29, 2019
I think we all have our biases towards any film with Adam Sandler's name attached to it. The reviews I read about his performance were not wrong. It's perhaps his best role in the entire decade, and the best since 'Punch Drunk Love'. AsI think we all have our biases towards any film with Adam Sandler's name attached to it. The reviews I read about his performance were not wrong. It's perhaps his best role in the entire decade, and the best since 'Punch Drunk Love'. As enthralling as he is, I find myself liking the film far less than I expected. The movies as a whole feels rushed and underdeveloped, with a one-man show surrounded by 2-D standees being mechanically moved by the directors. And the ending, which I'll refrain from spoiling, left a lot to be desired. The story wasted a lot of potential, but to its credit, it did allow Adam Sandler to showcase the talent that many of us already knew he possessed, but didn't expect from him. Aside from him, 'Uncut Gems' is meh. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
JamesdyoDec 28, 2019
Edgy and raw and totally lacking any kind of heart or humanity. You feel kind of bad for the guy at the end, but then they cut to the KG press conference and then to outer space none of it amounts to anything.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
Bulletsponge69Jan 2, 2020
Super slow paced, most of the movie is Adam Sandler yelling like Bernie Sanders, maybe a few good scenes. It’s a lot of setup for no pay off.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
Jason_bJan 3, 2020
Overhyped A24 hipster-bait. Totally annoying, meandering plot. Its pretentious style barely hides the emotionless storyline. Eccentricity pleases critics for some reason. I think they’re out of their minds.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
TerrinaMeloJan 3, 2020
Too slow, too chaotic, too loud. Wanted to leave 20 minutes into the movie but stayed because we paid
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
OTobiOJan 3, 2020
My heart was pounding as I had to adjust my self in my seat to deal with all the anxiety this movie blasted at my face. Adam Sandler has regained my respect for playing such an likable unlikable character!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MilesBradleyJan 12, 2020
This is probably the "busiest movie I've ever seen". From the start to start to finish the tension grips you and never lets you go. Adam Sandler turns into a new person and actually makes u care(I'm 99%sure on that) about a rich corrupt ****
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJan 4, 2020
The last film by the Safdie brothers was Good Time and a lot of that film's milieu and style parallels this one (my review). Adam Sandler plays a frenzied, somewhat obnoxious jeweler in New York City. The big score that drives the narrativeThe last film by the Safdie brothers was Good Time and a lot of that film's milieu and style parallels this one (my review). Adam Sandler plays a frenzied, somewhat obnoxious jeweler in New York City. The big score that drives the narrative is complicated by his side trips into compulsive gambling, the resulting multiple debtors and marital infidelity. Sandler relishes the opportunity to play this oversize character. The Safdie's have crafted the film with an adrenaline-fused style that propels the action with a convincing supporting cast, noisy situations and an energy continually verging on chaos and calamity. In an attempt to tweak the tension even more, they’ve added a rather incongruous soundtrack. Some will find this film (and Sandler's performance) mesmerizing. Although I appreciated what the directors are doing, I never found Sandler's character sympathetic or compelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TryASummersaultJan 5, 2020
7.9/10 I was excited to see Sandler in another versatile role though was somewhat reluctant to believe in another a24 production as they've been mostly pretentious misses in my eyes. This was easily one of the exceptions due mostly to7.9/10 I was excited to see Sandler in another versatile role though was somewhat reluctant to believe in another a24 production as they've been mostly pretentious misses in my eyes. This was easily one of the exceptions due mostly to Sandler's dedication he brought into the grimy and slimy character of Howard. The story is straightforward enough, but the constant problematic conundrums that arise at all corners keep the intensity at high levels throughout and you cannot wait to see what unfolds though you know it will be inevitably troublesome. Once everything comes to a head, the story's tension unravels into a shocking finish. If you're a fan of Adam Sandler, you'll need to understand this is a different version that he saves for his most passionate roles, though he's still the same brilliant funnyman we all know in parts. Some of the soundtrack is overwhelming and off putting at times but really that's my only complaint. Otherwise it's a solid dramatic thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jan 2, 2020
In 2017, Josh and Benny Safdie let their frenetic, pulse-pounding, morally murky stylings loose with "Good Time." I guess they were really holding out on us, however, because "Uncut Gems" takes literally every element that I enjoyed in "GoodIn 2017, Josh and Benny Safdie let their frenetic, pulse-pounding, morally murky stylings loose with "Good Time." I guess they were really holding out on us, however, because "Uncut Gems" takes literally every element that I enjoyed in "Good Time," and ups the ante, for both better and -- in some cases -- for the slightly less better. Things just never feel easy in this movie. There's always some ticking clock, force of pushback, or complication preventing our main character from getting what he wants. It places you in a state of perpetual unease and it's quite well done. And speaking of main characters, one can't possibly opine on "Uncut Gems" without discussing Adam Sandler's performance. What else is there to say that hasn't already been said? It's simply sublime, if performances this slimy and disgusting could ever be. Every event and amount of pressure mounted perfectly manifests itself into Sandler's behavior and demeanor, giving you the honest to God impression that this guy's toilet of a life is really starting to overflow. And like "Good Time," this film definitely steers away from the crowd-pleasing ending, though it may do so a bit too drastically for my tastes. Where "Good Time's" ending felt bittersweet and apt, this one simply makes you realize what you've really just finished -- a real workout. I'd be shocked if even the most emotionally jacked human beings didn't leave feeling sore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
zmgalen2000Jan 5, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Messy: a broad umbrella term that encapsulates all of what "Uncut Gems" is. The film is a two-hour cringefest thanks to its sporadic unsettling visuals (a colonoscopy with no plot relevance, really!?) and a multidirectional plotline laced with interminable violence. The pacing of the film was so rapid-fire that I found myself without any time to catch my breath or process what I had just learned/seen. Having to check my phone to understand who was who and what was going on (seriously), I missed the next detail of the movie. Not to mention that the plotline was met with an abrupt and nonconclusive ending.

However, where the film redeems itself is in its engagement by virtue of strong acting performances and character development from Sandler and Menzel. The embodiment of fictional characters as portrayed by these actors develops an emotional bond with the audience, leading to an instantaneous investment in the film's endeavors. Plus, there is something to be said for a messy plot that plays mind games: you seek for answers. Unfortunately, I left the theater unsatisfied with the ambiguity that was both preestablished and unanswered.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AndremaxJan 7, 2020
Uncut Gems may lost itselfs to tell a story, with exessively dirty and dazed atmosphere, but it doesn't be denied that's such a expressive film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dbwingcoJan 10, 2020
Sandler plays the part to perfection (could easily typecast him in this role) but the frenetic pace and unrealistic scenarios made it somewhat boring. Kevin Garnett was quite a surprise but he really didn't add much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rebecca31Jan 13, 2020
Hold onto your hats ladies and gentlemen because I’m about to give an Adam Sandler film a positive review. I don’t believe this has ever happened before and it may never happen again but here it is, an historic moment indeed. If you haven’tHold onto your hats ladies and gentlemen because I’m about to give an Adam Sandler film a positive review. I don’t believe this has ever happened before and it may never happen again but here it is, an historic moment indeed. If you haven’t heard of Uncut Gems until now, where have you been hiding? It’s an exhilarating thrill ride you won’t want to miss.

The Safdie brothers are two wonderful directors and writers who know what it takes to make a great crime movie. Uncut Gems is perhaps the most stress inducing film you’ll see in years with a role so clearly written for Adam Sandler and he’s absolutely perfect for the part. A charismatic New York City jeweler, Howard Ratner (Adam Sandler) with a serious gambling addiction is in the process of making a series of incredibly high-stakes bets that could lead to the win of a lifetime. Uncut Gems took a little while to win me over, it starts frantically with so many characters all talking over each other, I was struggling to hear anything that was happening. Yet, once the set up is out of the way and the plot gets going it just doesn’t stop. Good Time is one of those crime movies where one thing going horribly wrong and is quickly following by a whole stream of equally horrible events where absolutely everything that can go wrong will go wrong. Uncut Gems follows a similar formula only it’s even more frantic and will send your stress levels soaring. Sandler’s character is so infuriating and unlikable and to see him get himself into constant situations with everything becoming worse and worse is insanely frustrating. Immersive cinema at its best, it grips you and doesn’t let go until it’s over. A tense comedy crime thriller you can see in cinemas on limited release or for all you Netflix addicts it’s out at the end of the month. Recommended.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DrBobLeeJan 15, 2020
Ok, So this is a good movie but I wouldn't exactly call it a fun movie. Anyone that has problems with anxiety or heart issues might want to think twice about seeing this flick and I know what i'm talking about because I am a Doctor.Ok, So this is a good movie but I wouldn't exactly call it a fun movie. Anyone that has problems with anxiety or heart issues might want to think twice about seeing this flick and I know what i'm talking about because I am a Doctor. Sandler's character is doing so much crazy, chaotic stuff it is sure to make some boisterous son-of-a-gun get up in their seat and yell "what in the PETE is he doing?!" Sandler is basically a gambling addict who plays with other people's money and makes risky parlay bets that make you think to yourself "are you serious?" I really understand why some people don't like this movie. Its not because its bad, boring, or the acting is crap-o-la, its because it makes you sick to your stomach with the hectic action and that action doesn't give us as an audience a chance to breath. Still I liked it and i'm a respected doctor so that has to say something.

Bob Lee, MD
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
meitgol1Jan 19, 2020
This is not your typical movie, and you need to be prepared for high anxiety and non-stop dialogue and changing scenery for the entire 2+ hours. Not a motion sickness issue, just non-stop drama, poor decisions from main actors, and waitingThis is not your typical movie, and you need to be prepared for high anxiety and non-stop dialogue and changing scenery for the entire 2+ hours. Not a motion sickness issue, just non-stop drama, poor decisions from main actors, and waiting for someone to jump out and knock some sense into the main characters. I realized i was so wound up with anxiety during the movie when I checked my phone to look at the time and realized there was another 1+ hours left to go! Adam Sandler is great, and showed his true acting ability, which was a surprise. This is no comedy, although some of us laughed nervously at a few points in the show just to release the tension. Shocking ending that made me gasp out loud, which I never do. I have minor heart disease, and with about 15 minutes left in the movie, I was overwhelmed and needed to stand up and raise my arms to reduce tension and breathe deeply. It worked, and I was able to enjoy the ending. I have to admit, there were times I wanted to leave because of the foolish choices being made, but I was so invested I just couldn't. Well done movie, and highly recommended. Just be aware of the anxiety factor and a fast moving flick from start to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
skip65Jan 8, 2020
From the beginning we see a self-destructive guy who in all probability will come to a bad end. He’s got so many plates spinning (jewelry store, 3 kids, mistress, wife, black opal, bookie, prostate, pawned rings, creditors, auction,From the beginning we see a self-destructive guy who in all probability will come to a bad end. He’s got so many plates spinning (jewelry store, 3 kids, mistress, wife, black opal, bookie, prostate, pawned rings, creditors, auction, relatives), and we’re shown over and over that he’s completely incompetent in every area of his life and unlikely to keep any of them afloat. It’s just a question of which plate is going to fall first. We’re left to wonder how this person lacking common sense ever came to own a jewelry store in Manhattan’s prestigious diamond district or what his wife and mistress ever saw in him in the first place. This is a guy who’s willing to make huge risks to get rich quick, so I never believed for a second he would ever take the 5 months necessary to meticulously research the mining industry in Somalia and figure out how to successfully acquire that black opal. And if he is that kind of careful investor he wouldn’t just impulsively loan it out 10 minutes after it arrives! I also didn’t believe this manic reckless adrenaline junkie would ever have the presence of mind to schedule a prostate exam. His death was a forgone conclusion; the only question was how. If the Safdies wanted to really surprise us they should have given us a happy ending where all those plates remain safe due to sheer luck mixed with some previously unseen genius on Howard’s part. As for the relentless intensity, it was mostly without variation and thus felt monotonous, redundant and just noisy. Having said that, there's enough here (mostly Sandler's performance) that warrants 2.5 stars. I know there’s a barrage of critics who loved it; to each his own. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KeithDowJan 2, 2020
We had incredibly high expectations for the Safdie Brothers' follow-up to 'Good Time.' Sadly, 'Uncut Gems' fell short of the mark.

There were simply too many implausibilities and peculiar character motivations for us to ever truly buy into
We had incredibly high expectations for the Safdie Brothers' follow-up to 'Good Time.' Sadly, 'Uncut Gems' fell short of the mark.

There were simply too many implausibilities and peculiar character motivations for us to ever truly buy into the story, which kept us emotionally disconnected from the picture.

Hopefully the Safdie Brothers can rebound next time around.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
estonismJan 12, 2020
Great Movie. Sandler is really essential to this film. No one can draw you into a character quite like he can. The chaotic atmosphere is essential to the character and his flaws. I don't like or do spoilers so I will say that it is a must-seeGreat Movie. Sandler is really essential to this film. No one can draw you into a character quite like he can. The chaotic atmosphere is essential to the character and his flaws. I don't like or do spoilers so I will say that it is a must-see movie that took quite a long time to make. It paid off. Indie feel with some real people featured in the movie. As always, please choose a good theater with a good respectable crowd to see any movie of substance. A good or great movie can be tarnished by a bad theater experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
chymeroJan 18, 2020
I felt assaulted. Worst movie I have ever suffered through. It even hurt my ears. I wanted to leave and wish I had. Nothing redeeming here. I was in a nice clean theatre but felt like I needed a shower afterwards. Seriously painful toI felt assaulted. Worst movie I have ever suffered through. It even hurt my ears. I wanted to leave and wish I had. Nothing redeeming here. I was in a nice clean theatre but felt like I needed a shower afterwards. Seriously painful to watch. AVOID IT even when it comes out on Netflix. It is TOXIC. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Morty_McFlayJan 8, 2020
I could’ve used a scene with good one-on-one dialogue instead of people shouting over each other, and I wasn’t really feeling any significant emotions until the end. But this is a very well directed, anxiety-inducing film with a greatI could’ve used a scene with good one-on-one dialogue instead of people shouting over each other, and I wasn’t really feeling any significant emotions until the end. But this is a very well directed, anxiety-inducing film with a great performance from Adam Sandler. The ending is phenomenal, shocking and entirely fitting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CornwallAdamsJan 13, 2020
This film is so hard to put into words. For its whole entire two hours and fifteen minutes run time, you're overwhelmed with anxiety, but you can't look away. It entangles you in its simple yet deeply complex plot and keeps you begging for more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
thuockichduchcmJan 8, 2020
BỆNH LÃNH CẢM Ở NỮ - THUỐC KÍCH DỤC NÀO ĐƯỢC PHÁI ĐẸP TIN DÙNG ? Là phái đẹp, vốn phải luôn hạnh phúc và tự tin yêu đời. Bởi thiên phú cho phái đẹp là phải luôn đẹp và hạnh phúc. Nhưng chị em đôi khi lại phải gặp một số vấn đề trong chuyệnBỆNH LÃNH CẢM Ở NỮ - THUỐC KÍCH DỤC NÀO ĐƯỢC PHÁI ĐẸP TIN DÙNG ? Là phái đẹp, vốn phải luôn hạnh phúc và tự tin yêu đời. Bởi thiên phú cho phái đẹp là phải luôn đẹp và hạnh phúc. Nhưng chị em đôi khi lại phải gặp một số vấn đề trong chuyện chăn gối. Mà làm mình trở nên khô héo, phai màu. Một số chị em ngại chia sẽ dẫn đến việc chăn gối ngày càng đi xuống. Họ không còn thiết tha chuyện yêu nữa, điều đó cũng khiến họ trở nên thiếu sức sống và hay khó chịu với chồng hay bạn trai mình. Vậy giải pháp nào cho họ, để phụ nữ quay về với sự quyến rũ thường ngày. Vậy do đâu mà phái đẹp trở nên lãnh cảm? Cùng tìm hiểu nguyên nhân của căn bệnh trên và TOP 3 thuốc kích dục nữ TP HCM điều trị lãnh cảm tốt nhất mọi thời đại. Xem thêm https://thuockichduchcm.net/tin-tuc/thuoc-kich-duc-phai-dep-tin-dung Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpoonyonJan 3, 2020
Excellent movie. Adam Sandler does a very good job embodying his character. The looming sense of the eventual collapse of Howard's shoddily built empire is fascinating to watch and you get unavoidably anxious watching it all come crashing down
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DeMantisJan 5, 2020
I can see how critics are raving about this movie, but it was too much of a nervous rush for me. It also makes me wonder about the critics' views these days, as they blasted Joker and loved this one... what is going on?
If you love a tense
I can see how critics are raving about this movie, but it was too much of a nervous rush for me. It also makes me wonder about the critics' views these days, as they blasted Joker and loved this one... what is going on?
If you love a tense thrill ride, then this is definitely the movie for you. Sandler plays his role incredibly well and the supporting cast is great too. But again - tense, sometimes dragging, but won't let you go.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NYCMovieGuyJan 3, 2020
Brilliant plot and excellent acting makes this a must see! Adam Sandler is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
OmachucaJan 8, 2020
This movie had awful editing. There was not plot. I’d say definitely skip it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bhayesJan 11, 2020
How on earth is the audience reception so mixed, this is a fantastic movie. Went in to this movie pretty blind.. but I saw that the Safdie brothers made this one, and I loved Good Time, so I had pretty high expectations going in. The filmHow on earth is the audience reception so mixed, this is a fantastic movie. Went in to this movie pretty blind.. but I saw that the Safdie brothers made this one, and I loved Good Time, so I had pretty high expectations going in. The film grabs your attention immediately, and by the time the opening scene and credits are over you realize you have no idea what to expect. Fantastic modern crime thriller, quirky sci-fi undertones, beautifully shot. As you would expect, it is very anxiety inducing, and the score handled by Oneohtrix Point Never helps you feel all types of ways at once. Also worth noting that whoever was on wardrobe absolutely killed it, and no I am not only talking about Sandler. Sandler and Garnett also nailed it in this one, and I really hope Sandler gives another quality performance like this again soon. It's a necessary watch and a modern crime classic. Are people watching too many Marvel movies these days or something? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PretentiousDonkJan 13, 2020
This movie is a pleb filter. Either you appreciate the beauty and intricacy films like these can bring to the table or you are a brainlet, and should stick to marvel movies. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews