Kirby: Planet Robobot Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Harness the power of a mysterious mech to stop brutal invaders from mechanizing Kirby's home world. Smash through tough obstacles, lift heavy objects with ease, and scan enemies to shape-shift into new Modes with powerful abilities in this action-platformer. That's right—Kirby's RobobotHarness the power of a mysterious mech to stop brutal invaders from mechanizing Kirby's home world. Smash through tough obstacles, lift heavy objects with ease, and scan enemies to shape-shift into new Modes with powerful abilities in this action-platformer. That's right—Kirby's Robobot Armor can shape-shift into different modes by scanning enemies to copy their moves—like the new Jet Mode. Not to mention, Kirby can copy abilities the old-fashioned way too—by inhaling them! After saving the world, team up with three friends to defeat foes in Team Kirby Clash, an RPG-styled 4-player brawl where you choose from varied roles and level them up. [Nintendo.com] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Aug 12, 2016
    100
    It’s not the most difficult of games, as Kirby titles generally aren’t, but it is enormous fun, and up there as one of my all-time favourite 3DS titles.
  2. May 26, 2016
    90
    A charming, fast and original 2d platform, pretty to see and enjoyable to play.
  3. Jun 24, 2016
    90
    Kirby: Planet Robobot sets a new gold standard in a franchise already renowned for excellent platforming.
  4. May 25, 2016
    80
    In spite of the recycled, hence reliable machinery, Kirby: Planet Robobot is simply mecha powerful.
  5. Jun 23, 2016
    80
    In all, there’s a surprising amount of content, but it’s only the story mode that’s worth playing.
  6. Jun 3, 2016
    80
    Like its iconic hero, Planet Robobot is light and airy, and a little on the short side, but it takes such a range of forms that it always feels fresh and new.
  7. Power Unlimited
    Jun 22, 2016
    53
    Planet Robobot is decently made but leans way too much on it’s predecessor Triple Deluxe (and every other Kirby platformer) to keep us interested. Time for something new. [July 2016 / page 070]

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Feb 5, 2018
    10
    Kirby Planet Robobot follows very closely to Triple Deluxe and many parallels can be drawn between the two games. Planet Robobot takes on aKirby Planet Robobot follows very closely to Triple Deluxe and many parallels can be drawn between the two games. Planet Robobot takes on a similar visual style and we see the return of the duel plain level layout that Triple Deluxe had. But while Planet Robobot takes a lot from Triple Deluxe, it also throws in a few new ideas. The biggest one being the new Robobot Armor that Kirby can ride, which essentially replaces the Hypernova from Triple Deluxe. The Robobot Armor is capable of heavy damage on both enemies and even the environment in some cases and can also copy certain abilities of enemies. And I think it's an awesome feature. On top of normal puzzle rooms that the Kirby series is good with, the Robobot Armor opens up new ideas for new puzzles. However the Robobot Armor can only have a certain amount of abilities and they aren't as diverse as Kirby with said powers, but they are capable of solving unique puzzles. On the topic of copy abilities, the line up in this game is really great, mixing in the series staples such as Fire, Ice, Sword and Beam, adding in new ones such as ESP, Doctor and Poison and reviving some old abilities not seen in a long time, such as Jet, a revamped Smash ability and my personal second favorite of all time, Mirror. The world themes were pretty awesome as well and the added robotic appearance each world had made the areas look really nice. While the main game won't take that long (if you're really dedicated to it), the amount of stuff to do afterwards still makes up for it. The game still isn't that hard either, but the Kirby gameplay itself more than makes up for it in my opinion. So overall, I really loved this game. While generally easy, it's still a fantastic Kirby game with an awesome new feature, an amazing set of copy abilities and classic fun stuff to do when the story is all said and done. Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2017
    10
    At Last! This Game Is Finally My Favorite Game Of All Time! I Cannot Wait To Get It For My Birthday In 2017, This Is Definetely One Of TheAt Last! This Game Is Finally My Favorite Game Of All Time! I Cannot Wait To Get It For My Birthday In 2017, This Is Definetely One Of The Best Of The Kirby Franchise! Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2019
    10
    Game: Kirby Planet Robobot
    Genre: Adventure Platformer
    Developer: HAL Publisher: Nintendo System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS) Year of Release:
    Game: Kirby Planet Robobot
    Genre: Adventure Platformer
    Developer: HAL
    Publisher: Nintendo
    System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS)
    Year of Release: 2016
    Length of Playthrough: 12 Hours

    Total Score: 95/100
    Value Score: 9.5/10

    • Story: 8/10
    • Characters: 9/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 10/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 8/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Retains the gameplay of Triple Deluxe but adds unique elements to this iteration of the series
    +New mini games included out of the main game such as Kirby 3D Rumble (Side scroll platformer) and Team Kirby Clash (a 4 member party RPG with wireless capability)
    +The Arena mode returns which allows you to fight bosses back to back alongside the "True Arena"
    +Metaknightmare Returns is a time attack mode which lets you play as Metaknight similar to previous Metaknightmare mini games with the appearance of previous Kirby game bosses as special bosses
    +There are new abilities first time appearing in the series along with that return of several abilities some of which were from Super Star
    +Gyro controls are used in some aspects of the game's levels and stages
    +There are "stickers" which can be collected from different stages and are randomly obtained from goal games. These are like the achievements for the game. They consists of different items or characters from the entire Kirby series
    +Music and Video/cutscene theater mode is included

    Cons
    -Some abilities from Kirby Triple Deluxe is missing (i.e. Spear ability)
    -Plot holes in the story which had to be explained by the creator via social media
    Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2016
    9
    This game changing things for the good and is really clever. This is probably the best Kirby game out there. Kirby can use a robot to doThis game changing things for the good and is really clever. This is probably the best Kirby game out there. Kirby can use a robot to do really fun and creative puzzles. This game however is really short. The story mode is only about 7-8 hours. The music is great too. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a casual platformer. Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    Игра хорошая. Но проблема игры это балансировка сложности, всю игру проходишь не напрягаясь а финальный босс трудный.Игра хорошая. Но проблема игры это балансировка сложности, всю игру проходишь не напрягаясь а финальный босс трудный.
  6. Dec 18, 2016
    9
    This game made me smile the moment I turned it on and saw the title screen and heard the theme. Although closely related to previous titleThis game made me smile the moment I turned it on and saw the title screen and heard the theme. Although closely related to previous title Kirby: Triple Deluxe in terms of gameplay style, I still highly recommend you give this game a go! The Robobot armor made the game have a new feel to it and had quite a few inventive ideas to it. The graphics were also beautiful. YAY NINTENDO!! :D Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2016
    3
    This is one of the best kirby games I've played. The level design is great and the robot armor makes the game a lot of fun. This is a veryThis is one of the best kirby games I've played. The level design is great and the robot armor makes the game a lot of fun. This is a very solid platform that anyone can enjoy Expand

See all 44 User Reviews