Syndicate (2012) Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 404 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 2069 - No longer governed by politicians, the world is divided into regions controlled by mega-corporations known as Syndicates. These Syndicates have revolutionized the way consumers interact with the digital world. Consumers no longer require a device to access the world's data and control2069 - No longer governed by politicians, the world is divided into regions controlled by mega-corporations known as Syndicates. These Syndicates have revolutionized the way consumers interact with the digital world. Consumers no longer require a device to access the world's data and control their technology - they can achieve this with the blink of an eye after a neural chip implant. Civilians clamored to be "chip'd" and to enjoy all that their selected syndicate has to offer. Housing, medical, banking, insurance, education, entertainment, and employment. One complete package - one complete lifestyle. In return, the syndicates gained unprecedented insights, and control, over individuals and their behavior. With insufficient government oversight, business has become war. The Syndicates stop at nothing for ultimate market dominance. On the front lines of this war are the Agents, the syndicates' bio-engineered and chip-augmented enforcers. They can breach anything in the wired dataverse including their enemies, their weapons, and the environment surrounding them, making them the most efficient and deadly technological weapons in the world. Assume the role of Miles Kilo, Eurocorp's latest prototype Agent, and embark on a brutal action adventure of corruption and revenge. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Deep Dive: Agent Tools - Syndicate Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    89
    The separate co-op missions are well worth checking out.
  2. 80
    A solid shooter that feels fresh and original on some points, and succesfully borrows from the best on others. It's not perfect, but it's a title that all shooter fans should take for a spin.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    A game of thrills and missed opportunities. And so it's important to know what you want from this shooter before you commit. Come to it for the thrills of joining a team and mowing down gunners like so many weeds in a Colorado research facility. Come to it for a chilly vision of the future, where the minds of meddlers can be altered with a simple computer program. There are numerous games better at providing single-player satisfaction, however, and this is where Syndicate falters.
  4. CD-Action
    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    The potential of both Syndicate as a franchise and Starbreeze as the developer was not fully used. The co-op mode and the video post-processing are great but the game as a whole is a disappointment. [April 2012, p.52]
  5. 65
    It's too short, too small in many ways and way too conventional in a market oversaturated with AAA alternatives. Alternatives which last longer and offer competitive modes, not just a few dozen hours of co-op runs in which you can't point anything out to your teammates unless everyone has a microphone for the game's VoIP.
  6. Hyper Magazine
    May 14, 2012
    60
    An ok campaign with potentially great co-op marred by uninspired design, poor storytelling and glitches. [June 2012, p.76]
  7. Apr 27, 2012
    50
    When it's not going out of its way to be terrible, Syndicate is simply mediocre. [May 2012, p.54]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 99
  2. Negative: 32 out of 99
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    I have to agree with nikmaster. The game play is excellent and the co-op is really really fun with friends. Overall the game challenge yourI have to agree with nikmaster. The game play is excellent and the co-op is really really fun with friends. Overall the game challenge your brain even more then other FPS's out there. In few seconds you can change the whole battlefield. Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    The game is really fun. Its a FPS with some interesting gameplay. But i love the graphics The game somehow reminded me on Deus Ex HumanThe game is really fun. Its a FPS with some interesting gameplay. But i love the graphics The game somehow reminded me on Deus Ex Human revolution.. i really cant understand the low score from some players the game really is great in terms of gameplay. I loved it right away. I love the disco scene with the great soundtrack and i love the pretty graphics Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    A fun, gun toting, cybernetic getting, head snapping adventure that is short but sweet. Has a less than compelling story made up for byA fun, gun toting, cybernetic getting, head snapping adventure that is short but sweet. Has a less than compelling story made up for by immensely fun combat. Could have improved in the graphics and story categories. Has a fun co-op mode with a lengthy repeatability value. More in my video review: http://youtu.be/PTU6bcwvnPE Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    6
    This game emulates the setting of an emotional, deep science fiction world. It sets up story threads that can evolve. However that's allThis game emulates the setting of an emotional, deep science fiction world. It sets up story threads that can evolve. However that's all anything is in this game amounts to, suggestions at a better game. The moment you step back, and take the game at what it is, a mindless shooter - the more you will get out of it - at least in singleplayer. Furthermore, if that's what you want out of this experience. You found deus ex slow and ponderous, and you are more of an action junkie. Then this game's singleplayer, is solid enough. It has inventive mechanics and satisfying gameplay. Unfortunately that gameplay never really evolves. It introduces 'breaching' however it never really expands on that concept. It just gives you waves of enemies that require the same useage of an inventive core mechanic. That's the main gameplay separator between this game and say, half life 2, deus ex, bioshock, or other beloved first person games. Those games constantly change things up, either by providing a toolset, or changing the environmental useage of an inventive ability (half life 2 gravity gun, options and tools in deus ex and bioshock). And that's a shame, because based on the first few levels of co-op. it seems like those scenarios are better designed and require significantly more management and thought. (Although still not remotely on the same level as other games). Co-op is a far deeper, and better experience for someone like me who prefers first-person-thinkers. And that's the conflict right there. I could reccomend this game to action junkies who don't want to think, however that is simply the singleplayer portion of the game. The other 50% of the money you are paying is a co-op mode that requires a different thought process. So in the end, both first person thinker players, and action junkie players only get half a game. And a not-fantastic half a game for either side. I have made the game sound terrible, yet - it actually holds a lot of promise. It keeps flirting with the idea of it being deeper than it is - and you can see it reaching out... However a valiant failure is not a 10/10 game nomatter what angle you come in from. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2012
    5
    Syndicate for PC is what the term "Console Port" was coined for. The developers did not even bother trying to add a feature that would showSyndicate for PC is what the term "Console Port" was coined for. The developers did not even bother trying to add a feature that would show the player the actual keys needed to be used for the keyboard/mouse combo. Even if you changed your settings from the default 360 controller, all the instruction shown were for the 360 controller. Any popups or tutorials were stuck on that, so the only way to know which keyboard key to use was to pause the game, find the corresponding 360 button to find out its control, then look under the keyboard mapping to find out what key you would actually need to hit, and even then that did not work.

    The game looked great, and it seemed compelling enough to play, but without a 360 controller (or another PC-enabled controller configured to work like a 360's), the game was impossible to play past five minutes.
    Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2012
    4
    After playing Deus Ex: Human Revolution, I looked forward a lot to Syndicate. Unfortunately, I received a dull, linear FPS. It offered me noAfter playing Deus Ex: Human Revolution, I looked forward a lot to Syndicate. Unfortunately, I received a dull, linear FPS. It offered me no true insights into the world it is set in, no real sensation of freedom. Instead, I had to deal with a lot of graphic bugs, dismal control system, some strange matrix-ish training grounds... I played it for around 2 hours, then left it by. I regret giving this game 4 given the high hopes I had for it, but frankly I cannot give it more. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2017
    0
    Idee interessanti, ma la fusione di meccaniche fps con poteri da rpg o arpg non funziona completamente.
    Farragginoso e non divertente come
    Idee interessanti, ma la fusione di meccaniche fps con poteri da rpg o arpg non funziona completamente.
    Farragginoso e non divertente come gameplay: alla fine la cosa più semplice è uccidere tutti i nemici con l'attacco instakill del corpo a corpo
    Expand

See all 99 User Reviews