Awesomenauts Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 304 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features the most awesome mercenaries in the galaxy in their fight for territorial supremacy. Awesomenauts brings Russian monkeys with jetpacks, giant robots, and lots of other mighty aliens to the two-dimensional console battlefield. Combining classic platforming-action with modernThe game features the most awesome mercenaries in the galaxy in their fight for territorial supremacy. Awesomenauts brings Russian monkeys with jetpacks, giant robots, and lots of other mighty aliens to the two-dimensional console battlefield. Combining classic platforming-action with modern online multiplayer functionality, the action-packed gameplay offers everything the 16-bit generation and modern gamers love. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Awesomenauts - Clunk Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts has fantastic potential, but is not quite there. Tweaks to the balancing and AI will make this one a star.
  2. 80
    A clever spin on the MOBA genre that strips away the complications and nerdy presentation to create a fast-paced but deceptively complex action strategy game.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts is a deep multiplayer battler with the approachability of a Saturday-morning cartoon.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    75
    Awesomenauts has a good and effective mix of genres: platformer, strategy and action.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 4, 2012
    70
    Splendid multiplayer mayhem contains a strong factor of addictiveness – unusual design and perfect playability will keep you in the game for a long time. [Nov 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 86
  2. Negative: 9 out of 86
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Well worth 10 dollars, there's gonna be a bunch more free skins on the way from what I understand if anyone was interested in that.

    This
    Well worth 10 dollars, there's gonna be a bunch more free skins on the way from what I understand if anyone was interested in that.

    This game is a 2D platformer moba without the a-holes from those games, I swear playing dota 2 changed me into an evil person almost, but holy crap this game is so laid back and fun, it's still competitive but fun.

    To me, getting kills isn't nearly as satisfying as getting them in dota 2 but the over all game play just feel so slick.

    Instead of buying items, you buy upgrades, and the abilities are pretty cool the game is well worth 10 dollars.

    It does need a few balances though, but otherwise it's a solid game well worth looking at.
    Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    Awesomenauts is a great 2D MOBA platformer. The game is run with P2P multiplayer, which means that occasionally there are lag issues,Awesomenauts is a great 2D MOBA platformer. The game is run with P2P multiplayer, which means that occasionally there are lag issues, depending on the host of the game; however, if the lag issues are bad, the game often switches to a better host. While competitive, I still find it to be much more relaxed than other MOBAs like LoL or DOTA 2. There are many characters available and there's always a playstyle and character for everyone. The voice actors for the game are often popular Youtubers and the voices and dialogue make the game hilarious at times.

    Although you do have to unlock characters by playing games and leveling up, the starting characters provide valuable insight into how the rest of the characters work. Each character has a unique jump and movement speed and the first two characters allow new players to learn about how to use the different jumps and speeds they may encounter later.

    Many players complain about a few "overpowered" characters. The truth, in my opinion, is that every character is overpowered if used well, which results for an interesting balance in the game. However, Ronimo often updates and rebalances the characters as needed, and adds new characters every now and then.

    The community is usually quite pleasant with a few exceptions once in awhile; however, there is no voice chat (looking at the mute buttons that are now available on the scoreboard, that may be soon to come) and players rarely type in chat. Teamplay with friends is highly recommended, but not necessary. Personally, I am a solo queuer, meaning that I just join in to a game by myself, and it works out pretty well.

    Awesomenauts is an amazing and addictive game and I've been playing it every day since I bought it months ago. If you've never played a MOBA before, this is a great game to start with (I was an FPS gamer before this game). I highly recommend this game for anyone just looking to have fun, but there are competitive leagues if you're interested in that as well.
    Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Simple, fast and incredibly fun. Each character has its own particular and way to play,and the soundtrack is still in my head.
    Congratulation
    Simple, fast and incredibly fun. Each character has its own particular and way to play,and the soundtrack is still in my head.
    Congratulation to the developers!
    At this price, you must have it.
    Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    This game really makes fun. I've played the Multiplayer and i'm not really a fan of MOBA Games,but this is great!
    Good Things:
    Balancing
    This game really makes fun. I've played the Multiplayer and i'm not really a fan of MOBA Games,but this is great!
    Good Things:
    Balancing Stone,Scissor,Paper principle (I'm german,so sorry when i make mistakes in grammar.)
    Latency When the Latency is too bad,the Host will change to the best I-Net Player so everyone has a good Latency.
    - Graphics For a MOBA Indie Game,the Publishers used a simple Comic Graphic for this game.
    - Easy to learn After you played 2 Matches you know all what you need to know
    Bad Things:
    Leveling System For itself the System is very good,but when you play your first matches,you will see that other players have better Awesomenauts and better Items as you can have.
    Skinning System You have to pay for the most Skins, 2,50€ in Germany.
    I hope i helped you! :)
    No Filter System you can't join on a server that you want,you will go in some servers there a map is that you hate. Thats the biggest Problem of the Game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Awesomenauts its a MOBA style videogame, fun and very dynamic, but theres something negattive playing online, the champions or characters areAwesomenauts its a MOBA style videogame, fun and very dynamic, but theres something negattive playing online, the champions or characters are unlockable depending on player level, but online matches doesnt balance this, player will lose a few times against more experienced players until the player unlock a few champions. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2016
    7
    Amikor meghallottam, hogy ez a neve egy játéknak, akkor rögtön lecsaptam rá. És hogy őszinte legyek nem bántam meg, sőt sokkal jobb lett, mintAmikor meghallottam, hogy ez a neve egy játéknak, akkor rögtön lecsaptam rá. És hogy őszinte legyek nem bántam meg, sőt sokkal jobb lett, mint amit vártam tőle. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2015
    0
    Do NOT buy this game! just don't!
    The devs are moneyseekers, they want you to pay WAY too much money for stupid skins, which have a horrible
    Do NOT buy this game! just don't!
    The devs are moneyseekers, they want you to pay WAY too much money for stupid skins, which have a horrible design. Then there is the game itself, which is even more bad then their sales model. It's full of toxic players, they insult you every match. Ronimo only bans nice people and lets the ragers play. Then ther's the matchmaking, which is also HORRIBLE, you get paired with league 1 players while you are in league 9, so when you stat your first match ever, you're gonna be up against the best. Impossible to play. Then there's the lag, this game has P2P connections, that is horrible. There is ALWAYS someone teleporting from one side to the other and hitting you through walls. Then there is character balance, which is also HORRIBLE, as some characters are superOP and others are useless. Also the starstorm dlc isn't even finished, and it features PAY2WIN characters with superpowers. They had A LOT of money through crowdfunding, because players wanted the devs to work on connections, instead they wasted the money and just kept making more dlc to steal even more money from players! The game is soooo broken, unplayable. the devs should be ashamed. Also, the forums are corrupted, because when you say 1 bad word about the game you get an IP-ban. This game needs to die.
    Expand

See all 86 User Reviews