ArmA II Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 610 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Building on 10 years of constant engine development, ARMA II boasts the most realistic combat environment in the world. It models real world ballistics & round deflection, materials penetration, features a realtime day/night cycle and dynamic wind, weather and environmental effects. TheBuilding on 10 years of constant engine development, ARMA II boasts the most realistic combat environment in the world. It models real world ballistics & round deflection, materials penetration, features a realtime day/night cycle and dynamic wind, weather and environmental effects. The simulation of a combat environment is so effective, the engine forms the basis for training simulators used by real armies the world over. Although ArmA II is set in the fictional ex-soviet state of 'Chernarus' the gameworld is actually a 225 square kilometer chunk of the real world! ARMA II's highly detailed landscape is a meticulous facsimile of real terrain, modeled using extensive geographical data. This recreated region is brought to life with spectacular environmental effects and populated with dynamic civilian settlements and wildlife. Wild animals roam the atmospheric forests while the people of Chernarus try to live out their lives among the war-torn streets. The 27th U.S. Marine Expeditionary Unit have been deployed to the former soviet country of Chernarus in this third installment in the series of award winning PC war simulators from Bohemia Interactive, creators of Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis and ArmA: Combat Operations. Force Reconnaissance Team "Razor" are among the first to fight. This elite five-man team are about to fall down the rabbit hole, trapped in a war not only for control of the country, but the hearts and minds of its people. With the might of the USMC offshore and the Russians anxiously watching from the north, the stakes couldn't be higher. The fate of Chernarus is balanced on a razor's edge. [Steam] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. To make it short: Armed Assault 2 is a fantastic game which contains elements of flight simulators, tactic-shooters and strategy- games. This title rocks!
  2. It's not a game for everyone but it's simply the best war simulation available. Deep gameplay, tons of stuff to do. Go buy it.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    84
    Arma II is truly excellent military game operating system, but Bohemia really should outsource development of single player content. [July 2009]
  4. 78
    I love having dozens and dozens of realistic weapons and vehicles and highly detailed geography and ballistics modeling, but the unintuitive interface required to manage it all and the irregularities in the scripting make it hard to appreciate those qualities.
  5. Far too complicated for the casual player and not meaty enough for the military nut.
  6. The most realistic and versatile soldier sim ever, but also the most bug-ridden and inscrutable.
  7. Arma II is a very deep portrayal of warfare, and it's not for the faint of heart who want their shooters to involve little more than pointing a gun and shooting. However, its depth is somewhat two-faced, as though its environments and overall feel seems as real as ever, the multitude of bugs that you will face really take you out of the fight before you've even been felled by enemy fire.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 206
  1. DavidC
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Amazing! I always thought realism didn't fit well in games... but this just proved me wrong. It's so realistic and the gameplay is Amazing! I always thought realism didn't fit well in games... but this just proved me wrong. It's so realistic and the gameplay is intense. I can tell I'm going to be playing this game for years to come. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    El mejor juego de guerra que puede haber.Lo tiene todo.ya no solo este juego sino toda saga y todos sus dlcs.Al principio cuesta pero luego leEl mejor juego de guerra que puede haber.Lo tiene todo.ya no solo este juego sino toda saga y todos sus dlcs.Al principio cuesta pero luego le coges el truco y si formas grandes amigos teneis buen equipo.Recomendable 100% Expand
  3. syscrash
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    With the new 1.05 update. This game is insane! The graphics are better then Arma1, AI has finally improved! This game is like a BF series With the new 1.05 update. This game is insane! The graphics are better then Arma1, AI has finally improved! This game is like a BF series game on steriods. Has a huge learning curve and is not for ADHD kids who just want to run around and FPS all day. This game takes patience and time to learn. But once you learn it you will have a total blast. The best part is the modding community which makes the game grow even more. This is not your typical military simulator where you play to your round ends. Arma2 has no rounds, it is just one massive war fought over a beatiful landscape. Take off from aircraft carriers and insert a sniper team up in the mountains or make an assault with armored tanks. You make the choice and the opitions are endless. You can't just run around and play this game BF style. You need to use tactics and think real life. You need to use cover and concealment constantly. You also need to play as a team. Expand
  4. GhostSheetsXx*
    Aug 6, 2009
    8
    After completing the single player campaign and tinkering with the Armory and Editor modes for a few hours I thought I was finished with Arma After completing the single player campaign and tinkering with the Armory and Editor modes for a few hours I thought I was finished with Arma 2. I'm not sure why I hadn't considered playing online, but it's something I overlooked each time I fired up the game. Perhaps I thought I woulld be too inexperienced in a world of dedicated, hardcore Arma 2 enthusiasts. And upon joining a MP game for the first time, I was.... There were a million things happening around me in the first 64 player server I joined. Engineers repairing APC's. Harriers and F35's taxiing down the run way to make a bombing run on a nearby overun city. I heard chatter over the radio of my team's Humvey convoy approaching the city from a flank position. And while all this was happening , I just stood at base, in the very position I spawned, and spun around and around taking in everything that was happening. This was an entire world I just stepped into. To avoid kick, I decided to move around a bit. I saw a pilot fire up a BlackHawk chopper and my team started to load up. I hoppped in back and we flew to a safe landing zone about a half mile east of our target city. I buddied up with my teams sniper, and we slowly and methodically picked off insurgants and moved our way into the city. Meanwhile choppers are buzzing over our head, the realistic sound of afterburning jet engines are roaring by, AA fire tracers are spraying violently through the air and on the horizon I can see a paratroop drop of about 15 soldiers slowly floating down. It was our secondary fire team surrounding the enemy. I knew then, that I would be playing this game all summer. And I have been. I consider myself inbetween and average and somewhat hardcore gamer, but I never thought I could get into Arma 2. I thought the community was too exclusive, and the game to difficult to learn. But I'm learning it. And it's the most fun I've had on my computer in a looong time. Thanks. Expand
  5. SamB
    Jul 30, 2009
    5
    A beautiful and extremely realistic modern warfare game. The reason why it gets a 5 is because of the terrible learning curve. There are too A beautiful and extremely realistic modern warfare game. The reason why it gets a 5 is because of the terrible learning curve. There are too many commands making the game absolutely impossible to manage for people who aren't familiar with the Arma games. This is more of a game suitible for hard core fans rather than the open public. Nothing wrong with that but a newbie might see the game and be fooled into purchasing it without understanding the complexity of it. 5 out of 10. Expand
  6. MikeM
    Jul 9, 2009
    4
    This might be a deep and satisfying war simulator, but I ran into so many bugs in boot camp I have given up on it. Each time on the shooting This might be a deep and satisfying war simulator, but I ran into so many bugs in boot camp I have given up on it. Each time on the shooting range some guys come and shoot my instructor while I'm messing with the anti tank stuff! I dont have the time to waste on games that arent finished or are waiting for patches, in my opinion this should have had another six months work before release. It may be great if your willing to endure the bugs but we shouldnt have to having paid Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Hmm.. how to describe this game. In one word BORING! This game is really not any fun at all. Do I really need to map a control to every key onHmm.. how to describe this game. In one word BORING! This game is really not any fun at all. Do I really need to map a control to every key on my keyboard? And why can't get in a vehicle be the same key that I use to get out of it? Is the game buggy, sure. I couldn't care less, It's so boring and sucks so bad that being buggy is the least of it's issues.Sure the graphics are nice, but once again what does that matter when a game is as boring and simply NOT FUN, as this game is. Expand

See all 206 User Reviews