• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Dec 7, 2004
Mega Man X8 Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Starring Mega Man and allies Zero and Axl, the eighth "X" saga is an all new action-adventure packed with more features, depth and variety than the series has ever seen. Your quest begins with war-torn Earth, left in shambles after the fall-out of Sigma's war on the planet. Humankind,Starring Mega Man and allies Zero and Axl, the eighth "X" saga is an all new action-adventure packed with more features, depth and variety than the series has ever seen. Your quest begins with war-torn Earth, left in shambles after the fall-out of Sigma's war on the planet. Humankind, planning a mass exodus to the moon, has been mass-producing a new generation of robot reploids to start colonizing it. But Sigma has corrupted their DNA to make them turn on humans. This time, you and your team-mates must head to outer space and eventually the moon on an out-of-this world mission of epic proportions to save mankind! [Capcom] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mega Man X8 Gameplay Movie 8
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. This game is thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish, even when you are dying over and over. Like "Prince of Persia," it's that one time you actually make it all happen that has you forgetting how many times you hit retry.
  2. Game Informer
    83
    Old-school fans will rejoice, and maybe a new generation will now understand why Mega Man is awesome. [Jan 2005, p.124]
  3. The stages are challenging, the bosses are interesting, though a bit predictable, and the game is just about classic platforming fun.
  4. GMR Magazine
    70
    The best Mega Man X in recent memory and will provide an enjoyable challenge to gamers willing to give 2D another go. [Feb 2005, p.97]
  5. Better than most of the series' efforts, this is still a painfully stunted experience. The art team give things a nice visual nudge, but the focus still needs to fall on the core gameplay.
  6. Eliminates some of the annoyances of its predecessor. However, while that's all well and good, X8 can still often be an intensely frustrating game, and still isn't especially fun.
  7. 40
    Maybe our blue buddy needs to take a breather for a little while, replace his outdated circuitry, and make another run in a few years' time.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. KevinR.
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    It's the best of all mega man x series this mega mega man x8 really the best!
  2. Dark5523Chaos
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    This game is more challenging than I thought.... It was quite fun to know that the game's bosses can give you a hard time if you fight This game is more challenging than I thought.... It was quite fun to know that the game's bosses can give you a hard time if you fight them without their weaknesses. But I still have to comment about the "spikey" areas and the racing-based stages in the game! Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2015
    10
    May I present to you way better that X7 has a better sound track gameplay mavericks and everything than X7 Megaman X8!!!! I cant believe thatMay I present to you way better that X7 has a better sound track gameplay mavericks and everything than X7 Megaman X8!!!! I cant believe that this is the the final true Megaman X game in my opininion its definetly the best Expand
  4. Msonic
    Apr 24, 2005
    9
    Wow. It seems Capcom finally learned their lesson. After of all of the huge disappointments of X5, X6 and X7. (Which X5 and X6 weren't Wow. It seems Capcom finally learned their lesson. After of all of the huge disappointments of X5, X6 and X7. (Which X5 and X6 weren't bad, unlike X7) X8 really did go well, infact I think it's close to be great as X4 and X2. (my favorite X games) Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2016
    8
    I love this game. The level design is fresh, the three playable characters all have their own moves and play styles, and the guitar-heavyI love this game. The level design is fresh, the three playable characters all have their own moves and play styles, and the guitar-heavy soundtrack is superb. Getting all of the X parts are fun and rewarding, and the boss battles are good. The amount of cheats, hidden objects, and hidden metals to find and discover is quite commendable for a mega man game, too. Also, while it has its bad moments, the story and VA are decent.

    The thing that makes me hesitate when introducing this under-rated gem to others is gigavolt man-o-war's level. It's poorly designed as well as really difficult. On normal or hard, I'd play this level last if you want to keep your sanity. This level is a stain on what is otherwise a 9/10 game.

    Overall, I've enjoyed this game for years and would recommend it to any fan of mega man games. After the disaster that was X7, it's truly impressive that Capcom bounced back with a game this good
    Expand
  6. KipR
    Nov 28, 2009
    8
    A real cool game. Probably my favorite since the very first. There are two bummer levels, but besides that, that game is exciting through A real cool game. Probably my favorite since the very first. There are two bummer levels, but besides that, that game is exciting through every second. Maybe not the top choice for those who dislike 2D side-scrollers, but a treasure trove for those who are fans. Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2020
    0
    This was the first Mega Man game I played in my life. I loved this game for it's gameplay and mechanics, and this made me to try the old ones.

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

45
#45 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
27
#27 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004