The Saboteur Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 272 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Inspired by a true story, The Saboteur stars Sean Devlin, a street-tough Irish race car driver trapped behind enemy lines in 1940s Nazi-occupied France. Motivated by personal revenge, Sean fights, climbs, and races through open-world Paris, sneaking into the heart of the Nazi operations andInspired by a true story, The Saboteur stars Sean Devlin, a street-tough Irish race car driver trapped behind enemy lines in 1940s Nazi-occupied France. Motivated by personal revenge, Sean fights, climbs, and races through open-world Paris, sneaking into the heart of the Nazi operations and sabotaging their every move. With the help of the French Resistance, the British intelligence, an arsenal of weaponry, street smarts and brawn, players exact revenge on those who aim to destroy Sean's life. From derailing trains and blowing up zeppelins to scaling famous Parisian landmarks and more, this action hero uses a broad range of weapons, explosives and vehicles to get the job done. As Sean takes down enemies, the citizens of Paris are empowered to resist the tyrannical Third Reich and their eyes open to the colorful world around them. This innovative mechanic, called the 'Will to Fight,' change the way Paris is seen and felt - from a dark and oppressed policed state to a bright and inspired world where the citizens fight back. As the player executes acts of sabotage against the occupying force, color returns to the stylized black and white world - both figuratively and literally. The ‘Will to Fight’ spawns an underground resistance that takes players not only through Paris, but across various parts of France. [Pandemic Studios] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Thus, I warmly recommend the Saboteur not only to sandbox fans, but also to people looking for a special atmosphere beyond anything else, placed at the beginning of World War II.
  2. The GTA-clone has his strong points in lots of action and the thrilling setting of occupied Paris during WW2. Amazingly, a GTA-clone can be a great game, too, and if you like a hero fighting Nazis, then this is your game.
  3. PC Format
    81
    It's got entertainment in spades. [Feb 2010, p.86]
  4. You can say whatever you want, but this is a great game. If you can live with some small bugs, you should go into the next store and buy this game.
  5. The Saboteur causes mixed feelings. Paris is very living and the use of the black-white contrast is superb. On the other hand the game is rather glitchy and isn't polished up at all. The fun that you get out of sabotaging Nazi's makes up for most of it though.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    70
    A mix of good ideas, but they come off a little half-baked. [Feb 2010, p.59]
  7. The Saboteur was a great concept in an interesting historical period that's deeply broken by bad history, technical issues and poor gameplay choices.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 55
  2. Negative: 7 out of 55
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    Its really quite amazing. Fun gameplay, dumb accents, and a huge open world Paris make it worth the $20. Granted some missions are tedious,Its really quite amazing. Fun gameplay, dumb accents, and a huge open world Paris make it worth the $20. Granted some missions are tedious, and some of the gameplay old, it still remains fun. It may be far from historically accurate, but really, who cares?Its like if Assassins Creed, Max Payne, and cell-shading had a baby together, and this was it. So please, do buy it. **** Origin, but don't **** this game.

    FYI-There is a **** of blood and **** and swearing in it, so kids, don't play it.
    Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    I like this game, kicking some butt and hiding on rooftops and wells.....You'll love the missions that this game offers: racing mission,I like this game, kicking some butt and hiding on rooftops and wells.....You'll love the missions that this game offers: racing mission, assassination, etc etc............ Expand
  3. mariop
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    Very good game...amazing 1940`s paris and surrounding....it s a huge world with thousands of nazi installation to destroy...u got racing Very good game...amazing 1940`s paris and surrounding....it s a huge world with thousands of nazi installation to destroy...u got racing ,shooting,upgrades and girls...oh yeah...u can do what u want whenever u want...i didnt had a feel of linearity....if u like gta and world war type of game...this one is for you ....i enjoyed it so much i almost declared myself sick from work just to play it...it s a must... Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    It was such a pleasure going through this game. For some reason, I did not have great expectations, but after the first few hours I literallyIt was such a pleasure going through this game. For some reason, I did not have great expectations, but after the first few hours I literally fell in love with it. Artistically it is outstanding, wandering in Paris is extremely entertaining, the music choices are fantastic and the main character is charismatic.
    Simply put: a game hard to forget.
    Expand
  5. Aug 18, 2015
    8
    this game is an well-made open-world game. nice driving, nice shooting, and nice parkour. and the background view the PARIS is look nice. butthis game is an well-made open-world game. nice driving, nice shooting, and nice parkour. and the background view the PARIS is look nice. but the graphic is so normal. storyline is scanty Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2016
    7
    I don't know how this game got a high score, don't get me wrong, it's fun, open world with ton of stuff to do but it's laggy and with manyI don't know how this game got a high score, don't get me wrong, it's fun, open world with ton of stuff to do but it's laggy and with many technical problems. In the end I managed to get it a few weeks ago on Origin and has the same problems when it was lunched. It's working decent on my HD6870x2 Powercolor and Windows 10 x64. Expand
  7. RilusZ
    Dec 12, 2009
    0
    Considering that the game does not run at all with Windows Vista/7 and ATI graphics cards, I can't see the game getting more any score Considering that the game does not run at all with Windows Vista/7 and ATI graphics cards, I can't see the game getting more any score at all. It is literally unplayable for thousands of PC players. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.