Saints Row: The Third Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1520 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Years after taking Stilwater for their own, the Third Street Saints have evolved from street gang to household brand name, with Saints sneakers, Saints energy drinks and Johnny Gat bobble head dolls all available at a store near you. The Saints are kings of Stilwater, but their celebrityYears after taking Stilwater for their own, the Third Street Saints have evolved from street gang to household brand name, with Saints sneakers, Saints energy drinks and Johnny Gat bobble head dolls all available at a store near you. The Saints are kings of Stilwater, but their celebrity status has not gone unnoticed. The Syndicate, a legendary criminal fraternity with pawns in play all over the globe, has turned its eye on the Saints and demands tribute. Refusing to kneel to the Syndicate, you take the fight to a new city, playing out the most outlandish gameplay scenarios ever seen. Strap it on. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Saints Row: The Third - Cherished Memories Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    93
    Saints Row The Third surprised the heck out of me. The GTA comparisons are inevitable, but they are vastly different games. While both hold a mirror up to reality, the reflections are vastly different. As absurd as GTA gets, it still keeps one foot firmly planted in reality. Saints Row has taken a flying leap off the roof of reality, howling the F-bomb while chugging a licensed energy drink all the way down… and I wouldn't have it any other way.
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    90
    Some teething issues aside, Saints Row: The Third offers up an expertly mixed concoction of hilarity and stupidity that's arrived just in time for the silly season.
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    90
    This game is magic. Occasionally offensive and funny magic, but magic nonetheless.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    85
    Saints Row: The Third gives the people what they want and drops us into an open world adult theme park where we can treat ourselves to delightful acts of bloodshed and perversion. It doesn't take itself too seriously and only asks that you don't, either.
  5. Dec 2, 2011
    85
    Fantastic missions, outrageous weapons, and awesome vehicles make the open-world mayhem of Saints Row: The Third an absolute blast.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    83
    It's mad. In fact, it barely makes any sense at all. But for all its wonky bits, there's an odd charm to Volition's decision to leave nothing on the drawing board. It's not the largest sandbox, but it is packed full of brilliant toys. Saints Row: The Third's commitment to unrestricted, ridiculous fun is unflinching, and the product is a city full of glorious slapstick debauchery.
  7. Dec 16, 2011
    70
    Volition wrote a more or less coherent story, squeezed 101% out of the "sandbox minigame compilation" concept, improved the physics engine, and finally made a decent PC version, but the end result feels too derivative and forced. The surprisingly short single-player campaign (15 hours if you're not trying to comb an entire map) doesn't help.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 318
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Game of the Year, GTA on steroids. This game is explosive, fun, and takes gaming to a level we have never seen before. This game is the badGame of the Year, GTA on steroids. This game is explosive, fun, and takes gaming to a level we have never seen before. This game is the bad boy of the gaming industry. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game!
    SR 1/2 were trying to remain somewhat realistic while being insanely fun, this game is only about the fun!
    Great relaxing
    Fantastic game!
    SR 1/2 were trying to remain somewhat realistic while being insanely fun, this game is only about the fun!
    Great relaxing game where u get to blow up everything. Some stuff are missing such as racing and a few other activities I wish we would have seen here. The story doesn't make me care as much as the first games, but then again its ment to be crazy.
    Expand
  3. May 25, 2014
    10
    Last Played: Feb 2014
    PROS: + True single-player sandbox with minimal story to get in the way + Several fast vehicles means you aren't stuck
    Last Played: Feb 2014
    PROS: + True single-player sandbox with minimal story to get in the way + Several fast vehicles means you aren't stuck with one "best" vehicle all the time + Blowing stuff up (which is 98% of the game) is really fun
    CONS: - Some weapons are weak and you'll never use - Some fight types are irritating (gang survival)

    REVIEW: Let's be absolutely clear: this game is not trying to be GTA. It is not trying to offer a story, or multiplayer (which is tacked on if you insist on trying), or a rich cultural experience, or any other pretentious thing you can think of. It is about doing what you want when you want to. You want to throw a fart-in-a-jar at a cop? Fine. Want to run over hookers on a motorcycle? That's fine too. The only limitation is that some event types only appear after a certain "story mission" type (these actually just introduce activity types with some well-voiced but stultifyingly dumb dialogue on the side). That's it. "Finishing" the game doesn't really reward you, because the whole thing is about the activities along the way, and SR3 does this magnificently. You can collect the best vehicles from game start and it is worth grabbing a few, because several of the best cars perform similarly well. Actually, hijacking pretty much any vehicle will make for a passable getaway car (though I wouldn't recommend a garbage truck). This actually works pretty well for the game, since you can experiment with several vehicles instead of being forced into a single best car. The best thing of all, however is the destruction factor--which is good, because the activities are just different variations on blowing stuff up. I said before that the ending isn't rewarding, but you know what? It doesn't matter because the stuff you'll remember are the fireballs along the way.

    Which is not to say the game is without flaw. In contrast to the variety of functional cars, there really are "best" weapons that you'll use exclusively (unless forced by a special activity). Ultimately, this doesn't hurt the game too much, because the best weapons are so fun to use, but it is still there. You may also find that certain activity types aren't up your alley. This really shouldn't pose a problem to anyone, though-you'll only be forced to do each activity once (story) and then you can ignore them. If you find the game too easy, you can simply not buy upgrades or call in swarms of allies. This game is all about choice, and it does it oh so well.

    Just don't expect to be able to stay away for long periods your first playthrough.
    Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2014
    8
    An excellent game, filled with comedy and a bit of insanity. It takes the basic format of GTA and makes it silly, but with a decent storyAn excellent game, filled with comedy and a bit of insanity. It takes the basic format of GTA and makes it silly, but with a decent story (albeit some missions are just introductions to the various activities). Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    This game is so much over the top that it just can't be everyones cup of tea. I liked it a lot though and even after I finished the main storyThis game is so much over the top that it just can't be everyones cup of tea. I liked it a lot though and even after I finished the main story line I still come back to it every now and then just to have some fun. Yes, there are several things that I could complain about, like the way the engine handles respawning of people and vehicles or the very basic AI. But all in all this game is a very enjoyable experience and I never had the feeling of wasting my money on this title. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    There isn't much of interest beyond the main singleplayer campaign, but what a blast that it! Saints Row the Third features about 15 hours ofThere isn't much of interest beyond the main singleplayer campaign, but what a blast that it! Saints Row the Third features about 15 hours of craziness and over the top action that I expect will bring many a smile to even the most cynical gamer out there. Expand
  7. May 4, 2012
    0
    The game is pretty good, GTA has better chars and story, however the buggy escort missions ruin the game. They need to clean up the AI in thisThe game is pretty good, GTA has better chars and story, however the buggy escort missions ruin the game. They need to clean up the AI in this game, all 3 have had the same problem and it makes the game flawed. Expand

See all 318 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.