Venetica Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the fantastic world of long ago Venice, the young Scarlett falls victim to a terrible mystery, which begins with the murder of her companion by a secretive alliance of mighty necromancers. Thus fate takes its inevitable course and threatens to throw the world out of order. ScarlettSet in the fantastic world of long ago Venice, the young Scarlett falls victim to a terrible mystery, which begins with the murder of her companion by a secretive alliance of mighty necromancers. Thus fate takes its inevitable course and threatens to throw the world out of order. Scarlett finds out that she is the daughter of death incarnate and is blessed with his ultimate powers. She is the only one who can stop the gruesome powers that threaten to destroy the entire living world. Now it's your chance to reverse fate! Get ready for a fast-paced adventure set in an epic world filled with dark dangers and merciless adversaries. Arm yourself with mighty weapons, rally together powerful allies and master the dark powers of death. Can you conquer the powers that threaten to inescapably destroy the world of the living? Follow your path down into the deepest abyss to death itself - and back again, if you are worthy. [DTP] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. It's fun from the first moment on. Venetica offers a great introduction, a fascinating story, great quests and a very charming heroine. If you don't have the time for complex role playing games, but want something more than just an adventure game, then Venetica is for you.
  2. Venetica has a fascinating story, however, the game is not innovative enough to beat rival games of the same genre.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    65
    And the good bits, for all their worth, are just that; good, but not classic.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    60
    Catchy storyline on one side, crappy RPG elements on the other… Venetica amazes with stunning visuals and attractive heroine but the game mechanics undermine the overall impression. [Feb 2010]
  5. Jan 28, 2011
    60
    If you don't expect much from it, you'll have a pretty good time with Venetica. However, without the patience to figure out quests and gameplay elements on your own, you'll end up incredibly frustrated.
  6. 60
    Although the game has many and evident flaws, especially in its visuals, and it is not revolutionary, nor it differentiates itself from the rest of action and RPG games, it indeed is engaging and makes you keep playing thanks to its freedom.
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    40
    It's good to see Assassin's Creed having a positive influence on game settings but this historical would-be epic has little else to recommend it.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. May 26, 2011
    10
    A great game, with an comprehensive story and easy-to-understand mechanics. The game begins fairly simply and the difficulty escalatesA great game, with an comprehensive story and easy-to-understand mechanics. The game begins fairly simply and the difficulty escalates properly so that new RPG players can understand how it works, and seasoned players can enjoy a simple game. Unlike most new RPG's, this game does not make you upgrade thousand of stats. It's fairly simple, Health, Strength (Melee), Mana, Strength (Magic). There is however an abundance of physical and magical skills you can buy or upgrade to, and also a multitude of weapons of 4 different styles (Swords, Spears, Hammers and Axes and Moonblades). The storyline is pretty straightforward, the bosses are as hard as they should be and there are many sidequests to keep one busy.

    All in all, I'd certainly recommend it to an RPG newcomer, or to a WoW dropout.
    Expand
  2. JakeW
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    I think this game is good... I don't usually play RPG's except for diablo, but this is way different! It has nice graphics and an I think this game is good... I don't usually play RPG's except for diablo, but this is way different! It has nice graphics and an entertaining story-line.. And Scarlett looks nice.. But install the latest patch, because it tweaks it for the better! Overall a must-try (9/10) Expand
  3. NielsvanK.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    A very nice German RPG, which feels very fresh and simple, but is eminently addictive and playable. It somehow reminds me a lot of Beyond A very nice German RPG, which feels very fresh and simple, but is eminently addictive and playable. It somehow reminds me a lot of Beyond Good & Evil and Arx Fatalis and just like them won't probably get the attention and sales it deserves. The story is nice and personal, and gradually gets you involved in the greater scheme of things, without giving you the feel to be lost in it. The backstory is simple but gripping, no overcontrived lore is needed. The focus stays on a single main character, so no bickering party to (micro)manage, which I think is a breath of relief after recent Bioware games. The environment is great: I've recently been to Venice and it surely nails the atmosphere if not the precise layout. Characters look slightly cartoonesque, which paints their personality in a few broad strokes, but the environments are pretty realistic, and looking out over the sprawling multilayered town in can take your breath away. Fights are very visceral, with action oriented blocking and dodging combined with a melee combo system akin to the Witcher but done more intuitively. Secondary powers and spells are done through a standard action bar. Skill gain is slightly less intuitive, with certain skills/trees locked out until unlocked in the storyline or encountering certain trainers. Skills do make a difference though, unlike the other recent German RPG: Divine Divinity 2: Ego Draconis, where level alone make too big a difference. Here, difficult fights can be brought to a successful end by making good use of your skills. Technically (with the 1.02 patch) the only problem I encountered was not being able to alt-tab, but that problem might be specific to my 3D monitor and driver. I've been playing for about 6 hours, and am halfway to the second of what I suspect will be 5 bosses, so the game will have a good 30+ hours of gameplay. All in all, a great game, and something I heartily recommend to gamers that find a lot of current RPG's take themselves so seriously they forget games are about having fun. Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2018
    7
    ENG
    Immediately I'd say, that in this clone Gothic and Risen me was play on many "feels better" and more interesting. Playing for the female
    ENG
    Immediately I'd say, that in this clone Gothic and Risen me was play on many "feels better" and more interesting. Playing for the female character, fitting a couple of dresses, and then swim in them on the Venice canal or at worst in the sewer. The choice of weapons is not great, but diverse and each given its own branch in pumping. Overall the game sucked and I was interested to play in some moments to wonder how cool I try and do this to that fact, and although the game was released in 2010. I think that there were a lot of problems in that, while even now the game sometimes subsides and gives not a clear fps even with reduced graphics. Summing up I will say that the game is good and may well tighten even now, I personally spent 20 hours on it, almost completed all the quests and visited all the corners. Oh yeah, just for the cons is to say, completely broken feature of the decree the purpose of the quest, even the Raven which should show often inactive. You have to either remember or to jog or to re-read several times the task, the illusion of choice, which Guild we would not have entered into the main quests and the cutscenes involved a lady from one of the Guild that the player can not choose, vs quests similar to those at the end will be happy end for all characters, actually not affect anything, it's a minus either not thought through or didn't have time to think. Well, probably the main disadvantage, the slow pace and the ending, or rather locations that should be up to her, not interesting, a large number of enemies and in General it is not clear what it was.
    RU
    Сразу скажу, что в данный клон Gothic и Risen мне было играть на много приятней и интересней. Игра за женского персонажа, примерка пару платьишек, а потом поплавать в них по каналу Венеции или на худой конец в канализации. Выбор оружие не велик, зато разнообразен и каждому уделена своя ветка в прокачке. В целом игра затянула и мне было интересно играть, в некоторых моментах удивляться как круто постарались и сделали вот это и вот - то, хотя игра и вышла в 2010. Думаю, что много было проблем в то, время так как даже сейчас игра бывает проседает и выдает не четкий fps даже с убавленной графикой. Подытоживая скажу, что игра хороша и вполне может затянуть даже сейчас, лично я потратил на нее 20 часов, практически завершил все квесты и побывал во всех закоулках. Ах да, как раз о минусах стоит сказать, полностью сломанная функция указа цели квеста, даже ворон который должен показывать зачастую неактивен. Приходится либо вспоминать, либо бегать или перечитывать по несколько раз задачи, иллюзия выбора, в какую гильдию мы бы не вступили, в главных заданиях и заставках, участвует дама из одной гильдии, которую игрок может и не выбрать, вс квесты похожие на те, что в конце будет happy end для некоторых персонажей, на самом деле не на что не влияет, это минус либо не продумали либо не было времени думать. Ну и главных наверное минус, затянутость и концовка, а точнее локации которые следует до нее, не интересны, большое количество врагов да и в целом не понятно для чего было.
    Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2015
    6
    A reasonable action roleplay game that doesn't make any pretenses about what it is.

    Plenty to do and sights to see around Venice in the
    A reasonable action roleplay game that doesn't make any pretenses about what it is.

    Plenty to do and sights to see around Venice in the high middle ages (well, an alternate Earth really).

    It's not open world and doesn't pretend to be. Combat is relatively simple though it is obvious the controls have been ported from a console version.

    Good for a few days of relatively mindless fun.
    Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2015
    6
    If you've run out of RPGs to play on PC, you can play Venetica. Bear in mind that it is in no way perfect, basically a decent RPG overall, butIf you've run out of RPGs to play on PC, you can play Venetica. Bear in mind that it is in no way perfect, basically a decent RPG overall, but not an EPIC must-play title. I still quite enjoyed it, though. Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    For RPGers who enjoy adventuring (rather than puzzles and combat). Attractive scenery. The packaging's statement, "vast, open game world" is aFor RPGers who enjoy adventuring (rather than puzzles and combat). Attractive scenery. The packaging's statement, "vast, open game world" is a marketing fantasy: the game is shortish and linear and has no replay value. It's the kind of game you resort to when Oblivion, Two Worlds, and The Witcher need a rest. The PC version is a poor console port, and bugs are of all flavors. Installation takes 15 minutes, and because it keeps seeing its own files as being "in use", you have to sit, repeatedly clicking the "Retry" in a pop-up error window. The controls need adjustment to make it playable. I often turned the sound off. Partly on account of the five second sound loops: the usual lame water crashing, wind blowing, mill grinding, etc. But it was especially on account of the lead's 20-something voice actor who was inconsistent and impatient when she wasn't so distant it seemed as if she was about to fall asleep with boredom. In some cut scenes, the sound completely vanishes, anyhow. Add to this .. the same usual lousy feeble trick of incompetent game designers: The fighting technique you've been using all along suddenly "doesn't work" for no reason. Worth playing? For adventure gamers who have played everything else, maybe. Maybe not. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews