Invisible, Inc. Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Invisible, Inc. is a mercenary espionage agency operating in the latter years of the 21st century. Infiltrate procedurally generated corporate facilities in tense, turn-based missions where every move could be your last. Find profit in chaos as you guide your team around the world in searchInvisible, Inc. is a mercenary espionage agency operating in the latter years of the 21st century. Infiltrate procedurally generated corporate facilities in tense, turn-based missions where every move could be your last. Find profit in chaos as you guide your team around the world in search of lucrative contracts. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Invisible, Inc. - Release Date Reveal Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. May 12, 2015
    100
    The turn-based stealth gameplay is empowering, but fraught and fleeting each time you dive deeper into one of the world's least architecturally sensible corporate buildings, rooms budding off rooms, some empty, some dangerous, all necessary.
  2. May 18, 2015
    90
    The gameplay is incredibly deep in its strategic aspects, and the game has great replayability value. Xcom fans, here you have a great heir to the throne.
  3. Jul 8, 2015
    90
    First-class spy strategy, what is missing is just a few bits to be a perfect game: better style and narration more suitable for the replayability.
  4. Jun 10, 2015
    84
    It's complex and basically a game for people with an insane love for tactics. Once you survive despite all obstacles you'll feel like the smartest tactician of them all.
  5. Jun 8, 2015
    80
    Invisible Inc. is based on strategy and long-term planning. Surviving the next turn is all that matters - the player's actions are rewarded with great satisfaction. The game suffers from a small variety of levels and mission types but it still shows that Klei Entertainment is at the top of their game among independent developers.
  6. May 19, 2015
    80
    Invisible, Inc. takes the formula made famous by the likes of X-Com and makes a wonderfully tight experience that you will not help but love.
  7. Sep 11, 2015
    60
    Invisible Inc. is a game with a lot of hidden depth that is waiting to be explored and exploited; and while the story is severely lacking it’s still worth the $20 to checkout and run through a few times.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. May 16, 2015
    10
    Great intense tactical game. The game itself feels well designed and programmed. Everything runs smooth. Sound is great too. You have a lot ofGreat intense tactical game. The game itself feels well designed and programmed. Everything runs smooth. Sound is great too. You have a lot of tactical decisions to make. One of the best tactical games I played in a while. In a mission the play-style can be compared with XCOM (but ouside of missions it has no base-building or reaseach), Outside of a mission it feels more like FTL, you can select between different next missions and you can upgrade your agents with items or skills. Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2015
    10
    This is one of the best turn based games I've played this decade. Off the top of my head, if I had to name the best designed turn based gamesThis is one of the best turn based games I've played this decade. Off the top of my head, if I had to name the best designed turn based games it'd be Civilization and this. The design, execution, and atmosphere of this game are top notch. The only thing I'd wish for is a slight UI/gameplay optimization for dragging bodies (there's a loophole a dragged body can be stacked on another, leading to unfun gameplay as it's pretty powerful). Also, some characters and loadout options are just inferior to others, making "Random" fun but definitely subpar (which reduces replayability). Expand
  3. May 15, 2015
    9
    A solid game all around. The instant death mechanic and the fact that guards never just reset to default patterns after detecting you givesA solid game all around. The instant death mechanic and the fact that guards never just reset to default patterns after detecting you gives the stealth proper meaning. Literally the only downside to this game is the length. 72 hours gives you approx 9 missions based on my own experience, which feels a tad short. Since this game throws itself into the roguelike mix, i would have hoped for a longer experience. This didn't need the length of X-Com or Sword of the Stars: The Pit, but i wish it could have followed on with the ending twist. Luckily it appears to have good replayability.

    Also a surprisingly good lunchtime game. Individual mission play length runs about 5-15 minutes based on difficulty rating.
    Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2015
    8
    All right, so I do recommend the game, but I'll say right away that it's easily not for everyone. In short, if you're expecting a well-piecedAll right, so I do recommend the game, but I'll say right away that it's easily not for everyone. In short, if you're expecting a well-pieced together story, you won't find it here, but if you're after a rogue-like turn-based dungeon crawler, then this game will be right up your alley.

    The presentation is probably the game's biggest strength. It's put together well in shiny visuals, clean UI, and a fun gameplay concept that takes isometric turn-based combat and makes it stealth-oriented, where you're better off avoiding the enemies rather than engaging in fights. The game is fun, if you enjoy turn-based tactics that let you plan your every ally's move.

    The gameplay concept is solid, but some of its execution was a fair bit annoying to me personally. A lot of the challenge presented felt simply artificial and unfair. The raising security level each and every turn forces you to rush each mission. Exploration is simply not rewarded under this system, because the longer you stay on your mission, the more security measures will be added after every few turns, which will eventually put you in a tight spot. I never came across any way for me to freeze or reduce the security level. It's just a rush against time, but on turn-based basis.

    I was also not fond of the fact that I couldn't buy any equipment for my party in between missions. The only time I could do it was if I happened to find an automated shop during missions, when I had virtually no money to spend. Of 4 agents I had in my missions, 2 were running about without weapons and just being used to sit on the guards. This brings me to another annoyance. If you don't have a weapon, you have no way to deal with the guards. No idea what sort of agents these are who can't even take out a guard from behind unless they have a tazer. Things start to get more complex when you meet enemies in armour, who are invulnerable to most weapons, and your only chance is to play a cat and mouse game where you're constantly running away.

    But, I really did like being able to improve my agents in between missions by upgrading their stats, even if stats themselves did feel a bit unbalanced. Speed felt like the most useful stat by far, since it gave you more action points, with hacking being a close second, since everything requires hacking. But strength and anarchy felt next to useless. Strength only lets you carry more items, and anarchy makes you steal slightly more money from the guards.

    And lastly the story, well, it was mostly on the background. The most of it you'll see is in the opening and ending cutscenes. But the rest of the game you're just dungeon-crawling really. It was pretty neat to get to pick which mission to do from a wide selection. It's very non-linear and each mission simply increases your assets - either you rescue an extra agent to add to the team, or you find some new shiny gear to use. Though because of that, it also meant that there were no story-related reasons to do any mission. You could expect the same approach in each one and merely doing as many as you can to pass 72 hours in-game before having to do the final one with what you've got.

    I was also hoping there'd be some more character development. All the agents in your team were just mute puppets for you to control. They never showed any personality or had anything to say aside from a witty one-liner at the start of each mission.

    Having said this, if you are a dungeon-crawl fanatic and like challenge, you should enjoy this game very much. It has higher difficulty modes, as well as an endless mode too where you have to survive for as long as you can. Overall, it's a worthy game to try and I have had my fair share of fun with it, even though the main campaign is rather on the short side.
    Expand
  5. ave
    Jul 2, 2016
    8
    Invisible Inc is a very good surprise. I usually enjoy team-based tactical games, and this blend of stealth and hacking is really engaging forInvisible Inc is a very good surprise. I usually enjoy team-based tactical games, and this blend of stealth and hacking is really engaging for me.

    I think the game truly shines by the way it manages tension. During a mission, even if you can crawl and hack your way discretely to your objectives, the alarm level still rises and you're only a turn away from a very stressed situation where guards surrounds you and make you sweat like hell. In between mission, since you have a time limit, you'll have to make tough choices between gaining access to facilities, acquiring money, items or improving your agents.

    Depth and replay value comes from the procedural map generation and the multiple improvements for your agents (skills, augments, items) or your IA (programs),

    The art direction is excellent and really contributes to the game's readability (an important feature since you have to monitor multiple agents, sometimes in different places, and also the Incognita network).
    Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2020
    7
    Pros.:
    - If you like X-Com (new ones) tactical mode, you may like his rogue-like game.
    - The game represents many different abilities to
    Pros.:
    - If you like X-Com (new ones) tactical mode, you may like his rogue-like game.
    - The game represents many different abilities to finish the missions.
    - The story is decent.
    - The game has its own cyberpunk-sixties style.

    Cons.:
    - Unfortunately, the game seems imbalanced.
    - If you play on harder levels, be ready to see 'game over' and start again.
    - The game requires high precision in making the decisions. However, the ability bank seems one sided. The limitation of the mission fulfilling is disappointing. There could be so many opportunities about the limit: cutting of the rewards, loss of the equipment, debuffs next mission, etc. They just chose time and exponential growth of the headache while finishing the mission.

    I still recommend the game, because for some gamers it may seem easy or fulfilling. For me, the game doesn't deserve replaying, unlike many other rogue-like ones. Still, not disappointed I bought it.
    Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2016
    3
    Unfortunately, I must go against the masses and say I ended up uninstalling Invisible Inc a week after I bought it. This choice largely cameUnfortunately, I must go against the masses and say I ended up uninstalling Invisible Inc a week after I bought it. This choice largely came down to personal taste but, then again, that is how we grade most games anyway. Simply put, I found the artwork and atmosphere to be unbearably childish and naive. It's not that I dislike cartoonish style as such. But Invisible Inc was just too "Disney" for me. Together with a lack of a good storyline noted by many other reviewers, the game just did not have the backbone to make it worth my time (making it different from something like Militia which never tries to be anything more than what it is). The strategic mechanics, while fun for the first few missions, failed to make up for complete lack of immersion in the game world. For those who remember the oldies, a similar criticism on style could be leveled against the change that took place between X-Com Terror From the Deep and Apocalypse. Yet the incredibly immersive mechanics of Apocalypse, together with a strong story, helped one look past the catastrophic choice of color scheme (and I admit having completed it countless times on different difficulty settings). The strategic side of Invisible Inc pales in comparison and there is thus little to make up for its lack of style and storyline. Today, I would pick up something like Frozen Synapse over Invisible Inc any day. It is too bad since I really, really wanted to like this one. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews