Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2147 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,763
Mixed:
175
Negative:
209
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
XxKingLeonidasMar 17, 2011
A fantastic film. The story, the setting, the characters, everything works perfectly to create this dark alternate reality. Zach Snyder has done it again, creating another beautiful world for another great film.
39 of 41 users found this helpful392
All this user's reviews
8
CollinP.Mar 8, 2009
I have to respectfully disagree with someone's assessment below regarding the movies "gratuitous sexual scenes and nudity". The Dr. Manhattan "penis" shots were not gratuitous by any means, they were simply shots of him walking around. I have to respectfully disagree with someone's assessment below regarding the movies "gratuitous sexual scenes and nudity". The Dr. Manhattan "penis" shots were not gratuitous by any means, they were simply shots of him walking around. Hardly sexual, merely biologically natural. Secondly, the sex scenes involving Silk Spectre were far from gratuitous, they were side shot intercourse scenes with limited nudity, and nothing more than stylized sexual thrusting. Finally, I'm much more disturbed by the fact that this bothered you more than the excessive gory violence that occurred throughout this movie. I mean, limbs getting cut off, heads getting impaled. I would much rather that my child saw a little nudity and some sex scenes (which are natural human qualities and biological functions), than disgusting nihilistic violence (which is not a natural human function, and only breads hate and desensitization to the movie-watching crowd). The American public has it all wrong. While we should make sure that our children are indeed protected from adult sexual material, we should be much more concerned with the graphic violence that has permeated our culture and allowed people to grow sadly tolerant of it. That being said, the movie was indeed a faithful, wonderful adaptation of the novel, with only a few points lacking (i.e., the depth of some of the characters was never realized). I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning montage as well, it was quite a spectacle to behold! Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful
10
KerryL.Mar 7, 2009
This is the best movie based on a comic book/graphic novel I have ever seen. The acting is spectacular, and every detail that had to be included is, without feeling watered down. The movie transitions between past and present well, not This is the best movie based on a comic book/graphic novel I have ever seen. The acting is spectacular, and every detail that had to be included is, without feeling watered down. The movie transitions between past and present well, not causing confusion about what is taking place. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
9
ty92Mar 24, 2020
One of the best superhero films of all time. It has a good story with interesting characters. Great acting performances by everyone. I like how it has a darker tone unlike most superhero films now days. This is the kind of **** I like.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
LEOvsMAOOct 24, 2019
Beautiful adult story with a plot that catches you and doesn't let go. Watched several times and sure that will be watching more. Recommend to watch the Director's version of this fabulous film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
ChadS.Mar 7, 2009
Pants, stat! The glowing blue man with the transluscent appendage needs a pair of pants, like the lemur from "Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa" needs pants. Adrian(Matthew Goode) probably doesn't mind that the homoeroticism of "300" escaped Pants, stat! The glowing blue man with the transluscent appendage needs a pair of pants, like the lemur from "Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa" needs pants. Adrian(Matthew Goode) probably doesn't mind that the homoeroticism of "300" escaped its reels and found a new home, in which Dr. Manhattan's nudism probably throws the other Watchmen into a homosexual panic. Quite pointedly, Adrian seems to know Dr. Manhattan(Billy Crudup) better than Laurie(Malin Akerman). While the girlfriend claims that the ultramarine entity is devoid of any compassion towards mankind, Adrian's alter-ego, Ozymanidas, notices the worry creases in the former Jon Osterman's face whenever he's vexed. The Alexander-wannabe watches men, closely. But Laurie should be one to talk, the daring rescue of some people trapped in a burning high-rise that she and Dan a.k.a. Night Owl(Patrick Wilson) attend to, seems more about correcting her new beau's impotence and gettin' their middle-aged ya-yas out, than being selfless and valiant in a derring-do mission in the night air of this alternative New York. It's mere foreplay: the superhero suits they run around in are nothing more than provocative get-ups to get them in the mood. There's something faintly "Seinfeld"-esque about Night Owl and Silk Spectre, and "Watchmen", in general. Like the characters in the Larry David-created sitcom, these superheroes are more interested in saving their own skins- Rorschach(James Earl Haley) warns the other Watchmen about an assassination plot- than saving the skins of others. How apropos that there's a Comedian(Jeffrey Dean Morgan) present. During the interim years of Allan Moore and David Gibbons' breakthrough graphic novel being stuck in developmental hell, Terry Zwigoff's adaptation of Daniel Clowes' "Ghost World" had already lured a portion of the literati into accepting the long-form comic book as a viable art form. "Watchmen" won't convert the holdover naysayers(who pooh-pooh the thought of the comic book as literature, although Allison Bechdel's "Fun Home" and Adrian Tomine's "Shortcomings" are changing more minds), which is a crying shame, since in most fanboy circles, this is the standard-bearer. While it falls short on vision, "Watchmen", more or less, holds your interest for over two hours-plus, and that's no small feat. But still, the bloated thing lacks true transcendence(for instance, the Saul Bellow army won't lay down their dog-eared copies of "The Adventures of Augie March" for this); it's just a comic book movie, albeit a reasonably smart one(not smarter than "Ironman"). And it bears repeating: pants, stat! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WayneAMar 12, 2009
Great adult oriented superhero flick. Purists to the graohic novel either say he was too faithful or not faithful enough. I loved the source material but kept that seperate in my mind while watching the movie and loved the movie. Bravo for Great adult oriented superhero flick. Purists to the graohic novel either say he was too faithful or not faithful enough. I loved the source material but kept that seperate in my mind while watching the movie and loved the movie. Bravo for giving us a R rated superhero flick. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TheMoeJan 4, 2017
Watchmen is the most underrated book to adaptation ever. The cast did a great job but the MVP is Zack Snyder, who does an amazing job of creating an almost perfect film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Saad_95Apr 14, 2017
A one of a kind Movie, Visually impressive. Casting is perfect, Direction is perfect, one of the best superhero movie. It honors its source material in a good way, Zack Snyder has done it again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
hollowMaskApr 30, 2019
The source material was translated to the screen with the reverence it deserved. This film is art.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GrantD243Jun 26, 2019
Maybe it's because it's different from the typical Marvel and DC films that have been released recently, but I really enjoyed how different and gritty this film is. I understand and recognize some of its flaws, but it currently stands as oneMaybe it's because it's different from the typical Marvel and DC films that have been released recently, but I really enjoyed how different and gritty this film is. I understand and recognize some of its flaws, but it currently stands as one of my favorite superhero films. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SathielJul 10, 2019
If there's one film from the superhero genre which can be taken seriously, as a testament of what this genre can achieve, it's Watchmen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NoahboyJul 25, 2019
An amazingly dark take on the superhero genre that Snyder somehow couldn't replicate in his DC films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
arrivistDec 26, 2019
WATCHMEN: The Ultimate Cut. One of the most visually stunning action films ever made. Snyder really is a cinematographic master. The fight scenes are brilliantly choreographed into a hyper-reality. Although the score is a little misplacedWATCHMEN: The Ultimate Cut. One of the most visually stunning action films ever made. Snyder really is a cinematographic master. The fight scenes are brilliantly choreographed into a hyper-reality. Although the score is a little misplaced and the ending differs, this film really does do justice to the graphic novel, which I have read many times. It's a shame critics shat on this, as they did with Batman vs Superman. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
owodoxistJun 22, 2020
Revolutionary themes even in today’s standards. This movie flips the cheesy hero perfect villain worthless narrative and challenges the viewer based on their morals
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
rotkuAug 7, 2011
Alternative take on superhero movies with plenty of darkness in the characters and good use of the heroes interacting with moments in history. In fact some of their actions would cause you to question if they are even the good guys whichAlternative take on superhero movies with plenty of darkness in the characters and good use of the heroes interacting with moments in history. In fact some of their actions would cause you to question if they are even the good guys which added more of a human element to them. A good sci-fi movie which rises above the usual run of the mill plots. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
Zack Snyder's "Watchmen" has it all; the dark tone/environment, insanely deep characters, powerful action, and profround ideas. It's very obedient to the comic and serves its purpose as a translator of modern heroes and what they represent toZack Snyder's "Watchmen" has it all; the dark tone/environment, insanely deep characters, powerful action, and profround ideas. It's very obedient to the comic and serves its purpose as a translator of modern heroes and what they represent to the society. Expand
12 of 18 users found this helpful126
All this user's reviews
10
mitchellowenMar 7, 2009
Definitely one of the best comic book movies to date. It admittedly falls apart once it starts rushing things after the prison break scene, but the first two hours are so beautifully done, it makes up for it. Best viewed as an homage to theDefinitely one of the best comic book movies to date. It admittedly falls apart once it starts rushing things after the prison break scene, but the first two hours are so beautifully done, it makes up for it. Best viewed as an homage to the book. Voted 10 to balance out this ridiculous 56. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
kSumJun 8, 2013
Watchmen is a halluzinogene, sharp and sterile adaption of the comics, which were regarded of being not filmable. But Zack Snyder's creation lives through the pain and insanity the fallen heroes are exposed to.
It is probably the best film I
Watchmen is a halluzinogene, sharp and sterile adaption of the comics, which were regarded of being not filmable. But Zack Snyder's creation lives through the pain and insanity the fallen heroes are exposed to.
It is probably the best film I have ever seen.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
mams2000Nov 3, 2015
Amazing movie. Scott Snyder did an amazing job to adapt Alan Moore's Masterpiece and brought us a better ending. In my opinion, it is by far the best hero movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TheCritic1Sep 30, 2011
I'm going to sum this up in two words: The best. By that, I mean this is the best superhero movie I have ever seen ( compared to the Spider man movies, which were very bad). Watchmen isn't just superhero movie, it is THE superhero movie.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a very disappointing book-to-film portrayal. Not only do they include the only stupid element from the book (Jon's ability to see into the future which I fully expected them to keep) but they also changed some things for the worst. For one, unlike in the book where there is some foreshadowing but the twist is still somewhat of a surprise, this movie gives away the identity of the villain pretty much from the beginning. Also, they give the characters superhuman abilities for some reason that, other than one minor glitch in the end of the book, never actually existed. Rorschach can't leap 10 feet into the air at will, Adrian Veidt isn't a superhero, etc. This not only made a dark and realistic world silly but it also made the closing sequence of the film incredibly retarded. And speaking of Veidt, this was by far the worst casting of all of the characters. In the book, Adrian Veidt appeared to be a "larger than life" person, not just in terms of his celebrity and persona but also in terms of his physical appearance. The dude was a big, strong, and intimidating person but Matthew Goode looks like a dorky little twerp. Malin Akerman also wasn't a great selection but she at least pulled of the role of Laurie Jupiter decent enough. The rest of the casting was fantastic and they nailed the style of the book spot on. The soundtrack was also really good. Honestly, other than the Adrian character in general, they really stayed very true to the book. It's just that this story is so reliant, not on action and effects but rather on the development of the characters and the world itself. And while they developed the world really nicely, I think they failed to develop Dr. Manhattan enough and his back story is really one of the key turns in the book. Overall I think they gave it a solid effort but it just doesn't have the same impact. I think people who read the book will at least find this movie intriguing and somewhat enjoyable but I think people who never read the book will find the movie mediocre at best. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The plot was good, but the way it was developed left me disappointed. The characters were not well-defined. In fact, on many occasions they were either boring or indifferent to me. A lot of the film consisted of scenes that did not add to the central plot.
Miss Jupiter's encounter with the Comedian. She was almost raped by him, and then it's revealed she went and had sex with him. I am assuming this is put in to reflect the distorted mentality of today's society? Or was it just to make Silk Spec cry?
I still cant understand the attraction between Silk Spectre II and Dr. Manhattan, both of which appeared several times naked the first to hold the male audience's interest (I assume) and the second only made the audience giggle and laugh, detracting from the film.
Jackie Earle Haley's portrayal of a sociopathic anti-hero was definitely the highlight of the movie. Again, these "heroes" appeared more interested in the fight than actually helping mankind (JDM's Comedian a bright example of this). This notion is revoked in the end, when even a distant Dr Manhattan is "moved" by the devious actions of Ozymandias, all in the name of mankind. Well, that settles it then. Forget democracy, bring in the world's smartest men to lead us, otherwise we are just savages that ultimately will kill each other to extinction. But if we are indeed savages, mankind and heroes alike, what's the point in saving us in the first place? So there was a message trying to be sent, but it got lost (at least, on me) somewhere along the way...
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
In the mid-’80s, writer Alan Moore began to imagine a world in which the superheroes and costumed crime-fighters he’d grown up reading helped shape the Cold War decades that had repeatedly brought humanity to the brink of extinction. ItIn the mid-’80s, writer Alan Moore began to imagine a world in which the superheroes and costumed crime-fighters he’d grown up reading helped shape the Cold War decades that had repeatedly brought humanity to the brink of extinction. It wasn’t a better world. Behind their masks and glowing eyes, the heroes Moore conceived and created with artist Dave Gibbons were hindered, and occasionally crippled, by the same conflicting impulses, childhood traumas, and redirected neuroses that drive everyone else. Moore and Gibbons’ graphic novel Watchmen helped redefine the types of stories superheroes could be used to tell, not just by freighting them with darkness—too many subsequent creators showed how easy that could be—but by weaving their capes and gadgets into a dense, deep narrative: a detective story played out against the apocalypse in a world so thoroughly realized that Charles Dickens would be jealous.

The same elements that make Watchmen a great book made a Watchmen film a difficult prospect. (Moore, on principle, removed himself and his name from the project, which probably didn’t help.) It’s remarkable that any Watchmen movie made it to the screen, after the years of false starts and litigation. And the one we got—directed by Zack Snyder, most recently responsible for the ably made, philosophically dubious Frank Miller adaptation 300—deserves credit for staying true to the characters, plot (up to a point), and look of the original material while still generating his own kind of energy. Sometimes that energy feels misapplied and overcranked, as the roar of the action drowns out the film’s human voices, but Snyder’s Watchmen keeps moving so assuredly, it’s nearly impossible not to get swept along.

Keeping Moore’s alternate-universe ’80s New York setting, Watchmen opens with the murder of The Comedian (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), a long-serving crime-fighter with a late-career sideline in covert ops. (The film keeps Moore’s dark joke that electing Nixon to multiple terms is one of his world’s problems.) A masked vigilante named Rorschach (Jackie Earle Haley)—the only one who didn’t hang up his disguise when the government outlawed civilian crime-fighters in the mid-’70s—launches an investigation and uncovers a much larger conspiracy, one seemingly tied to mounting nuclear tensions between the U.S. and the U.S.S.R., as well as a bunch of Rorschach’s old colleagues. These include the Silk Spectre (Malin Akerman), who inherited the title from her mother (Carla Gugino); Nite Owl (Patrick Wilson) a bookish, wealthy master of machines; Ozymandias (Matthew Goode), who’s since turned his remarkable intellect to acquiring wealth and power; and Dr. Manhattan (Billy Crudup), a lab-accident-created glowing godlike being whose connection to humanity remains an open question.

There’s sometimes too much Dr. Manhattan in Snyder’s Watchmen, which often feels like a feat of engineering first, an artistic expression second. But his source material keeps him grounded, as does solid work from Crudup, Wilson, and especially Haley, whose performance evokes pity, fear, sympathy, and revulsion as he goes about his single-minded pursuit of justice without compromise. Others bring less. Given a central role, the lightweight Akerman serves as an Andie MacDowell-in-Four-Weddings-And-A-Funeral-level distraction, and Snyder isn’t always well-served by his tendency to start at 11 and try to turn up the volume, particularly in a bunch of over-the-top, bone-cracking action scenes. The time spent developing watchmen-fu would have been better invested in not blowing one of the book’s big Mars setpieces, or figuring out a better alternate ending than the one dropped in the original’s place.

And yet in the end, the film’s ambitious drive to create a dread-soaked alternate America and people it with flawed, recognizable heroes carries it along. Snyder uses grand gestures to create a sense of world-imperiling doom rooted in another era, but equally at home in this one. But he also remains willing to slow down to capture the gravity of a funeral, or dwell on a moment between old partners patching up a friendship as doomsday approaches. Moore’s touch emphasizes how messed-up and needy comic-book people would have to be to do what they do. Missteps and all, Snyder’s film gets that right, and this as well: When we look up in the sky, we don’t see a bird or a plane, but a mirror.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
Thought it was... ok. Definitely not a huge crowd pleaser like The Dark Knight. No real thrills or shocking payoffs. But this is coming from a guy who's read the book about 15 or 20 times, so maybe a newcomer to the story would beg to differ.Thought it was... ok. Definitely not a huge crowd pleaser like The Dark Knight. No real thrills or shocking payoffs. But this is coming from a guy who's read the book about 15 or 20 times, so maybe a newcomer to the story would beg to differ. But uh... just flat in a lot of areas where the book didn't translate well to the screen. What worked on the page was brought to the screen by Zach Snyder as best as anyone could've mustered, but it wasn't really brought to life in a meaningful, emotional way. The violence was fine for the few fight scenes where it was actually present, but that just made them stand out as peculiar, when 90% of the movie is about... talking. Sometimes talking with bad aged makeup.

That rape scene hit me hard. Geez. I knew it was coming, I'd read it plenty of times on the page, but the way it was filmed was just... awful, and you could feel the audience dying inside. Though that was one thing I was surprised about, the audience. I dunno if it was because I went to an 11:50 pm showing or what, but nobody at my screening laughed aloud at Dr. Manhattan's blue dong like so many other reviews have been describing. They were just... pretty much silent throughout. The biggest reaction was when Rorschach spilled the oil on the convict and yelled "I'm not locked up in here with you. You're locked up in here with me." Of course they would, it was a great line.

Yea, that Dr. Manhattan... I gotta say, he ended up falling short of my expectations. Not Crudup's voice, that was fine. But the entire CGI entity just... did not look right to me. Maybe it IS the uncanny valley, but I just thought he looked unreal, inhuman, and somewhat of a failure as a visual effect. Perhaps part of that was because he had no pupils. I just checked and he doesn't have any in the graphic novel either, but... perhaps in this case it would've been better to diverge from the source material.

Like I said before... Snyder did as good a job as anyone could've in bringing this book to the movie screen. And yet... I did miss all the material that was cut out. The stuff with the two Bernies, the Psychiatrist's marital problems, Hollis getting pumpkin'd... there was a feeling of loss throughout watching the film. So I dunno how any person who hasn't read the book will react to the movie.

The ending change? Yea, fine. It works logically. About as well as the original ending I suppose. Though the visceral impact of seeing six full pages of dead corpses in New York was completely missing here. Sorry dude, but showing us a giant blue CGI explosion just doesn't carry the same impact. We needed to feel those millions of dead. I did like the Rorschach pattern in the snow though, that was something new and worked pretty well.

Oh yea, one last thing... good god Zach, what were you thinking with that Hallelujah sex scene? Dude, I like porn and I like superheroes, but that scene... I could not have rolled my eyes any further. It was cringeworthy. And no, it was not as bad as the sex scene in 300, because I was perfectly fine with that sex scene. It was short, perfunctory, and did not have an incredibly odd soundtrack. In this case, less would've been more. The scene in the book was only 2 panels, that was about right. Mostly it was the song though... that Hallelujah song will never be the same to me again.

But I did really like the intro credits with Bob Dylan.

Again, thought it was ok. But no, not the greatest comic book movie ever. It's a mostly faithful retelling of the book in 2 and a half hours that, in my opinion, will completely fly over the heads of the mainstream audience. Let's say 3 and a half stars, and I'm being generous.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
IMO its the best film based off a comic book/graphic novel of all time. I had no idea what the Watchmen was about until I bought it on DVD and I watched it with my siblings and we were all blown away by how good it was. We all enjoyed it fromIMO its the best film based off a comic book/graphic novel of all time. I had no idea what the Watchmen was about until I bought it on DVD and I watched it with my siblings and we were all blown away by how good it was. We all enjoyed it from start to finish and I am sure a lot of others would too. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Jan 26, 2013
1985, the world is on the brink of nuclear war. After a superhero named the Comedian is killed, the rest of the superheroes that form the Watchmen must reunite to track down the killer and stop world war 3. A dark, gritty, ultra-violent1985, the world is on the brink of nuclear war. After a superhero named the Comedian is killed, the rest of the superheroes that form the Watchmen must reunite to track down the killer and stop world war 3. A dark, gritty, ultra-violent superhero story full of blood, guts, slaughter and sex, Watchmen is the superhero film for adults only. A great action film with a brilliant cast, great director and epic cinematography. Only drawback to the film is the heavy use of 80's politics, which if you are not overly clear on can become too much to handle. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
SpangleJul 2, 2016
Some people are allergic to peanuts. Some to pollen. Allergies are endemic in our society. Zack Snyder is allergic to making movies that are not complete s**t. Gratuitously violent and bombastic, Watchmen is an interesting little neo-noirSome people are allergic to peanuts. Some to pollen. Allergies are endemic in our society. Zack Snyder is allergic to making movies that are not complete s**t. Gratuitously violent and bombastic, Watchmen is an interesting little neo-noir film that gets bogged down by Snyder's lesser sensibilities. His desire to go completely over-the-top kills the film with pointless sexuality, excessive violence, and random diversions into the absurd that makes you wonder how much acid Snyder indulged in whilst making the film. I have never read the comic this is based on, but this one is really odd. Why do they keep going to Mars? Why? Why must he keep showing us this blue guy's penis? The existential questions of life, which we may never get. If the film were not as violent as it is (the arm cutting scene being the most visceral offender), it would still be bad. Watchmen is simply aggressively dumb. Snyder was criticized for Batman v Superman where critics claimed it looked as though it was put together by some kid smashing his toys together. Watchmen suffers from the same problem. Instead of purposeful and impactful events, Snyder has the sensibility of a 12 year old boy who includes scenes and effects because they look cool instead of actually having any cinematic value. If this is truly a faithful adaptation of the comics, Watchmen must be one hell of a painful read. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerMar 6, 2011
This movie wasn't a great movie, the plot is pretty boring but picks up when the action finally shows up, all the characters but Rorschach are unlikable and lame, this is incredibly overhyped, and get boring at times, but you may be willingThis movie wasn't a great movie, the plot is pretty boring but picks up when the action finally shows up, all the characters but Rorschach are unlikable and lame, this is incredibly overhyped, and get boring at times, but you may be willing to give this a chance just don't expect greatness. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
W3XCApr 7, 2013
Whats wrong with us you say? Whats wrong with you i ask! This movie is great! Sure, sex scenes where not neccesary but where not bloody offensive, neither was dr.manhattans penis. I image people that found this offensive has been raped orWhats wrong with us you say? Whats wrong with you i ask! This movie is great! Sure, sex scenes where not neccesary but where not bloody offensive, neither was dr.manhattans penis. I image people that found this offensive has been raped or something, so that any "sexual" related stuff is an horror to hear/watch. Terrible acting? nope, even though im not a top-notch movie critic i can tell you that its not horrible, its fairly good in my opinion. The story is interesting enough. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
j30Nov 27, 2011
It's crazy how this movie turned out average for me. The graphic novel is great, thought-provoking, and artistic. The movie adaptation, however, feels like a wax replica of the novel. With the actors/actresses looking uninspired and dull.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
3
AlSAug 21, 2009
I have seen some bad movies in my life, and this is now in top of them. This movie just lacks composition and many scenes are just unnecessary, including some of the characters. If this was not an age of large high-definition TVs, where even I have seen some bad movies in my life, and this is now in top of them. This movie just lacks composition and many scenes are just unnecessary, including some of the characters. If this was not an age of large high-definition TVs, where even the dumbest movie looks great on the screen, most people would realize the shortage of anything good about it. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
3
TheGeneralAug 26, 2009
This movie is like watching high quality, very expensive paint dry. How anyone could make it through the Director's cut is beyond me. I thought the original release was slow as molasses.
2 of 8 users found this helpful
1
MistyMAug 1, 2009
This was indeed the worst movie I have ever seen. It made no sense - and has so many loose ends that after two weeks Im still trying to piece this movie together.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
NazguleroMar 11, 2011
There must be something like a manual for making movies. Plot, character development, pace, etc. Since apparently there isn't, abysmally awful flicks like this will continue to be made. What is the standard ? And what is the purpose ofThere must be something like a manual for making movies. Plot, character development, pace, etc. Since apparently there isn't, abysmally awful flicks like this will continue to be made. What is the standard ? And what is the purpose of submitting this to a paying audience ? Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
1
OcelotDec 5, 2010
This movie was awful. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, but you don't have to take my word for it.
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
0
TiberiuCJan 16, 2010
One hour into the movie I was still asking myself: who the fuck are these people and why should I care about them? If you want to waste your time, go watch G.I. Joe instead, it's crap, but it's many times more entertaining than One hour into the movie I was still asking myself: who the fuck are these people and why should I care about them? If you want to waste your time, go watch G.I. Joe instead, it's crap, but it's many times more entertaining than this piece of sh*t. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
CooterPatooterMar 22, 2012
Abysmally paced, ridiculous crybaby dialogue-filled, on-the-nose sexually exploitative, nearly action-free, cantankerous, dark (not in a noir-ish way but in a literal "it's difficult to tell what I'm looking at sometimes" sort of way),Abysmally paced, ridiculous crybaby dialogue-filled, on-the-nose sexually exploitative, nearly action-free, cantankerous, dark (not in a noir-ish way but in a literal "it's difficult to tell what I'm looking at sometimes" sort of way), leaden, flabby, incredibly overlong train wreck of a bullsh** movie. I've NEVER walked out of a theater before a film ended until Zack Snyder decided to make me look at Dr. Manhattan's penis for one agonizing moment after another for absolutely no reason. The four of us, exasperated, worn out... utterly soul-crushed by what we had already been subjected to leading up to this moment, finally gave up and left... LONG AFTER EVERY OTHER PERSON IN THE THEATER HAD ALREADY DONE SO! There's a line between just making a crappy movie and actually showing bald-faced contempt for your viewing audience. I'd say Snyder is definitely toeing that line, if not stepping over it here. All I know is that I'm still waiting for him to personally refund my $20. Jerk! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
KnightfallLAMay 4, 2013
I did not purchase a twelve dollar movie ticket to see terrible plot holes, poor character development, cheesy dialog lines, and a blue wang. Sure, it has mediocre fight scenes but overall, it is unbearable.This does not reflect the comicsI did not purchase a twelve dollar movie ticket to see terrible plot holes, poor character development, cheesy dialog lines, and a blue wang. Sure, it has mediocre fight scenes but overall, it is unbearable.This does not reflect the comics at all, whatsoever. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
razburnknjMay 4, 2011
Too much long. Too much violence. I like the mature and realistic approach, but in some moment it loses its goals. It has a great ending endeed but you`ll have to wait...
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
oblique15Feb 2, 2013
This movie is trash, I don`t care what anybody says. I like one of the characters, but man I should punch myself in the face for finishing this movie. I see it has good ratings from allot of people, That just makes it clear, that I am not aThis movie is trash, I don`t care what anybody says. I like one of the characters, but man I should punch myself in the face for finishing this movie. I see it has good ratings from allot of people, That just makes it clear, that I am not a zombie who just follows what other people like. I usually like "Super Hero" movies, Not this one! Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
5
nutterjrNov 16, 2010
As camp as the George Clooney's Batman films (or even Roger Moore's Bond films) and not even close to the class of "The Dark Knight." It is a great production indeed, but it is never as good as its opening credit sequence.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
2
913Feb 17, 2016
This film didnt grab me like the novel did, bad acting, great visual but no hart, felt empty and some times the dialogue felt flat, snyder is a great director but telling a story is not his thing
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
AndrewBurdickMar 8, 2009
They advertised this movie under the "who watches the watchmen" line. They also milked "from the creators of 300". Cool. I have been anticipating this movie for a year. Let me just say that out of the 2 hrs and 45 mins. I can think ofThey advertised this movie under the "who watches the watchmen" line. They also milked "from the creators of 300". Cool. I have been anticipating this movie for a year. Let me just say that out of the 2 hrs and 45 mins. I can think of maybe 15-20 mins of average/decent action.
If you are a fan of the book(s) then maybe its a good movie. I'm just glad though I'm not a fan cause this is really all just a bunch of trash. The killing of the Watchmen was a side dish to the "real" story. It was a back-story to keep the uneducated fans as myself who thought they were getting an action movie somewhat satisfied enough to not leave.

The visuals were average, nothing spectacular. I think its actually hillarious that they put it on the "Ultra" screen. Not necassary, there is no action or visualls worth it.
I've never honestly been so disapointed in a movie in my life. "I am Legend" is up there with the anticipation/hype leading to let-down. But this movie is not as advertised at all and is the biggest let down in at least the last 5 years of me being a movie-goer.
If your not a fan of the apparently garabage comic, than DO NOT EVEN RENT this crap!!! Not even close to an action movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TedcookMar 6, 2009
Sieve with microscopic holes, looks fine, but all the meaning just pours right through.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
6
C.Lo.Mar 9, 2009
The Watchmen, though enjoyable, was, to be quite honest, too long and drawn out. As some have already stated, if you've read the graphic novel and really enjoyed it, then you will probably love this movie. It is almost a perfect The Watchmen, though enjoyable, was, to be quite honest, too long and drawn out. As some have already stated, if you've read the graphic novel and really enjoyed it, then you will probably love this movie. It is almost a perfect adaptation of the graphic novel, which I found to be pretty good, though I purposefully did not read to the end so the movie would surprise me. To be frank, the first 3/4 of the movie are quite awesome, and the last 1/4 of the movie is a complete disappointment. Not to mention, Dr. Manhattan (the blue guy) is completely naked the whole movie and is exposed, which blinded me through parts of the movie (if he was having sex, it woulda been intriguing, but no, he was just hanging out. That's really enjoyable). There were many slow scenes unless Rorschach was involved, and my girlfriend even fell asleep twice during the movie. I did enjoy the story (not including the ending), the opening is amazing, Rorschach is a beast, and then... Matthew Goode's acting was terrible. Just plain awful. There are many more things to be said, but the movie was, on the whole, a let down (and i saw it at IMAX), Enjoyable, somewhat worth seeing, but if you're expecting THE next movie, wait for G.I. Joe or Transformers 2 (or Wolverine or Terminator..) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ZachC.Mar 14, 2009
From someone unfamiliar with this (or any other) graphic novel: I felt too little was explained, which made me feel lost, and what was explained was overexplained, which made me feel insulted. It was fun to watch at many points, but dull and From someone unfamiliar with this (or any other) graphic novel: I felt too little was explained, which made me feel lost, and what was explained was overexplained, which made me feel insulted. It was fun to watch at many points, but dull and slow in many others, and the story was not believable. I loved X-men and don't demand fidelity to the laws of science, but I like humans to act like humans, and didn't buy into several characters in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JohnDisapointedMar 17, 2009
An astounding fail this movie is an abomination to the book it was spawned. It is no suprise what so ever that Alan Moore wants to disassociate himself with the movie. It was a terrible movie at best on its own, had there been no book to An astounding fail this movie is an abomination to the book it was spawned. It is no suprise what so ever that Alan Moore wants to disassociate himself with the movie. It was a terrible movie at best on its own, had there been no book to compare it to countless people would have lost interest and it would have scored a 6-7. BUT since the movie was based upon a deep and powerfull book when it kills the theme, mocks the ideas and charactors and acts as an embodiment of the cancer that is hollywood I cannot help but judge hardly. They overpowerd the charactors, they added excessive sex appeal, they skipped themes, they CHANGED THE CHARACTORS turning some into archetypal supervillian douchbags rather then taking any time to explain them, I loved watchmen because there were no archetypes, now theres a supervillian, a badass, a man reliving his glory days and a slut on the screen. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JoeSMar 19, 2009
Depressing and heavy handed, the story likes to pretend it has some deep philosophical statement about human kind, but mostly it just keeps slapping you in the face with mallet that has "Humans suck!" written on it in fingerpaint. An Depressing and heavy handed, the story likes to pretend it has some deep philosophical statement about human kind, but mostly it just keeps slapping you in the face with mallet that has "Humans suck!" written on it in fingerpaint. An undeniably beautiful film, its just depressing and dark. None of the characters are likeable or have any sort of redeeming quality, and the few actually fun parts are far too short. I haven't read the graphic novel, but I have no doubt this would be better shown in narrative form because this movie just drains the life out of itself. I give it a 3 for excellent visual appeal, but I could not recommend this to anyone. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AustinTMar 27, 2009
So who are these people? How are they super powerful (besides the trite radiation accident BS with Manhattan)? Why are some of the characters the same age 50 years ago, while others grow up? Why would the villain bother going after the So who are these people? How are they super powerful (besides the trite radiation accident BS with Manhattan)? Why are some of the characters the same age 50 years ago, while others grow up? Why would the villain bother going after the watchmen instead of just doing what he planned to do in the first place? What is that thing on Mars? Why does that one guy have a purple tiger? There is not a single character I could give a crap about in this film, not one. Unless you read the comic book (I beg your pardon, "graphic novel") there is absolutely nothing in this movie that is worth the cost of admission. For the record, I loved the 300 and Sin City, so it's not that I don't "get it". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MPMar 30, 2009
Ok, so it *looks* cool, but where's the plot?? Maybe it's my fault that I never read the "graphic novel" ... but should that really be a prerequisite?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
franklJul 9, 2009
This movie has the graphics to score big as that part is very well done. The dialogues are also pretty good, but do get long and boring after a while. I'll admit I did not know Watchmen before, but it probably will not get many poeple This movie has the graphics to score big as that part is very well done. The dialogues are also pretty good, but do get long and boring after a while. I'll admit I did not know Watchmen before, but it probably will not get many poeple interested in learning more. Again, it wreally starts to get boring after a while, you start to wonder where the movie is heading, or what did you actually learn after 2 hours watching the movie. Also, Dr. Manhattan is very well done, but most of his parts could have been summarized instead of long useless dialogues. Overall graphically this movie is splendid but it ends there. Way too long to get to the point, many dialogues that could have been shortened up, this can leave you wondering why u spent 3 hours watching it. Just my opinion. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BillyCJul 27, 2009
If you're sober when you watch this you'll feel as though you're high... If you're high you'll have NO IDEA what's going on here... Terrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JohnRJul 29, 2009
Does anybody realize that this movie makes no sense? The ending is so whimsical you are driven to a Damocles sword. The elegance of the effects and the story are good until it just unravels!!! Even some earlier elements are a waste and Does anybody realize that this movie makes no sense? The ending is so whimsical you are driven to a Damocles sword. The elegance of the effects and the story are good until it just unravels!!! Even some earlier elements are a waste and contain no significance to the movie just a shame book = better! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MohamedAFeb 16, 2010
When I was watching Dark Knight in Imax a commercial came up for this movie. At first I thought 'another super hero movie'. After reading the comic and understanding each character well the movie just looked amazing to me. My When I was watching Dark Knight in Imax a commercial came up for this movie. At first I thought 'another super hero movie'. After reading the comic and understanding each character well the movie just looked amazing to me. My friends who read the comic liked it and the ones who didn't just thought it was crap. I agree that you have to read the comic to enjoy the movie, but I still watched it over 20 times. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MoviebuffreviewJan 28, 2011
Being a huge fan of the graphic novel, the only thing I hold against this movie is one performance. But the incredible accuracy to the novel, the excellent action, and the superb overall cast, Watchmen is unforgettable! See it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
cabritaSep 22, 2011
This movie is a mixed bag. Brilliantly directed in some parts. However boring and poorly acted in others. Overall worth seeing with fantastic visuals.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
LynnHardyApr 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watchmen is a different sort of film: a superhero with E.D: and a villain who wins with a "the ends justifies the means" message. Add to that the giant blue guy that runs around with his penis waging about for the last quarter of the film and this movie was made to push the envelope. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
ViolettApr 15, 2013
This movie makes me puke. Seriously. How in the world you can rate this positive This "heroes" makes no sense. Plot is awful. Main heroes HeHero and SheHero (didnt bother to remember names) are ugly as hell. And this blue guy without pantsThis movie makes me puke. Seriously. How in the world you can rate this positive This "heroes" makes no sense. Plot is awful. Main heroes HeHero and SheHero (didnt bother to remember names) are ugly as hell. And this blue guy without pants every time I saw his huge blue penis my eyes were bleeding. I simply cant understand how you can rate this more than zero. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
4
TylerDsCreationJul 2, 2013
The graphic novel, Watchmen by Alan Moore is one of my favorite books and one of the best graphic novels ever written, if not the best. It is a groundbreaking piece of literature gold that deserves to be worshiped. Yes, I just recently readThe graphic novel, Watchmen by Alan Moore is one of my favorite books and one of the best graphic novels ever written, if not the best. It is a groundbreaking piece of literature gold that deserves to be worshiped. Yes, I just recently read the book and I missed this in theaters. But I know now how all those poor soles walking into the theater one night with their personal Watchmen copy in hand just awaiting this monumental adaptation to flash before their eyes feel. It does not feel very good.
I'm going to level with you, Watchmen wasn't awful. It was actually a pretty decently filmed movie. That meaning it looked great. Zack Snyder really has a talent for visual thrills because this looked beautiful. It had that Dark Knight look to it, but it had that polished and gleaming flare to it also. Snyder has style, and if only he can get a good script to go with it and he could be legendary.
Watchmen also had something else that blew me away. It has the best opening titles I have ever seen. They play out after the first scene and they aren't your normal opening credits just showing the people behind it. They do show that, but behind a series of slow-mo scenes where it's telling you all about the world your about to delve into. It shows the whole back story with the song The Times They Are A-Changin' playing. That is the one time in this movie that I will say the song actually fits the scene, but it did.
Now time to talk about all of the faults. I thought the music choices were bad. The choices for the soundtrack were very interesting choices. The songs they chose for each scene did not fit well with what was happening on screen and as a result, it took away from the impact. This was a problem, but it wasn't the biggest problem I had with this movie. The biggest problem I had was the excessive and graphic gore throughout. It's this CG blood that flies everywhere when people are shot or hurt and it constantly comes splattering everywhere like it's Gears of War. It's comedic at certain moments and it really detracts from the scene. It doesn't even look good and that really bothered me.
In the end, Watchmen has the same problem that another adaptation had, The Great Gatsby. It is maybe a bit too faithful to the source material. I watch this movie knowing exactly whats going to happen, exactly what I will see, and even exactly what people say.They literally have line by line quotes straight from the book said in this movie, and some of the story board was taken directly from the graphic novel comic strip boxes. There's no new spin on it and it ends up just feeling like you copied off another person's school project and didn't put any real effort to call it your own.
Watchmen may be ambitious, but it sure isn't the best adaptation that the classic book could have had. That's another of the biggest problem with this movie, it has so much potential, but is squandered by the soundtrack, excessive gore, and a vision a bit too close to the source material. I really feel pity for those poor people at that midnight showing in 2009.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
mariotoadrabbitJul 6, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With more darker, thrilling, and violet then the novel, watchmen brings the intense mystery violet film that frightens the audiences under 12 or 13 with graphic violences,bad sex love scenes and others. I don't need to hurt Zack synder's feelings for this movie but he does directed others films that are good such as legend of the guardians, sucker punch, 300, and man of steel. So I would generally recommend that this is a good movie but has bad stuff in it based on the graphic novel. So there's one thing I am confused about this movie. One thing am confused is that the plot generally mixed up from character to character. Each from past it the present of the story. So I would this is that the movie maybe frighten people with intense violence and darker past of the story. So that's that things I would say about this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
DenisManuOct 12, 2014
Not that good of a graphic novel adaptation indeed.But a marvelous movie filled with great moments.With great performances and good looking visuals,this movie is entertaining and has a truly unexpected take on superheroes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Swishalicious29Apr 1, 2016
Watchmen is a decent super-hero film, but is nowhere near as good at the graphic-novel. A lot of exposition is removed, but that isn't what bothers me. The problem is that a lot of bloated action scenes were added, where none were present inWatchmen is a decent super-hero film, but is nowhere near as good at the graphic-novel. A lot of exposition is removed, but that isn't what bothers me. The problem is that a lot of bloated action scenes were added, where none were present in the novel and this hurt the characters. By creating super-hero's, Snyder completely missed the point of the comic that these are regular humans with complicated lives.

The characters don't have the same distinct personalities and traits that are in the comic. Rorschach and Nite Owl are great, but Ackerman as Silk Spectre is pretty dreadful. She doesn't have the same conflicted personality that was in the comic and speaks in a monotone that becomes tedious throughout the movie. And while I respect the reverence for the comic, it definitely wouldn't have hurt to stray from it a little at times.

Some iconic scenes are done well, (prison scene in particular) and I loved the use of a rock soundtrack. Watchmen is decent enough, but its points get lost through the long run-time. Worth a watch for fans of the comic, but I can't recommend it much more than that.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeApr 4, 2016
Users defending Zack Snyder's films make me look bad in front of public. Seriously, stop defending any film Zack Snyder has made because you know you're not a true moviegoer if you do this all day. Watchmen just keeps trying, but fails at the end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MovieMasterEddyApr 6, 2016
The only character in “Watchmen” who possesses actual superpowers — resulting from an accident at a top-secret government research lab in the late 1950s — is Dr. Manhattan, a blue, bald, naked dude with blank eyes and the voice of BillyThe only character in “Watchmen” who possesses actual superpowers — resulting from an accident at a top-secret government research lab in the late 1950s — is Dr. Manhattan, a blue, bald, naked dude with blank eyes and the voice of Billy Crudup. Dr. Manhattan’s existence is busy and fairly melancholy, but I do envy him his ability to perceive every moment of past and future time as a part of a continuous present.

If I had that power, the 2 hours 40 minutes of Zack Snyder’s grim and grisly excursion into comic-book mythology might not have felt quite so interminable. (“It will never end,” says Dr. Manhattan. “Nothing ever ends.” No indeed.) Also, an enhanced temporal perspective would make it possible to watch “Watchmen” not in 2009 but back in 1985, when the story takes place, and when the movie might have made at least a little more sense.

The original graphic novel, by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons, was published by DC in 1986 and ’87, first serially and then in a single volume, and it quickly gained a following in discriminating geek circles. The book was very much a product of its moment, both in the history of comics — which were scouting new horizons of complexity and thematic ambition — and in the wider world that “Watchmen” mirrored.

Mr. Moore and Mr. Gibbons confected a dour alternative chronology of cold-war America, defined by victory in Vietnam, an endless Nixon presidency, nuclear brinkmanship and pervasive social rot. At the same time, they offered a self-conscious critique of the national preoccupation with muscled, masked crime-fighters. Their heroes — the paranoid Rorschach, the shy Nite Owl II, the coldly post-human Dr. Manhattan and various other colleagues and rivals — were violent, ambivalent, treacherous and vain, even though they also seemed to be uniquely capable of saving the world from ultimate catastrophe.

Somewhat remarkably, Mr. Snyder’s film freezes its frame of reference in the 1980s, preserving the dank, downcast, revanchist spirit of the original and adding a few period-specific grace notes of its own, including time-capsule references to Lee Iacocca and “The McLaughlin Group.” There is also a nod of homage in the direction of “Apocalypse Now” and a soundtrack heavy with the baby-boomer anthems that still echoed in the ears of Reagan-era adolescents.

Indeed, the ideal viewer — or reviewer, as the case may be — of the “Watchmen” movie would probably be a mid-’80s college sophomore with a smattering of Nietzsche, an extensive record collection and a comic-book nerd for a roommate. The film’s carefully preserved themes of apocalypse and decay might have proved powerfully unsettling to that anxious undergraduate sitting in his dorm room, listening to “99 Luftballons” and waiting for the world to end or the Berlin Wall to come down.

He would also no doubt have been stirred by the costumes of the female superheroes — Carla Gugino and Malin Akerman, both gamely giving solid performances — who sensibly accessorize their shoulder-padded spandex leotards with garter belts and high-heeled boots. And the dense involution of the narrative might have seemed exhilarating rather than exhausting.

I’m not sure that this hypothetical young man — not to be confused with the middle-aged, 21st-century moviegoer he most likely grew into, whose old copy of “Watchmen” lies in a box somewhere alongside a dog-eared Penguin Classics edition of “Thus Spake Zarathustra” — would necessarily say that Mr. Snyder’s “Watchmen” is a good movie. I wouldn’t, though it is certainly better than the same director’s “300.” But it’s possible to imagine that our imaginary student would at least have found some food for thought in Mr. Snyder’s grandiose, meticulously art-directed vision of blood, cruelty and metaphysical dread. As it is, the film is more curiosity than provocation, an artifact of a faded world brought to zombie half-life by the cinematic technology of the present.

The title sequence — in which Mr. Moore’s name, at his insistence, does not appear, leaving Mr. Gibbons listed, somewhat absurdly, as a solitary “co-creator” of the graphic novel — seems to acknowledge the project’s anachronistic, nostalgic orientation. As Bob Dylan sings “The Times They Are A-Changin’,” familiar images from the past are altered in ways both subtle and outrageous. Tableaus evoking Andy Warhol, the Zapruder film, Studio 54 and Weegee-style crime scenes commingle with snapshots from the lives of several generations of costumed crusaders. There is a witty pop sensibility evident in these pictures that gets the movie off to a promising start, even though such breeziness works to undermine the ambient gloom of the source material.

Perhaps there is some pleasure to be found in regressing into this belligerent, adolescent state of mind. But maybe it’s better to grow up.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
It's crazy how this movie turned out average for me. The graphic novel is great, thought-provoking, and artistic. The movie adaptation, however, feels like a wax replica of the novel. With the actors/actresses looking uninspired and dull.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a very disappointing book-to-film portrayal. Not only do they include the only stupid element from the book (Jon's ability to see into the future which I fully expected them to keep) but they also changed some things for the worst. For one, unlike in the book where there is some foreshadowing but the twist is still somewhat of a surprise, this movie gives away the identity of the villain pretty much from the beginning. Also, they give the characters superhuman abilities for some reason that, other than one minor glitch in the end of the book, never actually existed. Rorschach can't leap 10 feet into the air at will, Adrian Veidt isn't a superhero, etc. This not only made a dark and realistic world silly but it also made the closing sequence of the film incredibly retarded. And speaking of Veidt, this was by far the worst casting of all of the characters. In the book, Adrian Veidt appeared to be a "larger than life" person, not just in terms of his celebrity and persona but also in terms of his physical appearance. The dude was a big, strong, and intimidating person but Matthew Goode looks like a dorky little twerp. Malin Akerman also wasn't a great selection but she at least pulled of the role of Laurie Jupiter decent enough. The rest of the casting was fantastic and they nailed the style of the book spot on. The soundtrack was also really good. Honestly, other than the Adrian character in general, they really stayed very true to the book. It's just that this story is so reliant, not on action and effects but rather on the development of the characters and the world itself. And while they developed the world really nicely, I think they failed to develop Dr. Manhattan enough and his back story is really one of the key turns in the book. Overall I think they gave it a solid effort but it just doesn't have the same impact. I think people who read the book will at least find this movie intriguing and somewhat enjoyable but I think people who never read the book will find the movie mediocre at best. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ZaratusaJan 8, 2018
This movie started out really cool with outsanding potential: good introduction and top-notch music playlist. Rorschach got some philosophical lines and that really gave you a feeling of immersion in the world. But half-way, it just comes upThis movie started out really cool with outsanding potential: good introduction and top-notch music playlist. Rorschach got some philosophical lines and that really gave you a feeling of immersion in the world. But half-way, it just comes up short. It turns itself from an intriguing puzzle-solving super-hero movie to some cheap boring cliché crap. It was just so... vague. Underwhelmed me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Cristofer21Aug 2, 2018
Good soundtrack,good visual effects and good sound but a very boring story and at times confused and incoherent, this movie only keeps the fan of the comics interested but the vast majority of the movie theater put them to sleep.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ErikTheCriticOct 14, 2018
This is one of those films where you either love it or you hate it. Interestingly enough, I am somewhere down the middle.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
jonslowJan 11, 2019
ตัวหนังยาวเกินไป น่าจะทำได้ดีกว่านี้ ตัวหนังยาวเกินไป น่าจะทำได้ดีกว่านี้
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
KamamuraFeb 18, 2019
This movie is like an old clown who could never learn to juggle rings and balls, so he finally decides to juggle words. Love, drama, death, humanity, destiny, inner conflict, ambiguity... and it all falls on the ground again. Words are noThis movie is like an old clown who could never learn to juggle rings and balls, so he finally decides to juggle words. Love, drama, death, humanity, destiny, inner conflict, ambiguity... and it all falls on the ground again. Words are no easier than rings and balls, it seems.

Suddenly, a young girl about the age of eight runs in, cone of ice cream in hand, and shouts at the clown: "Hey, Mister, you suck!". The movie desperately needs this brat, but she does not make it in time. In plain words - it's a pretentious, badly narrated, too long an attempt at pseudo-mythology from a nation that was deprived of one. Heracles will always be better than Superman.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
thecritic78Feb 26, 2019
Plot was horrible, characters were not interesting at all and the writing was not what I would expect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianApr 13, 2019
Visually fantastic, certainly Snyder at his best in that department, but the film feels bloated and in need of better editing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Jaredc324May 9, 2019
Shame such visual extravagance and stylistic fervor goes partly to waste from such an overly dense, stretched out, and lazy execution. Watchmen has moments and stretches of intrigue and awe, but the splendor dies and gets reborn again andShame such visual extravagance and stylistic fervor goes partly to waste from such an overly dense, stretched out, and lazy execution. Watchmen has moments and stretches of intrigue and awe, but the splendor dies and gets reborn again and again throughout the movie. It's never consistent, and especially with the character motivations. i just felt there wasn't a single character i could resonate or relate to. They're just posers with backstories that are more interesting than the characters themselves. Watchmen isn't a total collapse. It's actually a masterpiece in the eyes of many, and to me for what it withholds. It just doesn't know how to shape it's glory within the time frame it strives for. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
1541515154184Jul 17, 2019
I went through the entire movie only knowing two characters names if thats my fault sorry but everyone but Rorschach and Johns name. Plus the ending sucks
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
wevertonaguiiarAug 9, 2019
Esse claramente é um filme do Zack Snyder. E isso não é bom. O filme não tem emoção nenhuma.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
agent13Oct 24, 2019
The most underrated movie in the history of cinema an amazing masterpiece just like logan this is what super hero movies should be
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
tonyGreenJan 16, 2020
Mostly enjoyable but bonkers. An unusual superhero story with an intricate plot (many flashbacks and diversions). The practical sets and effects are great, the CGI elements less than great. Very violent and gory which gets a bit tiresome.Mostly enjoyable but bonkers. An unusual superhero story with an intricate plot (many flashbacks and diversions). The practical sets and effects are great, the CGI elements less than great. Very violent and gory which gets a bit tiresome. Wonderfully ambiguous characters and a clever alternative history world. Slick and a bit dumb, but pretty enjoyable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DaveWhiteMar 6, 2009
If you haven't read the novel then you are most likely NOT going to enjoy the movie that much. It drags on and on. But being a fan of the original graphic and knowing the characters and plot already, I thought it was an excellentIf you haven't read the novel then you are most likely NOT going to enjoy the movie that much. It drags on and on. But being a fan of the original graphic and knowing the characters and plot already, I thought it was an excellent adaptation. Minus one gratuitous sex scene it was dead one what I hoped it would be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MatthewHenkelMar 7, 2009
While pulling amazing levels of detail from Gibbons work the film fails to do the same to Moore's narrative. The violence is overly gorey, the sex overly porn-like in contrast to the realistic nature of the comic. The ending is not onlyWhile pulling amazing levels of detail from Gibbons work the film fails to do the same to Moore's narrative. The violence is overly gorey, the sex overly porn-like in contrast to the realistic nature of the comic. The ending is not only different from the comic - it makes no sense.
*SPOILER ALERT*

... whuy would Russia and the world unite with the US when the US's weapon of mass destruction goes awry? The alien threat was an outside threat that forces the world to cooperate - Dr. Manhattan as a threat would make all of the other nations see the US as a threat.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimN.Mar 7, 2009
VERY underwhelming compared to the book.

On its own, it's solid. But compared to the book...ech. Nearly all of the themes and messages were either diluted or totally wiped out, too many important scenes cut out, too rushed (I'd
VERY underwhelming compared to the book.

On its own, it's solid. But compared to the book...ech. Nearly all of the themes and messages were either diluted or totally wiped out, too many important scenes cut out, too rushed (I'd probably be somewhat confused midway without reading the book beforehand), parts of the narrative changed for no reason , too much emphasis on slo-mo Hollywood action which WASN'T the book's emphasis, too much gratuitous gore and sex compared to the book (its isolated moments of emphasis in the book made it stand out when it needed to), etc.

Of course, I shouldn't be surprised. The amount of content in the book is way too much for 2h40m (still pretty lengthy for contemporary films), and its narrative structure is much too complex to translate to the screen...it's true, though: Watchmen is unfilmable, both in the amount of content to show and the way in which the narrative is constructed. Unless you make it 6 hours long, you will NOT end up with Watchmen. Actually, scratch that--you'll never equal the original, no matter what.

Oh well. Snyder made a good effort.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ddsdssddsdMar 7, 2009
Ignore the bad reviews, if you read them youll find theyre extremely badly written. if you look on IMDB the film has an 8.5 which is very good for the site. Its a great film, im a huge fan of the novel and found they seem to compliment eachIgnore the bad reviews, if you read them youll find theyre extremely badly written. if you look on IMDB the film has an 8.5 which is very good for the site. Its a great film, im a huge fan of the novel and found they seem to compliment each other, seeing rorschach and manhattan in motion is amazing. Remember this is also Zack snyders ADAPTATION of the book, not an exact replica. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattLimesMar 8, 2009
Is there boring parts? Yes.
Is it too long and complicated for those of us who didn't read the book? Yes.
Is there AMAZING visual scenes that will stick with any movie goer for years after seeing the movie? Definitely yes. Ultimately,
Is there boring parts? Yes.
Is it too long and complicated for those of us who didn't read the book? Yes.
Is there AMAZING visual scenes that will stick with any movie goer for years after seeing the movie? Definitely yes.
Ultimately, you have to sit through a lengthy movie for some key scenes, but it's well worth it. Someone needs to tell the producers of comic book movies that the default comic book flick should be 1:45 minutes, not 3 hours. You aren't making Schindler's list here, your filming a schoolboys daydream. It ISN'T important, and doesn't deserve 3 hours.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KevinBMar 8, 2009
Never in my 30 or so years of movie-watching have I seen a movie with so much gore and nudity be SO BORING! Maybe if the three "prettiest" Watchpeople weren't such mediocre and uncharismatic actors. Maybe if Jeffrey Dean Morgan, one ofNever in my 30 or so years of movie-watching have I seen a movie with so much gore and nudity be SO BORING! Maybe if the three "prettiest" Watchpeople weren't such mediocre and uncharismatic actors. Maybe if Jeffrey Dean Morgan, one of the rare charismatice (and non-waxy) actors had played one of those roles instead of the jerkiest Watchdork. Maybe if Dr Manhattan didn't talk (and talk and talk) in such a listless monotone. Maybe if the entire movie had revolved around Rorschach, played excellently by Jackie Earl Haley. Maybe if the movie didn't consist of more than two hours of backstory followed by 40 minutes of sudden plot. So many maybes that turned into a movie only fanboys could love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobbyNizMar 8, 2009
a 9.2 to be specific,
great soundtrack,
i just read a shitload of shitty reviews for the movie wah wah wah about it being a)too gory (then go see high school musical3) b)too much sex scene (then go see coraline) c) they left so much out
a 9.2 to be specific,
great soundtrack,
i just read a shitload of shitty reviews for the movie
wah wah wah about it being a)too gory (then go see high school musical3) b)too much sex scene (then go see coraline) c) they left so much out (true, but you try to fit the epicness that is watchmen into 2 hrs and 45 min and see what you have to leave beind. the original was 3hrs 45 min i would have sat for that and would have been thoroughly pleased. there is a lot cut out but that it what you get with movie adaptations.) d) they changed the ending (yeah i know, i like the monster better HOWEVER, not too bad switch either, in fact i thought people who havent read the book would like it a bit more.) /rant

anyway
a really good movie
saw it in Imax
would pay to see it again and buy merch
oh and by far the most idiotic reviewer on this website "Daren M."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnonymousMCMar 8, 2009
You should not have to read the source material to enjoy a movie. It's pretty much a requirement here. Once you get over the initial geek out moments of seeing your favorite characters come to life (well...they aren't reallyYou should not have to read the source material to enjoy a movie. It's pretty much a requirement here. Once you get over the initial geek out moments of seeing your favorite characters come to life (well...they aren't really brought to life...at least not well) you slowly see that the movie is boring and soulless. Alan Moore was right, the graphic novel is unfilmable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattMcleanMar 9, 2009
This film is abysmal. Horrible pace, pointless plot, awkward acting, one of the worst and most uncomfortable sex scenes I've ever seen, and stilted uncomfortable action. And its long. Very long. Do not believe the people who give thisThis film is abysmal. Horrible pace, pointless plot, awkward acting, one of the worst and most uncomfortable sex scenes I've ever seen, and stilted uncomfortable action. And its long. Very long. Do not believe the people who give this positive reviews, its not clever, its not engaging, and it's certainly NOT a masterpiece. I saw this at an Imax preview in Perth, WA. About 30 people walked out... enough said. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricE.Mar 9, 2009
This movie, visually was beautiful as is 300. But the plot, story line and everything else was ooo sooo boring...the opening fight scene may indeed be the best scene. Dr. Manhattan spoke in the most non comprehensive language that most peopleThis movie, visually was beautiful as is 300. But the plot, story line and everything else was ooo sooo boring...the opening fight scene may indeed be the best scene. Dr. Manhattan spoke in the most non comprehensive language that most people will ask..WTF??? is he saying...did not care about the nudity at all...the costume heros were retards, except Rorshack...the antagonist of the movie, fought one time and that was against his super hero friends...30-45 mins into this movie i was dozing off...very very boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCMar 9, 2009
i dont understand why people didnt like this movie, my only complaint was that it was so long
it stuck to the source material for the most part, the action was great, and zack snyder actually showed the characters history and problems which
i dont understand why people didnt like this movie, my only complaint was that it was so long
it stuck to the source material for the most part, the action was great, and zack snyder actually showed the characters history and problems which is something i expected him to ditch in favor of more action scenes.
people just dont want to like this movie, ask one person and theyll say its not enough like the graphic novel, ask someone else and theyll say it was too much of a direct interpretation. some people say its too long, others say it wasnt long enough. People are just really bitchy and half no attention span, thats why a lot of people didnt like this movie, i mean the acting was freakin great, people bitched that some of the characters were emotionless, BECAUSE THATS HOW THEY WERE IN THE NOVEL YOU IDIOTS. Snyder just tried too hard to please everyone, but honestly, this has to be the best interpretation of a graphic novel or comic book ever made, and before any of you even think the words The Dark Knight, yeah it was great but it really had almost nothing to do with the comics except for the character names. So if you are thinking of going to see watchmen, just be prepared for a long movie and if theres not a fight scene every 5 minutes, dont bitch about it just because you have A-D-fuckin-D
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCMar 9, 2009
Having read the graphic novel I was not expecting the movie to be of the same importance to film as it was to graphic novels and comics. I feel that with the time the studio gave the director he did a great job. Ideally it could have been aHaving read the graphic novel I was not expecting the movie to be of the same importance to film as it was to graphic novels and comics. I feel that with the time the studio gave the director he did a great job. Ideally it could have been a mini-series with the same or a bigger budget, but what company, especially in this economy, would risk that on a mini-series. I agree that some of the music choices were questionable. I also think that Ozymandias should have been portrayed as less of a mean character, at the end of the book he still questions if he did the right thing, giving him a more human and less robotic quality. Still though I really enjoyed the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonymousMCMar 12, 2009
I think that the main thing in this film is the soundtruck. it's not coincidence that there is 3 dylan's songs.... and the film is actually answer the question "how many deaths will it take till he knows That too many people haveI think that the main thing in this film is the soundtruck. it's not coincidence that there is 3 dylan's songs.... and the film is actually answer the question "how many deaths will it take till he knows That too many people have died?" very strong experiance but the problem is, its still a super hero movie... where is the bad guy? and the super heros don't have a real power! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousMCMar 14, 2009
Poster of Watchmen said: By visioneer Zack Snyder. That's why this great movie ain't going to any respect! No one understands genius' before they die...except I do. This movie had great story, effects and acting. Really,Poster of Watchmen said: By visioneer Zack Snyder. That's why this great movie ain't going to any respect! No one understands genius' before they die...except I do. This movie had great story, effects and acting. Really, what's wrong with the movie? Maybe too much crap talk but that's it! The haters just can't stand watching superhero movie with only ONE superpowered person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattMar 15, 2009
Well acted and possibly the best comic adaptation of recent years. At times however it feels like Snyder overused action sequences and gore too much. The overall message from the graphic novel was there, middle aged vigilantism, and at timesWell acted and possibly the best comic adaptation of recent years. At times however it feels like Snyder overused action sequences and gore too much. The overall message from the graphic novel was there, middle aged vigilantism, and at times kept the same brooding nature. Some scenes were altered for continuity and to make the story line look like it happened in a a matter of days.
Changing the ending, though it may appear as heresy to the fans of the graphic novel, made the Watchmen acessable to a new audience while allowing for the Film to be shorter,
The music adds to the moment and some of the montages are fantastic.
The Film ignored many of the sub-plots and tiny relationships built up in Moore's work however if you look the relationships are there; they are just not as explicitly pointed out.
All in all a very good translation only stopped from being truly fantastic by the insistence of fight sequences and gore that adds nothing to the plot and seem to be there just so those who wish to see violence do not get bored.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCMar 24, 2009
I thought this was a fantastic movie. Don't expect Spiderman or The Dark Knight. I thought this movie was much more driven by the plot and the characters than the action (although I thought the scattered action sequences were great).I thought this was a fantastic movie. Don't expect Spiderman or The Dark Knight. I thought this movie was much more driven by the plot and the characters than the action (although I thought the scattered action sequences were great). The characters are very fleshed out--their motivations, histories and flaws are revealed in coordination with the plot in a manner I thought very effective. The characters, plot, and even soundtrack do a great job depicting the setting, which is really an integral part of the film's meaning. It was thought-provoking without being preachy, had good plot and action, and showed some pretty good skin. All around winner as long as you don't go in expecting a blow-em-up shoot-em-up action overload. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidBettencourtJul 15, 2009
This, in my opinion, is the best super hero film I've seen yet. Watchmen is a visceral piece of cinema which asks what is right and wrong in our society, and who is to judge it? The acting is pretty good, the graphics are phenomenal,This, in my opinion, is the best super hero film I've seen yet. Watchmen is a visceral piece of cinema which asks what is right and wrong in our society, and who is to judge it? The acting is pretty good, the graphics are phenomenal, and every moment of this film is gripping and wonderfully done. The dialogue is not boring or long, but rather intelligent and insightful into the characters and the situations this world, and our own, face. I have not read the graphic novel yet, but as a movie, it is extremely solid. If you liked The Dark Knight, this is another piece to put into your collection. It takes many of the themes present in The Dark Knight, and doubles them into an explosive, volatile, and imaginative movie. A must for all action film-goers, especially the super hero fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
doogieasdAug 13, 2009
this has to be one of the best films i have seen in a long long time... zack snyder delivers such a well crafted film!
the characters are so dynamic and well thought up it is mindblowing. this film will be mindblowing for any1 who looks
this has to be one of the best films i have seen in a long long time... zack snyder delivers such a well crafted film!
the characters are so dynamic and well thought up it is mindblowing. this film will be mindblowing for any1 who looks deeper into films and has a godd knowledge about them. if however your the kind of person that wathed this film ignoring evry bit of detail to the film, and instead started shouting in joy when a fight broke out in the movie - then u will probably not like this film. simply becos this film isnt made for you. so ye i rate it as my 10th favourite film of all time; which is a lot by the way seeming i have seen almost evry great film ever made
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshD.Mar 6, 2009
Saw the midnight release and thought it was awesome! Great directing, acting, writing, and soundtrack. If you have read the comic go see it and if your new to watchmen then I think you'll find this to be a great movie on it's own merit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Mar 6, 2009
I just saw the midnight viewing. This may already tip you off that I liked the graphic novel. If you also are a fanboy, you will love this movie. Hands down. I wish I could give it a different score for people who hadn't seen it. We I just saw the midnight viewing. This may already tip you off that I liked the graphic novel. If you also are a fanboy, you will love this movie. Hands down. I wish I could give it a different score for people who hadn't seen it. We brought along a friend who knew nothing about Watchmen except that it had a giant blue guy in it, and he loved it, too. Didn't understand it as much, though, so he said he'd give it an 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Mar 6, 2009
As a fan of Watchmen, this movie was great, like watching the graphic novel. Those negative reviews out there are absolutely ridiculous. Sure, I had high expectations, I did with the Lord of the Rings too, but I wasn't disappointed then As a fan of Watchmen, this movie was great, like watching the graphic novel. Those negative reviews out there are absolutely ridiculous. Sure, I had high expectations, I did with the Lord of the Rings too, but I wasn't disappointed then and I haven't been now. What Peter Jackson did for fantasy, Zack Snyder has done for the graphic novel. He is a genius and this masterpiece shows it. It's gritty and epic, not missing out on the depth behind everything. But don't just take my word for it, sure Watchmen is not for everyone, it's a little more graphic than I expected, but it fit the setting. If you're up for a thrill ride, give Watchmen a shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful