Sonic Generations Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 404 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic'sSet across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic's most recent adventures. Each incarnation of Sonic in Sonic Generations comes complete with his trademark special move, Spin Dash and Spin Attack for Classic Sonic, and Homing Attack and Sonic Boost for Modern Sonic. An innovative new interactive menu system allows for complete immersion in Sonic's universe with favourite characters and hidden treasures gradually being revealed throughout the game. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gamescom 2011: Sonic Generations - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    It feels refreshing to be able to say that Sonic is good again. His upward trajectory over the last year continues and he's only gaining momentum. Sonic Generations is largely a game for the most hardcore of Sonic fans, but for the millions who have fond memories of narrowly dodging spikes, grinding on rails, or even that time he was a pinball, Sonic Generations is a game made for you.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    83
    Sonic is back again with a successful combination of classic and modern gameplay. One of the best Sonic games in the last few years.
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    Despite the audiovisual grandeur of the rest of Generations, the shortcomings make it feel like little more than a "popcorn game" -- exhilarating, not very serious, and over before you get a chance to take it all in.
  5. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    80
    Overall, Sonic Generations is a well-designed, welcome exception to the massive circulation of violent games in the market, a 'game' that represents perfectly the pure meaning of the word. [February 2012]
  6. PC Games (Russia)
    Dec 24, 2011
    75
    A real festival of a game, charging you with good spirits – but only if your fingers touch the joypad, not a keyboard. [January 2012, p.77]
  7. PC Gamer UK
    Jan 29, 2012
    64
    If you know what it expects of you, there's a thrill to some of Generations' showier moments. If not, prepare to hit a series of brick walls at high speed. [Feb 2012, p.93]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 126
  2. Negative: 8 out of 126
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    VERY FUN.... awesome gameplay, EPIC SOUNDTRACK, and men, this game makes me cry... seriously, is a litle short IF YOU DONT PLAY ALL THEVERY FUN.... awesome gameplay, EPIC SOUNDTRACK, and men, this game makes me cry... seriously, is a litle short IF YOU DONT PLAY ALL THE MISIONS, and some of them like the race with Cream, Tails, Knuckles are moments that are, simply awesome Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Best 3D sonic game hands down. It is next to Sonic 3 and Knuckles as my favorite Sonic game. PC version has 60 fps, which for a game all aboutBest 3D sonic game hands down. It is next to Sonic 3 and Knuckles as my favorite Sonic game. PC version has 60 fps, which for a game all about speed, makes for a smooth and visually appearing experience. Even a year and a half after launch, I find myself playing this game just as much as when I got it. Easily a 10/10 for me. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Seriously, best sonic game since Sonic Adventure 2 for me. I've played Sonic games my whole life, and after their new direction with theSeriously, best sonic game since Sonic Adventure 2 for me. I've played Sonic games my whole life, and after their new direction with the secret rings, and shadow the hedgehog's own game, I sadly had to stop wasting money on sonic teams garbage. But I'm happy to say this game rocks! And this version on steam is so much cheaper. Currently you can purchase this game for $30, which is quite a bargain for so much fun. I'd also like to chime in that the modern sonic portions are strangely more fun than I would have thought. The boost mechanic really takes some skill in order to master. If you don't believe me, just youtube modern sonic green hill speed run. Oh, and screw Joystiq! Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Simple and wonderful! Those are 2 words I can describe about this game! Sonic now have make a great comeback after all this years ofSimple and wonderful! Those are 2 words I can describe about this game! Sonic now have make a great comeback after all this years of disappointment! I'm one of Sonic fans and I really happy with Sonic Generations! It's simple, fun, and full of speed! With combined gameplay from both Sonic's generation, both classic and modern. Control are great and responsive but still have it flaw with some miss jump but all in all it still a great piece of game. Graphic are the best in the series with no hitches and performance are really, really great. Both Sonics and friends look great in this new generation graphic. Story are easy to follow and I'm having great time playing it, plus optional challenges throughout the game. I'm really happy to see the great comeback of Sonic in this new generation and I hope that this Sega beloved mascot will have great year of gaming in the future. Thanks Sega and Sonic Team to create such cool character! Expand
  5. May 2, 2015
    8
    Amazing game. Playing as Classic Sonic and Modern Sonic. Controls fluently, recommend using a game controller instead of keyboard though.Amazing game. Playing as Classic Sonic and Modern Sonic. Controls fluently, recommend using a game controller instead of keyboard though. Graphics are nice and only a couple minor glitches but nothing too serious to ruin gameplay. Could have some extra level dlc and characters dlc to add a little more spice to the game,but overall a great Sonic game, one of the best up there will the classics and the adventure games. Expand
  6. May 21, 2013
    8
    This game was really well done. I thoroughly enjoyed playing it. The story doesn't really make any sense, but who cares, were here for theThis game was really well done. I thoroughly enjoyed playing it. The story doesn't really make any sense, but who cares, were here for the gameplay, right? And the game plays really well. The recreating of the stages for both classic and modern Sonic was done beautify. The only major let down is the face that because modern Sonic and Classic Sonic play so differently and yet the stages look so similar it's easy to forget which one you're playing as which can lead to disaster. It's also a shame that Sega didn't choose to recreate more classic stages for this game. Given that they had 20 years worth of material to work with the small handful of stages we were given seems almost ludicrous. And I still can't wrap my head around the fact that they included Crisis City from Sonic 2006. Still I thoroughly enjoyed this game and I'm sure anyone who likes Sonic games will too. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    0
    Does not pick up embedded nvidia graphics cards in laptop for some reason. I can get the game to force run off of it but It crashes for someDoes not pick up embedded nvidia graphics cards in laptop for some reason. I can get the game to force run off of it but It crashes for some reason right after I launch it. Just a heads up to everyone with gaming laptops Expand

See all 126 User Reviews