Life is Strange Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2859 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Life is Strange is a hand drawn work of art and every action enacts a butterfly effect - but with the power to rewind time, what would you change? And would it turn out to be a change for the better or worse?

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Life is Strange - E3 2015 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 4, 2016
    100
    Life is Strange really cannot be described. It is a totally unique EXPERIENCE, that in unbelievable way deceives and its magic can only be experienced firsthand. [Issue #259]
  2. Nov 2, 2015
    90
    Life is Strange is one of the episodic series in the short history of the genre. The game has a great story, skillfully takes on serious issues and has a really good soundtrack. What's more - there is at least as much gameplay as there is simple viewing, and the entire game can take more than a dozen hours to finish. There are some minor flaws here and there but they won't overshadow the fact that this is one of the best stories of the year.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 3, 2015
    90
    Maybe too mumblecore for some, Life is Strange is a wonderfully dark story of friendship and personal apocalypse. [Dec 2015, p.63]
  4. Oct 26, 2015
    80
    As you would expect from a point and click game, almost the complete value of Life is Strange resides on its narrative. There are a few moments in which gameplay takes center stage, but it ends up being crushed by the intensity of the story and the development of the characters. Having said that, in order to really enjoy the experience, you better play the complete game, as it is getting better with each chapter.
  5. Jan 19, 2016
    80
    Life is Strange is flawed, but this paranormal coming-of-age story is nevertheless refreshing proof that small stakes can still feel important, given strong characters.
  6. Nov 20, 2015
    80
    Sometimes awkward but sometimes brilliant, Life Is Strange brings a fresh new perspective to episodic, choice-driven storytelling.
  7. Nov 30, 2015
    67
    Life Is Strange is a very controversial game. On one hand, it sets a new quality standard in ‘cinematic’ adventure games — from now on, they must give freedom to players and make them emotionally invested in on-screen events. On the other hand, it’s packed with dumb gaffes and disastrous shortcomings. Still, if you managed to reach the end credits and spent the next couple of days thinking about the characters, then it was worth it.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 411
  1. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    A fantastic game from Squire Enix
    1.Graphics is just awesome.Color combination used here is just perfect and capture the true American
    A fantastic game from Squire Enix
    1.Graphics is just awesome.Color combination used here is just perfect and capture the true American theme...what is more, the attention given to graphics is insane ..even the little things are done with care....(10/10)

    2.Main character Max is likable person...they should give little more attention to side characters and story (7/10)
    3.interesting game mechanic...
    4.F**k you IGN for misguiding people with this game...this a fantastic effort
    Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2020
    10
    Magnificent, heartwarming, emotional and overall incredible. Never ever was I prepared for such an amazing experience. Before I played theMagnificent, heartwarming, emotional and overall incredible. Never ever was I prepared for such an amazing experience. Before I played the game I thought this would be a stereotypical-teenage gossip drama and I was absolutely wrong.

    The game feels like a movie in which you can make your own decisions which ultimately changes the story itself. Characters are well written and interactions with each one of them feel super realistic. In general I would say the main focus of the game is on the developing relationships with the people around you and also the consequences of your own actions in the bigger picture. The bonding with others feels super emotional and I definitely had goosebumps more than once while playing.

    Graphics are good but nothing special, the atmosphere is amazing.

    Gameplay itself isn´t fast neither slow paced. You can decide where to go in a small level-based area, but exploration within the level is completely available.

    The Story is absolutely crazy and super well written. Decisions have a huge impact on everything and can be really hard at times. There are many twists and turns which made me shiver a lot. The setting and the characters within the story are very well placed and all of this fits together perfectly.

    The time it took me to finish the game is satisfying. Not too long and not too short.

    In my opinion this is a must play game for everyone who likes meaningful stories with emotional encounters and a strong message.

    9.5/10
    Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2016
    10
    Its the best game story of the year, long, captivating, well done, it has all to get a space on your shelf.

    Got to admit i love it watching
    Its the best game story of the year, long, captivating, well done, it has all to get a space on your shelf.

    Got to admit i love it watching it more than playing it. This is just what we ask for, Square Enix
    Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2019
    9
    The game story is just brilliant. It is magical, engaging and can bring tears to your eyes at the end. Every episode is equally good as itThe game story is just brilliant. It is magical, engaging and can bring tears to your eyes at the end. Every episode is equally good as it almost every time leave you with some revelation.
    This is a tale of superpowers, small town, and friendship. The story itself feels like a good TV series but it is so much better thanks to the fact that you are in control of one of the characters. The games let you decide what you will do next and leaves you with the feeling that those decisions were important. Were you able to save that girl? Can you turn back time?
    This is probably the best episodic adventure game I played.
    Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2016
    9
    It was perfect, if it didn't have "typical american story" smell. But still, i loved it. So its a "typical american story", mastered :)It was perfect, if it didn't have "typical american story" smell. But still, i loved it. So its a "typical american story", mastered :) Besides, it was only £9, so totally worth it.

    I never liked Telltale's stuff, so at the start i was suspicious. Great job DONTNOD Team, u changed my mind about this genre! :)
    Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2020
    8
    Has a nice story, and good characters and worderful writing. Buy on a sale, and enjoy iy.
  7. Jul 22, 2020
    0
    It is as bad art as tragedy gets to be, a tragedy is a dubious form of art. Since it isnt satisfying, a lie has the goal of frustrating us ofIt is as bad art as tragedy gets to be, a tragedy is a dubious form of art. Since it isnt satisfying, a lie has the goal of frustrating us of something, art has the goal of satisfying us about something. The results in real life are opposite. Expand

See all 411 User Reviews