Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 720 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Presenting Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines, a visually stunning first-person role-playing adventure that combines intense first-person action with an open, non-linear world, rich character development and an immersive storyline. Built using Valve Source Technology - the same game enginePresenting Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines, a visually stunning first-person role-playing adventure that combines intense first-person action with an open, non-linear world, rich character development and an immersive storyline. Built using Valve Source Technology - the same game engine technology used to power Half-Life 2, Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines is based on White Wolf's pen-and-paper RPG series, and developed by renowned RPG developer - Troika Games. The game plunges players into the dark and gritty vampire underworld of modern day L.A. as a creature of the night, interacting with and battling mortals and other creatures of darkness with an incredible array of vampire powers, skills and traits. [Activision] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. The use of the Source engine gave Troika the ability to use their talents on fleshing out the incredible storyline and remarkable atmosphere.
  2. From downright creepy to challenging, Vampire: The Masquerade ' Bloodlines has an immersive story and maintains a foreboding tone throughout.
  3. If the combat were handled a little better, then Bloodlines would be a real RPG benchmark. As it stands, the battles will prove a bit frustrating to both RPG and action gamers.
  4. 80
    A fantastic RPG plagued by bugs and errors that point to either a rushed job or sloppy coding. The deep role-playing system is a successful translation of the pen-and-paper game it’s based on, and that’s no small feat.
  5. A great RPG with wonderful stories, incredible looks and the ability to plunge players deeply into the dark, twisted world of Vampire the Masquerade. Aside from the unfair yet expected side-by-side comparison with Half-Life 2, Bloodlines is a beautiful game that is as mesmerizing as Dracula's eyes.
  6. PC Gamer
    77
    An engrossing story of urban vampirism, but with a touch of glitchy anemia. [Jan 2005, p.92]
  7. Edge Magazine
    60
    It remains compelling, but much of that compulsion is in expecting the game to truly deliver - a moment you'll likely still be awaiting at the anticlimactic conclusion. [Jan 2005, p.89]

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 163
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    The stronger points of the game are that it has a fantastically dark atmosphere, believable and often intense characters (something which alotThe stronger points of the game are that it has a fantastically dark atmosphere, believable and often intense characters (something which alot of games lack), and a solid storyline that does the game justice. Also, you choose at the beginning which bloodline (faction) you are part of, which will directly affect your relationships with the characters in-game, offering variation and replayablility, if you don't mind already knowing the storyline the second time through. Finally, the level design is very well done, giving varied and interesting locations that will keep your interest, no rampant cookie-cutter design here.

    On the down side, it is a dated game, having been released in 2004, so you will probably only get the most out of it if you don't mind the avatars looking a bit blocky compared to what you might be used to. I'm sure it was 'fairly' close to cutting edge graphics in 2004, but if you can look past it, the game will suck you in and you won't notice.

    It was mentioned that the game doesn't feel finished by one reviewer, and while I disagree, I can see why that might come up. The game is completely set at night, so far as I can remember, so you won't get the bustling city feel that daytime would bring, and also it doesn't have a huge amount of side quests that seem to pack into games these days (to cover up lack of original content), but there is plenty to keep you occupied.. you won't get bored.

    Also, apparently the game was quite buggy at release. I'd used the official patch when I played it, and didn't come across any problems. I certainly didn't come close to checking on forums, as one or two others had, but everyone plays a game differently, and it's becoming standard practice to check forums rather than think a problem through, or work around it. Regardless, apparently the unofficial patch made by fans is the best, from what I gather.

    Overall I greatly enjoyed the game and thought it to be underrated, definately a pleasant surprise. At no point did I get bored, even though there are many areas, nor did I question whether I'd see it through to the end, unlike quite a few games which get churned out. The storyline was interesting, and I found myself carefully watching the behaviour of all the characters, not quite sure who to trust, as it should be in a vampire underworld. The hotel level was especially spooky, I might add ;) good job on that. I only wish that there was a sequel.
    Expand
  2. PoulanD.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Barely playable at release, but with the fan patches this is now one of the greatest RPGs ever made. RIP Troika.
  3. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    Roleplaying games set in the present times are rare. I found that game in used games cart in my local store.

    I didn't even bother to read
    Roleplaying games set in the present times are rare. I found that game in used games cart in my local store.

    I didn't even bother to read back of the cd. Went home, downloaded some patches I found and started the game, well, that was simply amazing, I was playing like mad for few hours straight. Everything was great, the dark athmosphere, plot, quests, huge amount of stuff you can interact with I felt again like I was a kid playing Neuroshima with my friends.

    This one is my top #3 games of all time.
    Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2017
    9
    Собрание всего лучшего, что было в прошлых играх Блэй Айсл. Первая и последняя полноценная рпг в 3д, которая благодаря халфлайфу2 провалиласьСобрание всего лучшего, что было в прошлых играх Блэй Айсл. Первая и последняя полноценная рпг в 3д, которая благодаря халфлайфу2 провалилась и ознаменовала конец жанра. Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2015
    9
    Troika at its best. Pure genius. Better than witcher 3 and Skyrim together. This game is a definition of real role playing game. Shame thereTroika at its best. Pure genius. Better than witcher 3 and Skyrim together. This game is a definition of real role playing game. Shame there is no sequel. Expand
  6. K-Van
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    Yes, this game has bugs. That's what patches are for. I waited to play VTMB until one was available. Glad I did! I haven't had this Yes, this game has bugs. That's what patches are for. I waited to play VTMB until one was available. Glad I did! I haven't had this much fun playing a RPG since KOTOR. Bottom line: If you like games like Morrowind, KOTOR, and Deus Ex, and you have a PC that can handle the load, then run out and buy this game immediately. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    The bugs ruined this for me. Far too much time spent trying to chase down fixes and implementing them rather than time spent on the gameThe bugs ruined this for me. Far too much time spent trying to chase down fixes and implementing them rather than time spent on the game itself. Enough of that and it's more tempting to go load up another game instead. Expand

See all 163 User Reviews