• Network: DISNEY+
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 12, 2019
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8

Critic Reviews

  1. 91
    Goldblum is an oddball, so some may find his distinctive speech pattern and mannerisms distracting, but I appreciate his view of the world and unique take at the simple things in life.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Nov 11, 2019
    80
    Goldblum seems very much in life the talkative eccentric hepcat he is in pictures — it’s impossible to tell when he’s on script or just telling you what he knows. I would subscribe just to watch more of this.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Nov 11, 2019
    70
    A rather perfect example of a seemingly thin and silly premise that has exactly enough substance to stand on its own well after the sense of gimmickry has passed.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Nov 11, 2019
    70
    The most immediately engaging and recognizably television-like of the new Disney shows, for some of us. ... The show’s means of expression, however, are quite finite. The formula is pretty ironclad. ... When you get past the Goldblumishness of it, there’s probably nothing you need to go out of your way for.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 7, 2019
    68
    Fans of Goldblum will enjoy the half-hour “World According to Jeff Goldblum” because viewers get a concentrated dose of his personality but beyond that interest may vary based on the topic.
  6. Reviewed by: Danette Chavez
    Nov 4, 2019
    58
    Aside from its marquee host, TWATJG could be any of a number of the mostly bland, curiosity-stoking series that make up National Geographic’s schedule (which makes sense, given that it’s produced by National Geographic Studios and Nutopia).
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Nov 11, 2019
    50
    Your overall tolerance for Jeff Goldblum’s quirky old man persona that he’s developed into a brand over the last decade or so will determine how many episodes of this original series you end up watching.
  8. Reviewed by: Judy Berman
    Nov 15, 2019
    40
    Episodes drag, despite topping out at 30 minutes, and the host’s attempts at adding insight to what is essentially a general-interest version of Food Network’s Unwrapped yield some comically obvious conclusions.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 10 out of 24
  1. Nov 12, 2019
    6
    Jeff Goldblum is an interesting guy, but I don't know if he's interesting enough to make up for a boring subject. For example, the firstJeff Goldblum is an interesting guy, but I don't know if he's interesting enough to make up for a boring subject. For example, the first episode is about shoes. I really like Jeff Goldblum, but I was really starting to fade halfway through the episode. They really need to give him something WILD to explore-- like escort services or medical marijuana. You know, something most people aren't really exposed to. Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    10
    Super fun and educational too. Makes me look at sneakers in whole new way. Jeff is magnetic.