Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Jan 19, 2021
    100
    Taken individually, Hitman 3 feels like great value, with plenty of variety and lots to do. When taken as a whole, the World of Assassination trilogy is hands-down one of the best and most complete-feeling trilogies in video game history. It’s a fitting finale for 47 – at least for now – and it has naturally left me thrilled to see what IO does with James Bond or whatever else comes next. It might only be January – but I can pretty much guarantee this will end the year as one of my 2021 favourites.
  2. Jan 19, 2021
    100
    A franchise like no other comes to an epic and satisfying conclusion. Hitman III is the culmination of both story and development skill that will leave fans everywhere smiling with joy.
  3. Jan 19, 2021
    100
    Hitman is a world made up entirely of Chekhov's guns, and it's a blast finding out how to get Agent 47 into position to pull the trigger.
  4. 100
    Hitman 3 is the ultimate murder simulator. Now that the World of Assassination trilogy is finally complete, there's no excuse to not play Hitman. In order to truly appreciate the game's intricacies, you have to commit to replaying levels, attempting challenges, and testing out new strategies. However, if you put in the time, you'll be treated to one of the most engaging and rewarding stealth experiences in all of gaming.
  5. Jan 27, 2021
    96
    Hitman III is by far the best stealth game today and part of a true action-adventure trilogy that must be played and that everyone should enjoy.
  6. Feb 10, 2021
    90
    Predictably enough, I loved it. I loved the stories, the variety in approach, the focus on concluding the trilogy in a (mostly) satisfying way. I loved the literary and cinematic influences. I really like IOI's commitment to ' backwards compatibility' - unlock a sniper rifle in Hitman 3, and sure! You can go back and shoot people with it in Hitman 1. I occasionally get frustrated with the way that the online mode features can be a little unforgiving on a poor internet connection. But overall this is a game I'm sure I'll still be dipping into for years to come, just as I have with the previous two. It's the best action shooter series out at the moment for sure.
  7. Feb 4, 2021
    90
    A must-buy for fans of the Stealth genre, and a safe bet for those looking for a well-crafted third-person escapade that combines solid gameplay with high-quality, movie-like production values.
  8. The grand fun of “Hitman” runs are just how it all goes wrong, and how 47 is able to make lemonade out of lemons and spilled blood.
  9. Jan 22, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 defies every expectation I had for it, from the size of its maps to the scope of its missions. I am truly free to approach these jobs however I wish, so long as the objectives are met, and that freedom is downright exhilarating. It’s not without its foibles, the inconsistency with its enemies being one that I ran into, but any issues are easily overcome by the quality of the overall experience. This may be 47’s last hurrah for a while, but dang if he doesn’t go out swinging.
  10. Jan 21, 2021
    90
    Five years after kicking off Hitman's new era, IO Interactive closes out the World of Assassination trilogy in spectacular fashion. Hitman 3 is a massive package full of fantastic new levels and modes that's well worth the purchase for stealth-action fans.
  11. Jan 20, 2021
    90
    While the game does not offer anything new in terms of gameplay, Hitman 3 features the best levels in any Hitman game to date.
  12. Jan 20, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 is the epic finale for the reboot trilogy, which started 2016. The different locations are breathtaking and long term satisfying. The game includes also two of the best Hitman missions of all the time. Dartmoor and Berlin are different to any other previous scenery and really amazing to play. A profound and dark story rounds off this great stealth adventure. There is only one big weakness in Hitman 3 and that’s the annoying and chunky gun handling.
  13. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 surprised me a little and offered more than simply a rehearse of the same good-old stealth action. The solid foundation was complemented by really diverse missions and a strong storyline - a great game became even better. IO Interactive has certainly just delivered the best installment in the rebooted series.
  14. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    There's simply not a lot of stealth-action games that can hold a candle to Hitman III, with its hours upon hours of engaging gameplay and high replayability. The sheer variety of different locations and missions, and also the inclusion of all the legacy content, turns this title into something you don't want to miss at the start of 2021.
  15. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    IO interactive managed to create an unforgettable experience that will be regarded as the best stealth game for many years to come.
  16. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman III is a fascinating finale to the franchise that shyly continues the series’ tradition to iterate and improve on each entry.
  17. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Rich, rewarding, and highly replayable, Hitman 3 is a superb instalment of IO’s idiosyncratic but much-loved stealth series. The fundamentals haven’t changed since 2016 but its collection of outstanding maps makes for a refined, reliable, and robust curtain-closer to the current Hitman trilogy.
  18. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 dances asymptotically with the concept of perfection, often approaching it without ever really grasping its essence. Nevertheless, IO Interactive manages to improve and refine a well-established formula, while offering a a truly satisfying conclusion to 47’s struggle against Providence. Although there are some flaws, they’re almost entirely eclipsed by the incredible quality of everything else.
  19. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Could IO Interactive have ended the World of Assassination Trilogy better? Probably not. Even if Hitman 3 sticks to previous episodes formula and plays it safe, keeping its usual flaws, it offers gorgeous and incredibly well-conceived destinations that will indeed please fans. There are so many good trails to follow, so many possibilities that you'll sure end up with the urge to try everything in order to go for the perfect kill. If you own Hitman 1 and Hitman 2, there is some serious amount of challenges waiting. A PlayStation VR ? Prepare for a game-changing experience.
  20. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    It’s great on its own, but combined with Hitman (2016) and Hitman 2 it helps make up the masterpiece that is the World of Assassination trilogy
  21. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 features both some of the best missions of the series so far and, with the bundled older levels, you get all the other standouts included. Which is a rough way of saying this is the best way to play the Hitman series as well as being an essential new Hitman game in its own right.
  22. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    A beautiful, deep, and endlessly replayable murder sandbox, featuring some of the best levels in the series.
  23. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 concludes a chapter in the greater Hitman story, but it doesn’t feel like an ending. There’s an abundance of content and side activities on offer, and the trilogy as a whole is bound to be a long-term destination for would-be assassins. IO Interactive’s final act in the trilogy anticipates and rewards player experimentation, features meticulous level design, and has moments of ghoulish catharsis that makes me cackle aloud. My enthusiasm for it all is as indelible as the barcode tattooed on the back of Agent 47’s head.
  24. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    What's good about Hitman--its level design and the creativity, experimentation, and exploration that affords--is great in Hitman 3. It closes out the trilogy by brilliantly playing off everything that came before it, making use of and then subverting expectations, and rewarding players for their willingness to master the complexity of both its individual levels and the series as a whole.
  25. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 is the best of the newer Hitman games and quite possibly the best Hitman game in the franchise.
  26. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    It's the little things that add up and really make Hitman 3 special.
  27. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    A slick and entertaining conclusion to a trilogy full of inventive, beautifully crafted levels to explore and exploit.
  28. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 builds on the structure of its predecessors but doesn't recycle old mechanics. Its creative sandbox systems encourage multiple playthroughs with possible outcomes only limited by your imagination. Returning fans will get the most of this narrative as it ties up a few loose ends but doesn't totally stick the landing. It's absolutely brilliant in execution, though, as you replay missions for different results providing the most robust experience to those who spend the most time playing.
  29. Jan 19, 2021
    88
    Hitman 3 is an amazingly crafted epilogue for the World of Assassination trilogy and the best modern Hitman yet.
  30. Jan 19, 2021
    87
    A fantastic closure to the World of Assassination trilogy with some excellent level design.
  31. Feb 3, 2021
    85
    Despite the less than stellar final mission and instability of the servers, Hitman 3 is a worthy entry to bring the World of Assassination trilogy to a close. While it’s uncertain where Agent 47 will go from here, I feel the series is in good hands and I’ll be sure to have my Fiber Wire handy for the next contract.
  32. Jan 31, 2021
    85
    Hitman 3 is slow and intriguing. Its real interesting point is the enchanting sense of substitution, and the stealth gameplay method is amazing.
  33. Hitman 3 is a great finale for the World of Assassination trilogy. With VR support exclusive to PlayStation, it is definitely a game you shouldn't miss.
  34. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    The bald, barcoded assassin has had many hits in his 21-year career, but even though it might be his last for quite some time, Hitman 3 is one of 47’s best executions yet.
  35. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    Hitman 3 brings the World of Assassination trilogy to its climax thanks, among other things, to more gameplay options. If we would have appreciated more polished cinematics, the in-game graphics meet the expectations and very few bugs are to be deplored. As for the crowd management, it still amazes us, despite the inevitable routines of the NPCs. As for the sandbox aspect, it remains one of the strong points of the title, which will delight the fans eager to experience the numerous possibilities offered.
  36. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    I have been enjoying Hitman 3 so much that I probably won't be playing anything else in the coming weeks, to be able to discover every nook and cranny in the different levels. You do notice that at the end of this trilogy, the concept is getting a bit pale and it is time for Agent 47 to get a makeover. Nevertheless, this is a very big end to the series that will undoubtedly be in my top five at the end of this year.
  37. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    A solid and powerful final act of the trilogy.
  38. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    Although there are a few issues (namely with its save system and soon-to-be-fixed progress carry-over function), Hitman 3's mission stories, level design, and creative assassinations provide the franchise's "greatest hits" record. It's the perfect way to cap off Agent 47's journey.
  39. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    Hitman 3 simply elevates video game killing to an art.
  40. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    HITMAN 3 concludes the trilogy started in 2016 in style, on almost all points. The level design shows itself as always brilliant, while the scenario really makes things evolve. This new iteration can also be a valid entry point for new gamers.
  41. Jan 19, 2021
    84
    For me, the bill (with the exception of the story) works out perfectly. In Hitman 3, I have so much to puzzle, lure, assassinate, and giggle while setting up the perfect bitter traps that I will likely spend many weeks with the game.
  42. Jan 26, 2021
    80
    IO Interactive finished its trilogy with a great finale, and this episode is the best of three, tying up the epic World of Assassination series in a beautiful bow.
  43. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    Hitman 3 was a fun game, but I definitely put it down quicker than I did Hitman 1 or 2. If you wanted more of the same it gives you that on top of being a really convenient platform for the content of the previous games, but that doesn’t change the fact that this feels much more like an expansion pack than a new entry in the franchise.
  44. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    Hitman 3 is a great swan song to a fun trilogy of games, held up by its intricate locations and humorous gameplay. Hopefully future updates bring some important additions that extend its replay value and turn it into the ultimate stealth game it is within spitting distance of being.
  45. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    Agent 47, smarter and more lethal than ever, comes back with a gaming experience that knows how to highlight the players’ killer instinct. Everything comes to life in a stealth adventure ripe with possibilities, a sandbox filled with ideas and alternative scenarios that encourage a variety of approaches and benefit from an inspired level design.
  46. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    Another fine outing for Agent 47, and a fitting, hopefully brief, farewell to one of the best stealth series of the last decade.
  47. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    In an alternate universe, Hitman became one of the best-selling series of all time, its influence akin to something like PUBG. In this better world, where the pandemic never even happened, Hitman spawned a genre of its own - the Hitmanlike, where developers put level design and systemic play right at the top of their priority list. Alas, we can’t break through the skin of the world and reach that universe. We’re stuck here. In our world, Hitman stands alone. There’s nothing like it, and Hitman 3 is an outstanding refinement of that unique 21-year-old recipe. Just watch out for that secret ingredient. (It’s poison).
  48. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    IO continues its tug of war between Hitman: The Story and Hitman: The Assassin Simulation. For the most of Hitman 3 the latter wins out and delivers classic hit after classic hit. Wobbly conclusion aside, it’s a must for existing fans and a great introduction to gaming’s boldest, baldest stealth series.
  49. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    New levels, new targets, new graphical improvements, same Hitman taste. Hitman 3 won't be everyone's cup of tea, but the niche should be extremely satisfied.
  50. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    A great epilogue for the World Assassination Trilogy. The inclusion of the prequels updated with the current engine and the variety of missions, will keep you playing past the end. Great graphics and very apt sound compartment.
  51. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    A nice conclusion to the World of Assassination trilogy. Hitman III is "just" more of the same, but that's not a problem when the original material is that good.
  52. Jan 24, 2021
    70
    Hitman 3 is another attempt on the part of the series to split the difference, for better and worse, between player freedom and focused storytelling.
  53. Jan 19, 2021
    70
    Hitman 3 is a fun game — and I enjoyed plotting my way through it — but my hopes of refinement and iteration weren’t met. At its core, the gameplay is still the same as it’s always been. The series hasn’t managed to keep up with the times with the only attempt to shift the gameplay formula up somewhat, Hitman: Absolution, being very poorly received.
  54. Jan 19, 2021
    70
    Hitman 3 isn’t a game that I would call bad in the slightest, but it hasn’t done a lot to wow me out of the gate. It feels more like an expansion than a showy, new sequel. Still, even with a handful of drawbacks, the promise is there that this will only continue to be a game that grows and gets better over time.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 19, 2021
    Hitman 3 is the closing to a trilogy that has accompanied us for the last five years that risks little in its standard version. Some new gadgets such as the camera or the implementation of situations against the clock try to give a breath of fresh air to a delivery that cannot be removed from the seal of continuity. However, everything that has accompanied Agent 47 during these years is still there and lovers of the saga will appreciate it. Obviously the graphic update of previous games and the incorporation of VR mode on PlayStation is something that cannot be looked the other way. However, I would have appreciated a greater effort in narrative terms in this ending, perhaps the weakest point of the saga in these editions. All in all, this is a good game that offers the user a huge amount of hours if what you want is to get the most out of each of its well-worked scenarios. [Recommended]
  2. Jan 19, 2021
    A solid if unambitious expansion pack—and that should tell you whether to buy this one or catch up on Hitman 2 instead.
  3. Jan 22, 2021
    Although Hitman 3 on its own is great and worth your time, it’s the promise of all three games in one that make this a contender for Game Of The Year. In the end, the last five years have seen IO seemingly in training for what might come next. As it prepares to leave Agent 47 behind, we know now it has another iconic agent in its hands: James Bond. This feels like the ultimate send-off and a job interview at the same time. Double-0 status approved.
  4. Jan 19, 2021
    Even when I was on familiar ground—”safe” in my disguise, surrounded by pretentious and gullible targets, armed with all my secret gadgets and intel—I felt aware of who 47 actually is: lonely and out of place, with few friends and little control over his life. Whatever humanity he might have is twisted up in the machinations of power and capital that he’s both part of and fights against. “Who will you be without a score to settle?” Lucas Grey asks him early in the game, and it’s a question I often turned over as Hitman 3 played out. Essentially, he’d be no one—but then he’s always been that, really; all the rest of his identity is just make believe. Narratively and structurally, Hitman 3 strips its own make believe away, leaving the series’ core darkness on display.
  5. Jan 20, 2021
    I can't speak positively enough about this game. At nearly every turn, Hitman III puts itself out there as the best version of itself. In so many ways it's the same game we've been playing since 2016 (and really since 2000). There aren't many games that can make the same boast: relatively unchanged and better off for it after two whole decades.
  6. Jan 19, 2021
    I’m amazed that IO pulled off that delicate balancing act in Agent 47’s finest adventure to date. [Polygon Recommends]
  7. Since its episodic beginnings, you know what you’re getting into. With Ian Hitman, you know you’re getting some world-class level design, some tense moments of dark comedy improv, and a type of clockwork murder toy that nobody else makes. As a final act, Hitman 3 is as capable and pleasing as its trilogy-siblings. As a trilogy, it is one of the most fun-loving games of the previous decade. It is like Ian himself – reliable, dry-humoured, uniformed. The best murderer money can buy.
  8. Jan 27, 2021
    Players invested in the fate of Agent 47, Grey, and Providence find the final few levels of Hitman 3 really deliver on the story promises with some alarming twists and a satisfying conclusion. And those looking for the full ramp up from casual Hitman playing to borderline speed runner have a whole lot to work with here. But what makes me more excited is knowing IOI has nailed its formula for helping players improve and understand why it is they like to play games like this and how to get better at them. I can’t wait to see how the spirit of Agent 47 lives on in what they create next.
  9. Jan 19, 2021
    Hitman 3 ultimately succeeds at delivering some of the things that I really enjoy about these games, but those highlights keep getting overshadowed by inflexible Mission Stories, or the way the main plot kept putting more constraints on the game's possibilities. Maybe I’ll enjoy everything so much more by the time I do each of these levels five or six times and the actual story is far back in my memory, buried by how many ways I can use grapes to decimate my enemies. But the entire time I was playing for this review, I kept scrolling back to the levels for Hitman and Hitman 2, thinking about simply going back and exploring those all over again, and I’m not sure that desire is going to go away.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 328 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 328
  1. Jan 21, 2021
    10
    This game is amazing in every aspects,and is the best of this new trilogy
  2. Jan 22, 2021
    10
    Well it's about million times better game than Cyberpunk 2077 and that's all that matters really. It's not revolutionary, but these developersWell it's about million times better game than Cyberpunk 2077 and that's all that matters really. It's not revolutionary, but these developers at least care about games they are making. Full Review »
  3. Jan 21, 2021
    10
    I am new to the hitman series and I love this game and the levels. It has great gameplay mechanics.