The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11673 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Animating Skyrim - The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    100
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games of 2011, but if the DLC holds out, it might just be one of the best games of 2012 as well.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    100
    In its worst moments Skyrim stumbles over its confused artificial intelligence, shutting itself down and its half-done inventory system. In its best ones Skyrim is the king of the new age of the genre.
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    97
    Let me clear things up by assuring you that none of the quest bugs, graphical issues, gameplay glitches, or unexplained crashes I've encountered can change the fact that I played this amazing RPG for well over 100 hours in the past couple weeks and absolutely loved it.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    95
    Skyrim is like a music album that has a few tracks that you aren't particularly fond of, but rest of the music is pure aural blliss that you can't help but think of the album as close to perfection as possible.
  5. Dec 16, 2011
    91
    As expected: an open-world epic with a huge scope and a great atmosphere.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    90
    Skyrim is the best open world RPG you can get. A true evolution of genre is not flawless but still it is the game you love to live in. [Christmas 2011]
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    78
    You will have to spend dozens of hours to fully explore Skyrim. Like any other Bethesda game, it has its share of imperfections and broken promises, but it's exciting and fascinating nevertheless. Wait for a couple of patches to come out, download the best mods, tighten the screws in the SkyrimPrefs.ini file, and you're good to go for a virtual Christmas vacation.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Its hard to say things about this game, there is some much to say. Its a masterpiece! What makes the game even better on PC is the CreationIts hard to say things about this game, there is some much to say. Its a masterpiece! What makes the game even better on PC is the Creation Kit, and of course the modding community. Giving this game over 60 hours of time, possibly over 100. If I could complain about anything it would be the animations, textures, and bugs (The first two can be fixed with mods of course) and bugs have been getting patched. This is an awesome game. Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. If you enjoy RPGs at all this game is a must-buy.

    Is it perfect? Of course not; no game is. What is Skyrim? The game
    Absolutely amazing. If you enjoy RPGs at all this game is a must-buy.

    Is it perfect? Of course not; no game is. What is Skyrim? The game that truly makes you forget the time until all of a sudden it's 3am and you have to get up for work in 3 hours. It's the game that has made me squeeze an extra 70 hours in the past two weeks, despite all my obligations to work, family, and friends.

    Skyrim is the kind of game you will want to play over and over, just to try different character paths and morality options.

    I honestly cannot see how anybody can review this game as "negative" unless they either hate RPGs or had such high hopes that any game would make them bitter and angry.
    Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10 minutes and is not a steaming pile of bugs, pretty up everything, make the faces cooler and make just about everything better and you have skyrim. This game is a masterpiece, its the game that we have been waiting for in 2011, (Most titles this year have been bad to say the least) This game would deserve a perfect 10 if not for the super lame secondary main quest which is the civil war, you can kill the final boss in one hit, I understand that level scaling is bad in most cases, but in some cases things have to be level scaled. The annoying part is, the civil war is about the length of the dragon questline! this game would get a 9.7 in my book now, thanks to that one little detail, but since metacritic forces me to round up my score, 10 it is!
    Also, if you really want to complain about the crappy interface of how you painfully select everything and how its built for a controller, do one of the two following things : get a mod, or use a controller, we all have USB ports!
    Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    I'm reviewing my 1.6 build of "Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim" (much improved version with far less bugs than the original one). As an introductionI'm reviewing my 1.6 build of "Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim" (much improved version with far less bugs than the original one). As an introduction I'll say that I've been playing pc RPGs for years. I started playing in 1997, my first one was the mythical "Diablo" followed by "Baldur's Gate", "Neverwinter Nights" and so on...
    As you can see, this review is not written by some inexperienced player with no knowledge about the genre... I'm rating it a 9 only because this game is excellent, not just because I like it.
    This game has cursed me, I can no longer play another RPG without realizing that "Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim" simply kicks his ass.
    Skyrim has a nearly unmatched graphic engine (not only for RPG standards), an unmatched world design (I've never seen such a massive detailed world, it's almost unlimited, gorgeous, wild and full of life. You can go anywhere inside the map...an Skyrim isn't exactly small), a well designed character development system (It was about time! At last you can combine whatever skills you want without any character limitations! You have plenty of USEFUL skills to develop, and I have never seen a better level-up interface, by the way). The overall design is simply superb: landscape, weapons, armors, buildings, characters, interfaces...
    Every time you swing your sword, shoot your bow, block, etc. a counter will trigger allowing you to increase your experience in that specific skill, thus allowing you to master the skills you use most (you can also learn from people, as long as you have the coin). You can forge your own weapons, armor and jewelry in many different materials and styles (you can even mine those materials right from the rocks), also you can enchant any items you forge with an assorted range of spells, you can buy houses, horses, spell books, etc.
    I'm telling all this only because I think it's worth noticing, I've never seen such depth in a pc RPG before...
    and believe me, it's pretty easy to do each one of these things by using the interface.
    Finally I want to talk about the general scheme and missions. This can be Skyrim's "Achilles heel".
    This game HAS a main scheme that follows the steps of the "Dragonborn" (I don't want to spoil anything, so this is all I'm going to say about it), there is also a secondary scheme that makes you pick a side in Skyrim's Civil War (Imperials vs. Stormcloaks). Aside from these two main schemes, there are hundreds of missions and tasks across the towns and cities of Skyrim, you'll be pretty busy almost all the time, don't worry. I said that this was some kind of "Achilles heel" because nothing compels you to finish your missions, and there is almost no hierarchy between them, you could say that you are free to explore the wilderness of Skyrim, you can play at your own pace almost without worrying about the missions. Some people like that, some others don't, it's up to you.
    A real weak spot of the game is the difficulty level. Unless you set your game difficulty settings to "expert" or above, you won't find any real challenge during the game...you'll kill any foe without fearing for your chances of winning. Another "limitation" of the game (it's not big deal for me, but it is for some people) is the "simplicity" of design in hostile caves and fortresses. There is plenty of hostile caves/mines/fortresses in Skyrim and they are superbly detailed, the "problem" is that there is only ONE way to go, you can't get lost...and when you reach the end, there's almost always a shortcut that takes you directly to the entrance. Surely Bethesda studios did this in order to save time and to keep the pace of the game. Lastly, the combat system could be better (it's still far superior to any KOTOR/Neverwinter Nights/Dragon Age combat systems), I'd prefer some kind of "Witcher 2" combat, but nothing is ever perfect so I'm satisfied with Skyrim's combat.

    I don't rate it a 10 because the game has various bugs (they've corrected many of them in 1.6 build, but there are still some issues to be fixed).

    Anyways, this is the best and most detailed pc RPG I've ever played...and I fear it'll be for many years to come. Bethesda people have set the bar way too high, I think it'll be quite difficult for anyone to beat them.
    Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2016
    8
    Хочется начать с того что ее переоценивают. Геймплей 7/10. Сюжет 7/10. Саундтрек 8.5/10. Боевая система не очень, драться мне не приятно.Хочется начать с того что ее переоценивают. Геймплей 7/10. Сюжет 7/10. Саундтрек 8.5/10. Боевая система не очень, драться мне не приятно. Дизайн мира 8/10. Очень круто кататься на лошади. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2011
    6
    As somebody who didn't really play Oblivion, this game started out as very impressive. However, after having put a lot of time into the game,As somebody who didn't really play Oblivion, this game started out as very impressive. However, after having put a lot of time into the game, the flaws start to build up. The graphics are indeed very impressive and detailed. Facial expressions are somewhat limited but this is more than made up by the beautiful scenery. Voice acting is relatively high quality though not in abundance - its kind of annoying talking to someone with the exact same voice as somebody in the last town. Combat is fun though it doesn't have much depth. I enjoyed it as far as hack-and-slack goes but due to the 2-ability only gameplay, and the clunky way to change your active abilities, I found that spells and strategy became a bit pointless. Additionally, the game is relatively easy and no strategy other than 'hit them hard' was really needed. In any of the more difficult fights you simply paused the game and spammed healing potions... While the game was immersive graphically-wise and the storyline is fine in most places, the quests are typically boring. I found the thieves guild extremely fun, but otherwise I found that you just went somewhere to kill someone or get an item from the back of a cannon-fodder filled cave (with exceptions of course). I did not find the atmosphere or characters to be deep, comparing it with games like Dragon Age, the characters were often very NPC-like with little back story or personality. While big cities were usually fine the smaller ones lacked characters and for example, there is virtually no one in the smaller inns except a bard and an innkeeper. Lastly, there are, as stated often, quite a few bugs with the game. Throughout my whole playthrough I found myself without a companion because my first one had bugged and nobody else would join me because the game seemed to think I still had my first one. Not that most games are without their bugs, all of these issues seem to ring loudly because of how over-hyped the game has been. While this review does seem critical, the game is definately fairly good and gave me a lot of hours of gameplay. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    I had to create an account just to review this game, and I'm gonna say why it is the best game I've ever played. You can clearly see theI had to create an account just to review this game, and I'm gonna say why it is the best game I've ever played. You can clearly see the effort and emotion Bethesda put in this game, the level of detail in small things, such as plants, books, miscellaneous items is incredible. One may argue that it's not well made and has a lot of bugs, I don't find that to be true, Skyrim has bugs, yes, but they are only there because the developers crafted a world with a mind blowing amount of things in it, they were not aiming to do a linear 5 hours game, but to create something new and different, and I'm completely happy if that incurs some bugs. But by now, most bugs are gone thanks to the official and unofficial patches and the game runs pretty good, way better than the atrociously optimized pieces of crap that are being released for PC nowadays.

    However, for me, the prime reason that makes this game so great, is the modding community which is beyond awesome and releases mods that improves the gameplay in every aspect. Someone might say that Bethesda has no merit in this, but I disagree, since game is mod-friendly and they made modding tools available for the community to use. As I like to say, if you haven't played Skyrim on PC you haven't played Skyrim. It's another game, really. Which makes me pretty happy, because PC gamers are always held hostage by the console crowd, but not with this game. Skyrim for PC is awesome, beautiful graphics, huge world, great lore, amazing soundtrack...And if you happen to find a thing that you don't like about the game, I'm sure there is mod that fixes or improves it.

    Bethesda really did a great job, Skyrim set the standards of medieval RPG's in terms of world exploration, lore and immersion. For me, it is a giant leap forward from Oblivion, even if it got a little simplified in character development (I really miss the attributes), but, as always, there are mods that help with that. Long time Elder Scrolls fans that still complain about this game are probably somewhat blinded by the nostalgia of the older games, and I bet 10 years from now Skyrim will be considered an all-time classic, if it's not already. Take my word for it, Skyrim is a completely awesome game, may not be perfect or might not be a game for everyone, but it's flaws can be easily overlooked when you consider the whole picture, make no mistake, once you start playing it, you are not going to need another game for a very long time.
    Expand

See all 2549 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.