Ghost of a Tale Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ghost of a Tale is an action-RPG game in which you assume the role of Tilo, a mouse and minstrel thrown into a perilous adventure. Through stealth and cunning you’ll be able to explore the secrets of Dwindling Heights Keep and navigate its dangers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jun 6, 2018
    85
    This magical tale grabs us from the first page to the last. We read it with the heart of a child, fascinated by its fantasy universe.
  2. Mar 24, 2018
    85
    A quite praiseworthy videogame, especially considering it was developed mostly by a one-man team. The level design is of top quality and one of the best indicators of how talented Lionel Gallat is, and is accompanied by a rich lore, an extremely likeable protagonist and visuals that are probably the most beautiful ever produced for a 3D game with the use of Unity.
  3. Apr 24, 2018
    80
    Whoever is looking for an adventure in a beautiful world can stop looking. He will experience one of the best tales in the escapades of the mouse Til.
  4. CD-Action
    Jun 5, 2018
    75
    Due to very basic enemy AI Ghost of a Tale is not a particularly good stealth game, but its fairy tale charm is irresistible and although I worked hard for hours to escape the fortress, I was leaving it with genuine sorrow. [05/2018, p.78]
  5. Mar 23, 2018
    74
    Ghost of a Tale is an ambitious and charming indie adventure which does not reach its full potential. The main character Tilo is one of the cutest animated video game characters we have seen in a long time and the fantasy setting looks absolutely stunning. Unfortunately, the game can make you feel pretty helpless at times, since hints are rare and finding your way through castle Dieruin takes a lot of patience.
  6. Mar 20, 2018
    70
    Ghost of a Tale is a game created as a great labyrinthine dungeon, puzzles, traps, stealth, and a charismatic protagonist in a macabre and gray medieval world. SeithCG's first job is reminiscent of classic adventures, but it also needs better optimization, technical polishing and several better decisions.
  7. Apr 4, 2018
    55
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Jun 18, 2018
    10
    La belleza máxima, me a conmovido completamente este hermoso videojuego, esto si se le puede llamar un buen juego de Aventura. Para ser unLa belleza máxima, me a conmovido completamente este hermoso videojuego, esto si se le puede llamar un buen juego de Aventura. Para ser un indie es la perfección, es un juego que recordaré para siempre, estoy muy agradecido por su existencia ! Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2021
    10
    Это одна из лучших игр, в которые я когда-либо играл. Очень люблю эту игру. Да, в ней есть странные моменты с предметами, которые никогда неЭто одна из лучших игр, в которые я когда-либо играл. Очень люблю эту игру. Да, в ней есть странные моменты с предметами, которые никогда не будут использованы, видимо, разработчик начинал с большим размахом, но потом игру немного урезали. Тем не менее, я готов простить этой игре все ее проблемы. Очень надеюсь когда-нибудь увидеть продолжение. Expand
  3. Fuz
    May 9, 2018
    10
    This game is absolutely beautiful and need more exposition.
    It's amazing. It's not exactly a stealth game (the stealth mechanics are very
    This game is absolutely beautiful and need more exposition.
    It's amazing. It's not exactly a stealth game (the stealth mechanics are very basic and from a certain point you can totally ignore it) but more of an exploration/adventure game. And it's got a great story (although riding on a bit of a cliché - but it's extremely well done), amazing writing, fantastic set of characters and it's absolutely gorgeous.
    I want more of this whimsical world, I really hope there will be a sequel.
    Buy it, the developer(s) deserve all the praise and support.
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2020
    9
    The game is set in a surprisingly vibrant, colorful world. The silent protagonist is immediately and enduringly sympathetic. There are severalThe game is set in a surprisingly vibrant, colorful world. The silent protagonist is immediately and enduringly sympathetic. There are several well defined NPCs that you feel connection to. The stealth and platforming are basic, but enjoyable. The RPG elements are minimalist but sufficient. There are a few flaws in camera, controls. There is a bit of a slog in making trips for quest items. But the overpowering charm of this game make it one of my favorites, certainly one of my favorite indie games. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2021
    8
    Beautiful mixture of Graphic Adventure and RPG of indie production that mixes stealth mechanics, exploration and puzzle solving. With a veryBeautiful mixture of Graphic Adventure and RPG of indie production that mixes stealth mechanics, exploration and puzzle solving. With a very nice graphic finish and a story that traps you until the end. In this game the player is in charge of Tilo, a bard mouse trapped in the prison of the rats with the difficult mission of escaping his unjust captivity and finding his missing wife. From the outset the setting is reminiscent of the first 'Dark Souls', with its dark, merciless medieval settings and deep, gloomy dungeons, but the game is geared towards other gameplay solutions. There is no combat, which means that we have to use our brains to get out of the different situations, with the skills of our bard mouse, his facility with words and his ability for music and disguise. Highly recommended. It took us between 15 and 20 hours to complete. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2018
    8
    A level of detail rarely seen among other indie games! Top notch production value!
  7. Mar 17, 2021
    0
    I liked the idea and adorable art. The problem comes because there is only one way to do several things (such as the sneaking without beingI liked the idea and adorable art. The problem comes because there is only one way to do several things (such as the sneaking without being caught) and you may try one task for hours and never hit the one way. So, you look it up and see the entire game is that way so there are step by step directions for all those one way to do it puzzles. That then ruins the game for you as you know most people that complete the game simply followed step by step directions. I wish games always changed and had true randomness in places so that no guide would ever be able to walk you through. Following directions is boring. This happens to be one of the worst at that. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews