Battlefield 3 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5400 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions andAs bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield 3 - Operation Guillotine Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    As a complete package Battlefield 3 absolutely delivers and if you don't have some angry agenda against Origin it's a must-play. The PC version in particular ushers in a new era of graphical magnificence and the disparity between the consoles begs Sony and Microsoft to up the ante. Shooters don't come much better than this and it's a great way to kick off this year's holiday game rush.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    95
    Battlefield 3 offers one of the best multiplayer modes out there. The Frostbite 2 engine is capable of amazing things in order to show the most realistic war we've seen to date. Its only flaws are an extremely short campaign and a co-op mode that could have been much better.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    93
    Maybe Battlefield 3's off-line side is a little bit irregular, but its multiplayer options and amazing graphics justify the necessary upgrade of our computers. Those players looking for a game full of innovation will be disenchanted; however if you're looking for an amazing competitive on-line experience, this is it.
  4. 90
    Battlefield 3 is amazing. The single player campaign is definitely the weakest link, even though it's more than just decent. The co-op missions are fun, but online multiplayer is the main reason you should get Battlefield 3. Here, the game doesn't disappoint in any way and stands as the strongest entry of the series so far. This is the best multiplayer experience I've had this year.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    An extremely beautiful looking game that takes advantage of the hardware in every way possible, resulting in an experience that's so huge and fulfilling that it will keep you satisfied for years to come, especially with all the DLC map packs int he pipelines.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    What kind of game is Battlefield 3? Well made, extremely impressive, pretty and rich in content. But still it has some flaws and suprising peculiarities.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    I enjoyed my time with Battlefield 3's multiplayer, and I wish my thoughts about the game could end there. Unfortunately it also tried to force a totally unnecessary single-player game on me, and the browser interface looks like it came straight out of the 90s.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    I've been playing this game for about a solid week now, and I've got to say it lives up to expectations. The game has stellar graphics, greatI've been playing this game for about a solid week now, and I've got to say it lives up to expectations. The game has stellar graphics, great multiplayer, and great support from a great developer. DICE took what was good about BF2 and revamped it with a more fine tuned and better balanced gameplay. The multiplayer is where this game truly shines since multiplayer is where the heart of battlefield has always been. The campaign while not super, gets the job done as being a bonus to the thick of the content that is mutiplayer. There is also a Co-op mode that is quite a lot of fun when done with a partner online. Overall this game, to me, has lived up to the extensive hype placed upon itself over the years. 10/10 for sure! Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    The perfect FPS... BUY IT! MW3 = CONTROL C + CONTROL V of MW2, the prensent and the future is BATTLEFIELD! great game single player amazing,The perfect FPS... BUY IT! MW3 = CONTROL C + CONTROL V of MW2, the prensent and the future is BATTLEFIELD! great game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have really outdone themselves Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    great game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have reallygreat game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have really outdone themselves Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Happy to see some developers actually deliver a good product.
    Graphics very good, Story is good and the missions as pilot and tank driver a
    Happy to see some developers actually deliver a good product.
    Graphics very good, Story is good and the missions as pilot and tank driver a nice change from the regular FPS. Compliments for a very good game.
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2013
    8
    Battlefield 3 has a bad Singleplayer with endless Quick Time Events.
    But the Multiplayer is good und the Premium Maps too.
    The Graphics and
    Battlefield 3 has a bad Singleplayer with endless Quick Time Events.
    But the Multiplayer is good und the Premium Maps too.
    The Graphics and Sounds are very nice.
    Buy it, if you want to play the Mutliplayer, but not for the campaign
    Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Where to begin, how about at install! The firs thing you need to know, and what I knocked a point off of my review score for, is Origin. EA decided that in order to "strengthen the security" of their game they would make Origin scan your computer for hacks and such in the program files folder. The only problem is that Origin scans your entire hard drive and has been shown that it reads the files it scans and possibly uploads that data to EA. I took only one point because I am not an idiot like some of the people that gave the game a zero just because of this.

    Anyway, onto the review of the game. This review will not include anything on MP because I have yet to play it. Have not played it because I have read it is more demanding them the SP and the SP barely ran smoothly for me as it is (most of the time it was 60 fps but it dipped down into the 15 range during really active scenes). The story opens up Black Ops-esque to an interrogation room where two men a grilling a soldier about certain events that have already taken place and why he did the things he did. His name is Blackburn and he is claiming that there is a nuclear device that will be detonated in New York City if they do not stop Solomon, the leader of a rouge terrorist organization called the PLR. Blackburn's testimony is under suspect because he killed his commanding officer and so he is forced to relive the events that led up to and after that point.

    You start your first mission in Iran where you are working to dislodge the PLR from the country and find Solomon. However during the fighting a massive earthquake hits and you are separated from all contact with Ops command. From here it is a wild roller coaster ride of highs and lows, from fighting off a battalion of Iranian Armor, to cutting through a legion of Russian Paratroopers. It all culminates in a final mission dashing through a subway train looking for Solomon and the nuclear warhead.

    The story is good, better imo then BC2. There are some heavy influences from Call of Duty to be noted here as well, from the interrogation scenes to some one liners from MW2. You are given a variety of vehicular weaponry to control through out the game including fighter jets, Humvees, and a tank. Most of the time you will be following an allied soldier through each map; there are several solo missions and solo sections of some missions however. The one thing I hate most about BF3, which was also my biggest beef with BC2, is the movement code. There is always a half a second lag between my actions and the game responding no matter what mouse acceleration settings are used. Also when you head shot enemies they do not always die, which is ridiculous. My second greatest peeve with BF3 is the sordid lack of check points that make sense. There are many missions where you have to repeat up to 8 minutes of combat because you died at some point. This makes it really annoying and can turn a lot of people off of the game. The button actions are also a place where I can lodge a complaint. If you fail to get the correct button pressed, even once, you die with almost no exceptions.

    Overall BF3 is a pretty good game; but it is not as good as some of the other reviewers have stated. It is not the best FPS ever made, but it is a good game.
    Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2020
    0
    I Played BADCOMPANY 2 It was awesome but after playing BF3 like I was into battlefield franchise btw best bf game buy it!!!!!!!!!

See all 1572 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.