Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2250 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fight your way through Mordor and reveal the truth of the spirit that compels you, discover the origins of the Rings of Power, build your legend and ultimately confront the evil of Sauron in this new story of Middle-earth.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2014: Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Nemesis System Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Oct 8, 2014
    95
    Shadow of Mordor is the single best Lord of the Rings adaptation to date, and one of the very best third-person action games in many years.
  2. And now, there are two types of gamers, if we're talking about The Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor, "Those who have play The Shadow of Mordor and those who are going to."
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Nov 1, 2014
    90
    Solid action wrapped in a fascinating simulated Orc society. [Nov 2014, p.52]
  4. Sep 29, 2014
    85
    Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor is a very well crafted adventure that will keep you hooked for hours on end.
  5. Oct 6, 2014
    85
    Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor is a strong foray into the Tolkien universe, backed up by popular combat from other major action series, with its own free-running style to boot.
  6. Oct 13, 2014
    80
    At first glance, this is "only" some Assassin's Creed game from the Lord of the Rings world. When you look at it again you see an immersive action RPG relying on fun and fancy combats that are plentiful here. Tolkien is still waiting for that proverbial game that would find them and in the darkness bind them, however, Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor is close to it.
  7. Oct 7, 2014
    70
    A highly polished and generally entertaining romp, but it's missing a vital spark to bring everything together.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 466
  1. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    Its good to see that studios like this still feel the need to take a risk and innovate.. What we all figured would be some sort of gimmick isIts good to see that studios like this still feel the need to take a risk and innovate.. What we all figured would be some sort of gimmick is actually an incredible system that works behind the scenes even when you think it isn't.. Follow the in game story yes, but make your own story using the nemesis system and your suddenly in a whole new world!! Graphics are what you expect nowadays from a AAA title along with the sound.. The gameplay has the best elements with almost assassins creed style assassination manoeuvres.. Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2020
    10
    greattttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt
  3. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    This is a pretty good game. It's a very refreshing game, different from all the other open worlds out there. The stealth aspect could use someThis is a pretty good game. It's a very refreshing game, different from all the other open worlds out there. The stealth aspect could use some refinement, but the nemesis system is impressive and sophisticated! Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    I really enjoyed the Nemesis system, branding captains, each one having personality and weakness/strenghts. It added a ton of life and depthI really enjoyed the Nemesis system, branding captains, each one having personality and weakness/strenghts. It added a ton of life and depth to this world. I don't think any of the other game ever tried something similar to it.
    Combat is superb, they nailed it. Very similar to Asassin's Creed and Batman combat but feels even smoother.
    The plot is TERRIBLE. We have a generic hero with a cliche story, and it's very short on top of that, with majory if content (completed it in 27 hours with ~80 % of total completion) being side missions and collectibles (surprisingly interesting ones).
    If you want good plot twist and well-developed characters, this is not a title for you.
    Another problem is that the game feels cramped, the maps are too small and I had a very strong feeling like the third of the game has been cut, ending was really rushed and anticlimatic. The last boss fight is laughable, sadly the "QTE final boss" thing apparently became a trend.
    HOWEVER I had a ton of fun and I wish it was longer, it's likely that I'll do another playtrough one day, it is a well done game, too bad it had to sacrice some areas (story, lenght) to excel in others (Nemesis system and combat). 8/10
    Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2014
    8
    Well, pretty much everything has already been said about this game so I'm not going to repeat it. It looks great, it smells great and it feelsWell, pretty much everything has already been said about this game so I'm not going to repeat it. It looks great, it smells great and it feels great.

    One thing I've heard people complain about it is the repetitive aspect. Well, yes it's repetitive, of course it is. It's a game, after all. All games are repetitive, some more than others. This game is probably above average repetitive in some regard. But repetition isn't bad if the repetitive gameplay is good. I can't emphasize this enough. Repetition has become a bad word when associated with games, but the fact is that the best, most long-lived games in history are probably the most repetitive games we have.

    Pacman, Tetris, Arcanoid, Pinball and so on (in no particular order). I rest my case.

    Verdict: 8
    Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2014
    7
    First things first this game deleted itself for no reason but still im giving my opinion on the actual game and I hope none of you have to putFirst things first this game deleted itself for no reason but still im giving my opinion on the actual game and I hope none of you have to put up with this. I was a huge LOTR fan but this games story doesn't fit in very well in my opinion I haven't finished the game yet because of this bug. The characters are soooooo boring the most interesting character seemed to be Gollum and the Dwarf hunter was alright but Talion, Hirgon and Celebrimbor ETC have such boring generic deep british accents. The enemy system is pretty cool like I came to fight one warchief and I had to fight about 5 orc captains at the same time pretty crazy but I died, and then the warchief became so powerful he had one minor weakness, and a million strengths. The climbing is similar to assassins creed but far more fast and unrealistic and not as fun. The combat is so Arkham which is good. In general this game could only be described as Batmans creed it copies so many elements of these games but never quite leads up to the expectations of the rest but its still a pretty fun game with some new elements which are good ones Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2021
    0
    Patenting the nemesis system, despite your game being created base on others' ideas. The industry is built on innovating of existing ideas.

See all 466 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during September.