Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 4, 2009
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 527 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
389
Mixed:
74
Negative:
64
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PFinlayFeb 21, 2010
A really nice film! Not trying to reinvent cinema or trying to blow up the white house, just simply telling a fantastic story and telling it well through excellent acting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.E.Feb 21, 2010
Clever film that I could easily relate to--great character development and good acting. Glad to see that "flyover" territory gets some respect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KarenG.Feb 2, 2010
The most overpraised movie I've seen in ages. Cute and nicely tucked in artifice posing as something "poignant." I find it really disappointing how many people apparently were seduced by the surface-level fluff, "sexiness," and The most overpraised movie I've seen in ages. Cute and nicely tucked in artifice posing as something "poignant." I find it really disappointing how many people apparently were seduced by the surface-level fluff, "sexiness," and doc-style interviews with real laid-off people (the best part of the movie, by far -- but lacking an organic connection to Bingham's story) into thinking they were seeing something with real relevance and meaning. Whoever pegged it as a movie with a "juvenile sense of seriousness" -- I couldn't agree more! George Clooney was, well... a very good... George Clooney. And the Vera Farmiga character, while impressive for awhile, was a big disappointment in the end -- the revelation/twist was so poorly done! A convenient, unbelievable fabrication obviously contrived so that Bingham could have his big "transformative moment." Slight problem: now we suddenly we have something else thrown on our plate to muddle the story even more: a truly unlikable, deceitful, screwed-up woman, masquerading around as some kind of male fantasy creature -- but who (as if this woman could even exist in the real world) is the most messed-up character in the movie by far (and that says a lot.) And what is Bingham's big enlightenment in the end: oh, that maybe this lifestyle he was so proud of is really kind of vapid & meaningless. But I'm going to keep on with my job of firing people (oh -- but with integrity! Not distantly over the internet!) -- because my story has nothing to do with a revelation about the meaning of THAT (as opposed to the Natalie's enlightenment, which at least found some way of connecting the story in a human way to the big, depressing picture of the economy and all the tragic lay-offs.) What a disappointment. Please don't let it win an Oscar! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KaariJFeb 23, 2010
Excellent movie. I think those not liking it cannot relate to the flying for business. For those of us that do, this movie resonates in so many levels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomDFeb 3, 2010
Are you guys serious? This movie was effortlessly funny and dramatic without become to sentimental or ribald. The writing was smart and clever. Clooney was at his finest; Anna Kendrick was terrific as the twenty-someting out to change the Are you guys serious? This movie was effortlessly funny and dramatic without become to sentimental or ribald. The writing was smart and clever. Clooney was at his finest; Anna Kendrick was terrific as the twenty-someting out to change the world; Vera Farmiga was seductive and beautiful in her role as well. Great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaureO.Feb 6, 2010
Nice, clever, pleasant, a few tears... A good one that you may not remember in a year, but actors play well and it is well done. I recommend for a "no brainer" night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrettFeb 7, 2010
Love movies that make you look at your life. Yes the movie is smug, but the key message is 'look at your life, in how many of your favorite moments were you alone?'. If your favorite movie of the year was Transformers 2, you should Love movies that make you look at your life. Yes the movie is smug, but the key message is 'look at your life, in how many of your favorite moments were you alone?'. If your favorite movie of the year was Transformers 2, you should probably not consider seeing this, as you will deem it 'overhyped', if you on the other hand have a few brain cells, you should enjoy it in some fashion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OldyagFeb 7, 2010
How can you not say that is good? You fleas fail to see that it has got nothing to do with down sizing or Clooneys job and he doesn't have an epiphany at the end and realise that he would be happier with someone else. Its about how men How can you not say that is good? You fleas fail to see that it has got nothing to do with down sizing or Clooneys job and he doesn't have an epiphany at the end and realise that he would be happier with someone else. Its about how men have affairs with integrity whereas women do it heartlessly. If she had of said she was married, he wouldn't have cared. No moralising necessary, but she wanted to build farken snowmen and go to his sisters wedding. WHYYYYYYYY? Steve S, 'The Book of Eli' is pure dross!!! Stop going to the movies and stick your head in a bucket of sand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
eliascMar 16, 2010
'Up in the Air' is one of those multi-layered films that define good direction, great scriptwriting, and superb acting. I was amazed recently when I talked to a person who saw the film and thought it was about a corporate quest for 'Up in the Air' is one of those multi-layered films that define good direction, great scriptwriting, and superb acting. I was amazed recently when I talked to a person who saw the film and thought it was about a corporate quest for the 10 million dollar airline frequent flyer card. Here was an adult with the mind of a teen who could not see beyond surface plot lines and did not understand that the film was about a wasted life, and did not have a clue that the title 'Up in the Air' had a double meaning as well. The only fault I had with this film was after you realize what the film was really about after about 30 minutes, the coming resolutions were obvious. Or was it only I who realized that in the scene with Anna Kendrick, George Clooney, and Vera Farminga in which Vera's character talks about her goals to soothe Anna being dumped by her boyfriend, that she was really talking about herself; her real life. And as empty as George Clooney's character was, Vera Farminga's character was a whole lot worse. A great film by a director to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
alxmMar 23, 2010
I wanted to watch this movie after the Academy nominations. I kept waiting for it to improve but then it ended and left me feeling like I had just wasted 2 hrs. I am a big fan of G-Clooney but this is one was poor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 23, 2009
An expression of astonishment comes across Alex's face upon learning from the horse's mouth that Ryan(George Clooney) was a jock in high school, a basketball player good enough to be immortalized in the trophy case. We're An expression of astonishment comes across Alex's face upon learning from the horse's mouth that Ryan(George Clooney) was a jock in high school, a basketball player good enough to be immortalized in the trophy case. We're amazed too, probably for the same reason as this sexy, vibrant, thirtysomething woman, who probably pegged her new friend as a loner, back in the day. But no, Ryan was part of the mainstream, which makes his current persona ever the more enigmatic. What chain of events helped turn Ryan Bingham, star point guard, into Ryan Bingham, misanthrope, a man who gets off on firing people? Natalie(Anna Kendrick), his protege, ended up in this industry due to the circumstances of her love life; she followed a boy to Omaha. Consequently, the boy dumps her, and in the film's pivotal scene, Natalie makes a spectacle of herself in the hotel lobby. When Ryan says, "It happens," he's speaking from personal experience; his profession pertains to having an axe to grind with some woman in the past. He's like a Neal LaBute protagonist: Aaron Eckhart from "In the Company of Men". Both men eviscerate people's lives as compensation for their broken hearts. Ryan, however, has a shred of humanity, which starts to grow exponentially as he consoles Natalie in a halfway sincere clinch. It forces this impersonal man to become personal. Being there for somebody in pain spells the beginning of the end for his positive outlook on living an intimacy-free life. Holding Anna, he experiences something akin to fatherhood. It's only a matter of time before he starts seeing Alex(Vera Farmiga), his friend with benefits, as wife material. Love can do that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FantasyDec 24, 2009
Talk about depressing? I go to the movies to be entertained. Let me warn you now. This movie is not funny, the characters are not likable, and the dialogue is uninteresting. The story is about a loser of a man who flies from town to town to Talk about depressing? I go to the movies to be entertained. Let me warn you now. This movie is not funny, the characters are not likable, and the dialogue is uninteresting. The story is about a loser of a man who flies from town to town to fire people. He has no roots nor any real family to speak of. He meets a woman in a hotel bar for what he thinks is a casual sex. Instead of getting better the movie gets even more depressing. You leave the theater feeling down and wondering why live at all? If this is your cup of tea then go and enjoy. But if you want to be entertained and laugh do not waste your time. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LionelT.Dec 25, 2009
Are the critics nuts? What's this love affair with Clooney? Another awful depressing movie about a cold hearted company who go around firing people. Do we need to see this with our economy in the tank? And all Clooney cares about is his Are the critics nuts? What's this love affair with Clooney? Another awful depressing movie about a cold hearted company who go around firing people. Do we need to see this with our economy in the tank? And all Clooney cares about is his flight miles. Like anyone cares. Watching a gerbil on a treadmill is about the same as watching Clooney's character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulBruhnDec 25, 2009
Just really well done in every respect - one of the very best in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VirginaDec 26, 2009
Up In The Air goes Down In Flames in record time. Much overhyped and depressing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenC.Dec 5, 2009
Start with a good script, with a timely theme, add good acting and good direction and you've got a top film. Great chemistry, surprising turns and a tragicomedy worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveDec 8, 2009
Definitely one of the best of the year, Clooney and Farmiga were both fantastic. On a side note, does Keith Uhlich ever give a good review to anything!!?? Just a quick check, he gave 40 to this, An Education, Bright Star and Precious. Oh, he Definitely one of the best of the year, Clooney and Farmiga were both fantastic. On a side note, does Keith Uhlich ever give a good review to anything!!?? Just a quick check, he gave 40 to this, An Education, Bright Star and Precious. Oh, he did manage to gove Fantastic Mr.Fox a 60 though, how generous! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattK.Dec 9, 2009
The less you know about this movie before you see it, the better your experience will be. This film masterfully utilizes its assets (Clooney, its relevance, sleek presentation and somewhat unique subtext) to build up a good movie and then The less you know about this movie before you see it, the better your experience will be. This film masterfully utilizes its assets (Clooney, its relevance, sleek presentation and somewhat unique subtext) to build up a good movie and then transcend the normal parameters of its genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanEJan 18, 2010
This is really an excellent film - have seen it 3 times - and can only find one small problem with the story (it has to do with Alex - and the behavior of Player-type personalities - so I would really give the film a 9.75 grade). The film is This is really an excellent film - have seen it 3 times - and can only find one small problem with the story (it has to do with Alex - and the behavior of Player-type personalities - so I would really give the film a 9.75 grade). The film is spot-on placing the personalities within the larger context of their roles in society - and demonstrates that we have much work to do to start caring about one another again. It's funny/sad/real and makes a statement. See this film - you won't be sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaBJan 18, 2010
Best movie I have seen this year. It was awesome, real, dark, painful, and beautiful. Just like real life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbhitBJan 22, 2010
The best film I've seen in a year. The storytelling and development of George Clooney's character is truly expertly done, in a way that's both believable and emotional
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidG.Jan 27, 2010
Every thing about this movie was amazing. The things that really standout are the script and George Clooney. The script is witty and funny. It has just the right doses of comedy and realism. It is depressing and funny at the same time. Every thing about this movie was amazing. The things that really standout are the script and George Clooney. The script is witty and funny. It has just the right doses of comedy and realism. It is depressing and funny at the same time. I'm not a big fan of George Clooney, but this was his best role. He did a fantastic job. He should win the Academy Award for best Actor. He should of won the Golden Globe for acting, but was robbed because Jeff Bridges actually did a decent job at acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveSJan 31, 2010
Walked out after 30 minutes. Absolutely no plot or character development development. Luckily, the theater management let us go to another movie at no charge. Saw 'The Book of Eli' which probably isn't an Oscar contender but Walked out after 30 minutes. Absolutely no plot or character development development. Luckily, the theater management let us go to another movie at no charge. Saw 'The Book of Eli' which probably isn't an Oscar contender but was infinitely better than the mindless trainwreck we walked out of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CollinPFeb 11, 2010
The genius of this film lies in its duality. Yes, George Clooney's character is self-centered, irresponsible and at times shallow. But he also makes many good points about how we don't all have to follow one singular path. He The genius of this film lies in its duality. Yes, George Clooney's character is self-centered, irresponsible and at times shallow. But he also makes many good points about how we don't all have to follow one singular path. He chooses to live a life different from the mainstream, and while most people (understandably) may think this is a shallow decision, he's proving that we shouldn't feel like there's only one way we can "live" this life here on earth. Not everyone wants to have kids, get married, buy a house, and live a sedentary, domesticated life. Yet, all the while throughout the film (though obviously a bit contrived) he comes to see that it's maybe he himself who is narrow-minded about the way one should live their life (and that a human connection is likely one of the most fulfilling things we can accomplish). That's why I loved this movie. It allows you to take many different messages from it, without shoving one down your throat, right down to the harshly ambiguous ending. Easily top 5 of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanAMar 23, 2010
The best film of the year. Anna Kendrick is going to be huge. She simply invigorated every one of her scenes and was unforgettable. If you really hated this film then either the subject matter has no meaning for you - astonishing given the The best film of the year. Anna Kendrick is going to be huge. She simply invigorated every one of her scenes and was unforgettable. If you really hated this film then either the subject matter has no meaning for you - astonishing given the current economy - or you have absolutely no understanding of cinema . As for the guy who left after 30 minutes and then has the gall to tell us this film was a train wreck, at least I read your entire review before I concluded that you're an idiot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PhilApr 13, 2010
Dreadful. trite. what are you watching that you can rate this a good movie? i'd rather watch paint dry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
H.O.WardDec 17, 2009
It was terrible, sprinkled with a few predictable overdone Hollywood scenes. Terrible!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
YvanDec 18, 2009
A generally smug and annoying piece of garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChrisK.Dec 19, 2009
It's flat. There's nothing driving it forward. Clooney will keep his job. The young girl will wake up to her heart. Farmiga, a sensational actor, was nearly wasted. Predictable, episodic, dripping phony sentimentality, the picture It's flat. There's nothing driving it forward. Clooney will keep his job. The young girl will wake up to her heart. Farmiga, a sensational actor, was nearly wasted. Predictable, episodic, dripping phony sentimentality, the picture started going nowhere and ended up there. The critics should get over Clooney and look at the picture itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DWillyDec 19, 2009
Gads, what a terrible movie. While I admittedly hate Jason Reitman
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewRosenthalDec 19, 2009
Movie was OK but a few trouble moments and never show why main character is the way he is
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanP.Dec 20, 2009
It' s so refreshing to go to a movie and be totally entertained the entire time on a purely adult level. No guns, no bombs, no special effects, just exceptional acting. Bravo George Clooney!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
anned.Dec 25, 2009
Couldn't be better. Clooney is natural yet complex, pacing is perfect. There isn't a weak performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AaronH.Dec 25, 2009
So looking forward to seeing this film. After 40 minutes of this garbage I walked out. Boring!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MelanieS.Dec 26, 2009
Enjoyed the movie, but felt it did not live up to the hype. Great performance by Clooney and supporting cast was good. Don't feel the movie should be an Oscar contender.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PaulS.Dec 26, 2009
Usually I trust the reviews/metascores on this site, but in this case I was sorely disappointed. The performances are pretty good but the story and characters are painfully generic. I went in expecting dark satire akin to American Beauty, Usually I trust the reviews/metascores on this site, but in this case I was sorely disappointed. The performances are pretty good but the story and characters are painfully generic. I went in expecting dark satire akin to American Beauty, but I got mostly generic romantic comedy crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielR.Dec 26, 2009
Incredible performances by the leads and deftly done cameos by a nice assortment of familiar faces. A movie that actually comes along that means something in today's day and age and isn't 1-2 years late, like all wanna-be relevant Incredible performances by the leads and deftly done cameos by a nice assortment of familiar faces. A movie that actually comes along that means something in today's day and age and isn't 1-2 years late, like all wanna-be relevant movies usually end up being. Terrific stuff - funny, sad, meaningful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RichardF.Dec 27, 2009
O.K. Why would a married women give the man she is screwing around with her home address..?!? And really.......wouldn't any of us call before we jumped on a plane to Chicago.......?!? The second half turned into stupid, manipulative O.K. Why would a married women give the man she is screwing around with her home address..?!? And really.......wouldn't any of us call before we jumped on a plane to Chicago.......?!? The second half turned into stupid, manipulative Hollywood bullsh.......the wedding scene/reception went on way to long and was totally out of context.....the movie stayed real around the cold reality of losing one's job, but got sentimental and unrealistic when it came to getting married and "living happily ever after"........Oh, and the product placement was ridiculous......having Hertz, Hilton, and American Airlines crammed down my throat was so obvious and quite nauseating.......Please tell me we can do better..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FranceL.Dec 28, 2009
George Clooney's smooth presence is insufficient to overcome the meandering plot and stream of unsteady dialog. For every fine moment, there is a false one. I guess the critics who found this movie hugely entertaining must be smugly George Clooney's smooth presence is insufficient to overcome the meandering plot and stream of unsteady dialog. For every fine moment, there is a false one. I guess the critics who found this movie hugely entertaining must be smugly certain of their own job security. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesH.Dec 28, 2009
"Up In The Air" is a good film, but I don't understand all the Oscar buzz. It's not THAT good. There were moments of disbelief in the dialogue or actions of the characters for me, but they were brief and did not destroy the overall "Up In The Air" is a good film, but I don't understand all the Oscar buzz. It's not THAT good. There were moments of disbelief in the dialogue or actions of the characters for me, but they were brief and did not destroy the overall successes of the movie. All the acting is very good. The movie started a little slow then got legs and kept getting better. The ending was perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrienC.Dec 31, 2009
Decent movie but not great. Save your money and see it when it comes out on video.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HappyDec 31, 2009
An awful abomination of epic proportions. Whoever reviews this stuff should be fired for impersonating a professional critic. Beyond boring and depressing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewM.Dec 4, 2009
In my opinion the best movie of the year, with Hurt Locker a very close second. I am not a huge fan of Reitman, but the writing, directing, and acting in this is incredible, not to mention the subtext of our culture, who we've become as In my opinion the best movie of the year, with Hurt Locker a very close second. I am not a huge fan of Reitman, but the writing, directing, and acting in this is incredible, not to mention the subtext of our culture, who we've become as people, and what we're doing to our uncles, aunts, fathers, and grandfathers. This film has humor, pain, joy, sadness, and moments of belief in love followed by deep existential loneliness. Amazing work, gonna see it again very soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasF.Dec 5, 2009
Beautiful, charismatic, charming, well-made, sharp-looking, era-defining, relevant, poignant, thoughtful, hard-hitting, did I mention beautiful. The scene with the wedding? That's really a killer. See it, now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeffS.Dec 5, 2009
A good movie but not a great movie. The first half is smart and entertaining, while I felt the second half lost it's way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
QwertyDec 8, 2009
This is a good one--almost, but not quite, in a class with The Hurt Locker. Clooney's not just a pretty face after all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichaelGatesDec 14, 2009
Totally inept. Clooney is more of a cardboard cut-out than the one he carries from city to city. Slick, superficial, telegraphing every punch, this is a shallow, superficial, unfunny, boring would-be exploitation of the current economic Totally inept. Clooney is more of a cardboard cut-out than the one he carries from city to city. Slick, superficial, telegraphing every punch, this is a shallow, superficial, unfunny, boring would-be exploitation of the current economic malaise. I'd rather be fired than sit through it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EVANQ.Dec 16, 2009
Very well done and 'different' in my opinion. I thought it was very genuine with the inclusion of real people who were fired and asked to speak to the camera as if it was their boss. Great story that pulls at the hearts strings and Very well done and 'different' in my opinion. I thought it was very genuine with the inclusion of real people who were fired and asked to speak to the camera as if it was their boss. Great story that pulls at the hearts strings and makes you think about your own life with a new perspective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TomR.Dec 17, 2009
How can we call a film with no true idea of what it is saying "era defining"?! This film is a cinematic rope-a-dope. It's saying "Hey look over here at these fantastic and attractive actors acting well but pay no attention to the fact How can we call a film with no true idea of what it is saying "era defining"?! This film is a cinematic rope-a-dope. It's saying "Hey look over here at these fantastic and attractive actors acting well but pay no attention to the fact that what the say and do doesn't add up or bring to light any clear statement or comment on anything." It's one thing to show a tragic trend in our culture (and kudos for taking it on) but when you don't really say anything about the why's or what to do's of that trend while acting like you have, that's where I have a problem with you. The emperor has no clothes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MathewH.Dec 17, 2009
Most together film I've seen in a while - thoughtful, funny and well-played. Clooney can be a little too smug to really relate to but he does a great job here, showing just enough cracks in his armor to be convincing. The two female Most together film I've seen in a while - thoughtful, funny and well-played. Clooney can be a little too smug to really relate to but he does a great job here, showing just enough cracks in his armor to be convincing. The two female leads hold their own against his charm, the three of them bouncing off one another with great comic timing, from a witty script. Visually it's stark, bland even sometimes, but that reflects the world these people live in. It's barely noticeable either way with the zing between the actors filling the screen. I think it might edge a little too much into sentimentality towards the end, not feeling quite so tight, but the overall effect is very enjoyable, and thought-provoking too with the topical subject matter. Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasP.Dec 21, 2009
Definitely the best movie of the year thus far. I went into the theater with pretty high expectations and actually got more than what I hoped for, the first time I can remember this happening. It's funny in a way that makes you smile Definitely the best movie of the year thus far. I went into the theater with pretty high expectations and actually got more than what I hoped for, the first time I can remember this happening. It's funny in a way that makes you smile more than laugh, it's happy, it's sad, it's emotional, unpredictable, depressing, fascinating and beautiful from one scene to the next. Worth the trip to the movies, and you'll probably be willing to pay for a second screening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LindaL.Dec 24, 2009
Clooney is good as his usual cad-with-a-heart-of-gold. The movie is smart and engaging. Yet I'm not sure what it's trying to tell me, especially after a twist that really alters our view of one of the characters. Don't need a Clooney is good as his usual cad-with-a-heart-of-gold. The movie is smart and engaging. Yet I'm not sure what it's trying to tell me, especially after a twist that really alters our view of one of the characters. Don't need a film to tell me downsizing sucks, or that people who need people are the luckiest people in the world. Still, I give them credit for some laughs and for not going for the easy resolution. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CindyC.Dec 24, 2009
Every year in late December, Hollywood rolls out its designated Oscar Worthy Movie. Critics rave, name it to their Top 10 lists, and the film receives many nominations. It is only later, when the rest of us have the chance to see it, that we Every year in late December, Hollywood rolls out its designated Oscar Worthy Movie. Critics rave, name it to their Top 10 lists, and the film receives many nominations. It is only later, when the rest of us have the chance to see it, that we realize the film is overhyped and ordinary. This year, that film is "Up in the Air". The film boasts some strong individual performances, but the story was boring and predictable. Midway through the film, I was checking my watch and wondering when the film would end. Up in the Air: overrated. If you want to see great film-making, see Avatar or District 9 instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaxM>Dec 24, 2009
One of my favorite movies of the year. The chemistry between the leads was proof that it is an important element. Anna Kendrick shows that she is one to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GuillermoP.Dec 25, 2009
Up in the air is this years critical favorite but all I saw was a well acted, smartly written, good movie. It won't even make my top 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DickL.Dec 26, 2009
Best movie oscar, best actor oscar, at least!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HiredGunDec 26, 2009
Cute. But the wedding scene was poorly scripted. It was a necessary part of the movie but didn't hang together well. It brought the entire movie down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ClydeDec 28, 2009
I really did not like this movie, i found some parts to be laugh out loud funny but others didn't think it was and i later found out it was supposed to be serous hmm bad acting anyway the end is bad and the movie itself in my opinion is I really did not like this movie, i found some parts to be laugh out loud funny but others didn't think it was and i later found out it was supposed to be serous hmm bad acting anyway the end is bad and the movie itself in my opinion is stupid. its nothing special...i almost wanted to ask for my money back Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarkCriticSep 1, 2010
Up in the Air is a wonderful film that I've just seen two times already! George Clooney is one my favorite actors of all time and one of the coolest guys ever and he did really good on his performance. Vera Farmiga & Anna Kendrick did theirUp in the Air is a wonderful film that I've just seen two times already! George Clooney is one my favorite actors of all time and one of the coolest guys ever and he did really good on his performance. Vera Farmiga & Anna Kendrick did their job really supportive and very clever. The scenes are very good like they travel away to United States with great cinematography with each shot of the clouds,cities,and course the entire cast. The story is very interesting way that you see Clooney was traveling to each airport and tells the perfect story about his life that he do all day for working on the company that he fires to everyone in their jobs. I really love this movie of all time and one of the best 2009 films ever! And one of my favorite films in my decade of 2000's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ComasiFeb 6, 2012
Up in the Air was one of the best movies of 2009. George Clooney gave a great performance and the movie was funny and heartwarming. It managed to do what most movies can't do. Feel real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
Being a minor with not much responsibility other than taking the next test or completing a major homework assignment, I have not really been affected by the downturn of the economy. I can see how other people are affected by it, but I haveBeing a minor with not much responsibility other than taking the next test or completing a major homework assignment, I have not really been affected by the downturn of the economy. I can see how other people are affected by it, but I have not really felt what it is like to lose a job, losing a home, or having no money to my name.

Jason Reitman's (director of Juno) explores the downturn of the economy through characters Ryan Bringham played by veteran George Clooney. Ryan is hired by other companies to fire workers simply because the managers do not have the "balls" to do so. Bringham experiences the fast life, traveling from city to city, only really exploring the airport and the monotonous lives of office buildings. During his ventures to airports, he meets fellow Alex Goran, Vera Farmiga, a fellow "fast-lifer" and goes into a "casual" relationship with her. Clooney is content with his life of little personal human communication until young Natalie Keener, Anna Kendrick (Twilight), tries to make Clooney's company more "efficient," threatening Clooney's lifestyle. Clooney then spends most of the film taking Keener to fire people showing her that her "developments" will ruin the basis of the job.

Up In The Air is a commendable movie. Being a fan of Juno and other "hipster" films, I immediately fell in love with the artistic shots, indie music, and funny one-liners. But unlike Juno, Reitman's film actually has meaning. It is a true representation of today's economy, focusing and conveying the "lows" of our society. Up In The Air is not a "feel-good" movie as it portrays death, loss, and love, in a very negative way. But because of this, it establishes the purpose of the film, showing life is ugly.

The cast of the movie achieves a well-acted feat. George Clooney acts in his truly apathetic character to the point of realism. Although Clooney performs an Oscar-worthy performance, his character's emotions are not consistent throughout the movie. Clooney's character goes through an emotional change, that would seem to drastic for it to be possible. Clooney's love interest, Vera Farmiga likewise plays her character to perfection without the flaws of an emotional change. Although actors Clooney and Farmiga make this film shine, Anna Kendrick's performance is less than stellar. Kendrick, known for her roles in Twilight, doesn't move beyond the teen acting she displays in the teen-vampire hit. Her character is important to the story, but I sometimes found her character to be both bothersome and somewhat annoying. Kendrick's performance got her a nomination for Best Supporting Actress for the Golden Globes which in my opinion, is not deserved. The acting in Up In The Air is great, but it contains some minor flaws that can be overlooked.

Up In The Air is a movie that I recommend to most mature movie goers. Like Jason Reitman's other directed films, it has a dark feel that leads to a good film. Young audiences will not appreciate this film, of course, due to a representation that will just "go over their heads." The final song in the credits composed by an average citizen, sums this movie up, as it brings reality to the film from a true representative. Never has a film's credits been so touching. Overall, Up In The Air is the movie that this recession will be represented by for generations to come.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
boneNov 18, 2010
The best movie of 2009. The characters and events in the film are fairly different from those in the book by Walter Kirn, but I enjoyed both. The main and supporting actors performed really well. Anna Kendrick showed how great she can be.The best movie of 2009. The characters and events in the film are fairly different from those in the book by Walter Kirn, but I enjoyed both. The main and supporting actors performed really well. Anna Kendrick showed how great she can be. Jason Reitman keeps improving as a director besting Juno, which bested Thank You For Smoking. Great satire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ProphetOfTruthNov 26, 2010
A very entertaining and intriguing story of a man and his peculiar job. I'm not sure how realistic the whole plot was but nevertheless I think the film was able to captivate the audience for the majority of the time. Some parts of the filmA very entertaining and intriguing story of a man and his peculiar job. I'm not sure how realistic the whole plot was but nevertheless I think the film was able to captivate the audience for the majority of the time. Some parts of the film was pretty humorous but other parts seemed a bit boring and pointless. Still, it was a brilliant performance by Clooney and Kendrick, other actors/actress weren't too bad either. The film generally does well to depict the story of a corporate business expert and maybe a child prodigy, which is a pretty unique experience. This is not a very fast paced film but not too slow and boring either. It is very enjoyable if you have the time to sit back and relax. Probably not suited for people with a small attention span or lack of intelligence. I'd give it 8/10 just put 10 to boost the score as it doesn't reflect how good the film is atm. :P Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJul 15, 2012
Up in the Air is a fantastic piece of existential character study. Powered by a masterful performance by George Clooney, the movie hits all the right notes before coming to a subtle yet wrenching conclusion. Excelling in all departments fromUp in the Air is a fantastic piece of existential character study. Powered by a masterful performance by George Clooney, the movie hits all the right notes before coming to a subtle yet wrenching conclusion. Excelling in all departments from directing to soundtrack, Up in the Air is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
justathoughtablDec 31, 2010
Overall I enjoyed this movie and appreciated its complex, all-is-not-black-or-white message. However, I had a few issues with it. For instance, WHO would buy into that "What's in your backpack" message? Companies want to create the illusionOverall I enjoyed this movie and appreciated its complex, all-is-not-black-or-white message. However, I had a few issues with it. For instance, WHO would buy into that "What's in your backpack" message? Companies want to create the illusion that they're warm and fuzzy families, and no one would tolerate someone who blatantly told them to fly solo. That sideline plot hit us over the head with a message that we already "got" just by observing Clooney. Also, the George Clooney character never seems lonely, sad, or depressed until he learns his lesson about the importance of having a co-pilot. The movie could have done more to make you think he KNEW was missing something in life, because he seemed quite satisfied. But as I said, it's an excellent movie, despite its flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
It is a simple and spontaneous movie, but it turns out to be deep and inspirational one. The movie directed by Jason Reitman, the young Director and the son of Ivan Reitman. Ivan Reitman known-well as a Producer and acclaimed Director,It is a simple and spontaneous movie, but it turns out to be deep and inspirational one. The movie directed by Jason Reitman, the young Director and the son of Ivan Reitman. Ivan Reitman known-well as a Producer and acclaimed Director, through his fun and pop corn movies such as: GHOSTBUSTERS (1984), KINDERGARTEN COP (1990), and EVOLUTION (2001). Flip over with his father, Jason Reitman known-well in these recent years as thoughtful and serious but enjoyable dramas like: THANK YOU FOR SMOKING (2005) and JUNO (2007). The trio Casts in thiz movie fill the characters properly. George Clooney once again shows his talent on the one man show, Clooney is one of the Actors could delivers such character with his aura. Vera Farmiga appears a little bit sexy, charming, and loveable. It is a fantastic flirtatious appearance. Anna Kendricks emerges annoying but acquired sympathy in the end, just fit well on her character. The unique story is about Ryan Bingham (Clooney) who is a frequent flyer across the states. His job is to fire people, representing his boss that did not bold enough to do it himself. Maybe for many people, thiz is a life drama movie. But personally for me, thiz is a great romantic movie with the most of scenes contain with tremendous chemistry between Clooney and Farmiga. It has been a long time I did not have such a feeling since LOST IN TRANSLATION (2003). In the end, The movie was convincing us that we need a partner in life. It is ironically played by life-time bachelor Clooney (in the real life-at least until now). Yup, maybe that is true, Everybody needs a co-pilot.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TBDOPEY22Feb 22, 2011
Good movie. It was a great display of life as some one who's always travels for there company. I think this was a good role for George Clooney and he did a great job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bottafffMar 15, 2011
Up in the air was witty and funny. It's a story about a man who doesn't realize how lonely he really his and how he changes as a person throughout the movie. Not to mention George Clooney was outstanding, he fit the role perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
s053714Jun 13, 2011
A mature comedy-drama for adults with a really neat twist at the end. All the principle actors are really fine and the direction is right on, with a first rate screenplay and dialog. One of my favorites and one of George Clooney's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
davenbettridgeOct 9, 2011
Up in the Air is a movie that I found myself relating to on many levels and its impact I found personal, something that is missing from most movies. The characters are very real, the theme of how boring everyday life can be is interesting andUp in the Air is a movie that I found myself relating to on many levels and its impact I found personal, something that is missing from most movies. The characters are very real, the theme of how boring everyday life can be is interesting and the 3rd act of the film is awesome and memorable. The interviews and theme of people losing their jobs seems relevant on one hand but a little forced and disconnected to the main plot but its only a minor gripe. Up In The Air is great and a must see. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
islandOct 15, 2011
I don't really like this kind of romantic films but this time I kinda liked it. Liked the acting performances but imo George Clooney's role was pathetic. I really appreciated the lack of happy-ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LevelsAndGearDec 27, 2011
"Up In The Air" One Line Review! "A-"

Extremely timely, thought provoking and emotional - And just when I thought they were going to wrap things up a little too neatly, BAM - I loved it, I think everyone would benefit from seeing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
paulyhJul 18, 2011
Good little film, not the funniest or most dramatic film ive ever seen but well acted, directed and shot with a good script and likeable characters who make you want to see more of them after the credits have rolled. Having said that, my wifeGood little film, not the funniest or most dramatic film ive ever seen but well acted, directed and shot with a good script and likeable characters who make you want to see more of them after the credits have rolled. Having said that, my wife hated it and fell asleep before the end! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CRLJul 30, 2011
Billed to me as a comedy, Up in the Air is much more than that. It's an emotionally moving and laugh-inducing drama with stellar acting from George Clooney. The premise is so sarcastically dry, as is Clooney's character, that by itself itBilled to me as a comedy, Up in the Air is much more than that. It's an emotionally moving and laugh-inducing drama with stellar acting from George Clooney. The premise is so sarcastically dry, as is Clooney's character, that by itself it invokes a few laughs. Add to that some surprisingly dark themes towards the ending and it becomes complete in every possible way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
eTurkeyMar 1, 2012
Although marketed and advertised as a comedy-drama film, this movie truthfully skimps on the laughs but redeems itself in the dramatic sense. However there are so many different themes in 'Up in the Air' one could be forgiven in thinking theAlthough marketed and advertised as a comedy-drama film, this movie truthfully skimps on the laughs but redeems itself in the dramatic sense. However there are so many different themes in 'Up in the Air' one could be forgiven in thinking the flick (in itself) is a self-motivational handout. Sadly some are left unanswered. Despite that George Clooney is excellently cast in the lead which matches his public persona of being quite charming but the standout has to be Vera Farmiga; a desirable choice for Clooney's love interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
imthenoobMar 12, 2012
I really liked this movie. Solid acting by the cast, An interesting plot, and overall its just a solid film that I really enjoyed watching. Im suprised that the fans dont like it more but hey, I guess its not for everyone. But to me, ItsI really liked this movie. Solid acting by the cast, An interesting plot, and overall its just a solid film that I really enjoyed watching. Im suprised that the fans dont like it more but hey, I guess its not for everyone. But to me, Its definently worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Boozerx7Feb 16, 2012
A truly enjoyable movie from start to finish. makes you ponder abt your life and future. A compelling performance from the cast. Good storyline combined with powerful cast and amazing direction and cinematography of the movie. what more can iA truly enjoyable movie from start to finish. makes you ponder abt your life and future. A compelling performance from the cast. Good storyline combined with powerful cast and amazing direction and cinematography of the movie. what more can i ask for? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Jason Reitman + George Clooney + Vera Farmiga + Anna Kendrick = cinematic perfection. Smart and bold. You know it's good when you begin to question your own life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Mar 30, 2013
Up in the Air is a film that is tiresome and worthless, with characters I didn't like one bit. What fascinates me the most is how this film can put someone to sleep faster than a lullaby. A pointless dull film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
A very boring film. The acting is overpraised so much that it is ridiculous. The critics are so wrong. Everything about it, had nothing new to offer. This movie even makes me more sick of George than I already am.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleSep 28, 2015
Up in the Air continued Jason Reitman's early hot streak before his more recent missteps and though I prefer Thank You for Smoking and Juno, Up in the Air is still a good film. With a great emotional center and theories on loneliness,Up in the Air continued Jason Reitman's early hot streak before his more recent missteps and though I prefer Thank You for Smoking and Juno, Up in the Air is still a good film. With a great emotional center and theories on loneliness, happiness, marriage, and purpose in life, the film has a lot to say throughout. The writing is spectacular as is the direction and when the characters feel hurt, so does the audience. This is largely thanks to the great acting from George Clooney, Anna Kendrick, and Vera Farmiga. However, the true success of the film comes from how real it all feels. It never feels fake and it almost feels as though you are watching a documentary about these regular people. In addition, it was very timely with its release, as it focuses on a guy who fires people for a living and came out in 2009. On the topic of starting over, the film does a very good job and portrays these people with a lot of compassion and honesty. Overall, Up in the Air is a very good film that has a great emotional center that makes it really hit home for people of all ages and features Anna Kendrick's breakout performance, which really stole the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I think the critics went slightly overboard when reviewing this film. It is a good film which is funny in places but at times it seems far too stuck up itself to realise when it is waning from the plot. Reitman continues to produce good filmsI think the critics went slightly overboard when reviewing this film. It is a good film which is funny in places but at times it seems far too stuck up itself to realise when it is waning from the plot. Reitman continues to produce good films but this is not his best work as some would have you believe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersFeb 24, 2013
Just a terrific film! An honest picture of charming, but flawed, people. Perfectly acted by George Clooney, Vera Farmiga, and Anna Kendrick. Brilliant script, brilliant film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithJun 26, 2014
I gave this a 9 before, but I'm going to lower my score now for a few reasons. There are spots in this movie that are somewhat un-engaging and boring. These scenes are at odds with the rest of the movie which is entertaining, lively, andI gave this a 9 before, but I'm going to lower my score now for a few reasons. There are spots in this movie that are somewhat un-engaging and boring. These scenes are at odds with the rest of the movie which is entertaining, lively, and sharply directed by Reitman. The dialogue is realistic, the performances are believable, and there are even some unexpected turns. From a filmmaking standpoint the movie is almost flawless. It's just that the audience for this film is somewhat limited. It's being called a comedy, but it's really a straightforward drama. It's not really even a hybrid of the two like Reitman's own Juno or Silver Linings Playbook. It might not be funny, but I'd still take this over the cliché crap that usually comes out of this genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sammieteeOct 30, 2013
I really really enjoyed this movie. It was bitter sweet in a wonderful way. The story flowed nicely and Clooney's character suited him extremely well. It doesn't end in the happiest ending but that is what makes it a good movie. I wouldI really really enjoyed this movie. It was bitter sweet in a wonderful way. The story flowed nicely and Clooney's character suited him extremely well. It doesn't end in the happiest ending but that is what makes it a good movie. I would definitely recommend this movie to anybody. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BloodMeridian85Dec 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slickly rendered and intelligently scripted, offering a deft mixture of comedy and pathos, "Up in the Air" is entertaining but also painstakingly grounded in reality, seamlessly entwining humor with an existentially bleak edge that this troubled era of downsizing and recession makes all the more meaningful and relevant.

As far as acting goes, the performances here are exceptional, and are largely what makes it work. J. K. Simmons and Steve Eastin are fantastic in their brief but brilliant cameos as fired employees; Amy Morton and Jason Bateman offer some good supporting work; and Vera Farmiga and Anna Kendrick deliver richly layered performances in their respective roles, Kendrick in particular. But George Clooney is the centerpiece of the film evoking Ryan Bingham with charisma and suave interlaced with loneliness, desperation and fear.

A fantastic view.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
manuprathapJul 3, 2014
Run away if you see Clooney in a suit next time.
It's a pathetic movie.I watched 3 clooney movies consecutively after getting overwhelmed by seen 'Burn after reading" it is a very good satire movie.Love that one(congrats to COEN bros,love
Run away if you see Clooney in a suit next time.
It's a pathetic movie.I watched 3 clooney movies consecutively after getting overwhelmed by seen 'Burn after reading" it is a very good satire movie.Love that one(congrats to COEN bros,love them too after this movie)
What is George clooney? an MBA holder working as CFO in one of the MNCs ,if so he has performed very well.
But i didn't download the movie to see how good he is in corporate affairs.A boring,not at all interesting movie.Good performance by actors.but i hate this movie.I got similar experiences from his recent 2 movies too(Syriana,Michael Clayton).All these films are like some David fincher movie with full of dialogues as if they were made to test the retention skills of actors,no twists,wits,action,comedy,sentiments .They are political movies dealing with contemporary American lives but ..as a movie it doesn't present the matters in a more digestible way with good stands ,but for that purpose a documentary is good don't waste our time by producing such 'Mr.Perfect man in Suite movies'.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
catsy11Jul 27, 2014
Have just seen this - though I like GC I CANNOT understand how it got such rave reviews. This film is absolutely crap. Characters whilst well played are unsympathetic, the story goes nowhere - got to the end wondering what was the point ofHave just seen this - though I like GC I CANNOT understand how it got such rave reviews. This film is absolutely crap. Characters whilst well played are unsympathetic, the story goes nowhere - got to the end wondering what was the point of this film? There is none in fact .... I don't need happy endings but I would like an ending - did the writer run out of ideas? Sorry just rubbish Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FrenchToastOct 15, 2018
There are very few movies that I"ve seen that were done so well that it didn't feel like a movie, and this is one of them. Great cast and creative story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
pajamatimeOct 28, 2014
it's really a great movie except when Anna Kendrick cried when her boyfriend broke up with her via text it was obvious that she was trying to fake it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
CameraBounceGodSep 11, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i can't see how this movie could end or how i let it start........anna kendrick firing people is exactly what terrible people would want to see......no matter how much she looks good it just can't save the movie from being fired over the internet by me....the only redeemable thing is that she was called a fourth grader......im so glad anna kendrick died in the voices that I might actually go watch it.......being without a job is hard enough without having to see women get jobs with their looks (kendrick) or showing their butt (farmiga) ....i think if a film buff watches this movie twice it's because boredom and loneliness ...... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hanneguacamoleJun 29, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As I see George Clooney star in more and more typical white collar men in mid-life crises, I start to appreciate those films that manage to be enchanting without a big shot actor stealing the spotlight. With that said, Up In the Air did feel new. The planes may use recycled air, but when I saw Des Moines light up on the screen, I took a gasp of fresh air.

Ryan Bingham isn't your typical worker that wants to go to the office from 9 to 5 and never think about the job again until he returns. No. Ryan loves, he breathes his job. In fact, he doesn't even have a life outside of it. The loyalty and the miles and the ten million goal are what makes him the person that he is. He even thinks that's what he wants too. Living out of a simple carry-on bag, what more could someone need?

Of course, nothing lasts forever, and Natalie Keener, the stereotypical naïve girl throws a wrench in his life and ends up under his wing. Firing people can't be an easy job, but being the stoic and unemotional person that he is, Ryan does it with ease. People change him, and that's all to be expected. People change you, and Ryan is changed as well. Actually, I can't help but think that the picture he drags around with him for his sister's wedding represents something much larger. His personal growth with his philosophies. From being shiny and new, to used and falling apart, and ultimately ending up happy.

"You're the youngest to hit 10 mil, I don't know where you found the time." He found it by living in the sky – no commitments and nobody waiting for him at home. The only thing to his name is a 1-bedroom apartment and various flings to "escape real life." But this is Ryan's real life, and whether he just stays because it's too late or because he wants to is an enigma.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MateusShieldsAug 18, 2015
Up in the Air is definitely not a bad film, but it's not a good one. The first act is great, all the characters are likeable, the story is entertaining and fun, but then comes the second act, and it feels like the wedding is sidetracking theUp in the Air is definitely not a bad film, but it's not a good one. The first act is great, all the characters are likeable, the story is entertaining and fun, but then comes the second act, and it feels like the wedding is sidetracking the film from the point of the first half of the film and after that the whole movie feels lost. And I honestly understand the message it was trying to convey and the whole point of the story, but it just felt shallow, like it was barely scratching the surface of it's full potential. And even if there is a good point or an intelligent story the film has to be at least entertaining in it's entirety. Up in the Air is definitely overrated, in almost every aspect, except acting maybe, it's flawed, but not in a imperfectly perfect way, more in a wounded unrepairable way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Aug 14, 2020
The perks of being a frequent traveler, the difficult art of firing an employee, the chance encounter with your soulmate. All this in a comedy that combines the three things, intelligently without resembling what has already been seen before,The perks of being a frequent traveler, the difficult art of firing an employee, the chance encounter with your soulmate. All this in a comedy that combines the three things, intelligently without resembling what has already been seen before, leaving a good taste in the mouth. One of Clooney best shots. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KaustavJan 28, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie gave me feels, the first time I watched in 2011 and the period within and the again when watched it 2 days ago. It is very solid in terms of story it tells: of the very real issue of family, commitment and choices to make.
George Clooney as an experienced 'firer' who just given too much to an abstract dream of 10 million flyer miles in lieu of real family, closeness and perhaps a chance at a more happier life in he could just leave behind apathy. The purveyor of breakage of that apathy is portrayed in the simplistic, charming and prosaic character that is played by Anna Kendrick who is almost opposite to the mature woman who knows and has she what she wants, Vera Farmiga's character who is the final nail in the coffin of Clooney's realisation that he really has a choice now - maybe just to pick a place and fly away for a new start or not.
It is such a beautifully written and well played out story which is complemented by its cast, additional support staff, crew and music in such a way that will make happy, sad and tormented at your choices on whether you have done good to make your life more meaningful in a span of 2 hours. It is absolutely worth everybody's time if they want to fell something meaningful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
amheretojudgeMay 31, 2018
flies supreme, perpetual and omnipotent..

Up In The Air The context that it follows up to is set in a back tone where it builds up sub-consciously and grows into this behemoth emotional connection among the viewers that fuels up the feature
flies supreme, perpetual and omnipotent..

Up In The Air

The context that it follows up to is set in a back tone where it builds up sub-consciously and grows into this behemoth emotional connection among the viewers that fuels up the feature throughout the course of it. The writer is aware of its self-created characters and stays true to their nature which is utterly palpable to its tone. One of the primary reason why it charms away swiftly, is the light humour that is present among the characters and are for the characters and not for the audience and still is immensely pleasuring to encounter. A smart adaptation by Jason Reitman that offers gripping and genuinely justified plot tracks and addition to that his brilliant execution skills that is more than a forwards pass in this almost 110 minutes of a game. George Clooney has got it all covered on performance objective and is supported by a great cast like Verga Farmiga and Anna Kendrick. There is a bit of myth in the air installed in this sensibly diplomatic world which opens this portal towards the "super-ness" for the protagonist who has both pros and cons towards his untamable powers and makes it more colossal than one could ever hope for. Up In The Air is the perfect balance of plot-driven and character-driven feature that is a revelation in its own genre where the viewers flies supreme, perpetual and omnipotent.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jonslowJan 7, 2019
A thought provoking piece that is reflective and humorous at times. Clooney and the main characters are outstanding and have undeniable chemistry. Though the end of the film may not leave with resolve, it may leave you with loneliness and sadness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews