STRAFE Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The future of video games: the fastest, bloodiest, deadliest, most adjective-abusing, action-packed first-person shooter of 1996.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
STRAFE - Release Date Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. May 9, 2017
    85
    The game can be crushingly difficult, but it always remains engrossing. Despite going back and forth between loving and hating it, I’m still addicted some 20 hours later.
  2. May 9, 2017
    80
    As unforgiving, repetitive, and frustrating as it can be, the urge to jump back into the game and take out that frustration on hordes of enemies to the tune of the most-proper soundtrack with a toy box of guns is hard to resist. Strafe wears its influences on its sleeve but stands on its own as a fun, intense, and fast-paced shooter with distinguishable charm.
  3. May 16, 2017
    72
    Over and over again, you will die. Maybe you’ll get better, faster, more responsive to the various threats that assault you. Maybe you’ll learn all the tricks and strategies needed to steamroll most enemies like target practice at a gun range. This still won’t help you when you round a corner and get ganked by some goddamned sentry the second before you reload. Then you get to watch the blood stream down your screen before you start the whole ordeal over again. Perhaps this masochistic dance will light a flame in your heart. You’ll think to yourself, “Finally! A game with some real challenge!” To you, I say good luck, godspeed and always be reloading. You’ll run out of health long before you run out of ammo.
  4. May 9, 2017
    70
    As far as frantic FPS's go, this is one of the best, but poor AI and a ramped up difficulty might prove too much for some.
  5. Aug 11, 2017
    60
    Strafe isn't bad, but there are many better ways to satiate your nostalgia for '90s FPS titles.
  6. May 9, 2017
    60
    The sad reality is Strafe exasperates as much as it exhilarates. For every fleet footed show of sharp shooting it conspires to blast itself in the food with devious tactics and a steady slew of quite ‘fuuuuu!’ moments to players brave enough to endure the onslaught. There’s a really solid, often graceful FPS in here, one beefed up with generous side content – the 10 room horde mode-esque Murderzone and online speedruns break up the crushing campaign. Yet ultimately, you can’t quite outflank Strafe’s unfair, overwhelming slaughter.
  7. May 19, 2017
    30
    STRAFE is a roguelike FPS that tries too hard to remind us of “the good old times”, but since it lacks any depth and quality, it fails hard on every level. The game is a mix of horrible graphics (although that was the excuse for the XX century feel), awful story (again “on purpose”), one of the worst AI opponents ever and questionable shooting.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. May 20, 2017
    9
    Don't believe the reviews. STRAFE has enormous potential. As a kickstarter backer, I can't say I didn't get what I paid for. I can't speak forDon't believe the reviews. STRAFE has enormous potential. As a kickstarter backer, I can't say I didn't get what I paid for. I can't speak for the optimization issues, as the game runs fine for me, but they have a solid foundation for future balancing. As mentioned elsewhere, it pushes the "Game of 1996" look for all its worth and aesthetically, the game absolutely **** and has a pretty kickass soundtrack besides, I'm glad I sprung for that reward tier and am looking forward to getting my music. The guns feel effective and varied. My particular favorite is the disc launcher mode for the railgun, which calls to mind the Ripjack of Unreal fame. Enemies are as dumb as you'd expect from a game meant to be 21 years old, gibs fly everywhere and the "Murderzone" mode is pretty great as well, a wave survival mode with persistent upgrades unlocked when you reach certain point milestones. It is also immensely satisfying to successfully complete a run. I noticed by the time I had reached the forth zone that I had started trembling. STRAFE successfully captures the intensity of the 90s shooter, even if it doesn't 100% play like one.

    That being said, STRAFE goes so hard for capturing the feel of a 90s fps that it incorporates things I really DIDN'T like about them, namely, the blistering difficulty. You also have to look for keycards, but it's immensely downplayed from the old days. Quake 1 was hard, let's not kid ourselves. Mixing that style of gunplay with roguelike level generation should be a no-brainer, but in practice it makes the game harder then it needs to be: Quake wasn't stingy with health, armor and ammo pickups because you absolutely needed them all to succeed. STRAFE, being a roguelike, is by nature incredibly stingy with drops and punishes you for even incidental damage taken, which is incredibly hard to avoid in a game like this. It looks and feels like Quake, but you can't PLAY it like Quake and expect to get very far. Instead, you have to exploit the intentionally stupid AI and funnel enemies into killzones, making it feel more like Half-Life, only considerably less forgiving. You also have to reload, which if nothing else requires you to be a bit pickier with your shots.

    I am forced to lump STRAFE in the same category of roguelikes as CTHON, Sublevel Zero and Enter the Gungeon, where punishing difficulty is supposed to be an advertised feature instead of a drawback. It's a little more fair then Gungeon, though. I have to go once again on record that I don't dislike hard games outright: Bloodborne, Devil May Cry and of course, Quake are among my favorite games. but I don't believe in using difficulty in place of content, and I think STRAFE suffers from that a bit. You should absolutely give it a try you're at all curious, as it's still an infinitely better purchase then any "Triple A" shooters. I just think it could have used some kind of progression system a la UNLOVED or Immortal Redneck, which, I admit, might sound blasphemous to a fan of 90s shooters or 90s games in general. Or at least a difficulty selector. I mean, Quake had one of those.
    Expand
  2. May 13, 2017
    8
    Strafe (PC) while not old-school shooter (no, its not) is a great game and fun to play. It has its flaws but it has also many great elementsStrafe (PC) while not old-school shooter (no, its not) is a great game and fun to play. It has its flaws but it has also many great elements like good weapons, lots of secrets, easter eggs and balanced difficulty (it's hard but not as hard as many players are reporting). For me it's solid 8. Expand
  3. May 9, 2017
    6
    Rogue-lite Old school mid 90's doom/quake inspired FPS. Graphically it looks the part and procedural generation lvl's are neat too. However,Rogue-lite Old school mid 90's doom/quake inspired FPS. Graphically it looks the part and procedural generation lvl's are neat too. However, everything else about the game is offensive.. The enemies are bland, silent and chase you down constantly making for less strafing and more just running backward. The music is just blaring, repetitive and annoying. Secrets will screw you over due to where the enemies spawn. Bugs such as being shot through walls and invisible guns.

    The biggest issue is the difficulty, it's so overly punishing and health is so expensive and rare that to get through the game you have to play it slow and methodically which goes against the fast run-n-gun action it's going for. Better to just go play doom.
    Expand
  4. May 12, 2017
    5
    This game could be good, but it isn't. The way you progress is not interesting, the enemies are akward to fight with, the balance ofThis game could be good, but it isn't. The way you progress is not interesting, the enemies are akward to fight with, the balance of ammo-health-items is ridiculous for a game of this kind (not very old-school, actually) and when you're dead you feel like you've wasted some time doing nothing worthy.

    A good idea is not enough to make a good game. First try making a fun game and then start with the crazy ideas. In that order, please.
    Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2019
    5
    It's not that good as people would make you think it is. An average game, preying on nostalgia, but not delivering the oldschool vibes at all.It's not that good as people would make you think it is. An average game, preying on nostalgia, but not delivering the oldschool vibes at all. The awful rogue-like gameplay does not help and enemies are not that good. Actually nothing is good her,e but nothing is despicable either. Don't waste your time on this. Better play Strife or Rise of Triad or other forgotten fps gem. Pickens disavows. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2020
    4
    It had potential and unfortunately performance issues exist that don't make sense given the intentionally dated visuals. It's somewhatIt had potential and unfortunately performance issues exist that don't make sense given the intentionally dated visuals. It's somewhat enjoyable though. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2018
    0
    I love devolver games but... well lets start with this: we got games with awesome graphics like Destiny 2. You want it to look like 1996?I love devolver games but... well lets start with this: we got games with awesome graphics like Destiny 2. You want it to look like 1996? Well, sorry but Quake 1 looked way better, enemies and weapons weren so lazy designed. This looks at best like Doom 1/Duke Nukem 3D but without 100x more details like destructible environment from DN3D.
    Mechanics? We got plenty of gameplay styles with polished mechanics like Quake Champions, DOOM, Halo, Destiny, Battlefield, COD etc. All way better, all way more playable.
    Roguelike? Hell we got games like Ziggurat which makes all what STRAFE wants to do but just better/more interesting.
    I really wanted to like this game. But its clunky af. Why railgun doesnt shoot straight like it should? Why there is no point to the story? DN3D, Blood, Requiem Avenging Angel, Half Life, Sin, Kingpin etc. all had some more/less interesting background for destruction. Hell, even Quake had SOME story.
    So saying its like 1996 again is just missleading - games back then werent like STRAFE.
    And ffs - they ALL had multiplayer.
    After half of my first run (on 3 ord 4th floor) I got bored to the point I wanted it just to end. Enemies were so ugly NOT like QUAKE or any games from that period at all - sometimes I wasnt even sure whats shooting at me. Some flying blob. Yeah like we had so simple models in games back then - no they looked fine. As a sum of it I ended the run, and deleted the game forever.
    Devolver You dissapointed me big time here its Your first title I just cant recommend to anybody.
    If it were released back in 1996 it would still get poor ratings, just like the one it gets now.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews