BattleTech Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 355 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume command of your own mercenary outfit of 'Mechs and the MechWarriors that pilot them, struggling to stay afloat as you find yourself drawn into a brutal interstellar civil war.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
BattleTech Mech Warfare Gameplay Presentation - E3 2017
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Apr 24, 2018
    100
    An unmissable strategy gem that will unquestionably keep you playing one more contract. If you like mechs or tactical strategy games you’ll have a great time here whether you are a newcomer to the universe or not. BattleTech gets my full recommendation.
  2. May 7, 2018
    88
    The story, the characters and the writing are better than you could hope for. If you are willing to overcome a few technical hiccups, and if you are an unrepentant sci-fi nerd, Battletech can be your new favorite game.
  3. Mar 5, 2020
    84
    BattleTech is a special kind of experience that doesn't come around too often. As much as it demands from you, it offers equal or greater reward in return. As I said before, this property is very dear to my heart, so it brings me joy to see this game achieve what it sets out to accomplish with so much success.
  4. Apr 30, 2018
    80
    Battletech's intricate components ultimately foster a fascinating wealth of nuanced systems that build a uniquely strenuous, detailed, and thoroughly rewarding tactical strategy game.
  5. Games Master UK
    May 18, 2018
    79
    The testing combat is fun, and managing your squad of mercenaries is even better. [June 2018, p.78]
  6. May 10, 2018
    75
    Battletech is a good effort from the people at Harebrained Schemes, and the passion poured into this project is clearly visible from many little details. Still, the game is in need of some more polish, and the AI particularly desperately needs a patch or two. Buy it in any case if you love the original license, or everything mech - related as a whole.
  7. Apr 25, 2018
    60
    While the story in BattleTech takes some interesting turns, and the combat is slow if serviceable, the game chugs along as playable with occasional moments of greatness. The major issues come from how combat is both too slow at times and too random, plus there are too many numbers to sort through for anyone short of the very dedicated. The structural problems are too ingrained in the game to easily fix, which is unfortunate as there is actually a solid package underneath the problems.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 123
  2. Negative: 27 out of 123
  1. May 28, 2020
    10
    40 hours enough to say that it one if the best tactical games i ever play. TY.
  2. Apr 28, 2018
    10
    I am more hopelessly addicted to this game than I've been to any game in recent memory, save perhaps Mass Effect 3. The game has extremelyI am more hopelessly addicted to this game than I've been to any game in recent memory, save perhaps Mass Effect 3. The game has extremely deep-running similarities to Harebrained Studios' Shadowrun games in terms of the UI, mechanics, etc.; there's also a large amount of XCOM (especially the new XCOM 1 and 2 remakes) in the DNA of this game.

    That said, I don't think the fact that they borrowed mechanics and systems from XCOM and Shadowrun makes this game any worse, and it doesn't make it less addictive, either -- not even for someone like me who's played a ton of XCOM and Shadowrun. What this game does do is take the Battletech board game, infuse a fantastic, memorable story and art style, and best-of-breed mechanics in one solid package.

    The only bug I encountered so far was the game doesn't support my screen resolution, 3440x1440, because it's the wrong aspect ratio. I play in 2560x1440, which is 16:9, and it's letterboxed. So far that hasn't significantly affected my enjoyment of the game.

    Performance-wise, it runs well (especially after installing the GeForce Game Ready driver for Battletech), but I have a very high-end system with an i7-8700K and a GeForce GTX 1080. The only performance gripe I have is that loading a game, or transitioning between the strategic map and a mission on the ground, takes a long time. The loading screens sometimes take 60 seconds or more on this high-end gaming PC with one of the fastest CPU/GPU combos available. However, this alone is not enough for me not to recommend this game, because it's just so much fun otherwise.

    And the long pauses between combat animations aren't enough reason to dislike or stop playing this game, either! I find them mildly aggravating, but far more annoying is when I really need to score a hit with my AC/20 cannon but tragically miss. In other words, I'm so busy obsessing about the gameplay that I can overlook this flaw. Hopefully it gets improved in a patch, though.

    This game has earned my recommendation more than most others in recent memory, I feel. These devs have worked extremely hard to make a compelling game in a very beloved IP, and not only have they delivered, but they've built a game that I think will be a cult classic long after the mainstream attention has shifted away from it.

    Based on my experience with Harebrained Studios' games, I believe they are to the point where they are replacing Bioware in my pantheon of game developers. Bioware has fallen from Heaven with repeated miscues, and HBS has been elevated to take their place as the most talented, most consistent developer with hit after hit.

    The best parts about this game for me are the addictive combat, the wide open customizability of your mechs and your ship, and the roleplaying dialogue and story missions. But even the randomized side quests are extremely fun on their own.

    BTW, it's hard to convey just how deep the combat is tactically, so just buy the game and try it. There are so many clever things you can do with mech positioning, target choices, abilities, teamwork of multiple mechwarriors, and so on that you'll never get bored of the combat. It's truly a generational achievement for the tactical turn-based genre.

    Ratings...
    Graphics - visual fidelity: 8/10
    Graphics - aesthetics/style: 10/10
    Graphics - animations: 6/10
    Sound effects: 7/10
    Music: 9/10
    Game balance: 9/10
    Faithfulness to Battletech universe: 9.5/10
    Combat visceral feel and sense of reward: 10/10
    Strategic management screens and options: 10/10
    Game fairness/difficulty: 9/10
    Game Engine Performance: 7.5/10
    Stability/bugs: 9.5*/10 (No ultra widescreen support)
    Value for money: 11/10 (in the world of lootboxes and microtransactions, this can't be overstated)
    Desire for expansion packs: 99999999/10
    Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2018
    10
    Old BattleTech fan. Been waiting for something like this for years. Delivers in every regard.
  4. Apr 28, 2018
    8
    Not bad, it's a solid 8, after 20 hours.

    Having played for 7 hours the first day I must say that I liked what I got, I liked it a lot.
    Not bad, it's a solid 8, after 20 hours.

    Having played for 7 hours the first day I must say that I liked what I got, I liked it a lot.
    Without any competition for these kind of games I'll take what I can get.
    Game mechanics is where battletech got me, they are great and addicting.
    Game play is a mixed bag, mech combat is fun, but oh the horror of destroying a convoy.
    I really like the artsy cut scenes and story telling.
    The voice acting is also good IMO.

    Things to improve.
    I hate to say it but the games doesn't look that good, the graphics feel dated and the games engine is not very optimized. I see no difference between 1080 and 2560. But boi does my GPU(980 ti). And yet I play FFXV on high at 60 frames. Front mission 4 on the PS2 had more detail and was less blurry.

    There are some sound bugs.
    The (out of combat) UI is not very snappy.
    Loading, even on a SSD it's slow. Reloading a save? Guess I'll wait.
    Corrupt save file? I lost a centurion, when reloading...
    Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2018
    7
    I had issues with my account/call sign but support was able to resolve the issue.

    So far some of the VO work is weak and the character
    I had issues with my account/call sign but support was able to resolve the issue.

    So far some of the VO work is weak and the character customization is very limited, but I'm getting into the story and I've been enjoying the combat and depth of the systems.

    So I've reached a thumbs "middle" for now and for the sake of wishful optimism I'll mark it recommended, with an asterisk next to it for the issues.

    I can see this gaming growing from my "7" to and "8" or "9" with some patches. I'll re-review as the game evolves.
    Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2018
    5
    There is a lot of potential here, just needs a layer of polish.
    Battles are *incredibly* slow, even if you turn down all special animations.
    There is a lot of potential here, just needs a layer of polish.
    Battles are *incredibly* slow, even if you turn down all special animations.
    Whenever an action happens, it seems to not lock out your UI for the correct amount of time: you either see the entire animation happen, and then wait 2-3 seconds for no reason until you get control back, or the animation starts, then doesn't have time to complete and it just skips the last bit.
    (If you're familiar with XCOM and the 'Stop Wasting My Time' mod, this is exactly the same problem, only much worse)
    When a special camera is used, you often find that your view is obstructed by terrain, other mechs, building, etc, or simply not framed properly, with the effects of your enemy's shots being off-screen (so it won't show how much damage you've taken).
    Another problem is the EXTREMELY long loading times. If you've ever played Kerbal Space Program, you'll be familiar with how Battletech handles scene changes when out of combat. You click on something, the screen goes black for 4 or more seconds, then you get your UI back.
    Some missions require escorting allied vehicles. They move very, very slowly. One at a time. The game doesn't let you fast-fowrard.

    All of these types of artificial slowdowns take a huge amount of time when you add them together, making a pretty good game into only slightly above average.

    Then there's the UI:
    Hello, this is 2018. My mouse has a right mouse button as well as a left. Perhaps you can do something with that right mouse button, such as cancel a planned order? Instead I need to hit ESC or one of the other orders in order to cancel a move.
    Scrapping a mech is an option... but why not let the user know that they could sell it for more money? All I need is a "get rid of mech" option, give me the max money I can get out of it. Or at least mention that scrapping a mech gets you less money than selling it?
    When preparing for a mission, I constantly get reminded that my mech is 0.01 tonnes underweight. Yeah. I know. Stop pestering me about it.
    When exiting a mission, I constantly get reminded that I can't use my mechs until I repair them again (even though they took 0 structural damage, and are instanly available again)
    When moving your ship between systems, there's lots of unskippable video. I realize it's 'cool', but I don't want to see a jump anymore.

    When outfitting your mech, you need to create a kind of 'shopping list' of changes, and then your mechanic will proceed with those changes. If 90% way through designing your refit you realize you'd like to add another laser, you need to *cancel the entire refit* (5s loading time), go to the shop (5-10s loading time), buy a laser, go back to the refit screen (5-10s loading time), *re-do your entire refit from the top*, and then add the laser. They could have just added store items to the refit screen, and have them add to the cost of the refit, but no...

    Also, if you cancel a refit order - even seconds after you made it, you lose 50% of the money it cost to place. WTH, the game is paused, let me cancel refit orders if they're not started yet.

    Also, there's a queue of refit work - meaning only one mech can be worked on at any given time. However if you schedule any work for your mechs they are unavailable for combat even if they're not being worked on - WTH ?
    Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2018
    0
    Disappointing game, earlier versions are superior and really games should be treated harshly when they are building on what's gone before andDisappointing game, earlier versions are superior and really games should be treated harshly when they are building on what's gone before and make something worse than what's gone before. Expand

See all 123 User Reviews