User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 6 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2021
    2
    The game has average visuals and gameplay mechanics but very small choice of characters and poor story telling let it down. If they had spent a bit more time improving on the characters and gameplay, this could have been a great title. As it stands, dont waste your time unless you find it in the bargain bin which you probably will, sooner rather than later.
  2. Jun 24, 2021
    2
    This game is physically beautiful, the map dynamic is novel, and after my first few runs, I really felt like this was a winner. But the cardplay itself (the essence of the game) is positively terrible. Very few cards play off one another, and there is a heavy bias in favor of continually adding new cards to your hand (lest you miss some rather key abilities that are based upon theThis game is physically beautiful, the map dynamic is novel, and after my first few runs, I really felt like this was a winner. But the cardplay itself (the essence of the game) is positively terrible. Very few cards play off one another, and there is a heavy bias in favor of continually adding new cards to your hand (lest you miss some rather key abilities that are based upon the number of cards you have). I don't think I ever played a single round where I felt my deck had any sort of strategy -- you simply don't have enough control over your hand to accomplish that. There is a certain joy I've felt with games like Slay The Spire, where I get a deck that really works together and it feels awesome. I never got that feeling here. Indeed, sometimes I'd even get cards that DID kind of play off one another, but I'd literally lose quicker than when I simply had a bunch of stand-alone high-damage cards.

    Oh, one other thing that was weird: Literally my first or second time through, I got through to the 3rd (final? I'm not sure) boss, farther than I would ever get again, after perhaps 50 runs. In that first run, the game felt easy. Then reality hit and I never got past the 2nd boss. I read online of a few people saying they got super far on their first attempt. Now, this COULD be because they keep adding new cards as you progress (you pick up these map pieces that add cards, I think I ultimately got about 80 of them), and IMHO the new cards never impressed -- maybe my hands literally got worse. But I have a feeling that the game literally goes easy on you for your first play, and if that's true, I don't like it. All told, a very unsatisfying experience.
    Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2021
    9
    To try it is to adopt it, one of the best deck building game, Richard Garfield work with the devs of Faeria to develop a wonderfull card and adventure game
  4. Jun 27, 2021
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 just to counteract the 2 other very low ratings.

    it's not a perfect game, and it doesn't have the same appeal as Slay The Spire, however it is in an interesting, addictive and fun game if you like roguelike deck-building games.

    For me, it's a solid 8 / 10, but again, I'll be giving this a 10 to counteract the BS 2/10s ratings.
  5. Jan 28, 2022
    10
    I am big fan of deck building games, I have about 500 hours on slay the spire and I must say that Roguebook is very good game. I like the exploration map. Also not right, that there are no options for making solid deck. After a few runs, I am on epilog 3. And I love every minute of playing. .
  6. Jul 22, 2022
    10
    Поставил бы 8, но из-за плохих отзывов хочу помочь рейтингу. Игра годная. красочный фентезийный визуал, интересная механика прохождение по уровню, возможность играть разными пулами героев (от этого зависит тактика прохождения), ну и не простая сложность. Играл в неё когда был ранний доступ, наиграл часов 50, с релизом добавились новые карты, герой, играть стало интереснее. Не знаю почемуПоставил бы 8, но из-за плохих отзывов хочу помочь рейтингу. Игра годная. красочный фентезийный визуал, интересная механика прохождение по уровню, возможность играть разными пулами героев (от этого зависит тактика прохождения), ну и не простая сложность. Играл в неё когда был ранний доступ, наиграл часов 50, с релизом добавились новые карты, герой, играть стало интереснее. Не знаю почему товарищи сверху ожидают от игры сюжета и жалуются на баланс: игра с не большим бюджетом, это раз, и ожидать мега закрученного интереснющего сюжета ,по мне, странно (тем более в мире картонок, где упор идёт на механику, почти во всех знакомых мне играх) и ожидать баланс в рогалике где один раз тебе выпадает всё, второй раз ничего, это два - такова механика многих рогаликов ( и опять-же, учитывая что это картонка, где фактор "топ дек" во много является решающим). Короче, не смотрите на двойки школьников вверху, игра годная, любителям картонок рекомендую - затянет и спать не отпустит :) Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. CD-Action
    Sep 1, 2021
    85
    I like a lot about Roguebook: the combat system that gives you loads of possibilities despite being simple; revealing the map through "painting” it with brushes and ink that you find along the way; enhancing your cards with crystals that modify their effects. You just feel it’s not a debut project but a very solid game created by developers who have card-based gameplay down to a science. [09/2021, p.50]
  2. Aug 23, 2021
    50
    To be clear, this is actually really fun and interesting, but at this point it was not ready for release. There are far too many literal game-breaking bugs and errors that freeze RogueBook solid. The second level alone took over 10 reloads to beat. With some patches and balances though, this game could easy be a recommended to CCG or strategy players.
  3. Jul 19, 2021
    85
    It’s easy to think that the run-based deckbuilder genre has been entirely tapped out, but Roguebook counters that notion in an instant. Though its broader narrative and post-game balance may be a little thin, everything else between these pages is incredibly rich and satisfying. By combining the elegance of tabletop map exploration with a thoughtful evolution of deckbuilding mechanics, Abrakam and Richard Garfield have found a match made for the history books.