Far Cry 4 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1497 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Concealed in the monstrous Himalayas lies a country ingrained in tradition and brutality. You become Ajay Ghale, returning to the country of his birth, the this forests and formidable snow capped summits of Kyrat, to fulfill your mother’s dying wish of spreading her ashes. This bitter andConcealed in the monstrous Himalayas lies a country ingrained in tradition and brutality. You become Ajay Ghale, returning to the country of his birth, the this forests and formidable snow capped summits of Kyrat, to fulfill your mother’s dying wish of spreading her ashes. This bitter and unpredictable country offers visitors opportunity and danger. You quickly find yourself ensnared in a rebellion to overthrow the thorny regime of Pagan Min, a statesman known as much for his sense of style and charisma as for his cruelty and naked brutality. Navigating the treacherous landscape, you find your fate increasingly linked to the choices you make because in Kyrat, and every second is a story. In Far Cry 4, you’ll conquer fortress outposts from the back of a 6-ton elephant and hit the skies as you rain down explosives from your moving perch in the gyrocopter. The vertical landscape of the Himalayas isn’t just a gorgeous backdrop, but a playground that encourages the player to fight, hunt and explore, grappling cliffs or launching into the air, plummeting to the valley underneath your feet in a controlled free fall with your wing suit. You’ll carry with you a unique arsenal of weaponry that lets you play as you will, whether it’s sniping, sneaking or all-out assault. When all else fails, animals can be your biggest allies or your greatest peril. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Far Cry 4 - A Glimpse Into Kyrat Gamescom 2014 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 24, 2014
    89
    An absurdly entertaining open world playground that’s at its best when it breaks away from script. Shame about those tailing missions.
  2. GameStar
    Nov 20, 2014
    87
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 1, 2014
    85
    A worthy purchase certainly, but only if you’re prepared to accept Far Cry 3.5 rather than Far Cry 4.
  4. Nov 18, 2014
    80
    It also runs great on PC, where the higher potential resolution and better image quality really stands out. That's the version to play, if you have a PC that's capable of running it properly.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 23, 2014
    80
    It's Far Cry 3 sporting a likable psychotic antagonist and a less douchy protagonist. Baby steps by Ubisoft, but steps none-the-less. [Jan 2015, p.60]
  6. Nov 24, 2014
    80
    It takes what the last game did, and makes it better, but at the same time it's because of this that it doesn't break new ground.
  7. Nov 23, 2014
    65
    For all its visual appeal, however, Far Cry 4 remains a shallow experience. It has loads of things in it, but having a lot of things is not the same thing as having depth. With a vapid story, activities that rely more on regurgitation than anything else, and a campaign that is exciting only for as long as you can ignore how insincere it all is, this is a game that affects a meaningful experience, rather than manage to be one.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 303
  1. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    The game already gets downvoted. Most likely from people who don't own the game, as usual.

    The game is actually really good. It performs
    The game already gets downvoted. Most likely from people who don't own the game, as usual.

    The game is actually really good. It performs really well, and it is a lot of fun. If you enjoyed Far Cry 3, you will like this one aswell. And well, unlike AC Unity this one actually works. ;)
    Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2015
    10
    A vast open world action/shooter with plenty of stealth and so many things to do that you just lose yourself in the game's world (and that's aA vast open world action/shooter with plenty of stealth and so many things to do that you just lose yourself in the game's world (and that's a good thing). Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2020
    9
    Despite the fact that Far Cry 4 is just Far Cry 3, with a new story and a new location, the atmosphere of this game is one of the mostDespite the fact that Far Cry 4 is just Far Cry 3, with a new story and a new location, the atmosphere of this game is one of the most memorable of all the games I've played, making me perceive the reused elements from Far Cry 3 not necessarily as a lack of imagination, but as a preservation of quality. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2014
    7
    The Far Cry series is probably my favorite shooter series. I have loved every single game, but I think they have began to go down a wrong pathThe Far Cry series is probably my favorite shooter series. I have loved every single game, but I think they have began to go down a wrong path with the series now. Actually I might suspect they already did with Far Cry 3, even though I absolutely adore that game, but the reason I did not notice it so much was because I played with a tweak on the PC that made all the HUD go away. It was really involving, immersive and realistic. Now playing Far Cry 4 I have not found such a tweak yet so I am forced to play the "vanilla" way and that is why I see all the faults that probably where mostly there in part 3 even to be honest but I was spared against because of the community tweak.

    The main thing is that the game feels extremely handholding. There is HUD clutter everywhere and even when shutting down as much as I can in the options I still can't get rid of the glowing bodies or the see through walls ability which is just pathetic as far as options go. Why do they have a ton of options but no way to turn this off? Incredible.

    You also get button prompts for EVERYTHING. Looking down a scope? You will have those damn ugly button reminders cluttering up the screen the whole game reminding you that you can use right or left analog to zoom or hold your breath. Flying with the wingsuit? Be prepared to have the gorgeous view blocked by some reminder of pressing a button to get out your parachute. It does not matter if you have done this a 1000 times before, the game still wants to remind you so you don't get lost. Pathetic.

    As annoying as that there are also other points in the game where you get prompts like this in missions. The game does not seem to be able to recognise I have used an ability 1000 times before, it still needs to remind me how to use that ability in a mission that involves it. It just feels so handholding and forced. Like you are a baby and the game needs to make sure you don't get lost.

    Also one way to describe the game is quantity over quality. The map is just filled with gems and other things for you to collect. While one might think this is a good thing it is just TO MUCH. A thing that seems to be a thing in many other Ubisoft games like Assassins Creed to. Instead of there being interesting to find it just becomes a game of running to the next glowing thing on the map to collect. It is way overboard and should be tuned down or made into something more interesting. It really takes away from the feeling of this being a real place in a way and makes it more feel like a video game theme park with "powerups" to collect.

    The game is also filled with bugs that I have not seen in previous Far Cry games. Every time I start the game I have to turn off the auto aim, because the game seems to not save this for some reason. If I use the filter on the map I have to first go in to the options and turn on the minimap and then turn it off again. If I don't do this the game is bugged and don't let me use the filter on the map. If you run fast in the world you will see birds spawning all over the place right in front of your eyes. Many times I have seen cars spawn right in the road before me etc etc.

    Also while the game looks very good the environment is not really that interesting and quite bland and samey looking. The tropical paradise of Far Cry 1 and Far Cry 3 is so much more inviting and interesting. Even though I understand it might be good to have some other environments I really miss the jungle every time they have another setting. The himaliyas are quite cool though with the heavy snow to be honest.

    Another thing that really annoyes me in the game is the animals. They are way to aggresive and unrealstic. Bears and wolfes should not just attack you on sight like some rabid dogs. And don't even speak of the eagels that attack anything that moves, extremely annoying after the 100:th time you get one attacking your head. Also there seems to be no way to attack anything underwater, not even to use your knife which is very annoying when swiming and there is a man eating fish at your tail.

    The game is still fun though even though it feels like a reskin of Far Cry 3. The small helicopter and the grapplinghook are both very cool features. It just feels for the first time in the Far Cry series like less of a real sequel worthy of a new number and more like an "expansion" or reskin (of part 3).

    The game is become way to casual, cluttered, "theme parky" and handholding. I really wish they go back on that a bit in Far Cry 5 and make it more grounded and "hardcore". And for f sake if you have such a long menu for HUD options include options to turn EVERYTHING off!
    Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2014
    6
    All in all Far Cry 4 is a beautiful and offers a lot of stuff to do, but one thing is unacceptable. To ship a PC shooter with a non fullyAll in all Far Cry 4 is a beautiful and offers a lot of stuff to do, but one thing is unacceptable. To ship a PC shooter with a non fully functional mouse input. Even after suggested xml edits and disabling in all possible options it is still there, very noticeable when you start at one point and move slowly to the side and then repeat the process with slightly faster movement, the movement is non linear. The game needs a RAW mouse input instead of this consoley acceleration nonsense, please Ubisoft step up your game.

    I seriously hope they are going to fix that, otherwise i cannot fully recommend this game for PC gamers who value a proper and direct mouse input, even though the game is VERY good on all other fronts, only this open important detail hasn't been fixed in 3 patches and that's a dealbreaker for me.
    Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2014
    5
    Far cry 4 really is a good game but, for a few reasons, it has to be marked down.

    1: It's just Far Cry 3 in a different place. That's no
    Far cry 4 really is a good game but, for a few reasons, it has to be marked down.

    1: It's just Far Cry 3 in a different place. That's no bad thing as Far Cry 3 was a brilliant game but when you're being asked to shell out £40 for a "new" game, it's a little insulting to find that it's little more than a big expansion pack.

    2: It has obviously been developed for consoles first. This means clumsy UIs and some really basic errors that shouldn't be present in a released game. See points 3 and 4.

    3: Out of the box it's unplayable due to mouse acceleration that cannot be turned off without unpacking, editing and re-packing the game files. The mouse sensitivity is also painfully low, which means that you have to have it cranked up to 100% to get close to being playable.

    4: The game runs at 60FPS for me but it doesn't feel like it. Due to a stuttering issue it feels as though it's running at 15FPS. It's painful to look at but it can be cured by buffering frames.

    5: Point 3 means that you can't play the game on multiplayer as the edited game files make the server think you're cheating.

    So, in conclusion, if you're happy to pay £40 for some DLC that either sort of works as single player only, or doesn't work at all but is single and multiplayer, then go for it. Otherwise wait until they get off their arses and patch out the problems that should have been caught in alpha testing.
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2016
    0
    I didn't finish Far Cry 3. It was too easy and the hand holding was unbearable. I was going to skip Far Cry 4 and someone told me they QTEsI didn't finish Far Cry 3. It was too easy and the hand holding was unbearable. I was going to skip Far Cry 4 and someone told me they QTEs are gone and you can disable all the hand holding items (minimap, etc...).

    This game is WAY too easy, you can't make it hard. It's so easy, it's boring. I thought it might get better. Then it happened. I recovered some supplies and suddenly I have 2 minutes and 10 seconds to get them somewhere they needed to go.

    I uninstalled Uplay and both FC3 and FC4. I'll keep Far Cry 2, it was the best of the bunch.
    Expand

See all 303 User Reviews

Trailers