Battlefield 1 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2584 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Intuitive destruction and dynamic weather ensure that no battle is ever the same. For even more gameplay possibilities, carve a path through walls and buildings, take down your enemies in creative ways, and leave your mark on the terrain around you through intuitive destruction. Through yourIntuitive destruction and dynamic weather ensure that no battle is ever the same. For even more gameplay possibilities, carve a path through walls and buildings, take down your enemies in creative ways, and leave your mark on the terrain around you through intuitive destruction. Through your actions, the pristine world around you change into a battle-scarred landscape, changing the world forever. With dynamic weather you will need to adapt your tactics to weather changes as the elements play a part in the battle. Playing the same map on a bright day, in heavy fog, or rain will impact what you see and hear, forcing you to adapt your play style on an ever-changing battlefield. Operations introduces a new way to play multiplayer. In Battlefield 1 you play a series of interconnected battles across multiple fronts. Play a sequence of battles where your actions have consequences beyond a single match, as you try to conquer territory or push back your attackers. At those times when you feel all is lost, call in the Behemoths - the largest fully player-controlled vehicles ever seen in Battlefield. Roam the battlefield and rain fire on your enemy to break their defenses. All-out war never felt so epic. Take control of the Armored Train, Air Ship, or the Battleship to dominate the battlefield across land, air, and sea. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield 1 - Single-Player Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 12, 2016
    100
    Battlefield is back in shape and more so with fresh theme of the first Great War! After a long time, the campaign is successful and multiplayer is traditionally excellent. So, this year your choice is set! [Issue #269]
  2. Oct 24, 2016
    94
    The campaign is worth checking out, Operations delivers clear forward thinking for Battlefield as a series in a way I think Rush never really did, and the maps are absolutely spectacular. Battlefield One is utterly brilliant.
  3. Oct 17, 2016
    91
    Battlefield 1 has a conservative approach, despite its unusual historical setting. This means it is technically impressive and multiplayer is fun and spectacular. We also like the way the campaign is told, almost as a documentary.
  4. Oct 17, 2016
    90
    Battlefield 1 is a monumental shooter. Putting "aside" the Single Player campaign (fun, varied and spectacular but very short), the strengh of the production is obviously represented by the PvP. His large-scale battles are an experience that all multiplayer fans should try.
  5. Oct 21, 2016
    90
    Battlefield 1's solemn campaign and over-the-top multiplayer may feel like polar opposites, but the complete package is all-around excellent.
  6. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 18, 2016
    88
    Smoke-filled skies, destroyed buildings, ever-present dirt, trenches and heavily armored beasts, clouds of poisonous gas and panicked feeling that you’re being shot at from every direction and there’s not a square inch of ground that’s truly safe. The setting feels not just grim – more like apocalyptic. [Issue#214, p.52]
  7. Oct 26, 2016
    50
    It feels like being asked to play a game of football at a funeral and then made to keep the noise down when you score.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    Very polished and very entertaining! This is the best Battlefield game yet. I liked previous BF games but this is better then ever. Running onVery polished and very entertaining! This is the best Battlefield game yet. I liked previous BF games but this is better then ever. Running on high settings with GTX970, game looks amazing! Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2022
    10
    One of my favourite games of all time, with regard to the superb gunplay, gun and soldier feel, and map design. Love this game, rebought it onOne of my favourite games of all time, with regard to the superb gunplay, gun and soldier feel, and map design. Love this game, rebought it on PC recently in 2022 - servers are still full of people and its easy to find a game - and am SO glad I did buy this again! If in doubt, 2022 is a brilliant time to buy this on PC. If you have not played many games, this feels a lot like battlefield V, which I also enjoy massively. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2016
    9
    This is just a great game. The war atmosphere is in the top. But the game has too few maps. Only 9 maps is just like a **** And it has only 6This is just a great game. The war atmosphere is in the top. But the game has too few maps. Only 9 maps is just like a **** And it has only 6 playable maps because the other maps is just terrible. For example Fao Fortress. The graphics is just awesome. The Campaign is better than the other Battlefield games. The guns and bombs are realistic. In the of my all I can say that's a great game but it has some problems. I believe DICE will fix that problems. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2018
    7
    Battlefield 1 greatly improves on the mess that was BF4, graphically the game is the best FPS of the year, the story is divided betweenBattlefield 1 greatly improves on the mess that was BF4, graphically the game is the best FPS of the year, the story is divided between multiply character in different places during WW1 each one is rich in both gameplay and story, however bugs, and instability issues are still common place in the online seemingly when Dice roll out an update they end up breaking something make the game less stable than it use to be.

    Online is for the most part fun however common issues of player rage quitting that ultimately takes a somewhat balanced game into a one sided misery as you team loses to about with almost double the players.
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2021
    5
    The campaign is good but the multiplayer is a big heap of trash, it sucks. I'm always put inside empty lobbies and when actually put in a fullThe campaign is good but the multiplayer is a big heap of trash, it sucks. I'm always put inside empty lobbies and when actually put in a full lobby, it's infected with sweats and hackers. I legit saw people flying with aim-bot, it's not fun at all. DON'T BUY! Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2016
    2
    It's a beautiful game, no doubt about that...
    But let's face it, almost all games today is beautiful, except WoW of cours, so I would not
    It's a beautiful game, no doubt about that...
    But let's face it, almost all games today is beautiful, except WoW of cours, so I would not expect any less.

    I have played for 200 hours, split between Assault, Support and Medic... (Can't stand Sniping)
    And the game has so many gamebreaking mechanics and flaws that I will no longer play it before they fix all of them.

    1: The game does not even a quit button... They claim it's there, but it does not work. Every time you click it, the game freezes. I quit and just took a **** for 7 minutes, coming back to the pc, the game has still not exited.. Dice, come on...

    2: Battlepacks... I just spent 8 hours today playing it... 1 battlepack... 1... They say there is a mechanic that makes you get battlepacks once in a while, but I just played 20 maps... I got 1...
    Dice, are you proud of this?

    3: You can spawn on a squadmember that is located anywhere on the map.. Gamebreaking mechanic.
    There is nothing more soulcrushing than gank 2-3 people, then 6 seconds later during your reload, they run you over again because their 3 man was hiding 4 meters away... This is the most idiotic system I have ever seen.

    4: Killcam is implemented... What???? So now, even if I do not play sniper, you can not find a good position and start supporting your team, because the first you kill, will see your position and retaliate.
    I've done it countless times agains them snipersbastards

    5: Spot in game.. You can click a button, and spot your enemies so they appear as a red mark all over the map... This is so broken that its not even funny... I have no idea how many times I click the button, but nothing happes. Even he is 20-30 meters away from me. This just needs to go.

    6: Medics revive a teammember to full healt... What the acutal f..k?
    This needs to be changed to 1 hp only, and the reciepient of a revive can not gain healing or shoot weapon for 10-20 seconds. (Or shoot weapon one time, and then die again from the recoil)
    The annoyance of you shooting someone dead, to have them be revived 2 seconds later at full health is utterly bull****.

    These are the top most annoying, gamebreaking, soulcrushing issues that does not make the game what it should be.
    Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2017
    0
    Even for free with my Origins Access account this game made me sick, literately, and figuratively. I thought this game was going to take itEven for free with my Origins Access account this game made me sick, literately, and figuratively. I thought this game was going to take it back to Battlefield 1942 with single shot rifles were every shot counted. Instead this game sold out and opted to use guns that are technically historically from the era but completely inaccurate. That is just one of many problems I had in my brief moments with this game. Expand

See all 543 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2016

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2016 Image
    Published: January 5, 2017
    The results of our 7th annual user poll are in! Find out which albums, movies, TV shows, and games were the favorites of the Metacritic community in 2016.
  2. The 20 Best PC Games of 2016

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2016 Image
    Published: December 20, 2016
    We rank the highest-scoring computer games released during 2016.